جامعة كوينزلاند المركزية

جامعة كوينزلاند المركزية

وسط كوينزلاند تفاصيل جامعة

التسجيل في جامعة كوينزلاند المركزية

نظرة عامة


جامعة كوينزلاند المركزية (المعروف بدلا من ذلك كما CQUniversity) ويستند جامعة القطاع المزدوج الاسترالية في ولاية كوينزلاند. في الحرم الجامعي الرئيسي في شمال روكهامبتون, كوينزلاند. ومع ذلك, كما أن لديها فروع في روكهامبتون سيتي, باندابيرغ, زمرد, جلادستون مدينة, جلادستون مارينا, ماكاي Ooralea, مدينة ماكاي ونوسا, وكذلك المواقع تسليم في كيرنز, كانونفال, تاونزفيل, أبراج ميثاقي, يبون, من Biloela, جيرالدتون, كاراثا وبيرث. على 31 شهر اكتوبر 2014, أعلن CQUniversity أنها ستفتح الحرم الكامل في تاونزفيل اتفاقية التنوع البيولوجي في 2015. لديها مبان جامعية الكبرى في ملبورن, سيدني, أديلايد وبريسبان. اعتبارا من 2012 استضافت حرم الحضرية على حد سواء للطلاب الدوليين والمحليين.

يهدف CQUniversity لتقديم التنوع والمرونة, حيث يمكن تلبية الاحتياجات الفريدة لكل فرد وتجاوز. كما الجامعة أستراليا الأكثر انخراطا وشاملة, CQUniversity لديها سمعة لكونه المورد الرئيسي للتعليم عن بعد, برامج التعلم والتعليم مرنة والوصول. كما تعتبر بشدة لالتزامها الابتكار الاجتماعي, البحث انخراطا, خدمات دعم الطلاب, المشاركة الدولية, نتائج الخريجين ونهج شامل للتعليم العالي.

بواسطة 2020, سوف CQUniversity تكون الجامعة أكبر من ذلك بكثير. وستقوم الجامعة زيادة والابتكار في تقديم برامج التعلم عن بعد وفي الحرم الجامعي في جميع أنحاء أستراليا وتزويد الطلاب مع مسارات التعبير السلس. سوف CQUniversity تكون جامعة فريدة حقا التي اكتسبت قوتها من خلال قوة مكان. هذه السلطة من مكان سيبلغ أنشطتها وتمكينها من أن تصبح رائدة في مجالات البحث, التعلم والتعليم, اشتباك, تجربة طالب والابتكار الاجتماعي.

ستواصل CQUniversity أيضا أن تكون جامعة شاملة وجامعة يثمن التنوع والعطاء.

في غضون السنوات الخمس المقبلة, سوف CQUniversity الانتقال من قوي إلى عظيم من خلال انخراط:

الاهتمام المتزايد وسمعتنا من خلال العمل مع المجتمعات المتنوعة لبناء علاقات عميقة ودائمة والتي سيتم تعزيزها ونحن المتخذة بشأن دورا أكثر نشاطا في تعزيز التعليمية, اجتماعي, الرفاهية الثقافية والاقتصادية. ونحن نقدر علاقاتنا مع أصحاب المصلحة والاستفادة من هذه المعرفة الجماعية والخبرة لتقديم مساهمة قيمة في الصناعة والمجتمع. وسوف نستثمر في موظفينا لتوفير مخرجات التعلم والخبرات التي يستفيد منها طلابنا وأصحاب المصلحة, وتعزيز وحماية الاستقصاء الفكري وحرية التعبير في جميع الأنشطة.

تزايد التعليم العالي والتدريب المهني التعليم من خلال جذب واستبقاء المزيد من الطلاب مع عروض ذات جودة عالية ومرونة, مسارات سلسة. وهذه الممرات مساعدة الطلاب المحليين والدوليين المحتملين والحاليين, لوضع خطة الدراسة التي تمكنهم من تلبية تطلعات التعليمية والوظيفية. الأهم, وسوف تشارك طلابنا في التعلم من خلال الأنشطة التعاونية والتعلم الأصيل وتصميم التدريس.

توفير تجربة طالب كبيرة من خلال تطوير ثقافة تعزز تجربة الطالب الإيجابية التي تمكن الطلاب أن يكون لدينا ما تريد أن تكون وكونها ملتزمة تماما لمبادئ الابتكار الاجتماعي, تضمين, سهولة الحصول عليها وتوسيع المشاركة. سوف يكون الأمثل رحلة تعلم الطلاب لنا من خلال بيئة داعمة تعزز نجاح, بغض النظر عن خلفيتهم. يتم منح طلابنا سوف تصبح الخريجين المهنية جاهزة بحلول الفرصة للمشاركة في برامج التنقل التعلم والصادرة عمل متكاملة. من خلال هذا أنها ستعمل على تطوير المعرفة, مهارات, فهم وتجربة الحياة على المشاركة الكاملة في المجتمع والاقتصاد.

إجراء بحوث العظيم التي علم بها احتياجات وتطلعات صناعاتنا والمجتمعات, سواء هنا في أستراليا والخارج. لذلك نحن سوف تشارك مع المنظمات الإقليمية, المجتمعات البحثية الوطنية والدولية والشركاء في الصناعة لزيادة النشاط وتقديم البرامج المتميزة للموظفين والطلاب. من خلال هذا سنضع الباحثين العالمية الذين يعملون من أجل تحسين المجتمعات من خلال تعزيز المعرفة والابتكار.

توسيع وجودنا والوصول لتلبية احتياجات طلابنا والمجتمعات. ونحن سوف نفعل ذلك من خلال توفير الفرص للناس للوصول بسهولة أكبر دراسة المهني والتعليم العالي, سواء كان ذلك من خلال تحسين تقنيات التعلم عبر الإنترنت أو من خلال إنشاء مرافق جديدة, مراكز الدراسات أو الجامعات.

 

المدارس / الكليات / الإدارات / الدورات / ملكات


  • كلية إدارة الأعمال والقانون
  • كلية التربية والآداب
  • كلية الهندسة والتكنولوجيا
  • كلية الإنسان, علوم الصحية والاجتماعية
  • كلية العلوم الطبية التطبيقية و
  • مدرسة التمريض والقبالة
  • الأعمال المهنية والعلوم الإنسانية
  • الهندسة والمهن

التاريخ


بدأت CQUniversity باسم معهد كوينزلاند للتكنولوجيا (Capricornia) في 1967, وبعد عامين تحت اسم الكلية الجامعية للوسط ولاية كوينزلاند, في 1992 أصبحت الجامعة الرسمية التي يطلق عليها جامعة وسط كوينزلاند. في 1994, اعتمدت اسم جامعة كوينزلاند المركزية. في 2008, أصبح CQUniversity تقديرا للمؤسسات’ توسيع نطاق العمل في المنطقة الوسطى ولاية كوينزلاند.

مؤسسة سابقة CQUniversity ل, معهد كوينزلاند للتكنولوجيا (Capricornia), تأسست في روكهامبتون في 1967 كفرع الإقليمي للمعهد كوينزلاند للتكنولوجيا (بريسبان).

ومع ذلك, واتخذت الخطوات الأولى لإنشاء جامعة في روكهامبتون في وقت مبكر من 1940s. في 1941, رئيس وزراء ولاية كوينزلاند العمل, وليام سميث فورغان, قسم عرض 17 التربية الوطنية للتنسيق وجامعة كوينزلاند قانون التعديل, الذي ينص على إنشاء كليات الجامعة خارج بريسبان. في 1944 و 1945, سلسلة من الوفود روكهامبتون ضغطت الحكومة كوينزلاند للكلية جامعية, ولكن بعد تأسيس جامعة كوينزلاند شبكة من مراكز الدراسات الاقليمية في أواخر 1940s أصبحت قضية نائمة.

في 2001, عينت جامعة كوينزلاند أول امرأة تشغل منصب نائب المستشار, أستاذ Glenice هانكوك, الذي تقاعد في 2004.

من عند 2002 إلى 2007, فازت الجامعة العديد من الجوائز كوينزلاند التصدير (فئة التعليم) واثنين من جوائز الصادرات الوطنية للتعليم (2002 و 2005); وفي دليل الجامعات الجيدة فاز معظم تقييمات ال 5 نجوم من أي جامعة إقليمية في أستراليا في 2003 وخمسة تقييمات ال 5 نجوم في 2006 و 2007.

بواسطة 2006, الجامعة كان يعمل بها أربعة الأسترالي الحرم الجامعي الدولي في بريسبان, الساحل الذهبي, سيدني وملبورن جنبا إلى جنب مع الحرم الجامعي في سوفا, فيجي, في حين أن اثنين شراكات البحرية الرئيسية الأخرى شرع في شنغهاي وسنغافورة, وعمليات تقليص في هونغ كونغ. إعادة هيكلة الجامعة أنشطتها الدولية في الفترة 2006 إلى 2009 وتغيير علامتها التجارية صورتها في 2008, تغيير علامتها التجارية من جامعة كوينزلاند المركزية لCQUniversity.

في 2000s, CQUniversity كان أيضا استجابة لاحتياجات المجتمعات المحلية والمناطق الاسترالية التي تخدمها، وأكد البرامج في قطاع الموارد الطبيعية والتعدين, هندسة, تمريض, التعليم, محاسبة, التنمية المستدامة والتعليم المتعدد الثقافات. كانت واحدة من قصص النجاح هذه البرامج تعلم أستاذ كيري ريد-Searl, الذي حصل على 2012 مكتب الحكومة الأسترالية لجائزة التعلم والتعليم لتقنية التدريس محاكاة الخيال بشدة لها, باستخدام الدعائم مثل الإنسان لإعداد الطلاب لممارسة التمريض. تقنية تعرف باسم قناع-إد ™ (محاكاة مواشي) منذ ذلك الحين متاح للمعلمين عبر مجموعة واسعة من التخصصات على مستوى العالم.

تلقى CQUniversity أيضا من الثناء على جهود مبتكرة لفتح دراسات القانونية للمجموعات الإقليمية والمحرومة من خلال أول البكالوريوس أستراليا على الانترنت من القوانين, التي بدأت تقدم في 2011, مع التحاق في السنة الأولى من حولها 100 الطلاب. وذكرت السابق قاضيا في المحكمة العليا وهون مايكل كيربي AC CMG أن الوصول إلى درجة والمرونة من شأنه توسيع المشاركة في دراسة القانون, وخاصة للطلاب من المناطق الإقليمية ومن السكان الأصليين, خلفيات عرقية والمحرومة, "الذين قد يجدون إلا فإنه من الصعب, أو مستحيلا, للتسجيل في دورة القانون "و" يمكن ان تحتفظ الموظفين الموهوبين والمؤهلين في أستراليا الإقليمية والريفية ".

شهدت العقدين الأولين من القرن ال21 أيضا استمرار النمو الديناميكي لCQUniversity مع تجدد التركيز على البحوث التطبيقية, التعليم الإقليمي والمسافة, والتعليم المهني مع اندماجها مع معهد كوينزلاند المركزي TAFE في يوليو 1, 2014.

CQUniversity هي موطن لمعاهد البحوث على مستوى العالم: معهد أبليتون للعلوم السلوكي, مركز البحوث التربوية التعليمية التعلم و, معهد بحوث الصحة والعلوم الاجتماعية، ومعهد للصناعات الموارد والاستدامة. العديد من مراكز أبحاثها (مركز هندسة السكك الحديدية, مركز الطاقة والطاقة, مركز إدارة البيئة ومركز علوم النبات والماء يكون التركيز على دعم النمو والازدهار في المنطقة البيت CQUniversity في وسط ولاية كوينزلاند.

وتشمل النجاحات بحوث الماشية الناجحة الاستنساخ البروفيسور غابور Vajta; والبروفيسور ديفيد Midmore وزميل فخري وضابط البحوث أندرو الرتبة في تحقيق نشرت بالجريدة الرسمية على 9 شهر اكتوبر 2010 (بعد ما يقرب من عشر سنوات من البحوث والتقارير) من التحلية الطبيعية, ستيفيا ريبواديانا, كمكون منخفضة السعرات الحرارية الطبيعية في الأطعمة والمشروبات. وقال أستاذ Midmore ستيفيا قد تصبح "أداة هامة / المكون للاستخدام المجتمع في مكافحة السمنة ومتلازمة الأيض المرتبطة والسكري (النوع الثاني)."تشمل أبرز الأبحاث أيضا محطات معالجة مياه غاز الفحم الحجري بن كيلى ل. وقد بحثت بن على نطاق واسع، ووضعت مجموعة من أيون تبادل يمزج سائل الاعلام مرشح الصخور البركانية التي تقلل من أملاح الصوديوم, المعادن الثقيلة المختارة, والهيدروكربونات المرتبطة صناعات النفط والغاز. بن مسؤولة أيضا عن مجموعة من محطات معالجة مياه الصرف. وقد استخدم أحد أنظمة في مكان المهرجان الشعبي ودفورد. حققت البحوث الدكتور سكوت ويلسون إلى الضفادع "متحولة" أيضا الكثير من الاستحسان مع بث المشروع على برنامج البرية تماما القناة 10 لل. وقد تتبع الدكتور ويلسون تشوهات في الضفادع كمؤشر للتغيرات البيئية. حققت CQUniversity أيضا النجاح مع المشروع الأخضر الدجاج والتي يركز على تغذية الفحم النباتي الدواجن (آثار صغيرة من النفايات الخشبية متفحمة) في مزيج طعامهم ثم أخذ السماد الذي يحتوي على الفحم النباتي والسماد مع المضافات المعدنية لإنتاج السماد العضوي. وقد أشاد المشروع للعقارات الكربون الذكية.

ومن ضمن الفعاليات مشاركة الجامعة في أبحاث النشاط البدني بما في ذلك إنشاء 10,000 خطوات و 2014 مجلس البحوث الطبية الصحة الوطنية و (NHMRC) تمويل للبحث في كيفية النشاط البدني يمكن أن تساعد الذين يعانون من الاكتئاب. CQUniversity هي أيضا موطن لمختبر أبحاث القمار التجريبي. مركز كوينزلاند للأغراض المنزلية & ويستند أبحاث العنف الأسري في حرم ماكاي ويساهم في الوقاية من العنف المنزلي والأسري عن طريق إعلام, تعزيز ودعم تصرفات الأفراد, مجتمعات, خدمات والحكومات من خلال القيادة على مستوى الولاية في مجال البحوث, التطوير المهني, التعليم والمجتمع المشاركة. التمريض الابتكار مركز الصحة النفسية في CQUniversity يوفر القيادة في التمريض للصحة النفسية على المستوى المحلي, حالة, الوطني والدولي، وأصبح نقطة محورية للبحث والتقدم العلمي في مجال التمريض للصحة النفسية بالتعاون مع أصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين من الصناعة والمجتمع الأوسع.

استأنفت حملة الجامعة روكهامبتون في 1950s باعتبارها أصبحت الوسطى ولاية كوينزلاند قاعدة الصناعات الثقيلة الناشئة, مع تطوير مناجم الفحم وجلادستون الناشئة كمركز المعادن الخفيفة. في البرلمان كوينزلاند في نوفمبر 1956, عضو محلي لروكهامبتون (H R غاردنر) كان مطلوبا ذكر "المزيد من التسهيلات الكافية للتعليم الفني" للمنطقة و, مناشدة فلسفة "الذهاب عادلة", وحث بإيلاء الناس روكهامبتون "نفس الفرص كما هو الحال في بريسبان". في 1958, P J غولدستون, مهندس (في وقت لاحق, المفوض للسكك الحديدية,) طرحت إمكانية جامعة وسط كوينزلاند مع المهندسين روكهامبتون وبعد مزيد من المناقشة المجتمعية, عمدة روكهامبتون, عضو مجلس محلي R ب J Pilbeam, ودعا الاجتماع العام الأول ل 3 مارس 1959 الذي المؤسسة الإنمائية جامعة كوينزلاند المركزية (رابطة الدفاع عن ألستر) تم تشكيل.

مقترحات الجامعة رابطة الدفاع عن ألستر عرضها على الحكومة و, في 1961, الحكومة كوينزلاند محفوظة 161 هكتار (400 فدان) الأراضي الحكومية في Parkhurst (شمال روكهامبتون) على الطريق السريع بروس بالقرب من نفر يبون كموقع التعليم العالي. إنشاء حسمت أخيرا مارس 1965, عندما مارتن تقرير الحكومة الكومنولث (على التوسع في التعليم العالي) وقد طرحت في البرلمان من قبل رئيس الوزراء مينزيس، الذي أعلن عن تأسيس نمط جديد من مؤسسة التعليم العالي في كل من روكهامبتون وتوومبا. معاهد-روكهامبتون جديدة سميت في معهد كوينزلاند للتكنولوجيا, Capricornia (QITC)-were التابعة لمعهد كوينزلاند الرئيسي للحرم تكنولوجيا في بريسبان، وتفتقر إلى الاستقلال الذاتي للجامعات, يتم التحكم من قبل وزارة التربية والتعليم ولاية كوينزلاند.

عندما فتحت QITC للمرة الأولى في فبراير 1967, لم يكن هناك في الحرم الجامعي واسعة لاستقبال عدد قليل من الموظفين ودفعة أولى من 71 بدوام كامل وبدوام جزئي للطلاب. في حين تقدم بناء على Parkhurst, أن الفصول الأولى التي عقدت في الطابق العلوي من الكلية التقنية في شارع Bolsover علاقة مؤقتة مع عدم وجود مختبرات, اقسام المكتبة أو الأسهم. بواسطة 1969, وكان معظم الموظفين والطلاب نقله إلى الحرم الجامعي Parkhurst, لا يزال موقع الأدغال في التقدم في مجال أشهر الصيف, وغالبا ما تحيط حرم من حرائق الغابات الخلابة أو تدفقت مع الأمطار الغزيرة: تراجعت السيارات في الوحل أو كانت متعثرة ومدير مؤسسة QITC ل, الدكتور ألان Skertchly, الناس نقلت في 4WD له عبر مياه الفيضانات. ينام بعض الطلاب مؤقتا على فرشات في مقصف في انتظار أول كلية سكنية لفتح.

وعلى الرغم من هذه البدايات المتواضعة, التركيز على الدورات المهنية المهني يعني الخريجين الأول وجد استعداد العمل مع شركات المحاسبة, المسؤولية الاجتماعية للشركات, طن متري عيسى المناجم والكهرباء الإقليمي لوحات واحد وطالب الرياضيات, بيتر Nothling, حتى انضمت وكالة الفضاء الأوروبية.


هل تريد بحث جامعة كوينزلاند المركزية ? أي سؤال, التعليقات أو المراجعات


جامعة كوينزلاند الوسطى على الخريطة


صورة فوتوغرافية


الصور: جامعة كوينزلاند المركزية الفيسبوك الرسمي

فيديو





مشاركة هذه المعلومات مفيدة مع أصدقائك

التقييمات Central Queensland University

تاريخ لمناقشة من جامعة كوينزلاند المركزية.
يرجى الملاحظة: EducationBro مجلة يمنحك القدرة على قراءة معلومات حول الجامعات في 96 اللغات, ولكن نطلب منك أن تحترم أعضاء آخرين وترك التعليقات باللغة الإنجليزية.

Central Queensland University

Central Queensland University

Central Queensland University Details

Enroll at Central Queensland University

Overview


Central Queensland University (alternatively known as CQUniversity) is an Australian dual sector university based in Queensland. Its main campus is in North Rockhampton, Queensland. However, it also has campuses in Rockhampton City, Bundaberg, Emerald, Gladstone City, Gladstone Marina, Mackay Ooralea, Mackay City and Noosa, as well as delivery sites in Cairns, Cannonvale, Townsville, Charters Towers, Yeppoon, Biloela, Geraldton, Karratha and Perth. On 31 October 2014, CQUniversity announced that it would open a full campus in the Townsville CBD in 2015. It has metropolitan campuses in Melbourne, Sydney, Adelaide and Brisbane. As of 2012 the metropolitan campuses hosted both international and domestic students.

CQUniversity aims to offer diversity and flexibility, where the unique needs of each individual can be met and exceeded. As Australia’s most engaged and inclusive university, CQUniversity has a reputation for being a leading supplier of distance education, flexible learning and access education programs. It is also highly regarded for its commitment to social innovation, engaged research, student support services, international engagement, graduate outcomes and inclusive approach to higher education.

By 2020, CQUniversity will be a much larger university. The University will increase and innovate the delivery of its distance learning and on-campus programs across Australia and provide students with seamless articulation pathways. CQUniversity will be a truly unique university that has gained its strength through power of place. This power of place will inform its activities and enable it to become a leader in the areas of research, learning and teaching, engagement, the student experience and social innovation.

CQUniversity will also continue to be an inclusive university and a university that values diversity and giving back.

Within the next five years, CQUniversity will go from Strong to Great through engagement by:

Growing our engagement and reputation through working with diverse communities to build deep and enduring relationships which will be strengthened as we taken on a more active role in promoting educational, social, cultural and economic wellbeing. We will value our relationships with stakeholders and draw on this collective knowledge and experience to make a valuable contribution to industry and community. And we will invest in our staff to provide learning outcomes and experiences that benefit our students and stakeholders, and promote and protect free intellectual enquiry and expression in all activities.

Growing Higher Education and Vocational Education Training through attracting and retaining more students with high-quality offerings and flexible, seamless pathways. These pathways will assist prospective and current domestic and international students, to map out a study plan that enables them to meet their educational and career aspirations. Importantly, our students will be engaged in their learning through collaborative activities and authentic learning and teaching design.

Providing a great student experience through developing a culture that fosters a positive student experience that enables our students to be what they want to be and by being completely committed to the principles of social innovation, inclusion, accessibility and widening participation. Ours students’ learning journey will be optimised through a supportive environment that promotes success, regardless of their background. Our students will become career-ready graduates by being given the opportunity to participate in work integrated learning and outbound mobility programs. Through this they will develop the knowledge, skills, understanding and life experience to fully participate in society and economy.

Undertaking great research that is informed by the needs and aspirations of our industries and communities, both here in Australia and overseas. To do this we will engage with regional, national and international research communities and industry partners to increase activity and offer outstanding programs for staff and students. Through this we will develop world class researchers who work towards the improvement of communities by promoting knowledge and innovation.

Expanding our presence and reach to meet the needs of our students and communities. We will do this by delivering opportunities for people to more easily access vocational and tertiary study, whether that be through improved online learning technologies or through the establishment of new facilities, study centres or campuses.

 

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


  • School of Business and Law
  • School of Education and the Arts
  • School of Engineering and Technology
  • School of Human, Health and Social Sciences
  • School of Medical and Applied Sciences
  • School of Nursing and Midwifery
  • Vocational Business and Humanities
  • Vocational Engineering and Trades

History


CQUniversity began as the Queensland Institute of Technology (Capricornia) in 1967, and after two years under the name of the University College of Central Queensland, in 1992 became an official university named the University of Central Queensland. In 1994, it adopted the name Central Queensland University. In 2008, it became CQUniversity in recognition of the institutions’ expansion beyond the Central Queensland region.

CQUniversity’s antecedent institution, the Queensland Institute of Technology (Capricornia), was established in Rockhampton in 1967 as a regional branch of the Queensland Institute of Technology (Brisbane).

However, the first steps to establish a university in Rockhampton were taken as early as the 1940s. In 1941, the Queensland Labor Premier, William Forgan Smith, introduced section 17 of the National Education Co-ordination and University of Queensland Amendment Act, which provided for the creation of university colleges outside Brisbane. In 1944 and 1945, a series of Rockhampton delegations lobbied the Queensland government for a university college, but after the University of Queensland established a network of provincial study centres in the late 1940s the issue became dormant.

In 2001, the university appointed Queensland’s first female Vice-Chancellor, Professor Glenice Hancock, who retired in 2004.

From 2002 to 2007, the university won numerous Queensland Export awards (education category) and two National Export Awards for education (2002 and 2005); and in the Good Universities Guide won the most 5-star ratings of any regional university in Australia in 2003 and five 5-star ratings in 2006 and 2007.

By 2006, the university was operating its four Australian International Campuses at Brisbane, Gold Coast, Sydney and Melbourne along with a campus in Suva, Fiji, while two other major offshore partnerships proceeded in Shanghai and Singapore, and diminishing operations in Hong Kong. The university restructured its international activities in the period 2006 to 2009 and rebranded its image in 2008, changing its brand from Central Queensland University to CQUniversity.

In the 2000s, CQUniversity also has been responsive to the needs of the Australian communities and regions it serves and has emphasised programs in the natural resources sector and mining, engineering, nursing, education, accounting, sustainable development and intercultural education. One of these learning program success stories has been Professor Kerry Reid-Searl, who received a 2012 Australian Government Office for Learning and Teaching Award for her highly imaginative simulation teaching technique, using human-like props to prepare nursing students for practice. The technique known as Mask-Ed™ (KRS simulation) has since been available to educators across a wide range of disciplines globally.

CQUniversity also received acclaim for its innovative effort to open up legal studies to regional and disadvantaged groups through Australia’s first online Bachelor of Laws, which it began offering in 2011, with a first-year enrolment of around 100 students. Former High Court Judge The Hon Michael Kirby AC CMG has stated that the degree’s accessibility and flexibility would broaden participation in studying law, particularly for students from regional areas and from Indigenous, ethnic and disadvantaged backgrounds, “who might otherwise find it difficult, or impossible, to enrol in a law course” and could “retain talented and qualified employees in regional and rural Australia.”

The first two decades of the 21st Century have also seen continuing dynamic growth for CQUniversity with a renewed focus on applied research, regional and distance education, and vocational education with its merger with Central Queensland Institute of TAFE on July 1, 2014.

CQUniversity is home to world-class research institutes: the Appleton Institute for Behavioural Science, Learning and Teaching Education Research Centre, Institute for Health and Social Science Research and the Institute for Resource Industries and Sustainability. Several of its research centres (Centre for Rail Engineering, the Power and Energy Centre, the Centre for Environmental Management and the Centre for Plant and Water Sciences have an emphasis on supporting growth and prosperity in CQUniversity’s home region of Central Queensland.

Research successes include successful cattle cloning by Professor Gábor Vajta; and Professor David Midmore’s and Honorary Fellow and research officer Andrew Rank’s achieving the gazetting on 9 October 2010 (after almost a decade of research and submissions) of the natural sweetener, Stevia rebaudiana, as a natural low-calorie ingredient in foods and beverages. Professor Midmore stated stevia may become “a significant tool/ingredient for community use in the fight against obesity and the associated metabolic syndrome and diabetes (type II).” Research highlights also include Ben Kele’s coal seam gas water treatment plants. Ben has extensively researched and developed a range of ion exchanging volcanic rock filter media blends that reduce sodium salts, selected heavy metals, and hydrocarbons associated with the petroleum and gas industries. Ben is also responsible for a range of effluent treatment plants. One of the systems has been used at the Woodford Folk Festival venue. Dr Scott Wilson’s research into ‘mutant’ toads has also achieved much acclaim with the project airing on Channel 10’s Totally Wild program. Dr Wilson has tracked abnormalities in toads as an indicator for environmental changes. CQUniversity has also achieved success with its Green Chicken project which focusses on feeding poultry biochar (small traces of charred wood waste) in their food mix and then taking the manure containing the biochar and composting it with mineral additives to produce an organic fertiliser. The project has been praised for its carbon smart properties.

Other highlights include the university’s involvement in physical activity research including the establishment of 10,000 Steps and the 2014 National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) funding for research into how physical activity can help with depression. CQUniversity is also home to an Experimental Gambling Research Laboratory. The Queensland Centre for Domestic & Family Violence Research is based at the Mackay campus and contributes to the prevention of domestic and family violence by informing, promoting and supporting the actions of individuals, communities, services and governments through statewide leadership in research, professional development, education and community engagement. The Centre for Mental Health Nursing Innovation at CQUniversity provides leadership in mental health nursing at local, state, national and international levels and has become a focal point for research and scholarly advance in mental health nursing in partnership with key stakeholders from industry and the broader community.

Rockhampton’s university campaign resumed in the 1950s as Central Queensland became an emerging heavy industry base, with developing coal mines and Gladstone emerging as a light metals centre. In the Queensland parliament in November 1956, the local member for Rockhampton (H R Gardner) stated “more adequate facilities for technical education” were required for the region and, appealing to the philosophy of a “fair go”, he urged that Rockhampton people be given “the same opportunities as those in Brisbane”. In 1958, P J Goldston, an engineer (later, Commissioner for Railways,) mooted the possibility of a Central Queensland university with Rockhampton engineers and after further community discussion, the Rockhampton Mayor, Alderman R B J Pilbeam, called the first public meeting on 3 March 1959 at which the Central Queensland University Development Association (UDA) was constituted.

The UDA presented university proposals to government and, in 1961, the Queensland government reserved 161 hectares (400 acres) of government land at Parkhurst (North Rockhampton) on the Bruce Highway near the Yeppoon turnoff as a tertiary education site. Establishment finally was resolved in March 1965, when the Commonwealth government’s Martin Report (on expansion of tertiary education) was tabled in parliament by Prime Minister Menzies―who announced the foundation of a new style of tertiary institution at both Rockhampton and Toowoomba. The new institutes―Rockhampton’s was named The Queensland Institute of Technology, Capricornia (QITC)―were affiliated with the main Queensland Institute of Technology campus in Brisbane and lacked the autonomy of universities, being controlled by the Queensland Education Department.

When the QITC first opened in February 1967, there was no extensive campus to greet the handful of staff and initial intake of 71 full-time and part-time students. While building progressed at Parkhurst, the first classes held on the top floor of the Technical College in Bolsover Street were a makeshift affair with no laboratories, library facilities or stock. By 1969, most staff and students had transferred to the Parkhurst campus, still a bushland site in progress―in the summer months, the campus was often ringed by spectacular bush fires or deluged with torrential rain: cars slid in the mud or were bogged and the QITC’s foundation Principal, Dr Allan Skertchly, ferried people in his 4WD across floodwaters. Some students slept temporarily on mattresses in the canteen while waiting for the first residential college to open.

Despite these humble beginnings, the focus on vocational professional courses meant the first graduates found ready employment―with accounting firms, CSR, Mt Isa Mines and regional electricity boards―one mathematics student, Peter Nothling, even joined the European Space Agency.


Do you want discuss Central Queensland University ? Any question, comments or reviews


Central Queensland University on Map


Photo


Photos: Central Queensland University official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

Central Queensland University reviews

Join to discuss of Central Queensland University.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.