倫敦城市大學

倫敦城市大學詳細

  • 國家 : 英國
  • 市 : 倫敦
  • 縮寫 :
  • 成立 : 1852
  • 學生們 (約。) : 18000
  • 不要忘了 討論倫敦城市大學
報名參加倫敦城市大學

概觀


學術卓越和商務和專業

市自詡其創新的方法來教育. 我們的承諾, 和激情, 卓越的學術排名第六我們從倫敦大學 (完整大學指南 2017). 我們的課程是由我們的學術人員的研究豐富. 75.7% 市提交卓越研究框架 (REF) 被評為世界是領先 4* (23.3%) 與國際優秀 3* (52.4%) 質量.

我們同時專注於企業和行業提供我們的學生對於未來的雇主直接互動的機會,使我們的課程相關, 令人興奮的和局部的. 許多人包括實習機會和參與高調從專業客座講師研究的創新模式. 這補充了大學內所提供的學術專長.

高品質學習

我們的做法旨在支持學生成為職業, 分析和查詢的畢業生誰能夠在自己的專業環境發揮重要作用.

為了支持在本科和研究生階段的學習, 我們最近成立,結合了物理和虛擬學習空間的綜合學習環境. 這是用來支持學生學業, 補充講座和研討會提供高品質的在線素材. 學習加強和發展部支持我們在創造新的和反應的學習機會的工作人員帶領我們的課程走向未來.

作為最高學術組織, 參議院負責大學的學術政策和法規. 該框架旨在支持高品質的學習和學術水平的維護是鞏固了我們學位授予權. 這個功能是通過學術發展部的支持.

學生員工參與

我們的課程的成功取決於學生和工作人員之間的有效銜接和交流. 我們是一個號碼在倫敦學生滿意度根據 完整大學指南 2017. 城市是被放置在頂部內的唯一倫敦機構 20 學生滿意度. 這顯著結果收到來自市後,在其有史以來最高的學生滿意度評分 2015 全國學生調查.

在與學生一起’ 聯盟, 為大學的關鍵優先事項是聽學生的意見, 在討論我們做什麼好,了解在那裡我們可以做出改進. 這種互動是大學生活和學生反饋的非常明顯的部分是我們如何確定我們的教育方向的核心部分.

學校 / 高校 / 部門 / 培訓班 / 院系


  • 市法學院, 結合法律的法院學校的旅館
  • 健康科學學院, 結合護理聖巴塞洛繆學院 & 助產
  • 藝術與社會科學學院, 包括新聞系
  • 數學學院, 計算機科學與工程
  • 約翰·卡斯商學院爵士

歷史


城市大學追踪它的起源到北安普頓學院, 成立於 1852 北安普頓侯爵誰捐贈在其上院建土地而得名, 北安普頓廣場和聖約翰街之間的伊斯靈頓. 該學院成立,以提供當地居民的教育和福利. 它是城市的倫敦教區慈善法令下構成 (1883), 以應用為目標 “促進工業技能, 基本知識, 健康的年輕男性和女性的幸福屬於貧困階層”.

北安普頓理工學院是技術在Clerkenwell的一個研究所, 倫敦, 成立於 1894. 校友包括科林·櫻桃,斯圖爾特·戴維斯和安東尼·亨特. 阿瑟·喬治Cocksedge, 英國體操運動員誰在競爭 1920 夏季奧運會, 是北安普頓理工學院的體操俱樂部的成員,是英國的冠軍 1920. 在 1937. 的莫里斯·丹尼斯 (北安普頓理工ABC) 是 1937 ABA中量級冠軍. 弗雷德里克Handley頁是在學院的講師inaeronautics. Handley頁A型, 第一電動飛機由他設計和建造, 最終成為學校的一個教學機身. 小說家埃里克·安布勒學習工程學研究所.

六原部門的研究所是應用物理與電氣工程; 藝術工藝品; 國內經濟和婦女交易; 電化學; 鐘錶(時間的科學和鐘錶製造藝術); 與機械工程和金屬交易.

在1903-04成立一個獨立的光學技術部門. 在 1909 在工程資格倫敦大學理學士度作為內生的第一批學生. 以來 1909 該研究所參與了航空教育, 在 2009 工程與數學科學學院慶祝航空的百年,在市. 在 1908 該研究所被用於奧運Games.Boxing發生在研究所.

該研究所被指定為 “高級技術學院” 在 1957.

在 1961 該研究所在信息科學的參與始於上,推出了課程 “收集和交流科學知識”. 在 1966 全市共接待itsroyal包機, 變得 “城市大學” 以反映該機構與倫敦金融城的密切聯繫. 在 1971 阿波羅 15 宇航員參觀城市大學,並介紹了副校長, 泰特, 與來自阿波羅一塊隔熱屏的 15 火箭.

在十月 1995 它宣布城市大學將與護理的聖巴塞洛繆學校都合併 & 助產及放射的景學院, 在健康科學的城市研究所加倍學生人數圍繞 2,500.

城市大學形成了瑪麗結成戰略聯盟, 倫敦大學四月 2001. 在五月 2001, 在教學樓發生重大火災燒毀四樓的辦公室和屋頂. 在八月 2001 城市大學政法學院院的星同意合併. 繼約翰·卡斯爵士基金會捐贈, 數百萬英鎊的大樓在建 106 Bunhill行的卡斯商學院.

新的2300萬£建設,以容納社會科學學院和語言系和傳播學中被打開 2004. 在一月 2006, 城市大學宣布,卡​​斯商學院將在金絲雀碼頭的加拿大廣場之一可以打開一個新的校園, 專門設計的高級管理人員培訓班. 大學的二級重建和再開發上市教學樓 (繼火 2001) 在7月完成 2006.

在 2007 藝校接受了£10米建築整修. 新同學’ 工會會場設在10月開業 2008 叫 “TEN平方”, 它提供了一個輪轂為學生白天社交在,還提供多種晚間娛樂節目的包括俱樂部之夜, 社會活動和智力競賽之夜.

在一月 2010, 房地與東英吉利大學共享 (UEA) 倫敦, 以下城市大學與INTO大學合作夥伴的合作夥伴關係. 從那時起,城市大學已經恢復了自己的國際預科課程,以培養學生為他們的大學預科一年. 在四月份 2011, 據宣布,居住和薩德勒的體育中心目前大廳將關閉並拆除在六月重建 2011. 有人提出,居住的新館和體育中心將在九月重新開放 2013.

城市大學宣布,將參加倫敦八月大學 2016, 並提出更名為倫敦城市大學.


你要嗎 討論倫敦城市大學 ? 任何問題, 意見或評論


倫敦城市大學地圖


照片


相片: 倫敦城市大學 官方Facebook

視頻





與好友分享這個有用的信息

倫敦城市大學的評論

加入倫敦城市大學的討論.
請注意: EducationBro雜誌讓你在閱讀有關大學信息的能力 96 語言, 但我們要求您尊重其他成員和英語發表評論.

City University London

City University London Details

Enroll at City University London

Overview


Academic Excellence and Business and the Professions

City prides itself on its innovative approach to education. Our commitment to, and passion for, academic excellence ranks us 6th out of London universities (The Complete University Guide 2017). Our courses are enriched by the research of our academic staff. 75.7% of City’s submission to the Research Excellence Framework (REF) was rated as being of world leading 4* (23.3%) and internationally excellent 3* (52.4%) quality.

Our concurrent focus on business and the professions provides our students with opportunities for direct interaction with future employers and makes our courses relevant, exciting and topical. Many have innovative modes of study involving placement opportunities and engagement with high-profile visiting lecturers from the professions. This complements the academic expertise offered within the University.

High Quality Learning

Our approach aims to support students in becoming professional, analytical and enquiring graduates who can play a substantial role in their professional environment.

To support learning at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels, we have recently established an integrated learning environment that combines physical and virtual learning spaces. This is used to support students in their studies, supplementing lectures and seminars with high quality online material. The department for Learning Enhancement and Development supports our staff in creating new and responsive learning opportunities to lead our courses into the future.

As the highest academic body, Senate is responsible for the University’s academic policies and regulations. This framework aims to support high quality learning and the maintenance of academic standards that underpins our degree-awarding powers. This function is supported by the Academic Development Unit.

Student-Staff Engagement

The success of our courses is dependent on effective engagement and communication between students and staff. We are number one in London for student satisfaction according to the The Complete University Guide 2017. City is the only London institution to be placed within the top 20 for student satisfaction. This significant result comes after City received its highest ever student satisfaction score in the 2015 National Student Survey.

In conjunction with the Students’ Union, a key priority for the University is listening to the views of our students, discussing what we do well and understanding where we could make improvements. This interaction is a highly visible part of University life and feedback from students is a core part of how we determine the direction of our education.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


  • City Law School, incorporating Inns of Court School of Law
  • School of Health Sciences, incorporating St Bartholomew School of Nursing & Midwifery
  • School of Arts and Social Science, including the Department of Journalism
  • School of Mathematics, Computer Science and Engineering
  • Sir John Cass Business School

History


City University traces its origin to the Northampton Institute, established in 1852 and named after the Marquess of Northampton who donated the land on which the institute was built, between Northampton Square and St John Street in Islington. The institute was established to provide for the education and welfare of the local population. It was constituted under the City of London Parochial Charities Act (1883), with the objective of “the promotion of the industrial skill, general knowledge, health and well-being of young men and women belonging to the poorer classes”.

Northampton Polytechnic Institute was an institute of technology in Clerkenwell, London, founded in 1894. Alumni include Colin Cherry,Stuart Davies and Anthony Hunt.  Arthur George Cocksedge, a British gymnast who competed in the 1920 Summer Olympics, was a member of the Northampton Polytechnic Institute’s Gymnastics Club and was Champion of the United Kingdom in 1920. In 1937. Maurice Dennis of the (Northampton Polytechnic ABC) was the 1937 ABA Middleweight Champion. Frederick Handley Page was a lecturer inaeronautics at the institute. The Handley Page Type A, the first powered aircraft designed and built by him, ended up as an instructional airframe at the school. The novelist Eric Ambler studied engineering at the institute.

The six original departments at the institute were Applied Physics and Electrical Engineering; Artistic Crafts; Domestic Economy and Women’s Trades; Electro-Chemistry; Horology(the science of time and art of clock-making); and Mechanical Engineering and Metal Trades.

In 1903–04 a separate technical optics department was established. In 1909 the first students qualified for University of London BSc degrees in engineering as internal students. Since 1909 the institute had been involved in aeronautics education, and in 2009 the School of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences celebrated the centenary of aeronautics at City. In 1908 the Institute was used for the Olympic Games.Boxing took place at the Institute.

The institute was designated a “College of Advanced Technology” in 1957.

In 1961 the institute’s involvement in information science began with the introduction of a course on “Collecting and Communicating Scientific Knowledge”. In 1966 City received itsroyal charter, becoming “The City University” to reflect the institution’s close links with the City of London. In 1971 the Apollo 15 astronauts visited City University and presented the vice-chancellor, Tait, with a piece of heat shield from the Apollo 15 rocket.

In October 1995 it was announced that City University would merge with both the St Bartholomew School of Nursing & Midwifery and the Charterhouse College of Radiography, doubling the number of students in City’s Institute of Health Sciences to around 2,500.

City University formed a strategic alliance with Queen Mary, University of London in April 2001. In May 2001, a major fire in the college building gutted the fourth floor offices and roof. In August 2001 City University and the Inns of Court School of Law agreed to merge. Following a donation from Sir John Cass’s Foundation, a multimillion-pound building was built at 106 Bunhill Row for the Cass Business School.

A new £23 million building to house the School of Social Sciences and the Department of Language and Communication Science was opened in 2004. In January 2006, City University announced that the Cass Business School would be opening a new campus in Canary Wharf’s One Canada Square, specialised in courses designed for senior managers. The reconstruction and redevelopment of the university’s Grade II listed college building (following the fire in 2001) was completed in July 2006.

In 2007 the School of Arts received a £10m building refurbishment. A new students’ union venue opened in October 2008 called “TEN squared”, which provides a hub for students to socialise in during the day and hosts a wide range of evening entertainment including club nights, society events and quiz nights.

In January 2010, premises were shared with the University of East Anglia (UEA) London, following City University’s partnership with INTO University Partnerships. Since then City University has resumed its own International Foundation Programme to prepare students for their pre-university year. In April 2011, it was announced that the current halls of residence and Saddler’s Sports Centre will be closed and demolished for rebuilding in June 2011. It was proposed that the new halls of residence and the sports centre would be reopened in September 2013.

City University announced that it will join the University of London in August 2016, and proposed changing its name to City University of London.


Do you want discuss City University London ? Any question, comments or reviews


City University London on Map


Photo


Photos: City University London official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

City University London reviews

Join to discuss of City University London.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.