جامعة فيليبس ماربورغ

جامعة فيليبس ماربورغ

جامعة فيليبس ماربورغ من التفاصيل

التسجيل في جامعة فيليبس ماربورغ

نظرة عامة


hilipps-UNIVERSITAT ليس فقط إحدى الجامعات الألمانية الغارقين في التقليد, بل هو أيضا أقدم جامعة في العالم التي تأسست كمؤسسة البروتستانتية في 1527. فقد كان مكانا للبحث والتدريس منذ ما يقرب من خمسة قرون. مزيد من المعلومات حول الملف الشخصى فيليبس-UNIVERSITAT, تاريخها وجولة لمشاهدة معالم المدينة الافتراضية يمكن العثور عليها تحت الشخصي.

في الوقت الحاضر هناك ما يقرب من 25,700 الطلاب الذين يدرسون في ماربورغ – 12 في المئة من جميع أنحاء العالم. إذا كنت مهتما في دراسته في فيليبس-UNIVERSITAT المعلومات التي تحتاجها متوفرة تحت حياة الطلاب. إذا كنت الأكاديمية زيارة, سوف تجد المعلومات تحت الدولي.

تقريبا جميع التخصصات العلمية, مع استثناء من العلوم الهندسية, تتمثل في فيليبس، جامعة ماربورغ. يتم تعيين التخصصات المختلفة لمختلف الكليات, والتي يمكن العثور عليها في ظل كليات.

العديد من المنظمات تكمل وتثري مجموعة الجامعة للخدمات. فمثلا, قد هذه المنظمات بتنفيذ الأنشطة البحثية الخاصة أو دعم فيليبس، جامعة ماربورغ في مجالات الاتصالات, تكنولوجيا المعلومات واللغات الأجنبية

10 أسباب وجيهة للدراسة في جامعة ماربورغ

من علم الآثار إلى التبتية, يمكنك دراسة أي شيء تقريبا في ماربورغ: 16 كليات تقدم ما يقرب من 20,000 طلاب فرصا التقليدية والمبتكرة للدراسات. لأسباب عديدة لماذا يجب عليك أن تختار للدراسة في فيليبس، جامعة ماربورغ, نسرد أولا 10 لك هنا:

1. طلابنا يتخرجون في الوقت المناسب

الأحدث علم دراسة وأكد مرة أخرى أن الطلاب ماربورغ إكمال دراستهم بشكل أسرع بكثير من زملائه الطلاب في الجامعات الألمانية الأخرى.
2. التميز في التدريس
من الطب وعلم الأحياء للبحوث السلام والصراع, التدريس في يوني ماربورغ ضعت الأولى والثانية.
3. أفضل الظروف لمتابعة الدراسات
يوني ماربورغ ليست ناجحة فقط يرجع ذلك إلى حقيقة أن مكتبة الجامعة الرئيسية مفتوحة حتى منتصف الليل: فى الحاضر “مركز للتعليم العالي” تصنيف الجامعات, الشروط للدراسة في ماربورغ, ولا سيما في مجال العلوم الطبيعية, حصلت على أعلى العلامات. والجغرافيا حتى المرتبة #1.
4. دائما صنعا
في ماربورغ هناك ليست مجرد تقديم المشورة حول الدراسات على المستوى العام, لكن الدعم أيضا اضافية في بداية حياتك المهنية الأكاديمية: أسابيع التوجه مع زبال الصيد, الأطراف طالبة والأعياد في السنة الأولى من الطلاب عشاء, كل جزء من حزمة ترحيب الجامعة.
5. الأساتذة الذين يتفوقون في مجال البحوث
كنت ترغب في التورط مع المشاريع البحثية في الوقت الذي تواصل دراستك? عليك أن تكون في أيد أمينة مع العديد من ماربورغ, العلماء والباحثين المعترف بها دوليا: جائزة لايبنتز, جائزة نوبل الألمانية, إذا جاز التعبير, وقد ذهب كثير من الأحيان إلى ماربورغ.
6. في المنزل في جميع أنحاء العالم
مع 120 شراكات, يوفر ماربورغ أفضل الفرص لقضاء فصل دراسي في إحدى الجامعات الشريكة في أي مكان في العالم! ماربورغ تلقى حتى ختم الجودة الأوروبي “ذات جودة E” في 2005 للنجاح يذكر وخاصة في التبادل الطلابي الدولية. على فكرة: 2,600 طلاب من 100 تقدم البلدان الذين يدرسون في ماربورغ لمسة الدولي.
7. مدينة جامعية نموذجية
وعلى العكس من الجامعات في المدن الكبيرة أو المراكز الحضرية, طلاب ماربورغ يأتون من جميع أنحاء ألمانيا ويستقر في ماربورغ: حتى في هذا “عاصمة شقق مشتركة,” وتتركز كل شيء حول الجامعة: تتميز مسافات قصيرة بين الأماكن, الاتصالات الشخصية سريعة بين الطلاب والعلماء, ومشهد طالب حية.
8. الرجل لا يعيش على دراسة وحدها ...
الاكل والشرب, الخروج ويلهون: الأسعار في ماربورغ معقولة – وما الحانات, الساحة الثقافية البديلة ودور السينما يجب أن العرض هو كل شيء أكثر تنوعا. وعلاوة على ذلك, هناك واحد مهرجان سينمائي في الهواء الطلق بعد آخر خلال أشهر الصيف.
9. الأنشطة الرياضية ووقت الفراغ
هناك أنشطة ثقافية عديدة لتغيير وتيرة من حياة الطالب اليومية: بالإضافة إلى 130 خيارات الألعاب الجماعية وبيت الموسيقى, أوركسترا, عصابة كبيرة وجوقة جامعة, هناك حوالي 50 المبادرات الطلابية, بدءا من نادي النقاش إلى العيادة دمية دب وحرم-TV.
10. نجحت منذ ما يقرب من 500 سنوات والفرز
لقد كان الناس يدرسون وإجراء البحوث في ماربورغ منذ ما يقرب من 500 سنوات. في كل منعطف سوف تأتي عبر أسلافه مثل الأخوان جريم, أول جائزة نوبل الفائز بيرنغ, الكيميائي بنسن, الفيزيائي براون, الجغرافيا فيجنر, ومئة notorieties الآخر.

المدارس / الكليات / الإدارات / الدورات / ملكات


  • كلية الحقوق
  • كلية إدارة الأعمال والاقتصاد
  • كلية العلوم الاجتماعية والفلسفة
    الإثنولوجيا الأوروبي / العلوم الإنسانية; فلسفة الأخلاق بما في ذلك; العلوم السياسية بما في ذلك الدراسات الاجتماعية, السياسة والاقتصاد; العلوم الدينية; علم الإجتماع; الأنثروبولوجيا الثقافية والاجتماعية; بحث السلام والصراع.
  • كلية علم النفس
    منهجية وتقنية المعلومات; علم النفس العام والبيولوجية; علم النفس التربوي والتنمية; علم النفس التفاضلي والتشخيص النفسي; علم النفس السريري والعلاج النفسي; اجتماعي, عمل وعلم النفس التنظيمي
  • كلية اللاهوت البروتستانتي
    العهد القديم; العهد الجديد; تاريخ الكنيسة (بما في ذلك الآثار المسيحي وتاريخ الفن البيزنطي; تاريخ الكنيسة الشرقية); اللاهوت النظامي, الأخلاق الاجتماعية, تاريخ الدين; اللاهوت العملي (بما في ذلك معهد البناء الكنيسة والمعاصرة الفنون الكنسية).
  • كلية الدراسات التاريخ والثقافة
    عصور ما قبل التاريخ والتاريخ المبكر; علم الآثار الكلاسيكية; التاريخ القديم; تاريخ العصور الوسطى; التاريخ الحديث; التاريخ الأوروبي الشرقي; التاريخ الاجتماعي والاقتصادي; العلوم المساعدة التاريخية والعلوم أرشيف; الدراسات اليابانية; علم الحضارة الصينية.
  • كلية الدراسات الألمانية وتاريخ الفنون
    دراسة اللغة الألمانية في العصور الوسطى; الأدب وسائل الإعلام الألمانية الحديثة; اللغة الألمانية; أطلس لغوي من ألمانيا; علم الموسيقة; تاريخ الفن; صور ماربورغ أرشيف الرسم; التصميم الجرافيكي والرسم.
  • كلية اللغات الأجنبية والثقافات
    دراسات اللغة الإنجليزية الأمريكية و; دراسات اللغة الفصحى; الدراسات الشرقية واللغويات (الدراسات الشرقية القديمة, الهنديات وعلوم التبت; دراسات سامية; علم اللغة المقارن); دراسات اللغة الرومانية.
  • كلية الرياضيات وعلوم الحاسب الآلي
    الرياضيات البحتة; الرياضيات التطبيقية; علوم الكمبيوتر
  • كلية الفيزياء
    الفلك; بيوفوتونيك; فيزياء حيوية; أنظمة معقدة; التجريبية أشباه الموصلات الفيزياء; العديد من فيزياء الجسيمات; الجزيئي فيزياء الحالة الصلبة; فيزياء عصبية; بصريات; علم الأحياء الكمي; الكم الفوضى; الفيزياء السطح; فيزياء أشباه الموصلات النظري
  • كلية الكيمياء
    الكيمياء التحليلية; الكيمياء غير العضوية; الكيمياء الحيوية; الكيمياء للمهن التدريس والعلوم; كيمياء الجزيئات; الكيمياء العضوية; الكيمياء الفيزيائية والكيمياء الإشعاعية; تطبيقات الكيمياء / الكمبيوتر النظرية في الكيمياء.
  • كلية الصيدلة
    تاريخ الصيدلة; علم الصيدلة وعلم السموم; علم الأحياء الصيدلانية; الكيمياء الصيدلانية; التكنولوجيا الصيدلانية.
  • كلية البيولوجيا
    بيولوجيا الخلية; علم الاحياء المجهري; علم الوراثة; حماية البيئة; علم البيئة; علم النبات خاص وعلم الفطريات; فسيولوجيا النبات والبيولوجيا الضوئية; فسيولوجيا الحيوان; علم الحيوان خاص وتطور الحيوانات; علم الأحياء التطوري وعلم الطفيليات.
  • كلية الجغرافيا
    خرائطية; الجغرافيا الثقافية; الجغرافيا الفيزيائية; جيولوجيا
  • كلية الطب
    الطب البشري; طب الأسنان; علم الأحياء البشري; العلاج الطبيعي.
  • كلية التربية
    التعليم; نظرية ومنهجية التعليم في المدارس; العلوم الرياضية; motology.

التاريخ


جامعة ماربورغ هي واحدة من أكثر تاريخية من الجامعات الألمانية. تم إكتشافة في 1527 خلال الاصلاح من قبل لاندغراف فيليب البالغ من العمر 23 عاما والسمحة كما الجامعة البروتستانتية الثانية (وجدت أقدم جامعة البروتستانتية من 1526 إلى 1530 في Liegnitz في سيليسيا). في يوليو - تموز 1, 1527, وSTUDIUM UNIVERSALE بدأت Marburgense مع 11 أساتذة و 84 الطلاب في الأديرة السابقة من المدينة. وكان الهدف من هذه المؤسسة لتثقيف “تعلم, قادر, وخشية الله الأشخاص, الدعاة, والمسؤولين من اجل المنفعة المسيحية وخير الأرض المشتركة.” بالإضافة إلى كلية اللاهوت الرائدة, كليات للاجتهاد, دواء, وأنشئت الفلسفة أيضا من البداية.

طوال القرون الثلاثة الأولى من التاريخ في الجامعة متقلب, مترددا عدد الطلاب بين 30 و 300. في 1866, كل من الجامعة ومدينة ماربورغ شهدت نهضة عندما ضمت مقاطعة هسن بروسيا وفيليبس-Universit "تي أصبحت الجامعة البروسية الملكية. في غضون عشرين عاما, أربعة أضعاف عدد الطلاب في ماربورغ, في حين توسعت المباني الجامعية لتشمل العيادات ومعاهد العلوم الطبيعية والطب في الربع الشمالي من المدينة. ما يسمى علتي Universit "تي (جامعة قديم) على Rudolphsplatz, مصممة في طراز القوطي الجديد, تم الانتهاء في 1879 في موقع دير الدومينيكان السابق. بعد عقد من الزمان, وأضافت هالة مع اللوحات الجدارية التي تصور تاريخ المدينة والجامعة. على 1000 تم تسجيل الطلاب في 1887, 2000 في 1909, و 3000 مباشرة بعد الحرب العالمية الأولى.

مثل معظم الجامعات في ألمانيا, خضع فيليبس-جامعة توسع حاسما بعد 1960 كما الأعداد المتزايدة من خريجي المدارس الثانوية وسعت لمتابعة التعليم الجامعي. في نفس الوقت، إن لم يكن في نفس الموظفين نسبة-تدريس وتعززت والمباني الجديدة التي اقيمت, بما في ذلك بناء قاعة وقاعة المحاضرات, مجمع العلوم الإنسانية على نهر لان, ومكتبة الجامعة, وكذلك وسط منسا (كافيتيريا), المهجع Studentendorf, ومؤسسة كونراد Biesalski هاوس كما المهجع الأول للطلاب المعوقين في جمهورية ألمانيا الاتحادية. بالاضافة, المجمع الجديد على التلال فوق ماربورغ (وLahnberge), بنيت لاستيعاب معظم معاهد العلوم الطبيعية وعيادة الجامعة, تأسست كمركز الثاني للجامعة.

وتشمل قائمة طويلة من العلماء وعلماء كبير يرتبط مع جامعة ماربورغ طوال تاريخه ما يقرب من 500 سنة التالية:

  • دنيس بابان, الطبيعة الفرنسي ومخترع,
  • كريستيان وولف, التنوير, المفكر التنوير الذي المحاضرات في جميع فروع المعرفة ووجه العديد من الطلاب إلى ماربورغ حتى من الخارج,
  • رجل عصر النهضة يوهان هاينريش جونغ,دعا التوظيف, مؤسس وعضو في معهد العلوم السياسية,
  • المؤرخ القانوني فريدريش كارل فون سافيني,
  • الكيميائي روبرت بنسن,
  • وفيلسوف المحافظين الجدد الكانطي هيرمان كوهين,
  • الفيزيائي كارل فرديناند براون, مخترع من أنبوب براون (مرسمة الذبذبات),
  • والجيوفيزيائي ألفريد فيجنر, الذي طور نظرية الانجراف كونتينيتال خلال فترة وجوده في ماربورغ,
  • إميل فون بيرينغ, مؤسس الأمصال والحائز على جائزة نوبل للطب الأولى (1901),
  • الفيلسوف الوجودي مارتن هايدغر و
  • الباحث العهد الجديد رودولف بولتمان, متحمسا لهذه demythologization المسيحية.

ومن بين العديد من الطلاب الذي تردت سمعته هي التالية:

  • الملحن هاينريش شوتز,
  • ميخائيل Lomonossow, رجل عصر النهضة الروسية ومؤسس جامعة موسكو, تزوجت امرأة من ماربورغ في 1740,
  • الأخوان جريم,
  • الفيلسوف الإسباني أورتيغا Gasset,
  • الشعراء بوريس باسترناك و غوتفريد بن,
  • والعالم اللغوي كونراد دودين, رائد الهجاء موحد الألمانية,
  • الكيميائي أوتو هان,
  • الجراح فرديناند زاوربروخ,
  • اللاهوتي كارل بارث, طالما
  • رجل الدولة ويلهلم ليبكنخت,
  • رودولف Breitscheid و
  • غوستاف W. هاينمان, صديق من الاقتصاد السياسي في وقت لاحق من ذلك بكثير محترم فيلهلم Röpke.
  • واعترف واحد من النساء الأولى للجامعة في 1908 كان جيرترود فون لو فورت. اليوم, على 56 % الطلاب في ماربورغ من الإناث.

“أنا مدين ماربورغ آن دير لاهن لا يقل عن نصف آمالي وربما كل من بلدي الانضباط الفكري,” كتب أورتيغا Gasset بشأن دراسته في فيليبس-جامعة. اليوم, ولا تزال كلماته لتحفيز الفيليبينية ألما ماتر لتطوير وتحسين صورة العلمي والبحثي ل.


هل تريد بحث جامعة فيليبس ماربورغ ? أي سؤال, التعليقات أو المراجعات


جامعة فيليبس ماربورغ على الخريطة


صورة فوتوغرافية


الصور: جامعة فيليبس ماربورغ الفيسبوك الرسمي

فيديو





مشاركة هذه المعلومات مفيدة مع أصدقائك

جامعة فيليبس من الاستعراضات ماربورغ

تاريخ لمناقشة من جامعة فيليبس ماربورغ.
يرجى الملاحظة: EducationBro مجلة يمنحك القدرة على قراءة معلومات حول الجامعات في 96 اللغات, ولكن نطلب منك أن تحترم أعضاء آخرين وترك التعليقات باللغة الإنجليزية.

Philipps University of Marburg

Philipps University of Marburg

Philipps University of Marburg Details

Enroll at Philipps University of Marburg

Overview


hilipps-Universität is not only a German university steeped in tradition, it is also the oldest university in the world that was founded as a Protestant institution in 1527. It has been a place of research and teaching for nearly five centuries. More information about the profile of Philipps-Universität, its history and a virtual sightseeing tour can be found under Profile.

Nowadays there are nearly 25,700 students studying in Marburg – 12 percent from all over the world. If you are interested in studying at Philipps-Universität the information you require is available under Student Life. If you are a visiting academic, you will find information under International.

Almost all scientific disciplines, with the exception of the engineering sciences, are represented at Philipps-Universität Marburg. The different disciplines are assigned to different faculties, which are to be found under Faculties.

Numerous organizations complement and enrich the university’s range of services. For example, such organizations may carry out special research activities or support Philipps-Universität Marburg in the areas of communications, IT and foreign languages

10 Good Reasons to Study at the Universität Marburg

From archaeology to Tibetology, you can study almost anything in Marburg: 16 faculties offer approximately 20,000 students both traditional and innovative opportunities for studies. Of the numerous reasons why you should choose to study at the Philipps-Universität Marburg, we’ll list the first 10 for you here:

1.    Our students graduate in a timely manner

The most recent  Wissenschaftsrat study confirmed once again that Marburg students complete their degrees much faster than fellow students at other German universities.
2.    Excellence in teaching
From medicine and biology to peace and conflict research, teaching at the Uni Marburg placed first and second.
3.    Best conditions for pursuing studies
The Uni Marburg is not only successful due to the fact that the main university library is open until midnight: in the current “Centre for Higher Education” university rankings, conditions for studying in Marburg, particularly in the natural sciences, received the highest markings.  Geography was even ranked #1.
4.    Always well advised
In Marburg there’s not just advising about studies on a general level, but also extra support at the beginning of your academic career:  orientation weeks with scavenger hunts, freshman parties and the festive first-year students dinner, all a part of the University’s welcome package.
5.    Professors who excel in research
You’re interested in getting involved with research projects while pursuing your studies? You’ll be in good hands with Marburg’s numerous, internationally recognized scholars and researchers:  the Leibniz Prize, the German Nobel Prize, so to speak, has frequently gone to Marburg.
6.    At home around the world
With 120 partnerships, Marburg provides the best opportunities for spending a semester at a partner university anywhere in the world! Marburg even received the European quality seal “E-quality” in 2005 for its particularly noteworthy success in international student exchanges. By the way: 2,600 students from 100 countries give studying in Marburg an international touch.
7.    Typical university town
Unlike at universities in large cities or urban centers, Marburg students come from all over Germany and settle in Marburg:  so in this “capital of shared apartments,” everything is centered around the University:  characterized by the short distances between places, quick personal contacts between the students and scholars, and a lively student scene.
8.    Man does not live on studying alone…
Eating and drinking, going out and having fun:  prices in Marburg are reasonable – and what the pubs, alternative culture scene and movie theaters have to offer is all the more diverse. On top of that, there’s one outdoor film festival after another during the summer months.
9.    Sports and free time activities
There are numerous cultural activities for a change of pace from everyday student life:  in addition to 130 intramural sports options and a music house, an orchestra, big band and a University choir, there are around 50 student initiatives, ranging from the debate club to the teddy bear clinic and Campus-TV.
10. Successful for nearly 500 years and counting
People have been studying and performing research in Marburg for nearly 500 years. At every turn you’ll come across predecessors like the Grimm Brothers, the first Nobel Prize Winner Behring, the chemist Bunsen, the physicist Braun, the geographer Wegener, and a hundred other notorieties.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Business Administration and Economics
  • Faculty of Social Sciences and Philosophy
    European ethnology / humanities; philosophy including ethics; political science including social studies, politics and economics; religious science; sociology; cultural and social anthropology; peace and conflict research.
  • Faculty of Psychology
    Methodology and IT; general and biological psychology; pedagogical and development psychology; differential psychology and psychological diagnostics; clinical psychology and psychotherapy; social, work and organizational psychology
  • Faculty of Protestant Theology
    Old Testament; New Testament; church history (including Christian archaeology and Byzantine art history; history of the Eastern Church); systematic theology, social ethics, history of religion; practical theology (including the Institute for Church Construction and Contemporary Ecclesiastical Art).
  • Faculty of History and Cultural Studies
    Prehistory and early history; classical archaeology; ancient history; medieval history; recent history; Eastern European history; social and economical history; historic auxiliary sciences and archive science; Japanese studies; sinology.
  • Faculty of German Studies and History of the Arts
    German language studies of the Middle Ages; modern German literature and media; German linguistics; Linguistic Atlas of Germany; musicology; history of art; Foto Marburg graphic archive; graphic design and painting.
  • Faculty of Foreign Languages and Cultures
    English and American language studies; classical language studies; oriental studies and linguistics (ancient oriental studies, Indology and Tibetology; Semitic studies; comparative linguistics); Roman language studies.
  • Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science
    Pure mathematics; applied mathematics; computer science
  • Faculty of Physics
    Astronomy; Biophotonics; Biophysics; Complex Systems; Experimental Semiconductor Physics; Many Particle Physics; Molecular Solid State Physics; Neurophysics; Optics; Quantitative Biology; Quantum Chaos; Surface Physics; Theoretical Semiconductor Physics
  • Faculty of Chemistry
    Analytical chemistry; inorganic chemistry; biochemistry; chemistry for teaching professions and sciences; macromolecular chemistry; organic chemistry; physical chemistry and radiochemistry; theoretical chemistry/computer applications in chemistry.
  • Faculty of Pharmacy
    History of pharmacy; pharmacology and toxicology; pharmaceutical biology; pharmaceutical chemistry; pharmaceutical technology.
  • Faculty of Biology
    Cell biology; microbiology; genetics; environmental protection; ecology; special botany and mycology; plant physiology and photobiology; animal physiology; special zoology and the evolution of animals; developmental biology and parasitology.
  • Faculty of Geography
    Cartography; cultural geography; physical geography; geology
  • Faculty of Medicine
    Human medicine; dental medicine; human biology; physiotherapy.
  • Faculty of Education
    Education; theory and methodology of education in schools; sports science; motology.

History


The University of Marburg is one of the most historic of German universities. It was founded in 1527 during the Reformation by the 23-year-old Landgrave Philipp the Magnanimous as the second Protestant university (the oldest Protestant university existed from 1526 to 1530 in Liegnitz in Silesia). On July 1, 1527, the universale studium Marburgense commenced with 11 professors and 84 students in the former monasteries of the city. The goal of the institution was to educate “learned, able, and God-fearing persons, preachers, and officials for Christian benefit and the good of the common land.” In addition to the leading theological faculty, faculties for jurisprudence, medicine, and philosophy were also established from the beginning.

Throughout the first three centuries of the university’s changeful history, the number of students vacillated between 30 and 300. In 1866, both the university and the city of Marburg experienced a renascence when the province of Hesse was annexed by Prussia and the Philipps-Universit„t became a royal Prussian university. Within twenty years, the number of students in Marburg quadrupled, while the university premises expanded to include the clinics and institutes for natural science and medicine in the north quarter of the city. The so-called Alte Universit„t (Old University) on Rudolphsplatz, designed in the neo-Gothic style, was completed in 1879 on the site of the former Dominican monastery. A decade later, the Aula was added with its wall paintings depicting the history of the city and university. Over 1000 students were registered in 1887, 2000 in 1909, and 3000 immediately following World War I.

Like most universities in Germany, the Philipps-University underwent a decisive expansion after 1960 as increasing numbers of secondary school graduates sought to pursue a university education. At the same time-if not in the same proportion-the teaching staff was augmented and new buildings erected, including the auditorium and lecture hall building, the humanities complex on the Lahn river, and the university library, as well as the central Mensa (cafeteria), the Studentendorf dormitory, and the Konrad-Biesalski-Haus as the first dormitory for disabled students in the Federal Republic of Germany. In addition, the new complex on the hills above Marburg (the Lahnberge), built to accommodate most of the natural science institutes and the university clinic, was established as a second center for the university.

The long list of significant scholars and scientists associated with the University of Marburg throughout its nearly 500-year history includes the following:

  • Denis Papin, the French naturalist and inventor,
  • Christian Wolff, der Aufklärer, the Enlightenment thinker whose lectures in all branches of knowledge drew many students to Marburg even from abroad,
  • the Renaissance man Johann Heinrich Jung,called Stilling, founder and member of the institute for political science,
  • the legal historian Friedrich Carl von Savigny,
  • the chemist Robert Bunsen,
  • the neo-Kantian philospher Hermann Cohen,
  • der physicist Karl-Ferdinand Braun, inventor of the Braun tube (oscilloscope),
  • der geophysicist Alfred Wegener, who developed the theory of continetal drift during his time in Marburg,
  • Emil von Behring, founder of serology and recipient of the first Nobel Prize for medicine (1901),
  • the existential philosopher Martin Heidegger and
  • the New Testament scholar Rudolf Bultmann, leading proponent of the demythologization of Christianity.

Among the numerous students who attained notoriety are the following:

  • the composer Heinrich Schütz,
  • Michail Lomonossow, Russian Renaissance man and founder of the univeristy of Moscow, who married a woman from Marburg in 1740,
  • the Brüder Grimm,
  • the Spanish philosopher Ortega y Gasset,
  • the poets Boris Pasternak and Gottfried Benn,
  • the philologist Konrad Duden, pioneer of German unified orthography,
  • the chemist Otto Hahn,
  • the surgeon Ferdinand Sauerbruch,
  • the theologian Karl Barth, as well as
  • the statesman Wilhelm Liebknecht,
  • Rudolf Breitscheid and
  • Gustav W. Heinemann, friend of the later much-respected political economist Wilhelm Röpke.
  • One of the first women admitted to the university in 1908 was Gertrud von Le Fort. Today, over 56 % of students in Marburg are female.

“I owe Marburg an der Lahn at least half of my hopes and perhaps all of my intellectual discipline,” wrote Ortega y Gasset regarding his studies at the Philipps-University. Today, his words continue to motivate the alma mater philippina to develop and improve its scientific and scholarly profile.


Do you want discuss Philipps University of Marburg ? Any question, comments or reviews


Philipps University of Marburg on Map


Photo


Photos: Philipps University of Marburg official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

Philipps University of Marburg reviews

Join to discuss of Philipps University of Marburg.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.