جامعة ألبرتا

جامعة ألبرتا. الدراسة في كندا. التعليم مجلة بالخارج.

جامعة ألبرتا تفاصيل

  • بلد : كندا
  • مدينة : ادمونتون
  • اختصار : E من ل
  • مؤسس : 1908
  • الطلاب (تقريبا.) : 40000
  • لا تنسى أن بحث جامعة ألبرتا
التسجيل في جامعة البرتا

نظرة عامة


جامعة ألبرتا هو الأعلى 5 الجامعة الكندية واحدة من أعلى 100 فى العالم, موطن لأكثر من 500 برامج الدراسات العليا, 200 برامج البكالوريوس و 450 الجماعات الطلابية النشطة.

تمت زيارتها جامعة ألبرتا انه من الرؤية لتكون واحدة من الجامعات الكبرى في العالم من أجل الصالح العام منذ تأسيسه. وتكرس هذه الجامعة إلى الوعد الذي قطعه الرئيس المؤسس هنري مارشال المحافظين أن "... المعرفة لا يكون قلق العلماء وحده. يتعين على رفع مستوى الشعب كله يكون هدفها النهائي ".

يتحمله هذه الرؤية كما تسعى الجامعة لتحسين حياة الناس في ألبرتا, في جميع أنحاء كندا, وفي جميع أنحاء العالم.

شعار

شعار الجامعة, مهما كانت الحقيقة, يعني "مهما كانت الأشياء صحيحة"، ومأخوذة من رسالة بولس الرسول القديس. بولس إلى أهل فيلبي, باب 4, بيت شعر 8, في النسخة النسخه اللاتينية للانجيل اللاتينية للكتاب المقدس.

مهمة

ضمن بيئة تعليمية نشطة وداعمة, جامعة ألبرتا يكتشف, نشر, وينطبق معارف جديدة من خلال التعليم والتعلم, البحث والنشاط الإبداعي, التفاعل الاجتماعي, والشراكات. وش أ يعطي صوتا الوطني والدولي للابتكار في مقاطعتنا, بدور قيادي في وضع كندا في طليعة العالمية.

رؤية

لإلهام الروح البشرية من خلال الإنجازات المتميزة في مجالات التعلم, اكتشاف, والمواطنة في المجتمع الإبداعي, بناء واحدة من الجامعات الكبرى في العالم من أجل الصالح العام.

السكان الأصليين شكر وتقدير

جامعة ألبرتا يعترف الأراضي التقليدية التي نقف عليها وتشكر الشعوب الأصلية المتنوعة التي ميزت هذه الأرض لعدة قرون خطى, مثل: كري, Saulteaux, البلاكفوت, خلاسي, Nakota سيوكس.

– انظر المزيد على: HTTPS://uofa.ualberta.ca/about/facts#sthash.cSUw49fI.dpuf

المدارس / الكليات / الإدارات / الدورات / ملكات


 

زراعي, الحياة والعلوم البيئية

  • الأغذية الزراعية وعلوم التغذية
  • الديفوني الحديقة النباتية
  • العلوم وإدارة الغابات, مدرسة ألبرتا
  • علم البيئة البشرية
  • موارد متجددة
  • اقتصاد الموارد وعلم الاجتماع البيئي

مدرسة ألبرتا لإدارة الأعمال

  • محاسبة, العمليات ونظم المعلومات
  • المالية والتحليل الإحصائي
  • تسويق, اقتصاديات الأعمال, والقانون
  • الإدارة الاستراتيجية ومنظمة

فنون

  • علم الانسان
  • فن و تصميم
  • المجتمع خدمة التعلم
  • دراما
  • دراسات شرق آسيا
  • اقتصاديات
  • اللغة الإنجليزية والدراسات السينمائي
  • التاريخ والكلاسيكية
  • دراسات متعددة التخصصات
  • علم اللغة
  • اللغات الحديثة والدراسات الثقافية
  • موسيقى
  • فلسفة
  • العلوم السياسية
  • علم النفس
  • علم الإجتماع
  • دراسات النوع الاجتماعي والنساء

Augustana الحرم الجامعي

  • الفنون الجميلة
  • العلوم الإنسانية
  • علم
  • العلوم الاجتماعية

حرم سان جان

التعليم

  • دراسات السياسة التعليمية
  • علم النفس التربوي
  • التعليم الإبتدائي
  • دراسات المكتبات والمعلومات, مدرسة ال
  • التعليم الثانوي

هندسة

  • الهندسة الطبية الحيوية
  • الهندسة الكيميائية وهندسة المواد
  • الهندسة المدنية والبيئية
  • الهندسة الكهربائية والحاسوب
  • مهندس ميكانيكى
  • كلية التعدين وهندسة البترول

تمديد

  • فنون
  • مجال الاتصالات
  • التعليم
  • مدرسة اللغة الانجليزية
  • دراسات الحكومة
  • إدارة
  • ماجستير في الآداب في الاتصالات وتكنولوجيا
  • علوم

الدراسات العليا والبحوث

القانون

دواء & طب الأسنان

  • التخدير والطب الألم
  • الكيمياء الحيوية
  • الهندسة الطبية الحيوية
  • بيولوجيا الخلية
  • طب الأسنان وصحة الأسنان
  • طب الطوارئ
  • طب الأسرة
  • طب المختبرات وعلم الأمراض
  • علم الوراثة الطبية
  • علم الأحياء الدقيقة الطبية والمناعة
  • دواء
  • أمراض النساء والتوليد
  • علم الأورام
  • طب العيون
  • طب الأطفال
  • علم العقاقير
  • علم وظائف الأعضاء
  • الطب النفسي
  • الأشعة والتصوير التشخيصي
  • العملية الجراحية

دراسات الأم

تمريض

الصيدلة والعلوم الصيدلانية

التربية البدنية والترفيه

طب إعادة التأهيل

  • علوم الاتصال واضطرابات
  • علاج وظيفي
  • علاج بدني

كلية الصحة العامة

  • ماجستير في الصحة العامة
  • ماجستير في الصحة العامة
  • دكتوراه في الصحة العامة

علم

  • العلوم البيولوجية
  • كيمياء
  • علوم الحوسبة
  • علوم الأرض والغلاف الجوي
  • العلوم الرياضية والإحصائية
  • علوم فيزيائية
  • علم النفس

سانت. كلية يوسف

سانت. كلية ستيفن

 

التاريخ


جامعة ألبرتا, أعزب, جامعة إقليمية العامة, كانت مستأجرة في 1906 في ادمونتون, ألبرتا مع قانون جامعة في الدورة الأولى للجمعية التشريعية الجديدة, مع رئيس الوزراء الكسندر C. روثرفورد كما راعيها. كان على غرار الجامعة على جامعة ولاية أمريكية, مع التركيز على أعمال الإرشاد والبحوث التطبيقية. كان على غرار الحكم في جامعة أونتاريو للقانون تورنتو 1906: نظام مجلسين يتكون من مجلس الشيوخ (كلية) المسؤول عن السياسة الأكاديمية, ومجلس المحافظين (المواطنين) السيطرة على السياسات المالية وجود سلطة رسمية في جميع المسائل الأخرى. الرئيس, عين من قبل المجلس, كان لتقديم وصلة بين الهيئتين وأداء القيادة المؤسسية.

استغرق الجدل ساخنا مكان بين مدينتي كالغاري وادمونتون على موقع لعاصمة المحافظة والجامعة. وذكر أن العاصمة ستكون الشمالي من نهر ساسكاتشوان الشمالية وأن الجامعة ستكون في المدينة الواقعة جنوبي منه. أصبحت مدينة ادمونتون عاصمة ومدينة ثم منفصلة من ستراثكونا على الضفة الجنوبية للنهر, حيث رئيس الوزراء الكسندر روثرفورد عاش, منحت الجامعة. عندما تم دمج هاتين المدينتين في 1912, أصبح ادمونتون كل من رأس المال السياسي والأكاديمي.

مع هنري مارشال المحافظين كأول رئيس لها, بدأت جامعة ألبرتا العملية في 1908. حضر خمسة وأربعين طالبا دروس في اللغة الإنجليزية, الرياضيات واللغات الحديثة, في الطابق العلوي من مدرسة الملكة الكسندرا الابتدائية في ستراثكونا, في حين أن بناء الحرم الجامعي الأول, قاعة أثاباسكا, كان تحت الإنشاء. في رسالة الى الكسندر كاميرون روثرفورد في وقت مبكر 1906, بينما كان في عملية إنشاء جامعة ماكجيل في فانكوفر, كتب المحافظين, “إذا كنت تأخذ أي خطوات في اتجاه جامعة العمل وترغب في تجنب أخطاء الماضي, الأخطاء التي لديها مؤسسات أخرى المعاقين بخوف, يجب أن تبدأ على أساس التعليم.”

تحت إشراف حزب المحافظين, وتميزت السنوات الأولى من توظيف الأساتذة وبناء مباني الحرم الجامعي الأولى. بيرسي أرسكين Nobbs & تصميم فرانك دارلينج الخطة الرئيسية لجامعة ألبرتا في 1909-1910. Nobbs تصميم مبنى الفنون (1914-15), المختبرات وباور هاوس (1914). مع سيسيل S. بورغيس, Nobbs تصميم كلية الطب المحافظات (1920-21). مهندس هربرت ألتون ماغون تصميم العديد من المباني في الحرم الجامعي, بما في ذلك القديس. كلية الميثودية ستيفن (1910) والإقامة للأستاذ روبرت C. كوخ (1913).

جامعة ألبرتا منحت أول درجة في 1912, في نفس العام أنشأت وزارة الإرشاد. تأسست كلية الطب في العام التالي, وكلية الزراعة بدأت في 1915. ولكن جنبا إلى جنب مع هذه المعالم الأولى جاءت الحرب العالمية الأولى وباء الأنفلونزا العالمي لل 1918, أدى عدد الذين على الجامعة في تعليق لمدة شهرين من الطبقات في خريف عام 1918. وعلى الرغم من هذه الانتكاسات, واصلت الجامعة في النمو. بواسطة 1920, كان ستة كليات (الفنون والعلوم, العلم التطبيقي, الزراعة, دواء, طب الأسنان, والقانون) ومدرستين (الصيدلة والمحاسبة). انها منحت مجموعة من درجة: بكالوريوس الفنون (BA), بكالوريوس العلوم (البكالوريوس), بكالوريوس العلوم في الزراعة (BSA), ليسانس في الحقوق (ليسانس الحقوق), بكالوريوس صيدلة (PhmB), بكالوريوس في اللاهوت (دينار بحريني), أستاذ فى الفنون (MA), درجة الماجستير في العلوم (ماجستير), ودكتوراه في القانون (بكالوريوس في القانون). كانت هناك 851 الطلاب الذكور و 251 طالبات, و 171 الطاقم الاكاديمي, بما فيها 14 نساء.

تم تأسيس مؤامرات التربة بريتون بكلية الزراعة من 1929 - الحاضر لتقديم البحوث الزراعية على الإخصاب, استعمال, تناوب المحاصيل وممارسات الزراعة في التربة رمادي Luvisolic (رمادي مشجر), التي تغطي العديد من المناطق في غرب كندا.

كلفت اللجنة التذكارية الحرب في الأنابيب الجهاز النصب التذكاري للحرب يقام من قبل Casavant الفرير في ش أ قاعة الدعوة في 1925 إحياء لذكرى 80 جامعة الرفاق ألبرتا الذين ضحوا بحياتهم أثناء الحرب العظمى.

في الجزء المبكر من القرن 20th, توسيع التعليم المهني خارج المجالات التقليدية لاهوت, القانون والطب. وقدم تدريب الخريجين على أساس النموذج الأمريكي مستوحاة الألمانية من العمل بطبيعة الحال المتخصصة والانتهاء من أطروحة بحثية. في 1929, أنشأت الجامعة كلية التربية. وكانت هذه الفترة من النمو إلى أن تكون قصيرة الأجل, على أية حال, كما الكساد العظيم والحرب العالمية الثانية تقليص معدلات الالتحاق بالمدارس وتوسع حتى 1945. اكتسبت الجامعة أيضا السلطات العامة الجديدة. في 1928, تم منح مجلس الشيوخ في الجامعة القدرة على مراقبة وتعيين نصف مجلس علم تحسين النسل ألبرتا, اتهم مع التوصية الأفراد للتعقيم.

مدعوما بنمو فترة ما بعد الحرب في أعداد الطلبة واكتشاف النفط في ليدوك في 1947, جامعة ألبرتا خضع التوسع من خلال في 1950s التي استمرت خلال 1960s كما تضخمت جيل طفرة المواليد في صفوف التحاق. شهد هذين العقدين أيضا التوسع في مباني الحرم الجامعي, بما في ذلك المباني الجديدة لكليات التربية الرياضية والتربية, ومكتبة كاميرون. جامعة ألبرتا الصحافة, التركيز على التاريخ الكندي الغربي, العلوم العامة والبيئة, تم انشاءه في 1969.

وردت سياسة التعليم الجامعي التي بدأت في 1960s لضغط السكان، والاعتقاد بأن التعليم العالي هو المفتاح لتحقيق العدالة الاجتماعية والإنتاجية الاقتصادية للأفراد والمجتمع. بالاضافة, تم تغيير سياسة جامعة واحدة في الغرب إلى الكليات الموجودة في الجامعات المحلية اكتسبت الحكم الذاتي إلى الجامعات. في سبتمبر 19, 1960, فتحت الجامعة الجديد في حرم 130 هكتار في كالجاري. بواسطة 1966, أنشئت جامعة كالجاري كمؤسسة مستقلة.

من منتصف 1970s إلى أواخر 1980s, تتمتع الجامعة النمو المستدام. في 1970, بدأت كوليج سان جان يقدم تعليما باللغة الفرنسية في الفنون, العلم والتعليم. في 1984, تأسست كلية الدراسات الأصلية. المباني التي كانت قد بدأت في 1960s, مثل العلوم البيولوجية ومبنى الأكاديمية المركزية, تم الانتهاء منها في أوائل 1970s. استعادة تجديدات واسعة النطاق مبنى الفنون الجليلة, فضلا عن قاعات أثاباسكا وبيمبينا. وتضمنت المباني الجديدة المنجزة في أوائل 1980s في أعمال البناء والمرحلة الأولى من والتر C. مركز علوم الصحة ماكنزي. مبنى آخر جديد, جامعات جناح مميز (الملقب ب “Butterdome”), تم الانتهاء كجزء من استعدادات الجامعة لاستضافة دورة الألعاب الجامعية العالمية في 1983, المرة الأولى التي يعقد الحدث في أمريكا الشمالية.

و 1990s في وقت القيد المالي كما قدمت حكومة ألبرتا تخفيضات الميزانية. ولكنهم كانوا أيضا الوقت الذي استفادت الجامعة من دعم الأعمال الخيرية. مركز $ 11 مليون تيمز للفنون, الذي بدأ البناء في 1993, لم يكن ممكنا من قبل قدرا كبيرا من التبرعات تحمل الاسم نفسه, ألبرت تيمز. في 1998, غلاديس يونغ مليون 3.5 $ التبرع لصندوق المنح الدراسية الجامعية جامعة في ذكرى رولان الشباب, الذين تخرجوا من ش أ في 1928, كان أكبر تبرع خاص للمنح الدراسية الجامعية في تاريخ الجامعة.

جلبت وقت مبكر 2000s زيادة التمويل كبيرة. قاد ارتفاع أسعار الطاقة ازدهار الطاقة ألبرتا مما أدى إلى فوائض الحكومة بمليارات الدولارات وخلق اللاحق ل $4.5 مليار الوقف التعليمي بعد المرحلة الثانوية المحافظات. في 2005, استأجرت جامعة أنديرا Samarasekera رئيسا له ال12, الشروع في تنفيذ خطة طموحة لتأسيس نفسها كواحدة من أفضل الجامعات البحوث العامة في العالم. وقد أعاقت هذه الخطط من قبل 2008 الإنكماش الاقتصادي, وبحلول أواخر مارس 2008, وكان الوقف الجامعة تقلصت بنسبة أكثر من $100 مليون, تقريبا 14 في المائة من قيمته. توقعت الجامعة عجز الميزانية 59 مليون $ في 2009 قبل التخفيضات المحافظات جلبت هذا الرقم ل $79 مليون. لإغلاق الفجوة في الميزانية, ارتفعت الجامعة رسوم غير تعليمية من قبل $290 وضعت سنويا من هيئة التدريس والدعم, وحتى القضاء عليها الهواتف في بعض الإدارات (مثل دراسات اللغة الإنجليزية والسينما).

ال 2013 ألبرتا الميزانية قطع المنح بعد المرحلة الثانوية المحافظات من قبل $147 مليون, بما في ذلك 7.2 في المائة إلى خفض منحة التشغيل الأساسي للجامعة. الجامعة تغطي النقص الناتج عن طريق خفض الإنفاق الكلي في 2013 بواسطة $28 مليون, ثم قطع إضافية $56 مليون لموازنة ميزانيتها بحلول ربيع عام 2015.

في ابريل 26, جاءت مجموعة الدراسة من الطلاب والمدرسين من جامعة ألبرتا لزيارة BNU-HKBU كلية المتحدة الدولية وشاركت في برنامج دراسة قصيرة الأجل التي استمرت أسبوعين.

ال 2015 صدر ألبرتا الميزانية في أكتوبر 2015 استعادة ل 1.4 في المائة قطع لU التمويل التشغيلي ول, وينص على زيادة إضافية اثنين في المائة في 2015-16 السنة المالية. شملت الميزانية أيضا تجميد الدراسة لمدة عامين. شهد أكتوبر أيضا إطلاق عملية التخطيط الاستراتيجي المؤسسي يهدف للمطالبة مناقشة وجمع ردود الفعل على الأولويات الاستراتيجية للجامعة, وذلك بهدف القيام بدور قيادي وطني في مرحلة ما بعد التعليم الثانوي.


هل تريد بحث جامعة ألبرتا ? أي سؤال, التعليقات أو المراجعات


جامعة ألبرتا على الخريطة


صورة فوتوغرافية


الصور: جامعة ألبرتا الفيسبوك الرسمي

فيديو





مشاركة هذه المعلومات مفيدة مع أصدقائك

جامعة من الاستعراضات ألبرتا

تاريخ لمناقشة من جامعة ألبرتا.
يرجى الملاحظة: EducationBro مجلة يمنحك القدرة على قراءة معلومات حول الجامعات في 96 اللغات, ولكن نطلب منك أن تحترم أعضاء آخرين وترك التعليقات باللغة الإنجليزية.

University of Alberta

University of Alberta. Study in Canada. Education Abroad Magazine.

University of Alberta Details

Enroll at University of Alberta

Overview


University of Alberta is a Top 5 Canadian university and one of the Top 100 in the world, home to more than 500 graduate programs, 200 undergraduate programs and 450 active student groups.

he University of Alberta has had the vision to be one of the world’s great universities for the public good since its inception. This university is dedicated to the promise made by founding president Henry Marshall Tory that “… knowledge shall not be the concern of scholars alone. The uplifting of the whole people shall be its final goal.”

This vision endures as the university strives to improve the lives of people in Alberta, across Canada, and around the world.

Motto

The university motto, quaecumque vera, means “whatsoever things are true” and is taken from the Epistle of St. Paul to the Philippians, Chapter 4, Verse 8, in the Latin Vulgate version of the Bible.

Mission

Within a vibrant and supportive learning environment, the University of Alberta discovers, disseminates, and applies new knowledge through teaching and learning, research and creative activity, community involvement, and partnerships. The U of A gives a national and international voice to innovation in our province, taking a lead role in placing Canada at the global forefront.

Vision

To inspire the human spirit through outstanding achievements in learning, discovery, and citizenship in a creative community, building one of the world’s great universities for the public good.

Aboriginal Acknowledgement

The University of Alberta acknowledges the traditional territory on which we stand and thanks the diverse Indigenous peoples whose footsteps have marked this territory for centuries, such as: Cree, Saulteaux, Blackfoot, Metis, Nakota Sioux.

– See more at: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/about/facts#sthash.cSUw49fI.dpuf

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


 

Agricultural, Life and Environmental Sciences

  • Agricultural Food and Nutritional Science
  • Devonian Botanic Garden
  • Forest Science and Management, Alberta School of
  • Human Ecology
  • Renewable Resources
  • Resource Economics and Environmental Sociology

Alberta School of Business

  • Accounting, Operations and Information Systems
  • Finance and Statistical Analysis
  • Marketing, Business Economics, and Law
  • Strategic Management and Organization

Arts

  • Anthropology
  • Art and Design
  • Community Service-Learning
  • Drama
  • East Asian Studies
  • Economics
  • English and Film Studies
  • History and Classics
  • Interdisciplinary Studies
  • Linguistics
  • Modern Languages and Cultural Studies
  • Music
  • Philosophy
  • Political Science
  • Psychology
  • Sociology
  • Women’s and Gender Studies

Augustana Campus

  • Fine Arts
  • Humanities
  • Science
  • Social Sciences

Campus Saint-Jean

Education

  • Educational Policy Studies
  • Educational Psychology
  • Elementary Education
  • Library and Information Studies, School of
  • Secondary Education

Engineering

  • Biomedical Engineering
  • Chemical and Materials Engineering
  • Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • School of Mining and Petroleum Engineering

Extension

  • Arts
  • Communications
  • Education
  • English Language School
  • Government Studies
  • Management
  • Master of Arts in Communications and Technology
  • Sciences

Graduate Studies and Research

Law

Medicine & Dentistry

  • Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine
  • Biochemistry
  • Biomedical Engineering
  • Cell Biology
  • Dentistry and Dental Hygiene
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Family Medicine
  • Laboratory Medicine and Pathology
  • Medical Genetics
  • Medical Microbiology and Immunology
  • Medicine
  • Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Oncology
  • Ophthalmology
  • Pediatrics
  • Pharmacology
  • Physiology
  • Psychiatry
  • Radiology and Diagnostic Imaging
  • Surgery

Native Studies

Nursing

Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

Physical Education and Recreation

Rehabilitation Medicine

  • Communication Sciences and Disorders
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Physical Therapy

School of Public Health

  • Master of Public Health
  • MSc in Public Health
  • PhD in Public Health

Science

  • Biological Sciences
  • Chemistry
  • Computing Science
  • Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
  • Mathematical and Statistical Sciences
  • Physics
  • Psychology

St. Joseph’s College

St. Stephen’s College

 

History


The University of Alberta, a single, public provincial university, was chartered in 1906 in Edmonton, Alberta with the University Act in the first session of the new Legislative Assembly, with Premier Alexander C. Rutherford as its sponsor. The university was modelled on the American state university, with an emphasis on extension work and applied research. The governance was modelled on Ontario’s University of Toronto Act of 1906: a bicameral system consisting of a senate (faculty) responsible for academic policy, and a board of governors (citizens) controlling financial policy and having formal authority in all other matters. The president, appointed by the board, was to provide a link between the two bodies and perform institutional leadership.

Heated wrangling took place between the cities of Calgary and Edmonton over the location of the provincial capital and of the university. It was stated that the capital would be north of the North Saskatchewan River and that the university would be in a city south of it. The city of Edmonton became the capital and the then-separate city of Strathcona on the south bank of the river, where Premier Alexander Rutherford lived, was granted the university. When the two cities were amalgamated in 1912, Edmonton became both the political and academic capital.

With Henry Marshall Tory as its first president, the University of Alberta started operation in 1908. Forty-five students attended classes in English, mathematics and modern languages, on the top floor of the Queen Alexandra Elementary School in Strathcona, while the first campus building, Athabasca Hall, was under construction. In a letter to Alexander Cameron Rutherford in early 1906, while he was in the process of setting up McGill University College in Vancouver, Tory wrote, “If you take any steps in the direction of a working University and wish to avoid the mistakes of the past, mistakes which have fearfully handicapped other institutions, you should start on a teaching basis.”

Under Tory’s guidance, the early years were marked by recruitment of professors and construction of the first campus buildings. Percy Erskine Nobbs & Frank Darling designed the master plan for the University of Alberta in 1909–10. Nobbs designed the Arts Building (1914–15), laboratories and Power House (1914). With Cecil S. Burgess, Nobbs designed the Provincial College of Medicine (1920–21). Architect Herbert Alton Magoon designed several buildings on campus, including St. Stephen’s Methodist College (1910) and the residence for professor Rupert C. Lodge (1913).

The University of Alberta awarded its first degrees in 1912, the same year it established the Department of Extension. The Faculty of Medicine was established the following year, and the Faculty of Agriculture began in 1915. But along with these early milestones came the First World War and the global influenza pandemic of 1918, whose toll on the university resulted in a two-month suspension of classes in the fall of 1918. Despite these setbacks, the university continued to grow. By 1920, it had six faculties (Arts and Sciences, Applied Science, Agriculture, Medicine, Dentistry, and Law) and two schools (Pharmacy and Accountancy). It awarded a range of degrees: Bachelor of Arts (BA), Bachelor of Science (BSc), Bachelor of Science in Agriculture (BSA), Bachelor of Laws (LLB), Bachelor of Pharmacy (PhmB), Bachelor of Divinity (BD), Master of Arts (MA), Master of Science (MSc), and Doctor of Laws (LLD). There were 851 male students and 251 female students, and 171 academic staff, including 14 women.

The Breton Soil Plots were established at the faculty of agriculture from 1929 – present to provide agricultural research on fertilization, usage, crop rotations and farming practices on Gray-Luvisolic soils (Gray-Wooded), which cover many regions in western Canada.

The War Memorial Committee commissioned a War Memorial Pipe Organ to be erected by the Casavant Frères in U of A Convocation Hall in 1925 in memory of 80 University of Alberta comrades who gave up their lives during the Great War.

In the early part of the 20th century, professional education expanded beyond the traditional fields of theology, law and medicine. Graduate training based on the German-inspired American model of specialized course work and the completion of a research thesis was introduced. In 1929, the university established a College of Education. This period of growth was to be short-lived, though, as the Great Depression and the Second World War curtailed enrolment and expansion until 1945. The university also gained new public powers. In 1928, the university’s senate was granted the power to oversee and appoint half of the Alberta Eugenics Board, charged with recommending individuals for sterilization.

Spurred by postwar growth in the student population and the discovery of oil in Leduc in 1947, the University of Alberta underwent expansion through the 1950s that continued through the 1960s as the baby-boom generation swelled the enrolment ranks. These two decades also saw expansion of campus buildings, including new buildings for the faculties of physical education and education, and the Cameron Library. The University of Alberta Press, concentrating on western Canadian history, general science and ecology, was founded in 1969.

The policy of university education initiated in the 1960s responded to population pressure and the belief that higher education was a key to social justice and economic productivity for individuals and for society. In addition, the single-university policy in the West was changed as existing colleges of the provincial universities gained autonomy as universities. On September 19, 1960, the university opened a new 130-hectare campus in Calgary. By 1966, the University of Calgary had been established as an autonomous institution.

From the mid-1970s to the late 1980s, the university enjoyed sustained growth. In 1970, the Collège Saint-Jean began offering French-language instruction in arts, science and education. In 1984, the School of Native Studies was established. Buildings that had been started in the 1960s, such as Biological Sciences and the Central Academic Building, were completed in the early 1970s. Extensive renovations restored the venerable Arts Building, as well as the Athabasca and Pembina halls. New buildings completed in the early 1980s included the Business Building and the first phase of the Walter C. Mackenzie Health Sciences Centre. Another new building, the distinctive Universiade Pavilion (nicknamed the “Butterdome”), was completed as part of the university’s preparations to host the World University Games in 1983, the first time the event was held in North America.

The 1990s were a time of financial constraint as the Alberta government made budgetary cutbacks. but they were also a time in which the university benefited from philanthropic support. The $11-million Timms Centre for the Arts, which began construction in 1993, was made possible by a large donation from its namesake, Albert Timms. In 1998, Gladys Young’s $3.5-million donation to the university undergraduate scholarship fund in memory of Roland Young, who graduated from the U of A in 1928, was the largest private donation for undergraduate scholarships in the university’s history.

The early 2000s brought substantial funding increases. High energy prices drove Alberta’s energy boom resulting in multibillion-dollar government surpluses and the subsequent creation of a $4.5 billion provincial post-secondary educational endowment. In 2005, the university hired Indira Samarasekera as its 12th president, embarking on an ambitious plan to establish itself as one of the world’s top public research universities. These plans were hampered by the 2008 economic downturn, and by late March 2008, the university’s endowment had shrunk by more than $100 million, almost 14 per cent of its value. The university predicted a $59-million budget shortfall in 2009 before provincial cuts brought that figure to $79 million. To close the budgetary gap, the university increased non-instructional fees by $290 per year laid off teaching and support staff, and even eliminated phones in some departments (such as English and Film Studies).

The 2013 Alberta Budget cut provincial post-secondary grants by $147 million, including a 7.2 per cent cut to the university’s base operating grant. The university is covering its resulting shortfall by reducing total spending in 2013 by $28 million, then cutting an additional $56 million to balance its budget by the spring of 2015.

On April 26, a study group of students and teachers from the University of Alberta came to visit BNU-HKBU United International College and took part in a short-term study programme that lasted a fortnight.

The 2015 Alberta Budget released in October 2015 restored a 1.4 per cent cut to the U of A’s operational funding, and provided for an additional two per cent increase in the 2015-16 fiscal year. The budget also included a two-year tuition freeze. October also saw the launch of an institutional strategic planning process intended to prompt discussion and gather feedback on the university’s strategic priorities, with the goal of assuming a national leadership role in post-secondary education.


Do you want discuss University of Alberta ? Any question, comments or reviews


University of Alberta on Map


Photo


Photos: University of Alberta official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

University of Alberta reviews

Join to discuss of University of Alberta.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.