SOAS, جامعة لندن

جامعة SOAS في لندن. التعليم في انكلترا. الدراسة في المملكة المتحدة.

SOAS, جامعة لندن تفاصيل

  • بلد : المملكة المتحدة
  • مدينة : لندن
  • اختصار : SOAS
  • مؤسس : 1916
  • الطلاب (تقريبا.) : 6000
  • لا تنسى أن مناقشة SOAS, جامعة لندن
التسجيل في SOAS, جامعة لندن

نظرة عامة


SOAS, جامعة لندن هي مؤسسة التعليم العالي الوحيدة في أوروبا متخصصة في دراسة آسيا, أفريقيا والشرق الأدنى والشرق الأوسط.

SOAS هي مؤسسة رائعة. الجمع بين فريد منحة اللغة, الخبرة التأديبية والتركيز الإقليمي, أنه يحتوي على أكبر تجمع في أوروبا من أعضاء هيئة التدريس المعنية مع أفريقيا, آسيا والشرق الأوسط.

على يدا واحدة, وهذا يعني أن العلماء SOAS تتصارع مع القضايا الملحة – ديمقراطية, تطوير, حقوق الانسان, هوية, النظم القانونية, فقر, دين, تغير اجتماعي – مواجهة ثلثي البشرية، وفي الوقت نفسه المتبقية الأوصياء للمعرفة المتخصصة في اللغات وفترات ومناطق لا تتوفر في أي مكان آخر في المملكة المتحدة.

وهذا يجعل SOAS مرادفا للتحقيق الفكري والإنجاز. انها قاعدة الأكاديمية العالمية ومورد حيوي لللندن. نحن نعيش في عالم من الحدود تقلص والتزامن الاقتصادي والتكنولوجي. ومع ذلك فهو أيضا عالم فيه الاختلاف والإقليمية تطرح نفسها بحدة. إنه عالم أن SOAS في موقع متميز لتحليل, فهم وتفسير.

تركيزنا الأكاديمي على لغات, ثقافات ومجتمعات أفريقيا, آسيا والشرق الأوسط يجعلنا مترجم لا غنى عنه في عالم معقد.

SOAS, جامعة لندن في لمحة:

89% راض

SOAS هو أعلى من المتوسط ​​الوطني لرضا الطالب في 89% (مسح الطالب الوطني 2013).

133 بلدان

SOAS لديها أكثر من 5,000 طلاب من 133 بلدان في الحرم الجامعي, وأكثر من مجرد 50% في المائة منهم من خارج المملكة المتحدة. بالاضافة, حول 3,600 الطلاب في جميع أنحاء العالم باتخاذ أحد برامج التعلم عن بعد لدينا.

انقسام متساو

هناك انقسام متساو تقريبا بين الطلاب الجامعيين (55%) وطلاب الدراسات العليا (45%).

طلاب ناضجة

24% من الطلاب الجامعيين هم فوق 21 عندما تبدأ دورتهم.

350 تركيبات

أكثر من 350 هي مزيج درجة البكالوريوس المتاحة في العلوم الاجتماعية, فنون, العلوم الإنسانية واللغات, جميع مع التركيز الإقليمي مميزة وذات أهمية عالمية. وأكثر 115 برامج الدراسات العليا.

اللغات

تقدم SOAS مجموعة لا مثيل لها من اللغات غير الأوروبية, والتي يمكن دراستها دون معرفة مسبقة. منحت جائزة المدرسة الملكة الذكرى في 2009 للتميز, اتساع وعمق تدريس لغتها.

فرصة

أكثر من أربعين في المائة من برامج درجة البكالوريوس لدينا توفر الفرصة لقضاء سنة دراسة في بلد آخر.

300 أكاديميون

SOAS لديه أكبر تجمع للموظفين متخصصين (300+ أكاديميون) المعنية مع دراسة أفريقيا, آسيا والشرق الأوسط في أي جامعة في العالم.

الزعيم الوطني

في تقييم الأبحاث ل 2008, أكثر من 85 في المائة من الطلبات لدينا كانت في المرتبة سواء على أعلى درجة من 4* (نوعية الرائدة في العالم), 3* (ممتازة على الصعيد الدولي) أو 2* (المعترف بها دوليا).

11.3:1 نسبة

لا يزال التدريس في مجموعات صغيرة سمة هامة من سمات الدراسة في SOAS - لدينا نسبة الموظفين طالب (11.3:1) هي واحدة من الأفضل في المملكة المتحدة.

على 115 برامج الدراسات العليا

SOAS ديها أكثر 115 برامج الدراسات العليا التي تدرس في الحرم الجامعي ومجموعة واسعة من درجات, الشهادات والدبلومات تدرس من قبل التعلم عن بعد, في العلوم الاجتماعية, العلوم الإنسانية واللغات, مع تركيز إقليمي مميز وذات الأهمية العالمية.

موارد

مكتبة SOAS - تم تجديده مؤخرا - لديها اكثر من 1.5 مليون قطعة والمصادر الإلكترونية واسعة لدراسة أفريقيا, آسيا والشرق الأوسط, ويجذب علماء من جميع أنحاء العالم.

المدارس / الكليات / الإدارات / الدورات / ملكات


  • أفريقيا
  • الأنثروبولوجيا وعلم الاجتماع
  • فنون, مدرسة ال
    • تاريخ الفن وعلم الآثار
    • دراسات إعلامية
    • موسيقى
  • الصين وآسيا الداخلية
  • دراسات التنمية
  • اقتصاديات
  • المالية والإدارة
  • التاريخ
  • اليابان وكوريا
  • مركز اللغة
  • القانون
  • علم اللغة
  • الشرقين الأدنى والأوسط
  • السياسة والدراسات الدولية
  • الأديان والفلسفات
  • جنوب آسيا
  • جنوب شرق آسيا

التاريخ


تأسست كلية الدراسات الشرقية في 1916 في 2 فينسبري سيرك, لندن, المباني ثم من معهد لندن. تلقت مدرسة الميثاق الملكي على 5 يونيو 1916 واعترف الأول طلابها على 18 كانون الثاني 1917. تم افتتاح المدرسة رسميا في الشهر في وقت لاحق 23 شهر فبراير 1917 الملك جورج الخامس. ومن بين الحضور كان إيرل كرزون من Kedleston, formerlyViceroy من الهند, والمسؤولين الحكوميين الآخرين.

وكانت مهمة تأسيس المدرسة في تحقيق تقدم منحة دراسية البريطانية, العلوم والتجارة في أفريقيا وآسيا وتوفير جامعة لندن مع منافس للمدارس الشرقية الشهيرة في برلين, بتروغراد وباريس. المدرسة أصبح على الفور أساسيا في تدريب الإداريين البريطانيين, مسؤولون الاستعماري والجواسيس لوظائف في الخارج في جميع أنحاء الإمبراطورية البريطانية. وأضاف أفريقيا إلى اسم المدرسة في 1938.

لبعض الوقت في منتصف 1930s, قبل أن ينتقل إلى موقعه الحالي في شارع تورنهو, دار بلومزبري, وتقع المدرسة في Vandon البيت, وول ستريت, لندن SW1, مع المكتبة التي تقع في كلارنس هاوس. عقد انتقاله إلى مقره الجديد في دار بلومزبري بنسبة التأخير في البناء واستغرق بناء-أكمل نصف ضربة خلال مداهمات في سبتمبر 1940. مع بداية الحرب العالمية الثانية, وتم اجلاء العديد من جامعة كليات لندن من لندن في 1939 وبيلت على الجامعات في جميع أنحاء المحافظات. كان مدرسة, بناء على نصيحة الحكومة, نقل إلى كلية المسيح, كامبريدج.

في 1940, عندما أصبح واضحا أن العودة إلى لندن كانت ممكنة, عادت المدرسة إلى المدينة، وكان يضم لعدة أشهر في أحد عشر غرف في برودواي المحكمة, 8 برودواي, لندن SW1. في 1942, انضم إلى مكتب الحرب مع قسم اليابانية المدرسة للمساعدة في تخفيف نقص في اللغويين الياباني. وعرضت منح الدولة لتحديد القواعد والمدارس العامة الأولاد لتدريب مترجمين العسكريين وضباط المخابرات. قدمت في كلية دولويتش في جنوب لندن, الطلاب أصبح بمودة المعروف باسم الأولاد دولويتش.

بلتكي بارك, مقر قانون الحكومة ومدرسة سايفر (GC&CS), وقد تشعر بالقلق إزاء بطء وتيرة SOAS, لذا بدأوا الخاصة دورات اللغة اليابانية بهم في بيدفورد في فبراير 1942. وقد وجهت هذه الدورات عن طريق كريبتوغرابهيرس الجيش, العقيد. جون Tiltman, والضابط المتقاعد البحرية الملكية, الكابتن. أوزوالد الثنية.

تقديرا لدور SOAS خلال الحرب, ال 1946 لجنة سكاربورو (رسميا “لجنة للتحقيق في خدمات لشرقية, سلافي, أوروبا الشرقية والدراسات الأفريقية”) أوصى تقرير توسعا كبيرا في توفير لدراسة آسيا واستفادت المدرسة بشكل كبير من السخاء لاحق. تأسست كلية SOAS القانون في 1947 مع البروفيسور Vesey-فيتزجيرالد كأول رئيس لها. النمو لكن تم تقليصها من السنوات التالية من التقشف الاقتصادي, وعلى السير سيريل فيليبس افتراض بتعيينه مديرا في 1956, كانت المدرسة في حالة الضعيفة. على ه عشرين عاما الإشراف, تحولت فيليبس المدرسة, جمع الأموال وتوسيع صلاحيات المدرسة.

وكلية جامعة لندن, وتشمل المجالات مدرسة في القانون, العلوم الاجتماعية, العلوم الإنسانية واللغات مع إشارة خاصة إلى آسيا وأفريقيا. مكتبة SOAS, تقع في مبنى فيليبس الموارد الوطنية في المملكة المتحدة للمواد المتعلقة آسيا وأفريقيا وهو الأكبر من نوعه في المدرسة world.The نموا كبيرا على مدى السنوات الثلاثين الماضية, من أقل من 1,000 الطلاب في 1970s إلى أكثر من 6,000 طلاب اليوم, نصفهم تقريبا من طلاب الدراسات العليا. هو شراكة SOAS مع المعهد الوطني للغات والحضارات الشرقية (INALCO) في باريس والتي غالبا ما تعتبر ما يعادل الفرنسي SOAS.

في 2011, وافق مجلس الملكة الخاص تغييرات على ميثاق المدرسة والسماح لها لدرجة جائزة باسمه, التالي اتجاه مجموعة من الكليات زميل كلية لندن للاقتصاد, جامعة كلية لندن وكينجز كوليدج لندن. جميع الطلاب الجدد المسجلين من سبتمبر 2013 سوف يتأهل لSOAS, جامعة جائزة لندن.

في 2012 تم إطلاق الهوية البصرية الجديدة لSOAS لاستخدامها في الطباعة, وسائل الإعلام الرقمية وحول الحرم الجامعي. رمز شجرة SOAS, نفذت لأول مرة في 1989, تم إعادة رسم وrecoloured في الذهب, مع رمز جديد يتضمن أوراق عشر شجرات, بما في ذلك البلوط الإنجليزية يمثل انجلترا; وبودي, المرجانية النباح القيقب, خشب الساج تمثل آسيا; جبل أكاسيا, الكمثرى الأفريقي, Lasiodiscus تمثل أفريقيا; والنخيل, الرمان والغاف التي تمثل الشرق الأوسط.


هل تريد مناقشة SOAS, جامعة لندن ? أي سؤال, التعليقات أو المراجعات


SOAS, جامعة لندن على الخريطة


صورة فوتوغرافية


الصور: SOAS, جامعة لندن الفيسبوك الرسمي

فيديو





مشاركة هذه المعلومات مفيدة مع أصدقائك

SOAS, جامعة من الاستعراضات لندن

تاريخ لمناقشة من SOAS, جامعة لندن.
يرجى الملاحظة: EducationBro مجلة يمنحك القدرة على قراءة معلومات حول الجامعات في 96 اللغات, ولكن نطلب منك أن تحترم أعضاء آخرين وترك التعليقات باللغة الإنجليزية.

SOAS, University of London

SOAS University of London. Education in England. Study in United Kingdom.

SOAS, University of London Details

Enroll at SOAS, University of London


SOAS, University of London is the only Higher Education institution in Europe specialising in the study of Asia, Africa and the Near and Middle East.

SOAS is a remarkable institution. Uniquely combining language scholarship, disciplinary expertise and regional focus, it has the largest concentration in Europe of academic staff concerned with Africa, Asia and the Middle East.

On the one hand, this means that SOAS scholars grapple with pressing issues – democracy, development, human rights, identity, legal systems, poverty, religion, social change – confronting two-thirds of humankind  while at the same time remaining guardians of specialised knowledge in languages and periods and regions not available anywhere else in the UK.

This makes SOAS synonymous with intellectual enquiry and achievement. It is a global academic base and a crucial resource for London. We live in a world of shrinking borders and of economic and technological simultaneity. Yet it is also a world in which difference and regionalism present themselves acutely. It is a world that SOAS is distinctively positioned to analyse, understand and explain.

Our academic focus on the languages, cultures and societies of Africa, Asia and the Middle East makes us an indispensable interpreter in a complex world.

SOAS, University of London at a glance:

89% Satisfied

SOAS is above the national average for student satisfaction at 89% (National student survey 2013).

133 Countries

SOAS has more than 5,000 students from 133 countries on campus, and just over 50% per cent of them are from outside the UK. In addition, about 3,600 students around the world are taking one our distance learning programmes.

Equal Split

There is a roughly equal split between undergraduates (55%) and postgraduates (45%).

Mature Students

24% of undergraduates are over 21 when they start their course.

350 Combinations

More than 350 undergraduate degree combinations are available in social sciences, arts, humanities and languages, all with a distinctive regional focus and global relevance. And over 115 postgraduate programmes.


SOAS offers an unparalleled range of non-European languages, all of which may be studied without prior knowledge. The school was awarded the Queen’s Anniversary Prize in 2009 for the excellence, breadth and depth of its language teaching.


More than forty per cent of our undergraduate degree programmes offer the opportunity to spend a year studying in another country.

300 Academics

SOAS has the largest concentration of specialist staff (300+ academics) concerned with the study of Africa, Asia and the Middle East at any university in the world.

National Leader

In the Research Assessment Exercise of 2008, more than 85 per cent of our submissions were ranked at either the highest grade of 4* (world-leading quality), 3* (internationally excellent) or 2* (recognised internationally).

11.3:1 Ratio

Small-group teaching remains an important feature of study at SOAS – our student-staff ratio (11.3:1) is one of the best in the UK.

Over 115 Postgraduate Programmes

SOAS has over 115 postgraduate programmes taught on campus and a wide range of degrees, certificates and diplomas taught by distance learning, in the social sciences, humanities and languages, with a distinctive regional focus and global relevance.


The SOAS Library – recently refurbished – has more than 1.5 million items and extensive electronic resources for the study of Africa, Asia and the Middle East, and attracts scholars from all around the world.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties

  • Africa
  • Anthropology and Sociology
  • Arts, School of
    • History of Art and Archaeology
    • Media Studies
    • Music
  • China and Inner Asia
  • Development Studies
  • Economics
  • Finance and Management
  • History
  • Japan and Korea
  • Language Centre
  • Law
  • Linguistics
  • Near and Middle East
  • Politics and International Studies
  • Religions and Philosophies
  • South Asia
  • South East Asia


The School of Oriental Studies was founded in 1916 at 2 Finsbury Circus, London, the then premises of the London Institution. The school received its royal charter on 5 June 1916 and admitted its first students on 18 January 1917. The school was formally inaugurated a month later on 23 February 1917 by King George V. Among those in attendance were Earl Curzon of Kedleston, formerlyViceroy of India, and other cabinet officials.

The school’s founding mission was to advance British scholarship, science and commerce in Africa and Asia and to provide London University with a rival to the famous Oriental schools of Berlin, Petrograd and Paris. The school immediately became integral in training British administrators, colonial officials and spies for overseas postings across the British Empire. Africa was added to the school’s name in 1938.

For sometime in the mid-1930s, prior to moving to its current location at Thornhaugh Street, Bloomsbury, the school was located at Vandon House, Vandon Street, London SW1, with the library located at Clarence House. Its move to new premises in Bloomsbury was held up by delays in construction and the half-completed building took a hit during the Blitz in September 1940. With the onset of the Second World War, many University of London colleges were evacuated from London in 1939 and billeted on universities all over the provinces. The School was, on the Government’s advice, transferred to Christ’s College, Cambridge.

In 1940, when it became apparent that a return to London was possible, the school returned to the city and was housed for some months in eleven rooms at Broadway Court, 8 Broadway, London SW1. In 1942, the War Office joined with the school’s Japanese department to help alleviate the shortage in Japanese linguists. State scholarships were offered to select grammar and public school boys to train as military translators and intelligence officers. Lodged at Dulwich College in south London, the students became affectionately known as the Dulwich boys.

Bletchley Park, the headquarters of the Government Code and Cypher School (GC&CS), was concerned about the slow pace of the SOAS, so they started their own Japanese-language courses at Bedford in February 1942. The courses were directed by army cryptographer, Col. John Tiltman, and retired Royal Navy officer, Capt. Oswald Tuck.

In recognition of SOAS’s role during the war, the 1946 Scarborough Commission (officially the “Commission of Enquiry into the Facilities for Oriental, Slavonic, East European and African Studies”) report recommended a major expansion in provision for the study of Asia and the school benefited greatly from the subsequent largesse. The SOAS School of Law was established in 1947 with Professor Vesey-Fitzgerald as its first head. Growth however was curtailed by following years of economic austerity, and upon Sir Cyril Philips assuming the directorship in 1956, the school was in a vulnerable state. Over his twenty-year stewardship, Phillips transformed the school, raising funds and broadening the school’s remit.

A college of the University of London, the School’s fields include Law, Social Sciences, Humanities and Languages with special reference to Asia and Africa. The SOAS Library, located in the Philips Building is the UK’s national resource for materials relating to Asia and Africa and is the largest of its kind in the world.The school has grown considerably over the past thirty years, from fewer than 1,000 students in the 1970s to more than 6,000 students today, nearly half of them postgraduates. SOAS is partnered with the Institut National des Langues et Civilisations Orientales (INALCO) in Paris which is often considered the French equivalent of SOAS.

In 2011, the Privy Council approved changes to the school’s charter allowing it to award degrees in its own name, following the trend set by fellow colleges the London School of Economics, University College London and King’s College London. All new students registered from September 2013 will qualify for a SOAS, University of London award.

In 2012 a new visual identity for SOAS was launched to be used in print, digital media and around the campus. The SOAS tree symbol, first implemented in 1989, was redrawn and recoloured in gold, with the new symbol incorporating the leaves of ten trees, including the English Oak representing England; the Bodhi, Coral Bark Maple, Teak representing Asia; the Mountain Acacia, African Pear, Lasiodiscus representing Africa; and the Date Palm, Pomegranate and Ghaf representing the Middle East.

Do you want discuss SOAS, University of London ? Any question, comments or reviews

SOAS, University of London on Map


Photos: SOAS, University of London official Facebook


Share this useful info with your friends

SOAS, University of London reviews

Join to discuss of SOAS, University of London.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.