達爾豪斯大學

達爾豪斯大學. 留學加拿大.

達爾豪斯大學細節

  • 國家 : 加拿大
  • 市 : 塞克斯頓
  • 縮寫 :
  • 成立 : 1818
  • 學生們 (約。) : 20000
  • 不要忘了 討論達爾豪斯大學
報名在達爾豪西大學

概觀


達爾豪斯大學 () 在新斯科舍省一個公立研究型大學, 加拿大, 在哈利法克斯三個校區, 在聖經山第四. 達爾豪斯提供超過 4,000 課程和 180 十二個本科學位課程, 畢業, 和專業院系. 大學是U15的成員, 一組加拿大研究密集型大學.

達爾豪斯被確立為一個無宗派大學 1818 由新斯科舍省的名字命名的副州長, 喬治·拉姆齊, 9達爾豪西伯爵第. 該學院未持有其一流的,直到 1838, 直到那時偶爾由於財政困難工作. 它重新在第三次 1863 下面帶來名稱的變化重組 “達爾豪斯學院和大學的州長”. 該大學正式更名為 “達爾豪斯大學” 在 1997 通過省立法, 隨著新斯科舍技術大學合併該機構的同一法律.

該大學的著名的校友包括諾貝爾獎得主, 兩位加拿大總理, 2赫茨伯格獎獲得者, 一個NASAastronaut誰是在太空行走的第一個美國女人, 89 羅德學者, 和一系列其他高級政府官員, 學者, 和商界領袖. 這所大學在排名第235 2014 QS世界大學排名,[4] 226-250個中的 2014-2015 泰晤士高等教育世界大學排名, 和201-300th在 2014 世界大學學術排名.[6]達爾豪西是海洋研究中心, 並且是主人對總部的海洋跟踪網絡.

該達爾豪西庫系統運行在大西洋加拿大最大的圖書館, 並持有農業資源材料在該地區最大的集. 大學共設有十四個住宅. 目前有兩個學生會,在大學代表學生的利益: 達爾豪西的學生會和達爾豪斯協會研究生. 達爾豪西的校隊, 老虎, 在加拿大大學校際體育總會的大西洋大學體育競爭發布會. 農校隊的達爾豪西的教師被稱為達爾豪西公羊, 而在澳中同學聯誼會和CCAA競爭. 達爾豪西是男女同校的大學,超過 18,000 學生和 110,000 校友.

學校 / 高校 / 部門 / 培訓班 / 院系


  • 農業
  • 建築與規劃
  • 人文與社會科學
  • 計算機科學
  • 牙科
  • 工程
  • 研究生
  • 衛生專業
  • 管理
  • 醫學
  • 科學

歷史


我們很自豪我們的過去,並相信在我們的未來. 成立於 1818, 達爾豪斯已經提供非凡的教育幾乎 200 年份. 隨著加入我們的農業校區 2012, 我們的業務範圍不斷擴大超出了哈利法克斯和進入省內其他地區.

起源

在19世紀初, 喬治·拉姆齊, 達爾豪斯和新斯科舍省副省長的第九伯爵當時, 想要建立哈利法克斯大學向所有人開放, 無論類或信仰.

戰利品幫助實現他的夢想. 在戰爭 1812, 卡斯廷, 一個小口在緬因州, 被用作美國私基地誰沿東海岸船隻騷擾. 英國派遣從哈利法克斯皇家海軍力量來捕捉卡斯廷並把它變成項的報關口岸. 當戰爭結束, 海軍回到哈利法克斯,它已收集關稅錢. 達爾豪西勳爵投資 7,000 英鎊 此寶作為高校捐贈的放在一邊 3,000 英鎊為它的建築. 伯爵建模初出茅廬的大學愛丁堡大學後, 靠近他的蘇格蘭家.

早期的鬥爭

之後 學院成立於 1818, 達爾豪西勳爵被任命為加拿大總督離開哈利法克斯. 如果沒有他的影響力, 該機構動搖. 第一個指令是不提供,直到 1838. 它的操作只是間歇性的,並沒有獲得一段時間度.

幾乎 50 年其開始後, 學院被重組. 在 1863, 達爾豪西開 有六位教授和導師一個. 第一個學位是在授予 1866. 學生組織當年的組成 28 學生們 為度工作, 28 偶爾的學生.

錢仍然是新機構的問題. 在 1879, 它看起來好像大學可能會失敗,直到 喬治·蒙羅, 一個富裕的紐約出版商與新斯科舍根, 開始捐款給大學. 這些年來, 他貢獻了5賦教授職位和有關 $83,000 在助學金 和展覽. 在 1999, 這些禮物的價值估計價值超過 $8 百萬. 為了節省從封閉的大學, 一個特殊的節日大學, 喬治·蒙羅日, 觀察到的第一個星期五在二月. 由於他的禮物, 慷慨的傳統, 捐助者大,小, 已經造就了今日的欣欣向榮大學.

使移動

學院的原址是在 大巡遊, 哈利法克斯市中心市政廳矗立在那裡. 在 1886, 大學移到 福雷斯特大廈 今天的校園卡爾頓逐步擴散佔據斯塔德利校園.

在20世紀, 達爾豪西穩步增長. 在四月 1, 1997, 達爾豪西合併 與新斯科舍省科技大學 (大桶), 另一種基於哈利法克斯大學, 加強高校的探索新的應用技術的能力. 這包括計算機科學的一個新成立的學院. 被混合的機構的名稱繼續擔任達爾豪斯大學.

當今時代

達爾豪斯繼續增長. 施工人員已經頻繁的視線在斯塔德利校園. 在近幾年的新設施包括: 馬里昂麥凱恩藝術和社會科學大樓, 在開業 2001, 該 肯尼斯·ç. 羅維管理大廈, 在正式亮相 2005, 該莫娜·坎貝爾大樓, 在秋天開始 2010, 與創新 海洋科學大樓, 在六月開幕 2013. 最近除了是 LeMarchant廣場, 家庭對 300 學生和各種各樣的學生服務, 其中9月份開業 2014.

在10月舉行的儀式召開 2006, 達爾豪斯超越 100,000 畢業生. 里程碑來到 140 年後,達爾豪西頒發了 前兩個本科藝術學位 約瑟夫·亨利大通和羅伯特·肖 1866. 瑪格麗特佛羅倫薩紐康是 第一位女研究生, 與學士學位 1885, 和 第一位黑人法學研究生, 詹姆斯·羅賓遜約翰斯頓, 畢業 1896.

九月 1, 2012, 達爾豪斯進入了另一個令人興奮的時代. 大學合併與 新斯科舍農學院 (NSAC) 特魯羅,現在的農學部,歡迎教師, 工作人員和近 1,000 新的學生進入達爾豪西家.


你要嗎 討論達爾豪斯大學 ? 任何問題, 意見或評論


達爾豪斯大學地圖


照片


相片: 達爾豪斯大學 官方Facebook

視頻





與好友分享這個有用的信息

達爾豪斯大學的評論

加入達爾豪西大學的討論.
請注意: EducationBro雜誌讓你在閱讀有關大學信息的能力 96 語言, 但我們要求您尊重其他成員和英語發表評論.

Dalhousie University

Dalhousie University. Study in Canada.

Dalhousie University Details

Enroll at Dalhousie University

Overview


Dalhousie University (Dal) is a public research university in Nova Scotia, Canada, with three campuses in Halifax, and a fourth in Bible Hill. Dalhousie offers more than 4,000 courses and 180 degree programs in twelve undergraduate, graduate, and professional faculties. The university is a member of the U15, a group of research-intensive universities in Canada.

Dalhousie was established as a nonsectarian college in 1818 by the eponymous Lieutenant Governor of Nova Scotia, George Ramsay, 9th Earl of Dalhousie. The college did not hold its first class until 1838, until then operating sporadically due to financial difficulties. It reopened for a third time in 1863 following a reorganization that brought a change of name to “The Governors of Dalhousie College and University”. The university formally changed its name to “Dalhousie University” in 1997 through provincial legislation, the same legislation that merged the institution with the Technical University of Nova Scotia.

The university’s notable alumni include a Nobel Prize winner, two Canadian Prime Ministers, two Herzberg Prize winners, a NASAastronaut who was the first American woman to walk in space, 89 Rhodes Scholars, and a range of other top government officials, academics, and business leaders. The university ranked 235th in the 2014 QS World University Rankings,[4] 226-250th in the 2014-2015 Times Higher Education World University Rankings, and 201–300th in the 2014 Academic Ranking of World Universities.[6]Dalhousie is a centre for marine research, and is host to the headquarters of the Ocean Tracking Network.

The Dalhousie library system operates the largest library in Atlantic Canada, and holds the largest collection of agricultural resource material in the region. The university operates a total of fourteen residences. There are currently two student unions that represent student interests at the university: the Dalhousie Student Union and the Dalhousie Association for Graduate Students. Dalhousie’s varsity teams, the Tigers, compete in the Atlantic University Sport conference of Canadian Interuniversity Sport. Dalhousie’s Faculty of Agriculture varsity teams are called the Dalhousie Rams, and compete in the ACAA and CCAA. Dalhousie is a coeducational university with more than 18,000 students and 110,000 alumni.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


  • Agriculture
  • Architecture and Planning
  • Arts and Social Sciences
  • Computer Science
  • Dentistry
  • Engineering
  • Graduate Studies
  • Health Professions
  • Law
  • Management
  • Medicine
  • Science

History


We’re proud of our past and confident in our future. Founded in 1818, Dalhousie has been delivering an exceptional education for almost 200 years. With the addition of our Agricultural Campus in 2012, our reach continues to expand beyond Halifax and into other parts of the province.

Origins

In the early 19th century, George Ramsay, the ninth Earl of Dalhousie and Nova Scotia Lieutenant-Governor at the time, wanted to establish a Halifax college open to all, regardless of class or creed.

The spoils of war helped fulfill his dream. During the War of 1812, Castine, a small port in Maine, was being used as a base by American privateers who harassed ships along the Eastern Seaboard. Britain sent a Royal Navy force from Halifax to capture Castine and turn it into a customs port of entry. When the war ended, the navy returned to Halifax with the money it had collected as customs duties. Lord Dalhousie invested 7,000 pounds of this treasure as an endowment for the college and put aside 3,000 pounds for its construction. The earl modeled the fledgling college after the University of Edinburgh, near his Scottish home.

Early struggles

After the college was founded in 1818, Lord Dalhousie was appointed Governor General of Canada and left Halifax. Without his influence, the institution faltered. The first instruction was not offered until 1838. Its operation was only intermittent and degrees were not awarded for some time.

Nearly 50 years after its beginning, the college was reorganized. In 1863, Dalhousie opened with six professors and one tutor. The first degrees were awarded in 1866. The student body that year consisted of 28 students working for degrees and 28 occasional students.

Money continued to be a problem for the new institution. In 1879, it looked as though the university might fail until George Munro, a wealthy New York publisher with Nova Scotia roots, started donating to the university. Over the years, he contributed five endowed professorships and about $83,000 in bursaries and exhibitions. In 1999, the value of these gifts was estimated to be worth more than $8 million. For saving the university from closure, a special university holiday, George Munro Day, is observed the first Friday in February. Since his gift, a tradition of generosity, from donors large and small, has created the thriving university of today.

Making moves

The original site of the college was on the Grand Parade, in downtown Halifax where the City Hall stands. In 1886, the university moved to the Forrest Building on today’s Carleton campus and spread gradually to occupy Studley Campus.

In the 20th century, Dalhousie grew steadily. On April 1, 1997, Dalhousie amalgamated with the Technical University of Nova Scotia (TUNS), another Halifax-based university, strengthening the university’s ability to explore new applied technologies. This included a newly created Faculty of Computer Science. The name of the amalgamated institution continued as Dalhousie University.

The modern era

Dalhousie continues to grow. Construction crews have been a frequent sight at Studley Campus. New facilities in recent years include the Marion McCain Arts and Social Science Building, opened in 2001, the Kenneth C. Rowe Management Building, officially unveiled in 2005, theMona Campbell Building, opened in fall 2010, and the innovative Ocean Sciences Building, opened in June 2013. The most recent addition is LeMarchant Place, home to over 300 students and a variety of student services, which opened in September 2014.

At convocation ceremonies in October 2006, Dalhousie surpassed 100,000 graduates. The milestone came 140 years after Dalhousie awarded its first two Bachelor of Arts degrees to Joseph Henry Chase and Robert Shaw in 1866. Margaret Florence Newcombe was the first woman to graduate, with a BA in 1885, and the first black law graduate, James Robinson Johnston, graduated in 1896.

On September 1, 2012, Dalhousie entered another exciting era. The university amalgamated with the Nova Scotia Agricultural College (NSAC) in Truro—now the Faculty of Agriculture—welcoming faculty, staff and nearly 1,000 new students into the Dalhousie family.


Do you want discuss Dalhousie University ? Any question, comments or reviews


Dalhousie University on Map


Photo


Photos: Dalhousie University official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

Dalhousie University reviews

Join to discuss of Dalhousie University.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.