Université La Trobe

La Trobe University en Australie

La Trobe University Détails

  • Pays : Australie
  • Ville : Melbourne
  • Acronyme : LTU
  • Fondé : 1964
  • Élèves (environ.) : 37000
  • Ne pas oublier de discuter La Trobe University
Inscrivez-vous à l'Université La Trobe

aperçu


Université La Trobe est un multi-campus universitaire de recherche public australien dont le campus phare, le plus grand campus métropolitaine dans le pays, est situé dans Bundoora, Victoria.

L'université a été créée en 1964 suite à l'avis conforme du Loi sur l'Université La Trobe par le Parlement victorien 9 Décembre de cette année, devenant la troisième université dans l'état et la douzième université en Australie. Bien qu'il ne partage pas l'esthétique architecturale de ses pairs de grès, à sa base La Trobe, autant que Monash, était « parmi les derniers des vieilles universités en Australie ». Parmi les nombreuses aspirations pour La Trobe par ses fondateurs, l'une de ses réalisations les plus importantes, et une grande source de fierté universitaire, a été son engagement de longue date à offrir l'accès à l'enseignement supérieur à ceux qui sont traditionnellement exclus du secteur. Dans 2015 il a été classé dans le top 100 universités sous 50 dans le Times Higher Education classement mondial Université. aditionellement, les 2015-16 les indicateurs de performance mis La Trobe en 12e en Australie pour l'enseignement, 11e pour la recherche, et 13 pour les revenus de l'industrie.

La Trobe’s campus d'origine et le principal est situé dans la région métropolitaine de Melbourne, dans la banlieue de Bundoora. Il dispose de deux autres grands campus situés dans la ville victorienne régionale de Bendigo et les villes jumelles frontalières de Albury-Wodonga. L'université dispose de deux petits campus régionaux à Mildura et Shepparton et trois campus de la CDB mineurs: deux à Melbourne sur Franklin Street et Collins Street et l'autre sur la rue York à Sydney.

La Trobe offre de premier cycle et cours de troisième cycle à travers ses deux collèges d'arts, Sciences sociales et du commerce (ASSC) et de la science, Santé et Ingénierie (ELLE). ASSC se compose des quatre écoles de commerce, Éducation, Sciences humaines et sociales, et le droit, Même si elle se compose de neuf écoles d'Allied Health, Applied Systems Biology, cancer Medicine, Ingénierie et sciences mathématiques, Sciences de la vie, Sciences moléculaires, Soins infirmiers et obstétricaux, Psychologie et santé publique et de santé en milieu rural.

La Trobe est considérée comme particulièrement forte dans le domaine des arts et des sciences humaines; cela se reflète dans la 2014 QS World University Rankings où il a été classé dans le top 200 universités internationales pour les arts et les sciences humaines. Il a été classé 38e dans le monde dans les domaines de l'archéologie, histoire et classiques anciens, tandis que la sociologie, la communication, études de médias et linguistique ont tous marqué en haut 100. Il a également été classé dans le top 100 les universités pour les arts et les sciences humaines dans le 2014-15 Times Higher Education classement mondial Université, où il était le numéro d'une université australienne pour les revenus de l'industrie. La Trobe dispose également d'une forte maîtrise en administration des affaires (MBA) programme qui a été classé dans le top 200 écoles de commerce par QS Global Rankings depuis 2010. Dans 2014 le La Trobe MBA a été classé 14e en Asie, 4e en Australie et 2e à Victoria par QS Global Rankings.

En termes de qualité de la recherche, la force des expositions universitaires dans les domaines des arts et des sciences humaines, et les sciences biologiques et biotechniques. Dans 2015 La Trobe a été classé 3e à Victoria dans le Australian Research Council’s excellence en recherche pour l'Australie (ÈRE) rapport.

La Trobe est une université verdoyante et un membre des universités de recherche innovantes.

Pour la plupart de son histoire La Trobe a été considéré comme un bastion de la pensée radicale et progressiste en Australie, en grande partie provenant de l'activisme fort étudiant à l'université au cours des années 1960 et 1970. Bien que pas aussi répandue qu'elle était au 20e siècle, il est une réputation qui est toujours détenu.

Écoles / collèges / Départements / Cours / facultés


  • Entreprise
  • Informatique et génie
  • Éducation
  • Sciences de la santé et du travail social
  • sport, Le tourisme et l'hospitalité
  • Droit et études juridiques
  • En plein air et l'éducation environnementale
  • Counseling et de psychothérapie
  • Sciences et psychologie
  • Art et désign
  • lettres, la communication, Sciences humaines, Sciences sociales

Histoire


La Trobe a été l'un de l'Australie’s universités d'avant-garde depuis plus de 45 années. Découvrez notre histoire unique, y compris notre devise et des armoiries.

célébrant plus 40 ans d'histoire

Dans 1967, 552 les étudiants inscrits à l'Université La Trobe, la troisième Université d'ouvrir à Victoria.

Il a grandi pour accueillir plus de 30,000 étudiants dont environ 7,600 étudiants internationaux de plus de 90 des pays.

Nous avons maintenant un réseau de campus avec 21,000 les étudiants de notre campus de Melbourne et plus 5,900 nos campus à Albury-Wodonga, Bendigo, Mildura, Melbourne City et Shepparton.

Passé chanceliers et vice-chanceliers

Université La Trobe’s engagement envers l'excellence de l'enseignement a été supervisé par des gens vraiment source d'inspiration. Les dirigeants qui ont façonné l'université, et la vie des milliers d'étudiants qui ont assisté à La Trobe au cours des quatre dernières décennies.

chanceliers passées Vice-chanceliers passées
Sir Archibald Glenn OBE: 1967 – 1972 David Myers: 1965 – 1976
L'honorable juge Reginald Smithers: 1972-1980 John Scott: 1977 – 1989
L'honorable juge Richard McGarvie: 1980-1992 Michael Osborne: 1990 – 2006
Professeur émérite Nancy F Millis AC: 1992-2006 Brian Stoddart: 2006
Dr Sylvia Walton AO: 2006 - 2011 Paul Johnson: 2007 – 2011

nom de l'université

La Trobe University a été nommé d'après Charles Joseph La Trobe, le premier surintendant du district de Port Phillip de 1839 à 1850 et le premier lieutenant-gouverneur de la nouvelle colonie de Victoria de 1851 à 1854. Il était un homme poussé par son besoin de faire une différence dans les communautés, il a servi, laissant un héritage qui continue aujourd'hui à l'Université La Trobe.

Sir Charles La Trobe a fait plus pour façonner l'État australien de Victoria que tout autre homme. De son amour de l'environnement australien et sa conservation, son plan ambitieux visant à transformer la colonie de Victoria, à son souci du bien-être des premiers Australiens, il était un homme profondément animé par des valeurs sociales progressistes.

Ses valeurs se retrouvent dans La Trobe University’s mission fondatrice de servir la communauté en améliorant l'accès de l'enseignement supérieur, et il est une tradition qui se poursuit aujourd'hui avec une gamme de programmes et initiatives visant à accroître les taux de participation de l'enseignement supérieur entre Victoria’ les communautés défavorisées.


Voulez-vous discuter La Trobe University ? Des questions, commentaires ou avis


La Trobe University sur la carte


Photo


Photos: Université La Trobe Facebook officielle

Vidéo





Partagez cette info utile avec vos amis

La Trobe University commentaires

Inscrivez-vous pour discuter de La Trobe University.
NOTEZ S'IL VOUS PLAÎT: EducationBro Magazine vous donne la possibilité de lire des infos sur les universités à 96 langues, mais nous vous demandons de respecter les autres membres et laisser des commentaires en anglais.

La Trobe University

La Trobe University Australia

La Trobe University Details

  • Country : Australia
  • City : Melbourne
  • Acronym : LTU
  • Founded : 1964
  • Students (approx.) : 37000
  • Don't forget to discuss La Trobe University
Enroll at La Trobe University

Overview


La Trobe University is an Australian multi-campus public research university whose flagship campus, the largest metropolitan campus in the country, is located in Bundoora, Victoria.

The university was established in 1964 following the assent of the La Trobe University Act by Victorian Parliament on 9 December of that year, becoming the third university in the state and the twelfth university in Australia. While it does not share the architectural aesthetics of its sandstone peers, at its core La Trobe, as much as Monash, was “among the last of the old universities in Australia”. Of the many aspirations for La Trobe by its founders, one of its most prominent achievements, and a great source of university pride, has been its long-standing commitment to providing access to higher education to those traditionally excluded from the sector. In 2015 it was ranked in the top 100 universities under 50 in the Times Higher Education World University Rankings. Additionally, the 2015–16 THE performance indicators placed La Trobe as 12th in Australia for teaching, 11th for research, and 13th for industry income.

La Trobe’s original and principal campus is located in the Melbourne metropolitan area, within the suburb of Bundoora. It has two other major campuses located in the regional Victorian city of Bendigo and the twin border cities of Albury-Wodonga. The university has two smaller regional campuses in Mildura and Shepparton and three minor CBD campuses: two in Melbourne on Franklin Street and Collins Street and one on York Street in Sydney.

La Trobe offers undergraduate and postgraduate courses across its two colleges of Arts, Social Science and Commerce (ASSC) and Science, Health and Engineering (SHE). ASSC consists of the four schools of Business, Education, Humanities and Social Sciences, and Law, while SHE consists of the nine schools of Allied Health, Applied Systems Biology, Cancer Medicine, Engineering and Mathematical Sciences, Life Sciences, Molecular Sciences, Nursing and Midwifery, Psychology and Public Health and Rural Health. 

La Trobe is considered to be particularly strong in the area of arts and humanities; this was reflected in the 2014 QS World University Rankings where it was ranked in the top 200 international universities for arts and humanities. It was ranked 38th in the world in the fields of archaeology, ancient history and classics, while sociology, communication, media studies and linguistics all scored in the top 100. It was also ranked in the top 100 universities for arts and humanities in the 2014-15 Times Higher Education World University Rankings, where it was the number one Australian university for industry income. La Trobe also features a strong Masters of Business Administration (MBA) program which has been ranked in the top 200 business schools by QS Global Rankings since 2010. In 2014 the La Trobe MBA was ranked 14th in Asia, 4th in Australia and 2nd in Victoria by QS Global Rankings.

In terms of research quality, the university exhibits strength in the areas of arts and humanities, and biological and biotechnical sciences. In 2015 La Trobe was ranked 3rd in Victoria in the Australian Research Council’s Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) report.

La Trobe is a verdant university and a member of the Innovative Research Universities.

For most of its history La Trobe has been regarded as a bastion of radical and progressive thought within Australia, largely emanating from strong student activism at the university during the 1960s and 1970s. While not as prevalent as it was in the 20th century, it is a reputation that is still held.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


  • Business
  • Computing and Engineering
  • Education
  • Health Sciences and Social Work
  • Sport, Tourism and Hospitality
  • Law and Legal Studies
  • Outdoor and Environmental Education
  • Counselling and Psychotherapy
  • Sciences and Psychology
  • Art and Design
  • Arts, Communication, Humanities, Social Sciences

History


La Trobe has been one of Australia’s pioneering universities for over forty-five years. Discover our unique history, including our motto and coat of arms.

Celebrating over 40 years of history

In 1967, 552 students enrolled at La Trobe University, the third University to open in Victoria.

It has grown to accommodate more than 30,000 students including approximately 7,600 international students from over 90 countries.

We now have a network of campuses with 21,000 students at our Melbourne campus and over 5,900 at our campuses in Albury-Wodonga, Bendigo, Mildura, Melbourne City and Shepparton.

Past Chancellors and Vice-Chancellors

La Trobe University’s commitment to teaching excellence has been overseen by some truly inspirational people. Leaders that have shaped the university, and the lives of the thousands of students that have attended La Trobe over the past four decades.

Past Chancellors Past Vice-Chancellors
Sir Archibald Glenn OBE:  1967 – 1972 David Myers: 1965 – 1976
Hon Mr Justice Reginald Smithers:  1972-1980 John Scott: 1977 – 1989
Hon Mr Justice Richard McGarvie:  1980-1992 Michael Osborne: 1990 – 2006
Emeritus Professor Nancy F Millis AC:  1992-2006 Brian Stoddart: 2006
Dr Sylvia Walton AO:  2006 – 2011 Paul Johnson: 2007 – 2011

University name

La Trobe University was named after Charles Joseph La Trobe, the first Superintendent of the Port Phillip District from 1839 to 1850 and first Lieutenant-Governor of the new colony of Victoria from 1851 to 1854.  He was a man driven by his need to make a difference to the communities he served, leaving a legacy that continues today at La Trobe University.

Sir Charles La Trobe did more to shape the Australian State of Victoria than any other man. From his love of the Australian environment and its conservation, his ambitious plan to transform the colony of Victoria, to his concern for the welfare of the first Australians, he was a man deeply driven by progressive social values.

His values are echoed in La Trobe University’s founding mission to serve the community through improving access of higher education, and it is a tradition that continues today with a range of programs and initiatives to increase higher education participation rates amongst Victoria’ disadvantaged communities.


Do you want discuss La Trobe University ? Any question, comments or reviews


La Trobe University on Map


Photo


Photos: La Trobe University official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

La Trobe University reviews

Join to discuss of La Trobe University.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.