麥考瑞大學

麥考瑞大學澳大利亞

麥考瑞大學細節

  • 國家 : 澳大利亞
  • 市 : 悉尼
  • 縮寫 : MU
  • 成立 : 1964
  • 學生們 (約。) : 40000
  • 不要忘了 討論麥考瑞大學
在報名麥考瑞大學

概觀


麥考瑞大學 基於一個公立研究型大學在悉尼, 澳大利亞, 麥格理公園郊區. 成立於 1964 由新南威爾士州政府, 它是在悉尼大都市區設立第三所大學.

確立為大學蔥蘢, 麥格理擁有五個學院,以及麥考瑞大學醫院管理的麥格理研究生院分別位於郊區悉尼大學的主校區.

這所大學是澳大利亞第一個全面調整其學位制度與博洛尼亞協定.

想像一下,在世界上最偉大的城市之一學習. 一個美麗的綠色校園來自世界各地匯集的觀點, 大家更精彩的未來路徑. 歡迎光臨麥考瑞大學.

憑藉我們在商務及衛生和醫學科學領域的5星級評級QS和全球聲譽的專業知識, 我們生產的畢業生誰是最搶手的世界專業人士.

 

學校 / 高校 / 部門 / 培訓班 / 院系


藝術學院

  • 古代歷史系
  • 人類學系
  • 英語系
  • 地理科學與規劃系
  • 土著學系
  • 國際學系: 語言和文化
  • 傳媒系, 音樂, 傳播與文化研究
  • 現代歷史系, 政治與國際關係
  • 哲學系
  • 安全研究和犯罪學系 (原警務系, 情報與反恐)
  • 社會學系
  • 麥格理法學院
  • 大歷史研究所

商業與經濟學院

  • 會計與公司治理部
  • 應用財務及精算學系
  • 經濟學系
  • 營銷與管理系

人文科學學院

  • 教育學院
  • 認知科學系
  • 語言學系
  • 心理學系
  • 幼兒教育研究所

中醫學及健康科學學院

  • 健康創新的澳大利亞學院
  • 生物醫學科學系
  • 臨床醫學系
  • 衛生專業系
  • 衛生系統和人口部

科學與工程學院

  • 生物科學系
  • 化學與生物分子科學系
  • 整脊科
  • 電子計算學系
  • 地球與行星科學系
  • 工程系
  • 環境科學系
  • 數學系
  • 物理和天文系
  • 統計部

歷史


創始於悉尼的第三所大學的想法,在60年代初被標記時,新南威爾士州政府成立調查委員會進入高等教育應對新南威爾士大學入學感知應急. 在此查詢, 悉尼大學的參議院投入其中強調“需要立即在首都地區設立第三所大學”劃界案. 經過激烈的辯論未來校園內的位置是在當時北萊德的半農村部分選擇, 並決定,今後大學拉克倫·麥覺理來命名, 新南威爾士殖民地的一個重要的早期州長.

麥考瑞大學正式成立 1964 與麥考瑞大學法案通過 1964 由新南威爾士州議會.

校園的最初的概念是要建立一個新的高科技走廊, 類似帕洛阿爾托周邊斯坦福大學區域, 加利福尼亞州, 其目標是,為行業和新的大學之間的互動. 學術核心的目的是在theBrutalist風格,由著名的城市規劃師沃爾特·亞伯拉罕誰也監督下一個開發 20 多年的規劃和發展為大學. 任命建議,州政府就設立在北萊德新的大學組成的委員會提名亞伯​​拉罕為建築師,規劃師. 羽翼未豐的麥考瑞大學理事會決定,規劃為校園將在大學內進行, 而不是由顧問, 這導致建立建築師,規劃師辦公室.

麥考瑞大學第一副校長, 亞歷山大·喬治·米切爾, 由大學理事會其中舉行了第一次選擇 17 六月 1964. 第一所大學理事會成員包括: 愛德華上校福特OBE爵士, 大衛·梅勒攤舖機, 李博否則 - 米切爾QC和沃爾特·斯科特爵士.

這所大學首先開通學生 6 遊行 1967 有更多的學生比預期. 澳大利亞大學委員會已允許 510 有效全日制學生 (EFTS) 但麥格理過 956 註冊和 622 EFTS. 之間 1968 和 1969, 招生麥格理一個額外的顯著增加 1200 EFTS, 同 100 新的學術人員聘用. 1969 也看到了建立管理麥格理研究生院 (MGSM).

麥格理銀行在提供課程七八十年代快速擴張期間增長, 學生人數和網站的發展. 在 1972, 大學建立了麥格理法學院, 第三法學院在悉尼. 在他們的書 機會慷慨, 布魯斯·曼斯菲爾德和馬克·哈欽森介紹麥考瑞大學的成立為“信仰的行為和一個偉大的實驗”. 在這本書中考慮的另外一個話題是70年代末的科學改革運動,導致引進一個名為科學學位, 從而有利於其他命名度除了後續列入傳統的BA.[

在以後的服務十年, 第一副校長米切爾教授埃德溫·韋伯教授在12月成功 1975. 韋伯教授被要求通過其最困難的時期之一引導大學作為大學的價值進行了辯論和政府出台顯著經費削減.

韋伯教授離開了大學 1986 並迪Yerbury成功, 第一位女性副校長在澳大利亞. Yerbury教授將繼續舉行副校長的位置近 20 年份.

在 1990 大學吸收了先進性教育的悉尼學院幼兒教育研究所, 在高等教育中的條款 (合併) 法案 1989.

史蒂芬施瓦茨教授取代迪Yerbury之初 2006. Yerbury的離去與備受爭議出席, 包括 “激烈爭執” 與施瓦茨, 大學的藝術作品價值的所有權爭議 $13 億和Yerbury的薪水包. 在八月 2006, 施瓦茨教授在寫給大學核數師有關Yerbury的行動表示關切. Yerbury堅決否認有任何不當行為,並聲稱該作品屬於她.

中 2007, 麥考瑞大學調整了其學生組織後的審計提出了數十萬美元的經費由學生組織的管理問題,在調查的中心是維克多馬, 麥考瑞大學學生會長’ 評議會, 誰曾參與學生選固定的一個備受關注的案件在悉尼大學. 大學理事會決定立即從他的位置去除馬. 副校長施瓦茨舉了一個迫切需要改革麥格理的主要學生組織. 然而, 馬雲極力否認有任何不當行為,並標有爭論'字符暗殺“的情況下. 聯邦法院下令 23 可以 2007 麥格理大學聯盟有限公司清盤.

繼麥考瑞大學聯盟公司的解散, 即將離任的學生組織與該大學的一個新的全資子公司取代, 眾所周知當U @ MQ有限公司. 新的學生組織原本缺乏一個真正的學生代表聯合會; 然而, 下面從大學理事會進行全面審查和授權, 被稱為麥考瑞大學學生協會新學生會 (MUSRA) 成立於 2009.

在施瓦茨的復職作為副校長的前幾個百天, 在“麥格理@ 50′ 戰略計劃啟動, 其中位於大學加強研究, 教學, 基礎設施和學術排名由大學在50週年 2014. 包括在大學的未來計劃是為了在麥格理更有效地管理環境和社會發展建立一個可持續發展辦公室. 作為這項活動的一部分, 在 2009 麥格理成為澳大利亞第一個公平貿易認證的大學. 的開始 2009 也看到了引進新標誌,為的大學,保留了天狼星, 目前雙方的舊標識和大學嵴, 但現在'嵌入在一個程式化的蓮花“. 按照大學的法, 波峰繼續被用於正式的目的,並顯示在大學testamurs. 通過該法還規定了大學的座右銘, 從喬叟所: “勤於泰克”.

在 2013, 大學成為澳大利亞首個完全調整其學位制度與博洛尼亞協定.


你要嗎 討論麥考瑞大學 ? 任何問題, 意見或評論


麥考瑞大學在地圖上


照片


相片: 麥考瑞大學 官方Facebook

視頻





與好友分享這個有用的信息

麥考瑞大學的評論

加入麥考瑞大學的討論.
請注意: EducationBro雜誌讓你在閱讀有關大學信息的能力 96 語言, 但我們要求您尊重其他成員和英語發表評論.

Macquarie University

Macquarie University Australia

Macquarie University Details

Enroll at Macquarie University

Overview


Macquarie University is a public research university based in Sydney, Australia, in the suburb of Macquarie Park. Founded in 1964 by the New South Wales Government, it was the third university to be established in the metropolitan area of Sydney.

Established as a verdant university, Macquarie has five faculties as well as the Macquarie University Hospital and the Macquarie Graduate School of Management which are located on the university’s main campus in suburban Sydney.

The university is the first in Australia to fully align its degree system with the Bologna Accord.

Imagine studying in one of the world’s greatest cities. A beautiful green campus bringing together perspectives from around the world, all on a path to a more exciting future. Welcome to Macquarie University.

With our 5-star QS rating and global reputation for expertise in areas like business and health and medical sciences, we produce graduates who are among the most sought-after professionals in the world.

 

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


Faculty of Arts

  • Department of Ancient History
  • Department of Anthropology
  • Department of English
  • Department of Geography and Planning
  • Department of Indigenous Studies
  • Department of International Studies: Languages and Cultures
  • Department of Media, Music, Communication and Cultural Studies
  • Department of Modern History, Politics and International Relations
  • Department of Philosophy
  • Department of Security Studies and Criminology (formerly Department of Policing, Intelligence and Counter Terrorism)
  • Department of Sociology
  • Macquarie Law School
  • Big History Institute

Faculty of Business and Economics

  • Department of Accounting and Corporate Governance
  • Department of Applied Finance and Actuarial Studies
  • Department of Economics
  • Department of Marketing and Management

Faculty of Human Sciences

  • School of Education
  • Department of Cognitive Science
  • Department of Linguistics
  • Department of Psychology
  • Institute of Early Childhood

Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

  • Australian Institute of Health Innovation
  • Department of Biomedical Sciences
  • Department of Clinical Medicine
  • Department of Health Professions
  • Department of Health Systems and Populations

Faculty of Science and Engineering

  • Department of Biological Sciences
  • Department of Chemistry and Biomolecular Sciences
  • Department of Chiropractic
  • Department of Computing
  • Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences
  • Department of Engineering
  • Department of Environmental Sciences
  • Department of Mathematics
  • Department of Physics and Astronomy
  • Department of Statistics

History


The idea of founding a third university in Sydney was flagged in the early 1960s when the New South Wales Government formed a committee of enquiry into higher education to deal with a perceived emergency in university enrollments in New South Wales. During this enquiry, the Senate of the University of Sydney put in a submission which highlighted ‘the immediate need to establish a third university in the metropolitan area’. After much debate a future campus location was selected in what was then a semi-rural part of North Ryde, and it was decided that the future university be named after Lachlan Macquarie, an important early governor of the colony of New South Wales.

Macquarie University was formally established in 1964 with the passage of the Macquarie University Act 1964 by the New South Wales parliament.

The initial concept of the campus was to create a new high technology corridor, similar to the area surrounding Stanford University in Palo Alto, California, the goal being to provide for interaction between industry and the new university. The academic core was designed in theBrutalist style and developed by the renowned town planner Walter Abraham who also oversaw the next 20 years of planning and development for the university. A committee appointed to advise the state government on the establishment of the new university at North Ryde nominated Abraham as the architect-planner. The fledgling Macquarie University Council decided that planning for the campus would be done within the university, rather than by consultants, and this led to the establishment of the architect-planners office.

The first Vice-Chancellor of Macquarie University, Alexander George Mitchell, was selected by the University Council which met for the first time on 17 June 1964. Members of the first university council included: Colonel Sir Edward Ford OBE, David Paver Mellor, Rae Else-Mitchell QC and Sir Walter Scott.

The university first opened to students on 6 March 1967 with more students than anticipated. The Australian Universities Commission had allowed for 510 effective full-time students (EFTS) but Macquarie had 956 enrolments and 622 EFTS. Between 1968 and 1969, enrolment at Macquarie increased dramatically with an extra 1200 EFTS, with 100 new academic staff employed. 1969 also saw the establishment of the Macquarie Graduate School of Management (MGSM).

Macquarie grew during the seventies and eighties with rapid expansion in courses offered, student numbers and development of the site. In 1972, the university established the Macquarie Law School, the third law school in Sydney. In their book Liberality of Opportunity, Bruce Mansfield and Mark Hutchinson describe the founding of Macquarie University as ‘an act of faith and a great experiment’. An additional topic considered in this book is the science reform movement of the late 1970s that resulted in the introduction of a named science degree, thus facilitating the subsequent inclusion of other named degrees in addition to the traditional BA.[

After over a decade of service, the first Vice Chancellor Professor Mitchell was succeeded by Professor Edwin Webb in December 1975. Professor Webb was required to steer the university through one of its most difficult periods as the value of universities were been debated and the governments introduced significant funding cuts.

Professor Webb left the university in 1986 and was succeeded by Di Yerbury, the first female Vice-Chancellor in Australia. Professor Yerbury would go on to hold the position of Vice-Chancellor for nearly 20 years.

In 1990 the university absorbed the Institute of Early Childhood Studies of the Sydney College of Advanced Education, under the terms of the Higher Education (Amalgamation) Act 1989.

Professor Steven Schwartz replaced Di Yerbury at the beginning of 2006. Yerbury’s departure was attended with much controversy, including a “bitter dispute” with Schwartz, disputed ownership of university artworks worth $13 million and Yerbury’s salary package. In August 2006, Professor Schwartz expressed concern about the actions of Yerbury in a letter to university auditors. Yerbury strongly denied any wrongdoing and claimed the artworks were hers.

During 2007, Macquarie University restructured its student organisation after an audit raised questions about management of hundreds of thousands of dollars in funds by student organisations At the centre of the investigation was Victor Ma, president of the Macquarie University Students’ Council, who was previously involved in a high-profile case of student election fixing at the University of Sydney. The university Council resolved to immediately remove Ma from his position. Vice-Chancellor Schwartz cited an urgent need to reform Macquarie’s main student bodies. However, Ma strongly denied any wrongdoing and labelled the controversy a case of ‘character assassination’. The Federal Court ordered on 23 May 2007 that Macquarie University Union Ltd be wound up.

Following the dissolution of Macquarie University Union Ltd, the outgoing student organisation was replaced with a new wholly owned subsidiary company of the university, known as U@MQ Ltd. The new student organisation originally lacked a true student representative union; however, following a complete review and authorisation from the university Council, a new student union known as Macquarie University Students Association (MUSRA) was established in 2009.

Within the first few hundred days of Schwartz’s instatement as Vice-Chancellor, the ‘Macquarie@50′ strategic plan was launched, which positioned the university to enhance research, teaching, infrastructure and academic rankings by the university’s 50th anniversary in 2014. Included in the university’s plans for the future was the establishment of a sustainability office in order to more effectively manage environmental and social development at Macquarie. As part of this campaign, in 2009 Macquarie became the first Fair Trade accredited university in Australia. The beginning of 2009 also saw the introduction of a new logo for the university which retained the Sirius Star, present on both the old logo and the university crest, but now ’embedded in a stylised lotus flower’. In accordance with the university by-law, the crest continues to be used for formal purposes and is displayed on university testamurs. The by-law also prescribes the university’s motto, taken from Chaucer: ‘And gladly teche’.

In 2013, the university became the first in Australia to fully align its degree system with the Bologna Accord.


Do you want discuss Macquarie University ? Any question, comments or reviews


Macquarie University on Map


Photo


Photos: Macquarie University official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

Macquarie University reviews

Join to discuss of Macquarie University.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.