圣彼得堡国立大学

圣彼得堡国立大学 . 研究俄罗斯

圣彼得堡国立大学详细

报名在圣彼得堡国立大学

概观


对于超过 290 年份, 圣. 圣彼得堡大学一直致力于推动科学发展,, 生成知识,培养优秀的专业人才. 大学拥有悠久的历史 - 它的历史可以追溯到 1724, 当彼得大帝创办科学院和艺术,以及俄罗斯第一学年大学.

著名校友SPBU是自豪和尊严的源泉, 这激励我们精益求精,最大限度地提高研究和教育我们的潜力. 在我们的校友和员工, 有世界著名的人不平凡的数量, 尤其是, 诺贝尔奖获得者: 生理学家巴甫洛夫, 生物学家伊利亚·梅奇尼科夫, 物理化学家尼古拉·谢苗诺夫, 物理学家朗道和亚历山大·普罗霍罗夫, 哲学家和经济学家列昂尼德·坎托罗维奇. SPBU也是杰出的研究人员的母校, 学者, 学者, 政治和社会领袖: 梅德门捷列夫, 弗拉基米尔维尔纳茨基, 梅德并为利哈乔夫仅举几例. 世界欠我们的大学最突出的文化领袖, 作家和艺术家: 屠格涅夫, 帕维尔Bryullov, 亚历山大·勃洛克, 亚历山大BENOIS, 谢尔盖·佳吉列夫和斯特拉文斯基. 在大学校友, 我们也自豪地提到俄罗斯政府领导人: 鲍里斯前进, 亚历山大·克伦斯基, 列宁, 俄罗斯联邦普京和梅德韦杰夫总统的.

今天, 它的成立三个世纪, 加油站正在努力, 像之前一样, 带领研究和教育在全国和全球范围内. 通过汇集传统和创新, 圣. 圣彼得堡大学设置的步伐,为科学发展, 教育和文化在俄罗斯和世界各地的.

SPBU完全装备的学生和工作人员最好的各种各样的教育机会, 研究和个人发展: 最富有的研究图书馆中号而得名. 高尔基, 一个国家的最先进的研究园区, 由著名科学家领导的实验室, 博物馆, 一家出版社, 体育俱乐部, 一个大学合唱团, 乐团, 戏剧和舞蹈室等.

十一月 2009, 俄罗斯梅德韦杰夫总统签署了一项法律授予圣. 圣彼得堡大学和莫斯科国立大学独特的科学和教育复合物的特殊地位, 高等教育在俄罗斯历史最悠久的机构是非常重要的俄罗斯社会“的发展. SPBU被授予的特权来设定自己的教育标准,并授予其自己的文凭.

现在发现的第一个俄罗斯大学.

欢迎来到加油站!

此致,敬礼,
校长加油站
尼古拉Kropachev

成立于 1724 由彼得大帝, 圣彼得堡大学要成为高等教育在俄罗斯第一所. SPBU是俄罗斯领先的大学,教学和研究的卓越世界一流大学之列. 我们是开放的合作,并享受与国际研究界和学术界的紧密联系. SPBU科学家的知识几乎所有领域工作, 在俄罗斯和国际伙伴密切合作提供专门知识和咨询. 许多杰出的学者一直是SPBU社区的一部分, 包括九家诺贝尔奖得主: 生理学家巴甫洛夫, 生物学家伊利亚·梅奇尼科夫, 物理学家和化学家尼古拉·谢苗诺夫, 物理学家朗道和亚历山大·普罗霍罗夫, 哲学家和经济学家瓦西里·列昂季耶夫以及数学家和经济学家列昂尼德·坎托罗维奇.

在大学校友是俄罗斯联邦普京总统, 总理部长德米特里·梅德韦杰夫, 冬宫米哈伊尔Piotrovskiy主任, 俄罗斯科学院教育柳德米拉·Verbitskaya总统, 数学家佩雷尔曼Grigoriy和谢尔盖斯米尔诺夫以及许多其他.

圣. 圣彼得堡大学今天

  • 30,000 学生们
  • 6,000 工作人员
  • 106 本科专业
  • 205 硕士课程和专业领域
  • 263 博士学位课程
  • 29 临床实习计划
  • 国际学生来自 70 国家
  • 过度 3 000 国际学生在学位和非学位课程
  • 350 合作院校
  • 最好的大学研究园在俄罗斯
  • 7,000,000 图书大学研究图书馆的收藏
  • 俄语和英语发行的毕业证书
  • 12,800 在学生宿舍的地方

教育优势

  • 在教育过程学生积极参与;
  • 学生的个人潜能的最好的实现;
  • ECTS - 欧洲学分转换系统;
  • 学科是按照模块化设计原则;
  • 伙伴大​​学学生交流项目
  • 实习和工作安置在俄罗斯和国际领先的公司;
  • 获得独特的研究设施, 技术和全文电子数据库;
  • 现代教育技术;
  • 国家的最先进的研究设备;
  • 最好选用国际申请奖学金的状态 (免学费和住宿优惠);
  • 机会掌握俄语的俄罗斯语言研究所和文化.

学校 / 高校 / 部门 / 培训班 / 院系


  • 应用数学和控制流程系
  • 生物学院
  • 中国科学院化学研究所
  • 牙科医疗技术学院
  • 经济学部
  • 地球科学研究所
  • 历史研究所
  • 国际关系学院
  • 法律系
  • 自由艺术与科学学院
  • 数学和力学系
  • 医学系
  • 东方学部
  • 艺术学院
  • 语言学教师
  • 哲学研究所
  • 物理学院
  • 政治学系
  • 心理学系
  • 社会学系
  • 管理研究生院
  • 军事教员
  • 新闻与大众传播学院
    • 应用通信学院
    • 新闻学院

历史


它是由大学管理圣彼得堡国立大学和莫斯科国立大学是俄罗斯历史最悠久的高等教育机构争议. 虽然成立于后者 1755, 前者, 这一直是在连续操作中,因为 1819, 自称是随着学术体育馆和一月的科学圣彼得堡科学院成立了大学的继任者 24, 1724 由彼得大帝的法令.

在日期间 1804 和 1819, 圣彼得堡大学正式不存在; 由彼得大帝创办的机构, 圣彼得堡学院, 已经解散, 因为新 1803 科学院的章程规定,应该有其属下没有教育机构.

在圣彼得堡教育学院, 改名为主要教学研究所 1814, 成立于 1804 并占领了十二Collegia建筑的一部分. 二月 8, 1819 (O.S.), 俄罗斯的亚历山大一世改组主要教育研究所为圣彼得堡大学, 这在当时由三个院系: 哲学与法律系, 历史系和文献学和物理与数学学院. 主教育学院 (其中门捷列夫研究) 在恢复 1828 作为教育机构独立圣彼得堡大学的, 和训练有素的教师,直到它在最终关闭 1859.

在 1821 大学更名为圣彼得堡帝国大学. 在 1823 大部分的大学从十二Collegia搬到城市以外的丰坦卡南部. 在 1824 莫斯科大学章程的修改版本被采纳为圣彼得堡帝国大学的第一个包机. 在 1829 曾经有 19 全职教授和 169 全职和兼职学生在大学. 在 1830 沙皇尼古拉返回十二Collegia整幢回到大学, 和课程继续存在. 在 1835 俄罗斯帝国大学的一个新的章程被批准. 它规定设立法学院的, 历史和语言学系, 和物理与数学的院系合并为哲学系作为第一和第二部门, 分别.

在 1849 国春后的俄罗斯帝国参议院颁布法令,校长应该由国家启蒙部长任命,而不是由大学的大会选举. 然而, 彼得·亚历山德罗维奇·普列特尼奥夫再次被任命为校长,并最终成为圣彼得堡大学任职时间最长的校长 (1840-1861).

在 1855 东方研究,从历史和语言学系分离, 第四教员, 东方语言文学系, 在8月正式揭牌 27, 1855.

在1859年至1861年女性兼职学生可以参加在大学演讲. 在 1861 曾经有 1,270 全职和 167 兼职学生在大学, 其中 498 均法律系, 最大的细分. 但这种划分有摄象机的研究部门, 让学生学会安全, 职业健康及环境工程管理和科学, 包括化学, 生物学, 法律和哲学沿农学. 许多俄罗斯, 格鲁吉亚等. 经理, 工程师和科学家在法律系因此研究. 在1861年至1862年出现了学潮在大学, 并于年内暂时关闭两次. 学生们被剥夺了集会自由,并在警方监视, 和公开讲座被禁止. 许多学生被开除. 骚乱后, 在 1865, 只要 524 学生仍.

俄国皇帝亚历山大二世的法令通过了关于 18 二月 1863 恢复大学总成的选举校长的权利. 这也形成了理论和艺术史的新教师作为历史和语言学系的一部分.

三月 1869, 学生骚乱动摇了大学,但再次以较小的规模. 通过 1869, 2,588 学生们从大学毕业.

在 1880 国家启蒙部禁止学生结婚和已婚者不能被录取. 在 1882 另一名学生骚乱发生在学校. 在 1884 俄罗斯帝国大学的新宪章获得通过, 其中授予再次任命校长到国家启蒙部长权. 在三月 1, 1887 (O.S.) 一群大学生,同时计划在俄罗斯的亚历山大三世的生活企图被逮捕. 结果是, 新人入场规则,体育馆和大学被国家启蒙伊万·德亚诺威在部批准 1887, 其中禁止卑鄙血统的人从入学到大学, 除非他们才华出众.

通过 1894, 9,212 学生们从大学毕业. 在与大学附属19世纪下半叶的著名学者们的数学家巴夫尼提·列波维奇·切比雪夫, 物理学家海因里希·伦茨, 化学家门捷列夫andAleksandr布特列罗夫, 胚胎学家亚历山大·科韦尔维斯基, 生理学家伊万谢切诺夫, 土壤学家瓦西里·多库维. 在三月 24, 1896 (O.S.), 上了大学校园波波夫公开展示了无线电波的传输在历史上首次.

截至1月 1, 1900 (O.S.), 曾经有 2,099 学生就读于法学院, 1,149 学生的物理与数学学院, 212 学生在东方语言学院与 171 学生在历史和语言学系. 在 1902 俄罗斯第一个学生食堂在大学开幕.

由于有关 1897 经常罢工和学生运动震撼了大学和俄罗斯各地蔓延到其他高等教育机构. 的革命时期 1905 俄罗斯大学的章程进行了修订一次, 大学的自主权部分恢复,并选举校长的权利归还给学术委员会的第一次,因为 1884. 在1905-1906的大学是因学潮暂时关闭. 它的自主权再次撤销 1911. 同年大学再次暂时关闭.

在 1914 随着第一次世界大战的开始, 该大学是其同名城市后改称彼得格勒帝国大学. 战争期间,大学是俄罗斯智力资源的动员和奖学金为胜利的重要中心. 在 1915 该大学的一个分支,在彼尔姆开幕, 后来成为彼尔姆国立大学. 彼得格勒帝国大学的大会公开欢迎的二月革命 1917, 这杜绝了俄罗斯君主制, 和大学来到被称为只是彼得格勒大学. 然而, 十月革命后, 1917, 学校的工作人员和管理最初大声疾呼反对力量和不情愿的布尔什维克收购与Narkompros合作. 俄国内战期间,后来在1917年至1922年一些涉嫌反革命同情的工作人员遭受监禁 (例如, 列夫·谢彻巴在 1919), 执行, 或者在所谓的哲学家流亡国外’ 船舶 1922 (例如, 尼古拉Lossky). 此外, 全体员工从饥饿和极端贫困在那些年里遭遇.

在 1918 大学更名为彼得格勒一号州立大学, 在 1919 该Narkompros与第二PSU它合并 (前者研究所心理神经) 和第3 PSU (前者别斯图热夫高等教育课程女性) 到彼得格勒州立大学. 在 1919 社会科学学院是由Narkompros而不是历史和语言学系成立, 东方语言法学院系. 尼古拉·马尔成为新学院的首任院长. 化学家阿里克谢·法沃斯基成为物理与数学学院院长. Rabfaks和免费大学课程开设了大学的基础上,以提供大众教育. 在秋季 1920, 由大一的学生爱丽丝罗森鲍姆观察, 入学是开放的,大部分学生是反共的,包括, 直到被移除, 该制度的几个对手声乐. 看到他们被教育 “阶级敌人”, 清洗是在进行 1922 根据学生和所有学生的阶级背景, 比其他前辈, 与资产阶级背景被驱逐.

在 1924 该大学是其同名城市后更名为列宁格勒国立大学. 为了抑制智力反对苏维埃政权, 一些历史学家在大学工作, 包括谢尔盖·普拉诺弗, 叶夫根尼·塔尔和鲍里斯·格雷科弗, 在1929 - 1930年的所谓学术事务被监禁在参与旨在推翻政府的反革命阴谋制造费用. 工作人员的其他一些成员在1937 - 1938年的大清洗中被压抑.

在列宁格勒在二战1941年至1944年围攻, 许多学生和工作人员死于饥饿, 在战斗中或从镇压. 然而, 学校连续工作, 疏散到萨拉托夫在1942-1944. 该大学的一个分支,在叶拉布加在战争中被托管. 在 1944 苏联最高苏维埃主席团授予列宁勋章的大学在其125周年之际,以及它对科学和文化的贡献.

在 1948 部长理事会名为安德烈·日丹诺夫后的大学, 最近去世突出的共产党干部. 这一决定被撤销 1989 重组改革.

在1949-1950几位教授在列宁格勒案件由中央苏联领导人制造在调查期间死于狱中, 而俄联邦政府教育部长, 前校长亚历山大·沃兹涅先斯基, 被执行死刑.

在 1966 部长理事会决定在彼得宫,以建立一个新的郊区校园的大部分数学和自然科学学院的. 院系的搬迁已经完成,由20世纪90年代.

在 1969 苏联最高苏维埃主席团授予劳动红旗勋章大学.

在 1991 该大学是其同名城市更名后回到圣彼得堡国立大学.


你要吗 讨论圣彼得堡国立大学 ? 任何问题, 意见或评论


圣彼得堡国立大学地图


照片


相片: 圣彼得堡国立大学 官方Facebook

视频





与好友分享这个有用的信息

圣彼得堡国立大学的评论

加入圣彼得堡国立大学的讨论.
请注意: EducationBro杂志让你在阅读有关大学信息的能力 96 语言, 但我们要求您尊重其他成员和英语发表评论.

Saint Petersburg State University

Saint Petersburg State University . Study in Russia

Saint Petersburg State University Details

Enroll at Saint Petersburg State University

Overview


For more than 290 years, St. Petersburg University has been committed to advancing science, generating knowledge and training outstanding professionals. The University is rich in history – it dates back to 1724, when Peter the Great founded the Academy of Sciences and Arts as well as the first Academic University in Russia.

The famous SPbU alumni are a source of pride and dignity, which inspires us to excel and maximise our potential in research and education. Among our alumni and staff, there is an extraordinary number of world-famous people, in particular, Nobel Prize winners: physiologist Ivan Pavlov, biologist Ilya Mechnikov, physical chemist Nikolay Semyonov, physicists Lev Landau and Aleksandr Prokhorov, philosopher and economist Leonid Kantorovich. SPbU is also an alma mater for outstanding researchers, scholars, academics, political and social leaders: Dmitry Mendeleev, Vladimir Vernadsky, and Dmitry Likhachev to name but a few. The world owes our University most prominent cultural leaders, writers and artists: Ivan Turgenev, Pavel Bryullov, Alexander Blok, Alexander Benois, Sergei Diaghilev and Igor Stravinsky. Among the University alumni, we are also proud to mention the leaders of the Russian Government: Boris Stürmer, Alexander Kerensky, Vladimir Lenin, Presidents of the Russian Federation Vladimir Putin and Dmitry Medvedev.

Today, three centuries after it was established, SPbU is striving, as before, to lead research and education on a national and global scale. By bringing together traditions and innovations, St. Petersburg University sets the pace for development of science, education and culture in Russia and across the world.

SPbU fully equips its students and staff for the best of the diverse range of opportunities for education, research and personal development: the richest Research Library named after M. Gorky, a state-of-the-art Research Park, laboratories headed by leading scientists, museums, a publishing house, sports clubs, a University choir, orchestras, drama and dance studios and so on.

In November 2009, President of the Russian Federation Dmitry Medvedev signed a law granting St. Petersburg University and Moscow State University the special status of ‘unique scientific and educational complexes, the oldest institutions of higher education in Russia being of great importance to the development of the Russian society’. SPbU was granted a privilege to set its own educational standards and award its own diplomas.

Discover the first Russian University now.

Welcome to SPbU!

Yours respectfully,
SPbU Rector
Nikolay Kropachev

Founded in 1724 by Peter the Great, Saint Petersburg University was to become the first institution of higher education in Russia. SPbU is a leading Russian university with teaching and research excellence ranked among the world’s top universities. We are open to cooperation and enjoy strong ties with the international research and academic community. SPbU scientists work in almost all fields of knowledge, providing expertise and consultation in close collaboration with Russian and international partners. Many outstanding scholars have been a part of the SPbU community, including nine Nobel Prize winners: the physiologist Ivan Pavlov, biologist Ilya Mechnikov, physicist and chemist Nikolay Semyonov, physicists Lev Landau and Aleksandr Prokhorov, philosopher and economist Wassily Leontief as well as mathematician and economist Leonid Kantorovich.

Among University alumni are the President of the Russian Federation Vladimir Putin, Prime-Minister Dmitry Medvedev, Director of the Hermitage Mikhail Piotrovskiy, President of the Russian Academy of Education Liudmila Verbitskaya, mathematicians Grigoriy Perelman and Sergey Smirnov as well as many others.

St. Petersburg University Today

  • 30,000 students
  • 6,000 staff members
  • 106 undergraduate programs
  • 205 master programs and areas of specialization
  • 263 doctoral degree programs
  • 29 clinical residency programs
  • international students from over 70 countries
  • over 3 000 international students on degree and non-degree programs
  • 350 partner universities
  • the best university Research Park in Russia
  • 7,000,000 books in the collection of the University Research Library
  • diploma issued in Russian and English
  • 12,800 places in the halls of residence

 Education Benefits

  • active student participation in the educational process;
  • the best realization of a student’s individual potential;
  • ECTS – European Credit Transfer System;
  • academic disciplines are designed according to the modular principle;
  • student exchange programs with partner universities
  • internships and work placements at leading Russian and international companies;
  • access to unique research facilities, technology and full-text electronic databases;
  • modern educational technologies;
  • state-of-the-art research equipment;
  • state scholarships for the best selected international applicants (free tuition and discounted accommodation);
  • opportunity to master Russian at the Institute of the Russian Language and Culture.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


  • Faculty of Applied Mathematics and Control Processes
  • Faculty of Biology
  • Institute of Chemistry
  • Faculty of Dentistry and Medical Technology
  • Faculty of Economics
  • Institute of Earth Sciences
  • Institute of History
  • School of International Relations
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Faculty of Mathematics and Mechanics
  • Faculty of Medicine
  • Faculty of Oriental Studies
  • Faculty of Arts
  • Faculty of Philology
  • Institute of Philosophy
  • Faculty of Physics
  • Faculty of Political Science
  • Faculty of Psychology
  • Faculty of Sociology
  • Graduate School of Management
  • Military Faculty
  • School of Journalism and Mass Communications
    • Faculty of Applied Communications
    • Faculty of Journalism

History


It is disputed by the university administration whether Saint Petersburg State University or Moscow State University is the oldest higher education institution in Russia. While the latter was established in 1755, the former, which has been in continuous operation since 1819, claims to be the successor of the university established along with the Academic Gymnasium and the Saint Petersburg Academy of Sciences on January 24, 1724 by a decree of Peter the Great.

In the period between 1804 and 1819, Saint Petersburg University officially did not exist; the institution founded by Peter the Great, the Saint Petersburg Academy, had already been disbanded, because the new 1803 charter of the Academy of Sciences stipulated that there should be no educational institutions affiliated with it.

The Petersburg Pedagogical Institute, renamed the Main Pedagogical Institute in 1814, was established in 1804 and occupied a part of the Twelve Collegia building. On February 8, 1819 (O.S.), Alexander I of Russia reorganized the Main Pedagogical Institute into Saint Petersburg University, which at that time consisted of three faculties: Faculty of Philosophy and Law, Faculty of History and Philology and Faculty of Physics and Mathematics. The Main Pedagogical Institute (where Dmitri Mendeleev studied) was restored in 1828 as an educational institution independent of Saint Petersburg University, and trained teachers until it was finally closed in 1859.

In 1821 the university was renamed Saint Petersburg Imperial University. In 1823 most of the university moved from the Twelve Collegia to the southern part of the city beyond the Fontanka. In 1824 a modified version of the charter of Moscow University was adopted as the first charter of the Saint Petersburg Imperial University. In 1829 there were 19 full professors and 169 full-time and part-time students at the university. In 1830 Tsar Nicholas returned the entire building of the Twelve Collegia back to the university, and courses resumed there. In 1835 a new Charter of the Imperial Universities of Russia was approved. It provided for the establishment of the Faculty of Law, the Faculty of History and Philology, and the Faculties of Physics and Mathematics were merged into the Faculty of Philosophy as the 1st and 2nd Departments, respectively.

In 1849 after the Spring of Nations the Senate of the Russian Empire decreed that the Rector should be appointed by the Minister of National Enlightenment rather than elected by the Assembly of the university. However, Pyotr Pletnyov was reappointed Rector and ultimately became the longest-serving rector of Saint Petersburg University (1840–1861).

In 1855 Oriental studies were separated from the Faculty of History and Philology, and the fourth faculty, Faculty of Oriental Languages, was formally inaugurated on August 27, 1855.

In 1859–1861 female part-time students could attend lectures in the university. In 1861 there were 1,270 full-time and 167 part-time students in the university, of them 498 were in the Faculty of Law, the largest subdivision. But this subdivision had the cameral studies department, where students learnt safety, occupational health and environmental engineering management and science, including chemistry, biology, agronomy along with law and philosophy. Many Russian, Georgian etc. managers, engineers and scientists studied at the Faculty of law therefore. During 1861–1862 there was student unrest in the university, and it was temporarily closed twice during the year. The students were denied freedom of assembly and placed under police surveillance, and public lectures were forbidden. Many students were expelled. After the unrest, in 1865, only 524 students remained.

A decree of the Emperor Alexander II of Russia adopted on 18 February 1863 restored the right of the university assembly to elect the rector. It also formed the new faculty of the theory and history of art as part of the faculty of history and philology.

In March 1869, student unrest shook the university again but on a smaller scale. By 1869, 2,588 students had graduated from the university.

In 1880 the Ministry of National Enlightenment forbade students to marry and married persons could not be admitted. In 1882 another student unrest took place in the university. In 1884 a new Charter of the Imperial Russian Universities was adopted, which granted the right to appoint the rector to the Minister of National Enlightenment again. On March 1, 1887 (O.S.) a group of the university students was arrested while planning an attempt on the life of Alexander III of Russia. As a result, new admission rules to gymnasiums and universities were approved by the Minister of National Enlightenment Ivan Delyanov in 1887, which barred persons of ignoble origin from admission to the university, unless they were extraordinarily talented.

By 1894, 9,212 students had graduated from the university. Among the renowned scholars of the second half of the 19th century affiliated with the university were mathematician Pafnuty Chebyshev, physicist Heinrich Lenz, chemists Dmitri Mendeleev andAleksandr Butlerov, embryologist Alexander Kovalevsky, physiologist Ivan Sechenov, pedologist Vasily Dokuchaev. On March 24, 1896 (O.S.), on the campus of the university Alexander Popov publicly demonstrated transmission of radio waves for the first time in history.

As of January 1, 1900 (O.S.), there were 2,099 students enrolled in the Faculty of Law, 1,149 students in the Faculty of Physics and Mathematics, 212 students in the Faculty of Oriental Languages and 171 students in the Faculty of History and Philology. In 1902 the first student dining hall in Russia was opened in the university.

Since about 1897 regular strikes and student unrest shook the university and spread to other institutions of higher education across Russia. During the Revolution of 1905 the charter of the Russian universities was amended once more, the autonomy of the universities was partially restored and the right to elect the rector was returned to the academic board for the first time since 1884. In 1905–1906 the university was temporarily closed due to student unrest. Its autonomy was revoked again in 1911. In the same year the university was once again temporarily closed.

In 1914 with the start of the First World War, the university was renamed Petrograd Imperial University after its namesake city. During the War the university was the important center of mobilization of Russian intellectual resources and scholarship for the victory. In 1915 a branch of the university was opened in Perm, which later became Perm State University. The Assembly of Petrograd Imperial University openly welcomed the February Revolution of 1917, which put an end to the Russian monarchy, and the university came to be known as just Petrograd University. However, after the October Revolution of 1917, the staff and administration of the university were initially vocally opposed to the Bolshevik takeover of power and reluctant to cooperate with the Narkompros. Later in 1917–1922 during the Russian Civil War some of the staff suspected of counter-revolutionary sympathies suffered imprisonment (e.g., Lev Shcherba in 1919), execution, or exile abroad on the so-called Philosophers’ ships in 1922 (e.g., Nikolai Lossky). Furthermore, the entire staff suffered from hunger and extreme poverty during those years.

In 1918 the university was renamed 1st Petrograd State University, and in 1919 the Narkompros merged it with the 2nd PSU (former Psychoneurological Institute) and 3rd PSU (former Bestuzhev Higher Courses for Women) into Petrograd State University. In 1919 the Faculty of Social Science was established by the Narkompros instead of the Faculty of History and Philology, Faculty of Oriental Languages and Faculty of Law. Nicholas Marr became the first Dean of the new faculty. Chemist Alexey Favorsky became the Dean of the Faculty of Physics and Mathematics. Rabfaks and free university courses were opened on the basis of the university to provide mass education. In the fall of 1920, as observed by freshman student Alice Rosenbaum, enrollment was open and the majority of the students were anti-communist including, until removed, a few vocal opponents of the regime. Seeing that they were educating “class enemies”, a purge was conducted in 1922 based on the class background of the students and all students, other than seniors, with a bourgeois background were expelled.

In 1924 the university was renamed Leningrad State University after its namesake city. In order to suppress intellectual opposition to Soviet power, a number of historians working in the university, including Sergey Platonov, Yevgeny Tarle and Boris Grekov, were imprisoned in the so-called Academic Affair of 1929–1930 on fabricated charges of participating in a counter-revolutionary conspiracy aimed at overthrowing the government. Some other members of the staff were repressed in 1937–1938 during the Great Purge.

During the 1941–1944 Siege of Leningrad in World War II, many of the students and staff died from starvation, in battles or from repressions. However, the university operated continuously, evacuated to Saratov in 1942–1944. A branch of the university was hosted in Yelabuga during the war. In 1944 the Presidium of the Supreme Council of the Soviet Union awarded the university with the Order of Lenin on the occasion of its 125th anniversary and for its contribution to science and culture.

In 1948 the Council of Ministers named the university after Andrei Zhdanov, a recently deceased prominent communist official. This decision was revoked in 1989 during Perestroika.

In 1949–1950 several professors died in prison during the investigation of the Leningrad Affair fabricated by the central Soviet leadership, and the Minister of Education of the RSFSR, former rector Alexander Voznesensky, was executed.

In 1966 the Council of Ministers decided to build a new suburban campus in Petrodvorets for most of the mathematics and natural science faculties. The relocation of the faculties had been completed by the 1990s.

In 1969 the Presidium of the Supreme Council of the Soviet Union awarded the university with the Order of the Red Banner of Labour.

In 1991 the university was renamed back to Saint Petersburg State University after its namesake city.


Do you want discuss Saint Petersburg State University ? Any question, comments or reviews


Saint Petersburg State University on Map


Photo


Photos: Saint Petersburg State University official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

Saint Petersburg State University reviews

Join to discuss of Saint Petersburg State University.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.