查爾斯達爾文大學

查爾斯達爾文大學

查爾斯達爾文大學詳細

報名在查爾斯達爾文大學

概觀


查爾斯達爾文大學 (CDU) 是澳大利亞的公立大學,約 22,083 學生的 2011. 它成立於 2003 北領地大學合併後 (NTU) 達爾文, 健康研究與愛麗絲泉的Centralian學院孟席斯學院,它是查爾斯·達爾文的名字命名, 著名的英國博物學家.

它是該組的成員 7 澳大利亞創新研究大學. CDU已在達爾文郊區校區ofCasuarina, 城市的帕默斯頓, 與愛麗絲泉的鎮, 凱瑟琳和Nhulunbuy, 在賈比盧較小培訓中心, 坦溪和尤拉臘. 一個新的海濱校區開設 2015 在達爾文CBD其中包含了商學院.

大學提供廣泛的高等教育學位和職業教育與培訓課程,靈活的學習選擇, 包括兼職, 外部和在線.

通過 2015 查爾斯達爾文大學將已經長大了生源基地 50 百分. 它將以其領先的教育方法, 研究和社區參與區域和遠程澳大利亞, 和該地區作為一個整體.

它也將利用該地區的優先事項在制定教學計劃,探索知識的前沿.

重點是高品質, 靈活的本地和遠程教育, CDU將提供學習的學生, 該地區和國家要求生產創新的畢業生誰有效地滿足複雜的挑戰, 不斷變化的世界.

作為一個獨特的多領域的教育服務提供商, 這所大學將被視為學生支持的領導者和職業培訓途徑的規定,通過先進的研究型學位.

它將實現增加學生的參與, 特別是一些弱勢群體的教育, 通過傳統的和非傳統的教育方法和交付, 在這樣做, 將有效滿足土著學生的需求,成為他們選擇大學.

這所大學的在熱帶成立的科研優勢, 沙漠和土著知識將成為國內和國際資源, 開放協作和裝備,以提供給當地的複雜問題的解決方案, 國家和國際意義.

CDU將是會結下強大的動態和強大的區域大專院校, 與其他主要機構的互惠互利的合作夥伴關係, 政府和社會各界.

它將滿足各行業對熟練勞動力的需求和專業,並提供領導來推進知識產權, 專業的, 社會, 北領地的文化和環境福利.

工作人員將認可, 並支持, 該大學的目標的實現. 在努力的各個領域這所大學將適用最高的專業標準, 效率和問責制,以最大限度地發揮其效能,並確保其貢獻的價值在其經營區域.

學校 / 高校 / 部門 / 培訓班 / 院系


工程學部, 健康, 科學和環境

  • 工程與信息技術學院
  • 環境學院
  • 健康學院
  • 心理和臨床科學學院

法律系, 教育, 商業和藝術

  • 學術語言和學習的學校
  • CDU商學院
  • 創意藝術與人文學院
  • 教育學院
  • 法學院
  • 土著知識與公共政策學院

職業教育與培訓學院

  • 服務業的學校
  • 初級工業學校
  • 交易學院
  • 健康學院, 社區及兒童服務

歷史


查爾斯達爾文大學經歷了幾個高等教育機構的合併經過多年的發展.

達爾文社區學院, 成立於 1974 並更名為科技的達爾文學院 1984, 是先進性教育的結合學院和TAFE學院. 它坐落在什麼是現在的木麻黃校園, 雖然它使用的其他建築物在達爾文不同時間. 由北領地大學形成的時間, 它給度藝術, 教育, 業務和應用科學.

健康研究的孟席斯學院成立於 1985 作為北領地政府根據孟席斯法屬法人團體 1985. 該法案進行了修正 2004 正式與查爾斯達爾文大學的關係 (CDU). 孟席斯現在是基民盟的主要合作夥伴,構成了大學中的一所學校上的CDU木麻黃校園的研究,提供研究生學位和高等學位.

有幾次在北領地政府要求澳大利亞聯邦政府資助該地區一所大學. 回答是永遠的人口太小. 在 1985, 它採取了大學資助北領地本身從一個五年期間不尋常的一步 1987 至 1991. 該學院是由委員會管理, 由奧斯汀·阿舍主持,由監獄長帶領, 吉姆·湯姆森教授, 昆士蘭大學. 安排與昆士蘭大學提出,由該機構學院將授予學位. 工作人員招募 1986 而坐落在老達爾文小學教學樓. 只是之前服用的第一批學生在二月 1987, 學院在達爾文入住前達爾文醫院的轉換建築在Myilly點. 前護士’ 旅館成了學生宿舍, 名為國際賓館. 學院有兩個院系, 藝術與科學. 它授予, 通過昆士蘭鏈接大學, 哲學的第一個醫生在北領地度.

Centralian學院成立於 1993 從Sadadeen高中大學的合併和TAFE的愛麗絲泉學院. 在其生命, 學院提供高中, TAFE和高等教育通過在愛麗絲泉的主校區, 和在較小程度上整個北領地. Centralian學院是一所男女同校高中, 從年級學生 10 至年 12. Centralian學院共享其與愛麗絲泉的查爾斯達爾文大學校園校園. Centralian學院利用大學的設施和學生參加Centralian學院可以參加職業教育和培訓課程 (早在年 10) 通過CDU提供.

北領地大學 (NTU) 始建於一月 1989 通過技術的達爾文學院和北領地的大學學院合併. 此次合併是有爭議, 但所謂道金斯革命下的教育約翰·道金斯的聯邦部長被迫. 新的大學開始生活 1 一月 1989. 昆士蘭大學的學位繼續被授予了幾年.

第一副總理是在西澳大利亞默多克大學的馬爾科姆·奈恩教授. 在他領導下的大學和繁榮士氣工作人員和學生之間的高. 但是資金下降,因為學生人數上升. 在他的任期內就領土的各種研究中心, 先前已經由北領地政府直接運行, 大學成為一部分. 在校園帕默斯頓, 幾年以前是TAFE學院, 也成了大學的一部分. 帕麥斯頓校園位於大學路,因為這是該項目選址在提交新的大學聯邦政府 1981.

第二副校長來自格里菲斯大學羅傑·霍姆斯教授. 初始良好的開端,以他的辦公室時間後, 他失望的辭職大學和當地社區服務只有一個學期佔用副校長的職位在紐卡斯爾大學後.

他被當時的副校長更換為第三副校長, 羅恩·麥凱教授. 在他的領導, 上了大學財政困難增加. 必須盡可能廣泛提供盡可能一個高等教育的一個小的人口居住在一個非常大的面積遠遠替代機構的環境變得更加敵對和大學沒有繁榮. 在一月 2001, 凱瑟琳農村大學生, 包括馬塔蘭卡站, 大學成了一部分.

麥凱辭職後因健康欠佳 2002, 臨時副校長, 肯·麥金農教授, 臥龍崗大學的前校長被任命. 他採用了各種措施,促進學校健康, 一些有爭議, 如合併有Centralian學院以新名稱為大學的建議.

上 21 八月 2003, 北領地立法議會通過了查爾斯·達爾文大學法 2003 (NT), 合併艾麗斯斯普林斯’ Centralian學院和健康研究學院孟席斯與北領地大學,形成從查爾斯達爾文大學 1 一月 2004. 首屆校務委員會會議室召開。 26 十一月 2003.


你要嗎 討論查爾斯達爾文大學 ? 任何問題, 意見或評論


查爾斯達爾文大學地圖


照片


相片: 查爾斯達爾文大學 官方Facebook

視頻





與好友分享這個有用的信息

查爾斯達爾文大學的評論

加入查爾斯達爾文大學的討論.
請注意: EducationBro雜誌讓你在閱讀有關大學信息的能力 96 語言, 但我們要求您尊重其他成員和英語發表評論.

Charles Darwin University

Charles Darwin University

Charles Darwin University Details

Enroll at Charles Darwin University

Overview


Charles Darwin University (CDU) is an Australian public university with about 22,083 students as of 2011. It was established in 2003 after the merger of Northern Territory University (NTU) of Darwin, the Menzies School of Health Research and Centralian College of Alice Springs and it was named after Charles Darwin, the celebrated English naturalist.

It is a member of the group of 7 Innovative Research Universities in Australia. CDU has campuses in the Darwin suburb ofCasuarina, the city of Palmerston, and the towns of Alice Springs, Katherine and Nhulunbuy, with smaller training centres in Jabiru, Tennant Creek and Yulara. A new Waterfront Campus opened in 2015 in the Darwin CBD which contains the Business School.

The University offers a wide range of Higher Education degrees and Vocational Education and Training courses with flexible study options, including part-time, external and online.

By 2015 Charles Darwin University will have grown its student base by 50 per cent. It will be renowned for its leading approach to education, research and community engagement in regional and remote Australia, and the region as a whole.

It will also draw on the priorities of the region in framing its education programs and exploring the frontiers of knowledge.

With a focus on high quality, flexible local and distance education, CDU will provide the learning that students, the region and the nation require to produce innovative graduates who effectively meet the challenges of a complex, changing world.

As a distinctive multi-sector education provider, this University will be recognised as a leader in student support and the provision of pathways from vocational training through to advanced research degrees.

It will achieve increased student participation, particularly amongst disadvantaged educational groups, through traditional and non-traditional approaches to education delivery and, in doing so, will effectively meet the needs of Indigenous students to become their university of choice.

This University’s established research strengths in tropical, desert and Indigenous knowledge will become a national and international resource, open to collaboration and equipped to provide solutions to complex problems of local, national and international significance.

CDU will be a dynamic and robust regional tertiary institution that will have forged strong, mutually beneficial partnerships with other key institutions, government and the community.

It will meet the needs of industry and the professions for a skilled workforce and will provide leadership to advance the intellectual, professional, social, cultural and environmental wellbeing of the Northern Territory.

Staff will be recognised for, and supported in, the achievement of the University’s goals. In all areas of endeavour this University will apply the highest standards of professionalism, efficiency and accountability to maximise its effectiveness and ensure the value of its contribution to the region in which it operates.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


Faculty of Engineering, Health, Science and the Environment

  • School of Engineering and Information Technology
  • School of Environment
  • School of Health
  • School of Psychological and Clinical Sciences

Faculty of Law, Education, Business and Arts

  • School of Academic Language and Learning
  • CDU Business School
  • School of Creative Arts and Humanities
  • School of Education
  • School of Law
  • School of Indigenous Knowledges and Public Policy

Faculty of Vocational Education and Training

  • School of Service Industries
  • School of Primary Industries
  • School of Trades
  • School of Health, Community and Children’s Services

History


Charles Darwin University has evolved over the years through the merging of several higher education institutions.

Darwin Community College, founded in 1974 and renamed Darwin Institute of Technology in 1984, was a combined College of Advanced Education and a TAFE College. It was situated on what is now the Casuarina Campus, although it used other buildings at various times in Darwin. By the time of the formation of the Northern Territory University, it gave degrees in Arts, Education, Business and Applied Science.

The Menzies School of Health Research was established in 1985 as a body corporate of the Northern Territory Government under the Menzies Act 1985. This Act was amended in 2004 to formalise the relationship with Charles Darwin University (CDU). Menzies is now a major partner of CDU and constitutes a school within the University on campus at CDU Casuarina offering post-graduate degrees and higher degrees by research.

On several occasions the Government of the Northern Territory requested the Australian Commonwealth Government to finance a university in the Territory. The response was always that the population was too small. In 1985, it took the unusual step of financing the University College of the Northern Territory itself for a five-year period from 1987 to 1991. The college was governed by a Council, chaired by Austin Asche and led by a Warden, Professor Jim Thomson, from the University of Queensland. An arrangement was made with the University of Queensland that the College would awards degrees from that institution. Staff were recruited in 1986 and housed in the old Darwin Primary School buildings. Just prior to taking the first students in February 1987, the College moved to converted building of the former Darwin Hospital at Myilly Point in Darwin. The former Nurses’ Hostel became a student residence, named International House. The College had two Faculties, of Arts and Science. It awarded, through the University of Queensland link, the first Doctor of Philosophy degrees in the Northern Territory.

Centralian College was founded in 1993 from the merger of Sadadeen Senior Secondary College and the Alice Springs College of TAFE. During its life, the college delivered senior secondary, TAFE and Higher Education through its main campus in Alice Springs, and to a lesser extent the whole Northern Territory. Centralian College is a co-educational senior secondary school, for students from Year 10 to Year 12. Centralian College shares its campus with the Charles Darwin University campus of Alice Springs. Centralian College uses the university’s facilities and students attending Centralian College can participate in VET courses (as early as Year 10) offered by CDU.

The Northern Territory University (NTU) was founded in January 1989 by a merger of the Darwin Institute of Technology and the University College of the Northern Territory. The merger was controversial, but forced by the so-called Dawkins Revolution under Federal Minister of Education John Dawkins. The new university started life on 1 January 1989. Degrees of the University of Queensland continued to be awarded for a few years.

The first Vice-Chancellor was Professor Malcolm Nairn from Murdoch University in Western Australia. Under his leadership the university prospered and morale was high among both staff and students. However funding declined as student numbers rose. During his term of office the various study centres on the Territory, that previously had been run directly by the NT Government, became part of the University. The Palmerston campus, for a few years previously a TAFE College, also became part of the university. The Palmerston campus is situated on University Avenue as this was the proposed site for a new university in a submission to the Federal Government in 1981.

The second Vice-Chancellor was Professor Roger Holmes from Griffith University. After an initial excellent start to his period of office, he disappointed the university and local community by resigning after serving for only one semester to take up the post of Vice-Chancellor at University of Newcastle.

He was replaced as third Vice-Chancellor by the then Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Professor Ron McKay. Under his leadership, the financial constraints on the university increased. The environment of having to provide as wide as possible a tertiary education to a small population living in a very large area far from alternative institutions became even more hostile and the university did not prosper. In January 2001, the Katherine Rural College, including Mataranka Station, became part of the university.

After McKay’s resignation due to ill health in 2002, an interim Vice-Chancellor, Professor Ken McKinnon, former Vice-Chancellor of the University of Wollongong was appointed. He took various actions to improve the health of the university, some controversial, such as the proposal to merge with Centralian College with a new name for the university.

On 21 August 2003, the Northern Territory Legislative Assembly passed the Charles Darwin University Act 2003 (NT), merging Alice Springs’ Centralian College and the Menzies School of Health Research with the Northern Territory University to form Charles Darwin University from 1 January 2004. The inaugural university council meeting was held on 26 November 2003.


Do you want discuss Charles Darwin University ? Any question, comments or reviews


Charles Darwin University on Map


Photo


Photos: Charles Darwin University official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

Charles Darwin University reviews

Join to discuss of Charles Darwin University.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.