University of Lincoln

University of Lincoln . Studieren in Großbritannien. Bildung in England. Bildung Bro - Study Abroad Magazine

University of Lincoln-Details

Einschreiben an der University of Lincoln

Überblick


Einer der großen historischen Städte der Welt, Lincoln ist ein Ort, wo alte Architektur nahtlos zusammen mit dem modernen Leben vereint.

Die University of Lincoln Campus befindet sich im Herzen der Stadt auf der Brayford Waterfront gefunden. Gegenüber dem Yachthafen, entlang der Brayford Waterfront, kontinentalen Stil Cafés sind mit Blick auf das Wasser gefunden.

Nur Minuten‘ weggehen, das Stadtzentrum Fläche von Lincoln ist eine Mischung aus alten und neuen, wo Tudor Teestuben strahlte Schubs gegen moderne Bistros. An der Spitze von Lincolns Steep Hill ist das alte Viertel der Stadt, Heimat der tausend Jahre alten Kathedrale und der mittelalterlichen Burg. Unabhängige Unternehmen säumen die gepflasterten Straßen, einschließlich Kunstgalerien, delicatessens, Vintage-Boutiquen und Antiquariaten.

Die Verschmelzung von Alt und Neu, alte und zeitgenössische, macht Lincoln ein aufregender Ort zu leben und zu studieren.

Top Gründe für die Wahl Lincoln

Universität ist ein Ort, zu lernen, und es ist auch ein Ort zum Leben Erfahrungen entwickeln und schaffen wertvolle Erinnerungen. Es ist eine Gelegenheit, Ihre Interessen zu entdecken und das Vertrauen in Vorbereitung für eine erfolgreiche Zukunft.

Es gibt einige große Dinge an der University of Lincoln los. Es ist ein fantastischer Ort zum Leben und zu studieren und als Beginn des Hochschul akademische Erfahrung wird es beweisen eine Herausforderung, spannende und transformierende. Mehr unter etwa gute Gründe, aus Lincoln zu wählen.

Machen Sie dieses Jahr die Ihr Leben verändert.


Innovative Lehre

Die University of Lincoln wurde von der Qualitätssicherungsagentur für ihren Ansatz zur Verbesserung der Studenten gelobt‘ Lernmöglichkeiten

Chris Packham, einer unserer Gastprofessoren beschreibt die University of Lincoln als „spannende und innovative Menschen besetzt.“

Hohe Student Satisfaction

Die University of Lincoln hat einige der zufriedensten Studenten in Großbritannien. Lincoln ist im oberen Drittel auf nationaler Ebene für die Zufriedenheit Schüler von unseren Studenten Platz, basierend auf der durchschnittlichen Punktzahl für alle Fragen in der National Student Survey 2015. Einige unserer Kurse Rang in den Top 20% national in NSS 2015, mit unserer Psychologie Kurse Ranking 1. national und unser Design-Kurse Ranking 3..


Ausgezeichnete Beschäftigungsaussichten

Neun von zehn unserer jüngsten Absolventen waren in Arbeit oder weitere Studie sechs Monate nach Beendigung ihrer Kurs, mit zwei Dritteln in Graduate-Ebene Rollen. Lincoln gehört zu den Top 20 für Diplom-Perspektiven in einer Reihe von Themenbereichen in The Times und Sunday Times Good University Führer 2016.


Fabulous Zentrum Lage

Direkt neben dem malerischen Brayford Pool Marina im Herzen des blühenden Stadtzentrum, nur wenige Gehminuten von der High Street, gibt es eine Fülle von Geschäften, Restaurants und Unterkünfte in der Nähe zum Campus. Die Universität von Lincoln wurde in der am besten bewerteten 10% von britischen Universitäten für die zentrale, vorzüglichen Einrichtungen in der Times Higher Education Student Experience Umfrage 2015.


Pionierforschung

Lincoln ist stolz darauf, die Heimat der weltweit führenden Forscher zu sein, die tiefe Beiträge zu ihren Fachbereichen zu machen sind. Forschung ermöglicht es uns, zu entdecken, verbreiten und bewahren Wissen. Mehr als die Hälfte der Forschung von Lincoln zum nationalen Forschungsexzellenz Rahmens vorgelegt (REF) 2014 international ausgezeichnet oder weltweit führende zu beurteilt wurde (3* oder 4*) - Die höchste Punktzahl möglich.


Modernste Ausstattung

Wir haben mehr investiert als £ 200 Millionen in unserem Campus mit einem weiteren Ausgaben £ 130 Millionen in den nächsten zehn Jahren geplant.

Unser Brayford Pool Campus hat entworfen Einrichtungen für die fachspezifischen Bedürfnisse unserer Studenten. Bearbeitung und Aufnahme-Suiten, Industrie-Standard-Produktionsanlagen, moderne Studios und gut ausgestattete Werkstätten stehen zur Verfügung für die das Studium Kunst-basierte Themen, während die Studenten in den Ingenieurwissenschaften und Informatik haben Zugang zu Laboratorien, Workshops und die neueste Ausrüstung und Technologie. Wissenschaft Studenten haben Zugang zu Spezialausrüstung und modernste Laboratorien in unserer Wissenschaft und Innovation Park.


Einzigartige Arbeitgeber Verbindungen

Die University of Lincoln ist für Exzellenz in Lehre und Lernen durch seine Pionier Konzept für den Umgang mit der Industrie anerkannt. Unsere einzigartige Beziehung mit Unternehmen wie Siemens und der Lincolnshire Co-op unserer innovativen Industrie-engagiert Ansatz demonstrieren. Dies wurde durch einen Herrn Stafford Auszeichnung anerkannt und Times Higher Education Award.


Große Besuch Minds

Neben unseren erstklassigen akademischen Mitarbeiter, einige der besten Denker in ihren Bereichen kommen nach Lincoln zu inspirierende Gespräche zu unseren Studenten als Teil unserer großen Geister Programm Gastdozenten liefern. Frühere Redner haben John Hurt enthalten, Chris Packham, Jason Bradbury, Dallas Campbell, Abbie Hutty, John Bercow MP, Dame Carol Ann Duffy, Steve Cram, Angela Rippon, Professor Lord Robert Winston und Carl Djerassi.


Lincoln ist ein großer Besucher Reiseziel

Lincoln wird als einer der großen historischen Städte der Welt anerkannt, Hunderttausende von Besuchern jedes Jahr aus der ganzen Welt anzieht. Mit seiner mittelalterlichen Burg und einer der schönsten Kathedralen in Europa, Lincoln ist reich an Geschichte.

Lincoln wurde als einer von Großbritanniens benannt 20 Die besten Städte in 2016 von der Telegraph. Lincolns berühmte gepflasterte Steep Hill war auch einer der schönsten Straßen in Großbritannien von der Daily Telegraph benannt, nachdem er zuvor bereits Englands beste Straße von der Academy of Urbanism benannt.

Schulen / Hochschulen / Abteilungen / Kurse / Fakultäten


Kunstakademie

Das College of Arts verpflichtet Forschung, und verfügt über eine Reihe von Studenten und Doktoranden Grad. Das College ist auch die Heimat von Siren FM, eine Station Community Radio an der Universität basiert, die auf die Stadt Lincoln sendet auf 107.3 FM und auf ihrer Website.

School of Architecture & Design

Die Schule befindet sich in der Kunst basiert, Architektur und Design von Gebäuden.

School of English & Journalismus

Die School of English & Journalismus wird auch durch die BJTC akkreditiert, so dass es eine national anerkannte Kurs unter führenden Fernsehsendern, einschließlich der BBC, ITV, Kanal 4 andSky Nachrichten. Das Forschungsprofil der Schule umfasst Know-how in Shakespeare und seine Zeitgenossen, die viktorianischen Sensation Roman, 21st Century Fiction, Frauen und die Presse, und Friedensjournalismus.

School of Film & Medien

Die Hochschule für Film & Media hat einen guten Ruf in Ligatabellen für seinen BA und MA Media Production Grad verdient. Es aktualisiert kürzlich seine TV-Studios bis hin zu High-Definition-und The Lincoln Sound Theatre eröffnet in 2010 durch den Besuch Professor Trevor Dann. Vor kurzem hat die BA Hons Audioproduktion Kurs JAMES Akkreditierung erhalten (Gemeinsame Audio Media Education Support).

School of Fine & Darstellende Künste

School of History & Erbe

Lincoln ist die Heimat der größten Zentrum für das Studium Konservierung und Restaurierung in Großbritannien. Die Schule ist auch die Heimat Smith Crick, die Erhaltung Beratung der Universität, die Projekte mit Kunden wie der Historic Royal Palaces und das Victoria and Albert Museum verpflichtet.

College of Science

School of Chemistry

School of Computer Science

Die School of Computer Science hält ein breites Spektrum in Computing-Technologien und Informationssysteme, einschließlich Spezialisierungen in den Bereichen Robotik und autonome Systeme, Computer Vision und Bildtechnik, medizinische Anwendungen der Technologie, Social Computing, Spiele Computing, Kultur-Computing und Business-Computing.

Ingenieursschule

Eröffnung 2011, in Zusammenarbeit mit Siemens, die School of Engineering wurde der erste Ingenieurschule in Großbritannien für mehr geschaffen werden als 20 Jahre. Die Schule befindet sich in der eigens errichteten Engineering Hub untergebracht, Das Gebäude enthält Studenten und Doktoranden Hörsäle, Seminarräume, Lehre und Projektlabors. In Ergänzung, Forschungslabor, Motor und Gasturbinen-Testeinrichtungen und Werkstätten.

Gebäude, entworfen von London Architekten Allies und Morrison ist das Ergebnis einer langjährigen Zusammenarbeit zwischen der Universität von Lincoln und Siemens Industrial Turbomachinery Lincoln. Siemens hat in den Build in maßgeschneiderten Standorten ihre Produktschulungseinrichtung co-located, dies hat Verbindungen zwischen Siemens und der Universität von Lincoln für Lehre und Forschung in vielen Bereichen der Technik zementiert.

School of Life Science

School of Mathematics & Physik

Die Fakultät für Mathematik und Physik ist die neueste akademische Schule der University of Lincoln beitreten. Mathematik-Kurse in der Schule haben, die vom Institut für Mathematik und ihre Anwendungen und die Physik Kurse anerkannt werden vom Institut für Physik im April akkreditiert 2016.

School of Pharmacy

Die School of Pharmacy bietet einen BSc Pharmazeutische Wissenschaften, MPharm Programm und eine Reihe von postgradualen Forschungsmöglichkeiten. Die Schule befindet sich in der Joseph Banks Laboratories untergebracht. Der Master of Pharmacy (MPharm) Progamm wird vorläufig von der General Pharmaceutical Council akkreditiert.

Nationales Zentrum für Nahrungsmittelherstellung

Lincoln Institut für Gesundheit

Das Lincoln-Institut für Gesundheit (LIH) multidisziplinärer Schulen ist eine universitätsweite Vernetzung der Forschungszusammenarbeit, Hochschulen und externen Partner für die Gesundheit die Lösung von Problemen zu untersuchen, soziale Betreuung und das Wohlergehen einer "Zelle zur Gemeinschaft" mit Ansatz.

Hochschule für Sozialwissenschaften

Die Hochschule für Sozialwissenschaften ist die größte Hochschule an der Universität mit einem breiten Spektrum eines Forschungsinteressen Lehre.

Wirtschaftsschule

School of Education

School of Health & Sozialhilfe

Die School of Health & Social Care ist die Heimat einer Vielzahl von professionell akkreditierte Kurse in Krankenpflege und Sozialarbeit sowie die berufsorientierten Gesundheits- und Sozialpflegestufe. Die Schule ist auch die Heimat des Zentrums Professional Development Programme, die berufliche Entwicklung bietet, Beratung und gemeinsame angewandte Forschung.

juristische Fakultät

Die Law School ist eine Vibran akademische Gemeinschaft, die qualitativ hochwertige Lehre kombiniert, herausragende Forschung und außerschulische Aktivitäten.

School of Psychology

Die School of Psychology bietet eine breite Palette von sowohl Studenten und Postgraduierten-Programmen. Der BSc Psychology Kurs wird von der British Psychological Society akkreditiert.

School of Social & Politikwissenschaften

Umfasst eine Reihe von Disziplinen, einschließlich Kriminologie, Politik, Internationale Beziehungen, Soziologie und Sozialpolitik. im Bridge House Gebäude Basierend.

School of Sport & Trainingswissenschaft

Geschichte


Die University of Lincoln entwickelte sich aus einer Reihe von Bildungseinrichtungen in Hull einschließlich des Hull School of Art (1861), das Hull Technical Institute (1893), die römisch-katholische Lehrerausbildung Endsleigh Hochschule (1905), das Hull Central College of Commerce (1930), und Kingston upon Hull College of Education (1913). Diese Institutionen verschmolzen 1976 Formen Hull College of Higher Education, mit einer Namensänderung zu Humberside College of Higher Education im 1983 wenn es absorbiert mehrere Kurse in der Fischerei, Essen und Fertigung mit Sitz in Grimsby.

Im 1992 es war einer der vielen Institutionen in Großbritannien voll Universitäten zu werden, wie, kurz, das University of Humberside, wachsen 13,000 Studenten 1993.

Die Domstadt Lincoln war ohne seine eigene Universität, so das University of Humberside angesprochen wurde einen neuen Campus im Südwesten des Stadtzentrums zu entwickeln, mit Blick auf den Brayford Pool. Die Universität wurde umbenannt University of Lincolnshire und Humberside im Januar 1996, wobei in der ersten 500 Lincoln Studenten im September 1996, beabsichtigen, zu wachsen 4,000 Lincoln basierend Studenten innerhalb von vier Jahren.

Mit einer weiteren Änderung des Namens an der University of Lincoln im Oktober 2001, ein neuer Campus wurde in Lincoln gebaut. Die Universität verlegte seinen Hauptcampus von Hull nach Lincoln in 2002.

Eröffnet von Queen Elizabeth II, Der Hauptcampus der Universität in Lincoln war der erste neue Stadtzentrum Campus seit Jahrzehnten in Großbritannien gebaut werden. Mehr als eine Million £ 150 wurde in der Brayford Pool Campus investiert, Transformation einer Industriebrache Zentrum Stadt, Revitalisierung der Fläche und die Anziehung von Investitionen aus dem Einzelhandel, Freizeit und Immobiliensektor. Ökonomen schätzen, dass die Universität mindestens geschaffen hat 3,000 neue Arbeitsplätze innerhalb Lincoln und dass es erzeugt mehr als £ 250 Millionen jährlich für die lokale Wirtschaft - vorherige lokale Wirtschaftswachstumsraten verdoppeln.

Die Konsolidierung beteiligt an der University of Lincoln Erwerb-Leicester basierend De Montfort University Schulen in Lincolnshire: die Lincoln School of Art und Design in bergauf Lincoln, und die Lincolnshire School of Agriculture-Standorten in Riseholme, Caythorpe und Holbeach. Caythorpe wurde später endgültig geschlossen und seine Aktivitäten bewegt Riseholme. Kurse in Grimsby gehalten wurden auch nach Lincoln um diese Zeit bewegt.

Im 2012 Alle Weiterbildungs ​​Bestimmung wurde von Riseholme College Bishop Burton College-übertragen. Bishop Burton College sind jetzt verantwortlich für die Riseholme Hochschule im Norden der Stadt.

In den späten 1990er-Jahre, den Standorten der Universität in Hull wurden erheblich verkleinert, wie der Fokus in Richtung Lincoln verschoben. Im 2001 Dieser Prozess wurde noch einen Schritt weiter als die Entscheidung getroffen wurde, die Verwaltungszentrale und das Management nach Lincoln zu bewegen und die Cottingham Straße Campus in Hull zu verkaufen, der ehemalige Hauptcampus, zu seinem Nachbarn, der University of Hull; die Seite ist jetzt die Heimat der Hull York Medical Schule. Bis 2012 die Universität beibehalten einen kleineren Campus, Derek Crothall das Gebäude, in Hull Stadtzentrum. Ein kleinerer Campus und Studentenwohnheime auf Beverley Straße, Rumpf, wurden auch für die Sanierung verkauft.

Auf 28 Oktober 2004, nach ihrer Sanierung als Spezialist der Ernährungswissenschaft Technologiepark, das Nationale Zentrum für Nahrungsmittelherstellung in Holbeach wurde von John Hayes wieder geöffnet, das Mitglied des Parlaments für Süd-Holland und der Deepings.


Möchtest du diskutieren University of Lincoln ? Irgendeine Frage, Kommentare oder Bewertungen


University of Lincoln auf der Karte


Foto


Fotos: University of Lincoln offiziellen Facebook

Video





Teilen Sie diese nützliche Informationen mit deinen Freunden

University of Lincoln Bewertungen

Registriert der University of Lincoln zu diskutieren.
BITTE BEACHTEN SIE: EducationBro Magazin bietet Ihnen die Möglichkeit Informationen über Universitäten zu lesen an 96 Sprachen, aber wir bitten Sie andere Mitglieder zu respektieren und Kommentare zu hinterlassen auf Englisch.

University of Lincoln

University of Lincoln . Study in United Kingdom. Education in England. Education Bro - Study Abroad Magazine

University of Lincoln Details

Enroll at University of Lincoln

Overview


One of the world’s great historic cities, Lincoln is a place where ancient architecture blends together seamlessly with modern living.

The University of Lincoln campus is found in the heart of the city on the Brayford waterfront. Across the marina, along the Brayford waterfront, continental style cafes are found overlooking the water.

Mere minutes’ walk away, the city centre area of Lincoln is a blend of old and new, where Tudor beamed tea rooms nudge up against modern bistros. At the top of Lincoln’s Steep Hill is the city’s old quarter, home to the thousand year-old Cathedral and medieval castle. Independent businesses line its cobbled streets, including art galleries, delicatessens, vintage boutiques and antique book shops.

The fusion of old and new, ancient and contemporary, makes Lincoln an exciting place to live and study.

Top Reasons to Choose Lincoln

University is a place to learn and it is also a place to develop life experiences and create valuable memories. It is an opportunity to discover your interests and build confidence in preparation for a successful future.

There are some great things going on at the University of Lincoln. It’s a fantastic place to live and study and as the start of your higher education academic experience it will prove challenging, exciting and transformative. Find out more below about great reasons to choose Lincoln.

Make this the year that changes your life.


Innovative Teaching

The University of Lincoln has been commended by the Quality Assurance Agency for its approach to enhancing students’ learning opportunities

Chris Packham, one of our visiting professors describes the University of Lincoln as “exciting and staffed by innovative people.”

High Student Satisfaction

The University of Lincoln has some of the most satisfied students in the UK. Lincoln is in the top third nationally for student satisfaction as ranked by our students, based on the average score for all questions in the National Student Survey 2015. Several of our courses rank in the top 20% nationally in NSS 2015, with our Psychology Courses ranking 1st nationally and our Design Courses ranking 3rd.


Excellent Employment Prospects

Nine out of ten of our most recent graduates were in work or further study six months after finishing their course, with two thirds in graduate level roles. Lincoln ranks in the top 20 for graduate prospects in a number of subject areas in The Times and Sunday Times Good University Guide 2016.


Fabulous City Centre Location

Situated next to the picturesque Brayford Pool marina in the heart of the thriving city centre, just a few minutes’ walk from the High Street, there is a wealth of shops, restaurants and accommodation close to campus. The University of Lincoln was rated in the top 10% of UK universities for centralised, convenient facilities in the Times Higher Education’s Student Experience Survey 2015.


Pioneering Research

Lincoln is proud to be home to world-leading researchers who are making profound contributions to their subject areas. Research enables us to discover, disseminate and preserve knowledge. More than half of the research submitted by Lincoln to the national Research Excellence Framework (REF) 2014 was judged to be internationally excellent or world-leading (3* or 4*) – the highest scores possible.


Cutting-edge Facilities

We have invested more than £200 million in our campus with a further £130 million spend planned over the next ten years.

Our Brayford Pool Campus has facilities designed for the subject-specific needs of our students. Editing and recording suites, industry-standard production facilities, modern studios and well-equipped workshops are available for those studying arts-based subjects, while students in engineering and computing have access to laboratories, workshops and the latest equipment and technology. Science students have access to specialist equipment and cutting-edge laboratories at our Science and Innovation Park.


Unique Employer Links

The University of Lincoln is recognised for excellence in teaching and learning through its pioneering approach to working with industry. Our unique relationship with companies such as Siemens and the Lincolnshire Co-op demonstrate our innovative industry-engaged approach. This has been acknowledged through a Lord Stafford Award and a Times Higher Education Award.


Great Visiting Minds

Alongside our world-class academic staff, some of the finest thinkers in their fields come to Lincoln to deliver inspirational talks to our students as part of our Great Minds visiting lecturers programme. Past speakers have included John Hurt, Chris Packham, Jason Bradbury, Dallas Campbell, Abbie Hutty, John Bercow MP, Dame Carol Ann Duffy, Steve Cram, Angela Rippon, Professor Lord Robert Winston and Carl Djerassi.


Lincoln is a Great Visitor Destination

Lincoln is recognised as one of the world’s great historic cities, attracting hundreds of thousands of visitors each year from all over the world. With its medieval castle and one of the finest cathedrals in Europe, Lincoln is steeped in history.

Lincoln has been named as one of Britain’s 20 Best Cities in 2016 by the Telegraph. Lincoln’s famous cobbled Steep Hill was also named one of the prettiest streets in Britain by the Daily Telegraph, having previously been named Britain’s Best Street by the Academy of Urbanism.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


College of Art

The College of Arts undertakes research, and has a range of undergraduate and postgraduate degrees. The college is also home to Siren FM, a community radio station based at the university which broadcasts to the city of Lincoln on 107.3 FM and on its website.

School of Architecture & Design

The school is based in the Art, Architecture and Design Building.

School of English & Journalism

The School of English & Journalism is also accredited by the BJTC, making it a nationally recognised course among leading broadcasters, including the BBC, ITV, Channel 4 andSky News. The School’s research profile includes expertise in Shakespeare and his contemporaries, the Victorian sensation novel, 21st Century fiction, women and the press, and peace journalism.

School of Film & Media

The School of Film & Media has earned a strong reputation in league tables for its BA and MA Media Production degrees. It recently upgraded its television studios to high definition and The Lincoln Sound Theatre was opened in 2010 by Visiting Professor Trevor Dann. Recently the BA Hons Audio Production course has received JAMES Accreditation (Joint Audio Media Education Support).

School of Fine & Performing Arts

School of History & Heritage

Lincoln is home to the largest centre for conservation and restoration study in the UK. The school is also home to Crick Smith, the university’s conservation consultancy which undertakes projects with clients including the Historic Royal Palaces and the Victoria and Albert Museum.

College of Science

School of Chemistry

School of Computer Science

The School of Computer Science holds a broad range in computing technologies and information systems, including specialisms in robotics and autonomous systems, computer vision and image engineering, medical applications of technology, social computing, games computing, cultural computing and business computing.

School of Engineering

Opening in 2011, in collaboration with Siemens, the School of Engineering became the first engineering school to be created in the UK for more than 20 years. The School is housed in the purpose-built Engineering Hub, this building contains undergraduate and postgraduate lecture theatres, seminar rooms, teaching and project laboratories. In addition, research laboratories, engine and gas turbine testing facilities and workshops.

The building, designed by London Architects Allies and Morrison is the result of a long-standing collaborative effort between the University of Lincoln and Siemens Industrial Turbomachinery Lincoln. Siemens have co-located their product training facility in custom designed locations within the build, this has cemented links between Siemens and the University of Lincoln for both teaching and research in many fields of engineering.

School of Life Science

School of Mathematics & Physics

The School of Mathematics and Physics is the latest academic school to join the University of Lincoln. Mathematics courses within the school have been accredited by the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications and the physics courses are recognised by the Institute of Physics in April 2016.

School of Pharmacy

The School of Pharmacy offers a BSc Pharmaceutical Sciences, MPharm programme and a range of postgraduate research opportunities. The school is housed in the Joseph Banks Laboratories. The Master of Pharmacy (MPharm) progamme is provisionally accredited by the General Pharmaceutical Council.

National Centre for Food Manufacturing

Lincoln Institute for Health

The Lincoln Institute for Health (LIH) is a university-wide multidisciplinary research collaboration linking schools, colleges and external partners to investigate key issues of concern for health, social care and well-being using a ‘cell to community’ approach.

College of Social Science

The College of Social Science is the largest College at the university with a wide range of teaching a research interests.

Business School

School of Education

School of Health & Social Care

The School of Health & Social Care is home to a variety of professionally accredited courses in nursing and social work as well as its vocationally oriented Health and Social Care degree. The School is also home to the Professional Development Centre which offers professional development programmes, consultancy services and collaborative applied research.

Law School

The Law School is a vibran academic community that combines high-quality teaching, outstanding research and extracurricular activities.

School of Psychology

The School of Psychology offers a range of both undergraduate and postgraduate programmes. The BSc Psychology course is accredited by the British Psychological Society.

School of Social & Political Sciences

Covers a range of disciplines, including Criminology, Politics, International Relations, Sociology and Social Policy. Based in the Bridge House building.

School of Sport & Exercise Science

History


The University of Lincoln developed from a number of educational institutions in Hull including the Hull School of Art (1861), the Hull Technical Institute (1893), the Roman Catholic teacher-training Endsleigh College (1905), the Hull Central College of Commerce (1930), and Kingston upon Hull College of Education (1913). These institutions merged in 1976 to form Hull College of Higher Education, with a change of name to Humberside College of Higher Education in 1983 when it absorbed several courses in fishing, food and manufacturing based in Grimsby.

In 1992 it was one of the many institutions in the UK to become full universities as, briefly, the University of Humberside, growing to 13,000 students by 1993.

The cathedral city of Lincoln was without its own university, so the University of Humberside was approached to develop a new campus to the south west of the city centre, overlooking the Brayford Pool. The university was renamed the University of Lincolnshire and Humberside in January 1996, taking in its first 500 Lincoln students in September 1996, intending to grow to about 4,000 Lincoln based students within four years.

With another change of name to the University of Lincoln in October 2001, a new campus was built in Lincoln. The university moved its main campus from Hull to Lincoln in 2002.

Opened by Queen Elizabeth II, the university’s main campus in Lincoln was the first new city centre campus to be built in the UK for decades. More than £150 million has been invested in the Brayford Pool campus, transforming a city centre brownfield site, revitalising the area and attracting investment from the retail, leisure and property sectors. Economists estimate that the university has created at least 3,000 new jobs within Lincoln and that it generates more than £250 million every year for the local economy – doubling previous local economic growth rates.

The consolidation involved the University of Lincoln acquiring Leicester-based De Montfort University’s schools in Lincolnshire: the Lincoln School of Art and Design in uphill Lincoln, and the Lincolnshire School of Agriculture’s sites at Riseholme, Caythorpe and Holbeach. Caythorpe was later closed permanently and its activities moved to Riseholme. Courses held in Grimsby were also moved to Lincoln around this time.

In 2012 all Further Education provision was transferred from Riseholme College to Bishop Burton College. Bishop Burton College are now responsible for the Riseholme College to the north of the city.

Throughout the late-1990s, the university’s sites in Hull were considerably scaled down as the focus shifted towards Lincoln. In 2001 this process was taken a step further when the decision was made to move the administrative headquarters and management to Lincoln and to sell the Cottingham Road campus in Hull, the former main campus, to its neighbour, the University of Hull; the site is now the home of the Hull York Medical School. Until 2012 the university maintained a smaller campus, the Derek Crothall Building, in Hull city centre. A smaller campus and student halls on Beverley Road, Hull, were also sold for redevelopment.

On 28 October 2004, following its redevelopment as a specialist food science technology park, the National Centre for Food Manufacturing at Holbeach was reopened by John Hayes, the Member of Parliament for South Holland and the Deepings.


Do you want discuss University of Lincoln ? Any question, comments or reviews


University of Lincoln on Map


Photo


Photos: University of Lincoln official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

University of Lincoln reviews

Join to discuss of University of Lincoln.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.