جامعة دالهوزي

جامعة دالهوزي. الدراسة في كندا.

دالهوزي تفاصيل جامعة

  • بلد : كندا
  • مدينة : قندلفت
  • اختصار : من
  • مؤسس : 1818
  • الطلاب (تقريبا.) : 20000
  • لا تنسى أن بحث جامعة دالهوزي
التسجيل في جامعة دالهوزي

نظرة عامة


جامعة دالهوزي (من) هي جامعة بحثية عامة في نوفا سكوتيا, كندا, مع ثلاث جامعات في هاليفاكس, ورابعة في الكتاب المقدس هيل. دالهوزي يقدم أكثر من 4,000 الدورات و 180 برامج درجة في اثني عشر الجامعية, تخرج, والكليات المهنية. الجامعة هي عضو في U15, مجموعة من الجامعات في البحوث المكثفة في كندا.

تأسست دالهوزي ككلية غير طائفية في 1818 من قبل نائب الحاكم مسمى نوفا سكوتيا, جورج رامزي, 9عشر ايرل من دالهوزي. وقال إن الكلية لم تعقد من الدرجة الأولى وحتى 1838, حتى ذلك الحين تعمل بشكل متقطع بسبب صعوبات مالية. اعادة فتحه للمرة الثالثة في 1863 بعد إعادة التنظيم التي جلبت تغيير الاسم ل “حكام كلية دالهوزي وجامعة”. تغير الجامعة اسمها رسميا إلى “جامعة دالهوزي” في 1997 من خلال التشريعات المحافظات, نفس التشريعات التي اندمجت المؤسسة مع الجامعة التقنية في نوفا سكوتيا.

تشمل الخريجين ملحوظا في الجامعة الحائز على جائزة نوبل, اثنين من رئيس الوزراء الكندي, اثنين من الحائزين على جائزة هرزبرج, وNASAastronaut الذي كان أول امرأة أمريكية من السير في الفضاء, 89 علماء رودس, ومجموعة من كبار المسؤولين الحكوميين, أكاديميون, وكبار رجال الأعمال. الجامعة المرتبة 235th في 2014 QS تصنيف الجامعات العالمية,[4] 226-250عشر في 2014-2015 التايمز للتعليم العالي التصنيف العالمي جامعة, و201-300th في 2014 التصنيف الأكاديمي لجامعات العالم.[6]دالهوزي هو مركز للبحوث البحرية, وتستضيف مقر الشبكة تتبع المحيط.

نظام المكتبة دالهوزي يعمل أكبر مكتبة في كندا الأطلسية, ويحمل أكبر مجموعة من المواد الموارد الزراعية في المنطقة. الجامعة تعمل ما مجموعه أربعة عشر مساكن. يوجد حاليا اثنين من اتحادات الطلاب التي تمثل مصالح الطلبة في الجامعة: اتحاد الطلاب دالهوزي وجمعية دالهوزي لطلاب الدراسات العليا. فرق اسكواش دالهوزي ل, نمور, تنافس في مؤتمر جامعة الأطلسي الرياضة الكندي بين الجامعات الرياضية. تسمى كلية دالهوزي للفرق اسكواش الزراعة الأكباش دالهوزي, وتنافس في ACAA وCCAA. دالهوزي هي جامعة مختلطة مع أكثر من 18,000 الطلاب و 110,000 الخريجين.

المدارس / الكليات / الإدارات / الدورات / ملكات


  • الزراعة
  • العمارة والتخطيط
  • الآداب والعلوم الاجتماعية
  • علوم الكمبيوتر
  • طب الأسنان
  • هندسة
  • الدراسات العليا
  • المهن الصحية
  • القانون
  • إدارة
  • دواء
  • علم

التاريخ


نحن فخورون بماضينا وثقة في مستقبلنا. أسس في 1818, وقد دالهوزي تقديم التعليم المتميز للتقريبا 200 سنوات. مع إضافة الحرم الجامعي الزراعي لدينا في 2012, يستمر عملياتنا إلى التوسع خارج هاليفاكس وإلى أجزاء أخرى من الإقليم.

أصول

في أوائل القرن ال19, جورج رامزي, إيرل التاسع من دالهوزي ونوفا سكوتيا نائب حاكم في ذلك الوقت, أراد أن إنشاء كلية هاليفاكس مفتوحة للجميع, بغض النظر عن الطبقة أو العقيدة.

ساعدت غنائم الحرب تحقيق حلمه. خلال حرب 1812, كاستين, ميناء صغير في ولاية ماين, كان يستخدم كقاعدة لبالقراصنة الأمريكية الذي تحرش السفن على طول الساحل الشرقي. أرسلت بريطانيا قوة البحرية الملكية من هاليفاكس الى التقاط كاستين وتحويله إلى ميناء جمارك الدخول. وعندما انتهت الحرب, عادت البحرية إلى هاليفاكس مع الأموال التي جمعت والرسوم الجمركية. الرب دالهوزي استثمرت 7,000 جنيه من هذا الكنز كما وقفا للكلية وضعت جانبا 3,000 جنيه لبنائه. إيرل غرار الكلية الوليدة بعد جامعة أدنبرة, قرب منزله الاسكتلندي.

صراعات مبكرة

بعد تأسست الكلية في 1818, عين الرب دالهوزي الحاكم العام لكندا وترك هاليفاكس. دون نفوذه, تعثرت المؤسسة. لم تعرض التعليمة الأولى حتى 1838. وكانت عملياتها متقطعة فقط، ولم تمنح درجة لبعض الوقت.

تقريبا 50 بعد سنوات من بدايتها, أعيد تنظيم الجامعات. في 1863, دالهوزي فتح مع ستة أساتذة ومدرس واحد. منحت درجة الأولى في 1866. الجسم الطلابي في ذلك العام يتألف من 28 الطلاب العمل للحصول على درجات و 28 الطلاب في بعض الأحيان.

واصل المال ليكون مشكلة بالنسبة للمؤسسة جديدة. في 1879, بدا الأمر كما لو قد تفشل الجامعة حتى جورج مونرو, ثري الناشر نيويورك مع جذور نوفا سكوتيا, التي تبرع للجامعة. على مر السنين, ساهم خمسة من الأساتذة الأفذاذ وحول $83,000 في المنح الدراسية والمعارض. في 1999, وقدرت قيمة هذه الهدايا أن تكون قيمتها أكثر من $8 مليون. لإنقاذ الجامعة من الإغلاق, عطلة الجامعة الخاصة, يوم جورج مونرو, لوحظ أول جمعة في فبراير. منذ هديته, تقليد الكرم, من الجهات المانحة الكبيرة والصغيرة, وقد أنشأت الجامعة مزدهرة اليوم.

اتخاذ خطوات

وكان الموقع الأصلي للكلية على جراند موكب, في وسط مدينة هاليفاكس حيث تقف قاعة المدينة. في 1886, انتقلت الجامعة إلى بناء فورست في الحرم الجامعي كارلتون اليوم وتنتشر تدريجيا لاحتلال ستودلي الحرم الجامعي.

في القرن 20th, نمت بشكل مطرد دالهوزي. في ابريل 1, 1997, دالهوزي دمج مع الجامعة التقنية في نوفا سكوتيا (البراميل), جامعة أخرى استنادا هاليفاكس،, تعزيز قدرة الجامعة على استكشاف تقنيات تطبيقية جديدة. وشملت هذه الكلية التي أنشئت حديثا في علوم الحاسب الآلي. واصل اسم المؤسسة المندمجة باسم جامعة دالهوزي.

في العصر الحديث

تواصل دالهوزي في النمو. وكان عمال البناء يتكرر مشهد في الحرم الجامعي ستودلي. وتشمل مرافق جديدة في السنوات الأخيرة ماريون ماكين الفنون وعلوم البناء الاجتماعي, افتتح في 2001, ال كينيث C. مبنى إدارة رو, كشف النقاب رسميا في 2005, المنى بناء كامبل, افتتح في الخريف 2010, ومبتكرة محيط مبنى العلوم, افتتح في يونيو 2013. إضافة أحدث ل LeMarchant مكان, موطن لأكثر من 300 الطلاب ومجموعة متنوعة من الخدمات الطلابية, الذي افتتح في سبتمبر 2014.

في مراسم الدعوة في أكتوبر 2006, دالهوزي تجاوز 100,000 الخريجين. جاء معلما 140 بعد سنوات منح دالهوزي لها البكالوريوس الأولين من درجة الفنون لجوزيف هنري تشيس وروبرت شو في 1866. كانت مارغريت فلورنسا نيوكومب ل أول امرأة تخرج, مع درجة البكالوريوس في 1885, و ال أول خريج القانون السوداء, جيمس روبنسون جونستون, تخرج في 1896.

في سبتمبر 1, 2012, دخلت دالهوزي عصر آخر مثير. دمج الجامعة مع نوفا سكوتيا كلية الزراعة (NSAC) في ترورو، الآن كلية الزراعة-الترحيب أعضاء هيئة التدريس, الموظفين وما يقرب من 1,000 الطلاب الجدد في أسرة دالهوزي.


هل تريد بحث جامعة دالهوزي ? أي سؤال, التعليقات أو المراجعات


جامعة دالهوزي على الخريطة


صورة فوتوغرافية


الصور: جامعة دالهوزي الفيسبوك الرسمي

فيديو





مشاركة هذه المعلومات مفيدة مع أصدقائك

استعراض جامعة دالهوزي

تاريخ لمناقشة من جامعة دالهوزي.
يرجى الملاحظة: EducationBro مجلة يمنحك القدرة على قراءة معلومات حول الجامعات في 96 اللغات, ولكن نطلب منك أن تحترم أعضاء آخرين وترك التعليقات باللغة الإنجليزية.

Dalhousie University

Dalhousie University. Study in Canada.

Dalhousie University Details

Enroll at Dalhousie University

Overview


Dalhousie University (Dal) is a public research university in Nova Scotia, Canada, with three campuses in Halifax, and a fourth in Bible Hill. Dalhousie offers more than 4,000 courses and 180 degree programs in twelve undergraduate, graduate, and professional faculties. The university is a member of the U15, a group of research-intensive universities in Canada.

Dalhousie was established as a nonsectarian college in 1818 by the eponymous Lieutenant Governor of Nova Scotia, George Ramsay, 9th Earl of Dalhousie. The college did not hold its first class until 1838, until then operating sporadically due to financial difficulties. It reopened for a third time in 1863 following a reorganization that brought a change of name to “The Governors of Dalhousie College and University”. The university formally changed its name to “Dalhousie University” in 1997 through provincial legislation, the same legislation that merged the institution with the Technical University of Nova Scotia.

The university’s notable alumni include a Nobel Prize winner, two Canadian Prime Ministers, two Herzberg Prize winners, a NASAastronaut who was the first American woman to walk in space, 89 Rhodes Scholars, and a range of other top government officials, academics, and business leaders. The university ranked 235th in the 2014 QS World University Rankings,[4] 226-250th in the 2014-2015 Times Higher Education World University Rankings, and 201–300th in the 2014 Academic Ranking of World Universities.[6]Dalhousie is a centre for marine research, and is host to the headquarters of the Ocean Tracking Network.

The Dalhousie library system operates the largest library in Atlantic Canada, and holds the largest collection of agricultural resource material in the region. The university operates a total of fourteen residences. There are currently two student unions that represent student interests at the university: the Dalhousie Student Union and the Dalhousie Association for Graduate Students. Dalhousie’s varsity teams, the Tigers, compete in the Atlantic University Sport conference of Canadian Interuniversity Sport. Dalhousie’s Faculty of Agriculture varsity teams are called the Dalhousie Rams, and compete in the ACAA and CCAA. Dalhousie is a coeducational university with more than 18,000 students and 110,000 alumni.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


  • Agriculture
  • Architecture and Planning
  • Arts and Social Sciences
  • Computer Science
  • Dentistry
  • Engineering
  • Graduate Studies
  • Health Professions
  • Law
  • Management
  • Medicine
  • Science

History


We’re proud of our past and confident in our future. Founded in 1818, Dalhousie has been delivering an exceptional education for almost 200 years. With the addition of our Agricultural Campus in 2012, our reach continues to expand beyond Halifax and into other parts of the province.

Origins

In the early 19th century, George Ramsay, the ninth Earl of Dalhousie and Nova Scotia Lieutenant-Governor at the time, wanted to establish a Halifax college open to all, regardless of class or creed.

The spoils of war helped fulfill his dream. During the War of 1812, Castine, a small port in Maine, was being used as a base by American privateers who harassed ships along the Eastern Seaboard. Britain sent a Royal Navy force from Halifax to capture Castine and turn it into a customs port of entry. When the war ended, the navy returned to Halifax with the money it had collected as customs duties. Lord Dalhousie invested 7,000 pounds of this treasure as an endowment for the college and put aside 3,000 pounds for its construction. The earl modeled the fledgling college after the University of Edinburgh, near his Scottish home.

Early struggles

After the college was founded in 1818, Lord Dalhousie was appointed Governor General of Canada and left Halifax. Without his influence, the institution faltered. The first instruction was not offered until 1838. Its operation was only intermittent and degrees were not awarded for some time.

Nearly 50 years after its beginning, the college was reorganized. In 1863, Dalhousie opened with six professors and one tutor. The first degrees were awarded in 1866. The student body that year consisted of 28 students working for degrees and 28 occasional students.

Money continued to be a problem for the new institution. In 1879, it looked as though the university might fail until George Munro, a wealthy New York publisher with Nova Scotia roots, started donating to the university. Over the years, he contributed five endowed professorships and about $83,000 in bursaries and exhibitions. In 1999, the value of these gifts was estimated to be worth more than $8 million. For saving the university from closure, a special university holiday, George Munro Day, is observed the first Friday in February. Since his gift, a tradition of generosity, from donors large and small, has created the thriving university of today.

Making moves

The original site of the college was on the Grand Parade, in downtown Halifax where the City Hall stands. In 1886, the university moved to the Forrest Building on today’s Carleton campus and spread gradually to occupy Studley Campus.

In the 20th century, Dalhousie grew steadily. On April 1, 1997, Dalhousie amalgamated with the Technical University of Nova Scotia (TUNS), another Halifax-based university, strengthening the university’s ability to explore new applied technologies. This included a newly created Faculty of Computer Science. The name of the amalgamated institution continued as Dalhousie University.

The modern era

Dalhousie continues to grow. Construction crews have been a frequent sight at Studley Campus. New facilities in recent years include the Marion McCain Arts and Social Science Building, opened in 2001, the Kenneth C. Rowe Management Building, officially unveiled in 2005, theMona Campbell Building, opened in fall 2010, and the innovative Ocean Sciences Building, opened in June 2013. The most recent addition is LeMarchant Place, home to over 300 students and a variety of student services, which opened in September 2014.

At convocation ceremonies in October 2006, Dalhousie surpassed 100,000 graduates. The milestone came 140 years after Dalhousie awarded its first two Bachelor of Arts degrees to Joseph Henry Chase and Robert Shaw in 1866. Margaret Florence Newcombe was the first woman to graduate, with a BA in 1885, and the first black law graduate, James Robinson Johnston, graduated in 1896.

On September 1, 2012, Dalhousie entered another exciting era. The university amalgamated with the Nova Scotia Agricultural College (NSAC) in Truro—now the Faculty of Agriculture—welcoming faculty, staff and nearly 1,000 new students into the Dalhousie family.


Do you want discuss Dalhousie University ? Any question, comments or reviews


Dalhousie University on Map


Photo


Photos: Dalhousie University official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

Dalhousie University reviews

Join to discuss of Dalhousie University.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.