Sankt Petersburg State University

Sankt Petersburg State University . Studieren in Russland

Sankt Petersburg State University Einzelheiten

Einschreiben in Sankt Petersburg State University

Überblick


Für mehr als 290 Jahre, St. Petersburg Universität hat sich die Förderung der Wissenschaft verpflichtet, Erzeugen von Wissen und Ausbildung hervorragend Fachleute. Die Universität ist reich an Geschichte - es geht zurück auf 1724, wenn Peter gründete der Große die Akademie der Wissenschaften und Künste sowie der erste akademische Universität in Russland.

Die berühmten SPBU Alumni sind eine Quelle von Stolz und Würde, das inspiriert uns unser Potenzial in Forschung und Lehre zu übertreffen und zu maximieren. Unter unseren Alumni und Mitarbeiter, es ist eine außergewöhnliche Reihe von weltberühmten Menschen, bestimmtes, Nobelpreisträger: Physiologe Iwan Pawlow, Biologe Ilja Metschnikow, Physikochemiker Nikolay Semjonow, Physiker Lev Landau und Aleksandr Prokhorov, Philosoph und Ökonom Leonid Kantorovich. SPBU ist auch eine Alma Mater für herausragende Forscher, Wissenschaftler, Wissenschaftler, politische und soziale Führer: Dmitry Mendelejew, Vladimir Vernadsky, und Dmitry Likhachev um nur ein paar. Die Welt verdankt unsere Universität prominentesten kulturellen Führer, Schriftsteller und Künstler: Ivan Turgenev, Pavel Bryullov, Alexander Blok, Alexander Benois, Sergei Diaghilev und Igor Stravinsky. Unter dem Alumni der Universität, Wir sind auch stolz darauf, die Führer der russischen Regierung zu erwähnen: Boris Stürmer, Alexander Kerenski, Vladimir Lenin, Präsident der Russischen Föderation Wladimir Putin und Dmitri Medwedew.

Heute, drei Jahrhunderte nach ihrer Gründung, SPBU strebt, wie vorher, Forschung und Bildung auf nationaler und globaler Ebene führen. Durch die Zusammenführung Traditionen und Innovationen, St. Petersburg Universität bestimmt das Tempo für die Entwicklung der Wissenschaft, Bildung und Kultur in Russland und in der ganzen Welt.

SPBU rüstet vollständig seine Studenten und Mitarbeiter für den besten der vielfältigen Möglichkeiten für die Bildung, Forschung und persönliche Entwicklung: die reichste Forschungsbibliothek nach M benannt. Gorky, ein state-of-the-art Research Park, Laboratorien, die von führenden Wissenschaftlern geleitet, Museen, ein Verlag, Sportvereine, ein Universitätschor, Orchester, Drama und Tanzstudios und so weiter.

Im November 2009, Präsident der Russischen Föderation Dmitri Medwedew unterzeichnete ein Gesetz St Gewährung. Burger Universität und die Staatliche Universität Moskau der besondere Status von einzigartigen wissenschaftlichen und pädagogischen Komplexen, Sein von großer Bedeutung, die ältesten Hochschulen in Russland für die Entwicklung der russischen Gesellschaft‘. SPBU wurde ein Privileg gewährt seinen eigenen Bildungsstandards zu setzen und vergibt seine eigene Diplome.

Entdecken Sie die erste russische Universität jetzt.

Willkommen bei SPBU!

Hochachtungsvoll,
Rektor Tankstellen
nikolay Kropachev

Gegründet in 1724 von Peter dem Großen, Sankt Petersburg Universität war die erste Hochschule in Russland zu werden. SPBU ist einer der führende russische Universität mit Lehre und Forschung Spitzenleistungen unter der Top-Universitäten der Welt gewählt. Wir sind offen für die Zusammenarbeit und genießen Sie enge Beziehungen mit der internationalen Forschung und akademischen Gemeinschaft. SPBU Wissenschaftler arbeiten in fast allen Bereichen des Wissens, Bereitstellung von Fachwissen und Beratung in enger Zusammenarbeit mit russischen und internationalen Partnern. Viele herausragende Wissenschaftler haben ein Teil der SPBU Gemeinschaft gewesen, darunter neun Nobelpreisträger: der Physiologe Iwan Pawlow, Biologe Ilja Metschnikow, Physiker und Chemiker Nikolai Semjonow, Physiker Lev Landau und Aleksandr Prokhorov, Philosoph und Ökonom Wassily Leontief sowie Mathematiker und Ökonom Leonid Kantorovich.

Unter Universität Alumni sind der Präsident der Russischen Föderation Wladimir Putin, Premierminister Dmitri Medwedew, Direktor der Eremitage Michail Piotrovskiy, Präsident der Russischen Akademie für Bildung Liudmila Verbitskaya, Mathematiker Grigori Perelman und Sergey Smirnov sowie viele andere.

St. Petersburg Universität heute

  • 30,000 Studenten
  • 6,000 Mitarbeiter
  • 106 Bachelor-Studiengänge
  • 205 Masterprogramme und Fachgebieten
  • 263 Promotionsstudiengänge
  • 29 klinische Residency-Programme
  • internationale Studierende aus über 70 Länder
  • Über 3 000 internationale Studierende auf Grad und nicht-Studiengänge
  • 350 Partneruniversitäten
  • die beste Universität Research Park in Russland
  • 7,000,000 Bücher in der Sammlung der Universität Forschungsbibliothek
  • Diplom in russischer und englischer Sprache ausgestellt
  • 12,800 Orte in den Wohnheimen

Bildung Vorteile

  • aktive Beteiligung der Studierenden im Bildungsprozess;
  • die beste Realisierung eines individuellen Potenzials des Schülers;
  • ECTS - European Credit Transfer System;
  • nach dem Baukastenprinzip sind wissenschaftliche Disziplinen entwickelt;
  • Studentenaustauschprogramme mit Partnerhochschulen
  • Praktika und Praktika bei führenden russischen und internationalen Unternehmen;
  • Zugang zu einzigartigen Forschungseinrichtungen, Technologie und elektronische Volltext-Datenbanken;
  • moderne Bildungstechnologien;
  • State-of-the-art Forschungsausrüstung;
  • Staat Stipendien für die besten internationalen Bewerbern ausgewählt (kostenlose Nachhilfe und diskon Unterkunft);
  • Gelegenheit Russisch am Institut der russischen Sprache und Kultur zu meistern.

Schulen / Hochschulen / Abteilungen / Kurse / Fakultäten


  • Fakultät für Angewandte Mathematik und Steuerungsprozesse
  • Fakultät für Biologie
  • Institut für Chemie
  • Fakultät für Zahnmedizin und Medizintechnik
  • Fakultät der Ökönomie
  • Institut für Geowissenschaften
  • Institut für Geschichte
  • School of International Relations
  • Rechtswissenschaftliche Fakultät
  • Fakultät der Freien Künste und Wissenschaften
  • Fakultät für Mathematik und Mechanik
  • Medizinische Fakultät
  • Fakultät für Orientalistik
  • Kunstschule
  • Fakultät für Philologie
  • Institut für Philosophie
  • Fakultät für Physik
  • Fakultät für Politikwissenschaft
  • Fakultät für Psychologie
  • Fakultät für Soziologie
  • Graduate School of Management
  • Military Fakultät
  • Schule für Journalismus und Massenkommunikation
    • Faculty of Applied Kommunikations
    • Fakultät für Journalistik

Geschichte


Es wird von der Universitätsverwaltung umstritten, ob Sankt Petersburg State University oder der Moskauer Staatlichen Universität die älteste Hochschule in Russland. Während letztere wurde gegründet 1755, das Vorherige, die im Dauerbetrieb ist seit 1819, behauptet, der Nachfolger der Universität mit dem Akademischen Gymnasium und dem Sankt Petersburg Akademie der Wissenschaften am Januar gegründet zusammen zu sein 24, 1724 durch ein Dekret von Peter dem Großen.

In der Zeit zwischen 1804 und 1819, Sankt Petersburg Universität gab es offiziell nicht; die von Peter gegründeten Institution der Großen, die Sankt Petersburg Akademie, war bereits aufgelöst worden, weil die neue 1803 Charta der Akademie der Wissenschaften festgelegt, dass es mit ihrem verbundenen keine Bildungseinrichtungen sein.

Das Pädagogische Institut Petersburg, das Haupt Pädagogischen Institut umbenannt in 1814, wurde gegründet, in 1804 und besetzten einen Teil der Zwölf Kollegien Gebäude. Im Februar 8, 1819 (O. S.), Alexander I. von Russland reorganisiert das Haupt Pädagogischen Institut in Sankt Petersburg Universität, die zu diesem Zeitpunkt bestand aus drei Fakultäten: Fakultät für Philosophie und Recht, Fakultät für Geschichte und Philologie und Fakultät für Physik und Mathematik. Das Haupt Pädagogisches Institut (wo Dmitri Mendeleev studierte) wurde restauriert 1828 als Bildungseinrichtung unabhängig von Sankt Petersburg Universität, und ausgebildete Lehrer, bis er schließlich geschlossen wurde 1859.

Im 1821 Die Universität wurde Sankt Petersburg Kaiserliche Universität umbenannt. Im 1823 der größte Teil der Universität zog von der Zwölf Kollegien in den südlichen Teil der Stadt über die Fontanka. Im 1824 eine modifizierte Version der Charta der Moskauer Universität wurde als erste Urkunde der Sankt Petersburg Kaiserliche Universität angenommen. Im 1829 dort gab es 19 Professoren und 169 Vollzeit und Teilzeit-Studenten an der Universität. Im 1830 Zar Nikolaus kehrte das gesamte Gebäude der Zwölf Kollegien zurück an die Universität, und Kurse wieder dort. Im 1835 eine neue Charta der kaiserlichen Universitäten Russlands wurde genehmigt. Es sieht die Gründung der Fakultät für Rechtswissenschaft, die Fakultät für Geschichte und Philologie, und die Fakultäten für Physik und Mathematik wurden als erste in der Fakultät für Philosophie verschmolzen und 2. Abteilungen, beziehungsweise.

Im 1849 nach dem Frühling der Nationen verfügte der Senat des russischen Reiches, dass der Rektor soll nicht durch die Versammlung der Universität gewählt durch den Minister für Volksaufklärung ernannt. jedoch, Pyotr Pletnyov wurde Rektor wieder ernannt und wurde schließlich der am längsten dienende Rektor der Universität Sankt Petersburg (1840-1861).

Im 1855 Orientalische Studien wurden von der Fakultät für Geschichte und Philologie getrennt, und die vierte Fakultät, Fakultät für Orientalische Sprachen, offiziell wurde am August eingeweiht 27, 1855.

In 1859-1861 weiblichen Studenten in Teilzeit konnte Vorlesungen in der Universität teilnehmen. Im 1861 dort gab es 1,270 Vollzeit und 167 Teilzeit-Studenten in der Universität, von ihnen 498 in der Fakultät für Rechts waren, die größte Unterteilung. Aber diese Unterteilung hatte die cameral Studien Abteilung, wo die Schüler gelernt Sicherheit, Arbeitsschutz und Umwelttechnik Management und Wissenschaft, einschließlich Chemie, Biologie, Agronomie zusammen mit Recht und Philosophie. viele russische, Georgian usw.. Manager, Ingenieure und Wissenschaftler an der Fakultät für Rechtswissenschaften deshalb. Während 1861-1862 gab es Studentenunruhen in der Universität, und es wurde vorübergehend geschlossen zweimal im Laufe des Jahres. Die Schüler waren Versammlungsfreiheit verweigert und unter Polizeiaufsicht gestellt, und öffentliche Vorträge waren verboten. Viele Studenten wurden vertrieben. Nach den Unruhen, im 1865, nur 524 Studenten blieben.

Ein Dekret des Kaiser Alexander II von Russland angenommen am 18 Februar 1863 das Recht der Hochschulversammlung restauriert, um den Rektor zu wählen. Es bildete auch die neue Fakultät der Theorie und Geschichte der Kunst als Teil der Fakultät für Geschichte und Philologie.

März 1869, Studentenunruhen erschütterten die Universität wieder, aber in einem kleineren Maßstab. Durch 1869, 2,588 Studenten hatten von der Universität graduiert.

Im 1880 das Ministerium für Volksaufklärung verbot Studenten und verheiratete Personen werden könnten heiraten nicht zugelassen. Im 1882 eine andere Studentenunruhen fand in der Universität. Im 1884 eine neue Charta der kaiserlich russischen Universitäten angenommen, die das Recht eingeräumt, den Rektor an den Minister für Volksaufklärung wieder zu ernennen. Im März 1, 1887 (O. S.) eine Gruppe der Studenten verhaftet wurde, während ein Anschlag auf das Leben von Alexander III von Russland plant. Als Ergebnis, neue Zulassungsregeln zu Turnhallen und Universitäten wurden vom Minister für Volksaufklärung Ivan Delyanov genehmigt 1887, die vergitterten Personen unedle Herkunft aus der Zulassung zur Universität, es sei denn, sie waren außerordentlich talentiert.

Durch 1894, 9,212 Studenten hatten von der Universität graduiert. Zu den namhaften Gelehrten der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts mit der Universität verbundenen waren Mathematiker Pafnuty Chebyshev, Physiker Heinrich Lenz, Chemiker Dmitri Mendeleev andAleksandr Butlerov, Embryologe Alexander Kovalevsky, Physiologe Ivan Sechenov, pedologist Vasily Dokuchaev. Im März 24, 1896 (O. S.), auf dem Campus der Universität Alexander Popov demonstrierte öffentlich Übertragung von Radiowellen zum ersten Mal in der Geschichte.

Ab Januar 1, 1900 (O. S.), dort gab es 2,099 Studenten in der Fakultät für Recht eingeschrieben, 1,149 Studenten in der Fakultät für Physik und Mathematik, 212 Studenten in der Fakultät für orientalische Sprachen und 171 Studenten in der Fakultät für Geschichte und Philologie. Im 1902 der erste Speisesaal Student in Russland wurde in der Universität eröffnet.

seit über 1897 regelmäßige Streiks und Studentenunruhen schüttelte die Universität und Ausbreitung auf andere Hochschulen in ganz Russland. Während der Revolution von 1905 die Charta der russischen Universitäten wurde geändert, erneut, die Autonomie der Universitäten wurde teilweise restauriert und das Recht, den Rektor zu wählen wurde den wissenschaftliche Beirat zum ersten Mal wieder seit 1884. In 1905-1906 wurde die Universität vorübergehend wegen Studentenunruhen geschlossen. Seine Autonomie wurde wieder aufgehoben in 1911. Im selben Jahr wurde einmal die Universität wieder vorübergehend geschlossen.

Im 1914 mit dem Beginn des Ersten Weltkrieges, wurde die Universität Petersburg Kaiserliche Universität nach der gleichnamigen Stadt umbenannt. Während des Krieges war die Universität das wichtige Zentrum der Mobilisierung der russischen intellektueller Ressourcen und Wissenschaft für den Sieg. Im 1915 ein Zweig der Universität wurde in Perm eröffnet, die später Perm State University. Die Versammlung der Petrograds Kaiserliche Universität begrüßt offen die Februarrevolution 1917, die ein Ende der russischen Monarchie, und die Universität kam, als gerade Petersburg Universität bekannt sein. jedoch, nach dem Oktoberrevolution von 1917, das Personal und die Verwaltung der Universität wurden zunächst sowohl laut als die bolschewistische Machtübernahme und zurückhaltend gegenüber mit dem Narkompros zu kooperieren. Später in 1917-1922 während des russischen Bürgerkrieges einen Teil des Personals im Verdacht konterrevolutionärer Sympathien gelitten Haft (z.B., Lev Shcherba in 1919), Ausführung, oder Exil im Ausland auf den sogenannten Philosophen‘ Schiffe in 1922 (z.B., Nikolai Lossky). Außerdem, das gesamte Personal litt unter Hunger und extreme Armut in diesen Jahren.

Im 1918 die Universität wurde die 1. Petersburg State University umbenannt, und in 1919 die Narkompros fusionierte sie mit der zweiten PSU (ehemaliges Institut psychoneurologischen) und 3. PSU (ehemalige Bestuschew Höhere Kurse für Frauen) in Petersburg State University. Im 1919 die Fakultät für Sozialwissenschaft wurde von der Narkompros anstelle der Fakultät für Geschichte und Philologie gegründet, Fakultät für orientalische Sprachen und Rechtswissenschaftliche Fakultät. Nicholas Marr wurde der erste Dekan der neuen Fakultät. Chemiker Alexey Favorsky wurde der Dekan der Fakultät für Physik und Mathematik. Rabfaks und freie Studiengänge wurden auf der Grundlage der Universität eröffnet Massenbildung zu schaffen,. Im Herbst 1920, wie Freshman Student Alice Rosenbaum beobachtet, Einschreibung war offen und die Mehrheit der Studenten waren anti-kommunistische einschließlich, bis sie entfernt, ein paar Gesang Gegner des Regimes. Sehen, dass sie die Erziehung „Klassenfeinde“, eine Spülung wurde durchgeführt, in 1922 basierend auf der Klasse Hintergrund der Schüler und alle Schüler, andere als Senioren, mit einem bürgerlichen Hintergrund wurden vertrieben.

Im 1924 Die Universität wurde nach seiner gleichnamigen Stadt Staatliche Universität Leningrad umbenannt. Um geistigen Widerstand gegen die Sowjetmacht zu unterdrücken, eine Reihe von Historikern in der Universität arbeiten, einschließlich Sergey Platonov, Jewgeni Tarle und Boris Grekov, wurden in den sogenannten Academic Affair von 1929-1930 auf konstruierter Anklagen der Teilnahme an einer konterrevolutionären Verschwörung richtete inhaftiert die Regierung bei Sturz. Einige andere Mitglieder des Personals wurden in 1937-1938 während der Großen Säuberung unterdrückt.

Während der 1941-1944 Belagerung von Leningrad im Zweiten Weltkrieg, viele der Studenten und Mitarbeiter starben an Hunger, in Schlachten oder von Verdrängungen. jedoch, die Universität kontinuierlich betrieben, zu Saratov evakuierten in 1942-1944. Ein Zweig der Universität wurde in Yelabuga während des Krieges gehostet. Im 1944 das Präsidium des Obersten Rates der Sowjetunion verliehen, die Universität mit dem Leninorden anlässlich sein 125-jährigen Jubiläums und für seinen Beitrag zur Wissenschaft und Kultur.

Im 1948 der Ministerrat genannt, die Universität nach Andrei Zhdanov, ein kürzlich verstorbenen prominenten kommunistischen offiziellen. Diese Entscheidung wurde aufgehoben in 1989 während der Perestroika.

In 1949-1950 mehr Professoren starben im Gefängnis während der Untersuchung der von der zentralen sowjetischen Führung hergestellt Leningrader Affäre, und der Minister für Bildung der RSFSR, ehemaliger Rektor Alexander Voznesensky, wurde ausgeführt.

Im 1966 der Ministerrates beschlossen, einen neuen S-Campus in Peterhof für die meisten der Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften Fakultäten zu bauen. Die Verlagerung der Fakultäten war von den 1990er Jahren abgeschlossen.

Im 1969 das Präsidium des Obersten Rates der Sowjetunion verliehen, die Universität mit dem Orden des Roten Arbeitsbanners.

Im 1991 Die Universität wurde nach seiner gleichnamigen Stadt nach Sankt Petersburg State University umbenannt zurück.


Möchtest du Sankt Petersburg State University diskutieren ? Irgendeine Frage, Kommentare oder Bewertungen


Sankt Petersburg State University auf der Karte


Foto


Fotos: Sankt Petersburg State University offiziellen Facebook

Video





Teilen Sie diese nützliche Informationen mit deinen Freunden

Sankt Petersburg State University Bewertungen

Mitglied werden diskutieren von Sankt Petersburg State University.
BITTE BEACHTEN SIE: EducationBro Magazin bietet Ihnen die Möglichkeit Informationen über Universitäten zu lesen an 96 Sprachen, aber wir bitten Sie andere Mitglieder zu respektieren und Kommentare zu hinterlassen auf Englisch.

Saint Petersburg State University

Saint Petersburg State University . Study in Russia

Saint Petersburg State University Details

Enroll at Saint Petersburg State University

Overview


For more than 290 years, St. Petersburg University has been committed to advancing science, generating knowledge and training outstanding professionals. The University is rich in history – it dates back to 1724, when Peter the Great founded the Academy of Sciences and Arts as well as the first Academic University in Russia.

The famous SPbU alumni are a source of pride and dignity, which inspires us to excel and maximise our potential in research and education. Among our alumni and staff, there is an extraordinary number of world-famous people, in particular, Nobel Prize winners: physiologist Ivan Pavlov, biologist Ilya Mechnikov, physical chemist Nikolay Semyonov, physicists Lev Landau and Aleksandr Prokhorov, philosopher and economist Leonid Kantorovich. SPbU is also an alma mater for outstanding researchers, scholars, academics, political and social leaders: Dmitry Mendeleev, Vladimir Vernadsky, and Dmitry Likhachev to name but a few. The world owes our University most prominent cultural leaders, writers and artists: Ivan Turgenev, Pavel Bryullov, Alexander Blok, Alexander Benois, Sergei Diaghilev and Igor Stravinsky. Among the University alumni, we are also proud to mention the leaders of the Russian Government: Boris Stürmer, Alexander Kerensky, Vladimir Lenin, Presidents of the Russian Federation Vladimir Putin and Dmitry Medvedev.

Today, three centuries after it was established, SPbU is striving, as before, to lead research and education on a national and global scale. By bringing together traditions and innovations, St. Petersburg University sets the pace for development of science, education and culture in Russia and across the world.

SPbU fully equips its students and staff for the best of the diverse range of opportunities for education, research and personal development: the richest Research Library named after M. Gorky, a state-of-the-art Research Park, laboratories headed by leading scientists, museums, a publishing house, sports clubs, a University choir, orchestras, drama and dance studios and so on.

In November 2009, President of the Russian Federation Dmitry Medvedev signed a law granting St. Petersburg University and Moscow State University the special status of ‘unique scientific and educational complexes, the oldest institutions of higher education in Russia being of great importance to the development of the Russian society’. SPbU was granted a privilege to set its own educational standards and award its own diplomas.

Discover the first Russian University now.

Welcome to SPbU!

Yours respectfully,
SPbU Rector
Nikolay Kropachev

Founded in 1724 by Peter the Great, Saint Petersburg University was to become the first institution of higher education in Russia. SPbU is a leading Russian university with teaching and research excellence ranked among the world’s top universities. We are open to cooperation and enjoy strong ties with the international research and academic community. SPbU scientists work in almost all fields of knowledge, providing expertise and consultation in close collaboration with Russian and international partners. Many outstanding scholars have been a part of the SPbU community, including nine Nobel Prize winners: the physiologist Ivan Pavlov, biologist Ilya Mechnikov, physicist and chemist Nikolay Semyonov, physicists Lev Landau and Aleksandr Prokhorov, philosopher and economist Wassily Leontief as well as mathematician and economist Leonid Kantorovich.

Among University alumni are the President of the Russian Federation Vladimir Putin, Prime-Minister Dmitry Medvedev, Director of the Hermitage Mikhail Piotrovskiy, President of the Russian Academy of Education Liudmila Verbitskaya, mathematicians Grigoriy Perelman and Sergey Smirnov as well as many others.

St. Petersburg University Today

  • 30,000 students
  • 6,000 staff members
  • 106 undergraduate programs
  • 205 master programs and areas of specialization
  • 263 doctoral degree programs
  • 29 clinical residency programs
  • international students from over 70 countries
  • over 3 000 international students on degree and non-degree programs
  • 350 partner universities
  • the best university Research Park in Russia
  • 7,000,000 books in the collection of the University Research Library
  • diploma issued in Russian and English
  • 12,800 places in the halls of residence

 Education Benefits

  • active student participation in the educational process;
  • the best realization of a student’s individual potential;
  • ECTS – European Credit Transfer System;
  • academic disciplines are designed according to the modular principle;
  • student exchange programs with partner universities
  • internships and work placements at leading Russian and international companies;
  • access to unique research facilities, technology and full-text electronic databases;
  • modern educational technologies;
  • state-of-the-art research equipment;
  • state scholarships for the best selected international applicants (free tuition and discounted accommodation);
  • opportunity to master Russian at the Institute of the Russian Language and Culture.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


  • Faculty of Applied Mathematics and Control Processes
  • Faculty of Biology
  • Institute of Chemistry
  • Faculty of Dentistry and Medical Technology
  • Faculty of Economics
  • Institute of Earth Sciences
  • Institute of History
  • School of International Relations
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Faculty of Mathematics and Mechanics
  • Faculty of Medicine
  • Faculty of Oriental Studies
  • Faculty of Arts
  • Faculty of Philology
  • Institute of Philosophy
  • Faculty of Physics
  • Faculty of Political Science
  • Faculty of Psychology
  • Faculty of Sociology
  • Graduate School of Management
  • Military Faculty
  • School of Journalism and Mass Communications
    • Faculty of Applied Communications
    • Faculty of Journalism

History


It is disputed by the university administration whether Saint Petersburg State University or Moscow State University is the oldest higher education institution in Russia. While the latter was established in 1755, the former, which has been in continuous operation since 1819, claims to be the successor of the university established along with the Academic Gymnasium and the Saint Petersburg Academy of Sciences on January 24, 1724 by a decree of Peter the Great.

In the period between 1804 and 1819, Saint Petersburg University officially did not exist; the institution founded by Peter the Great, the Saint Petersburg Academy, had already been disbanded, because the new 1803 charter of the Academy of Sciences stipulated that there should be no educational institutions affiliated with it.

The Petersburg Pedagogical Institute, renamed the Main Pedagogical Institute in 1814, was established in 1804 and occupied a part of the Twelve Collegia building. On February 8, 1819 (O.S.), Alexander I of Russia reorganized the Main Pedagogical Institute into Saint Petersburg University, which at that time consisted of three faculties: Faculty of Philosophy and Law, Faculty of History and Philology and Faculty of Physics and Mathematics. The Main Pedagogical Institute (where Dmitri Mendeleev studied) was restored in 1828 as an educational institution independent of Saint Petersburg University, and trained teachers until it was finally closed in 1859.

In 1821 the university was renamed Saint Petersburg Imperial University. In 1823 most of the university moved from the Twelve Collegia to the southern part of the city beyond the Fontanka. In 1824 a modified version of the charter of Moscow University was adopted as the first charter of the Saint Petersburg Imperial University. In 1829 there were 19 full professors and 169 full-time and part-time students at the university. In 1830 Tsar Nicholas returned the entire building of the Twelve Collegia back to the university, and courses resumed there. In 1835 a new Charter of the Imperial Universities of Russia was approved. It provided for the establishment of the Faculty of Law, the Faculty of History and Philology, and the Faculties of Physics and Mathematics were merged into the Faculty of Philosophy as the 1st and 2nd Departments, respectively.

In 1849 after the Spring of Nations the Senate of the Russian Empire decreed that the Rector should be appointed by the Minister of National Enlightenment rather than elected by the Assembly of the university. However, Pyotr Pletnyov was reappointed Rector and ultimately became the longest-serving rector of Saint Petersburg University (1840–1861).

In 1855 Oriental studies were separated from the Faculty of History and Philology, and the fourth faculty, Faculty of Oriental Languages, was formally inaugurated on August 27, 1855.

In 1859–1861 female part-time students could attend lectures in the university. In 1861 there were 1,270 full-time and 167 part-time students in the university, of them 498 were in the Faculty of Law, the largest subdivision. But this subdivision had the cameral studies department, where students learnt safety, occupational health and environmental engineering management and science, including chemistry, biology, agronomy along with law and philosophy. Many Russian, Georgian etc. managers, engineers and scientists studied at the Faculty of law therefore. During 1861–1862 there was student unrest in the university, and it was temporarily closed twice during the year. The students were denied freedom of assembly and placed under police surveillance, and public lectures were forbidden. Many students were expelled. After the unrest, in 1865, only 524 students remained.

A decree of the Emperor Alexander II of Russia adopted on 18 February 1863 restored the right of the university assembly to elect the rector. It also formed the new faculty of the theory and history of art as part of the faculty of history and philology.

In March 1869, student unrest shook the university again but on a smaller scale. By 1869, 2,588 students had graduated from the university.

In 1880 the Ministry of National Enlightenment forbade students to marry and married persons could not be admitted. In 1882 another student unrest took place in the university. In 1884 a new Charter of the Imperial Russian Universities was adopted, which granted the right to appoint the rector to the Minister of National Enlightenment again. On March 1, 1887 (O.S.) a group of the university students was arrested while planning an attempt on the life of Alexander III of Russia. As a result, new admission rules to gymnasiums and universities were approved by the Minister of National Enlightenment Ivan Delyanov in 1887, which barred persons of ignoble origin from admission to the university, unless they were extraordinarily talented.

By 1894, 9,212 students had graduated from the university. Among the renowned scholars of the second half of the 19th century affiliated with the university were mathematician Pafnuty Chebyshev, physicist Heinrich Lenz, chemists Dmitri Mendeleev andAleksandr Butlerov, embryologist Alexander Kovalevsky, physiologist Ivan Sechenov, pedologist Vasily Dokuchaev. On March 24, 1896 (O.S.), on the campus of the university Alexander Popov publicly demonstrated transmission of radio waves for the first time in history.

As of January 1, 1900 (O.S.), there were 2,099 students enrolled in the Faculty of Law, 1,149 students in the Faculty of Physics and Mathematics, 212 students in the Faculty of Oriental Languages and 171 students in the Faculty of History and Philology. In 1902 the first student dining hall in Russia was opened in the university.

Since about 1897 regular strikes and student unrest shook the university and spread to other institutions of higher education across Russia. During the Revolution of 1905 the charter of the Russian universities was amended once more, the autonomy of the universities was partially restored and the right to elect the rector was returned to the academic board for the first time since 1884. In 1905–1906 the university was temporarily closed due to student unrest. Its autonomy was revoked again in 1911. In the same year the university was once again temporarily closed.

In 1914 with the start of the First World War, the university was renamed Petrograd Imperial University after its namesake city. During the War the university was the important center of mobilization of Russian intellectual resources and scholarship for the victory. In 1915 a branch of the university was opened in Perm, which later became Perm State University. The Assembly of Petrograd Imperial University openly welcomed the February Revolution of 1917, which put an end to the Russian monarchy, and the university came to be known as just Petrograd University. However, after the October Revolution of 1917, the staff and administration of the university were initially vocally opposed to the Bolshevik takeover of power and reluctant to cooperate with the Narkompros. Later in 1917–1922 during the Russian Civil War some of the staff suspected of counter-revolutionary sympathies suffered imprisonment (e.g., Lev Shcherba in 1919), execution, or exile abroad on the so-called Philosophers’ ships in 1922 (e.g., Nikolai Lossky). Furthermore, the entire staff suffered from hunger and extreme poverty during those years.

In 1918 the university was renamed 1st Petrograd State University, and in 1919 the Narkompros merged it with the 2nd PSU (former Psychoneurological Institute) and 3rd PSU (former Bestuzhev Higher Courses for Women) into Petrograd State University. In 1919 the Faculty of Social Science was established by the Narkompros instead of the Faculty of History and Philology, Faculty of Oriental Languages and Faculty of Law. Nicholas Marr became the first Dean of the new faculty. Chemist Alexey Favorsky became the Dean of the Faculty of Physics and Mathematics. Rabfaks and free university courses were opened on the basis of the university to provide mass education. In the fall of 1920, as observed by freshman student Alice Rosenbaum, enrollment was open and the majority of the students were anti-communist including, until removed, a few vocal opponents of the regime. Seeing that they were educating “class enemies”, a purge was conducted in 1922 based on the class background of the students and all students, other than seniors, with a bourgeois background were expelled.

In 1924 the university was renamed Leningrad State University after its namesake city. In order to suppress intellectual opposition to Soviet power, a number of historians working in the university, including Sergey Platonov, Yevgeny Tarle and Boris Grekov, were imprisoned in the so-called Academic Affair of 1929–1930 on fabricated charges of participating in a counter-revolutionary conspiracy aimed at overthrowing the government. Some other members of the staff were repressed in 1937–1938 during the Great Purge.

During the 1941–1944 Siege of Leningrad in World War II, many of the students and staff died from starvation, in battles or from repressions. However, the university operated continuously, evacuated to Saratov in 1942–1944. A branch of the university was hosted in Yelabuga during the war. In 1944 the Presidium of the Supreme Council of the Soviet Union awarded the university with the Order of Lenin on the occasion of its 125th anniversary and for its contribution to science and culture.

In 1948 the Council of Ministers named the university after Andrei Zhdanov, a recently deceased prominent communist official. This decision was revoked in 1989 during Perestroika.

In 1949–1950 several professors died in prison during the investigation of the Leningrad Affair fabricated by the central Soviet leadership, and the Minister of Education of the RSFSR, former rector Alexander Voznesensky, was executed.

In 1966 the Council of Ministers decided to build a new suburban campus in Petrodvorets for most of the mathematics and natural science faculties. The relocation of the faculties had been completed by the 1990s.

In 1969 the Presidium of the Supreme Council of the Soviet Union awarded the university with the Order of the Red Banner of Labour.

In 1991 the university was renamed back to Saint Petersburg State University after its namesake city.


Do you want discuss Saint Petersburg State University ? Any question, comments or reviews


Saint Petersburg State University on Map


Photo


Photos: Saint Petersburg State University official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

Saint Petersburg State University reviews

Join to discuss of Saint Petersburg State University.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.