جامعة لينكولن

جامعة لينكولن . الدراسة في المملكة المتحدة. التعليم في انكلترا. التعليم وإخوانه - دراسة مجلة بالخارج

جامعة لينكولن تفاصيل

  • بلد : المملكة المتحدة
  • مدينة : لينكولن
  • اختصار : UL
  • مؤسس : 1992
  • الطلاب (تقريبا.) : 13000
  • لا تنسى أن مناقشة جامعة لينكولن
التسجيل في جامعة لينكولن

نظرة عامة


واحدة من المدن التاريخية الكبرى في العالم, لينكولن هو المكان الذي يمزج بين العمارة القديمة معا بسلاسة مع الحياة العصرية.

تم العثور على جامعة لينكولن الحرم الجامعي في قلب المدينة على الواجهة البحرية برايفورد. عبر المرفأ, على طول الواجهة البحرية برايفورد, تم العثور على غرار المقاهي القارية تطل على المياه.

بعد دقائق فقط’ سيرا على الأقدام, منطقة وسط مدينة لينكولن هو مزيج من القديم والجديد, حيث تبث تيودور قاعات الشاي اللمز ضد الحانات الحديثة. في الجزء العلوي من حاد هيل لينكولن هو الحي القديم في المدينة, موطنا لكاتدرائية عمرها ألف وقلعة من القرون الوسطى. الشركات المستقلة خط شوارعها المرصوفة بالحصى, بما في ذلك المعارض الفنية, دليكتسنس, محلات خمر ومحلات الكتب العتيقة.

الانصهار بين القديم والجديد, القديمة والمعاصرة, يجعل لينكولن مكان رائع للعيش والدراسة.

أهم الأسباب لاختيار لينكولن

الجامعة هي مكان للتعلم وإنما هو أيضا مكان لتطوير تجارب الحياة وخلق قيمة الذكريات. إنها فرصة لاكتشاف اهتماماتك وبناء الثقة في إعداد لمستقبل ناجح.

هناك بعض الأشياء العظيمة يحدث في جامعة لينكولن. إنه مكان رائع للعيش والدراسة وكبداية لتجربة أكاديمية التعليم العالي الخاصة بك وسوف يثبت تحديا, مثيرة والتحويلية. معرفة المزيد أدناه حول أسباب كبيرة لاختيار لينكولن.

جعل هذا العام الذي يغير حياتك.


تدريس مبتكرة

وقد أثنى على جامعة لينكولن قبل وكالة ضمان الجودة لنهجها في تعزيز الطلاب’ فرص التعلم

كريس Packham, واحد من الأساتذة الزائرين لدينا يصف جامعة لينكولن كما “مثيرة ويعمل بها الناس مبتكرة.”

رضا عالية طالب

جامعة لينكولن لديها بعض من معظم الطلاب بالارتياح في المملكة المتحدة. لينكولن في المركز الثالث على الصعيد الوطني لرضا الطلاب حسب تصنيفها من قبل طلابنا, على أساس متوسط ​​درجة لجميع الأسئلة في مسح الطالب الوطني 2015. العديد من الدورات لدينا رتبة في الجزء العلوي 20% على الصعيد الوطني في NSS 2015, مع علم النفس المقررات لدينا الترتيب 1 وطنيا ولدينا تصميم دورات كبار 3.


آفاق التوظيف ممتازة

تسعة من أصل عشرة من خريجينا الأخير كان في العمل أو متابعة الدراسة بعد ستة أشهر الانتهاء من برنامجهم الدراسي, مع الثلثين في الأدوار مستوى الدراسات العليا. لينكولن في المرتبة في الجزء العلوي 20 لآفاق الدراسات العليا في عدد من المجالات الموضوع في دليل جامعة تايمز وصنداي تايمز جيد 2016.


رائع سيتي سنتر الموقع

يقع بجوار الخلابة مرسى برايفورد حمام سباحة في قلب مركز مدينة مزدهرة, فقط بضع دقائق سيرا على الأقدام من شارع العليا, هناك ثروة من المحلات التجارية, المطاعم وأماكن الإقامة بالقرب من الحرم الجامعي. تم تصنيف جامعة لينكولن في الجزء العلوي 10% من الجامعات البريطانية للمركزية, مرافق ملائمة في المسح تجربة الحياة الطلابية التايمز للتعليم العالي 2015.


البحث الرائد

لينكولن فخورة بأن تكون موطن لكبار الباحثين في العالم الذين يقدمون مساهمات عميقة إلى المناطق موضوعهم. البحث تمكننا من اكتشاف, نشر والحفاظ على المعرفة. أكثر من نصف البحوث المقدمة من لينكولن إلى الإطار الوطني التميز البحثي (REF) 2014 وكان الحكم لتكون ممتازة أو الرائدة في العالم على الصعيد الدولي (3* أو 4*) - على أعلى الدرجات الممكن.


المرافق المتطورة

لقد استثمرنا أكثر من 200 مليون £ في الحرم الجامعي لدينا مع مزيد من 130 مليون £ الإنفاق المخطط لها على مدى السنوات العشر القادمة.

لدينا برايفورد حمام الحرم الجامعي لديها مرافق مصممة لتلبية احتياجات مواضيع محددة من طلابنا. تحرير وتسجيل الأجنحة, مرافق الإنتاج معايير الصناعة, هي استوديوهات حديثة وورش مجهزة تجهيزا جيدا المتاحة لأولئك الذين يدرسون مواضيع مقرها الفنون, في حين أن الطلاب في مجال الهندسة والحوسبة الوصول إلى مختبرات, ورش عمل وأحدث المعدات والتكنولوجيا. طلاب العلم من الحصول على المعدات المتخصصة والمتطورة المختبرات لدينا في العلم والابتكار بارك.


فريدة سريعة أصحاب العمل

ومن المسلم به جامعة لينكولن لتحقيق التميز في التعليم والتعلم من خلال نهجها الرائد للعمل مع الصناعة. لدينا علاقة فريدة مع شركات مثل سيمنس ولينكولنشاير التعاوني إظهار نهجنا المبتكر وتشارك الصناعة. وقد اعترف هذا من خلال جائزة ستافورد الرب وجائزة التايمز للتعليم العالي.


العقول الزائر كبيرة

جنبا إلى جنب مع أعضاء هيئة التدريس من الدرجة عالمنا, بعض من خيرة المفكرين في حقولهم تأتي لينكولن لتقديم محادثات ملهمة لطلابنا كجزء من العقول العظيمة زيارة برنامج المحاضرين. وقد ضمت قائمة المتحدثين الماضي جون هيرت, كريس Packham, جيسون برادبري, دالاس كامبل, آبي Hutty, جون Bercow النائب, السيدة كارول آن دوفي, ستيف كرام, أنجيلا ريبون, أستاذ اللورد روبرت وينستون وكارل Djerassi.


لينكولن هو العظمى الزوار الوجهة

ومن المسلم لينكولن واحدة من المدن التاريخية الكبرى في العالم, جذب مئات الآلاف من الزوار سنويا من جميع أنحاء العالم. مع قلعتها القرون الوسطى واحدة من أروع الكاتدرائيات في أوروبا, غارق في التاريخ لينكولن.

وقد سميت لينكولن واحدة من بريطانيا 20 أفضل المدن في 2016 قبل تلغراف. وعين لينكولن الشهير مرقع حاد هيل أيضا واحدة من أجمل الشوارع في بريطانيا من قبل صحيفة الديلي تلغراف, بعد أن سبق جائزة أفضل شارع في بريطانيا من قبل الأكاديمية العمران.

المدارس / الكليات / الإدارات / الدورات / ملكات


كلية الآداب

تقوم كلية الآداب البحوث, ويحتوي على مجموعة من المرحلة الجامعية والدراسات العليا درجة. الكلية هي أيضا موطن لصفارة الإنذار FM, محطة إذاعية مجتمعية في الجامعة التي تبث من مدينة لينكولن على 107.3 FM وعلى موقعها على الانترنت.

كلية الهندسة المعمارية & التصميم

ويستند المدرسة في الفن, الهندسة المعمارية وتصميم المباني.

مدرسة للغة الإنجليزية & صحافة

مدرسة للغة الإنجليزية & وقد تم اعتماد الصحافة أيضا BJTC, مما يجعلها بالطبع معترف به وطنيا بين المذيعين, بما في ذلك هيئة الإذاعة البريطانية, ITV, قناة 4 andSky الأخبار. ويشمل البحثي في ​​المدرسة الخبرة في شكسبير ومعاصريه, الرواية ضجة كبيرة فيكتوريا, 21الخيال القرن الحادي, المرأة والصحافة, وصحافة السلام.

مدرسة للسينما & وسائل الإعلام

مدرسة للسينما & وقد اكتسبت وسائل الإعلام سمعة قوية في الجداول الدوري لدرجة البكالوريوس ودرجة الماجستير الإنتاج الإعلامي. ذلك مؤخرا ترقية استوديوهات التلفزيون لعالية الوضوح وافتتح مسرح الصوت لينكولن في 2010 بواسطة أستاذ زائر تريفور دان. مؤخرا تلقت مكتبة الإسكندرية مع مرتبة الشرف الصوت الإنتاج بالطبع JAMES الاعتماد (دعم الصوت الإعلامي التعليم المشترك).

مدرسة الفنون الجميلة & الفنون التمثيلية

مدرسة التاريخ & تراث

لينكولن تعد موطنا لأكبر مركز لدراسة حفظ وترميم في المملكة المتحدة. المدرسة هي أيضا موطن لكريك سميث, الاستشارات الحفاظ على الجامعة التي تتولى المشاريع مع العملاء بما في ذلك القصور الملكية التاريخية ومتحف فيكتوريا وألبرت.

كلية العلوم

مدرسة الكيمياء

كلية علوم الحاسب الآلي

كلية علوم الحاسب الآلي حاصل على نطاق واسع في تقنيات الحوسبة ونظم المعلومات, بما في ذلك التخصصات في مجال الروبوتات والأنظمة الذاتية, رؤية الحاسوب وهندسة الصور, التطبيقات الطبية للتكنولوجيا, الحوسبة الاجتماعية, الألعاب الحاسوبية, الحوسبة الثقافية والحوسبة التجارية.

كلية الهندسة

فتح في 2011, بالتعاون مع شركة سيمنز, أصبحت كلية الهندسة وكلية الهندسة الأولى التي سيتم إنشاؤها في المملكة المتحدة لأكثر من 20 سنوات. وتقع المدرسة في الهندسة محور بنيت لهذا الغرض, هذا المبنى يحتوي على قاعات المحاضرات الجامعية والدراسات العليا, قاعات دراسية, مختبرات التدريس ومشروع. بالإضافة الى, مختبرات الأبحاث, محرك وتوربينات الغاز مرافق الاختبار وورش العمل.

المبنى, صممه لندن المعماريين الحلفاء وموريسون هو نتيجة لجهد تعاوني طويل الأمد بين جامعة لينكولن وسيمنس الصناعية الميكنة التوربينية لينكولن. سيمنز قد شارك في تقع منشأة تدريب منتجاتهم في مواقع مصممة خصيصا داخل البناء, وقد عزز هذا صلات بين سيمنز وجامعة لينكولن لكل من التدريس والبحث في العديد من المجالات الهندسية.

كلية علوم الحياة

مدرسة الرياضيات & علوم فيزيائية

كلية الرياضيات والفيزياء هي المدرسة الأكاديمية آخر للانضمام إلى جامعة لينكولن. وقد تم اعتماد دورات الرياضيات في المدرسة من قبل معهد الرياضيات وتطبيقاتها والدورات الفيزياء ومعترف بها من قبل معهد الفيزياء في أبريل 2016.

كلية الصيدلة

كلية الصيدلة تقدم العلوم الصيدلية البكالوريوس, برنامج MPharm ومجموعة من الفرص البحثية للدراسات العليا. يقع المدرسة في مختبرات بنوك يوسف. وماجستير في الصيدلة (MPharm) وقد تم اعتماد أولى برنامج مؤقتا من قبل المجلس الصيدلاني العام.

المركز الوطني لصناعة الأغذية

معهد لينكولن للصحة

معهد لينكولن للصحة (LIH) هي مؤسسة بحثية متعددة التخصصات المدارس بالتعاون ربط على مستوى الجامعة, الكليات والشركاء الخارجيين للتحقيق في القضايا الرئيسية التي تهم للصحة, الرعاية الاجتماعية والرفاه باستخدام "خلية للمجتمع" النهج.

كلية العلوم الاجتماعية

كلية العلوم الاجتماعية هي أكبر كلية في الجامعة مع مجموعة واسعة من تدريس الاهتمامات البحثية.

كلية إدارة الأعمال

كلية التربية

كلية الصحة & الرعاية الاجتماعية

كلية الصحة & الرعاية الاجتماعية هي موطن لمجموعة متنوعة من الدورات المعتمدة مهنيا في مجال التمريض والعمل الاجتماعي وكذلك الصحة الموجه نحو مهنيا ودرجة الرعاية الاجتماعية. والمدرسة هي أيضا موطن لمركز التطوير المهني التي تقدم برامج التطوير المهني, خدمات الاستشارات والبحوث التطبيقية التعاوني.

مدرسة القانون

كلية الحقوق هو مجتمع الأكاديمي vibran الذي يجمع بين التعليم عالي الجودة, البحوث المتميزة والأنشطة اللامنهجية.

كلية علم النفس

كلية علم النفس تقدم مجموعة من البرامج للطلاب الجامعيين والدراسات العليا. والدورة معتمدة علم النفس البكالوريوس من قبل جمعية علم النفس البريطانية.

مدرسة الاجتماعي & العلوم السياسية

تغطي مجموعة واسعة من التخصصات, بما في ذلك الجريمة, سياسة, علاقات دولية, علم الاجتماع والسياسة الاجتماعية. مقرها في بناء جسر البيت.

مدرسة الرياضة & ممارسة العلم

التاريخ


جامعة لينكولن وضعت من عدد من المؤسسات التعليمية في هال بما في ذلك مدرسة هال للفنون (1861), ال المعهد التقني هال (1893), الروم الكاثوليك تدريب المعلمين كلية Endsleigh (1905), ال كلية الوسطى بدن التجارة (1930), و كينغستون على كلية هال التربية والتعليم (1913). اندمجت هذه المؤسسات في 1976 لتشكيل كلية بدن التعليم العالي, مع تغيير الاسم إلى كلية هامبرسايد التعليم العالي في 1983 عندما يمتص العديد من الدورات في الصيد, الغذاء والتصنيع مقرها في غريمسبي.

في 1992 كان واحدا من العديد من المؤسسات في المملكة المتحدة لتصبح الجامعات الكاملة على النحو, موجز, ال جامعة هامبرسايد, متزايدة ل 13,000 الطلاب 1993.

كانت المدينة كاتدرائية لينكولن دون جامعتها الخاصة, لذلك جامعة هامبرسايد اقترب لتطوير الحرم الجامعي الجديد إلى الجنوب الغربي من وسط المدينة, تطل على حمام برايفورد. تم تغيير اسم الجامعة جامعة لينكولنشاير وهامبرسايد في يناير 1996, مع الأخذ في أول 500 الطلاب لينكولن في سبتمبر 1996, تعتزم ليصل إلى حوالي 4,000 الطلاب لينكولن يقيمون في أربع سنوات.

مع تغيير آخر من الاسم إلى جامعة لينكولن في أكتوبر 2001, تم بناء الحرم الجامعي الجديد في لينكولن. تحركت الجامعة في الحرم الجامعي الرئيسي من هال لينكولن في 2002.

افتتحت الملكة اليزابيث الثانية, كان حرم الجامعة الرئيسي في لينكولن أول جديد وسط المدينة حرم سيتم بناؤها في المملكة المتحدة منذ عقود. أكثر من 150 مليون £ تم استثمارها في الحرم الجامعي برايفورد بركة, تحويل إلى مركز المدينة موقع براونفيلد, تنشيط المنطقة وجذب الاستثمارات من التجزئة, قطاعات الترفيه والممتلكات. ويقدر الاقتصاديون أن الجامعة أنشأت على الأقل 3,000 وظائف جديدة في لينكولن، وأنه يولد أكثر من 250 مليون £ سنويا للاقتصاد المحلي - مضاعفة معدلات النمو الاقتصادية المحلية السابقة.

وتضمن توحيد جامعة لينكولن الحصول المدارس جامعة دي مونتفورت في لينكولنشاير مقرها ليستر،: مدرسة لينكولن للفنون والتصميم في لينكولن شاقة, ومدرسة لينكولنشاير من مواقع الزراعة في Riseholme, Caythorpe وHolbeach. تم إغلاق Caythorpe في وقت لاحق بشكل دائم ونقل أنشطتها إلى Riseholme. تم نقل الدورات التي عقدت في غريمسبي أيضا لينكولن في هذا الوقت.

في 2012 ونقلت عن المزيد من توفير التعليم من كلية Riseholme للأسقف بيرتون كلية. أسقف بيرتون كلية هي الآن مسؤولة عن كلية Riseholme إلى الشمال من المدينة.

في جميع أنحاء-1990s في وقت متأخر, مواقع الجامعة في هال تم تحجيمها بشكل كبير أسفل مع تحول التركيز نحو لينكولن. في 2001 وقد اتخذت هذه العملية خطوة أبعد من ذلك عندما تم اتخاذ قرار لنقل المقر الإداري والإدارة لينكولن ولبيع الحرم الجامعي كوتينغام الطريق في هال, الحرم الجامعي الرئيسي السابق, لجارتها, جامعة هال; هذا الموقع هو الآن موطن مدرسة هول يورك الطبية. حتى 2012 حافظت الجامعة حرم أصغر, ديريك Crothall مبنى, في وسط مدينة هال. أصغر الحرم الجامعي، وطالب القاعات في بيفرلي الطريق, هيكل السفينة, بيعت أيضا لإعادة تطوير.

على 28 شهر اكتوبر 2004, بعد إعادة تطويره وحديقة العلوم والتكنولوجيا الغذائية المتخصصة, وأعيد فتح المركز الوطني لتصنيع المواد الغذائية في Holbeach التي كتبها جون هايز, عضو مجلس النواب عن هولاند الجنوبية وذا ديبينغز.


هل تريد مناقشة جامعة لينكولن ? أي سؤال, التعليقات أو المراجعات


جامعة لينكولن على الخريطة


صورة فوتوغرافية


الصور: جامعة لينكولن الفيسبوك الرسمي

فيديو





مشاركة هذه المعلومات مفيدة مع أصدقائك

جامعة من الاستعراضات لينكولن

تاريخ لمناقشة من جامعة لينكولن.
يرجى الملاحظة: EducationBro مجلة يمنحك القدرة على قراءة معلومات حول الجامعات في 96 اللغات, ولكن نطلب منك أن تحترم أعضاء آخرين وترك التعليقات باللغة الإنجليزية.

University of Lincoln

University of Lincoln . Study in United Kingdom. Education in England. Education Bro - Study Abroad Magazine

University of Lincoln Details

Enroll at University of Lincoln

Overview


One of the world’s great historic cities, Lincoln is a place where ancient architecture blends together seamlessly with modern living.

The University of Lincoln campus is found in the heart of the city on the Brayford waterfront. Across the marina, along the Brayford waterfront, continental style cafes are found overlooking the water.

Mere minutes’ walk away, the city centre area of Lincoln is a blend of old and new, where Tudor beamed tea rooms nudge up against modern bistros. At the top of Lincoln’s Steep Hill is the city’s old quarter, home to the thousand year-old Cathedral and medieval castle. Independent businesses line its cobbled streets, including art galleries, delicatessens, vintage boutiques and antique book shops.

The fusion of old and new, ancient and contemporary, makes Lincoln an exciting place to live and study.

Top Reasons to Choose Lincoln

University is a place to learn and it is also a place to develop life experiences and create valuable memories. It is an opportunity to discover your interests and build confidence in preparation for a successful future.

There are some great things going on at the University of Lincoln. It’s a fantastic place to live and study and as the start of your higher education academic experience it will prove challenging, exciting and transformative. Find out more below about great reasons to choose Lincoln.

Make this the year that changes your life.


Innovative Teaching

The University of Lincoln has been commended by the Quality Assurance Agency for its approach to enhancing students’ learning opportunities

Chris Packham, one of our visiting professors describes the University of Lincoln as “exciting and staffed by innovative people.”

High Student Satisfaction

The University of Lincoln has some of the most satisfied students in the UK. Lincoln is in the top third nationally for student satisfaction as ranked by our students, based on the average score for all questions in the National Student Survey 2015. Several of our courses rank in the top 20% nationally in NSS 2015, with our Psychology Courses ranking 1st nationally and our Design Courses ranking 3rd.


Excellent Employment Prospects

Nine out of ten of our most recent graduates were in work or further study six months after finishing their course, with two thirds in graduate level roles. Lincoln ranks in the top 20 for graduate prospects in a number of subject areas in The Times and Sunday Times Good University Guide 2016.


Fabulous City Centre Location

Situated next to the picturesque Brayford Pool marina in the heart of the thriving city centre, just a few minutes’ walk from the High Street, there is a wealth of shops, restaurants and accommodation close to campus. The University of Lincoln was rated in the top 10% of UK universities for centralised, convenient facilities in the Times Higher Education’s Student Experience Survey 2015.


Pioneering Research

Lincoln is proud to be home to world-leading researchers who are making profound contributions to their subject areas. Research enables us to discover, disseminate and preserve knowledge. More than half of the research submitted by Lincoln to the national Research Excellence Framework (REF) 2014 was judged to be internationally excellent or world-leading (3* or 4*) – the highest scores possible.


Cutting-edge Facilities

We have invested more than £200 million in our campus with a further £130 million spend planned over the next ten years.

Our Brayford Pool Campus has facilities designed for the subject-specific needs of our students. Editing and recording suites, industry-standard production facilities, modern studios and well-equipped workshops are available for those studying arts-based subjects, while students in engineering and computing have access to laboratories, workshops and the latest equipment and technology. Science students have access to specialist equipment and cutting-edge laboratories at our Science and Innovation Park.


Unique Employer Links

The University of Lincoln is recognised for excellence in teaching and learning through its pioneering approach to working with industry. Our unique relationship with companies such as Siemens and the Lincolnshire Co-op demonstrate our innovative industry-engaged approach. This has been acknowledged through a Lord Stafford Award and a Times Higher Education Award.


Great Visiting Minds

Alongside our world-class academic staff, some of the finest thinkers in their fields come to Lincoln to deliver inspirational talks to our students as part of our Great Minds visiting lecturers programme. Past speakers have included John Hurt, Chris Packham, Jason Bradbury, Dallas Campbell, Abbie Hutty, John Bercow MP, Dame Carol Ann Duffy, Steve Cram, Angela Rippon, Professor Lord Robert Winston and Carl Djerassi.


Lincoln is a Great Visitor Destination

Lincoln is recognised as one of the world’s great historic cities, attracting hundreds of thousands of visitors each year from all over the world. With its medieval castle and one of the finest cathedrals in Europe, Lincoln is steeped in history.

Lincoln has been named as one of Britain’s 20 Best Cities in 2016 by the Telegraph. Lincoln’s famous cobbled Steep Hill was also named one of the prettiest streets in Britain by the Daily Telegraph, having previously been named Britain’s Best Street by the Academy of Urbanism.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


College of Art

The College of Arts undertakes research, and has a range of undergraduate and postgraduate degrees. The college is also home to Siren FM, a community radio station based at the university which broadcasts to the city of Lincoln on 107.3 FM and on its website.

School of Architecture & Design

The school is based in the Art, Architecture and Design Building.

School of English & Journalism

The School of English & Journalism is also accredited by the BJTC, making it a nationally recognised course among leading broadcasters, including the BBC, ITV, Channel 4 andSky News. The School’s research profile includes expertise in Shakespeare and his contemporaries, the Victorian sensation novel, 21st Century fiction, women and the press, and peace journalism.

School of Film & Media

The School of Film & Media has earned a strong reputation in league tables for its BA and MA Media Production degrees. It recently upgraded its television studios to high definition and The Lincoln Sound Theatre was opened in 2010 by Visiting Professor Trevor Dann. Recently the BA Hons Audio Production course has received JAMES Accreditation (Joint Audio Media Education Support).

School of Fine & Performing Arts

School of History & Heritage

Lincoln is home to the largest centre for conservation and restoration study in the UK. The school is also home to Crick Smith, the university’s conservation consultancy which undertakes projects with clients including the Historic Royal Palaces and the Victoria and Albert Museum.

College of Science

School of Chemistry

School of Computer Science

The School of Computer Science holds a broad range in computing technologies and information systems, including specialisms in robotics and autonomous systems, computer vision and image engineering, medical applications of technology, social computing, games computing, cultural computing and business computing.

School of Engineering

Opening in 2011, in collaboration with Siemens, the School of Engineering became the first engineering school to be created in the UK for more than 20 years. The School is housed in the purpose-built Engineering Hub, this building contains undergraduate and postgraduate lecture theatres, seminar rooms, teaching and project laboratories. In addition, research laboratories, engine and gas turbine testing facilities and workshops.

The building, designed by London Architects Allies and Morrison is the result of a long-standing collaborative effort between the University of Lincoln and Siemens Industrial Turbomachinery Lincoln. Siemens have co-located their product training facility in custom designed locations within the build, this has cemented links between Siemens and the University of Lincoln for both teaching and research in many fields of engineering.

School of Life Science

School of Mathematics & Physics

The School of Mathematics and Physics is the latest academic school to join the University of Lincoln. Mathematics courses within the school have been accredited by the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications and the physics courses are recognised by the Institute of Physics in April 2016.

School of Pharmacy

The School of Pharmacy offers a BSc Pharmaceutical Sciences, MPharm programme and a range of postgraduate research opportunities. The school is housed in the Joseph Banks Laboratories. The Master of Pharmacy (MPharm) progamme is provisionally accredited by the General Pharmaceutical Council.

National Centre for Food Manufacturing

Lincoln Institute for Health

The Lincoln Institute for Health (LIH) is a university-wide multidisciplinary research collaboration linking schools, colleges and external partners to investigate key issues of concern for health, social care and well-being using a ‘cell to community’ approach.

College of Social Science

The College of Social Science is the largest College at the university with a wide range of teaching a research interests.

Business School

School of Education

School of Health & Social Care

The School of Health & Social Care is home to a variety of professionally accredited courses in nursing and social work as well as its vocationally oriented Health and Social Care degree. The School is also home to the Professional Development Centre which offers professional development programmes, consultancy services and collaborative applied research.

Law School

The Law School is a vibran academic community that combines high-quality teaching, outstanding research and extracurricular activities.

School of Psychology

The School of Psychology offers a range of both undergraduate and postgraduate programmes. The BSc Psychology course is accredited by the British Psychological Society.

School of Social & Political Sciences

Covers a range of disciplines, including Criminology, Politics, International Relations, Sociology and Social Policy. Based in the Bridge House building.

School of Sport & Exercise Science

History


The University of Lincoln developed from a number of educational institutions in Hull including the Hull School of Art (1861), the Hull Technical Institute (1893), the Roman Catholic teacher-training Endsleigh College (1905), the Hull Central College of Commerce (1930), and Kingston upon Hull College of Education (1913). These institutions merged in 1976 to form Hull College of Higher Education, with a change of name to Humberside College of Higher Education in 1983 when it absorbed several courses in fishing, food and manufacturing based in Grimsby.

In 1992 it was one of the many institutions in the UK to become full universities as, briefly, the University of Humberside, growing to 13,000 students by 1993.

The cathedral city of Lincoln was without its own university, so the University of Humberside was approached to develop a new campus to the south west of the city centre, overlooking the Brayford Pool. The university was renamed the University of Lincolnshire and Humberside in January 1996, taking in its first 500 Lincoln students in September 1996, intending to grow to about 4,000 Lincoln based students within four years.

With another change of name to the University of Lincoln in October 2001, a new campus was built in Lincoln. The university moved its main campus from Hull to Lincoln in 2002.

Opened by Queen Elizabeth II, the university’s main campus in Lincoln was the first new city centre campus to be built in the UK for decades. More than £150 million has been invested in the Brayford Pool campus, transforming a city centre brownfield site, revitalising the area and attracting investment from the retail, leisure and property sectors. Economists estimate that the university has created at least 3,000 new jobs within Lincoln and that it generates more than £250 million every year for the local economy – doubling previous local economic growth rates.

The consolidation involved the University of Lincoln acquiring Leicester-based De Montfort University’s schools in Lincolnshire: the Lincoln School of Art and Design in uphill Lincoln, and the Lincolnshire School of Agriculture’s sites at Riseholme, Caythorpe and Holbeach. Caythorpe was later closed permanently and its activities moved to Riseholme. Courses held in Grimsby were also moved to Lincoln around this time.

In 2012 all Further Education provision was transferred from Riseholme College to Bishop Burton College. Bishop Burton College are now responsible for the Riseholme College to the north of the city.

Throughout the late-1990s, the university’s sites in Hull were considerably scaled down as the focus shifted towards Lincoln. In 2001 this process was taken a step further when the decision was made to move the administrative headquarters and management to Lincoln and to sell the Cottingham Road campus in Hull, the former main campus, to its neighbour, the University of Hull; the site is now the home of the Hull York Medical School. Until 2012 the university maintained a smaller campus, the Derek Crothall Building, in Hull city centre. A smaller campus and student halls on Beverley Road, Hull, were also sold for redevelopment.

On 28 October 2004, following its redevelopment as a specialist food science technology park, the National Centre for Food Manufacturing at Holbeach was reopened by John Hayes, the Member of Parliament for South Holland and the Deepings.


Do you want discuss University of Lincoln ? Any question, comments or reviews


University of Lincoln on Map


Photo


Photos: University of Lincoln official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

University of Lincoln reviews

Join to discuss of University of Lincoln.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.