University of Manchester

Die Universität ofManchester. Studieren in England. Bildung in Großbritannien. Bildung Bro - Study Abroad Magazine

University of Manchester-Details

Einschreiben an der University of Manchester

Überblick


Die University of Manchester Teil der renommierten Russell-Gruppe von Universitäten, mit hervorragenden Einrichtungen und die breiteste Palette von Kursen. Wir sind auf der ganzen Welt als ein Zentrum der Lehre Exzellenz und innovative Forschung hoch angesehenen.

Mit 25 Nobelpreisträger unter unseren aktuellen und ehemaligen Mitarbeiter und Studenten, wir haben eine Geschichte von Weltpremieren und glänzenden Entdeckungen, aus dem Atom Spaltung der Welt Graphen zu geben.

Wir auf Weltklasse-Forschung engagiert, eine hervorragende Lern- und Schüler Erfahrung, und soziale Verantwortung in allem, was wir tun.

Unsere Vision ist es für Die University of Manchester ist einer der führenden Universitäten der Welt zu sein, durch 2020.

Die Universität von Manchester war der erste und bedeutendste der bürgerlichen Universitäten, Förderung die Grenzen des Wissens durch Forschung und Lehre, sondern auch einen Beitrag zum Wohlbefinden der Region und der Gesellschaft weiter verbreitet. Diese Ziele haben die Institution geführt seitdem und unsere strategische Vision zu fahren.

Im November 2011 (im Oktober aktualisiert 2015) veröffentlichten wir unsere Manchester 2020 Dokument, der strategische Plan für die Universität. Professor Dame Nancy Rothwell, Präsident und Vizekanzler, für die Lieferung dieses Plans verantwortlich ist.

Der strategische Plan basiert auf den drei Kernziele der Weltklasse-Forschung, hervorragende Lern- und Schüler Erfahrung, und soziale Verantwortung.

Schulen / Hochschulen / Abteilungen / Kurse / Fakultäten


Fakultät für Ingenieurwissenschaften und Naturwissenschaften

Die Fakultät für Ingenieurwissenschaften und Physik umfasst die folgenden Schulen:

  • School of Chemical Engineering und Analytical Science
  • School of Chemistry
  • School of Computer Science
  • Schule der Erde, Atmosphäre und Umwelt
  • School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering
  • School of Materials
  • School of Mathematics
  • School of Mechanical, Luft- und Raumfahrt und Bauwesen
  • Schule für Physik und Astronomie

Fakultät der Geisteswissenschaften

Die Fakultät für Geisteswissenschaften besteht aus fünf akademischen Schulen gemacht:

  • Allianz Manchester Business School
  • School of Arts, Sprachen und Kulturen
  • School of Environment, Bildung und Entwicklung
  • Rechtsschule
  • School of Social Sciences

Fakultät für Lebenswissenschaften (Einzelschule)

  • Fakultät für Lebenswissenschaften

Fakultät für Medizinische und Humanwissenschaften

Die Fakultät für Medizinische und Humanwissenschaften besteht aus den folgenden akademischen Schulen und Instituten:

  • School of Dentistry
  • Manchester Medical School
  • School of Nursing, Midwifery und Soziale Arbeit
  • Manchester Apotheke Schule
  • School of Psychological Sciences
  • Institut für Hirn, Verhalten und psychische Gesundheit
  • Institut für Krebswissenschaften
  • Institut für Kardiovaskuläre Wissenschaften
  • Institut für Human Development
  • Institut für Entzündungen und Reparatur
  • Institut für Gesundheit der Bevölkerung

Geschichte


Die University of Manchester führt ihre Wurzeln auf die Bildung der Mechanik‘ Institut (später UMIST zu werden) im 1824, und ihr Erbe ist zu Manchester Stolz verbunden in die weltweit erste industrielle city.The englischen Chemiker John Dalton, zusammen mit Manchester Geschäftsleute und Industriellen, die Mechanik etabliert‘ Institut, um sicherzustellen, dass die Arbeitnehmer die grundlegenden Prinzipien der Wissenschaft lernen können.

Ähnlich, John Owens, ein textiles Händler, ein Legat von 96.942 £ links in 1846 (um £ 5,6 Millionen in 2005 Preise) ein College zu erziehen Männer auf nicht-sektiererischen Linien gefunden. Sein Treuhänder gegründet Owens College in 1851 in einem Haus an der Ecke der Quay Street und Byrom Street, die die Heimat des Philanthropen Richard Cobden hatte, und anschließend Manchester County Court untergebracht.

Doch der größte Einzelgeber zu Owens College war die berühmte Lokomotive Designer, Charles Beyer. Er wurde Gouverneur der Hochschule und war der größte Einzelgeber zum Owens College Erweiterungsfonds, das erhöht das Geld an einen neuen Standort zu bewegen und das Hauptgebäude nun als John Owens Gebäude bekannt bauen. Er wird auch geworben und dazu beigetragen, den Engineering-Stuhl zu finanzieren, die ersten angewandte Wissenschaft Abteilung im Norden von England. Er verließ das entspricht dem Äquivalent von 10 Millionen £ in seinem Willen in 1876, zu einer Zeit, war die Hochschule in großen finanziellen Schwierigkeiten. Die Beyer finanziert die Gesamtkosten der Bau des Gebäudes Beyer die Biologie und Geologie Abteilungen Oxford Haus. Sein Wille auch Ingenieur Stühle und der Beyer Professor für Angewandte Mathematik gefördert, die heute noch existiert. Die Universität verfügt über ein reiches deutsches Erbe. Die Owens College-Ausfahrbewegung stützte ihre Pläne nach einer großen Tour von hauptsächlich deutschen Universitäten und Fachhochschulen.

Die reiche Manchester Mühlenbesitzer,Thomas Ashton war der Vorsitzende der Verlängerung Bewegung und er studierte an der Universität Heidelberg. Sir Henry Roscoe studierte in Heidelberg zu,für alle modernen redbrick Universitäten unter Robert Bunsen und mit ihm seit vielen Jahren an Forschungsprojekten zusammengearbeitet und es war Roscoe, der den deutschen Stil der Forschung, die das Vorbild wurde geleiteten Lehre gefördert. Charles Beyer studierte an Dresdner Akademie Polytechnic. Es gab viele Deutsche auf das Personal, einschließlich Carl Schorlemmer, Großbritanniens erster Stuhl in der organischen Chemie, und Arthur Schuster , Professor für Physik. Es gab sogar eine deutsche Kapelle auf dem Campus.

1873 das College zog in neue Räumlichkeiten an der Oxford Road, Chorlton-on-Medlock und aus 1880 es war ein Bestandteil Hochschule der Bund Victoria University. Die Universität wurde gegründet und eine Royal Charter gewährt in 1880 Werden erste Bürgeruniversität England; es wurde die Victoria University of Manchester umbenannt in 1903 und absorbiert Owens Hochschule im folgenden Jahr.

Durch 1905, die Institutionen waren große und aktive Kräfte. Das Städtische College of Technology, Vorläufer des UMIST, der Victoria University of Manchester der Fakultät für Technologie wurde parallel als Fachhochschule bietet erweiterte Studiengänge während sie weiterhin. Obwohl UMIST erreicht unabhängigen Status einer Universität in 1955, die Universitäten weiterhin zusammen arbeiten,. Die Victoria University of Manchester und der University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology vereinbart in einer einzigen Institution im März zu fusionieren 2003.

Vor der Fusion, Victoria University of Manchester und UMIST gezählt 23 Nobelpreisträger unter ihren ehemaligen Mitarbeitern und Studenten. Manchester ist traditionell stark gewesen in den Wissenschaften; es ist, wo der Kern Natur des Atoms von Rutherford entdeckt wurde, und die ersten speicherprogrammierbaren Computer der Welt wurde an der Universität gebaut. Berühmte Wissenschaftler mit der Universität verbunden sind Physiker Osborne Reynolds, Niels Bohr, Ernest Rutherford, James Chadwick, Arthur Schuster, Hans Geiger, Ernest Marsden und Balfour Stewart. Die Universität hat in anderen Bereichen beigetragen, wie durch die Arbeit des Mathematiker Paul Erdös, Horace Lamb und Alan Turing; Autor Anthony Burgess; philosophersSamuel Alexander, Ludwig Wittgenstein und Alasdair MacIntyre; der Pritzker-Preis und RIBA Stirling-Preis ausgezeichneten Architekten Norman Foster und Komponisten Peter Maxwell Davies alle besucht, oder arbeitete in, Manchester.

Die aktuelle University of Manchester wurde offiziell ins Leben gerufen auf 1 Oktober 2004 wenn Queen Elizabeth seine wurde Königlichen Charter.The übergeben Universität namens der Sunday Times Universität des Jahres 2006 nach der konstituierenden gewinnen Times Higher Education SupplementUniversität des Preises Jahr in 2005.

Der Gründungspräsident und Vizekanzler der neuen Universität war Alan Gilbert, ehemaliger Vizekanzler der Universität von Melbourne, die am Ende des akademischen Jahres 2009-2010 im Ruhestand. Sein Nachfolger war Dame Nancy Rothwell, das hatte einen Stuhl in der Physiologie an der Universität gehalten seit 1994. Eines der Ziele der Universität in der angegebenen Manchester 2015 Agenda ist einer der am besten sein 25 Universitäten der Welt, im Anschluss an Alan Gilberts Ziel „schaffen es durch 2015 unter den 25 forschungsstärksten Universitäten in der Welt auf allgemein anerkannten Kriterien der Forschungsqualität und Leistung“. Im 2011, vier Nobelpreisträger waren auf seine Mitarbeiter: Andre Geim, Konstantin Novoselov, Sir John Sulston und Joseph E. Stiglitz.

Die EPSRC kündigte im Februar 2012 die Bildung des Nationalen Instituts Graphene. Die University of Manchester ist die „einzigen Lieferanten aufgefordert, einen Vorschlag für die Finanzierung des neuen £ 45m Institut einreichen, £ 38m von denen von der Regierung zur Verfügung gestellt werden“ - (EPSRC &Technology Strategy Board). Im 2013, eine zusätzliche £ 23 Millionen der Mittel aus europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung wurde an das Institut vergeben £ 61 Millionen unter Investitionen.

Im August 2012, wurde bekannt, dass die Fakultät für Ingenieurwissenschaften und Naturwissenschaften der Universität der so gewählt worden ist, „Nabe“ Standort für ein neues BP International Center for Advanced Materials, im Rahmen einer $100 Millionen Initiative branchenverändernden Materialien zu schaffen. Das Zentrum wird bei Förderung des grundlegenden Verständnisses und der Verwendung von Materialien für eine Vielzahl von Öl- und Gasindustrieanwendungen ausgerichtet sein und wird auf einer Nabe modelliert werden und sprach Struktur, mit der Nabe in Manchester, und die Speichen an der University of Cambridge basierend, Imperial College London, und die University of Illinois in Urbana-Champaign.


Möchtest du diskutieren University of Manchester ? Irgendeine Frage, Kommentare oder Bewertungen


University of Manchester auf der Karte


Foto


Fotos: University of Manchester offiziellen Facebook

Video





Teilen Sie diese nützliche Informationen mit deinen Freunden

University of Manchester Bewertungen

Registriert der University of Manchester zu diskutieren.
BITTE BEACHTEN SIE: EducationBro Magazin bietet Ihnen die Möglichkeit Informationen über Universitäten zu lesen an 96 Sprachen, aber wir bitten Sie andere Mitglieder zu respektieren und Kommentare zu hinterlassen auf Englisch.

University of Manchester

The University ofManchester. Study in England. Education in United Kingdom. Education Bro - Study Abroad Magazine

University of Manchester Details

Enroll at University of Manchester


The University of Manchester is part of the prestigious Russell Group of universities, with outstanding facilities and the widest range of courses. We are highly respected across the globe as a centre of teaching excellence and innovative research.

With 25 Nobel prize winners among our current and former staff and students, we have a history of world firsts and brilliant discoveries, from splitting the atom to giving the world graphene.

We’re committed to world-class research, an outstanding learning and student experience, and social responsibility in everything we do.

Our vision is for The University of Manchester to be one of the leading universities in the world by 2020.

The University of Manchester was the first and most eminent of the civic universities, furthering the frontiers of knowledge through research and teaching, but also contributing to the well-being of its region and society more widely. These aims have guided the institution ever since and continue to drive our strategic vision.

In November 2011 (updated in October 2015) we published our Manchester 2020 document, the strategic plan for the University. Professor Dame Nancy Rothwell, President and Vice-Chancellor, is responsible for the delivery of this plan.

The strategic plan is based around our three core goals of world-class research, outstanding learning and student experience, and social responsibility.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties

Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences

The Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences comprises the following Schools:

  • School of Chemical Engineering and Analytical Science
  • School of Chemistry
  • School of Computer Science
  • School of Earth, Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences
  • School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering
  • School of Materials
  • School of Mathematics
  • School of Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
  • School of Physics and Astronomy

Faculty of Humanities

The Faculty of Humanities is made up of five academic Schools:

  • Alliance Manchester Business School
  • School of Arts, Languages and Cultures
  • School of Environment, Education and Development
  • School of Law
  • School of Social Sciences

Faculty of Life Sciences (Single School)

  • Faculty of Life Sciences

Faculty of Medical and Human Sciences

The Faculty of Medical and Human Sciences consists of the following academic Schools and Institutes:

  • School of Dentistry
  • Manchester Medical School
  • School of Nursing, Midwifery and Social Work
  • Manchester Pharmacy School
  • School of Psychological Sciences
  • Institute of Brain, Behaviour and Mental Health
  • Institute of Cancer Sciences
  • Institute of Cardiovascular Sciences
  • Institute of Human Development
  • Institute of Inflammation and Repair
  • Institute of Population Health


The University of Manchester traces its roots to the formation of the Mechanics’ Institute (later to become UMIST) in 1824, and its heritage is linked to Manchester’s pride in being the world’s first industrial city.The English chemist John Dalton, together with Manchester businessmen and industrialists, established the Mechanics’ Institute to ensure that workers could learn the basic principles of science.

Similarly, John Owens, a textile merchant, left a bequest of £96,942 in 1846 (around £5.6 million in 2005 prices) to found a college to educate men on non-sectarian lines. His trustees established Owens College in 1851 in a house on the corner of Quay Street and Byrom Street which had been the home of the philanthropist Richard Cobden, and subsequently housed Manchester County Court.

However the largest single donor to Owens College was the celebrated locomotive designer, Charles Beyer. He became a governor of the college and was the largest single donor to the Owens college Extension fund, which raised the money to move to a new site and build the main building now known as the John Owens building. He is also campaigned and helped fund the Engineering chair, the first applied science department in the north of England. He left the equivalent the equivalent of £10 million in his will in 1876, at a time when the college was in great financial difficulty. The Beyer funded the total cost of construction of the Beyer building to house the biology and geology departments Oxford. His will also funded Engineering chairs and the Beyer Professor of Applied mathematics, which still exists today. The University has a rich German heritage. The Owens College Extension Movement based their plans after a large tour of mainly German Universities and polytechnics.

The rich Manchester mill owner,Thomas Ashton was the chairman of the extension Movement and he studied at Heidelberg University. Sir Henry Roscoe studied at Heidelberg too,under Robert Bunsen and collaborated with him for many years on research projects and it was Roscoe that promoted the German style of research led teaching which became the role model for all the modern redbrick universities. Charles Beyer studied at Dresden Academy Polytechnic. There were many Germans on the staff, including Carl Schorlemmer, Britain’s first chair in organic chemistry, and Arthur Schuster , professor of Physics. There was even a German chapel on the campus.

1873 the college moved to new premises on Oxford Road, Chorlton-on-Medlock and from 1880 it was a constituent college of the federal Victoria University. The university was established and granted a Royal Charter in 1880 becoming England’s first civic university; it was renamed the Victoria University of Manchester in 1903 and absorbed Owens College the following year.

By 1905, the institutions were large and active forces. The Municipal College of Technology, forerunner of UMIST, was the Victoria University of Manchester’s Faculty of Technology while continuing in parallel as a technical college offering advanced courses of study. Although UMIST achieved independent university status in 1955, the universities continued to work together. The Victoria University of Manchester and the University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology agreed to merge into a single institution in March 2003.

Before the merger, Victoria University of Manchester and UMIST counted 23 Nobel Prize winners amongst their former staff and students. Manchester has traditionally been strong in the sciences; it is where the nuclear nature of the atom was discovered by Rutherford, and the world’s first stored-program computer was built at the university. Famous scientists associated with the university include physicists Osborne Reynolds, Niels Bohr, Ernest Rutherford, James Chadwick, Arthur Schuster, Hans Geiger, Ernest Marsden and Balfour Stewart. The university has contributed in other fields, such as by the work of mathematicians Paul Erdős, Horace Lamb and Alan Turing; author Anthony Burgess; philosophersSamuel Alexander, Ludwig Wittgenstein and Alasdair MacIntyre; the Pritzker Prize and RIBA Stirling Prize-winning architect Norman Foster and composer Peter Maxwell Davies all attended, or worked in, Manchester.

The current University of Manchester was officially launched on 1 October 2004 when Queen Elizabeth handed over its Royal Charter.The university was named the Sunday Times University of the Year in 2006 after winning the inaugural Times Higher Education SupplementUniversity of the Year prize in 2005.

The founding president and vice-chancellor of the new university was Alan Gilbert, former Vice-Chancellor of the University of Melbourne, who retired at the end of the 2009–2010 academic year. His successor was Dame Nancy Rothwell, who had held a chair in physiology at the university since 1994. One of the university’s aims stated in the Manchester 2015 Agenda is to be one of the top 25 universities in the world, following on from Alan Gilbert’s aim to “establish it by 2015 among the 25 strongest research universities in the world on commonly accepted criteria of research excellence and performance”. In 2011, four Nobel laureates were on its staff: Andre Geim, Konstantin Novoselov, Sir John Sulston and Joseph E. Stiglitz.

The EPSRC announced in February 2012 the formation of the National Graphene Institute. The University of Manchester is the “single supplier invited to submit a proposal for funding the new £45m institute, £38m of which will be provided by the government” – (EPSRC &Technology Strategy Board). In 2013, an additional £23 million of funding from European Regional Development Fund was awarded to the institute taking investment to £61 million.

In August 2012, it was announced that the university’s Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences had been chosen to be the “hub” location for a new BP International Centre for Advanced Materials, as part of a $100 million initiative to create industry-changing materials. The centre will be aimed at advancing fundamental understanding and use of materials across a variety of oil and gas industrial applications and will be modelled on a hub and spoke structure, with the hub located at Manchester, and the spokes based at the University of Cambridge, Imperial College London, and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Do you want discuss University of Manchester ? Any question, comments or reviews

University of Manchester on Map


Photos: University of Manchester official Facebook


Share this useful info with your friends

University of Manchester reviews

Join to discuss of University of Manchester.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.