Macquarie University

Macquarie University Australien

Macquarie University Einzelheiten

Einschreiben an der Macquarie University

Überblick


Macquarie University eine öffentliche Universität Forschung in Sydney ansässigen, Australien, in der Vorstadt von Macquarie Park. Gegründet in 1964 von der New South Wales Regierung, Es war die dritte Hochschule in der Metropolregion Sydney eingerichtet werden.

Gegründet als eine grüne Universität, Macquarie hat fünf Fakultäten sowie der Macquarie University Hospital und der Macquarie Graduate School of Management, die auf der Uni-Campus in einem Vorort von Sydney sind.

Die Universität ist die erste in Australien voll Grad-System mit dem Bologna-Abkommen ausrichten.

Stellen Sie sich in einem der weltweit größten Städte studieren. Ein schöner grüner Campus zusammenbringt Perspektiven aus der ganzen Welt, alle auf einem Weg zu einer spannenden Zukunft. Willkommen bei der Macquarie University.

Mit unserem 5-Sterne-QS-Rating und weltweit für Kompetenz in den Bereichen Wirtschaft und Gesundheit und medizinischen Wissenschaften, wir produzieren Absolventen, die unter den meisten sind gefragte Fachleute in der Welt.

 

Schulen / Hochschulen / Abteilungen / Kurse / Fakultäten


Kunstschule

  • Institut für Alte Geschichte
  • Institut für Ethnologie
  • Institut für Anglistik
  • Institut für Geographie und Raumplanung
  • Department of Indigenous Studies
  • Department of International Studies: Sprachen und Kulturen
  • Institut für Medien, Musik, Studien Kommunikation und kulturelle
  • Institut für Neuere und Neueste Geschichte, Politik und internationale Beziehungen
  • Institut für Philosophie
  • Institut für Sicherheitsstudien und Kriminologie (Department of Policing früher, Intelligenz und Terrorismusbekämpfung)
  • Institut für Soziologie
  • Macquarie Law School
  • Big History Institute

Fakultät für Wirtschaftswissenschaften

  • Institut für Rechnungslegung und Corporate Governance
  • Institut für Angewandte Finanz- und Aktuarwissenschaften
  • Fakultät für Wirtschaftswissenschaften
  • Institut für Marketing und Management

Fakultät für Humanwissenschaften

  • School of Education
  • Institut für Kognitionswissenschaft
  • Institut für Linguistik
  • Institut für Psychologie
  • Institut für Frühkindliche

Fakultät für Medizin und Gesundheitswissenschaften

  • Australian Institute of Health Innovation
  • Department of Biomedical Sciences
  • Department für Klinische Medizin
  • Department of Health Professions
  • Department of Health Systems und Populations

Fakultät für Naturwissenschaften und Technik

  • Department of Biological Sciences
  • Institut für Chemie und biomolekulare Wissenschaften
  • Department of Chiropraktik
  • Department of Computing
  • Institut für Erd- und Planetenwissenschaften
  • Lehrstuhl für Ingenieur
  • Institut für Umweltwissenschaften
  • Abteilung für Mathematik
  • Institut für Physik und Astronomie
  • Institut für Statistik

Geschichte


Die Idee, eine dritte Universität in Sydney Gründung wurde in den frühen 1960er Jahren markiert, wenn die New South Wales Regierung einen Untersuchungsausschuß in der Hochschulbildung gebildet mit einem wahrgenommen Notfall in der Universität Einschreibungen in New South Wales zu beschäftigen. Während dieser Untersuchung, the Senate of the University of Sydney put in a submission which highlightedthe immediate need to establish a third university in the metropolitan area‘. Nach langer Debatte wurde ein zukünftiger Campus Standort ausgewählt in einem damals halb-ländlichen Teil von North Ryde, und es wurde beschlossen, dass die Zukunft der Universität nach Lachlan Macquarie genannt werden, Ein wichtiger Früh Gouverneur der Kolonie von New South Wales.

Macquarie University wurde offiziell gegründet in 1964 mit dem Durchgang der Macquarie University Act 1964 von der New South Wales Parlament.

Das ursprüngliche Konzept des Campus war einen neuen High-Tech-Korridor zu schaffen, ähnlich wie die Umgebung der Stanford University in Palo Alto, Kalifornien, das Ziel ist für die Interaktion zwischen der Industrie und der neuen Universität zu schaffen,. Der akademische Kern wurde in theBrutalist Stil entworfen und von dem renommierten Stadtplaner Walter Abraham entwickelt, die auch die nächste beaufsichtigte 20 Jahre der Planung und Entwicklung für die Universität. Ein Ausschuss ernannt, um die Landesregierung über die Gründung der neuen Universität in North Ryde nominiert Abraham als Architekt-Planer zu beraten. Der junge Macquarie University Rat beschlossen, dass für den Campus Planung innerhalb der Universität durchgeführt werden würde, anstatt von Beratern, und dies führte zur Gründung des Architekten-Planer Büros.

Der erste Vizekanzler der Macquarie University, Alexander George Mitchell, wurde vom Universitätsrat gewählt, die zum ersten Mal getroffen 17 Juni 1964. Die Mitglieder des ersten Hochschulrats enthalten: Colonel Sir Edward Ford OBE, David Mellor Paver, Rae Else-Mitchell, QC, und Sir Walter Scott.

Die Universität eröffnet ersten Studenten auf 6 März 1967 mit mehr Studenten als erwartet. Die australische Universitäten Kommission hatte gelassen 510 effektive Vollzeit-Studenten (EFTS) aber Macquarie hatte 956 Einschreibungen und 622 EFTS. Zwischen 1968 und 1969, Einschreibung an der Macquarie erhöht dramatisch mit einem extra 1200 EFTS, mit 100 neue wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiter beschäftigt. 1969 auch sah of Management die Gründung der Macquarie Graduate School (MGSM).

Macquarie wuchs in den siebziger und achtziger Jahren mit schnellen Expansion in Kursen angeboten, Studentenzahlen und die Entwicklung des Standorts. Im 1972, die Universität gegründet, um die Macquarie Law School, die dritte Law School in Sydney. In ihrem Buch Liberalität der Gelegenheit, Bruce Mansfield and Mark Hutchinson describe the founding of Macquarie University asan act of faith and a great experiment‘. Ein weiteres Thema in diesem Buch betrachtet ist die Wissenschaft Reformbewegung der späten 1970er Jahre, die in der Einführung eines benannten Science-Abschlusses in Folge, und erleichtert so die spätere Einbeziehung von anderen genannten Graden zusätzlich zu dem traditionellen BA.[

Nach mehr als einem Jahrzehnt Service, der erste Vizekanzler Professor Mitchell wurde von Professor Edwin Webb im Dezember gelungen 1975. Professor Webb war erforderlich, um die Universität durch eine ihrer schwierigsten Perioden zu steuern, wie der Wert von Universitäten diskutiert wurden und die Regierungen eingeführt erhebliche Mittelkürzungen.

Professor Webb verließ die Universität in 1986 und wurde Nachfolger von Di Yerbury, der erste weibliche Vizekanzler in Australien. Professor Yerbury würde fast die Position des Vizekanzlers gehen zu halten 20 Jahre.

Im 1990 die Universität absorbiert das Institut für Frühkindliche Studien der Sydney College of Advanced Education, unter den Bedingungen des Hochschul (Verschmelzung) Handlung 1989.

Professor Steven Schwartz ersetzt Di Yerbury am Anfang 2006. Yerbury Weggang wurde mit viel Streit besucht, einschließlich a „erbitterter Streit“ mit Schwartz, strittiges Eigentum an der Universität Kunstwerk wert $13 Millionen und Gehaltspaket der Yerbury. Im August 2006, Professor Schwartz äußerte sich besorgt über die Aktionen von Yerbury in einem Brief an die Universität Rechnungsprüfer. Yerbury verweigert stark jegliches Fehlverhalten und behauptete, die Kunstwerke waren ihre.

Während 2007, Macquarie University seine Studentenorganisation umstrukturiert, nachdem eine Prüfung gestellten Fragen über das Management von Hunderttausenden von Dollar in Fonds, die von Studentenorganisationen Im Zentrum der Untersuchung war Victor Ma, Präsident der Macquarie University Students‘ Rat, , die zuvor in einem hochkarätigen Fall von Studenten Wahl Fixierung an der Universität von Sydney beteiligt. Die Universität Rat umgehend entfernen Ma von seiner Position gelöst. Vizekanzler Schwartz zitiert einen dringenden Bedarf Macquarie Hauptstudenteneinrichtungen zu reformieren. jedoch, Ma strongly denied any wrongdoing and labelled the controversy a case ofcharacter assassination‘. Das Bundesgericht bestellt auf 23 Kann 2007 dass Macquarie University Union Ltd aufwickeln.

Nach der Auflösung der Macquarie University Union Ltd, die scheidende Studentenorganisation wurde mit einer neuen hundertprozentigen Tochtergesellschaft der Universität ersetzt, als U @ MQ Ltd bekannt. Die neue Studentenorganisation fehlte ursprünglich eine echte Studentenvertreter Gewerkschaft; jedoch, im Anschluss an eine vollständige Überprüfung und Genehmigung von der Universität des Rat, ein neuer Student Vereinigung bekannt als Macquarie University Students Association (Musra) wurde gegründet, in 2009.

Innerhalb der ersten 100 Tage von Schwartz Einsetzung als Vizekanzler, theMacquarie@50‘ strategischer Plan ins Leben gerufen wurde, die positioniert, um die universitäre Forschung zu verbessern, Lehren, Infrastruktur und akademische Rankings von der 50-jährigen Jubiläum der Universität in 2014. Eingeschlossen in den Plänen der Universität für die Zukunft war die Einrichtung eines Nachhaltigkeits Büros, um an der Macquarie ökologische und soziale Entwicklung effektiver zu verwalten. Im Rahmen dieser Kampagne, im 2009 Macquarie wurde die erste akkreditierte Universität Fair Trade in Australien. Der Anfang von 2009 sah auch die Einführung eines neuen Logos für die Universität, die die Sirius Star beibehalten, , die auf das alte Logo und die Universität Wappen, but nowembedded in a stylised lotus flower‘. In Übereinstimmung mit der Universität von Schwiegern, das Wappen weiterhin für formale Zwecke verwendet werden und wird auf der Universität testamurs angezeigt. Das Neben Gesetz schreibt auch das Motto der Universität, von Chaucer genommen: ‚And gladly teche‘.

Im 2013, Die Universität wurde die erste in Australien voll sein Grad-System mit dem Bologna-Abkommen ausrichten.


Möchtest du diskutieren Macquarie University ? Irgendeine Frage, Kommentare oder Bewertungen


Macquarie University Auf der Karte


Foto


Fotos: Macquarie University offiziellen Facebook

Video





Teilen Sie diese nützliche Informationen mit deinen Freunden

Macquarie University Bewertungen

Mitglied werden diskutieren von Macquarie University.
BITTE BEACHTEN SIE: EducationBro Magazin bietet Ihnen die Möglichkeit Informationen über Universitäten zu lesen an 96 Sprachen, aber wir bitten Sie andere Mitglieder zu respektieren und Kommentare zu hinterlassen auf Englisch.

Macquarie University

Macquarie University Australia

Macquarie University Details

Enroll at Macquarie University

Overview


Macquarie University is a public research university based in Sydney, Australia, in the suburb of Macquarie Park. Founded in 1964 by the New South Wales Government, it was the third university to be established in the metropolitan area of Sydney.

Established as a verdant university, Macquarie has five faculties as well as the Macquarie University Hospital and the Macquarie Graduate School of Management which are located on the university’s main campus in suburban Sydney.

The university is the first in Australia to fully align its degree system with the Bologna Accord.

Imagine studying in one of the world’s greatest cities. A beautiful green campus bringing together perspectives from around the world, all on a path to a more exciting future. Welcome to Macquarie University.

With our 5-star QS rating and global reputation for expertise in areas like business and health and medical sciences, we produce graduates who are among the most sought-after professionals in the world.

 

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


Faculty of Arts

  • Department of Ancient History
  • Department of Anthropology
  • Department of English
  • Department of Geography and Planning
  • Department of Indigenous Studies
  • Department of International Studies: Languages and Cultures
  • Department of Media, Music, Communication and Cultural Studies
  • Department of Modern History, Politics and International Relations
  • Department of Philosophy
  • Department of Security Studies and Criminology (formerly Department of Policing, Intelligence and Counter Terrorism)
  • Department of Sociology
  • Macquarie Law School
  • Big History Institute

Faculty of Business and Economics

  • Department of Accounting and Corporate Governance
  • Department of Applied Finance and Actuarial Studies
  • Department of Economics
  • Department of Marketing and Management

Faculty of Human Sciences

  • School of Education
  • Department of Cognitive Science
  • Department of Linguistics
  • Department of Psychology
  • Institute of Early Childhood

Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

  • Australian Institute of Health Innovation
  • Department of Biomedical Sciences
  • Department of Clinical Medicine
  • Department of Health Professions
  • Department of Health Systems and Populations

Faculty of Science and Engineering

  • Department of Biological Sciences
  • Department of Chemistry and Biomolecular Sciences
  • Department of Chiropractic
  • Department of Computing
  • Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences
  • Department of Engineering
  • Department of Environmental Sciences
  • Department of Mathematics
  • Department of Physics and Astronomy
  • Department of Statistics

History


The idea of founding a third university in Sydney was flagged in the early 1960s when the New South Wales Government formed a committee of enquiry into higher education to deal with a perceived emergency in university enrollments in New South Wales. During this enquiry, the Senate of the University of Sydney put in a submission which highlighted ‘the immediate need to establish a third university in the metropolitan area’. After much debate a future campus location was selected in what was then a semi-rural part of North Ryde, and it was decided that the future university be named after Lachlan Macquarie, an important early governor of the colony of New South Wales.

Macquarie University was formally established in 1964 with the passage of the Macquarie University Act 1964 by the New South Wales parliament.

The initial concept of the campus was to create a new high technology corridor, similar to the area surrounding Stanford University in Palo Alto, California, the goal being to provide for interaction between industry and the new university. The academic core was designed in theBrutalist style and developed by the renowned town planner Walter Abraham who also oversaw the next 20 years of planning and development for the university. A committee appointed to advise the state government on the establishment of the new university at North Ryde nominated Abraham as the architect-planner. The fledgling Macquarie University Council decided that planning for the campus would be done within the university, rather than by consultants, and this led to the establishment of the architect-planners office.

The first Vice-Chancellor of Macquarie University, Alexander George Mitchell, was selected by the University Council which met for the first time on 17 June 1964. Members of the first university council included: Colonel Sir Edward Ford OBE, David Paver Mellor, Rae Else-Mitchell QC and Sir Walter Scott.

The university first opened to students on 6 March 1967 with more students than anticipated. The Australian Universities Commission had allowed for 510 effective full-time students (EFTS) but Macquarie had 956 enrolments and 622 EFTS. Between 1968 and 1969, enrolment at Macquarie increased dramatically with an extra 1200 EFTS, with 100 new academic staff employed. 1969 also saw the establishment of the Macquarie Graduate School of Management (MGSM).

Macquarie grew during the seventies and eighties with rapid expansion in courses offered, student numbers and development of the site. In 1972, the university established the Macquarie Law School, the third law school in Sydney. In their book Liberality of Opportunity, Bruce Mansfield and Mark Hutchinson describe the founding of Macquarie University as ‘an act of faith and a great experiment’. An additional topic considered in this book is the science reform movement of the late 1970s that resulted in the introduction of a named science degree, thus facilitating the subsequent inclusion of other named degrees in addition to the traditional BA.[

After over a decade of service, the first Vice Chancellor Professor Mitchell was succeeded by Professor Edwin Webb in December 1975. Professor Webb was required to steer the university through one of its most difficult periods as the value of universities were been debated and the governments introduced significant funding cuts.

Professor Webb left the university in 1986 and was succeeded by Di Yerbury, the first female Vice-Chancellor in Australia. Professor Yerbury would go on to hold the position of Vice-Chancellor for nearly 20 years.

In 1990 the university absorbed the Institute of Early Childhood Studies of the Sydney College of Advanced Education, under the terms of the Higher Education (Amalgamation) Act 1989.

Professor Steven Schwartz replaced Di Yerbury at the beginning of 2006. Yerbury’s departure was attended with much controversy, including a “bitter dispute” with Schwartz, disputed ownership of university artworks worth $13 million and Yerbury’s salary package. In August 2006, Professor Schwartz expressed concern about the actions of Yerbury in a letter to university auditors. Yerbury strongly denied any wrongdoing and claimed the artworks were hers.

During 2007, Macquarie University restructured its student organisation after an audit raised questions about management of hundreds of thousands of dollars in funds by student organisations At the centre of the investigation was Victor Ma, president of the Macquarie University Students’ Council, who was previously involved in a high-profile case of student election fixing at the University of Sydney. The university Council resolved to immediately remove Ma from his position. Vice-Chancellor Schwartz cited an urgent need to reform Macquarie’s main student bodies. However, Ma strongly denied any wrongdoing and labelled the controversy a case of ‘character assassination’. The Federal Court ordered on 23 May 2007 that Macquarie University Union Ltd be wound up.

Following the dissolution of Macquarie University Union Ltd, the outgoing student organisation was replaced with a new wholly owned subsidiary company of the university, known as U@MQ Ltd. The new student organisation originally lacked a true student representative union; however, following a complete review and authorisation from the university Council, a new student union known as Macquarie University Students Association (MUSRA) was established in 2009.

Within the first few hundred days of Schwartz’s instatement as Vice-Chancellor, the ‘Macquarie@50′ strategic plan was launched, which positioned the university to enhance research, teaching, infrastructure and academic rankings by the university’s 50th anniversary in 2014. Included in the university’s plans for the future was the establishment of a sustainability office in order to more effectively manage environmental and social development at Macquarie. As part of this campaign, in 2009 Macquarie became the first Fair Trade accredited university in Australia. The beginning of 2009 also saw the introduction of a new logo for the university which retained the Sirius Star, present on both the old logo and the university crest, but now ’embedded in a stylised lotus flower’. In accordance with the university by-law, the crest continues to be used for formal purposes and is displayed on university testamurs. The by-law also prescribes the university’s motto, taken from Chaucer: ‘And gladly teche’.

In 2013, the university became the first in Australia to fully align its degree system with the Bologna Accord.


Do you want discuss Macquarie University ? Any question, comments or reviews


Macquarie University on Map


Photo


Photos: Macquarie University official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

Macquarie University reviews

Join to discuss of Macquarie University.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.