基爾大學

基爾大學. 英格蘭教育. 研究英國. 教育兄弟 - 留學雜誌.

基爾大學細節

  • 國家 : 英國
  • 市 : 語言
  • 縮寫 : KU
  • 成立 : 1949
  • 學生們 (約。) : 1000
  • 不要忘了 討論基爾大學
在報名基爾大學

概觀


我們基爾大學,我們很不同. 公司成立十餘年 60 年前的信念,我們遇到了一種新的社會需求, 經濟和世界, 我們的原則共鳴現在比以往任何時候都更.

坐落在 600 英畝的鄉村在英國的心臟, 我們的很多學生和一些我們的工作人員活, 以及學習和工作在這裡. 這是一個大的校園,但小而國際化社區. 我們很人性化操作, 為人們提供思考的空間,很多工作要做, 與俱樂部繁多, 社會, 活動和志願者的工作機會.

我們先後在排名學生滿意度調查的最頂端. 這是因為它比綠色更可愛, 它是研究和學術追求卓越的地方太多. 無論是健康, 人文與社會科學或自然科學, 無論您的研究領域, 我們提供一個獨特的和國際的學習經驗. 我們教小團體, 提供單對單訪問我們的學者和高度重視我們的教學質量作為我們的研究.

我們的學位課程和基礎多年來一直是具有挑戰性的獨特, 靈活,促進更廣泛的基礎知識. 我們的跨學科和多學科的方法並不僅僅支撐一個美好的教育,但權力我們的世界領先的研究. 所有這一切也意味著我們提供從我們的研究和教學更大的影響力和價值, 在全球以及當地.

這也就難怪我們的學生和校友的大學本身作為個體: 進步和成就, 清楚他們是誰,他們想要什麼, 裝備,以滿足一些大的挑戰當今世界的禮物, 為社會和企業的好.

基爾是斯塔福德郡北部曼徹斯特中途和伯明翰之間. 大學是俯瞰紐卡斯爾安德萊姆鎮的一座小山上 (從基爾2英里) 與史篤城 (其主要的購物區漢利) 幾英里的進一​​步.

還有校園周邊欣欣向榮的學生生活和廣泛的咖啡廳,酒吧, 餐館和酒吧在紐卡斯爾和俱樂部在漢利.

戲劇愛好者將享受新的維克在紐卡斯爾和漢利在麗晶, 而最新的薄膜在紐卡斯爾的多屏幕電影院放映. 英國最大的主題公園, 奧爾頓塔, 約 45 從大學分鐘. 美麗的山頂區只有 20 英里遠基爾. 見山頂區- 東西可看,以獲取更多信息辦.

基爾的中央位置,很容易在國內取得任何進展, 與近在咫尺的M6和鐵路. 曼徹斯特和伯明翰分別有一個小時的車程, 而倫敦是 90 乘火車分鐘.

基爾大學提供廣泛的課程設置跟踪你為你的未來. 我們為學生提供良好的支持和設施, 學業和社交.

我們的課程提供:

  • 促進教學和技能,你未來的職業.
  • 在廣泛的學術和職業科目的教學質量高.
  • 機會通過我們獨特的雙榮譽學位結合自己的興趣和發展自己的技能 – 超過 500 可用的科目組合.

我們還提供專業的醫學單榮譽學位, 健康, 法律和商業科目.

一個有吸引力, 友善的校園, 基爾提供了一個非常特殊的學生經歷:

  • 在學生們出色的娛樂’ 聯盟每天晚上的一周.
  • 畢業生離開基爾與一些在英國最好的學術和就業成功率

這是基爾差異.

學校 / 高校 / 部門 / 培訓班 / 院系


  • 人文與社會科學學院
  • 美國研究
  • 犯罪
  • 教育
  • 英語
  • 電影研究
  • 歷史
  • 人文
  • 基爾大學管理學院
  • 語言學習單元
  • 文科
  • 媒體, 通信和文化
  • 音樂和音樂技術
  • 政治, 國際關係與哲學
  • 社會科學與公共政策
  • 社會工作
  • 社會學
  • 中醫學及健康科學學院
  • 保健及康復
  • 醫學
  • 護理和助產
  • 藥店
  • 自然科學學院
  • 化學與藥物化學
  • 計算機和數學
  • 法醫學
  • 地理, 地質與環境
  • 生命科學
  • 物理學和天體物理學
  • 物理和地理科學
  • 心理學
  • 輔導

歷史


基爾大學成立於 1949 北斯塔福德郡大學學院的, 在A D林賽的主動權, 那麼哲學教授和Balliol學院碩士, 牛津. 林賽是工人階級成人教育的堅定倡導者, 誰曾首次提出一個 “人民大學” 在地址北斯塔福德郡工人’ 教育協會 1925.

上 13 遊行 1946, 林夕寫給沃爾特爵士莫伯利, 大學教育資助委員會主席 (UGC), 建議建立一所大學的 “新上線”. 既定的做法是新的高校沒有學位授予權即將推出, 而不是採取倫敦大學的外部度. 最重要的是, 林賽想 “擺脫外部倫敦程度”, 而不是從一開始就形成具有權威性大學設置了自己的教學大綱, 也許是建立大學的贊助下行事. 林賽還寫信給牛津大學的副校長, 姑且要求就是這樣贊助.

一個探索委員會由特倫特河畔斯托克市議會成立, 由林賽主持,市議員托馬斯·霍伍德支持, 伊特魯里亞的牧師和勞工團體的領袖在市議會. 已獲得公共資金從教資會在一月 1948, 委員會獲得的基爾大廳, 一個莊嚴的家紐卡斯爾安德萊姆郊區, 從它的主人, 拉爾夫Sneyd. 大廳, 在Sneyd家族的祖宅, 二戰期間,此前被徵用的戰爭辦公室為軍事用途, 並用了大量的Sneyd遺產和陸軍豎立一些預製結構的供給, 為31,000£總和.

默認情況下,第一個研究生是喬治陳奕迅曾就讀於英國伯明翰大學數學在獲得學士學位 1951. 他獲得碩士 1952 從基爾.

第一個研究生在基爾學習完全是瑪格麗特Boulds在 1954, 畢業哲學和英語. 穩步增長, 大學學院晉升為大學地位 1962, 在今年一月接受一個新的皇家憲章, 並採用名稱基爾大學. 這仍然是正式名稱, 儘管基爾大學現在是日常使用. 它被確定為平板玻璃大學之一.

在 1968, 皇家委員會 醫學教育 (1965-68) 發行的 “托德報告”, 會議審議的可能性 醫學院 在基爾正在建立. 據認為,北斯塔福德郡將是一個很好的網站, 具有大當地居民和一些大型醫院. 有人認為,最低的攝入量 150 學生做一個醫學院,每年將需要經濟上和教育上可行. 然而, 大學當時太小,無法支持這種規模的醫學院. 然而, 在 1978, 研究生醫學系基爾開. 此進行醫學研究和研究生醫學教育, 但沒有教本科醫學生. 在 2002, 從曼徹斯特醫學院的一些學生開始被教導在基爾. 最後基爾自己的醫學院開設 2007.

在 1994, 物理治療和Oswestry功能北部Staffordshire學校 (ONSSP), 這一直設在羅伯特·瓊斯和Agnes亨特骨科醫院在Oswestry的獨立機構, 什羅普郡, 與基爾大學合併, 成為物理研究的基爾系, 從Oswestry功能搬遷到基爾大學校園. 在八月 1995, 基爾大學合併護理北部Staffordshire大學和助產, 成型護理和助產的新學校.

在 1998 和 1999 有一些爭議,由大學當局決定出售本特納收藏, 並已深受註解 - - 數學印刷書籍包括一些曾屬於一個珍貴藏品艾薩克·牛頓, 為了資助大學圖書館的重大改進. 高級大學官員授權出售收集到的私人買家, 與不能保證它會保持不變或在英國範圍內. 雖然法律允許, 出售是不受歡迎的學術團體之間以及爭議是由長期的負面新聞不斷提示£1米銷售價格太低,該集合是一定要被打破了推波助瀾.

由於人氣和資金下降, 德國部門12月結束 2004, 雖然大學保留了它的物理學學位儘管面臨著類似的壓力標的.

在 2009, 該大學被授予女王週年獎高等教育和繼續教育, 對於 “在創業早期干預和初級保健與NHS工作,慢性疼痛和關節炎的治療, 通過GP網絡和用戶組關聯研究,以遞送給患者”.

在 2012 基爾推出了兩款新的基礎年, 國際預科課程和加快國際預科課程, 即添加到現有報價, 作為人文學科, 科學, 社會科學, 健康, 一般基礎年,基礎年的人誰是視障.

從大學的網站進一步擴大 2015 預計通過建立科學中心,使私人投資. 這將帶來成千上萬的就業機會,以斯塔福德郡以及大學. 智能能源中心的建立旨在建立一個可持續的能源來源,促進綠色技術.


你要嗎 討論基爾大學 ? 任何問題, 意見或評論


基爾大學地圖


照片


相片: 基爾大學 官方Facebook

視頻





與好友分享這個有用的信息

基爾大學的評論

加入基爾大學的討論.
請注意: EducationBro雜誌讓你在閱讀有關大學信息的能力 96 語言, 但我們要求您尊重其他成員和英語發表評論.

Keele University

Keele University. Education in England. Study in United Kingdom. Education Bro - Study Abroad Magazine.

Keele University Details

  • Country : United Kingdom
  • City : Keele
  • Acronym : KU
  • Founded : 1949
  • Students (approx.) : 1000
  • Don't forget to discuss Keele University
Enroll at Keele University

Overview


We’re Keele University and we’re different. Founded more than 60 years ago on the belief that we meet the demands of a new kind of society, economy and world, our principles resonate now more than ever.

Nestled in 600 acres of countryside in the heart of the UK, many of our students and a number of our staff live, as well as study and work here. It’s a big campus but a small and cosmopolitan community. We operate on a human scale, providing people the space to think and plenty to do, with a vast array of clubs, societies, activities and volunteering opportunities.

We successively rank at the very top of student satisfaction surveys. This is because it’s more than green and lovely, it’s a place of research and academic excellence too. Whether it’s Health, Humanities and Social Sciences or Natural Sciences, whatever your area of study, we deliver a unique and international learning experience. We teach in small groups, provide one-to-one access to our academics and value the quality of our teaching as highly as our research.

Our degree programmes and foundation years have always been distinctively challenging, flexible and foster a broader based knowledge. Our interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary approach doesn’t just underpin a wonderful education but powers our world leading research. All of which also means we deliver greater impact and value from our research and teaching, globally as well as locally.

It’s little wonder our students and alumni are as individual as the University itself: progressive and accomplished, clear about who they are and what they want to be, equipped to meet some of the big challenges the world today presents, for the good of society and enterprise.

Keele is in North Staffordshire halfway between Manchester and Birmingham. The University is on a hill overlooking the town of Newcastle-under-Lyme (two miles from Keele) with Stoke-on-Trent (and its main shopping area Hanley) just a couple of miles further.

There is a thriving student life around the campus and a wide range of café-bars, restaurants and pubs in Newcastle and clubs in Hanley.

Theatre lovers will enjoy the New Vic in Newcastle and the Regent in Hanley, while the latest films are shown at the multi-screen cinema in Newcastle. The UK’s biggest theme park, Alton Towers, is around 45 minutes from the University. The beautiful Peak District is only 20 miles away from Keele. See Peak District- things to see and do for more information.

Keele’s central location means it is easy to get anywhere in the country, with the M6 and rail links close at hand. Manchester and Birmingham are each an hour’s drive away, while London is 90 minutes by train.

Keele offers a wide range of courses to set you on track for your future. We provide excellent support and facilities for students, both academically and socially.

Our courses offer:

  • Stimulating teaching and learning and skills for your future career.
  • High quality teaching across a wide range of academic and vocational subjects.
  • Opportunity to combine your interests and develop your skills through our distinctive Dual Honours degrees – with over 500 subject combinations available.

We also offer professional Single Honours degrees in Medicine, Health, Law and business subjects.

With an attractive, friendly campus, Keele offers a very special student experience:

  • Excellent entertainment in the Students’ Union every night of the week.
  • Graduates leave Keele with some of the best academic and employment success rates in the UK

It’s the Keele difference.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


  • Faculty of Humanities and Social Science
  • American Studies
  • Criminology
  • Education
  • English
  • Film Studies
  • History
  • Humanities
  • Keele Management School
  • Language Learning Unit
  • Law
  • Liberal Arts
  • Media, Communications and Culture
  • Music and Music Technology
  • Politics, International Relations and Philosophy
  • Social Science and Public Policy
  • Social Work
  • Sociology
  • Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences
  • Health and Rehabilitation
  • Medicine
  • Nursing and Midwifery
  • Pharmacy
  • Faculty of Natural Sciences
  • Chemistry and Medicinal Chemistry
  • Computing and Mathematics
  • Forensic Science
  • Geography, Geology and the Environment
  • Life Sciences
  • Physics and Astrophysics
  • Physical and Geographical Sciences
  • Psychology
  • Counselling

History


Keele University was established in 1949 as the University College of North Staffordshire, at the initiative of A D Lindsay, then Professor of Philosophy and Master of Balliol College, Oxford. Lindsay was a strong advocate of working-class adult education, who had first suggested a “people’s university” in an address to the North Staffordshire Workers’ Educational Association in 1925.

On 13 March 1946, Lindsay wrote to Sir Walter Moberly, chair of the University Grants Committee (UGC), suggesting the establishment of a college “on new lines”. Established practice was for new colleges to be launched without degree-awarding powers, instead taking external degrees of the University of London. Crucially, Lindsay wanted to “get rid of the London external degree”, instead forming a college with the authority from the start to set its own syllabus, perhaps acting under the sponsorship of an established university. Lindsay wrote also to the Vice-Chancellor of Oxford, tentatively requesting just such sponsorship.

An exploratory committee was established by Stoke-on-Trent City Council, chaired by Lindsay and supported by Alderman Thomas Horwood, Vicar of Etruria and leader of the Labour group on the City Council. Having secured public funding from the UGC in January 1948, the Committee acquired Keele Hall, a stately home on the outskirts of Newcastle-under-Lyme, from its owner, Ralph Sneyd. The Hall, ancestral residence of the Sneyd family, had previously been requisitioned by the War Office for military use during World War II, and was supplied with the bulk of the Sneyd estate and a number of prefabricated structures erected by the Army, for the sum of £31,000.

The first graduate by default was George Eason had studied Mathematics at Birmingham University gaining a BSc in 1951. He received his MSc in 1952 from Keele.

The first graduate studying fully at Keele was Margaret Boulds in 1954, graduating in Philosophy and English. Growing steadily, the university college was promoted to university status in 1962, receiving a new Royal charter in January of that year, and adopting the name the University of Keele. This remains the official name, although Keele University is now the everyday usage. It is identified as one of the Plate glass universities.

In 1968, the Royal Commission on Medical Education (1965–68) issued the “Todd Report”, which considered the possibility of a medical school being established at Keele. It was thought that North Staffordshire would be a good site, having a large local population and several large hospitals. It was considered that a minimum intake of 150 students each year would be necessary to make a medical school economically and educationally viable. However, the university was at that time too small to support a medical school of this size. However, in 1978, Keele Department of Postgraduate Medicine opened. This conducted medical research and postgraduate medical education, but did not teach undergraduate medical students. In 2002, some students from Manchester Medical School began being taught at Keele. Finally Keele’s own medical school opened in 2007.

In 1994, the Oswestry and North Staffordshire School of Physiotherapy (ONSSP), which had been a separate institution based at the Robert Jones and Agnes Hunt Orthopaedic Hospital in Oswestry, Shropshire, merged with Keele University, becoming Keele’s Department of Physiotherapy Studies, and relocating from Oswestry to the Keele University campus. In August 1995, Keele University merged with North Staffordshire College of Nursing and Midwifery, forming the new School of Nursing and Midwifery.

In 1998 and 1999 there was some controversy over the decision by university authorities to sell the Turner Collection, a valuable collection of mathematical printed books including some which had belonged to – and had been heavily annotated by – Isaac Newton, in order to fund major improvements to the university library. Senior university officials authorised the sale of the collection to a private buyer, with no guarantee that it would remain intact or within the UK. Although legally permissible, the sale was unpopular among the academic community and the controversy was fuelled by prolonged negative press coverage suggesting that the £1m sale price was too low and that the collection was certain to be broken up.

Due to declining popularity and funding, the German department closed in December 2004, although the university retained its physics degree despite the subject facing similar pressures.

In 2009, the university was awarded Queen’s Anniversary Prizes for Higher and Further Education, for “pioneering work with the NHS in early intervention and primary care in the treatment of chronic pain and arthritis, linking research to delivery to patients through GP networks and user groups”.

In 2012 Keele introduced two new foundation years, the international foundation year and the accelerated international foundation year, that add to the existing offer, as the humanities, science, social science, health, general foundation years and foundation year for people who are visually impaired.

Further expansion on site of the university from 2015 is expected to bring private investment by establishing a science centre. This would bring thousands of jobs to Staffordshire as well as the university. The creation of a smart energy centre aims to establish a sustainable energy source and promote green technology.


Do you want discuss Keele University ? Any question, comments or reviews


Keele University on Map


Photo


Photos: Keele University official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

Keele University reviews

Join to discuss of Keele University.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.