聖喬治, 倫敦大學

倫敦聖喬治大學. 研究在英國. 教育在英國. 教育兄弟 - 留學雜誌

聖喬治, 詳細倫敦大學

報名聖喬治, 倫敦大學

概觀


我們非常自豪,為我們的學生提供最好的體驗 – 建立在過度 250 多年的創新和與時俱進的一個改變​​NHS的健康挑戰. 我們竭誠為學生, 員工和校友是建立在一個承諾,我們與他們分享在改善和促進健康.

我們為我們的多樣性感到驕傲, 提供從各種背景的學生工作機會和健康校園反映了全方位的醫療專業的研究.

聖喬治, 倫敦大學是英國唯一一所大學,致力於醫學和健康科學教育, 培訓和研究. 我們的獨特性是基於我們的獨家關注健康科學和醫學,我們努力實現創新和合作的方式我們所做的一切.

我們提供世界一流的多專業健康科學的教育,裝備我們的畢業生,以滿足通過相關科研今天的醫療保健需求, 臨床卓越, 較強的人際交往能力和團隊為基礎的工作. 與倫敦主要教學醫院共享臨床環境, 我們的教育效果的創新方法在成熟的, 高度熟練的醫生, 科學家們, 健康和社會保健專業人員.

我們還與整個倫敦南部的醫療保健供應商緊密合作,以確保我們的課程反映最新的臨床實踐和我們的學生來自不同的臨床實習機會中獲益. 臨床經驗提供的財富就是為什麼聖喬治繼續保持與學生如此受歡迎的原因之一.

衛生學部, 社會保育和教育,我們的合作夥伴關係金斯頓大學任教運行課程,包括護理, 助產, 造影, 護理人員科學, 物理療法和社會工作.

我們的課程是嚴謹的,但我們感到自豪的個人支持,我們為我們的學生, 確保他們成為一流的醫生和科學家, 他們腳踏實地堅決. 我們相信,每個人都應該能夠訪問生物醫學發現的好處和研究應該是醫護專業人員的培訓和教育的一個組成部分.

我們有超過 250 多年的卓越和創新的研究和教育造成了醫藥和醫療保健的突破性進展. 我們的校友包括愛德華·詹納, 約翰·亨特, 穆里爾鮑威爾和帕特里克·斯特普托. 我們的三個科研院所集中在生物醫學和科學發現, 推進疾病的預防和治療中人口健康領域, 心臟疾病和感染 – 三中的最大挑戰對全球健康 21ST 世紀.

我們致力於發展我們的研究項目公眾的理解和參與,並積極促進整個倫敦的合作夥伴關係, 跨區域連接學生和研究人員到從業人員和雇主.

我們的目的是培養誰滿足今天的醫療需求和未來的醫療保健挑戰人與我們熱忱歡迎誰分享我們的價值觀的學生, 能量和野心.

學校 / 高校 / 部門 / 培訓班 / 院系


  • 生物醫學科學
  • 乳腺成像
  • 醫療保健實踐
  • 保健科學 (生理科學)
  • 醫學MBBS
  • 醫學MBBS (研究生入學)
  • 註冊護士助產/註冊助產士
  • 助產/註冊助產士
  • 護士/註冊護士
  • 醫務實踐
  • 醫務科學
    理療
  • 造影, 診斷
  • 造影, 治療

歷史


我們還有很長, 培訓醫生的輝煌歷史, 距今超過 250 年份. 在我們的校友,我們可以指望一些醫學的奠基人. 我們是眾所周知的我們的創新的方法來發展教育,我們的畢業生是真的準備了挑戰和改變行業的嚴格要求和獎勵.

1733 聖喬治醫院在蘭斯伯瑞樓開放時間為海德公園角. 新醫院被安排在三個樓層,可容納 30 患者兩個病房, 一個男人和一個女性.

1751 徒弟醫生正式註冊開始.

1754 著名的外科醫生約翰·亨特開始在聖喬治開展學習課程.

1796 愛德華·詹納 (從學生 17701774) 成功地執行對天花第一次疫苗接種, 導致這種疾病的最終徹底根除 1980. 花的皮, 在詹納的天花實驗中使用的牛, 提出聖喬治, 英國倫敦大學通過詹納在兒子 1857, 並一直留在大學的佔有.

1800 隨著蘭斯伯瑞書屋建設年久失修, 比賽舉行設計新的350張床位的醫院大樓. 這是由威廉·威爾金斯拿下, 英國建築師,他最著名的作品是國家美術館.

1844 本傑明·布羅迪, 外科醫生在聖喬治醫院, 被任命為皇家外科學院的首任總統. 布羅迪也將繼續被委任醫務委員會的首任主席 1858.

1858 實習醫生格蕾, 在解剖亨利芬戴克卡特亨利灰色和示威者之間的合作的產物, 最偉大的藝術和科學成就之一出版.

1867 阿特金森先生離開莫利自己的積蓄聖喬治醫院的建設和療養院遠程維護距離倫敦市中心的喧囂和疫情.

1895 萬巴德被任命為講師在熱帶醫學,並給出了有史以來第一個系列的熱帶疾病講座聖喬治. 曼森繼續發現衛生和熱帶醫學倫敦學校 1899.

1899 愛德華·威爾遜在資格聖喬治醫院醫學院. 在資格要求他加入斯科特船長的第一個南極探險隊, 離開英格蘭 1901 擔任初級醫生和動物學家. 在 1910 他加入由Scott導致南極命運多舛的遠征和從南極回國與黨的其他成員亡.

1915 聖喬治是在倫敦的第一所大學第一次世界大戰期間,承認女學生. 海倫Inglby, 四個女人的一個公認的旁邊Ethelberta克萊蒙特, 瑪麗安中號. 博斯托克和伊麗莎白奧弗林, 接著成為愛因斯坦醫學中心的病理學家在費城1945.

1939-1945 在第二次世界大戰聖喬治成為急救醫院服務的單位, 提供 200 戰爭傷亡的床和 65 床對平民生病.

1948 NHS的應運而生上 5 七月 1948 要為所有公民提供醫療保健, 根據需要, 沒有支付能力.

1954 奧布里利瑟姆被任命為聖喬治第一的諮詢心臟科醫生. 利瑟姆最好設計聽診器的一個新的和改進的版本是已知, 並發明了世界上第一台心內膜心臟起搏器.

1958 第一留置起搏器的工作是在聖喬治進行.

1973 建築開始在聖喬治的Tooting新網站, 倫敦.

1976 醫學院的第一階段中Tooting將打開 80 學生們.

1978 生育治療帕特里克·斯特普托的先鋒, (校友, MBBS 1939), 負責, 旁邊生物學家和生理學家羅伯特·愛德華茲, 體外受精發展 (IVF), 導致第一個試管嬰兒的誕生 1978.

1980 聖喬治在海德公園關閉大門為最後的時間和HM女王伊麗莎白二世將打開新的聖喬治醫院和醫學院在Tooting上 6 十一月 1980.

1995 衛生與社會科學學院, SGUL和金斯頓大學之間的聯合協作,建立, 提供醫療和護理社會護理教育, 助產教育和攝片.

2000 聖喬治是英國第一機構推出MBBS研究生入學計劃 (GEP), 四年快車道醫學學位課程開放給任何學科的畢業生.

2008 50 第一起搏器手術後幾年在聖喬治醫院進行, 第50,000操作也成功地在醫院進行.

2011 醫學生的第一批在尼科西亞大學招收研究生醫學程序, 塞浦路斯.

2013 研究生文憑醫師助理研究教學團隊贏得了有史以來第一次。研究生課程獎最佳教學團隊 (科學, 技術與工程).

2014 HRH安妮公主通向聖喬治, 在倫敦的國際學生中心.

2014 研究開展的人口健康研究所父母吸煙對呼吸道健康兒童結果中的威斯敏斯特法案的影響,禁止在汽車吸煙在孩子面前,.


你要嗎 討論聖喬治, 倫敦大學 ? 任何問題, 意見或評論


聖喬治, 倫敦大學地圖


照片


相片: 聖喬治, 倫敦大學 官方Facebook

視頻





與好友分享這個有用的信息

聖喬治, 倫敦大學的評論

加入的聖喬治討論, 倫敦大學.
請注意: EducationBro雜誌讓你在閱讀有關大學信息的能力 96 語言, 但我們要求您尊重其他成員和英語發表評論.

St George’s, University of London

St George's University of London. Study in England. Education in United Kingdom. Education Bro - Study Abroad Magazine

St George’s, University of London Details

Enroll at St George’s, University of London

Overview


We pride ourselves on providing the best possible experience for our students – building on over 250 years of innovation and keeping pace with the health challenges of a changing NHS. Our dedication to students, staff and alumni is built on a commitment we share with them in improving and advancing health.

We are proud of our diversity, offering students from a wide range of backgrounds the opportunity to work and study on a health campus reflecting the full range of healthcare professions.

St George’s, University of London is the UK’s only university dedicated to medical and health sciences education, training and research. Our distinctiveness is based on our exclusive focus on health sciences and medicine and we strive to bring an innovative and collaborative approach to all we do.

We provide a world-class multi-professional health sciences education that equips our graduates to meet today’s healthcare needs through relevant scientific research, clinical excellence, strong interpersonal skills and team-based working. Sharing a clinical environment with a major London teaching hospital, our innovative approach to education results in well-rounded, highly skilled clinicians, scientists, and health and social care professionals.

We also work closely with healthcare providers throughout south London to ensure that our courses reflect latest clinical practices and that our students benefit from diverse clinical placement opportunities. The wealth of clinical experience available is one of the reasons why St George’s continues to be so popular with students.

The Faculty of Health, Social Care and Education that we run in partnership with Kingston University teaches courses including nursing, midwifery, radiography, paramedic science, physiotherapy and social work.

Our programmes are rigorous but we pride ourselves on the personal support we provide our students, ensuring they become first-rate clinicians and scientists, with their feet firmly on the ground. We believe everyone should be able to access the benefits of biomedical discovery and that research should be an integral part of the training and education of healthcare professionals.

We have more than 250 years of excellence and innovation in research and education resulting in groundbreaking advances in medicine and healthcare. Our alumni include Edward Jenner, John Hunter, Muriel Powell and Patrick Steptoe. Our three research institutes focus on biomedical and scientific discovery, advancing the prevention and treatment of disease in the fields of population health, heart disease and infection – three of the greatest challenges to global health in the 21st century.

We are committed to developing public understanding and involvement in our research programmes and actively contribute to partnerships across London, linking students and researchers to practitioners and employers across the region.

Our purpose is to develop people who meet today’s healthcare needs and tomorrow’s healthcare challenges and we warmly welcome students who share our values, energy and ambition.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


  • Biomedical Science
  • Breast Imaging
  • Healthcare Practice
  • Healthcare Science (Physiological Sciences)
  • Medicine MBBS
  • Medicine MBBS (Graduate Entry)
  • Midwifery/Registered Midwife for registered nurses
  • Midwifery/Registered Midwife
  • Nursing/Registered Nurse
  • Paramedic Practice
  • Paramedic Science
    Physiotherapy
  • Radiography, Diagnostic
  • Radiography, Therapeutic

History


We have a long, illustrious history of training doctors, dating back more than 250 years. Among our alumni we can count some of the founding fathers of medicine. We are well known for our innovative approach to developing education and our graduates are really ready for the rigours and rewards of a challenging and changing profession.

1733 St George’s Hospital opens at Lanesborough House at Hyde Park Corner. The new Hospital is arranged on three floors and accommodates 30 patients in two wards, one for men and one for women.

1751 Formal Registration of apprentice doctors begins.

1754 The eminent surgeon John Hunter begins to undertake courses of study at St George.

1796 Edward Jenner (student from 1770 to 1774) successfully performs the first vaccination against smallpox, leading to the eventual complete eradication of the disease in 1980. The hide of Blossom, the cow used in Jenner’s smallpox experiment, was presented to St George’s, University of London by Jenner’s son in 1857, and has remained in the university’s possession since.

1800 With the Lanesborough House building falling into disrepair, a competition is held to design a new 350-bed hospital building. This is won by William Wilkins, an English architect whose most famous work is the National Gallery.

1844 Benjamin Brodie, surgeon at St George’s Hospital, is appointed as the first President of the Royal College of Surgeons. Brodie would also go on to be appointed the first President of the General Medical Council in 1858.

1858 Gray’s Anatomy, the product of the collaboration between Henry Gray and demonstrator in anatomy Henry Vandyke Carter, one of the greatest artistic and scientific achievements is published.

1867 Mr Atkinson Morley leaves his savings to St George’s Hospital for the building and maintenance of a convalescent home remote from the noise and epidemic of central London.

1895 Patrick Manson is appointed lecturer in Tropical Medicine and gives the first ever series of lectures on tropical diseases at St George’s. Manson went on to found the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine in 1899.

1899 Edward Wilson qualifies at St George’s Hospital Medical School. On qualification he is asked to join Captain Scott’s first Antarctic Expedition, leaving England in 1901 as junior surgeon and zoologist. In 1910 he joins the ill-fated expedition led by Scott to the South Pole and perishes with other members of the party on their return from the South Pole.

1915 St George’s is the first university in London to admit female students during World War One. Helen Inglby, one of the four women accepted alongside Ethelberta Claremont, Marian M. Bostock and Elizabeth O’Flynn, goes on to become Pathologist of the Albert Einstein Medical Centre in Philadelphia in1945.

1939–1945 During the Second World War St George’s becomes a unit of the Emergency Hospital Service, providing 200 beds for war casualties and 65 beds for the civilian sick.

1948 The NHS comes into being on 5 July 1948 to provide healthcare for all citizens, based on need, not the ability to pay.

1954 Aubrey Leatham is appointed as St George’s first consulting cardiologist. Leatham is best known for designing a new and improved version of the stethoscope, and for inventing the world’s first endocardial cardiac pacemaker.

1958 The first indwelling pacemaker operation is carried out at St George’s.

1973 Building starts on St George’s new site at Tooting, London.

1976 The first phase of the Medical School opens in Tooting with 80 students.

1978 Pioneer of fertility treatment Patrick Steptoe, (alumnus, MBBS 1939), is responsible, alongside biologist and physiologist Robert Edwards, for developing in vitro fertilisation (IVF), leading to the birth of the first test-tube baby in 1978.

1980 St George’s at Hyde Park closes its doors for the final time and HM Queen Elizabeth II opens the new St George’s Hospital and Medical School at Tooting on 6 November 1980.

1995 The Faculty of Health and Social Sciences, a joint collaboration between SGUL and Kingston University is established, offering health and social care education in nursing, midwifery education and radiography.

2000 St George’s is the first UK institution to launch the MBBS Graduate Entry Programme (GEP), a four year fast-track medical degree course open to graduates in any discipline.

2008 50 years after the first pacemaker operation was carried out at St George’s Hospital, the 50,000th operation is also successfully performed at the Hospital.

2011 The first cohort of medical students enrols graduate medicine programme at the University of Nicosia, Cyprus.

2013 The Postgraduate Diploma Physician Associate Studies Teaching Team wins the first ever Prospects Postgraduate Award for the Best Teaching Team (Science, Technology and Engineering).

2014 HRH Princess Anne opens INTO ST George’s, the international student centre in London.

2014 Research carried out by the Population Health Institute on the effects of parental smoking on the  respiratory health among children results in a Westminster Bill to ban smoking in cars when children are present.


Do you want discuss St George’s, University of London ? Any question, comments or reviews


St George’s, University of London on Map


Photo


Photos: St George’s, University of London official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

St George’s, University of London reviews

Join to discuss of St George’s, University of London.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.