Die University of Sydney

University of Sydney

Die Universität von Sydney Einzelheiten

Einschreiben an der University of Sydney

Überblick


Die Universität von Sydney wurden gewählt 45 in der Welt, in der 2015-16 Prestige-QS World University Rankings.

Es ist Zeugnis für das breite Spektrum der Stärken angezeigt über unsere 16 Fakultäten, von denen viele beeindruckende Rankings selbst.

Führende die Ergebnisse der Universität waren Kunst und Geisteswissenschaften, die erzielte einen Rang gleich 14. global und zweite in Australien.

Sowohl Life Sciences und Medizin und Sozialwissenschaften und Verwaltung wurden 20 in der Weltrangliste, mit Life Sciences und Medizin Aufrechterhaltung auch ihre Stellung als zweite in Australien für das dritte Jahr in Folge.

Die multidisziplinäre Stärke der Forschung der Universität wurde in den QS-Ergebnisse bestätigt, mit Technik und Technologie, Naturwissenschaften und Sozialwissenschaften und Verwaltung alle in den Top fünf für ihre Disziplinen in Australien auf Platz, jede Empfangs ein Ranking der dritte im Inland. Engineering and Technology stieg auch 14 Orte in der Rangliste von Joint 44. bis 30. Joint global.

QS World University Rankings by Subject 2016

Die Universität von Sydney wurden unter der Weltelite Institutionen rangiert, mit 41 des 42 Probanden beurteilt ein Rating in der Spitze zu erreichen 100 global in der QS World University Rankings by Subject.

Zweiunddreißig unserer Probanden wurden in der bestplatzierten 50 global, von denen neun wurden in der bestplatzierten 20.

Veterinary Science wurde Neunter in der Welt und die Nummer eins in Australien auf Platz, während drei auch andere Themen, die Nummer eins nationalen Ranking geteilt - Architektur / Built Environment (17 global), Medizin (17), und Krankenpflege (13).

Die renommierten Rankings als die umfassendste weltweiten Vergleich der Hochschulen in den einzelnen Subjektebene angesehen.

Die Ergebnisse hervorgehoben der Universität der Stärken in den Fächern in allen Disziplinen auf Platz, einschließlich Law (11), Bildung (16), Buchhaltung und Finanzen (18), Erdkunde (22), englische Sprache und Literatur (20) and Engineering – Bauingenieur (20). Zum ersten Mal, Philosophie in die Top 50 global mit einem Rang von 37 weltweit.

QS World University Rankings Graduate 2016

Die Universität von Sydney ganz oben auf der Liste der australischen Universitäten in der konstituierenden QS Graduate Employability Rankings 2016, und wurde auch in der am besten bewerteten 15 global mit einem Rang von 14.

Die Ranglisten abgebildet mehr als 30,000 Menschen die Vorbildung der weltweit die meisten erwerbs zu identifizieren.

Times Higher Education World University Rankings 2015

Das 2015 Times Higher Education (DAS) World University Rankings, die priorisiert Forschung Zitate, Forschung Einkommen, Ruf-und Lernumgebung, Rang uns 56 von mehr als 1100 Universitäten auf der ganzen Welt.

DIE World University Rankings sind die einzigen globalen Performance Universität Tabellen Universitäten in all ihren Kernaufgaben zu beurteilen, einschließlich Zitate, Forschung, Lehren, internationale Ausrichtung und Industrie Einkommen. Die jährlichen Rankings messen Faktoren, einschließlich der akademischen Ruf, Zitierungsstatistiken, internationale Mischung, und Forschungseinkommen und Grad pro Mitarbeiter ausgezeichnet.

Die Universität von Sydney Anstieg der 2015-16 Rankings durch Zuwächse in allen Indikatoren angetrieben, mit den größten Anstieg der akademischen Ruf, die gesprungen 24 Prozent, und Zitate, die sah, wie ein 12 prozentige Steigerung. Forschung und Industrie Einkommen stieg auch beide mehr als 10 Prozent.

Die Times Higher Education University Rankings wird von den britischen weltweit führendem Anbieter von Rankings und Statistiken über die weltweit Hochschulsektor veröffentlicht.

Times Higher Education 2015 Globale Employability University Rankings

Die Universität von Sydney wurden gewählt 42 in der Welt und die Nummer eins in New South Wales in der 2015 Times Higher Education Globale Employability University Rankings.

Das Ranking wurde von den vereinigten Stimmen erstellt von 2,200 Werber und 2,400 Geschäftsführer der internationalen Unternehmen in 21 Länder.

Times Higher Education Welt Reputation Rankings

Wir waren unter den ersten Platz 100 angesehensten Universitäten der Welt in der 2016 Times Higher Education Welt Reputation Rankings.

Mit einem weltweiten Ranking 61-70, wir behalten unsere Position als dritte in Australien, und einer von nur drei Universitäten auf nationaler Ebene in die Liste aufgenommen zu werden,. Harvard University die Spitze der Rangliste, die von den USA ansässigen Institutionen dominiert.

Die jährlichen Rankings werden durch Befragung, die Ansichten von mehr als geschaffen 10,300 Befragten, im 133 Länder, über welche Institutionen sind die besten in ihrem Bereich für Forschung und Lehre.

US News & World Report Best Global Universitäten Rankings

Die Universität von Sydney wurden gewählt 51 in der 2015-16 US News & World Report Best Global Universitäten Rankings.

Wir waren auch eine Zahl in Australien in der klinischen Medizin und Physik gewählt, und Geisteswissenschaften wurden in der bestplatzierten 20 global.

US News verwendet die Thomson-Reuters-Datenbank, die von oben nach Rang 750 Institutionen weltweit. Es enthält 12 Indikatoren im Bereich von Forschung Ruf und PhD-Statistiken zitierten Veröffentlichungen Statistiken und die internationale Zusammenarbeit hoch. Es enthält auch andere bibliometrischen Statistiken über Publikationen, Zitate, Bücher und Konferenzen.

Nicht nur hell ... aber schön

Wir wollen nicht nur Rang hoch für akademische Leistungen; unsere Camperdown / Darlington Campus gilt als einer der schönsten in der Welt regelmäßig anerkannt.

The Daily Telegraph UK platziert uns unter der Nummer 10 in seiner Schöne Universitäten Liste, und wir sind die Nummer neun in der The Huffington Post oben 15 heruntergewirtschaftet.

inzwischen, Sydney selbst bekommt ein Nicken. In den QS Best Student Cities, welches basierend auf Erschwinglichkeit, Lebensqualität, Arbeitgeber Aktivität und Diversität von Studenten, es weltweit erste in Australien und den vierten Platz.

Und in 2014, globale Beratungsfirma AT Kearney Global Cities Index gesetzt Sydney vor 83 Städte als die beliebteste Stadt der Welt für internationale Studenten studieren in.

Jedes Jahr nimmt die Stadt begrüßt 50,000 Gaststudenten, mit rund 35,000 Studieren auf dem Campus in der Stadt Sydney Bereich.

Schulen / Hochschulen / Abteilungen / Kurse / Fakultäten


Landwirtschaft und Umwelt

  • Zentrum für Carbon-Wasser und Lebensmittel
  • Pflanzenzüchtung Institut
  • Präzisionslandlabor
  • Pulsford Laboratory
  • Hydrologie und Geo-Information Sciences Laboratory

Die Architektur, Entwurf und Planung

Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften

  • School of Economics
  • School of Literature, Kunst, und Medien
  • Schule für Sprachen und Kulturen
  • School of Philosophical und historische Anfrage
  • Fakultät für Sozial- und Politikwissenschaften

Geschäft (Die University of Sydney Business School)

  • Disziplin der Buchhaltung
  • Disziplin des Business Analytics
  • Disziplin der Wirtschaftsinformatik
  • Disziplin des Wirtschaftsrechts
  • Disziplin der Finanzen
  • Disziplin der International Business
  • Disziplin Marketing
  • Disziplin für Arbeits- und Organisationsforschung
  • Geschäftliche Ausbildung
  • Institut für Transport- und Logistik-Studien (ITLS)

Zahnheilkunde

Bildung und Sozialarbeit

Engineering and Information Technologies

  • School of Aerospace, Mechanische und Mechatronik
  • School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering-
  • School of Civil Engineering
  • Schule für Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik
  • School of Information Technologies

Gesundheitswissenschaften

  • Disziplin für Verhaltens- und Sozialwissenschaften in Gesundheit
  • Disziplin der Sportwissenschaften
  • Disziplin der Medizinischen Strahlenwissenschaften
  • Disziplin der Ergotherapie
  • Disziplin der Physiotherapie
  • Disziplin der Rehabilitation Counseling
  • Disziplin der Logopädie

Recht (Die University of Sydney Law School)

Medizin (Die Universität von Sydney Medical School)

Schulen

  • Zentrales klinisches Schule
  • Kinderkrankenhaus in Westmead Clinical Schule
  • Concord Clinical Schule
  • Nepean Klinische Schule
  • Northern Clinical Schule
  • School of Medical Sciences
  • School of Public Health
  • School of Rural Health
  • Sydney Adventist Hospital Clinical Schule
  • Westmead Klinische Schule

Disciplines

  • Disziplin für Suchtmedizin
  • Disziplin der Anästhesie
  • Disziplin der Anatomie und Histologie
  • Disziplin der biomedizinischen Wissenschaft
  • Disziplin of Brain and Mind Sciences (Gehirn und Geist-Center)
  • Disziplin of Clinical Ophthalmology und Augengesundheit
  • Disziplin of Dermatology
  • Disziplin Ear, Nasen- und Ohren
  • Disziplin der Notfallmedizin
  • Disziplin der Allgemeinmedizin
  • Disziplin für Genetische Medizin
  • Disziplin der medizinischen Bildgebung
  • Disziplin der Intensivmedizin
  • School of Molecular Bioscience
  • Disziplin der Medizin
  • Disziplin für Gynäkologie, Gynäkologie und Neonatologie
  • Disziplin der Pädiatrie und Kindergesundheit
  • Disziplin der Pathologie
  • Disziplin für Pharmakologie
  • Disziplin für Physiologie
  • Disziplin für Psychiatrie
  • Disziplin der Schlafmedizin
  • Disziplin der Chirurgie

Pflege- und Hebammen (School Sydney Nursing)

Apotheke

Wissenschaft

Disciplines

  • Geschichte und Philosophie der Wissenschaft
  • School of Chemistry
  • School of Geosciences
  • School of Life und Umweltwissenschaften
    • Landwirtschaft und Umwelt
    • Biologische Wissenschaften
    • Molecular Bioscience
    • Tierheilkunde
  • Fakultät für Mathematik und Statistik
  • School of Physics
  • School of Psychology

Sydney College of the Arts

Sydney Conservatorium of Music

Tierheilkunde

Geschichte


Im 2001, die University of Sydney Kanzler, Dame Leonie Kramer, war gezwungen, von der Universität Verband zum Rücktritt. Im 2003, Nick Greiner, ein ehemaliger Premier von New South Wales, trat von seiner Position als Vorsitzender der wegen der akademischen Proteste Graduate School of Management der Universität gegen seinen gleichzeitigen Vorsitz von British American Tobacco (Australien). Anschließend, seine Frau, Kathryn Greiner, aus Protest aus den beiden Positionen zurückgetreten sie an der Universität als Vorsitzender der Sydney Peace Foundation und Mitglied des Vorstandes des Forschungsinstitutes für Asien und den Pazifik statt. Im 2005, die Public Service Association of New South Wales und die Gemeinschaft und Public Sector Union war in Streit mit der Universität über einen Vorschlag Sicherheit auf dem Campus zu privatisieren (und der Cumberland Campus).

Im Februar 2007, die Universität vereinbart, einen Teil des Landes an Johannes College gewährt zu erwerben das Sydney Institute für Gesundheit und medizinische Forschung zu entwickeln. Als römisch-katholische Institution, bei der Übergabe des Landes St Johns platziert Beschränkungen für die Art der medizinischen Forschung, die auf dem Gelände durchgeführt werden konnte, Suche nach der Essenz der College-Mission zu erhalten. Dies führte zu Besorgnis bei einigen Gruppen, die argumentierten, dass es mit der wissenschaftlichen medizinischen Forschung stören würden. jedoch, Dies wurde von der Universität der Verwaltung abgelehnt, weil das Gebäude nicht für diesen Zweck, und es gab viele andere Einrichtungen in der Nähe gedacht war, wo solche Forschung stattfinden könnte.

Am Anfang von 2010, die Universität angenommen kontrovers ein neues Logo. Es behält die gleiche Universität Arme, jedoch nimmt es auf einem moderneren Look. Es wurden stilistische Veränderungen, das wichtigste der Mantel des Arms des mantling wobei, die Form des escutcheon(Schild), die Entfernung von dem Motto blättern, und auch andere subtilere innerhalb der Arme selbst, wie die Mähne und Fell des Löwen, die Anzahl der Zeilen in dem offenen Buch und Einfärben. Das ursprüngliche Wappen von 1857 weiterhin für zeremonielle und andere formale Zwecke verwendet werden, wie auf testamurs.

Aktion von Spence hat die finanzielle Nachhaltigkeit der Universität zu verbessern, hat einige Studenten entfremdet und Personal. Im 2012, Spence führte Bemühungen der Universität der Ausgaben zu senken, die finanziellen Auswirkungen einer Abschwächung der internationalen Studentenzahlen in ganz Australien zu adressieren. Dazu gehörte auch Entlassungen von einer Reihe von Hochschulpersonal und Dozenten, obwohl einige an der Universität argumentiert, dass die Institution statt zurück auf Bauprogramme schneiden sollte. Kritiker argumentieren, die Push für Einsparungen durch Führungs Inkompetenz und Gleichgültigkeit getrieben, Betankung industrielle Tätigkeit während einer Runde von Unternehmen Verhandlungen in 2013 dass auch reflektierte weit verbreitete Besorgnis über die öffentliche Förderung von Hochschulbildung.

Eine interne Mitarbeiterbefragung in 2012/13, die fand weit verbreitete Unzufriedenheit mit dem Verlauf der Universität verwaltet wird. Fragte ihr Niveau der Vereinbarung mit einer Reihe von Aussagen über die Universität, um zu bewerten, 19 Prozent der Befragten glaubten befragten “Wandel und Innovation” wurden gut von der Universität behandelt. In der Umfrage, 75 Prozent der Hochschulpersonal angezeigt Führungskräfte ihnen zuhörten nicht, während nur 22 Prozent wurde die Änderung gut behandelt und 33 Prozent sagten, leitende Angestellte waren gute Vorbilder.

In der ersten Woche des Semesters, einige Mitarbeiter einen Antrag, der kein Vertrauen in Spence wegen der Bedenken er Mitarbeiter schob den Haushalt zu verbessern, während er einen Leistungsbonus von empfangenen $155,000 dass nahm seinen Gesamt Lohn $1 Million, in der Spitze 0.1 Prozent der Einkommensbezieher in Australien. Fairfax Medien berichten Spence und andere Uni-Bosse Gehaltspakete haben im Wert von zehn Mal mehr als die Gehälter und das Doppelte des Premierministers.

Die Besorgnis über die öffentliche Finanzierung der Hochschulbildung wurden wieder reflektiert in 2014 Die Vorschlag der Bundesregierung Studiengebühren deregulieren. Die Universität hat eine weitreichende Konsultation, die enthalten a “Bürgerversammlung” in der Großen Halle der Universität 25 August 2014, wo ein Publikum von Studenten, Mitarbeiter und Alumni tiefe Besorgnis über die Pläne der Regierung zum Ausdruck gebracht und auf Hochschulleitung genannt gegen die Vorschläge zur Lobby.] Spence nahm eine führende Position unter dem australischen Rektoren in immer wieder im ganzen Aufruf 2014 für jede Änderung Finanzierung nicht einen gerechten Zugang zur Universität zu untergraben, während für die Gebühren Deregulierung argumentieren Kurskosten für die Mehrheit der Hochschulstudenten zu erhöhen.

Während Spence Begriff, die Universität hat damit die Schüler von einer elitären Privatschule Hohn angezogen, Scots College-, eingeben Universität über ein “Weg von Berechtigungen” mittels in einem Diplom of Tertiary Vorbereitung Einschreibung statt Treffen HSC Zugangsvoraussetzungen. Die Universität geladenen Studenten $12,000 den Kurs zu nehmen und hat eine Reihe von Studenten zu Studiengängen seit zugelassen. Exposed von Fairfax Media, Die Regelung wird von Phillip Heath kritisiert, der nationale Vorsitzende der Vereinigung des Leiters der unabhängigen Schulen von Australien.

Eine Untersuchung von Fairfax Media in 2015 ergab eine breite Betrug an Universitäten in NSW, einschließlich der University of Sydney. Die Universität wurde eine Task Force auf wissenschaftliches Fehlverhalten im April 2015 seine Führungsposition zu halten Fälle von Betrug und wissenschaftlichen Fehlverhaltens bei der Prävention.

Eine kürzlich durchgeführte Untersuchung der Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC) ausgesetzt Unternehmensangebote zwischen der Veterinärmedizinischen Fakultät und große Tiernahrung Unternehmen hatten in der Einbehaltung von schädlichen Katzenfutter Produkt geführt getestet, um Firmensponsoren zu schützen.


Möchtest du Besprechen Sie die University of Sydney ? Irgendeine Frage, Kommentare oder Bewertungen


Die Universität von Sydney auf der Karte


Video





Teilen Sie diese nützliche Informationen mit deinen Freunden

Die University of Sydney Bewertungen

Mitglied wird von der University of Sydney zu diskutieren.
BITTE BEACHTEN SIE: EducationBro Magazin bietet Ihnen die Möglichkeit Informationen über Universitäten zu lesen an 96 Sprachen, aber wir bitten Sie andere Mitglieder zu respektieren und Kommentare zu hinterlassen auf Englisch.

The University of Sydney

University of Sydney

The University of Sydney Details

Enroll at The University of Sydney

Overview


The University of Sydney were ranked 45 in the world in the 2015-16 prestigious QS World University Rankings.

It’s testimony to the broad spectrum of strengths displayed across our 16 faculties, many of which have impressive rankings themselves.

Leading the University’s results were Arts and Humanities, which achieved a rank of equal 14th globally and second in Australia.

Both Life Sciences and Medicine and Social Sciences and Management were ranked 20th in the world, with Life Sciences and Medicine also maintaining their standing as second in Australia for the third year running.

The multi-disciplinary strength of the University’s research was confirmed in the QS results, with Engineering and Technology, Natural Sciences and Social Science and Management all ranked in the top five for their disciplines in Australia, each receiving a ranking of third domestically. Engineering and Technology also rose 14 places in the rankings from joint 44th to joint 30th globally.

QS World University Rankings by Subject 2016

The University of Sydney were ranked among the world’s elite institutions, with 41 of the 42 subjects assessed achieving a rating in the top 100 globally in the QS World University Rankings by Subject.

Thirty-two of our subjects were ranked in the top 50 globally, of which nine were ranked in the top 20.

Veterinary Science was ranked ninth in the world and number one in Australia, while three other subjects also shared the number one national ranking – Architecture/Built Environment (17 globally), Medicine (17), and Nursing (13).

The prestigious rankings are regarded as the most comprehensive global comparison of universities at individual subject level.

The results highlighted the University’s strengths in subjects across all the disciplines ranked, including Law (11), Education (16), Accounting and Finance (18), Geography (22), English Language and Literature (20) and Engineering – Civil and Structural (20). For the first time, Philosophy entered the top 50 globally with a rank of 37 worldwide.

QS Graduate World University Rankings 2016

The University of Sydney topped the list of Australian universities in the inaugural QS Graduate Employability Rankings 2016, and was also rated in the top 15 globally with a rank of 14.

The rankings mapped more than 30,000 people to identify the educational background of the world’s most employable people.

Times Higher Education World University Rankings 2015

The 2015 Times Higher Education (THE) World University Rankings, which prioritises research citations, research income, reputation and learning environment, ranked us at 56 out of more than 1100 universities around the world.

THE World University Rankings are the only global university performance tables to judge universities across all of their core missions, including citations, research, teaching, international outlook and industry income. The annual rankings measure factors including academic reputation, citation statistics, international mix, and research income and degrees awarded per staff.

The University of Sydney’s rise in the 2015-16 rankings was driven by increases in all indicators, with the largest rises in academic reputation, which jumped 24 percent, and citations which saw a 12 percent increase. Research and industry income also both climbed more than 10 percent.

The Times Higher Education University Rankings are published by the UK’s leading global provider of rankings and statistics on the world’s higher education sector.

Times Higher Education 2015 Global Employability University Rankings

The University of Sydney were ranked 42 in the world and number one in New South Wales in the 2015 Times Higher Education Global Employability University Rankings.

The ranking was created from the combined votes of 2,200 recruiters and 2,400 managing directors of international companies across 21 countries.

Times Higher Education World Reputation Rankings

We were ranked among the top 100 most prestigious universities in the world in the 2016 Times Higher Education World Reputation Rankings.

With a global ranking of 61-70, we retained our position as third in Australia, and one of only three universities nationally to be included in the list. Harvard University topped the rankings, which are dominated by United States-based institutions.

The annual rankings are created by canvassing the views of more than 10,300 respondents, in 133 countries, about which institutions are the best in their field for research and teaching.

US News & World Report Best Global Universities Rankings

The University of Sydney were ranked 51 in the 2015–16 US News & World Report Best Global Universities Rankings.

We were also ranked number one in Australia in Clinical Medicine and Physics, and Arts and Humanities were ranked in the top 20 globally.

US News uses the Thomson-Reuters database to rank the top 750 institutions globally. It includes 12 indicators ranging from research reputation and PhD statistics to highly cited papers statistics and international collaboration. It also includes other bibliometric statistics on publications, citations, books and conferences.

Not just bright… but beautiful

We don’t just rank highly for academic achievement; our main Camperdown/Darlington campus is regularly recognised as one of the most beautiful in the world.

The UK’s Daily Telegraph placed us at number 10 in its Beautiful Universities List, and we’re number nine in the The Huffington Post’s top 15 run down.

Meanwhile, Sydney itself gets a nod. In the QS Best Student Cities, which is based on affordability, quality of living, employer activity and diversity of students, it’s ranked first in Australia and fourth worldwide.

And in 2014, global consulting firm AT Kearney’s Global Cities Index put Sydney ahead of 83 cities as the world’s most popular city to study in for international students.

Each year the city welcomes 50,000 visiting students, with around 35,000 studying on campuses in the City of Sydney area.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


Agriculture and Environment

  • Centre for Carbon Water and Food
  • Plant Breeding Institute
  • Precision Agricultural Laboratory
  • Pulsford Laboratory
  • Hydrology and Geo-Information Sciences Laboratory

Architecture, Design and Planning

Arts and Social Sciences

  • School of Economics
  • School of Literature, Art, and Media
  • School of Languages and Cultures
  • School of Philosophical and Historical Inquiry
  • School of Social and Political Sciences

Business (The University of Sydney Business School)

  • Discipline of Accounting
  • Discipline of Business Analytics
  • Discipline of Business Information Systems
  • Discipline of Business Law
  • Discipline of Finance
  • Discipline of International Business
  • Discipline of Marketing
  • Discipline of Work and Organisational Studies
  • Business Education
  • Institute of Transport and Logistics Studies (ITLS)

Dentistry

Education and Social Work

Engineering and Information Technologies

  • School of Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering
  • School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • School of Civil Engineering
  • School of Electrical and Information Engineering
  • School of Information Technologies

Health Sciences

  • Discipline of Behavioural and Social Sciences in Health
  • Discipline of Exercise and Sport Science
  • Discipline of Medical Radiation Sciences
  • Discipline of Occupational Therapy
  • Discipline of Physiotherapy
  • Discipline of Rehabilitation Counselling
  • Discipline of Speech Pathology

Law (The University of Sydney Law School)

Medicine (The University of Sydney Medical School)

Schools

  • Central Clinical School
  • The Children’s Hospital at Westmead Clinical School
  • Concord Clinical School
  • Nepean Clinical School
  • Northern Clinical School
  • School of Medical Sciences
  • School of Public Health
  • School of Rural Health
  • Sydney Adventist Hospital Clinical School
  • Westmead Clinical School

Disciplines

  • Discipline of Addiction Medicine
  • Discipline of Anaesthesia
  • Discipline of Anatomy and Histology
  • Discipline of Biomedical Science
  • Discipline of Brain and Mind Sciences (Brain and Mind Centre)
  • Discipline of Clinical Ophthalmology and Eye Health
  • Discipline of Dermatology
  • Discipline of Ear, Nose and Throat
  • Discipline of Emergency Medicine
  • Discipline of General Practice
  • Discipline of Genetic Medicine
  • Discipline of Medical Imaging
  • Discipline of Intensive Care Medicine
  • School of Molecular Bioscience
  • Discipline of Medicine
  • Discipline of Obstetrics, Gynaecology and Neonatology
  • Discipline of Paediatrics and Child Health
  • Discipline of Pathology
  • Discipline of Pharmacology
  • Discipline of Physiology
  • Discipline of Psychiatry
  • Discipline of Sleep Medicine
  • Discipline of Surgery

Nursing and Midwifery (Sydney Nursing School)

Pharmacy

Science

Disciplines

  • History and Philosophy of Science
  • School of Chemistry
  • School of Geosciences
  • School of Life and Environmental Sciences
    • Agriculture and Environment
    • Biological Sciences
    • Molecular Bioscience
    • Veterinary Science
  • School of Mathematics and Statistics
  • School of Physics
  • School of Psychology

Sydney College of the Arts

Sydney Conservatorium of Music

Veterinary Science

History


In 2001, the University of Sydney chancellor, Dame Leonie Kramer, was forced to resign by the university’s governing body. In 2003, Nick Greiner, a former Premier of New South Wales, resigned from his position as chair of the university’s Graduate School of Management because of academic protests against his simultaneous chairmanship of British American Tobacco (Australia). Subsequently, his wife, Kathryn Greiner, resigned in protest from the two positions she held at the university as chair of the Sydney Peace Foundation and a member of the executive council of the Research Institute for Asia and the Pacific. In 2005, the Public Service Association of New South Wales and the Community and Public Sector Union were in dispute with the university over a proposal to privatise security at the main campus (and the Cumberland campus).

In February 2007, the university agreed to acquire a portion of the land granted to St John’s College to develop the Sydney Institute of Health and Medical Research. As a Roman Catholic institution, in handing over the land St John’s placed limitations on the type of medical research which could be conducted on the premises, seeking to preserve the essence of the college’s mission. This caused concern among some groups, who argued that it would interfere with scientific medical research. However, this was rejected by the university’s administration because the building was not intended for this purpose and there were many other facilities in close proximity where such research could take place.

At the start of 2010, the university controversially adopted a new logo. It retains the same university arms, however it takes on a more modern look. There have been stylistic changes, the main one being the coat of arm’s mantling, the shape of the escutcheon(shield), the removal of the motto scroll, and also others more subtle within the arms itself, such as the mane and fur of the lion, the number of lines in the open book and the colouration. The original Coat of Arms from 1857 continues to be used for ceremonial and other formal purposes, such as on testamurs.

Action initiated by Spence to improve the financial sustainability of the university has alienated some students and staff. In 2012, Spence led efforts to cut the university’s expenditure to address the financial impact of a slowdown in international student enrolments across Australia. This included redundancies of a number of university staff and faculty, though some at the university argued that the institution should cut back on building programs instead. Critics argue the push for savings has been driven by managerial incompetence and indifference, fuelling industrial action during a round of enterprise bargaining in 2013 that also reflected widespread concerns about public funding for higher education.

An internal staff survey in 2012/13, which found widespread dissatisfaction with how the university is being managed. Asked to rate their level of agreement with a series of statements about the university, 19 per cent of those surveyed believed “change and innovation” were handled well by the university. In the survey, 75 per cent of university staff indicated senior executives were not listening to them, while only 22 per cent said change was handled well and 33 per cent said senior executives were good role models.

In the first week of semester, some staff passed a motion of no confidence in Spence because of concerns he was pushing staff to improve the budget while he received a performance bonus of $155,000 that took his total pay to $1 million, in the top 0.1 per cent of income earners in Australia. Fairfax media reports Spence and other Uni bosses have salary packages worth ten times more than staff salaries and double that of the Prime Minister.

Concerns about public funding for higher education were reflected again in 2014 following the federal government’s proposal to deregulate student fees. The university held a wide-ranging consultation process, which included a “town hall meeting” at the university’s Great Hall 25 August 2014, where an audience of students, staff and alumni expressed deep concern about the government’s plans and called on university leadership to lobby against the proposals.] Spence took a leading position among Australian vice-chancellors in repeatedly calling throughout 2014 for any change to funding to not undermine equitable access to university while arguing for fee deregulation to raise course costs for the majority of higher education students.

During Spence’s term, the university has attracted scorn for allowing students from an elite private school, Scots College, to enter university via a “pathway of privilege” by means of enrolling in a Diploma of Tertiary Preparation rather than meeting HSC entry requirements. The university charged students $12,000 to take the course and have since admitted a number of students to degree courses. Exposed by Fairfax media, the scheme has been criticised by Phillip Heath, the national chairman of the Association of Heads of independent schools of Australia.

An investigation by Fairfax Media in 2015 revealed widespread cheating at universities across NSW, including the University of Sydney. The university established a taskforce on academic misconduct in April 2015 to maintain its leadership position in preventing incidences of cheating and academic misconduct.

An recent investigation by the Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC) exposed corporate deals between the Veterinary Faculty and large pet food companies had resulted in the withholding of harmful cat food product tested to protect corporate sponsors.


Do you want discuss The University of Sydney ? Any question, comments or reviews


The University of Sydney on Map


Video





Share this useful info with your friends

The University of Sydney reviews

Join to discuss of The University of Sydney.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.