جامعة ساسكاتشوان

جامعة ساسكاتشوان 4

جامعة ساسكاتشوان تفاصيل

التسجيل في جامعة ساسكاتشوان

نظرة عامة


ال جامعة ساسكاتشوان هي جامعة بحثية عامة الكندية, أسس في 1907, وتقع على الجانب الشرقي من جنوب نهر ساسكاتشوان في ساسكاتون, ساسكاتشوان, كندا. ل “العمل على إنشاء وإدراج جامعة لمقاطعة ساسكاتشوان” وقد أقره المجلس التشريعي في المحافظة 1907. أنشأت الجامعة المحافظات في أبريل 3, 1907 “لغرض توفير مرافق للتعليم العالي في جميع فروعها وتمكين جميع الأشخاص بغض النظر عن العرق, العقيدة أو الدين إلى الاستفادة إلى أقصى حد”. جامعة ساسكاتشوان هي أكبر مؤسسة للتعليم في المقاطعة الكندية ساسكاتشوان. بل هو أيضا جامعة الوحيدة الكندية تعقد اتفاقية شراكة مع جامعة أكسفورد. جامعة ساسكاتشوان هي واحدة من أكبر الجامعات البحثية في كندا (على أساس عدد من كراسي البحث كندا) وهو عضو في مجموعة U15 من الجامعات الكندي للبحوث (ال 15 معظم الجامعات في البحوث المكثفة في كندا).

بدأت الجامعة باعتبارها الكلية الزراعية في 1907 وأنشأ أول قسم مقرها الجامعات الكندية التمديد في 1910. كانت هناك 120 هكتار (300 فدان) توضع جانبا لمباني الجامعة و 400 لديه (1,000 فدان) ليو اس مزرعة, والحقول الزراعية. في المجموع 10.32 كم2 (3.98 ميل مربع) ضمت للجامعة. يقع الحرم الجامعي الرئيسي على 981 لديه (2,425 فدان), مع آخر 200 لديه (500 فدان) المخصصة للإبداع مكان مجمع البحوث. جامعة ساسكاتشوان كلية الزراعة لا تزال لديه حق الوصول إلى الأراضي البحوث الحضرية المجاورة. جامعة ساسكاتشوان لقاح والمعدية منظمة المرض (فيدو) منشأة, (2003) تطوير لقاحات التحصين المحسن الحمض النووي للبشر والحيوانات. الجامعة هي أيضا موطن لالسنكروترون الكندي مصدر الضوء, التي تعتبر واحدة من أكبر والأكثر ابتكارا الاستثمارات في العلم الكندي. منذ نشأتها باعتبارها الكلية الزراعية, وقد لعبت الأبحاث دورا هاما في الجامعة. الاكتشافات التي تمت في يو اس تشمل الأسمنت المقاوم للكبريتات وحدة الكوبالت 60 علاج السرطان. وتقدم الجامعة أكثر 200 البرامج الأكاديمية. دنكان P. عين ماكول سجلا الأول, إقامة دورة الانعقاد الأولى التي قاضي القضاة إدوارد L. انتخب ويتمور كما المستشار الأول. أصبح والتر تشارلز موراي أول رئيس لمجلس الجامعة للحكام.

المدارس / الكليات / الإدارات / الدورات / ملكات


  • الزراعة والموارد الحيوية
  • الآداب والعلوم
  • مدرسة ادواردز لإدارة الأعمال
  • طب الأسنان
  • التعليم
  • هندسة
  • كلية البيئة والاستدامة
  • الدراسات العليا والبحوث
  • علم الحركة
  • القانون
  • دواء
  • تمريض
  • الصيدلة والتغذية
  • كلية العلاج الطبيعي
  • كلية الصحة العامة
  • مدرسة جونسون Shoyama العليا للسياسة العامة
  • طب بيطري

التاريخ


كان على غرار المؤسسة على جامعة ولاية أمريكية, مع التركيز على أعمال الإرشاد والبحوث التطبيقية. جامعة ساسكاتشوان, في ساسكاتون, منحت ميثاق المحافظة على أبريل 3, 1907. والنظام الأساسي المقاطعة المعروفة باسم قانون الجامعة. وقدمت لالممولة من القطاع العام, مؤسسة مستقلة بعد أن يتم إنشاء لمواطني المحافظة ككل.

كان على غرار الحكم على جامعة المحافظات من قانون تورنتو 1906 الذي أنشأ نظام المجلسين من الحكومة الجامعة يتكون من مجلس الشيوخ (كلية), المسؤول عن السياسة الأكاديمية, ومجلس المحافظين (المواطنين) ممارسة السيطرة الحصرية على السياسات المالية وجود سلطة رسمية في جميع المسائل الأخرى. الرئيس, عين من قبل المجلس, كان لتقديم وصلة بين الهيئتين وأداء القيادة المؤسسية. وكان نطاق المؤسسة الجديدة لتشمل كليات الفنون والعلوم, بما في ذلك الفن, الموسيقى والتجارة, الزراعة مع الغابات, علوم محلية, التعليم, هندسة, القانون, دواء, مقابل, الطب البيطري وطب الأسنان.

وقد تم اختيار ساسكاتون كموقع للجامعة في أبريل 7, 1909 من قبل مجلس المحافظين. في أكتوبر 12, 1912 أول مبنى فتحت أبوابها لقبول الطلاب. انها منحت أول درجة في 1912. في الجزء الأول من هذا القرن, توسيع التعليم المهني خارج المجالات التقليدية لاهوت, القانون والطب. وقدم تدريب الخريجين على أساس النموذج الأمريكي مستوحاة الألمانية من العمل بطبيعة الحال المتخصصة والانتهاء من أطروحة بحثية.

باتلفورد, موسجاو, الأمير ألبرت, ريجينا, وساسكاتون كل ضغط ليكون موقع الجامعة الجديدة. والتر موراي فضل عاصمة المقاطعة, ريجينا. في تصويت أثرت سياسيا, وقد تم اختيار ساسكاتون في أبريل 7, 1909.

صممه ديفيد روبرتسون براون (الهندسه المعماريه), نصبت بوابات النصب التذكاري في 1927 في ركن من كلية القيادة ومحرك مستشفى في الشرف من جامعة ساسكاتشوان الخريجين الذين خدموا في الحرب العالمية الأولى. جدار الحجر يحمل نقوشا بأسماء الستين سبعة طلاب الجامعة وأعضاء هيئة التدريس الذين فقدوا حياتهم أثناء الخدمة خلال الحرب العالمية الأولى. أروقة المبنى الإداري قديم (كلية البناء) في جامعة ساسكاتشوان زينت مع لفائف نصب تذكاري تكريما من جامعة ساسكاتشوان الخريجين الذين خدموا في الحروب العالمية.

مجلس الوطني للفيلم الوثائقي كندا “جامعة المرج” (1955) من إخراج جون فيني يستكشف الأنشطة البحثية المتنوعة في جامعة ساسكاتشوان على الزراعة, دواء, والآيس كريم.

وكلية الطب البيطري فتحت في جامعة ساسكاتشوان في يوليو 2, 1969. سجلت جامعة ساسكاتشوان الأسلحة مع السلطة الدروع الكندية في فبراير 15, 2001.

وهناك موقع بجوار نهر ساسكاتشوان الجنوبية, على الجانب الآخر من مركز مدينة ساسكاتون, وقد تم اختيار لالحرم الجامعي. ديفيد روبرتسون براون براون & كانت Vallance مهندسي الأولي بناء خطة الحرم الجامعي والمباني الجامعية الأولى في الاسلوب الجماعية القوطية: رئيس وزراء كندا, سيدي ويلفريد لورير, وضع حجر الأساس لأول مبنى, مبنى كلية, في يوليو - تموز 29, 1910. المبنى الأول الذي بدأ في الحرم الجامعي الجديد, مبنى كلية, بنيت 1910-1912 افتتح في 1913; في 2001, أعلن ذلك على الموقع التاريخي كندا الوطني.

بنى & Vallance تصميم مبنى الإدارة (1910-12); الإقامة ساسكاتشوان قاعة الطالب (1910-12). بنى & Vallance تصميم مبنى الهندسة (1910-12) وكذلك الإضافات 1913 في 1920 وإعادة بناء المبنى بعد أن أحرق في 1925. بنى & Vallance تصميم جناح الشونة والمالية (1910-12) وكلية ايمانويل (1910-12). بنى & Vallance بنيت نادي كلية (1911-12) وأعيد بناؤه بعد أن أحرق في 1964. بنى & شيدت Vallance مقر الرئيس (1911-13) Qu'Appelle طالب مباني السكن الطلابي (1914-16) بناء الفيزياء (1919-21); بناء كيمياء (1922-23); سانت. كلية المشيخية أندرو (1922-23); نصب تذكاري غيتس (1927-28) ومبنى تربية الميدان (1929).

وقد تم بناء هذه المباني الأصلية باستخدام الحجر الجيري الأصلي - Greystone و- الذي كان يستخرج الشمال مباشرة من الحرم الجامعي. على مر السنين, أصبح هذا Greystone واحدة من التوقيعات الحرم الجامعي الأكثر تميزا. عندما تم استنفاد الإمدادات المحلية من الحجر الجيري, تحولت الجامعة إلى تيندال الحجر, وهو محفور في جامعة مقاطعة Manitoba.Saskatchewan وكلية الزراعة وافتتح رسميا مايو 1, 1913 من هون. والتر سكوت.

الخطة المعمارية الأصلية دعا إلى مباني الجامعة التي يتم بناؤها حول المساحات الخضراء المعروفة باسم وعاء. والآن توصيل مباني الجامعة الأصلية skywalks والأنفاق. في اتجاه عقارب الساعة, من الشمال; بناء Thorvaldson (أغسطس 22, 1924) (سبينكس إضافة); جيولوجيا, W.P. طومسون الأحياء (1960) ملاصقة لمبنى الفيزياء (1921); كلية البناء (قد 1, 1913) (بالإضافة الادارة); cojoined ساسكاتشوان مع قاعة أثاباسكا (1964); قاعة Qu'Appelle (1916); ملاصقة ماركيز قاعة لضع ريل - Qu'Appelle إضافة; المكتبة الرئيسية التذكارية موراي (1956); فنون (1960) cojoined مع القانون وملاصقة لمبنى التجارة إكمال دائرة الأولية حول محيط الوعاء.

تصميم فرانسيس هنري Portnall وفرانك مارتن الألبان & مختبر التربة (1947).

التمسك تقريبا للخطة الاصلية لل 1909, تم إنشاء العديد من الكليات: فنون & علم (1909); الزراعة, تسمى الآن الزراعة والموارد الحيوية (1912); هندسة (1912); القانون (1913); مقابل, تسمى الآن الصيدلة & تغذية (1914); تجارة, والان اذن. مدرسة موراي ادواردز لإدارة الأعمال (1917); دواء (1926); التعليم (1927); الاقتصاد المنزلي (1928); تمريض (1938); الدراسات العليا والبحوث (1946); التعليم الجسدي, يسمى الآن علم الحركة (1958); طب بيطري (1964); طب الأسنان (1965); وtheSchool في العلاج الطبيعي (1976).

لديه يو اس أيضا العديد من برامج الدراسات العليا بين هذه الكليات, التي تؤدي إلى درجة الماجستير أو الدكتوراه درجة. في 1966, قدمت جامعة ساسكاتشوان برنامج الماجستير في تعليم الكبار. شهادة دبلوم, والدورات آخر شهادة الثانوية المتاحة للمساعدة في التطوير المهني أيضا.

لاهوتية كليات, التابعة للجامعة, وأنشئت أيضا: كلية ايمانويل - (طائفة الانجليكانية) (1909), سانت. كلية أندرو (مثل كلية المشيخي, ساسكاتون) ثم الكنيسة المتحدة في كندا (1913), اللوثرية اللاهوتي (1920), سانت. توماس مور كلية (1936), وكلية العنصرة الوسطى(1983).

تم حفظ ريجينا كلية من الإفلاس، وأصبحت جزءا من الجامعة في 1934, وأعطيت امتيازات منح الدرجات العلمية في 1959, مما يجعل من جامعة ساسكاتشوان الثانية من الحرم الجامعي. من خلال عمل آخر من أعمال التشريع في 1974, وجاء ريجينا كلية مؤسسة مستقلة تعرف باسم جامعة ريجينا.

وردت سياسة التعليم الجامعي التي بدأت في 1960s لضغط السكان، والاعتقاد بأن التعليم العالي هو المفتاح لتحقيق العدالة الاجتماعية والإنتاجية الاقتصادية للأفراد والمجتمع. تم تغيير سياسة جامعة واحدة في الغرب إلى الكليات الموجودة في الجامعات المحلية اكتسبت الحكم الذاتي إلى الجامعات.

أنشئت دورات بالمراسلة في 1929.

وتشمل الكليات الاتحادية والتابعة لها Briercrest كلية الكتاب المقدس والكتاب المقدس المدرسة في Caronport, ساسكاتشوان; غابرييل كلية دومون وسانت. كلية جديد التاريخية بطرس في مونستر, ساسكاتشوان.

في أواخر 1990s, أطلقت يو اس برنامج تنشيط كبير, تضم المشاريع الرأسمالية الجديدة مثل التوسع في كلية الغربية للطب البيطري, بناء parkade جديد, وإعادة النظر في تخطيط الطريق الداخلي (التي شهدت بالفعل وصول الطريق الشرقية يجري إعادة ترتيب). مبنى Thorvaldson, التي تعد موطنا لأقسام الكيمياء وعلوم الكمبيوتر, تستضيف التوسعة الجديدة المعروفة باسم بالإضافة سبينكس. وكانت كلية الصيدلة والتغذية أيضا عددا من التجديدات.

 


هل تريد بحث جامعة ساسكاتشوان ? أي سؤال, التعليقات أو المراجعات


جامعة ساسكاتشوان على الخريطة


صورة فوتوغرافية


الصور: جامعة ساسكاتشوان الفيسبوك الرسمي

فيديو





مشاركة هذه المعلومات مفيدة مع أصدقائك

جامعة من الاستعراضات ساسكاتشوان

تاريخ لمناقشة من جامعة ساسكاتشوان.
يرجى الملاحظة: EducationBro مجلة يمنحك القدرة على قراءة معلومات حول الجامعات في 96 اللغات, ولكن نطلب منك أن تحترم أعضاء آخرين وترك التعليقات باللغة الإنجليزية.

University of Saskatchewan

University of Saskatchewan 4

University of Saskatchewan Details

Enroll at University of Saskatchewan

Overview


The University of Saskatchewan  is a Canadian public research university, founded in 1907, and located on the east side of the South Saskatchewan River in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada. An “Act to establish and incorporate a University for the Province of Saskatchewan” was passed by the provincial legislature in 1907. It established the provincial university on April 3, 1907 “for the purpose of providing facilities for higher education in all its branches and enabling all persons without regard to race, creed or religion to take the fullest advantage”. The University of Saskatchewan is the largest education institution in the Canadian province of Saskatchewan. It is also the only Canadian University that has a partnership agreement with University of Oxford. The University of Saskatchewan is one of Canada’s top research universities (based on the number of Canada Research Chairs) and is a member of the U15 Group of Canadian Research Universities (the 15 most research-intensive universities in Canada).

The university began as an agricultural college in 1907 and established the first Canadian university-based department of extension in 1910. There were 120 hectares (300 acres) set aside for university buildings and 400 ha (1,000 acres) for the U of S farm, and agricultural fields. In total 10.32 km2 (3.98 sq mi) was annexed for the university. The main University campus is situated upon 981 ha (2,425 acres), with another 200 ha (500 acres) allocated for Innovation Place Research Park. The University of Saskatchewan agriculture college still has access to neighbouring urban research lands. The University of Saskatchewan’s Vaccine and Infectious Disease Organization (VIDO) facility, (2003) develops DNA-enhanced immunization vaccines for both humans and animals. The University is also home to the Canadian Light Source synchrotron, which is considered one of the largest and most innovative investments in Canadian science. Since its origins as an agricultural college, research has played an important role at the university. Discoveries made at the U of S include sulphate-resistant cement and the cobalt-60 cancer therapy unit. The university offers over 200 academic programs. Duncan P. McColl was appointed as the first registrar, establishing the first convocation from which Chief Justice Edward L. Wetmore was elected as the first chancellor. Walter Charles Murray became the first president of the university’s board of governors.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


  • Agriculture and Bioresources
  • Arts and Science
  • Edwards School of Business
  • Dentistry
  • Education
  • Engineering
  • School of Environment and Sustainability
  • Graduate Studies and Research
  • Kinesiology
  • Law
  • Medicine
  • Nursing
  • Pharmacy and Nutrition
  • School of Physical Therapy
  • School of Public Health
  • Johnson-Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy
  • Veterinary Medicine

History


The institution was modelled on the American state university, with an emphasis on extension work and applied research. The University of Saskatchewan, at Saskatoon, was granted a provincial charter on April 3, 1907. A provincial statute known as the University Act. It provided for a publicly funded, yet independent institution to be created for the citizens of the whole province.

The governance was modelled on the provincial University of Toronto Act of 1906 which established a bicameral system of university government consisting of a senate (faculty), responsible for academic policy, and a board of governors (citizens) exercising exclusive control over financial policy and having formal authority in all other matters. The president, appointed by the board, was to provide a link between the two bodies and to perform institutional leadership. The scope of the new institution was to include colleges of arts and science, including art, music and commerce, agriculture with forestry, domestic science, education, engineering, law, medicine, pharmacy, veterinary science and dentistry.

Saskatoon was chosen as the site for the University on April 7, 1909 by the board of governors. On October 12, 1912 the first building opened its doors for student admission. It awarded its first degrees in 1912. In the early part of this century, professional education expanded beyond the traditional fields of theology, law and medicine. Graduate training based on the German-inspired American model of specialized course work and the completion of a research thesis was introduced.

Battleford, Moose Jaw, Prince Albert, Regina, and Saskatoon all lobbied to be the location of the new university. Walter Murray preferred the provincial capital, Regina. In a politically influenced vote, Saskatoon was chosen on April 7, 1909.

Designed by David Robertson Brown (architect), the Memorial Gates were erected in 1927 at the corner of College Drive and Hospital Drive in honour of the University of Saskatchewan alumni who served in the First World War. A stone wall bears inscriptions of the names of the sixty seven university students and faculty who lost their lives while on service during World War I. The hallways of the Old Administrative Building (College Building) at the University of Saskatchewan are decorated with memorial scrolls in honour of the University of Saskatchewan alumni who served in the World Wars.

The National Film Board of Canada documentary “Prairie University” (1955) directed by John Feeney explores diverse research activities at the University of Saskatchewan on agriculture, medicine, and ice cream.

A college of veterinary medicine opened at the University of Saskatchewan on July 2, 1969. The University of Saskatchewan’s Arms were registered with the Canadian Heraldic Authority on February 15, 2001.

A location next to the South Saskatchewan River, across from the city centre of Saskatoon, was selected for the campus. David Robertson Brown of Brown & Vallance were the initial architects constructing a campus plan and the first university buildings in Collegiate Gothic style: The Prime Minister of Canada, Sir Wilfrid Laurier, laid the cornerstone of the first building, the College Building, on July 29, 1910. The first building to be started on the new campus, the College Building, built 1910–1912 opened in 1913; in 2001, it was declared a National Historic Site of Canada.

Brown & Vallance designed the Administration Building (1910–12); Saskatchewan Hall Student Residence (1910–12). Brown & Vallance designed the Engineering Building (1910–12) as well as additions 1913 in 1920 and rebuilt the building after it burned in 1925. Brown & Vallance designed the Barn and Stock Pavilion (1910–12) and Emmanuel College (1910–12). Brown & Vallance built the Faculty Club (1911–12) and rebuilt it after it burned in 1964. Brown & Vallance constructed the President’s Residence (1911–13) Qu’Appelle Hall Student Residence (1914–16) Physics Building (1919–21); Chemistry Building (1922–23); St. Andrew’s Presbyterian College (1922–23); Memorial Gates (1927–28) and the Field Husbandry Building (1929).

The original buildings were built using native limestone – greystone – which was mined just north of campus. Over the years, this greystone became one of the most recognizable campus signatures. When the local supply of limestone was exhausted, the University turned to Tyndall stone, which is quarried in Manitoba.Saskatchewan’s Provincial University and Agricultural College were officially opened May 1, 1913 by Hon. Walter Scott.

The original architectural plan called for the university buildings to be constructed around a green space known as The Bowl. The original university buildings are now connected by skywalks and tunnels. Clockwise, from the north; Thorvaldson Building (August 22, 1924) (Spinks addition); Geology, W.P. Thompson Biology (1960) adjoined to Physics Building (1921); College Building (May 1, 1913) (Administration addition); Saskatchewan cojoined with Athabasca Hall (1964); Qu’Appelle Hall (1916); Marquis Hall adjoined to Place Riel – Qu’Appelle Addition; Murray Memorial Main Library (1956); Arts (1960) cojoined with Law and adjoined to Commerce building complete the initial circle around the perimeter of the bowl.

Francis Henry Portnall and Frank Martin designed the Dairy & Soils Laboratory (1947).

Roughly adhering to the original plan of 1909, numerous colleges were established: Arts & Science (1909); Agriculture, now called Agriculture and Bioresources (1912); Engineering (1912); Law (1913); Pharmacy, now called Pharmacy & Nutrition (1914); Commerce, now the N. Murray Edwards School of Business (1917); Medicine (1926); Education (1927); Home Economics (1928); Nursing (1938); Graduate Studies and Research (1946); Physical Education, now called Kinesiology (1958); Veterinary Medicine (1964); Dentistry (1965); and theSchool of Physical Therapy (1976).

The U of S also has several graduate programs amongst these colleges, which give rise to a masters or doctorate degree. In 1966, the University of Saskatchewan introduced a masters program in adult education. Diploma, and certificate post secondary courses are also available to aid in professional development.

Theological Colleges, affiliated with the university, were also established: Emmanuel College – (Anglican denomination) (1909), St. Andrew’s College (as Presbyterian College, Saskatoon) then United Church of Canada (1913), Lutheran Theological Seminary (1920), St. Thomas More College (1936), and Central Pentecostal College(1983).

Regina College was saved from bankruptcy and became part of the university in 1934, and was given degree-granting privileges in 1959, making it a second University of Saskatchewan campus. By another act of legislation in 1974, Regina College was made an independent institution known as the University of Regina.

The policy of university education initiated in the 1960s responded to population pressure and the belief that higher education was a key to social justice and economic productivity for individuals and for society. The single-university policy in the West was changed as existing colleges of the provincial universities gained autonomy as universities.

Correspondence courses were established in 1929.

Other federated and affiliated colleges include Briercrest Bible College and Biblical Seminary in Caronport, Saskatchewan; Gabriel Dumont College and St. Peter’s Historic Junior College in Muenster, Saskatchewan.

In the late 1990s, the U of S launched a major revitalisation program, comprising new capital projects such as an expansion to the Western College of Veterinary Medicine, the building of a new parkade, and a revision of its internal road layout (which has already seen the East Road access being realigned). The Thorvaldson Building, which is home to the departments of chemistry and computer science, hosts a new expansion known as the Spinks addition. The College of Pharmacy and Nutrition has also had a number of renovations.

 


Do you want discuss University of Saskatchewan ? Any question, comments or reviews


University of Saskatchewan on Map


Photo


Photos: University of Saskatchewan official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

University of Saskatchewan reviews

Join to discuss of University of Saskatchewan.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.