Queen Mary University of London

Queen Mary University of London

Queen Mary University of London Details zur

Einschreiben an der Queen Mary University of London

Überblick


Queen Mary University of London ist einer der führenden britischen forschungsorientierten Hochschulen. Mit rund 21,187 Studenten, 4,000 Mitarbeiter und einen Jahresumsatz von 300 Mio. £, Wir sind einer der größten Universität London Hochschulen.

Wir lehren und forschen in einem breiten Spektrum von Themen in den Geisteswissenschaften, Sozialwissenschaften, Recht, Medizin und Zahnmedizin, und Wissenschaft und Technik. Mit Sitz in einem kreativen und kulturell vielfältigen Gebiet von Ost-London, wir sind die einzige Londoner Universität der Lage, eine vollständig integrierte 2000-Bett Wohn Campus in unserem Mile End zu Hause zu bieten.

Queen Mary hat eine strategische Engagement für die höchste Qualität der Forschung gemacht. Wir haben in diesem Prinzip investiert, indem sie systematisch die Welt, die besten Wissenschaftler in ihren Disziplinen aus der ganzen Rekrutierung. Die Ergebnisse der jüngsten nationalen Beurteilung der Forschung - die Forschung Exzellenzrahmen (REF 2014) - Haben unseren Platz in der obersten Gruppe von Forschung-geführten Universitäten in Großbritannien bestätigt. Insgesamt waren wir 9. in Großbritannien unter Multi-Fakultät Universitäten und 5. in Großbritannien für den Prozentsatz unserer Rang 3* und 4* Forschungsergebnisse.

Queen Mary bietet herausragende Studierende eine anregende, unterstützende und qualitativ hochwertige Lernerfahrung, mit unserer weltweit führenden Forschungs-inspirierten auf Unterrichts. Wir haben auch mehr als 250 Mio. £ in neuen Anlagen in den letzten fünfzehn Jahren investiert, um unsere Studenten eine außergewöhnliche Lernumgebung zu bieten. Dies ist in unseren gleichbleibend hohe Zufriedenheit der Studierenden wider. In der jüngsten National Student Survey (NSS 2015), 88 Prozent unserer Studenten zum Ausdruck "allgemeine Zufriedenheit’ mit ihrer Zeit hier, mit zwölf Fächern in den Top drei in London.

Schulen / Hochschulen / Abteilungen / Kurse / Fakultäten


Fakultät für Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften

  • School of Business and Management
  • Hochschule für Wirtschaft und Finanzen
  • School of English and Drama
  • Institut für Anglistik
  • Abteilung für Drama
  • School of Languages, Sprach- und Film
  • Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft
  • Film Studien
  • Französisch
  • Deutsche
  • Iberische und Lateinamerikanische Studien
  • Sprachenzentrum
  • Linguistik
  • Russisch
  • School of Geography
  • School of History
  • Rechtsschule
  • Center for Commercial Law Studies
  • Fachbereich Rechtswissenschaft
  • Schule für Politik und Internationale Beziehungen

Fakultät für Medizin und Zahnmedizin

  • Barts und The London School of Medicine und Zahnmedizin
  • Bart Cancer Institute
  • Das Blizard Institut
  • Institut für Zahnmedizin
  • Institut für Gesundheitswissenschaften Bildung
  • William Harvey Research Institute
  • Wolfson Institute of Preventive Medicine
  • Das Zentrum der Zelle

Fakultät für Naturwissenschaften und Technik

  • School of Biological Sciences und Chemische
  • School of Electronic Engineering und Informatik
  • Computerwissenschaften
  • Elektronisches Ingenieurwesen
  • School of Engineering und Materialwissenschaften
  • Interdisziplinäres Forschungszentrum in Biomedical Materials
  • School of Mathematical Sciences
  • Schule für Physik und Astronomie
  • Forschungszentrum in Psychologie

Geschichte


Queen Mary hat ihre Wurzeln in vier historischen Colleges: Queen Mary College, Westfield College-, St Bartholomew Hospital Medical College und das London Hospital Medical College.

Die Mile End Campus ist historisch die Heimat der Queen Mary College, die begann das Leben in 1887 wie das Volkes Palace, ein philanthropisches Zentrum Ost Londoner mit Bildungs ​​zu schaffen, kulturelle und soziale Aktivitäten. Queen Mary College wurde an die University of London zugelassen in 1915. Westfield College war gegründet 1882 in Hampstead als Pionierschule für die Hochschulbildung von Frauen. Im 1989 Queen Mary fusionierte mit Westfield College-Queen Mary und Westfield College-Bildung.

Im 1995, Queen Mary und Westfield verschmolzen wieder, diesmal mit zwei aufstrebenden medizinischen Hochschulen, St Bartholomew Hospital Medical College, etabliert in 1843, und das London Hospital Medical College, Englands erste medizinische Schule, gegründet in 1785. Diese Fusion erstellt Barts und The London School of Medicine und Dentistryand gebracht klinische medizinische und zahnmedizinische Lehre Queen Mary zum ersten Mal.

Im 2013, die offizielle Bezeichnung der Queen Mary und Westfield College-, University of London wurde offiziell an der Queen Mary University of London verändert gemeinsame Nutzung zu reflektieren. In diesem Jahr wurde auch Queen Mary zu vergeben seinen eigenen Grad entscheiden, mit dem 2014 Absolventen ist die erste, sie zu empfangen.

Das Kollegium des Archiv hält eine Fülle von faszinierenden institutionellen Archiven und seltenen Drucken, aus dem 17. Jahrhundert bis in die Gegenwart. Die Sammlungen geben einen Einblick in einige der wissenschaftlichen Aktivitäten der QMUL Mitarbeiter und Studenten in der Vergangenheit, dokumentiert die reiche Geschichte der QMUL.

Wusstest du schon?

  • Wir haben den zweiten ältesten erhaltene jüdischen Friedhof in England, ein spanischer portugiesischen jüdischen Friedhof aus 1726, Im Zentrum unseres Campus.
  • Das Skelett von Joseph Merrick, die Elephant Man, wird in der Schule der Medizin und Zahnmedizin-Pathologie-Museum untergebracht.
  • Das Medical College des Royal London Hospital (jetzt Teil von Barts und The London School of Medicine und Zahnmedizin) Wann war erste medizinische Schule England es eröffnet 1785.
  • Von 1964 bis 1982 Queen Mary College behielt seinen eigenen Kernreaktor, zunächst unter Mile End Road gelegen.
  • Elizabeth Blackwell, die erste vollständig qualifizierte Ärztin in Großbritannien, bei Barts Hospital Medical College-geschult 1850.
  • Sir John Vane, die das William Harvey Research Institute gegründet, wird mit der Entdeckung gutgeschrieben, wie Aspirin und ähnliche Medikamente ihre Wirkungen.
  • Sir Walter Besant 1882 Roman Alle Sortierungen und Zustand der Männer - eine unmögliche Geschichte, ein ‚Palace of Delights vorgestellt’ in Ost-London mit Konzertsälen, Lesesäle, Bildergalerien, Kunstschule und Ausbildung für die lokale Bevölkerung - dies war die Inspiration für den Volkspalast und der Beginn der Queen Mary heute.


Möchtest du Queen Mary University of London diskutieren ? Irgendeine Frage, Kommentare oder Bewertungen


Queen Mary University of London auf der Karte


Foto


Fotos: Queen Mary University of London offiziellen Facebook

Video





Teilen Sie diese nützliche Informationen mit deinen Freunden

Queen Mary University of London Bewertungen

Registriert der Queen Mary University of London zu diskutieren.
BITTE BEACHTEN SIE: EducationBro Magazin bietet Ihnen die Möglichkeit Informationen über Universitäten zu lesen an 96 Sprachen, aber wir bitten Sie andere Mitglieder zu respektieren und Kommentare zu hinterlassen auf Englisch.

Queen Mary University of London

Queen Mary University of London

Queen Mary University of London Details

Enroll at Queen Mary University of London

Overview


Queen Mary University of London is one of the UK’s leading research-focused higher education institutions. With around 21,187 students, 4,000 staff and an annual turnover of £300m, we are one of the biggest University of London colleges.

We teach and research across a wide range of subjects in the humanities, social sciences, law, medicine and dentistry, and science and engineering. Based in a creative and culturally diverse area of east London, we are the only London university able to offer a completely integrated 2,000-bed residential campus at our Mile End home.

Queen Mary has made a strategic commitment to the highest quality of research. We have invested in this principle by systematically recruiting the best academics in their disciplines from around the world. The results of the most recent national assessment of research – the Research Excellence Framework (REF 2014) – have confirmed our place in the very top group of research-led universities in the UK. Overall we were ranked 9th in the UK among multi-faculty universities and 5th in the UK for the percentage of our 3* and 4* research outputs.

Queen Mary offers outstanding students a stimulating, supportive and high-quality learning experience, with teaching inspired by our world-leading research. We have also invested more than £250m in new facilities over the last fifteen years to offer our students an exceptional learning environment. This is reflected in our consistently high levels of student satisfaction. In the most recent National Student Survey (NSS 2015), 88 per cent of our undergraduates expressed ‘overall satisfaction’ with their time here, with twelve subjects in the top three in London.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

  • School of Business and Management
  • School of Economics and Finance
  • School of English and Drama
  • Department of English
  • Department of Drama
  • School of Languages, Linguistics and Film
  • Comparative Literature
  • Film Studies
  • French
  • German
  • Iberian and Latin American Studies
  • Language Centre
  • Linguistics
  • Russian
  • School of Geography
  • School of History
  • School of Law
  • Centre for Commercial Law Studies
  • Department of Law
  • School of Politics and International Relations

Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry

  • Barts and The London School of Medicine and Dentistry
  • Barts Cancer Institute
  • The Blizard Institute
  • Institute of Dentistry
  • Institute of Health Sciences Education
  • William Harvey Research Institute
  • Wolfson Institute of Preventive Medicine
  • The Centre of the Cell

Faculty of Science and Engineering

  • School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
  • School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
  • Computer Science
  • Electronic Engineering
  • School of Engineering and Materials Science
  • Interdisciplinary Research Centre in Biomedical Materials
  • School of Mathematical Sciences
  • School of Physics and Astronomy
  • Research Centre in Psychology

History


Queen Mary has its roots in four historic colleges: Queen Mary College, Westfield College, St Bartholomew’s Hospital Medical College and the London Hospital Medical College.

The Mile End campus is historically the home of Queen Mary College, which began life in 1887 as the People’s Palace, a philanthropic centre to provide east Londoners with educational, cultural and social activities. Queen Mary College was admitted to the University of London in 1915. Westfield College was founded in 1882 in Hampstead as a pioneering college for the higher education of women. In 1989 Queen Mary merged with Westfield College to form Queen Mary and Westfield College.

In 1995, Queen Mary and Westfield merged again, this time with two distinguished medical colleges, St Bartholomew’s Hospital Medical College, established in 1843, and the London Hospital Medical College, England’s first medical school, founded in 1785. This merger created Barts and The London School of Medicine and Dentistryand brought clinical medical and dental teaching to Queen Mary for the first time.

In 2013, the legal name of Queen Mary and Westfield College, University of London was officially changed to Queen Mary University of London to reflect common usage. This year also saw Queen Mary decide to award its own degrees, with the 2014 graduates being the first to receive them.

The College’s Archives hold a wealth of fascinating institutional archives and rare prints, dating from the 17th Century to the present day. The collections provide an insight into some of the scholarly activities of QMUL staff and students in the past, documenting the rich history of QMUL.

Did you know?

  • We have the second oldest surviving Jewish cemetery in England, a Spanish Portuguese Jewish cemetery dating from 1726, in the centre of our campus.
  • The skeleton of Joseph Merrick, the Elephant Man, is housed in the School of Medicine and Dentistry’s Pathology Museum.
  • The Medical College of the Royal London Hospital (now part of Barts and The London School of Medicine and Dentistry) was England’s first medical school when it opened in 1785.
  • From 1964 until 1982 Queen Mary College maintained its own nuclear reactor, initially sited beneath Mile End Road.
  • Elizabeth Blackwell, the first fully qualified female doctor in the UK, trained at Barts Hospital Medical College in 1850.
  • Sir John Vane, who founded the William Harvey Research Institute, is credited with discovering how aspirin and similar drugs produced their effects.
  • Sir Walter Besant’s 1882 novel All Sorts and Condition of Men – An Impossible Story, imagined a ‘Palace of Delights’ in east London with concert halls, reading rooms, picture galleries, art school and education for local people – this was the inspiration for The People’s Palace and the start of Queen Mary today.


Do you want discuss Queen Mary University of London ? Any question, comments or reviews


Queen Mary University of London on Map


Photo


Photos: Queen Mary University of London official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

Queen Mary University of London reviews

Join to discuss of Queen Mary University of London.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.