جامعة فريدريش شيلر جينا

جامعة فريدريش شيلر جينا

جامعة فريدريش شيلر من التفاصيل جينا

التسجيل في جامعة فريدريش شيلر جينا

نظرة عامة


فريدريش شيلر جامعة جينا هي جامعة بحثية العامة تقع في جينا, تورينجيا, ألمانيا.

تأسست الجامعة في 1558 ويتم احتساب بين 10 أقدم الجامعات في ألمانيا. وهي مرتبطة مع 6 الحائزين على جائزة نوبل, وكان آخرها في 2000 عندما فاز جينا الدراسات العليا هربرت كرومر على جائزة نوبل في الفيزياء. تم تغيير اسمها بعد الشاعر فريدريش شيلر الذي كان يدرس كأستاذ للفلسفة عندما جذبت جينا بعض من أفضل العقول وأكثرها تأثيرا في مطلع القرن ال19. مع كارل يونارد رينولد, يوهان غوتليب فيشت, G. W. F. هيغل, F. W. J. شيلينغ وفريدريش فون شليجل على هيئة التدريس فيها, وكانت الجامعة في وسط ظهور المثالية الألمانية والرومانسية المبكرة.

اعتبارا من 2014, أن الجامعة لديها حول 19,000 التحق الطلاب و 375 أساتذة. رئيسها الحالي, والتر روزنتال, انتخب في 2014 ل 6 سنوات المدى.

جامعة فريدريش شيلر في جينا, أسس في 1558, مع ل 21,000 طلاب موزعة على عشر كليات مختلفة يترك بصماته على صورة المدينة. طلاب سواء في الجامعة أو في جامعة العلوم التطبيقية جعل ربع سكان جينا. وبالتالي, هو كل الحق في أن يقول: لا يوجد جامعة في جينا, جينا هي جامعة! تقريبا 340 أساتذة و 6,400 أعضاء من طاقم العمل في الجامعة والجامعات المستشفى, وهذه الأخيرة التي تحافظ تتطور لتصبح واحدة من أكثر المستشفيات الحديثة في ألمانيا.

الجامعة يضع التركيز على اتخاذ مكثف الرعاية من طلابها, ويعمل على خلق “الطلاب’ الجنة في جينا. برامج خاصة تدعم الطلاب من الخارج. عندما يتعلق الأمر التدريس, جامعة يينا يجمع بين التقليد والتجديد: وبصرف النظر عن الطب, علوم فيزيائية, علم النفس, دراسات الأعمال والاقتصاد, أو الرياضية, العلوم البيولوجية والاجتماعية – وكلها مرتبة عالية – المسمى “موضوعات أصغر”, مثل لcaucasiology المثال, الدراسات الرومانية أو الهندية الجرمانية, ومستدامة. مجموعة واسعة من الفرص للدراسة في الجامعة الكلاسيكية الوحيدة تورينجيا في الأشكال مظهره وكذلك موقفها: للعمل بلا حدود – interdisciplinarily ودوليا. وبالتالي, تم إنشاء البحثي واضح وستشهد مزيدا من التطور. وتتكون الشخصية البحوث الحالية جامعة يينا من خمسة مجالات البحث ذات الأولوية:

  • بصريات, الضوئيات والتكنولوجيات الضوئية
  • المواد المبتكرة والتقنيات
  • ديناميات النظم البيولوجية المعقدة
  • مختبر التنوير
  • الأفراد والتغير الاجتماعي

يتم استكمالها من قبل ثلاثة العابرة للأقسام الأكاديمية:

  • تحليل وإدارة الأنظمة المعقدة;
  • السياقات الثقافية للشيخوخة;
  • الأصل في أوروبا: الثقافة والدين في العالم القديم والعصور الوسطى

يصل والقادمة العلماء الشباب مستعدون جيدا لحياتهم المهنية لأنها معتمدة من قبل الأكاديمية جينا العليا. مع ذلك, موضوع مهم لل “رعاية الأطفال” يظهر على جدول أعمال الجامعة. باعتبارها واحدة من مؤسسي “التحالف جينا للأسرة”, جامعة جينا لتقف على التوافق بين إنجاب الأطفال ودراسة. لهذا, انها تلقت جائزة مجموع E-الجودة. جامعة فريدريش شيلر هو أيضا على الصعيد الدولي جيدا الشهيرة: وتتكامل في شبكات مهمة, مثل مجموعة كويمبرا, وتتعاون مع أكثر من 100 الجامعات أو المؤسسات الأكاديمية في جميع أنحاء العالم. مع ما يقرب من 300 الشركاء في أوروبا تبادل حية للطلاب والمعلمين وتجري.

في 2008 وقد تم منح جينا عنوان في ألمانيا “مدينة العلوم”. 2008تأثرت بقوة الصورة الفعاليات التي أنشطة الجامعة. و, فى المستقبل, الجامعة تريد للحفاظ على نفوذ قوي في التدريس, البحوث والثقافة, وطنيا ودوليا.

المدارس / الكليات / الإدارات / الدورات / ملكات


  • لاهوت
  • كلية الحقوق
  • اقتصاديات
  • فلسفة
  • العلوم الاجتماعية والسلوكية
  • الرياضيات وعلوم الحاسوب
  • الفيزياء والفلك
  • الكيمياء وعلوم الأرض
  • علم الأحياء والصيدلة
  • دواء

التاريخ


في غضون سنوات قليلة من الثورة السياسية في ألمانيا الشرقية ازدهرت الصغيرة المدينة الجامعية تورينغن يينا إلى مركز كبير على الصعيد الدولي للتعليم. جو من التغيير هو المهيمن, ولكن على الرغم من هذه البداية الجديدة واحد يتطلع إلى الوراء باعتزاز على تقليد عظيم: غوته, شيلر, غادر هيغل وفيشت بصماتها على الحياة الفكرية, آبي, وضعت زايس وشوت الأسس لتحقيق الازدهار الاقتصادي.

وتقريبا 25 000 طلبة جامعة فريدريش شيلر وجامعة العلوم التطبيقية تعطي الذوق الشباب إلى الأبد مدينة 100 000, والتي تحيط بها المنحدرات muschelkalk وتقع خيالي في وادي نهر زاله. أجيال من الشعراء, وقد تغنى الفلاسفة وطلاب يشيد لها في الغناء والشعر, ربما أكثر جميل غوتفريد بن: “جينا قبل لنا, في وادي لذيذ“. في كل مكان واحد يذهب الثقافة هي التي لا مفر منها — قبل كل شيء, أن الرومانسية, الكلاسيكية كقواعد, وGründerzeit. بدأت وهناك طريقة طالب فريد من الحياة أيضا في جينا وذهب على أن تكون لها انعكاسات جوهرية في السياسات العليا: هذا هو المكان الأول جدا الأخوة طالب شكلت, الذين أسود أحمر الذهب راية, اليوم الألوان الوطنية, وقد أشار الروح الديمقراطية للوحدة, العدالة والحرية من أي وقت مضى منذ الاجتماع في ارتبرج في 1817. الاخويات قد لا تلعب الكثير من دور في أواخر القرن 20th جينا, ولكن ذكرى هذا النشوء الديمقراطي والحفاظ عليه ليس فقط من خلال هذه مرتديها من شرائط ملونة وأغطية.

ويبدو أن تغييرات جذرية والخروج من الماضي لكانت دائما تخصص جينا. عندما الأساتذة الأولين, Stigel وفي strigel, وعلى 171 انتقل الطلاب في لكوليجيوم Jenense, سابقا دير الدومينيكان, في 1548, ذات سيادة لها, يوهان فريدريش الأول, كان لا يزال رهن الاحتجاز الإمبراطوري. مثل “زعيم” التحالف البروتستانتي Schmalkaldian الانتخابي الأمير Wettin قد تعرض لهزيمة عسكرية كارثية ضد التاج الكاثوليكية، وكان للتنازل عن مقعده القديم والجامعة في فيتنبرغ إلى ابن عمه يكره موريتز. في الأرض الآن تحت حكمه, التي قد تضاءل إلى ثلث حجمه السابق, اختار فايمار حيث مقر جديد للحكومة والتي تأسست في البلدة المجاورة من ملاك الأراضي الصغيرة والنبيذ المزارعين على هووي المدرسة (كلية) لتدريب رجال الدين البروتستانت والمعلمين. فقط قيمة “الببليوتيكا Electoralis” فريدريش تم حفظها الحكيم وجلبت من فيتنبرغ إلى جينا.

في الأيام الأولى لم تكن رحبت القادمين الجدد الأكاديمي بالضبط بحرارة, — إعفاء الأساتذة من الضريبة الكحول وآداب الخام وجاهزة من طلابها, الذي يرجع بدرجة كبيرة من الاستقلالية القانونية يمكن بالكاد أن يحاكم من قبل المحاكم المحلية, كانت شوكة في خاصرة المواطن الصالح. فكريا, ومع ذلك, وإنساني, قامت مؤسسة تعليمية موجهة للإصلاح قفزات سريعة في تطورها; بحلول منتصف 1550s كان يعتبر جينا بالفعل كمركز رائد للاصلاح, والطبعة جينا من أعمال لوثر قد فاقت مشروع المتنافسة في فيتنبرغ. ولكن لم يكن حتى 1558 ان جينا هووي المدرسة تلقى امتياز الإمبراطوري كجامعة.

تقريبا 100 بعد سنوات, من إحدى الجامعات الإصلاح العصر الحديث في وقت مبكر مع أربع كليات — فلسفة, لاهوت, القانون والطب — قد وضعت المجتمع البحثي مع مصالح متنوعة للغاية. عالم الرياضيات والفلك ويجل, الذي كان يدرس لايبنتز, من بين أمور أخرى, يعتبر واحدا من مؤسسي الفكر العلمي. هذه هي جذور الجامعة التي, مرة واحدة في زهر, سوف تكسب لقب “المكتنز المعرفة”. الشخص الذي خرج من طريقه للتعبير عن ان مثل هذا الثناء, مثل “المشرف العام على التدابير المباشرة في العلوم والفنون”, ليس أقلها أن أشكر لهذا التطور: عضو مجلس مطلعا يوهان فولفغانغ فون غوته جند منهجي المفكرين البارزين والباحثين في دوقية المحافظات الصغيرة ومنهجي خلق الظروف المثالية لعملهم. المكتبات, حدائق نباتية, كانت أرشيف التاريخ الطبيعي والمختبرات عن موضوع الحمل المالي له من أجل. مؤسسات مثل المرصد وجمع المعدني يمكن ارجاعه الى مبادرته. في الوقت نفسه طموحات العلمية الخاصة غوته استفادت من هذه البنية التحتية. كان يعمل بشكل وثيق مع الصيدلي Doebereiner, مؤسس نظام الدوري, ومع التشريح يسطس لودر. ويعتبر نجاحه البحث عن عظم الفكين واحدة من أقرب الأمثلة البحوث الطبية المستهدفة في العصر الحديث; الأصناف المدرجة من قبل الشاعر والأمير نفسه ما زالت محفوظة في مجموعة تشريحية من جامعة جينا أعدت.

حاسم, على أية حال, على مدى السنوات عجب الكلاسيكية، الرومانسية كان في وقت مبكر “شبكة”, الذي ظل ظروف رائعة جمعت عظماء الفكرية الرائعة في مكان واحد. هيغل, فيشت وشيلينج, فوس, الأخوة شليغل وفريدريش شيلر — كأستاذ للتاريخ — تدرس كل ما في المدينة على زاله, في حين نوفاليس, هولدرلين, برنتنو, Föbel وأرندت جلس في محاضراتهم.

أسماء الشوارع في الوقت الحاضر ليس فقط لويحات, ولكن ايضا استعادة بمحبة المباني, شاهدة على هذه الفترة: لحديقة المنزل مثلا شيلر, المنزل فيشت ل, الإقامة المشرف غوته في الحدائق النباتية, أو البيت Fromann, وهي اليوم بمثابة معهد للعلماء الألمانية ومؤرخي الفن. تركيز مذهل من الثقافة في تلك السنوات, الذي شهد بداية لنقلة نوعية جذري في الثقافة والعلوم في العاصمة التوأم سلالة إرنستين ل, هو الآن موضوع DFG (مجلس البحوث الألمانية) مشروع البحوث التعاونية “فايمار – جينا. ثقافة 1800”.

ولكن أساس سمعة جينا الدولي كمركز صناعي لم تنشأ حتى حوالي 70 سنوات في وقت لاحق من قبل كوكبة من الشخصيات محاسن — مرة أخرى في الجامعة. الهندسة الدقيقة زايس ومصنع البصريات والكيميائية زجاج تعمل شوت & الجنرال. خرجت الى حيز الوجود تقريبا كما المؤسسات العرضية من ألما ماتر — الكثير في بنفس الطريقة يصل إلى تصور تنشيط ألمانيا كموقع التكنولوجيا الفائقة من خلال تلاحم وثيق العلم وعالم الأعمال. هذا الشكل من التعاون بين الجامعة والصناعة تطورت بشكل طبيعي في جينا, كما كانت.

أعطيت زخما للظهور في العصر الصناعي من قبل إرنست آبي (أستاذ مشارك عين في 1870), من الذى, في حين لا يزال في أوائل 30S له, وضعت نظريته في تشكيل صورة المجهر, التي أخذت بعين الاعتبار ظاهرة مألوفة من الحيود, وبالتالي جعل قفزة في البناء المجهر من التجربة والخطأ لتصميم منهجي. وقال انه نظرا لهذه اللجنة من قبل ميكانيكي الجامعة, كارل زايس, الذي كان قد تم اتقان باطراد بناء المعدات البصرية في ورشات عمل خاصة له. أوتو شوت, الذي حصل على الدكتوراه في يينا في 1875, كان الثالث على الدخول في هذا التحالف من قبل المؤسسين, بناء على إلحاح آبه, ا “مختبر لتكنولوجيا الزجاج” في 1884, لإنتاج العدسات الخاصة نقية للغاية لالمجاهر زايس والمعدات البصرية. تلميذ همبولت ماتياس شلايدن, أستاذ علم النبات وتشتهر نظرية زنزانته, شجع — واستفاد في وقت لاحق من — هذه العملية, الذي كان لإثبات مثالا يحتذى به في التاريخ الاقتصادي الألماني.

أدى نجاح محطة زايس العديد من العمال المؤهلين تأهيلا عاليا إلى المدينة, وارتفع عدد السكان بشكل كبير من قبل 150% في وقت من 1870 إلى مطلع القرن, إلى ما يقرب من 25 000. هذا الازدهار الجديد, التي زايس وآبي المشتركة مع الموظفين من خلال النظام الاجتماعي الرائد وتحول في وقت مبكر من المؤسسة إلى مؤسسة, كما حقق ارباحا للمدينة والجامعة: على سبيل المثال Volkshaus, مركز ثقافي وقاعة للحفلات الموسيقية, بنيت مع زايس المال, وعندما انتقل الأساتذة والطلاب إلى مبنى جديد في الذكرى السنوية 350th من الجامعة في 1908, وكانت مساهمات المؤسسة زايس ليس أقلها أن أشكر لهذا. وجاء أكبر تبرع خاص واحد لهيكل الفن الحديث الرائع من قبل الكنيسة الشهيرة ومهندس مسرح تيودور فيشر من أوتو شوت.

للفترة زمنية بين Gründerzeit وجمهورية فايمار هو, لجينا كمركز الحديثة للتعلم, ربما أكثر أهمية من عصر الكلاسيكية، الرومانسية المذكورة كثيرا ما. عالم الأحياء إرنست هيجل, المنظر التطوري الأكثر أهمية بعد داروين, يدرس في يينا, كما فعل عالم الرياضيات ومنطقي جوتلوب فريجه, الذي يقود المعاصرة الفلاسفة الأنجلوسكسونية استشهد كتأثير. ومن الجدير بالذكر هي هانز بيرجر, الذي اكتشف الكهربائي (EEG), الطبيب النفسي أوتو بنسوانغر, الفيلسوف رودولف Eucken, المؤرخون يوهان غوستاف Droysen والكسندر Cartellieri, علماء فقه لغة سيفرز وديلبروك, والمربين الإصلاح Stoy وبيترسن, الفقيه إدوارد روزنتال وماكس فيينا, واحد من رواد الإرسال اللاسلكي. يتمتع جينا أوجها في الفنون الجميلة وذلك بفضل الطليعية دائرة الموجه من الفنانين تتمحور حول ايبرهارد Grisebach وBotho GRAEF: بعد فضيحة في فايمار أوغست رودان تلقت شهادة الدكتوراه الفخرية في 1905, وفي السنوات 1907-09 خلق فرديناند هودلر اللوحة الأثرية الشهيرة “الطلاب الألمان تحدد لحرب التحرير 1813” لقاعة المحاضرات في الجامعات الجديدة. العمل مرة والمعارض التي التعبيريون الرائدة والاتصال إلى فايمار باوهاوس تركت بصماتها على الحياة الفنية في المدينة.

على الرغم من — أو ربما على وجه التحديد بسبب — مناخها التحرري انقلاب قاسية حلت المثقفين جينا في منتصف 1920s. مفهوم نموذج جامعة الاشتراكي الوطني جاء بسرعة إلى حيز الوجود, وتعيين ممثلين بارزين من الناحية النظرية العرقية والقتل الرحيم هنا — في مواقع قريبة جدا من معسكر الاعتقال فايمار-بوخنفالد.

بعد مرحلة قصيرة من إعادة التنظيم بعد 1945 ألما ماتر مرة أخرى حصلت واقعة في دوامة من الفكر السياسي, وكان من المتوقع الآن أن تتطور إلى “الجامعة الاشتراكية”. الرمز الأكثر وضوحا على ذلك هو “بحث الشاهقة”, بنيت من 1967-72 وفقا للخطط التي كتبها star GDR مهندس هربرت Henselmann وفي الأصل مخصصة للVEB كارل زايس المملوكة للدولة, إلى الذي كان الأكاديميين للتحرك. في 127m هذا إشارة بارزة من الأبراج العمارة السلطوية الاشتراكية فوق المدينة على زاله. ومع ذلك: في ظله ظهرت جو من المقاومة تخريبية, واعتبر جينا بأنها معقل المنشقين في جمهورية ألمانيا الديمقراطية.

في 1989 تظاهر أساتذة والطلاب في الشوارع معا; وربما كان يشعر القيود المفروضة على حرية الفكرية في أي مكان عن غيهم وذلك في مجالات البحوث والتعليم. مباشرة بعد الثورة السياسية التي تقوم جامعة جينا من إجراءات قاسية وصعبة: تم تقييم كل معلم, والخروج من الدوائر الموجودة سابقا تشكلت عشر كليات واحيط, كلاسيكي, جامعة شاملة — وهذه الجامعة الوحيدة في تورينجيا. ولقد تم تأسيس الحرم الجامعي الجديد في الموقع السابق لمصنع زايس الرئيسي في قلب المدينة, ومشروع بناء مليار علامة “عيادة جامعة 2000” حصلت جارية. في اتجاه برنامج التدريس استغرق الجامعة أيضا التقاليد القديمة: والفلسفية كلية متنوعة للغاية, فمثلا, التي على ما يبدو “غريب” الحقول مثل الشرقية القديمة, وقد وجدت الدراسات القوقازية والهندية الجرمانية منزل. أو في كلية الطب, الذي تولى دور كبار مقدمي الرعاية لجميع تورينجيا مع عيادة 1400 سريرا. وبطبيعة الحال الفيزياء والعلوم البيولوجية تستحق الذكر.

شبكة بحثية ترتبط ارتباطا وثيقا الوصول وهي أسرار نهضة المدينة على زاله كمركز للتعليم. العديد من المخرجين ورؤساء الأقسام من المعاهد غير الجامعية في جينا عقد أيضا الأستاذية في الجامعة. أبعد من ذلك يحافظ على يوني جينا تحالف الجامعات مع هالي ولايبزيغ. المشتركة, في كثير من الحالات مشاريع متعددة التخصصات, منها مثلا. في DFG مراكز البحوث التعاونية خمسة وسبعة Innovationskollegs (سلسلة محاضرات), وهنا النتائج الطبيعية. هذا المناخ الخصب والحوامل هو تحقيق حول سلسلة كاملة من التعهدات غير عادية واعدة في مجال البحوث, وكثير منها يتم متابعتها على أساس متعدد التخصصات داخل الشبكات التعاونية.

لكن المناخ في جينا ويبدو أيضا أن يكون لها تأثير إيجابي على التدريس: العلاقة الاستشارية بين الطلبة والمحاضرين جيدة نسبيا, — في الواقع إلى درجة أن احتمال دورة السريع والمكثف للدراسات إقناع عدد كبير على ما يبدو من الطلاب لإعطاء ألما ماتر علامات أعلى في التصنيف العالمي الجامعة الأخيرة ل “شبيجل”, “صارم” و “شتيفتونغ فارينتيست”. هذا هو هدف مشترك المسؤولين في الجامعة, وعلى مستوى المدينة والدولة أن هذا التطور يجب أن تستمر دون انقطاع.


هل تريد بحث جامعة فريدريش شيلر جينا ? أي سؤال, التعليقات أو المراجعات


جامعة فريدريش شيلر جينا على الخريطة


صورة فوتوغرافية


الصور: جامعة فريدريش شيلر جينا الفيسبوك الرسمي

فيديو





مشاركة هذه المعلومات مفيدة مع أصدقائك

جامعة فريدريش شيلر من الاستعراضات جينا

تاريخ لمناقشة من جامعة فريدريش شيلر جينا.
يرجى الملاحظة: EducationBro مجلة يمنحك القدرة على قراءة معلومات حول الجامعات في 96 اللغات, ولكن نطلب منك أن تحترم أعضاء آخرين وترك التعليقات باللغة الإنجليزية.

Friedrich Schiller University of Jena

Friedrich Schiller University of Jena

Friedrich Schiller University of Jena Details

Enroll at Friedrich Schiller University of Jena

Overview


Friedrich Schiller University Jena  is a public research university located in Jena, Thuringia, Germany.

The university was established in 1558 and is counted among the 10 oldest universities in Germany. It is affiliated with 6 Nobel Prize winners, most recently in 2000 when Jena graduate Herbert Kroemer won the Nobel Prize for physics. It was renamed after the poet Friedrich Schiller who was teaching as professor of philosophy when Jena attracted some of the most influential minds at the turn of the 19th century. With Karl Leonhard Reinhold, Johann Gottlieb Fichte, G. W. F. Hegel, F. W. J. Schelling and Friedrich von Schlegel on its teaching staff, the university has been at the centre of the emergence of German idealism and early Romanticism.

As of 2014, the university has around 19,000 students enrolled and 375 professors. Its current president, Walter Rosenthal, was elected in 2014 for a 6 years term.

The Friedrich Schiller University in Jena, founded in 1558, with its 21,000 students distributed over ten different faculties leaves its mark on the image of the town. Students of either the university or the university of applied sciences make one quarter of the inhabitants of Jena. So, it is all right to say: There is no university in Jena, Jena is a university! Approximately 340 professors and 6,400 members of staff work at university and university hospital, the latter of which keeps developing into one of the most modern hospitals in Germany.

The university puts emphasis on intensely taking care of its students, and works on creating a “Students’ Paradise in Jena. Special programmes support students from abroad. When it comes to teaching, Jena University combines tradition and innovation: Apart from medicine, physics, psychology, business studies and economics, or sports, bio and social sciences – all of which are highly ranked – the so-called “smaller subjects”, like for instance caucasiology, Romanian or Indo-Germanic studies, are sustained. The wide range of opportunities for studying at Thuringia’s only classical university shapes its appearance as well as its attitude: to act without limits – interdisciplinarily and internationally. Therefore, a clear research profile has been established and will be further developed. Jena University’s current research profile is composed of five priority research areas:

  • Optics, Photonics and Photonic Technologies
  • Innovative Materials and Technologies
  • Dynamics of Complex Biological Systems
  • Laboratory of the Enlightenment
  • Individuals and Social Change

They are completed by three academic cross-sections:

  • Analysis and Management of Complex Systems;
  • Cultural Contexts of Ageing;
  • Europe’s Origin: Culture and Religion in the Ancient World and the Middle Ages

Up-and-coming young scientists are well prepared for their careers since they are supported by the Jena Graduate Academy. With that, the important topic of “child care” appears on the university’s agenda. As one of the founders of the “Jena Alliance for Family”, Jena University stands for the compatibility of having children and studying. For this, it has received the Total E-Quality Award. The Friedrich Schiller University is also internationally well-renowned: It is integrated into important networks, like the Coimbra Group, and cooperates with more than 100 universities or academic institutions worldwide. With almost 300 partners within Europe a vivid exchange of students and teachers is taking place.

In 2008 Jena has been awarded the title Germany’s “City of Sciences”. 2008’s events were strongly affected by the university’s activities. And, in the future, the university wants to sustain a strong influence on teaching, research and culture, nationally and internationally.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


  • Theology
  • Faculty of Law
  • Economics
  • Philosophy
  • Social and Behavioural Sciences
  • Mathematics and Computer Science
  • Physics and Astronomy
  • Chemistry and Earth Sciences
  • Biology and Pharmacy
  • Medicine

History


Within only a few years of the political revolution in East Germany the small Thuringian university city of Jena has blossomed into an internationally significant centre of learning. An atmosphere of change is dominant, but despite this new beginning one looks back fondly upon the grand tradition: Goethe, Schiller, Hegel and Fichte left their mark on intellectual life, Abbe, Zeiss and Schott laid the foundations for economic prosperity.

The roughly 25 000 students of the Friedrich Schiller University and the University of Applied Sciences give an eternally youthful flair to the city of 100 000, which is surrounded by muschelkalk cliffs and nestled fantastically in the Saale river valley. Generations of poets, philosophers and students have sung its praises in song and poetry, perhaps most beautifully Gottfried Benn: “Jena before us, in the delightful valley“. Everywhere one goes culture is inescapable — above all, that of Romanticism, Classicism, and the Gründerzeit. A uniquely student way of life also started in Jena and went on to have fundamental repercussions in high politics: this is where the very first student fraternity formed, whose black-red-gold banner, today the national colours, has signalled the democratic spirit of unity, justice and liberty ever since the meeting at the Wartburg in 1817. Fraternities may not play much of a role in late 20th century Jena, but the memory of this democratic emergence is preserved not only by these wearers of colourful ribbons and caps.

Radical changes and departures from the past appear to have always been a speciality of Jena. When the first two professors, Stigel and Strigel, and their 171 students moved in to the Collegium Jenense, formerly a Dominican monastery, in 1548, their sovereign, Johann Friedrich I, was still in imperial custody. As “ringleader” of the Protestant Schmalkaldian alliance the Wettin Electoral Prince had suffered a catastrophic military defeat against the Catholic crown and had to cede his old seat and university in Wittenberg to his hated cousin Moritz. In the territory now under his rule, which had dwindled to one-third its previous size, he chose Weimar as the new seat of government and founded in the neighbouring town of small landholders and wine-growers a Hohe Schule (college) for the training of Protestant clergymen and teachers. Only the valuable “Biblioteca Electoralis” of Friedrich the Wise was saved and brought from Wittenberg to Jena.

In the early days the academic newcomers were not exactly warmly welcomed, — the exemption of the professors from the alcohol tax and the rough-and-ready manners of their students, who due to a large degree of legal autonomy could scarcely be prosecuted by local courts, were a thorn in the side of upright citizens. Intellectually, however, the humanistic, reform-orientated educational institution made rapid leaps in its development; by the mid-1550s Jena was already regarded as a leading centre of the Reformation, and the Jena edition of Luther’s works had outstripped a competing project at Wittenberg. But it wasn’t until 1558 that the Jena Hohe Schule received imperial privilege as a university.

Roughly 100 years later, out of an early modern era reform university with four faculties — Philosophy, Theology, Law and Medicine — had developed a research community with extremely varied interests. The mathematician and astronomer Weigel, who taught Leibniz, among others, is regarded as one of the founders of scientific thought. These are the roots of the university which, once in blossom, would earn the epithet “hoarder of knowledge”. The person who went out of his way to express such high praise was, as “Superintendent of Direct Measures in Science and Art”, not the least to thank for this development: the privy councillor Johann Wolfgang von Goethe methodically enlisted eminent thinkers and researchers into the small provincial duchy and systematically created ideal conditions for their work. Libraries, botanical gardens, a natural history archive and laboratories were all subject to his fiscal conception of order. Institutions such as the observatory and the mineralogical collection can be traced back to his initiative. At the same time Goethe’s own scientific ambitions profited from this infrastructure. He worked closely with the chemist Doebereiner, the founder of the periodic system, and with the anatomist Justus Loder. His successful search for the intermaxillary bone is regarded as one of the earliest examples of targeted medical research in the modern era; specimens prepared by the poet-prince himself are still preserved in the Anatomical Collection of the University of Jena.

Decisive, though, for the classical-romantic wonder years was an early “network”, which under superb conditions gathered remarkable intellectual greats in one place. Hegel, Fichte and Schelling, Voss, the brothers Schlegel and Friedrich Schiller — as professor of history — all taught in the city on the Saale, while Novalis, Hölderlin, Brentano, Föbel and Arndt sat in their lectures.

Nowadays not only street names and plaques, but also lovingly restored buildings, bear witness to this period: for instance Schiller’s garden house, Fichte’s domicile, Goethe’s superintendent’s residence in the botanical gardens, or the Fromann House, which today serves as an institute for scholars of German and art historians. The astounding concentration of culture in those years, which marked the start of a radical paradigm shift in culture and science in the Ernestine dynasty’s twin capital, is now the subject of the DFG (German Research Council) Collaborative Research Project “Ereignis Weimar – Jena. Kultur um 1800”.

But the foundation of Jena’s international reputation as an industrial centre wasn’t created until about 70 years later by a fortuitous constellation of personalities — once again at the university. Zeiss’s precision engineering and optics plant and the glass chemical works Schott & Gen. came into being virtually as spin-off enterprises out of the Alma Mater — much in the same way as many envisage the revitalisation of Germany as a high-tech location through a close dovetailing of science and the business world. This form of cooperation between university and industry evolved naturally in Jena, as it were.

The impetus for the emergence into the industrial age was given by Ernst Abbe (appointed Associate Professor in 1870), who, while still in his early 30s, developed his theory of microscope image formation, which took into consideration the familiar phenomenon of diffraction, and thus made the leap in microscope construction from trial and error to methodical design. He was given this commission by a university mechanic, Carl Zeiss, who had been steadily perfecting the construction of optical equipment in his private workshops. Otto Schott, who received his doctorate at Jena in 1875, was the third to enter into this alliance by founding, at Abbe’s urging, a “Laboratory for Glass Technology” in 1884, to produce the highly pure special lenses for Zeiss’s microscopes and optical equipment. Humboldt’s pupil Matthias Jakob Schleiden, Professor of Botany and famous for his cell theory, encouraged — and later benefited from — this process, which was to prove exemplary in German economic history.

The success of the Zeiss plant brought numerous highly qualified workers to the city, and the population rose sharply by 150% in the time from 1870 to the turn of the century, to roughly 25 000. This new prosperity, which Zeiss and Abbe shared with employees through a pioneering social statute and the early transformation of the enterprise into a foundation, also yielded profits for the city and university: for instance the Volkshaus, a cultural centre and concert hall, was built with Zeiss money, and when professors and students moved into a new building on the 350th anniversary of the university in 1908, Zeiss Foundation contributions were not the least to thank for this. The largest single private donation for the splendid Art Nouveau structure by renowned church and theatre architect Theodor Fischer came from Otto Schott.

The time-span between the Gründerzeit and the Weimar Republic is, for Jena as a modern centre of learning, perhaps more significant than the oft-mentioned classical-romantic era. The biologist Ernst Haeckel, the most important evolutionary theorist after Darwin, taught in Jena, as did the mathematician and logician Gottlob Frege, whom leading contemporary Anglo-Saxon philosophers cite as an influence. Also worth mentioning are Hans Berger, who discovered the electroencephalogram (EEG), the psychiatrist Otto Binswanger, the philosopher Rudolf Eucken, the historians Johann Gustav Droysen and Alexander Cartellieri, the philologists Sievers and Delbrück, the reform pedagogues Stoy and Petersen, the jurist Eduard Rosenthal and Max Wien, one of the pioneers of wireless telegraphy. Jena enjoyed its heyday in the fine arts thanks to the avant-garde orientated circle of artists centred around Eberhard Grisebach and Botho Graef: after scandal in Weimar Auguste Rodin received an honorary doctorate in 1905, and in the years 1907-09 Ferdinand Hodler created the famous monumental painting “German students setting out for the War of Liberation of 1813” for the new university lecture hall. Working visits and exhibitions by leading Expressionists and the connection to the Weimar Bauhaus left their mark on the city’s artistic life.

Despite — or perhaps precisely because of — its libertarian climate a harsh upheaval befell Jena’s intelligentsia in the mid 1920s. The notion of a model National Socialist university quickly came into being, and the leading representatives of racial theory and euthanasia set up here — in immediate proximity to the concentration camp Weimar-Buchenwald.

Following a brief phase of reorganisation after 1945 the Alma Mater once again got caught in the whirlpool of political ideology, and was now expected to evolve into a “socialist university”. The most visible symbol of this is the “research high-rise”, built from 1967-72 according to plans by GDR star architect Herbert Henselmann and originally intended for the state-owned VEB Carl Zeiss, into which the academics had to move. At 127m this prominent signal of socialist authoritarian architecture towers above the city on the Saale. Nonetheless: in its shadow emerged an atmosphere of subversive resistance, and Jena was regarded as a dissident stronghold in the GDR.

In 1989 professors and students demonstrated in the streets together; the constraints on intellectual freedom had probably been felt nowhere so oppressively as in the fields of research and education. Immediately after the political revolution the University of Jena carried out severe and difficult measures: every teacher was evaluated, and out of the previously existing departments were formed the ten faculties of a contoured, classical, comprehensive university — the only such university in Thuringia. A new campus was founded on the former site of the main Zeiss plant in the heart of the city, and the billion-mark building project “University Clinic 2000” got underway. In the direction of its teaching programme the university also took up old traditions: the highly diversified Philosophical Faculty, for example, in which seemingly “exotic” fields such as Ancient Oriental, Caucasian and Indo-Germanic Studies have found a home. Or in the Medical Faculty, which has assumed the role of top caregiver for all of Thuringia with its 1400-bed clinic. And of course physics and the biological sciences deserve mention.

Accessibility and a closely linked research network are the secrets of the renaissance of the city on the Saale as a centre of learning. Many directors and department heads of non-university institutes in Jena also hold professorships at the university. Beyond this the Uni Jena maintains a university alliance with Halle and Leipzig. Shared, in many cases interdisciplinary projects, e.g. in the five DFG Collaborative Research Centres and seven Innovationskollegs (lecture series), are the natural results. This fertile and expectant climate is bringing about a whole string of unusual and promising undertakings in research, many of which are being pursued on an interdisciplinary basis within cooperative networks.

But the climate in Jena also seems to be having a positive effect on teaching: the advisory relationship between students and lecturers is comparatively good, — indeed to such an extent that the prospect of a rapid and intensive course of studies persuaded an apparently large number of students to give their Alma Mater top marks in the most recent university rankings by “Spiegel”, “Stern” and “Stiftung Warentest”. It is the common goal of those responsible at the university, and at city and state level that this development should continue uninterrupted.


Do you want discuss Friedrich Schiller University of Jena ? Any question, comments or reviews


Friedrich Schiller University of Jena on Map


Photo


Photos: Friedrich Schiller University of Jena official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

Friedrich Schiller University of Jena reviews

Join to discuss of Friedrich Schiller University of Jena.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.