جامعة سان بطرسبرغ الحكومية

جامعة سان بطرسبرغ الحكومية . الدراسة في روسيا

سانت بطرسبرغ الدولة تفاصيل جامعة

التسجيل في جامعة سان بطرسبرغ الحكومية

نظرة عامة


لأكثر من 290 سنوات, سانت. قد ارتكبت جامعة بطرسبورغ لتقدم العلم, توليد المعرفة وتدريب المختصين المتميزين. جامعة غنية في التاريخ - بل انها تعود ل 1724, عندما أسس بطرس الأكبر أكاديمية العلوم والفنون وكذلك أول جامعة الأكاديمية في روسيا.

الخريجين SPbU الشهيرة هي مصدر العزة والكرامة, يلهمنا على التفوق وتحقيق أقصى قدر إمكاناتنا في مجال البحوث والتعليم. بين لنا الخريجين والموظفين, هناك عدد كبير جدا من الناس الشهيرة على مستوى العالم, خاصه, الحائزين على جائزة نوبل: فيزيولوجي إيفان بافلوف, الأحياء إيليا متشنيكوف, الكيمياء الفيزيائية نيكولاي سيميونوف, علماء الفيزياء ليف لانداو وألكسندر بروخوروف, فيلسوف واقتصادي ليونيد كانتروفيتش. SPbU هو أيضا ألما ماتر للباحثين المتميزين, العلماء, أكاديميون, القادة السياسيين والاجتماعيين: ديمتري مندليف, فلاديمير فردانسكي, وديمتري Likhachev على سبيل المثال لا الحصر. العالم يدين جامعة قادة الثقافي الأبرز لدينا, الكتاب والفنانين: ايفان تورجنيف, بافل Bryullov, ألكسندر بلوك, الكسندر بينويس, سيرجي ديغيلف وإيغور سترافينسكي. ومن بين خريجي الجامعة, نحن فخورون أيضا أن نذكر قادة الحكومة الروسية: بوريس الأمام, الكسندر كيرينسكي, فلاديمير لينين, رئيس الاتحاد الروسي فلاديمير بوتين وديمتري ميدفيديف.

اليوم, ثلاثة قرون بعد تأسيسها, محطة بنزين تسعى, كما سبق, لقيادة البحث والتعليم على المستوى الوطني والعالمي. من خلال الجمع بين التقاليد والابتكارات, سانت. يضع جامعة بطرسبرج وتيرة لتطوير العلوم, التعليم والثقافة في روسيا وجميع أنحاء العالم.

SPbU يجهز تماما الطلاب والموظفين للحصول على أفضل من مجموعة متنوعة من الفرص للتعليم, البحوث والتنمية الشخصية: أغنى المكتبة سميت M. غوركي, حديقة للدولة من بين الفن بحوث, مختبرات برئاسة كبار العلماء, المتاحف, دار نشر, الأندية الرياضية, جوقة جامعة, الأوركسترا, الدراما والرقص استوديوهات وهلم جرا.

في نوفمبر 2009, وقع رئيس الاتحاد الروسي ديمتري ميدفيديف على قانون منح القديس. جامعة بطرسبورغ وجامعة موسكو الحكومية في وضع خاص من "المجمعات العلمية والتعليمية الفريدة, أقدم مؤسسات التعليم العالي في روسيا يجري من أهمية كبيرة في تنمية المجتمع الروسي ". منحت SPbU امتياز لوضع معايير التعليمية الخاصة وتمنح دبلومات الخاصة.

اكتشاف أول جامعة الروسي الآن.

مرحبا بكم في محطات الغاز!

خالصا الاحترام,
محطة الغاز رئيس الجامعة
نيكولاي Kropachev

أسس في 1724 بيتر العظيم, وكانت جامعة سانت بطرسبرغ لتصبح أول مؤسسة للتعليم العالي في روسيا. SPbU هي جامعة الروسية الرائدة مع التدريس والتميز البحثي في ​​المرتبة بين أفضل الجامعات في العالم. نحن منفتحون على التعاون وتتمتع بعلاقات قوية مع البحوث الدولية والمجتمع الأكاديمي. يعمل العلماء SPbU في جميع المجالات تقريبا من المعرفة, تقديم الخبرات والتشاور في تعاون وثيق مع الشركاء الروس والدولي. وكانت العديد من العلماء البارزين جزء من المجتمع SPbU, بينهم تسعة من الحائزين على جائزة نوبل: فيزيولوجي إيفان بافلوف, الأحياء إيليا متشنيكوف, الفيزيائي والكيميائي الروسي نيكولاي سيميونوف, علماء الفيزياء ليف لانداو وألكسندر بروخوروف, فيلسوف واقتصادي فاسيلي ليونتيف وكذلك الرياضيات واقتصادي ليونيد كانتروفيتش.

بين جامعة الخريجين هم رئيس الاتحاد الروسي فلاديمير بوتين, وزير رئيس ديمتري ميدفيديف, مدير متحف الارميتاج ميخائيل Piotrovskiy, رئيس الأكاديمية الروسية للتعليم ليودميلا Verbitskaya, علماء الرياضيات غريغوري بيرلمان وسيرغي سميرنوف، فضلا عن العديد من الآخرين.

سانت. جامعة بطرسبورغ اليوم

  • 30,000 الطلاب
  • 6,000 طاقم العمل
  • 106 برامج البكالوريوس
  • 205 برامج الماجستير ومجالات التخصص
  • 263 برامج درجة الدكتوراه
  • 29 برامج الإقامة السريرية
  • الطلاب الأجانب من أكثر من 70 بلدان
  • على 3 000 الطلاب الدوليين في برامج درجة وغير درجة
  • 350 الجامعات الشريكة
  • أفضل جامعة مجمع البحوث في روسيا
  • 7,000,000 كتب في جمع مكتبة أبحاث جامعة
  • دبلوم الصادرة باللغة الروسية والإنجليزية
  • 12,800 الأماكن في قاعات السكن

فوائد التعليم

  • مشاركة الطلاب الفعالة في العملية التعليمية;
  • أفضل تحقيق الإمكانات الفردية الطالب;
  • النظام الأوروبي - نظام تحويل الرصيد الأوروبي;
  • صممت التخصصات الأكاديمية وفقا لمبدأ معياري;
  • برامج تبادل الطلاب مع الجامعات الشريكة
  • التدريب وفرص عمل في الشركات الروسية والعالمية الرائدة;
  • الوصول إلى مرافق الأبحاث الفريدة, قواعد بيانات التكنولوجيا والنص الكامل الإلكترونية;
  • تقنيات التعليم الحديثة;
  • للدولة من أحدث المعدات البحثية;
  • منح دولة للمتقدمين الدولي أفضل اختيار (التعليم المجاني والسكن مخفضة);
  • فرصة لإتقان اللغة الروسية في معهد للغة الروسية والثقافة.

المدارس / الكليات / الإدارات / الدورات / ملكات


  • كلية الرياضيات التطبيقية ومراقبة العمليات
  • كلية البيولوجيا
  • معهد الكيمياء
  • كلية طب الأسنان والتكنولوجيا الطبية
  • كلية الإقتصاد
  • معهد علوم الأرض
  • معهد التاريخ
  • مدرسة العلاقات الدولية
  • كلية الحقوق
  • كلية الآداب والعلوم الإنسانية
  • كلية الرياضيات والميكانيكا
  • كلية الطب
  • كلية الدراسات الشرقية
  • كلية الفنون
  • كلية فقه اللغة
  • معهد الفلسفة
  • كلية الفيزياء
  • كلية العلوم السياسية
  • كلية علم النفس
  • كلية علم الاجتماع
  • مدرسة الدراسات العليا للإدارة
  • كلية العسكرية
  • كلية الصحافة والاتصال الجماهيري
    • كلية الاتصالات التطبيقية
    • كلية الصحافة

التاريخ


ومن المتنازع عليها من قبل إدارة الجامعة سواء جامعة سانت بطرسبرغ الدولة أو جامعة موسكو الحكومية هي أقدم مؤسسة للتعليم العالي في روسيا. في حين تم تأسيس هذا الأخير في 1755, السابق, الذي تم في العملية المستمرة منذ 1819, يدعي أنه وريث الجامعة أنشئت جنبا إلى جنب مع جمنازيوم الأكاديمية والأكاديمية بطرسبرغ سانت العلوم في يناير 24, 1724 بقرار من بطرس الأكبر.

في الفترة ما بين 1804 و 1819, جامعة سانت بطرسبرغ رسميا لم تكن موجودة; المؤسسة التي أسسها بطرس الأكبر, أكاديمية سانت بطرسبورغ, وقد تم بالفعل حل, لأن الجديد 1803 ميثاق أكاديمية العلوم ينص على أن يجب أن تكون هناك المؤسسات التعليمية التابعة لها.

معهد بطرسبورغ التربوية, إعادة تسمية المعهد التربوي في 1814, تم تأسيسها في العام 1804 واحتلت جزءا من المبنى اثنا عشر Collegia. في فبراير 8, 1819 (O.s.), ألكسندر الأول من روسيا إعادة تنظيم المعهد الرئيسي التربوية في جامعة سانت بطرسبرغ, التي كانت في ذلك الوقت يتكون من ثلاث كليات: كلية الفلسفة والقانون, كلية التاريخ وفقه اللغة وكلية الفيزياء والرياضيات. المعهد التربوي (حيث درس ديمتري مندليف) تم ترميمه في 1828 كمستقل مؤسسة تعليمية من جامعة سانت بطرسبرغ, وتدريب المعلمين حتى تم إغلاقه نهائيا في 1859.

في 1821 تم تغيير اسم الجامعة سانت بطرسبرغ جامعة امبريال. في 1823 معظم الجامعات انتقلت من اثني عشر Collegia إلى الجزء الجنوبي من المدينة وراء Fontanka. في 1824 اعتمد نسخة معدلة من ميثاق جامعة موسكو أول ميثاق لجامعة سانت بطرسبرغ الامبراطوري. في 1829 كانت هناك 19 الأساتذة و 169 بدوام كامل وبدوام جزئي للطلاب في الجامعة. في 1830 القيصر نيكولاس عاد المبنى بأكمله الاثني عشر Collegia إلى الجامعة, واستؤنفت دورات هناك. في 1835 تمت الموافقة على ميثاق جديد للجامعات إمبراطورية روسيا. وقدمت لإنشاء كلية الحقوق, كلية التاريخ وفقه اللغة, وتم دمج كليات الفيزياء والرياضيات في كلية الفلسفة باعتبارها 1 والإدارات 2ND, على التوالي.

في 1849 بعد ربيع عام الأمم مرسوم مجلس الشيوخ من الإمبراطورية الروسية أن الجامعة يجب أن يتم تعيينه من قبل وزير التنوير الوطنية بدلا من انتخابهم من قبل الجمعية من الجامعة. ومع ذلك, أعيد تعيين بيوتر Pletnyov رئيس الجامعة وأصبح في نهاية المطاف عميد الأطول خدمة في جامعة سانت بطرسبرغ (1840-1861).

في 1855 تم فصل الدراسات الشرقية من كلية التاريخ وفقه اللغة, وأعضاء هيئة التدريس الرابعة, كلية اللغات الشرقية, افتتح رسميا في أغسطس 27, 1855.

في 1859-1861 قد طالبة بدوام جزئي حضور المحاضرات في الجامعة. في 1861 كانت هناك 1,270 بدوام كامل و 167 طلاب غير المتفرغين في الجامعة, منهم 498 كانوا في كلية الحقوق, أكبر تقسيم. ولكن هذا التقسيم زيارتها قسم الدراسات بمكتب القاضي, حيث تعلم الطلاب سلامة, الصحة المهنية وإدارة الهندسة والعلوم البيئية, بما في ذلك الكيمياء, مادة الاحياء, الهندسة الزراعية جنبا إلى جنب مع القانون والفلسفة. العديد من الروسية, الخ الجورجي. مدراء, المهندسين والعلماء درس في كلية القانون ول. خلال 1861-1862 كان هناك الاضطرابات الطلابية في الجامعة, وكان إغلاقه مؤقتا مرتين خلال العام. وحرم الطلاب حرية التجمع ووضعها تحت مراقبة الشرطة, ومنعوا المحاضرات العامة. تم طرد العديد من الطلاب. بعد الاضطرابات, في 1865, فقط 524 وظل الطلاب.

اعتمد مرسوم الإمبراطور ألكسندر الثاني من روسيا على 18 شهر فبراير 1863 استعادة حق التجمع الجامعة لانتخاب رئيس الجامعة. كما شكلت كلية جديدة للنظرية وتاريخ الفن كجزء من كلية التاريخ وفقه اللغة.

في مارس 1869, هز الاضطرابات الطلابية في الجامعة مرة أخرى ولكن على نطاق أصغر. بواسطة 1869, 2,588 وكان طلاب تخرجوا من الجامعة.

في 1880 نهى وزارة التنوير الوطنية الطلاب على الزواج وأنه لا يمكن قبول المتزوجين. في 1882 استغرق الاضطرابات طالب آخر مكان في الجامعة. في 1884 اعتمد ميثاق جديد للجامعات الإمبراطورية الروسية, التي منحت الحق في تعيين رئيس الجامعة إلى وزير التنوير الوطنية مرة أخرى. في مارس 1, 1887 (O.s.) تم إلقاء القبض على مجموعة من طلبة الجامعة في حين التخطيط لمحاولة اغتيال الكسندر الثالث من روسيا. كنتيجة لــ, تمت الموافقة على قواعد القبول الجديدة إلى صالات رياضية والجامعات من وزير الوطنية التنوير إيفان Delyanov في 1887, التي منعت الأشخاص من أصل ضيع من القبول في الجامعة, إلا إذا كانت موهبة غير عادية.

بواسطة 1894, 9,212 وكان طلاب تخرجوا من الجامعة. بين العلماء المشهورين في النصف الثاني من القرن ال19 التابعة للجامعة كان عالم الرياضيات بافنوتي تشيبيشيف, فيزيائي هاينريش لينز, الكيميائيين ديمتري مندليف andAleksandr Butlerov, الأجنة الكسندر كوفالفسكي, فيزيولوجي إيفان سيتشينوف, pedologist فاسيلي Dokuchaev. في مارس 24, 1896 (O.s.), في حرم الجامعة أثبتت الكسندر بوبوف علنا ​​انتقال موجات الراديو لأول مرة في التاريخ.

اعتبارا من أول يناير 1, 1900 (O.s.), كانت هناك 2,099 الطلاب المسجلين في كلية الحقوق, 1,149 طلاب في كلية الفيزياء والرياضيات, 212 طلاب في كلية اللغات الشرقية و 171 طلاب في كلية التاريخ وفقه اللغة. في 1902 تم افتتاح أول قاعة الطعام طالب في روسيا في الجامعة.

منذ حوالي 1897 الضربات العادية والاضطرابات الطلابية هزت الجامعة وانتشرت إلى غيرها من مؤسسات التعليم العالي في جميع أنحاء روسيا. خلال ثورة 1905 تم تعديل ميثاق الجامعات الروسية مرة أخرى, تم استعادة استقلالية الجامعات جزئيا وأعيد الحق في انتخاب رئيس الجامعة إلى المجلس الأكاديمي للمرة الأولى منذ عام 1884. في 1905-1906 تم إغلاق الجامعة مؤقتا بسبب الاضطرابات الطلابية. ألغي الحكم الذاتي من جديد في 1911. وفي العام نفسه كان مرة أخرى إغلاق الجامعة مؤقتا.

في 1914 مع بداية الحرب العالمية الأولى, تم تغيير اسم الجامعة جامعة بطرسبورغ الإمبراطوري بعد مدينة تحمل الاسم نفسه. خلال الحرب كانت الجامعة مركزا مهما للتعبئة الموارد الفكرية الروسية والمنح الدراسية للانتصار. في 1915 تم افتتاح فرع للجامعة في مدينة بيرم, التي أصبحت فيما بعد جامعة ولاية بيرم. رحبت الجمعية من جامعة بطرسبورغ الإمبراطوري علنا ​​ثورة فبراير 1917, التي وضعت حدا للحكم الملكي الروسية, وجاءت الجامعة يعرف باسم جامعة بتروغراد فقط. ومع ذلك, بعد ثورة أكتوبر 1917, تم في البداية عارضت الموظفين وإدارة الجامعة جهارا لاستيلاء البلاشفة على السلطة وتحجم عن التعاون مع Narkompros. في وقت لاحق في 1917-1922 خلال الحرب الأهلية الروسية عانى بعض الموظفين المشتبه في تعاطفهم مع الثورة المضادة السجن (مثلا, ليف Shcherba في 1919), تنفيذ, أو المنفى في الخارج على ما يسمى الفلاسفة’ السفن في 1922 (مثلا, نيكولاي Lossky). علاوة على ذلك, عانى جميع الموظفين من الجوع والفقر المدقع خلال تلك السنوات.

في 1918 تم تغيير اسم الجامعة 1ST جامعة ولاية بتروغراد, و في 1919 وNarkompros أنها اندمجت مع جامعة الأمير سلطان 2ND (معهد النفسية العصبية السابق) وجامعة الأمير سلطان 3RD (دورات [بستثزهف العالي السابقة للمرأة) في جامعة ولاية بتروغراد. في 1919 تأسست كلية العلوم الاجتماعية من قبل Narkompros بدلا من كلية التاريخ وفقه اللغة, كلية اللغات الشرقية وكلية الحقوق. أصبح نيكولاس مار أول عميد كلية جديدة. أصبح الصيدلي أليكسي Favorsky عميد كلية الفيزياء والرياضيات. تم فتح Rabfaks والجامعة دورة تدريبية مجانية على أساس من الجامعة لتوفير التعليم الشامل. في خريف عام 1920, كما لوحظ من قبل طالب طالبة أليس روزنباوم, وكان فتح التسجيل وكانت الغالبية العظمى من الطلاب المناهضة للشيوعية بما في ذلك, حتى إزالتها, عدد قليل من المعارضين صخبا من النظام. رؤية أنهم تعليم “الأعداء الطبقيين”, وقد أجريت عملية تطهير في 1922 بناء على خلفية فئة من الطلاب وجميع الطلاب, البعض من كبار السن, مع طردوا خلفية برجوازية.

في 1924 تم تغيير اسم الجامعة جامعة لينينجراد بعد مدينة تحمل الاسم نفسه. من أجل قمع المعارضة الفكرية إلى السلطة السوفياتية, عدد من المؤرخين الذين يعملون في الجامعة, بما في ذلك سيرغي بلاتونوف, يفغيني Tarle وبوريس جريكوف, سجنوا في ما يسمى الشئون الأكاديمية من 1929-1930 بتهم ملفقة بالمشاركة في مؤامرة الثورة المضادة التي تهدف إلى إسقاط الحكومة. تم قمع بعض أعضاء آخرين من الموظفين في 1937-1938 خلال التطهير الكبرى.

خلال 1941-1944 حصار لينينغراد في الحرب العالمية الثانية, العديد من الطلاب والموظفين ماتوا من الجوع, في معارك أو من القمع. ومع ذلك, تعمل الجامعة باستمرار, أجلت الى ساراتوف في 1942-1944. تمت استضافة فرع للجامعة في ييلابوغا خلال الحرب. في 1944 منحت هيئة رئاسة المجلس الأعلى للاتحاد السوفيتي الجامعة مع وسام لينين بمناسبة الذكرى السنوية 125th ولمساهمتها في العلم والثقافة.

في 1948 عين مجلس الوزراء في الجامعة بعد أندريه جدانوف, مسؤول شيوعي بارز المتوفى مؤخرا. ألغي هذا القرار في 1989 خلال البيريسترويكا.

في 1949-1950 العديد من أساتذة توفي في السجن أثناء التحقيق في لينينغراد الشئون ملفقة من قبل القيادة السوفيتية المركزية, وزير التربية والتعليم في روسيا الاتحادية الاشتراكية السوفياتية, رئيس الجامعة السابق الكسندر Voznesensky, تم اعدامه.

في 1966 قرر مجلس الوزراء لبناء الحرم الجامعي في الضواحي الجديدة في بيترودفوريتس لمعظم الرياضيات والعلوم الطبيعية الكليات. وقد تم الانتهاء من نقل الكليات من قبل 1990s.

في 1969 منحت هيئة رئاسة المجلس الأعلى للاتحاد السوفيتي الجامعة مع وسام الراية الحمراء من العمل.

في 1991 تم تغيير اسم الجامعة إلى جامعة سانت بطرسبرغ الدولة بعد مدينة تحمل الاسم نفسه.


هل تريد بحث جامعة سان بطرسبرغ الحكومية ? أي سؤال, التعليقات أو المراجعات


جامعة سانت بطرسبرغ الدولة على الخريطة


صورة فوتوغرافية


الصور: جامعة سان بطرسبرغ الحكومية الفيسبوك الرسمي

فيديو





مشاركة هذه المعلومات مفيدة مع أصدقائك

استعراض جامعة ولاية سانت بطرسبرغ

تاريخ لمناقشة من جامعة سان بطرسبرغ الحكومية.
يرجى الملاحظة: EducationBro مجلة يمنحك القدرة على قراءة معلومات حول الجامعات في 96 اللغات, ولكن نطلب منك أن تحترم أعضاء آخرين وترك التعليقات باللغة الإنجليزية.

Saint Petersburg State University

Saint Petersburg State University . Study in Russia

Saint Petersburg State University Details

Enroll at Saint Petersburg State University

Overview


For more than 290 years, St. Petersburg University has been committed to advancing science, generating knowledge and training outstanding professionals. The University is rich in history – it dates back to 1724, when Peter the Great founded the Academy of Sciences and Arts as well as the first Academic University in Russia.

The famous SPbU alumni are a source of pride and dignity, which inspires us to excel and maximise our potential in research and education. Among our alumni and staff, there is an extraordinary number of world-famous people, in particular, Nobel Prize winners: physiologist Ivan Pavlov, biologist Ilya Mechnikov, physical chemist Nikolay Semyonov, physicists Lev Landau and Aleksandr Prokhorov, philosopher and economist Leonid Kantorovich. SPbU is also an alma mater for outstanding researchers, scholars, academics, political and social leaders: Dmitry Mendeleev, Vladimir Vernadsky, and Dmitry Likhachev to name but a few. The world owes our University most prominent cultural leaders, writers and artists: Ivan Turgenev, Pavel Bryullov, Alexander Blok, Alexander Benois, Sergei Diaghilev and Igor Stravinsky. Among the University alumni, we are also proud to mention the leaders of the Russian Government: Boris Stürmer, Alexander Kerensky, Vladimir Lenin, Presidents of the Russian Federation Vladimir Putin and Dmitry Medvedev.

Today, three centuries after it was established, SPbU is striving, as before, to lead research and education on a national and global scale. By bringing together traditions and innovations, St. Petersburg University sets the pace for development of science, education and culture in Russia and across the world.

SPbU fully equips its students and staff for the best of the diverse range of opportunities for education, research and personal development: the richest Research Library named after M. Gorky, a state-of-the-art Research Park, laboratories headed by leading scientists, museums, a publishing house, sports clubs, a University choir, orchestras, drama and dance studios and so on.

In November 2009, President of the Russian Federation Dmitry Medvedev signed a law granting St. Petersburg University and Moscow State University the special status of ‘unique scientific and educational complexes, the oldest institutions of higher education in Russia being of great importance to the development of the Russian society’. SPbU was granted a privilege to set its own educational standards and award its own diplomas.

Discover the first Russian University now.

Welcome to SPbU!

Yours respectfully,
SPbU Rector
Nikolay Kropachev

Founded in 1724 by Peter the Great, Saint Petersburg University was to become the first institution of higher education in Russia. SPbU is a leading Russian university with teaching and research excellence ranked among the world’s top universities. We are open to cooperation and enjoy strong ties with the international research and academic community. SPbU scientists work in almost all fields of knowledge, providing expertise and consultation in close collaboration with Russian and international partners. Many outstanding scholars have been a part of the SPbU community, including nine Nobel Prize winners: the physiologist Ivan Pavlov, biologist Ilya Mechnikov, physicist and chemist Nikolay Semyonov, physicists Lev Landau and Aleksandr Prokhorov, philosopher and economist Wassily Leontief as well as mathematician and economist Leonid Kantorovich.

Among University alumni are the President of the Russian Federation Vladimir Putin, Prime-Minister Dmitry Medvedev, Director of the Hermitage Mikhail Piotrovskiy, President of the Russian Academy of Education Liudmila Verbitskaya, mathematicians Grigoriy Perelman and Sergey Smirnov as well as many others.

St. Petersburg University Today

  • 30,000 students
  • 6,000 staff members
  • 106 undergraduate programs
  • 205 master programs and areas of specialization
  • 263 doctoral degree programs
  • 29 clinical residency programs
  • international students from over 70 countries
  • over 3 000 international students on degree and non-degree programs
  • 350 partner universities
  • the best university Research Park in Russia
  • 7,000,000 books in the collection of the University Research Library
  • diploma issued in Russian and English
  • 12,800 places in the halls of residence

 Education Benefits

  • active student participation in the educational process;
  • the best realization of a student’s individual potential;
  • ECTS – European Credit Transfer System;
  • academic disciplines are designed according to the modular principle;
  • student exchange programs with partner universities
  • internships and work placements at leading Russian and international companies;
  • access to unique research facilities, technology and full-text electronic databases;
  • modern educational technologies;
  • state-of-the-art research equipment;
  • state scholarships for the best selected international applicants (free tuition and discounted accommodation);
  • opportunity to master Russian at the Institute of the Russian Language and Culture.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


  • Faculty of Applied Mathematics and Control Processes
  • Faculty of Biology
  • Institute of Chemistry
  • Faculty of Dentistry and Medical Technology
  • Faculty of Economics
  • Institute of Earth Sciences
  • Institute of History
  • School of International Relations
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Faculty of Mathematics and Mechanics
  • Faculty of Medicine
  • Faculty of Oriental Studies
  • Faculty of Arts
  • Faculty of Philology
  • Institute of Philosophy
  • Faculty of Physics
  • Faculty of Political Science
  • Faculty of Psychology
  • Faculty of Sociology
  • Graduate School of Management
  • Military Faculty
  • School of Journalism and Mass Communications
    • Faculty of Applied Communications
    • Faculty of Journalism

History


It is disputed by the university administration whether Saint Petersburg State University or Moscow State University is the oldest higher education institution in Russia. While the latter was established in 1755, the former, which has been in continuous operation since 1819, claims to be the successor of the university established along with the Academic Gymnasium and the Saint Petersburg Academy of Sciences on January 24, 1724 by a decree of Peter the Great.

In the period between 1804 and 1819, Saint Petersburg University officially did not exist; the institution founded by Peter the Great, the Saint Petersburg Academy, had already been disbanded, because the new 1803 charter of the Academy of Sciences stipulated that there should be no educational institutions affiliated with it.

The Petersburg Pedagogical Institute, renamed the Main Pedagogical Institute in 1814, was established in 1804 and occupied a part of the Twelve Collegia building. On February 8, 1819 (O.S.), Alexander I of Russia reorganized the Main Pedagogical Institute into Saint Petersburg University, which at that time consisted of three faculties: Faculty of Philosophy and Law, Faculty of History and Philology and Faculty of Physics and Mathematics. The Main Pedagogical Institute (where Dmitri Mendeleev studied) was restored in 1828 as an educational institution independent of Saint Petersburg University, and trained teachers until it was finally closed in 1859.

In 1821 the university was renamed Saint Petersburg Imperial University. In 1823 most of the university moved from the Twelve Collegia to the southern part of the city beyond the Fontanka. In 1824 a modified version of the charter of Moscow University was adopted as the first charter of the Saint Petersburg Imperial University. In 1829 there were 19 full professors and 169 full-time and part-time students at the university. In 1830 Tsar Nicholas returned the entire building of the Twelve Collegia back to the university, and courses resumed there. In 1835 a new Charter of the Imperial Universities of Russia was approved. It provided for the establishment of the Faculty of Law, the Faculty of History and Philology, and the Faculties of Physics and Mathematics were merged into the Faculty of Philosophy as the 1st and 2nd Departments, respectively.

In 1849 after the Spring of Nations the Senate of the Russian Empire decreed that the Rector should be appointed by the Minister of National Enlightenment rather than elected by the Assembly of the university. However, Pyotr Pletnyov was reappointed Rector and ultimately became the longest-serving rector of Saint Petersburg University (1840–1861).

In 1855 Oriental studies were separated from the Faculty of History and Philology, and the fourth faculty, Faculty of Oriental Languages, was formally inaugurated on August 27, 1855.

In 1859–1861 female part-time students could attend lectures in the university. In 1861 there were 1,270 full-time and 167 part-time students in the university, of them 498 were in the Faculty of Law, the largest subdivision. But this subdivision had the cameral studies department, where students learnt safety, occupational health and environmental engineering management and science, including chemistry, biology, agronomy along with law and philosophy. Many Russian, Georgian etc. managers, engineers and scientists studied at the Faculty of law therefore. During 1861–1862 there was student unrest in the university, and it was temporarily closed twice during the year. The students were denied freedom of assembly and placed under police surveillance, and public lectures were forbidden. Many students were expelled. After the unrest, in 1865, only 524 students remained.

A decree of the Emperor Alexander II of Russia adopted on 18 February 1863 restored the right of the university assembly to elect the rector. It also formed the new faculty of the theory and history of art as part of the faculty of history and philology.

In March 1869, student unrest shook the university again but on a smaller scale. By 1869, 2,588 students had graduated from the university.

In 1880 the Ministry of National Enlightenment forbade students to marry and married persons could not be admitted. In 1882 another student unrest took place in the university. In 1884 a new Charter of the Imperial Russian Universities was adopted, which granted the right to appoint the rector to the Minister of National Enlightenment again. On March 1, 1887 (O.S.) a group of the university students was arrested while planning an attempt on the life of Alexander III of Russia. As a result, new admission rules to gymnasiums and universities were approved by the Minister of National Enlightenment Ivan Delyanov in 1887, which barred persons of ignoble origin from admission to the university, unless they were extraordinarily talented.

By 1894, 9,212 students had graduated from the university. Among the renowned scholars of the second half of the 19th century affiliated with the university were mathematician Pafnuty Chebyshev, physicist Heinrich Lenz, chemists Dmitri Mendeleev andAleksandr Butlerov, embryologist Alexander Kovalevsky, physiologist Ivan Sechenov, pedologist Vasily Dokuchaev. On March 24, 1896 (O.S.), on the campus of the university Alexander Popov publicly demonstrated transmission of radio waves for the first time in history.

As of January 1, 1900 (O.S.), there were 2,099 students enrolled in the Faculty of Law, 1,149 students in the Faculty of Physics and Mathematics, 212 students in the Faculty of Oriental Languages and 171 students in the Faculty of History and Philology. In 1902 the first student dining hall in Russia was opened in the university.

Since about 1897 regular strikes and student unrest shook the university and spread to other institutions of higher education across Russia. During the Revolution of 1905 the charter of the Russian universities was amended once more, the autonomy of the universities was partially restored and the right to elect the rector was returned to the academic board for the first time since 1884. In 1905–1906 the university was temporarily closed due to student unrest. Its autonomy was revoked again in 1911. In the same year the university was once again temporarily closed.

In 1914 with the start of the First World War, the university was renamed Petrograd Imperial University after its namesake city. During the War the university was the important center of mobilization of Russian intellectual resources and scholarship for the victory. In 1915 a branch of the university was opened in Perm, which later became Perm State University. The Assembly of Petrograd Imperial University openly welcomed the February Revolution of 1917, which put an end to the Russian monarchy, and the university came to be known as just Petrograd University. However, after the October Revolution of 1917, the staff and administration of the university were initially vocally opposed to the Bolshevik takeover of power and reluctant to cooperate with the Narkompros. Later in 1917–1922 during the Russian Civil War some of the staff suspected of counter-revolutionary sympathies suffered imprisonment (e.g., Lev Shcherba in 1919), execution, or exile abroad on the so-called Philosophers’ ships in 1922 (e.g., Nikolai Lossky). Furthermore, the entire staff suffered from hunger and extreme poverty during those years.

In 1918 the university was renamed 1st Petrograd State University, and in 1919 the Narkompros merged it with the 2nd PSU (former Psychoneurological Institute) and 3rd PSU (former Bestuzhev Higher Courses for Women) into Petrograd State University. In 1919 the Faculty of Social Science was established by the Narkompros instead of the Faculty of History and Philology, Faculty of Oriental Languages and Faculty of Law. Nicholas Marr became the first Dean of the new faculty. Chemist Alexey Favorsky became the Dean of the Faculty of Physics and Mathematics. Rabfaks and free university courses were opened on the basis of the university to provide mass education. In the fall of 1920, as observed by freshman student Alice Rosenbaum, enrollment was open and the majority of the students were anti-communist including, until removed, a few vocal opponents of the regime. Seeing that they were educating “class enemies”, a purge was conducted in 1922 based on the class background of the students and all students, other than seniors, with a bourgeois background were expelled.

In 1924 the university was renamed Leningrad State University after its namesake city. In order to suppress intellectual opposition to Soviet power, a number of historians working in the university, including Sergey Platonov, Yevgeny Tarle and Boris Grekov, were imprisoned in the so-called Academic Affair of 1929–1930 on fabricated charges of participating in a counter-revolutionary conspiracy aimed at overthrowing the government. Some other members of the staff were repressed in 1937–1938 during the Great Purge.

During the 1941–1944 Siege of Leningrad in World War II, many of the students and staff died from starvation, in battles or from repressions. However, the university operated continuously, evacuated to Saratov in 1942–1944. A branch of the university was hosted in Yelabuga during the war. In 1944 the Presidium of the Supreme Council of the Soviet Union awarded the university with the Order of Lenin on the occasion of its 125th anniversary and for its contribution to science and culture.

In 1948 the Council of Ministers named the university after Andrei Zhdanov, a recently deceased prominent communist official. This decision was revoked in 1989 during Perestroika.

In 1949–1950 several professors died in prison during the investigation of the Leningrad Affair fabricated by the central Soviet leadership, and the Minister of Education of the RSFSR, former rector Alexander Voznesensky, was executed.

In 1966 the Council of Ministers decided to build a new suburban campus in Petrodvorets for most of the mathematics and natural science faculties. The relocation of the faculties had been completed by the 1990s.

In 1969 the Presidium of the Supreme Council of the Soviet Union awarded the university with the Order of the Red Banner of Labour.

In 1991 the university was renamed back to Saint Petersburg State University after its namesake city.


Do you want discuss Saint Petersburg State University ? Any question, comments or reviews


Saint Petersburg State University on Map


Photo


Photos: Saint Petersburg State University official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

Saint Petersburg State University reviews

Join to discuss of Saint Petersburg State University.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.