جامعة شيفيلد

جامعة شيفيلد. EducationBro

جامعة شيفيلد تفاصيل

  • بلد : المملكة المتحدة
  • مدينة : شيفيلد
  • اختصار : UofS
  • مؤسس : 1897
  • الطلاب (تقريبا.) : 28000
  • لا تنسى أن بحث جامعة شيفيلد
التسجيل في جامعة شيفيلد

نظرة عامة


جامعة شيفيلد تأسست منذ مائة عام على, تأسست على تطلعات والدعم المالي للشعب شيفيلد. انهم يريدون انشاء جامعة التي ستستفيد اقتصادهم, الصحة والأطفال.

يمكن أن يتساءل هؤلاء الرجال والنساء بعيدة النظر فقط في ما سيتبع. اليوم نحن مجتمع عالمي والمواطنة لدينا تمتد في جميع أنحاء العالم إلى أكثر من 150 بلدان. مثل مدينتنا, موظفينا والطلاب لديهم جذور والاتصالات في جميع أنحاء كوكبنا.

وما نواصل القيام به هو بناء على قيمنا ومتجذرة في مبادئ المؤسسين. نهجنا يلهم تعاون مبتكر في مناطق الموضوع ومع الأفراد, الشركات والمؤسسات من أجل حل المشاكل الأكثر إلحاحا التي نواجهها, كلا على مقربة من المنزل وحول العالم.

كونها إحدى الجامعات المدنية يعني أننا مكانا للنقاش المفتوح, للعمل معا على حل المشكلات واتخاذ الشراكات التي تتحدى وتلهم الفكر الجديد. نحن منفتحون على الناس, لتغيير وإلى إمكانية.

كنا تأسست لجعل تأثير حقيقي على اقتصاد المدينة وتحسين الصحة. وبعد قرن, نحن لا تزال تفعل هذا.

وأشارت الجامعة من السنة جائزة افتتاح معهد theSheffield لبالحركة علم الأعصاب مع التبرعات من 8M £ من المحسنين المحليين والمرضى’ مجموعة. ينفذ المركز أحدث الأبحاث العلمية في الحالات العصبية مثل مرض العصبية للسيارات, الشلل الرعاش والزهايمر.

مركز أبحاث التصنيع المتقدم لدينا هي الرائدة التعاون الصناعي بين الجامعة والصناعة التحويلية في المملكة المتحدة. جنبا إلى جنب مع بوينج ورولز رويس, 60 الشركات الشريكة تعمل مع 200 موظفي الجامعة (75% وطلاب الدراسات العليا) و 150 المتدربين الثقة الأمير.

مصنع خالية من الكربون في المستقبل مقام على أراض مستصلحة منجم الفحم, ترمز تجديد المحلي, وكان اسمه AMRC بوينغ مزود العام ضد المنافسة من 17,000 شركة حول العالم - للمرة الأولى قد ذهب هذا اللقب إلى المملكة المتحدة.

يهدف مشروع الشمس المشرقة لتسخير طاقة الشمس لمواجهة التحدي الأكبر الذي يواجه العالم اليوم: تلبية الاحتياجات المتزايدة للغذاء والطاقة من سكان العالم في سياق مناخ غير مؤكد والتغير البيئي العالمي.

يبني مركز غرانثام على موقعنا الرائد بحث مشروع صن شاين في الأمن الغذائي والطاقة. ويهدف المركز غرانثام للمضي قدما في علم الاستدامة وربط ذلك مع النقاش السياسي حول كيف يمكن أن يعيش البشر بطريقة أكثر استدامة.

طاقة 2050 يستكشف كيف يمكننا الانتقال إلى آمنة, نظام الطاقة منخفضة الكربون. وتأتي مبادرة التحدي الثلاثي للطاقة من تقديم بأسعار معقولة, طاقة آمنة ومستدامة.

معهد بحوث الاقتصاد السياسي شيفيلد (أمل) يجمع نخبة من الباحثين الدوليين في مجال العلوم الاجتماعية, صناع السياسة, الصحفيين وقادة الرأي لإعادة تقييم وتطوير المقترحات الموضوعية للرد على التحديات السياسية والاقتصادية التي تفرضها الأزمة المالية العالمية وإرثها.

وكذلك النظر إلى الخارج, لدينا القوة عميقة داخل. وتبرز أهمية من الطلاب في أدائنا المتميز في مسح رضا الطالب الوطني.

جامعة شيفيلد الطلاب’ تم تصنيف الاتحاد باستمرار أعلى في البلاد في المسح تجربة الحياة الطلابية تايمز للتعليم العالي.

ونحن نرى طلابنا ليس فقط كمستهلكين ولكن كما منتجي المعرفة, الإبداع والتأثير. فمثلا, شيفيلد التطوع وشيفيلد رفع والعطاء (خرقة), كلا يديرها الطلاب’ الاتحاد, مساعدة طلابنا أن تحدث فرقا في المجتمع المحلي.

شيفيلد التطوع هي واحدة من أكبر البرامج من نوعه في المملكة المتحدة. بل هو نموذج لأفضل الممارسات ويحمل المتطوعين ستاندرد newSheffield.

يتم إنشاء مشاريعنا المجتمعية ويديرها الطلاب. أنها توفر شبكات الدعم حيوية داخل المجتمع وتقديم الخدمات التي من شأنها خلاف ذلك غير موجود.

ومن الأمثلة على ذلك الانجليزية المجتمع من أجل حب مشروع الكتب. وقد ساعد الطبقات شعرهم في مساكن محمية المحلي بنجاح للحد من العزلة الاجتماعية وتحسين صحة ورفاه العديد من كبار السن.

شيفيلد الفريق الاستشاري موجود لمساعدة الطلاب على جمع الأموال للأعمال الخيرية. أولوية الفريق الاستشاري هو المجتمع المحلي. العام الماضي 82% الأموال التي تم جمعها تم التبرع بها للجمعيات الخيرية في جنوب يوركشاير وشمال ديربيشاير المحلية.

تنظم اللجنة الفريق الاستشاري برنامج من الفعاليات والأنشطة لجمع التبرعات للطلاب للمشاركة في طوال العام الدراسي. لجنة أختهم Bummit تنظم والمملكة المتحدة السنوية توصيلهم فضلا عن توصيلهم الخيري الدولي. الفريق الاستشاري كما تدعم المجتمعات, الأندية الرياضية, اللجان العاملة, الجماعات والأفراد بجمع التمويل للجمعيات الخيرية التي يختارونها من خلال مشاريع مثل مشروع اعتماد واحد في الخيرية.

نحن أيضا فاز جائزة دوق مبادرة الجماعة يورك - لأجل أي جامعة. كان هذا لمشاريع includingPhilosophy في مدينة (تشغيل من قبل الطلاب في قسم الفلسفة); التوجيه طالب الشباب من المناطق المحرومة; أنشطة للأطفال الذين عانوا من فقدان الأسرة; ومركز تقديم الدعم القانوني المجاني للمجتمع.

المدارس / الكليات / الإدارات / الدورات / ملكات


كلية الآداب والعلوم الإنسانية كلية الهندسة كلية الطب, طب الأسنان والصحة كلية العلوم كلية العلوم الاجتماعية كلية الدولية – كلية المدينة, سالونيك
علم الآثار هندسة الطيران طب الأسنان السريري الحيوان وعلوم النبات هندسة معمارية إدارة الأعمال والاقتصاد
الإنجليزية التحكم الآلي وهندسة النظم علوم الاتصال الإنسان الرياضيات والإحصاء دراسات شرق آسيا علوم الكمبيوتر
الدراسات الفرنسية الهندسة الحيوية عدوى, حصانة & مرض القلب والأوعية الدموية علم الطب الحيوي اقتصاديات دراسات اللغة الإنجليزية
الدراسات الجرمانية الهندسة الكيميائية والبيولوجية كلية الطب كيمياء التعليم ماجستير في إدارة الأعمال التنفيذية
دراسات من أصل اسباني مدني & هندسة هيكلية علم الأعصاب علم الأحياء الجزيئية والتكنولوجيا الحيوية جغرافية علم النفس
التاريخ علوم الكمبيوتر التمريض والقبالة الفيزياء والفلك مدرسة المعلومات
اللغات والثقافات الهندسة الالكترونية والكهربائية علم الأورام & التمثيل الغذائي علم النفس دراسات الصحافة
موسيقى علوم وهندسة المواد صحة والبحوث ذات الصلة (SCHARR) المناظر الطبيعيه
فلسفة مهندس ميكانيكى القانون
دين, اللاهوت والكتاب المقدس إدارة المدرسة
الدراسات الروسية والسلافية سياسة
معهد طرق شيفيلد
الدراسات السوسيولوجية
الدراسات الحضرية والتخطيط

التاريخ


جامعة شيفيلد وضعت من ثلاث مؤسسات محلية: مدرسة شيفيلد الطب, كلية فيرث وكلية التقنية شيفيلد. كلية الطب, مؤسس 1828, كان حتى الآن أقدم. وكان تاريخها في وقت مبكر غير آمن جدا وحفظه من الانهيار قبل افتتاح كلية فيرث, الذي تولى تدريس جميع المواد العلمية الأساسية لطلاب الطب.

كان فيرث كلية واحدة من مجموعة من كليات الجامعة التي تأسست في أواخر القرن ال19. وتطورت من حركة تمديد جامعة كامبريدج, مخطط يهدف إلى تحقيق التدريس الجامعي إلى البلدات والمدن الكبيرة في إنجلترا, معظمها يفتقر إلى أي حكم الجامعة. نجاح هذه الدورات في شيفيلد أدى مارك فيرث, مصنع الفولاذ المحلي, لإنشاء كلية في 1879 كمركز للفنون التدريس والمواد العلمية.

كلية التقنية شيفيلد

كانت المدرسة التقنية شيفيلد نتاج قلق محلي بشأن الحاجة للتدريب التقني أفضل من الرجال المسؤولين عن إدارة صناعات كبيرة شيفيلد, صناعة الصلب خاصة. وقد بدأ الحركة داخل كلية فيرث لجمع الأموال لإنشاء قسم التقنية, التي أنشئت في 1884 كما كلية التقنية شيفيلد. في 1886 انتقلت المدرسة إلى مبنى جديد في موقع مدرسة متوسطة القديمة في ساحة القديس جورج.

في 1897, تم دمج المؤسسات الثلاث التي الميثاق الملكي لتشكيل جامعة شيفيلد. وكانت هذه الخطوة جزء من خطة لإقامة روابط مع جامعة فيكتوريا, اتحاد لكليات الجامعة في مانشستر, ليفربول وليدز.

بواسطة 1900, ومع ذلك, الجامعة الاتحادية والتفكك وفي غضون بضع سنوات تشكلت جامعات مستقلة من كليات الجامعة الثلاث.

على 31 قد 1905 منحت جامعة شيفيلد الميثاق الملكي في, وفي يوليو افتتح مبنى فيرث محكمة جديدة على الضفة الغربية من قبل الملك إدوارد السابع والملكة ألكسندرا. بقي ساحة القديس جورج في مركز أقسام العلوم التطبيقية, مع الفنون, الطب والعلوم يجري إيواؤهم في الضفة الغربية.

الجامعة في 1905

في وقت تأسيس الجامعة في 1905 كانت هناك 114 طلاب بدوام كامل القراءة لدرجة في الفنون, العلوم البحتة, الطب والعلوم التطبيقية. في 1919 عندما تم قبول عودة-الجنود السابقين في أعداد كبيرة, ارتفع الرقم طالب بدوام كامل إلى ذروة لم تدم طويلا نحو 1,000. بحلول ذلك الوقت كلية العلوم التطبيقية قد انقسم الى هندسة وتعدين; الجامعة الأولى قاعة الإقامة (قاعة ستيفنسون الأصلية) أنشئت; والمكتبة إدغار ألن فتحت (1909).

في ذلك الوقت كانت جامعة كما ملتزمة التدريس غير درجة لتعليم الطلاب بدوام كامل. الدورات التي شملت ليس فقط العديد من المواضيع الأكاديمية التقليدية ولكن أيضا موضوعات متنوعة مثل حفظ البقر, الاقتصاد السكك الحديدية, التعدين والشائكة طحن. خلال الحرب العالمية الأولى تم استبدال بعض من هذه من قبل تدريس (والمشاركة في) الذخائر جعل, تصميم الأجهزة الطبية والإنتاج, ترجمة والسياسة.

بين الحربين أعداد الطلاب بدوام كامل استقرت في حوالي 750 والتوسع في مجالات جديدة للتعليم والبحوث المتخصصة واصلت ببطء. جلبت الحرب العالمية الثانية معها مجالات جديدة للبحث والتدريب المتخصص – في, فمثلا, رادار, الدراسات الغذائية وفيتامين, إنتاج التخدير والمواد الكيميائية (كبدائل للمواد المستوردة سابقا من أوروبا), مغنطيسية, إنتاج الوقود والاقتصاد, رسم الخرائط البحرية, صناعة الزجاج وتدريس اللغة الإنجليزية.

منذ الحرب العالمية الثانية

منذ الحرب العالمية الثانية, تم جلب العديد من المنازل القديمة في استخدام الأكاديمي وتم إنشاء مبان رئيسية جديدة – المكتبة الرئيسية في 1959, وبرج الفنون, بناء هيكس, ألفريد مبنى ديني, السير روبرت بناء هادفيلد, مبنى الهندسة الكيميائية, الدار الجامعية, خمس قاعات الإقامة واتحاد الطلاب في 1960s.

وجاءت المباني الجديدة للجغرافيا وعلم النفس في 1970s, جنبا إلى جنب مع بناء Crookesmoor (للقانون وإدارة), مستشفى رويال Hallamshire, والشقق طالب بنيت لهذا الغرض. شهد العقد المقبل افتتاح مركز المثمن, السير هنري بناء ستيفنسون (للهندسة), والتوسعات الرئيسية في مستشفى شمال عامة.

في 1990s, المبنى الجديد لكلية طب الأسنان السريري, كلية الإدارة, شعبة التعليم, مكتبة سان جورج (تضم مكتبة الجامعة بلاكويل) فتحت وشقق سانت جورج ومسرح محاضرة, جنبا إلى جنب مع ملحقات ستيفنسون, هاليفاكس, وTapton قاعات الإقامة, وثلاث كتل جديدة من الشقق طالب.

مبنى المحكمة ريجنت, الذي يضم أقسام الدراسات معلومات علوم الحاسوب وومركز شيفيلد للصحة والبحوث ذات الصلة, تم الانتهاء أيضا. خضع لاتحاد طلبة برنامج تنمية 5000000 £, تحسين الرعاية, المرافق الاجتماعية والاجتماعات.

وبعد دمج الجامعة مع كلية ترينت شيفيلد وشمال التمريض والقبالة في 1995, برنامج بناء قدمت تسهيلات جديدة للتمريض والقبالة التدريس والبحوث. وهذا يشمل تمديد وتحويل موقع مستشفى سانت جورج في شارع الشتاء, وبناء مبنى جديد في مستشفى شمال عامة.

القرن ال21

واصلت استراتيجية العقارات الطموحة للجامعة في الألفية الجديدة. وتشمل الإضافات حرم برنامج التجديد 80 مليون £ للمختبرات الطبية في, العلوم البيولوجية والفيزيائية:

  • مبنية خصيصا المركز الصحي جامعة
  • شيفيلد Bioincubator
  • مركز التخصصات المتعددة التخصصات من العلوم الاجتماعية

وتشمل المشاريع الأخرى:

  • الألماس, مبنى 81 مليون £ على الموقع جيسوب الشرق, التي لديها مرافق تعليمية هندسية متخصصة, فضلا عن قاعات المحاضرات, قاعات دراسية, أماكن التعلم مفتوحة, خدمات المكتبات والمساحات الاجتماعية. ومن المتوقع أن يحضر 44500000 £ في الاقتصاد المحلي خلال مرحلة البناء والسنة الأولى من التشغيل, مع مساهمة سنوية الجارية لاقتصاد شيفيلد من 20.6 مليون £.
  • A £ 20 مليون تجديد طلابنا الحائز على جائزة’ الاتحاد ومعلما بناء الدار الجامعية. وقد تم تجديده المبنيين ومتكاملة لإنشاء مرافق وخدمات متميزة للطلاب, الموظفين والزوار
  • برنامج استثماري 8000000 £ في كلية الطب, طب الأسنان والصحة
  • A كلية 21 مليون £ من مدرسة عليا الهندسة, مبنى بام ليفيرزيدج, يضم مرافق متخصصة لطلاب الهندسة للدراسات العليا
  • تجديد لدينا معلم الصف الثاني * إدراج بناء برج الفنون
  • ثلاثة مبان لكلية الآداب والعلوم الإنسانية: مبنى جيسوب, وSoundhouse وجيسوب الغربية
  • برنامج لبناء 160 مليون £ لإعادة تطوير الشقق السكنية على مواقع Endcliffe وRanmoor
  • افتتاح 20 مليون £ شمال الحرم الجامعي (السكن معهد بحوث كروتو ومركز علم النانو والتكنولوجيا)
  • بناء مبنى المكتبة 23 مليون £, العموم المعلومات

في "الحرم الجامعي طوله’ تمتد الآن دون انقطاع تقريبا من ساحة القديس جورج في Crookesmoor, مع سكن الطلاب تتركز في الضواحي إلى الغرب من جامعة. لأول 50 سنوات من وجودها, لم عدد الطلاب المتفرغين في الجامعة لا ترتفع فوق 2,000. بواسطة 1980, ومع ذلك, انها توصلت 8,000 و في 2006 ارتفع عدد الطلاب بدوام كامل ل 21,000. إجمالي عدد الطلاب هو الآن أكثر 27,000 وتضم طلاب من جميع أنحاء العالم.


هل تريد بحث جامعة شيفيلد ? أي سؤال, التعليقات أو المراجعات


جامعة شيفيلد على الخريطة


صورة فوتوغرافية


الصور: جامعة شيفيلد الفيسبوك الرسمي

فيديو





مشاركة هذه المعلومات مفيدة مع أصدقائك

جامعة شيفيلد من الاستعراضات

تاريخ لبحث من جامعة شيفيلد.
يرجى الملاحظة: EducationBro مجلة يمنحك القدرة على قراءة معلومات حول الجامعات في 96 اللغات, ولكن نطلب منك أن تحترم أعضاء آخرين وترك التعليقات باللغة الإنجليزية.

University of Sheffield

University of Sheffield. EducationBro

University of Sheffield Details

Enroll at University of Sheffield

Overview


The University of Sheffield was founded over a hundred years ago, founded on the aspirations and financial support of the people of Sheffield. They wanted to establish a university which would benefit their economy, health and children.

These far-sighted men and women could only have wondered at what would follow. Today we are a global community and our citizenship stretches around the world into over 150 countries. Like our city, our staff and students have roots and connections all over our planet.

What we continue to do is based on our values and rooted in our founding principles. Our approach inspires innovative collaboration across subject areas and with individuals, businesses and organisations to solve the more pressing problems we face, both close to home and around the world.

Being a civic university means that we are a place for open debate, for working together to solve problems and making partnerships which challenge and inspire new thinking. We are open to people, to change and to possibility.

We were founded to make real impact on the city’s economy and to improve health. A century later, we are still doing this.

The University of the Year award noted the opening of theSheffield Institute for Translational Neuroscience with donations of £8m from local benefactors and patients’ groups. The centre carries out cutting edge research into neurological conditions such as Motor Neurone Disease, Parkinson’s and Alzheimer’s.

Our Advanced Manufacturing Research Centre is the UK’s leading university-manufacturing industry collaboration. Alongside Boeing and Rolls-Royce, 60 partner companies work with 200 University staff (75% are postgraduates) and 150 Prince’s Trust apprentices.

A carbon-neutral Factory of the Future sits on reclaimed colliery land, symbolising local regeneration, and the AMRC was named Boeing Supplier of the Year against competition from 17,000 companies globally – the first time this title has gone to the UK.

Project Sunshine aims to harness the power of the sun to tackle the biggest challenge facing the world today: meeting the increasing food and energy needs of the world’s population in the context of an uncertain climate and global environment change.

The Grantham Centre builds on our groundbreaking Project Sunshine research into food and energy security. The Grantham Centre aims to advance the science of sustainability and connect it with the policy debate around how humans can live in a more sustainable way.

Energy 2050 explores how we can move to a secure, low-carbon energy system. The initiative addresses the energy triple challenge of of delivering affordable, secure and sustainable energy.

Sheffield Political Economy Research Institute (SPERI) brings together leading international researchers in the social sciences, policy makers, journalists and opinion formers to reassess and develop substantive proposals to respond to the political and economic challenges posed by the global financial crisis and its legacy.

As well as looking outwards, we have profound strengths within. The importance of students is reflected in our outstanding performance in the National Student Satisfaction Survey.

The University of Sheffield Students’ Union is consistently rated top in the country in the Times Higher Education Student Experience Survey.

We see our students not only as consumers but as producers of knowledge, creativity and impact. For example, Sheffield Volunteering and Sheffield Raising and Giving (RAG), both run by the Students’ Union, help our students make a difference in the local community.

Sheffield Volunteering is one of the largest programmes of its kind in the UK. It is a model of best practice and holds the newSheffield Volunteer Standard.

Our community projects are created and run by students. They provide vital support networks within the community and offer services that otherwise would not exist.

An example is the English society’s For the Love of Books project. Their poetry classes in local sheltered housing have has successfully helped to reduce social isolation and improve the health and welfare of many older people.

Sheffield RAG exists to help students raise funds for charitable causes. RAG’s priority is the local community. Last year 82% of funds raised were donated to charities in the local South Yorkshire and North Derbyshire area.

The RAG Committee organises a programme of fundraising events and activities for students to take part in throughout the academic year. Their sister committee Bummit organises an annual UK hitchhike as well as an international charity hitchhike. RAG also supports societies, sports clubs, working committees, groups and individuals to fundraise for the charities they choose through projects such as the Adopt-a-Charity scheme.

We also won the Duke of York’s Community Initiative Award – a first for any university. This was for projects includingPhilosophy in the City (run by students in the Department of Philosophy); student mentoring of young people from deprived areas; activities for children who have experienced family loss; and a centre offering free legal support to the community.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


Faculty of Arts and Humanities Faculty of Engineering Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Faculty of Science Faculty of Social Sciences International Faculty – City College, Thessaloniki
Archaeology Aerospace Engineering Clinical Dentistry Animal and Plant Sciences Architecture Business Administration and Economics
English Automatic Control and Systems Engineering Human Communication Sciences Mathematics and Statistics East Asian Studies Computer Science
French Studies Bioengineering Infection, Immunity & Cardiovascular Disease Biomedical Science Economics English Studies
Germanic Studies Chemical and Biological Engineering The Medical School Chemistry Education Executive MBA
Hispanic Studies Civil & Structural Engineering Neuroscience Molecular Biology and Biotechnology Geography Psychology
History Computer Science Nursing and Midwifery Physics and Astronomy Information School
Languages and Cultures Electronic and Electrical Engineering Oncology & Metabolism Psychology Journalism Studies
Music Materials Science and Engineering Health and Related Research (ScHARR) Landscape
Philosophy Mechanical Engineering Law
Religion, Theology and the Bible Management School
Russian and Slavonic Studies Politics
Sheffield Methods Institute
Sociological Studies
Urban Studies and Planning

History


The University of Sheffield developed from three local institutions: the Sheffield School of Medicine, Firth College and the Sheffield Technical School. The School of Medicine, founded 1828, was by far the oldest. Its early history was very insecure and it was saved from collapse by the opening of Firth College, which took over the teaching of all basic science subjects to medical students.

Firth College was one of a group of university colleges founded in the later 19th century. It developed out of the Cambridge University Extension Movement, a scheme designed to bring university teaching to the large towns and cities of England, most of which lacked any university provision. The success of these courses in Sheffield led Mark Firth, a local steel manufacturer, to establish the College in 1879 as a centre for teaching Arts and Science subjects.

The Sheffield Technical School

The Sheffield Technical School was the product of local concern about the need for better technical training of the men responsible for running the great industries of Sheffield, particularly steelmaking. A movement was started within Firth College to collect funds to create a technical department, which was established in 1884 as the Sheffield Technical School. In 1886 the School moved to new premises on the site of the old Grammar School at St George’s Square.

In 1897, the three institutions were amalgamated by Royal Charter to form the University College of Sheffield. This step was part of the plan to link up with the Victoria University, a federation of the University Colleges at Manchester, Liverpool and Leeds.

By 1900, however, the Federal University was disintegrating and within a few years independent universities were formed from the three University Colleges.

On 31 May 1905 the University of Sheffield was granted its Royal Charter, and in July the new Firth Court Building on Western Bank was opened by King Edward VII and Queen Alexandra. St George’s Square remained the centre of Applied Science departments, with Arts, Medicine and Science being housed at Western Bank.

The University in 1905

At the time of the University’s foundation in 1905 there were 114 full-time students reading for degrees in Arts, Pure Science, Medicine and Applied Science. In 1919 when returning ex-servicemen were admitted in large numbers, the full-time student figure rose to a short-lived peak of about 1,000. By then the Faculty of Applied Science had split into Engineering and Metallurgy; the University’s first Hall of Residence (the original Stephenson Hall) had been established; and the Edgar Allen library had opened (1909).

At that time the University was as committed to non-degree teaching as to teaching full-time students. Courses covered not only many conventional academic subjects but also topics as diverse as cow-keeping, railway economics, mining and razor-grinding. During the First World War some of these were replaced by teaching of (and participation in) munitions making, medical appliances design and production, translation and politics.

Between the two wars full-time student numbers stabilised at about 750 and expansion into new areas of specialist teaching and research continued slowly. The Second World War brought with it new areas of specialist research and training – in, for example, radar, dietary and vitamin studies, production of anaesthetics and chemicals (as substitutes for materials previously imported from Europe), magnetism, fuel production and economy, naval cartography, glass manufacture and English language teaching.

Since the Second World War

Since the Second World War, many older houses have been brought into academic use and major new buildings have been constructed – the Main Library in 1959, and the Arts Tower, Hicks Building, Alfred Denny Building, Sir Robert Hadfield Building, Chemical Engineering Building, University House, five Halls of Residence and the Union of Students in the 1960s.

New buildings for Geography and Psychology followed in the 1970s, along with the Crookesmoor Building (for Law and Management), the Royal Hallamshire Hospital, and purpose-built student flats. The next decade saw the opening of the Octagon Centre, the Sir Henry Stephenson Building (for engineering), and major extensions at the Northern General Hospital.

In the 1990s, new premises for the School of Clinical Dentistry, the Management School, the Division of Education, St George’s Library (incorporating Blackwell’s University Bookshop) and St George’s Flats and Lecture Theatre were opened, together with extensions to Stephenson, Halifax, and Tapton Halls of Residence, and three new blocks of student flats.

The Regent Court building, which houses the Departments of Computer Science and Information Studies and the Sheffield Centre for Health and Related Research, were also completed. The Union of Students underwent a £5 million development programme, improving welfare, social and meetings facilities.

Following the University’s integration with the Sheffield and North Trent College of Nursing and Midwifery in 1995, a building programme provided new facilities for nursing and midwifery teaching and research. This includes the extension and conversion of the St George’s Hospital site on Winter Street, and the construction of a new building at the Northern General Hospital.

The 21st century

The University’s ambitious estates strategy has continued into the new millennium. Campus additions include the £80 million refurbishment programme for laboratories in the medical, biological and physical sciences:

  • Custom-built University Health Centre
  • The Sheffield Bioincubator
  • Multidisciplinary Interdisciplinary Centre of the Social Sciences

Other projects include:

  • The Diamond, an £81 million building on the Jessop East site, which has specialist engineering teaching facilities, as well as lecture theatres, seminar rooms, open-plan learning spaces, library services and social spaces. It is predicted to bring £44.5 million into the local economy during the construction phase and first year of operation, with an ongoing annual contribution to Sheffield’s economy of £20.6 million.
  • A £20 million refurbishment of our award-winning Students’ Union and landmark University House building. The two buildings have been revamped and integrated to create outstanding facilities and services for students, staff and visitors
  • An £8 million investment programme in the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health
  • A £21 million Faculty of Engineering Graduate School, the Pam Liversidge Building, featuring specialist facilities for engineering postgraduate students
  • Refurbishment of our landmark Grade II* listed Arts Tower building
  • Three buildings for the Faculty of Arts and Humanities: The Jessop Building, The Soundhouse and Jessop West
  • £160 million building programme to redevelop residential accommodation on the Endcliffe and Ranmoor sites
  • The inauguration of the £20 million North Campus (housing the Kroto Research Institute and the Nanoscience and Technology Centre)
  • The construction of the £23 million library building, Information Commons

The mile-long ‘campus’ now stretches almost unbroken from St George’s Square into Crookesmoor, with student residences concentrated in suburbs to the west of the University. For the first 50 years of its existence, the University’s full-time student population did not rise above 2,000. By 1980, however, it had reached 8,000 and in 2006 the number of full-time students had risen to 21,000. The total student population is now over 27,000 and includes students from all over the world.


Do you want discuss University of Sheffield ? Any question, comments or reviews


University of Sheffield on Map


Photo


Photos: University of Sheffield official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

University of Sheffield reviews

Join to discuss of University of Sheffield.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.