格拉斯哥大學

格拉斯哥大學. 研究英國. 教育在蘇格蘭. 教育兄弟 - 留學雜誌

詳細格拉斯哥大學

  • 國家 : 英國
  • 市 : 格拉斯哥
  • 縮寫 : CORNER
  • 成立 : 1451
  • 學生們 (約。) : 27000
  • 不要忘了 討論格拉斯哥大學
報名在格拉斯哥大學

概觀


The 格拉斯哥大學 是次eEnglish講世界第四古老的大學和蘇格蘭的古代四大大學之一. 它成立於 1451. 隨著愛丁堡大學, 該大學是在18世紀的蘇格蘭啟蒙運動的一部分. 目前它是高教在線的成員 21, 研究型大學的國際網絡, 而羅素集團.

在與前現代時期的大學共同, 格拉斯哥最初是從富裕的背景,教育的學生主要是, 然而,它成為了英國高等教育的先驅在19世紀也從不斷增長的城市和商業的中產階級提供學生的需求. 格拉斯哥大學擔任所有這些學生通過他們準備職業: 法律, 醫學, 公務員, 教學, 和教會. 它還訓練有素的小,但越來越多的科學和工程事業.

原本位於城市的高街, 以來 1870 主校區一直位於Gilmorehill在城市的西區. 另外, 一些大學的建築位於別處, 如大學海洋生物站Millporton Cumbrae在克萊德灣島和鄧弗里斯的克萊頓校園.

校友或大學前任職員包括哲學家弗蘭西斯·哈奇森, 工程師詹姆斯·瓦特, 哲學家和經濟學家亞當·斯密, 物理學家開爾文勳爵, 外科醫生約瑟夫·利斯特, 1ST利斯特男爵, 7位諾貝爾獎獲得者, 兩個英國首相.

格拉斯哥大學

  • 排名第62在世界上是第一個也是唯一的英國大學被評為 5 星總體加. (QS世界大學排名 2015)
  • 被評為第三次在英國的國際學生滿意度 (參加國際學生晴雨表夏大學之一 2013)
  • 歡迎學生超過 140 世界各國
  • 有超過 25,000 本科生和研究生
  • 在格拉斯哥市的主要雇主有超過 6,000 員工, 包含 2,000 活躍的研究
  • 擁有超過£181​​米年度研究收入
  • 是英國領先的研究型大學的羅素著名的集團成員
  • 排名前蘇格蘭和第三的羅素集團在全國學生調查 2015
  • 是的高教在線的創始成員 21, 大學的國際分組致力於為高等教育制定全球標準
  • 其校友包括:, 經濟學亞當·斯密的父親, 權力下放的蘇格蘭建築師唐納德·杜瓦和著名物理學家和工程師開爾文勳爵.

學校 / 高校 / 部門 / 培訓班 / 院系


藝術學院

  • ArtsLab格拉斯哥
  • 藝術學院研究生院
  • 批判研究學院
  • 文化創意藝術學院
  • 人文學院
  • 現代語言與文化學院

醫學學院, 獸醫和生命科學

  • 生命科學學院
  • 醫學院 (包括牙科)
  • 獸醫學院

科學與工程學院

  • 化學學院
  • 計算科學學院
  • 工程學院
  • 地理與地球科學學院
  • 數學與統計學院
  • 物理和天文學院
  • 心理學院

社會科學學院

  • 亞當·斯密商學院
  • 教育學院
  • 跨學科研究學院 (在克萊頓校園, 鄧弗里斯)
  • 法學院
  • 社會和政治科學學院

歷史


在過去的五百年,更, 我們不斷努力,推動邊界什麼是可能的. 我們培育七個諾貝爾獎獲得者人才, 一個首相和蘇格蘭的就職第一部長. 我們歡迎愛因斯坦到演講的廣義相對論理論的起源. 蘇格蘭第一位女醫學畢業生在這裡完成了他們的學位 1894 而世界上第一個胎兒的超聲波圖像是由伊恩·唐納德格拉斯哥教授出版 1958. 在 1840 我們成為英國第一所大學任命工程學教授, 在 1957, 第一蘇格蘭有一個電子計算機.

所有這一切意味著,如果你選擇工作或學習在這裡, 你會走在世界上一些最知名的創新的腳步, 從科學家開爾文勳爵和經濟學家亞當·斯密, 電視約翰洛吉貝爾德的先驅.

 

格拉斯哥大學始建於 1451 由尼古拉五世章程或教皇公牛, 在國王詹姆斯二世的建議, 給主教威廉·特恩布爾, 聖安德魯斯theUniversity畢業, 允許大學加入到城市的大教堂. 這是第二古老的大學在蘇格蘭的聖安德魯斯之後的第四最古老的英語世界. 聖安德魯斯大學, 格拉斯哥和阿伯丁是教會的根基, 而愛丁堡是一個公民的基礎. 作為英國的古老大學之一, 格拉斯哥大學是唯一的八所院校在某些學科獎本科碩士之一.

自十六世紀中葉的大學一直沒有它的原始牛. 在 1560, 伴隨theScottish改革的政治動盪期間, 當時的校長, 大主教詹姆斯·比頓, 瑪麗安事業的支持者, 逃往法國. 他帶去了, 為保管, 許多大教堂和大學檔案和貴重物品, 包括錘和公牛. 雖然梅斯在送回 1590, 檔案沒有. 校長詹姆斯博士說秋季探望的議會委員上 28 八月 1690, 他曾見過公牛在蘇格蘭學院在巴黎, 與蘇格蘭的詹姆斯二世君主瑪麗授予大學的許多章程在一起, 蘇格蘭女王. 大學問這些文件 1738 但由托馬斯Innesand通知蘇格蘭學院的上級, 那些沒有被發現的大學預科的原始記錄. 如果他們尚未喪失,這個時候,, 在法國大革命期間,他們肯定迷路了,當蘇格蘭學院正受到威脅. 其記錄和值錢的東西都搬到了保管了巴黎城. 公牛仍然是權力由大學授予學位.

在大學教學始於格拉斯哥大教堂的禮堂, 隨後移動到附近的Rottenrow, 在被稱為建築 “奧爾德教育學”. 大學被賦予 13 畝 (5.3 他有) 屬於黑修道士土地 (多米尼加) 在高街瑪麗, 蘇格蘭女王, 在 1563. 到了17世紀後期, 大學建築集中在兩院通過圍牆的花園包圍, 帶鐘樓, 這是格拉斯哥的天際線的顯著特點之一, 而改編自前多明尼加教會教堂 (黑衣修士) 男修道院. 這個蘇格蘭文藝復興時期的建築遺跡, 主立面的主要部分, 被轉移到Gilmorehill校園,並更名為 “皮爾斯旅館”, 威廉·皮爾斯爵士, 造船巨頭誰資助其保存. 獅子與獨角獸樓梯也從舊大學網站轉移,現在連接到主樓.

約翰·安德森, 在大學自然哲學教授時, 並與他的同事們一些反對, 開創職業教育工業革命時期工作男性和女性. 要繼續在他的遺囑這項工作,他創辦安德森學院, 這是與其他機構合併成為斯特拉斯克萊德大學的前與學校相關 1964.

在 1973, 德爾菲娜成為帕洛特它的第一個女教授, 作為免疫學教授加德納.

在十月 2014, 大學評議會投票給大學成為歐洲第一個學術機構,從化石燃料行業撤資.


你要嗎 討論格拉斯哥大學 ? 任何問題, 意見或評論


格拉斯哥大學地圖


照片


相片: 格拉斯哥大學 官方Facebook

視頻





與好友分享這個有用的信息

格拉斯哥大學的評論

加入格拉斯哥大學的討論.
請注意: EducationBro雜誌讓你在閱讀有關大學信息的能力 96 語言, 但我們要求您尊重其他成員和英語發表評論.

University of Glasgow

University of Glasgow. Study in United Kingdom. Education in Scotland. Education Bro - Study Abroad Magazine

University of Glasgow Details

Enroll at University of Glasgow

Overview


The University of Glasgow is the fourth oldest university in th eEnglish-speaking world and one of Scotland’s four ancient universities. It was founded in 1451. Along with the University of Edinburgh, the University was part of the Scottish Enlightenment during the 18th century. It is currently a member of Universitas 21, the international network of research universities, and the Russell Group.

In common with universities of the pre-modern era, Glasgow originally educated students primarily from wealthy backgrounds, however it became a pioneer in British higher education in the 19th century by also providing for the needs of students from the growing urban and commercial middle class. Glasgow University served all of these students by preparing them for professions: the law, medicine, civil service, teaching, and the church. It also trained smaller but growing numbers for careers in science and engineering.

Originally located in the city’s High Street, since 1870 the main University campus has been located at Gilmorehill in the West End of the city. Additionally, a number of university buildings are located elsewhere, such as the University Marine Biological Station Millporton the Island of Cumbrae in the Firth of Clyde and the Crichton Campus in Dumfries.

Alumni or former staff of the University include philosopher Francis Hutcheson, engineer James Watt, philosopher and economist Adam Smith, physicist Lord Kelvin, surgeon Joseph Lister, 1st Baron Lister, seven Nobel laureates, and two British Prime Ministers.

The University of Glasgow

  • is ranked 62nd in the world and is the first and only UK university to be rated as 5 Stars Plus overall. (QS World University Rankings 2015)
  • is rated third in the UK for international student satisfaction (among universities participating in the International Student Barometer Summer 2013)
  • welcomes students from more than 140 countries worldwide
  • has more than 25,000 undergraduate and postgraduate students
  • is a major employer in the city of Glasgow with more than 6,000 staff, including 2,000 active researchers
  • has annual research income of more than £181m
  • is a member of the prestigious Russell Group of leading UK research universities
  • is ranked top in Scotland and third in the Russell Group in the National Student Survey 2015
  • is a founder member of Universitas 21, an international grouping of universities dedicated to setting worldwide standards for higher education
  • includes among its alumni, the father of economics Adam Smith, Scotland’s architect of devolution Donald Dewar and renowned physicist and engineer Lord Kelvin.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


College of Arts

  • ArtsLab Glasgow
  • Graduate School of the College of Arts
  • School of Critical Studies
  • School of Culture and Creative Arts
  • School of Humanities
  • School of Modern Languages and Cultures

College of Medical, Veterinary and Life Sciences

  • School of Life Sciences
  • School of Medicine (including Dentistry)
  • School of Veterinary Medicine

College of Science and Engineering

  • School of Chemistry
  • School of Computing Science
  • School of Engineering
  • School of Geographical and Earth Sciences
  • School of Mathematics and Statistics
  • School of Physics and Astronomy
  • School of Psychology

College of Social Sciences

  • Adam Smith Business School
  • School of Education
  • School of Interdisciplinary Studies (at Crichton Campus, Dumfries)
  • School of Law
  • School of Social and Political Sciences

History


Over the last five centuries and more, we’ve constantly worked to push the boundaries of what’s possible. We’ve fostered the talents of seven Nobel laureates, one Prime Minister and Scotland’s inaugural First Minister. We’ve welcomed Albert Einstein to give a lecture on the origins of the general theory of relativity. Scotland’s first female medical graduates completed their degrees here in 1894 and the world’s first ultrasound images of a foetus were published by Glasgow Professor Ian Donald in 1958. In 1840 we became the first university in the UK to appoint a Professor of Engineering, and in 1957, the first in Scotland to have an electronic computer.

All of this means that if you choose to work or study here, you’ll be walking in the footsteps of some of the world’s most renowned innovators, from scientist Lord Kelvin and economist Adam Smith, to the pioneer of television John Logie Baird.

 

The University of Glasgow was founded in 1451 by a charter or papal bull from Pope Nicholas V, at the suggestion of King James II, giving Bishop William Turnbull, a graduate of theUniversity of St Andrews, permission to add a University to the city’s Cathedral.  It is the second-oldest university in Scotland after St Andrews and the fourth-oldest in the English-speaking world. The universities of St Andrews, Glasgow and Aberdeen were ecclesiastical foundations, while Edinburgh was a civic foundation. As one of the Ancient Universities of the United Kingdom, Glasgow University is one of only eight institutions to award undergraduate master’s degrees in certain disciplines.

The University has been without its original Bull since the mid-sixteenth century. In 1560, during the political unrest accompanying theScottish Reformation, the then chancellor, Archbishop James Beaton, a supporter of the Marian cause, fled to France. He took with him, for safe-keeping, many of the archives and valuables of the Cathedral and the University, including the Mace and the Bull. Although the Mace was sent back in 1590, the archives were not. Principal Dr James Fall told the Parliamentary Commissioners of Visitation on 28 August 1690, that he had seen the Bull at the Scots College in Paris, together with the many charters granted to the University by the monarchs of Scotland from James II to Mary, Queen of Scots. The University enquired of these documents in 1738 but was informed by Thomas Innesand the superiors of the Scots College, that the original records of the foundation of the University were not to be found. If they had not been lost by this time, they certainly went astray during the French Revolution when the Scots College was under threat. Its records and valuables were moved for safe-keeping out of the city of Paris. The Bull remains the authority by which the University awards degrees.

Teaching at the University began in the chapterhouse of Glasgow Cathedral, subsequently moving to nearby Rottenrow, in a building known as the “Auld Pedagogy”. The University was given 13 acres (5.3 ha) of land belonging to the Black Friars (Dominicans) on High Street by Mary, Queen of Scots, in 1563. By the late 17th century, the University building centred on two courtyards surrounded by walled gardens, with a clock tower, which was one of the notable features of Glasgow’s skyline, and a chapel adapted from the church of the former Dominican (Blackfriars) friary. Remnants of this Scottish Renaissance building, mainly parts of the main facade, were transferred to the Gilmorehill campus and renamed as the “Pearce Lodge”, after Sir William Pearce, the shipbuilding magnate who funded its preservation. The Lion and Unicorn Staircase was also transferred from the old college site and is now attached to the Main Building.

John Anderson, while professor of natural philosophy at the university, and with some opposition from his colleagues, pioneered vocational education for working men and women during the industrial revolution. To continue this work in his will he founded Anderson’s College, which was associated with the university before merging with other institutions to become the University of Strathclyde in 1964.

In 1973, Delphine Parrott became its first woman professor, as Gardiner Professor of Immunology.

In October 2014, the university court voted for the University to become the first academic institution in Europe to divest from the fossil fuel industry.


Do you want discuss University of Glasgow ? Any question, comments or reviews


University of Glasgow on Map


Photo


Photos: University of Glasgow official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

University of Glasgow reviews

Join to discuss of University of Glasgow.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.