جامعة نيوكاسل

جامعة نيوكاسل - الدراسة في المملكة المتحدة

نيوكاسل تفاصيل جامعة

  • بلد : المملكة المتحدة
  • مدينة : نيوكاسل
  • اختصار : لا
  • مؤسس : 1834
  • الطلاب (تقريبا.) : 24000
  • لا تنسى أن بحث جامعة نيوكاسل
التسجيل في جامعة نيوكاسل

نظرة عامة


جامعة نيوكاسل, المملكة المتحدة, هي جامعة المدنية الحديثة مع تقليد عريق يفخر به, ملتزمة من الطراز العالمي التفوق الأكاديمي – ولكن التميز لغرض.

رؤيتنا هي من نيوكاسل كجامعة ذات السمعة العالمية للتميز الأكاديمي. مهمتنا هي أن تكون مؤسسة البحوث المكثفة على المستوى العالمي والتي توفر التعليم وتسهل التعلم من أعلى مستويات الجودة ويلعب دورا قياديا في المجالات الاقتصادية, التنمية الاجتماعية والثقافية لشمال شرق انجلترا.

يقع الحرم الجامعي الرئيسي للجامعة في وسط نيوكاسل أبون تاين, عاصمة عالمية في شمال شرق انجلترا والتي تتمتع بسمعة عالمية لجودة الحياة الثقافية والاجتماعية. تشتهر منطقة شمال شرق قدر لدفء الترحيب باعتبارها لجمال وعرة من الساحل والريف, وعن الكذب يسهل الوصول إليها من المدينة وجامعة. مدينة واتصال جيد بين وطنيا ودوليا – لندن ثلاث ساعات فقط بالقطار, ويبعد مطار نيوكاسل الدولي بالقرب من, الذي يربط المدينة أكثر من 80 وجهة حول العالم.

جامعة اليوم لديها المجتمع الدولي مزدهر تقريبا 16,000 الجامعية و 5,600 طلاب الدراسات العليا من أكثر من 120 دولة حول العالم. يتم تسليم التدريس والبحث في 24 المدارس الأكاديمية و 40 معاهد البحوث ومراكز البحوث, تنتشر في ثلاث كليات: كلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية; كلية العلوم الطبية; وكلية العلوم, الزراعة والهندسة.

غالبية أنشطة التعليم والتعلم لدينا تتم على 50 فدان الحرم الجامعي الذي يقدم العديد من تذكير من تراثنا كما يفعلون علامات مستقبل مشرق لدينا المباني. الزجاج والصلب هياكل حديثة جدا الجلوس جنبا إلى جنب مع مبانينا redbrick مبدع, نتيجة لبرنامج مستمر للاستثمار والتنمية في الحرم الجامعي والمرافق المصممة لضمان أن جامعة نيوكاسل لا تزال من بين الوجهات الأكثر شعبية في المملكة المتحدة للطلاب في الداخل والخارج.

ونحن نقدم في جميع أنحاء 175 برامج درجة البكالوريوس بدوام كامل في مجموعة واسعة من المجالات الموضوعية التي تغطي الفنون, علوم, الهندسة والطب, جنبا إلى جنب مع ما يقرب من 340 برامج الدراسات العليا والبحوث التي تدرس عبر مجموعة من التخصصات. مرة واحدة هنا, مضمونة طلابنا تجربة تعليمية ممتازة. استفادتهم من تدريس علم البحث من قبل عاطفي, أعضاء هيئة التدريس الموهوبين, وكثير منهم قادة في مجالاتهم في المملكة المتحدة, وفي بعض الحالات, العالم, إتاحة الفرصة أمام الطلاب للدراسة في طليعة من الانضباط الذي اختاروه.

والطلاب أيضا الحصول على بعض من أفضل المرافق والخدمات الطلابية في المملكة المتحدة. ويدعم التعلم عن طريق خدمة المكتبة وعلى مدار 24 ساعة متعددة مجموعات الحوسبة الحائز على جائزة. مكتبة تضم أكثر من مليون كتاب ودورية وأكثر 500,000 الكتب الإلكترونية – واحدة من أكبر مجموعات الكتب الإلكترونية في البلاد.

سمعة نيوكاسل لإعداد الطلاب لعالم العمل هو من بين الأفضل في المملكة المتحدة. الجامعة هي من بين الأعلى 20 في البلاد لمعدل العمل لدينا, مع أحدث الأرقام الرسمية تظهر أن 93% من خريجينا الذهاب إلى العمل أو مواصلة التعليم في غضون ستة أشهر من التخرج. وكان أكثر من ثلاثة أرباع منهم في وظائف على مستوى الدراسات العليا.

يدعم لدينا وظائف الحائز على جائزة خدمة إطلاق حوالي 30 الشركات الطلابية كل عام، وكان هناك 17% زيادة في عدد الخريجين الذين ذهبوا على أن تكون لحسابهم الخاص. تعهدت جامعة لإعطاء كل طالب الفرصة للاستفادة من موضع العمل, التدريب أو مشروع تطوعي خلال فترة وجودهم هنا. ونحن أيضا واحدة من أعلى 20 الجامعات المستهدفة من قبل أرباب العمل العليا في المملكة المتحدة.

طلابنا من التقييم باستمرار وقتهم في نيوكاسل عالية جدا. ال 2012 وجد مسح الطالب الوطني أن 89% من طلابنا كانوا سعداء مع وقتهم في نيوكاسل, مما يجعلنا عشر بين أقراننا. ووجد أحدث باروميتر الطالب الدولي أن تسعة من أصل عشرة من الطلاب الأجانب لدينا أن أوصي لنا لأصدقائهم وعائلاتهم, على أفضل سعر الثاني عشر في العالم.

جامعة نيوكاسل هو أيضا مكانا رائعا للمشاركة في مجموعة واسعة من الأنشطة الرياضية وفي الجزء العلوي 10 من كليات الجامعة البريطانية والرياضة (BUCS) عصبة.

بوصفها عضوا في مجموعة راسل المرموقة 24 جامعات البحوث المكثفة, جامعة نيوكاسل لديه سمعة متميزة عبر مجموعة واسعة من التخصصات. جميع 38 تم التعرف على مجالات البحوث المقدمة فيها بأنها 'الرائدة في العالم’ أو "المعترف بها دوليا’ من جانب آخر 2008 تقييم الأبحاث (RAE). نحن في المرتبة 17 في المملكة المتحدة لبحوث الطاقة, وفقا لنشر النفوذ, أسبوعي البحوث, ونحن في رأس اثني عشر في المملكة المتحدة لبحوث الطاقة في العلوم والهندسة.

ونحن نهدف إلى أن تكون جامعة بحثية هامة على الصعيد العالمي، ونحن القيام بأنشطة بحثنا مع الالتزام الحازم بالتميز والاهتمام باحتياجات كل من المجتمع المحلي والقضايا العالمية. هذا المزيج من كونها عالميا طموحة وذات جذور محلية يدعم رؤية جامعة نيوكاسل في المستقبل.

ونحن نسعى جاهدين لمن الطراز العالمي التفوق الأكاديمي – ولكن التميز مع تأثير – بحيث يستجيب عملنا الأكاديمي ذات جودة عالية لاحتياجات ومطالب اجتماعية واسعة النطاق. وسعيا لتحقيق هذا الهدف, قمنا بتطوير مفهوم الموضوعات المجتمعية التحدي, تحت أي نحن الآن مجموعة جزءا كبيرا من بحثنا. من خلال النظر في أنشطتنا في هذا الطريق, نأمل أن المجتمع ككل يمكن أن نفهم بشكل أفضل حيث أننا يمكن أن تساعد في إحداث فرق - وجامعة يمكن أن تثبت التزامها بالتميز مع تأثير.

ويتم اختيار لدينا الموضوعات المجتمعية التحدي باستخدام ثلاثة مبادئ واضحة. أولا, أنها تتعلق القضايا حيث لدينا خبرة حقيقية للمساهمة; ثانيا, يجب أن تكون الموضوعات التي تهم العالمية الكبرى مع صدى كبير في بلدنا; وأخيرا, يجب أن تكون في المناطق التي قمنا بتطوير المشاركة حقيقي مع مجتمعات صاحب المصلحة العامة، والعديد من, حتى يكون لدينا فهم عميق للقضايا.

شامل, الموضوعات الثلاثة من شيخوخة, الاستدامة والتجديد الاجتماعي هي مثال صارخ استراتيجية الجامعة كل من التفوق الأكاديمي - قدرتنا - وضعنا كجامعة المدنية الذي يدفع التزامنا.

هنا نحن قدموا مساهمات المنوية لمرض الزهايمر والخرف البحوث, تعزيز فهمنا للبيولوجيا الأساسية لماذا تقدمنا ​​في العمر, وضعت نماذج جديدة من التعامل مع كبار السن لمواجهة تحديات الرعاية الاجتماعية الرائد،.

بالفعل المعترف بها دوليا لعملنا في أنظمة توليد الطاقة الكهربائية و, نحن الآن تعيين للبناء على خبرتنا في التوجه نحو اقتصاد منخفض الكربون. دوليا, لقد ساعد البلدان في مكافحة المشاكل البيئية التي تسببها المياه الملوثة تتسرب من المناجم المهجورة والسياسات الحكومية أثرت.

نحن نطبق نقاط القوة لدينا كبيرة في الأبحاث المتعلقة بكيفية الأفراد, المجتمعات المحلية والمنظمات على التكيف وتزدهر في بيئة متغيرة وصعبة بسرعة. معهد نيوكاسل من أجل تجديد الاجتماعية هي محور للنشاط البحوث التي تركز على طرح الأسئلة الكبيرة التي تواجه مجتمعنا. والجدير بالذكر, ونحن معروفون لتركيزنا على القضايا الريفية, تسليط الضوء على حكومة المشاكل التي تواجه الريف.

تواصل جامعة نيوكاسل الى زيادة مكانتها الدولية في الداخل والخارج. وشهد هذا العام الدراسي على الانتهاء من بناء 53M £ حيث يمكن للطلاب الدوليين يعيش ويتعلم في قلب الحرم الجامعي. افتتحت جامعة INTO نيوكاسل أبوابها في سبتمبر 2012 وسوف تلبي في نهاية المطاف لمدة تصل إلى 800 الطلاب. وفي التنمية يضم مركز تعليم بنيت لهذا الغرض مع غرف 18teaching, مركز مصادر التعلم, مسرح محاضرة, علوم المختبرات ومختبرات الحاسوب، فضلا عن المكاتب الإدارية والأكاديمية, المجالات الاجتماعية ومطعم, وقاعتين جديدة من الإقامة. سويا, برنيسيا قاعات وجوزيف كوين قاعات توفير 532 علامة تجارية جديدة, غرف نوم دراسة ذات جودة عالية.

في الوقت نفسه إلى زيادة مجتمعنا الدولي مزدهر هنا في نيوكاسل, نحن تعزيز علاقاتنا الاستراتيجية العالمية من خلال تطوير وجودنا في جنوب شرق آسيا
من خلال جامعة نيوكاسل سنغافورة الدولية (NUIS) ونيوكاسل الطب جامعة (NUMED) Malaysia.

وجودنا في سنغافورة, وشراكتنا مع معهد سنغافورة للتكنولوجيا (SIT), يذهب من قوة إلى قوة. بشهر مايو 2012, كشفت SIT خطط لتطوير خمسة فروع بنيت لهذا الغرض, اثنين من شأنها أن تعزز العروض جامعة نيوكاسل في سنغافورة. تقع في أساس اثنين من المعاهد الفنية الكبرى في سنغافورة, نجي آن ونانيانغ, وهذه التطورات ملايين جنيه توفر بيئة تعليمية للدولة من بين الفن لطلابنا.

من ثلاثة برامج درجة وفقط 67 الطلاب وأربعة أعضاء هيئة التدريس في 2009, نمت NUIS أضعافا مضاعفة. هذا العام, أكثر من 500 الجامعيين يدرسون مع NUIS, التي تقدم الآن ستة برامج درجة تتراوح بين البحرية, في الخارج, الهندسة الميكانيكية والكيميائية للهندسة المنشآت البحرية والغذاء والتغذية البشرية. مع إضافة برنامج السابع, في هندسة القوى الكهربائية, في سبتمبر 2013, يتم تعيين أعداد الطلاب الجامعية أن يرتفع إلى أكثر من 600, جنبا إلى جنب مع فريق قوي 32 من أعضاء هيئة التدريس والدعم.

ونحن أيضا تعزيز حضور أكاديمي لدينا وبناء القدرات في سنغافورة. من خلال إطلاقها مؤخرا ل 20 منح الدكتوراه ونحن نسعى بنشاط التعاون والشراكات مع المؤسسات الأكاديمية والبحثية السنغافورية, الصناعة والوكالات الحكومية.

مع افتتاح NUMED في 2011, أصبح نيوكاسل أول جامعة في المملكة المتحدة لإقامة المعسكرات الطبية في الخارج. NUMED لديها الآن 70 الموظفين و 220 الطلاب الذين يدرسون في الحديث الحرم الجامعي 13 فدان بها. مع اثنين من 200 مقعد المسارح عرض محاضرة, 100 مقعدا
على غرار هارفارد المسرح مظاهرة, 20 الفصول الدراسية, فصلين دراسيين تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات 50-مكان, ثلاثة مختبرات تدريس مجهزة تجهيزا جيدا و/ مركز المعلومات مكتبة, وقد تم تصميم NUMED خصيصا لتلبية احتياجات التعليم والتدريب للأطباء غدا.

في نهاية 2011, وقعنا اتفاقا مع جامعة شيامن, في جمهورية الصين الشعبية, لاستضافة أول معهد كونفوشيوس في الشمال الشرقي والتي من المقرر أن بناء الأكاديمية أقرب, ثقافي, العلاقات الاقتصادية والاجتماعية بين منطقتنا والصين.

البقاء على اتصال مع خريجينا والاحتفال بالنجاحات والإنجازات التي هي وسيلة أخرى التي عملنا يتخطى نيوكاسل. تقريبا 100,000 من خريجينا البقاء على اتصال مع الجامعة من خلال رابطة الخريجين لدينا, تقدم دعما لا يقدر بثمن لأنشطتنا وللطلاب الحاليين لدينا.

المدارس / الكليات / الإدارات / الدورات / ملكات


  • كلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية
  • كلية العلوم الطبية
  • كلية العلوم, الزراعة والهندسة

التاريخ


الجامعة جذوره في كلية الطب والجراحة, التي أنشئت في نيوكاسل أبون تاين في أكتوبر 1834, عندما قدمت محاضرات الأساسية والمظاهرات العملية إلى حوالي 26 الطلاب. فى يونيو 1851, على إثر خلاف بين أعضاء هيئة التدريس, الانقسام مدرسة إلى قسمين المؤسسات المنافسة. شكلت أغلبية كلية نيوكاسل للطب, وأنشأ آخرون أنفسهم نيوكاسل أبون تاين كلية الطب والعلوم العملي. بواسطة 1852, وترتبط الكلية الأغلبية رسميا إلى جامعة دورهام. انها منحت لها أول "رخصة في الطب’ (Lic.Med) في 1856, وتم اكتشافها شهادات التدريس من جامعة لندن للتخرج في الطب. دمج الكليات اثنين في 1857 وسميت جامعة كلية دورهام الطب في 1870.

محاولات لتحقيق مكانا لتدريس العلوم في المدينة والتقى أخيرا مع تأسيس كلية للعلوم الفيزيائية في 1871. قدمت كلية التعليم في الرياضيات, علوم فيزيائية, الكيمياء والجيولوجيا لتلبية الاحتياجات المتنامية لصناعة التعدين, يصبح كلية دورهام للعلوم الفيزيائية في 1883 ومن ثم إعادة تسمية afterWilliam جورج ارمسترونغ باسم كلية ارمسترونغ في 1904. كلا أصبح هذه المؤسسات منفصلة ومستقلة في وقت لاحق جزءا من جامعة دورهام, لمن 1908 التصرف المعترف بها رسميا ان الجامعة تتألف من قسمين, دورهام ونيوكاسل, في موقعين مختلفين. بواسطة 1908, وشعبة نيوكاسل تدريس مجموعة كاملة من المواد الدراسية في كليات الطب, فنون, والعلوم, والتي شملت أيضا الزراعة والهندسة.

في جميع أنحاء أوائل القرن 20th, فاق الكليات الطبية والعلوم إلى حد كبير في نمو نظرائهم دورهام والهيئة الملكية 1934 أوصى اندماج الكليات اثنين لتشكيل كلية الملك, دورهام. أدى نمو شعبة نيوكاسل من جامعة دورهام الاتحادية إلى توترات داخل الهيكل وعلى 1 أغسطس 1963 فصل قانون صادر عن البرلمان الاثنين, خلق جامعة نيوكاسل أبون تاين.


هل تريد بحث جامعة نيوكاسل ? أي سؤال, التعليقات أو المراجعات


جامعة نيوكاسل على الخريطة


صورة فوتوغرافية


الصور: جامعة نيوكاسل الفيسبوك الرسمي

فيديو





مشاركة هذه المعلومات مفيدة مع أصدقائك

استعراض جامعة نيوكاسل

تاريخ لمناقشة من جامعة نيوكاسل.
يرجى الملاحظة: EducationBro مجلة يمنحك القدرة على قراءة معلومات حول الجامعات في 96 اللغات, ولكن نطلب منك أن تحترم أعضاء آخرين وترك التعليقات باللغة الإنجليزية.

Newcastle University

Newcastle University - Study in United Kingdom

Newcastle University Details

  • Country : United Kingdom
  • City : Newcastle
  • Acronym : NU
  • Founded : 1834
  • Students (approx.) : 24000
  • Don't forget to discuss Newcastle University
Enroll at Newcastle University

Overview


Newcastle University, UK, is a modern civic university with a proud tradition, committed to world-class academic excellence – but excellence with a purpose.

Our vision is of Newcastle as a university with a global reputation for academic excellence. Our mission is to be a world-class research-intensive institution which delivers teaching and facilitates learning of the highest quality and plays a leading role in the economic, social and cultural development of the North East of England.

The University’s main campus is located in the centre of Newcastle upon Tyne, the cosmopolitan capital of North East England which enjoys a worldwide reputation for the quality of its cultural and social life. The North East region is famed as much for the warmth of its welcome as for the rugged beauty of its coastline and countryside, and all lie within easy reach of the city and University. The city is well-connected nationally and internationally – London is only three hours away by train, and Newcastle International Airport is close by, linking the city to more than 80 destinations worldwide.

Today’s University has a thriving international community of almost 16,000 undergraduate and 5,600 postgraduate students from more than 120 countries worldwide. Teaching and research are delivered in 24 academic schools and 40 research institutes and research centres, spread across three Faculties: the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences; the Faculty of Medical Sciences; and the Faculty of Science, Agriculture and Engineering.

The majority of our teaching and learning activities take place on a 50 acre campus whose buildings provide as many reminders of our heritage as they do signs of our exciting future. Ultra-modern glass and steel structures sit alongside our iconic redbrick buildings, the result of a continuous programme of investment and development in our campus and facilities designed to ensure that Newcastle University remains among the most popular UK destinations for students at home and abroad.

We offer around 175 full-time undergraduate degree programmes in a wide range of subject areas spanning arts, sciences, engineering and medicine, together with approximately 340 postgraduate taught and research programmes across a range of disciplines. Once here, our students are guaranteed an excellent learning experience. They benefit from research-informed teaching by passionate, talented academic staff, many of whom are leaders in their field in the UK, and in some cases, the world, giving students the opportunity to study at the cutting edge of their chosen discipline.

Students also have access to some of the best facilities and student services in the UK. Learning is supported by a multiple award-winning Library service and 24-hour computing clusters. The Library boasts more than one million books and periodicals and over 500,000 e-books – one of the largest e-book collections in the country.

Newcastle’s reputation for preparing students for the world of work is among the best in the UK. The University is among the top 20 in the country for our employment rate, with latest official figures showing that 93% of our graduates go on to employment or further education within six months of graduating. More than three quarters of them were in graduate-level jobs.

Our award-winning Careers Service supports the launch of around 30 student companies each year and there has been a 17% increase in the number of graduates who have gone on to be self-employed. The University has pledged to give every student the chance to take advantage of a work placement, internship or voluntary project during their time here. We are also one of the top 20 universities targeted by graduate employers in the UK.

Our students consistently rate their time at Newcastle very highly. The 2012 National Student Survey found that 89% of our students were happy with their time at Newcastle, making us tenth among our peers.  And the latest International Student Barometer found that nine out of ten of our international students would recommend us to their friends and family, the twelfth best rate in the world.

Newcastle University is also a great place to engage in a wide range of sporting activities and is in the top 10 of the British University Colleges and Sports (BUCS) league.

As a member of the prestigious Russell Group of 24 research-intensive universities, Newcastle University has an outstanding reputation across a wide range of disciplines. All 38 of its submitted research areas were identified as ‘world leading’ or ‘internationally recognised’ by the latest 2008 Research Assessment Exercise (RAE). We are ranked 17th in the UK for research power, according to the influential publication, Research Fortnight, and we are in the UK’s top twelve for research power in science and engineering.

We aim to be a globally significant research University and we conduct our research activities with a resolute commitment to excellence and a concern for the needs of both local society and global issues. This combination of being globally ambitious and regionally rooted underpins Newcastle University’s vision for the future.

We strive for world-class academic excellence – but excellence with impact – so that our high-quality academic work responds to large-scale societal needs and demands. In pursuit of this aim, we have developed the concept of Societal Challenge Themes, under which we now group a significant part of our research. By looking at our activities in this way, we hope that society at large can better understand where we can help make a difference − and the University can demonstrate its commitment to excellence with impact.

Our Societal Challenge Themes are chosen using three clear principles. Firstly, they concern issues where we have real expertise to contribute; secondly, they must be topics of major global interest with significant resonance in our own country; and finally, they must be areas in which we have developed genuine engagement with the public and numerous stakeholder communities, so that we have a deep understanding of the issues.

Overall, the three themes of Ageing, Sustainability and Social Renewal are a striking illustration of the University’s strategy of both academic excellence − our capability − and our status as a civic university which drives our commitment.

Here we have made seminal contributions to Alzheimer’s and dementia research, enhanced our understanding of the fundamental biology of why we age, and developed ground-breaking new models of engagement with older people to address the challenges of social care.

Already internationally-recognised for our work in power generation and electrical systems, we are now set to build on our expertise in the drive towards a low carbon economy. Internationally, we have helped countries combat environmental problems caused by polluted water seeping from abandoned mines and influenced government policies.

We are applying our significant strengths in research relating to how individuals, communities and organisations adapt and thrive in a rapidly changing and challenging environment.  Our Newcastle Institute for Social Renewal is a hub for research activity which is focused on asking the big questions facing our society. Notably, we are known for our focus on rural issues, highlighting to Government the problems facing the countryside.

Newcastle University continues to increase its international profile at home and abroad. This academic year saw the completion of a £53m building where international students can live and learn at the heart of the University campus. INTO Newcastle University opened its doors in September 2012 and will eventually cater for up to 800 students. The INTO development comprises a purpose-built teaching centre with 18teaching rooms, a learning resource centre, a lecture theatre, science laboratory and computer labs as well as administrative and academic offices, social areas and a restaurant, and two new halls of residence. Together, Bernicia Halls and Joseph Cowen Halls provide 532 brand new, high-quality study bedrooms.

At the same time as increasing our thriving international community here in Newcastle, we are furthering our strategic global links by developing our presence in South East Asia
through Newcastle University International Singapore (NUIS) and Newcastle University Medicine (NUMed) Malaysia.

Our presence in Singapore, and our partnership with the Singapore Institute of Technology (SIT), goes from strength to strength. In May 2012, SIT unveiled plans to develop five purpose-built campuses, two of which will consolidate Newcastle University’s offerings in Singapore. Situated in the grounds of two of Singapore’s major polytechnics, Ngee Ann and Nanyang, these multimillion-pound developments will provide a state-of-the-art learning environment for our students.

From three degree programmes and just 67 students and four academic staff in 2009, NUIS has grown exponentially. This year, well over 500 undergraduates are studying with NUIS, which now offers six degree programmes ranging from Marine, Offshore, Mechanical and Chemical Engineering to Naval Architecture and Food and Human Nutrition. With the addition of a seventh programme, in Electrical Power Engineering, in September 2013, undergraduate student numbers are set to increase to more than 600, together with a 32-strong team of academic and support staff.

We are also strengthening our academic presence and capacity building in Singapore. Through the recent launch of 20 PhD scholarships we are actively seeking collaborations and partnerships with Singaporean academic and research institutions, industry and government agencies.

With the opening of NUMed in 2011, Newcastle became the first UK university to establish a medical campus overseas. NUMed now has 70 staff and 220 students studying on its modern 13-acre campus. With two 200-seat presentation lecture theatres, a 100-seat
Harvard-style demonstration theatre, 20 classrooms, two 50-place ICT classrooms, three well-equipped teaching laboratories and a library/information centre, NUMed has been specifically designed to meet the education and training needs of the doctors of tomorrow.

Towards the end of 2011, we signed an agreement with Xiamen University, in the People’s Republic of China, to host the North East’s first Confucius Institute which is set to build closer academic, cultural, economic and social ties between our region and China.

Keeping in touch with our graduates and celebrating their successes and achievements is another way in which our work extends beyond Newcastle. Almost 100,000 of our graduates stay in contact with the University through our Alumni Association, providing invaluable support for our activities and for our current students.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


  • Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Faculty of Medical Sciences
  • Faculty of Science, Agriculture and Engineering

History


The university has its origins in the School of Medicine and Surgery, which was established in Newcastle upon Tyne in October 1834, when it provided basic lectures and practical demonstrations to around 26 students. In June 1851, following a dispute among the teaching staff, the School split into two rival institutions. The majority formed the Newcastle College of Medicine, and the others established themselves as the Newcastle upon Tyne College of Medicine and Practical Science. By 1852, the majority college was formally linked to the University of Durham. It awarded its first ‘Licence in Medicine’ (Lic.Med) in 1856, and its teaching certificates were recognised by the University of London for graduation in medicine. The two colleges amalgamated in 1857 and renamed the University of Durham College of Medicine in 1870.

Attempts to realise a place for the teaching of sciences in the city were finally met with the foundation of the College of Physical Science in 1871. The college offered instruction in mathematics, physics, chemistry and geology to meet the growing needs of the mining industry, becoming the Durham College of Physical Science in 1883 and then renamed afterWilliam George Armstrong as Armstrong College in 1904. Both these separate and independent institutions later became part of the University of Durham, whose 1908 Act formally recognised that the university consisted of two Divisions, Durham and Newcastle, on two different sites. By 1908, the Newcastle Division was teaching a full range of subjects in the Faculties of Medicine, Arts, and Science, which also included agriculture and engineering.

Throughout the early 20th century, the medical and science colleges vastly outpaced the growth of their Durham counterparts and a Royal Commission in 1934 recommended the merger of the two colleges to form King’s College, Durham. Growth of the Newcastle Division of the federal Durham University led to tensions within the structure and on 1 August 1963 an Act of Parliament separated the two, creating the University of Newcastle upon Tyne.


Do you want discuss Newcastle University ? Any question, comments or reviews


Newcastle University on Map


Photo


Photos: Newcastle University official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

Newcastle University reviews

Join to discuss of Newcastle University.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.