南安普敦大学

南安普敦大学. 研究在英国.

详细南安普敦大学

  • 国家 : 解开王国
  • 市 : 南安普敦
  • 缩写 : 双童
  • 成立 : 1862
  • 学生们 (约。) : 24000
  • 不要忘了 讨论南安普敦大学
报名南安普敦大学

概观


南安普顿大学是一个特殊的地方的人民取得了显着的东西. 我们是一家世界领先, 研究型大学, 具有较强的教育产品, 见着我们的创新和企业. 这是从磨砺我们的重点与我们的新战略一个很好的平台.

这是一个非常简单的策略. 这是关于我们的愿望. 这是关于建立我们的声誉. 这是关于处于我们做什么比我们的竞争对手更简单.

中央对我们战略的成功和支撑我们所有的活动都是四个原则:

合议: 一队工作, 规划和交付在一起, 对我们的共同愿景.

质量: 一直在努力实现的一切最高品质我们做.

国际化: 提供在全球市场,建立与其他领先的组织强有力的伙伴关系.

可持续发展: 确保我们的行动导致金融, 社会和环境可持续性.

南安普敦大学是顶 1% 大学全球. 我们卓越的研究和教育的全球中心.

我们是一个研究型大学和罗素集团的创始成员之一. 我们已经获得了久负盛名的认可,我们的成功和改变世界的成就的历史.

学校 / 高校 / 部门 / 培训班 / 院系


商学院, 法律与艺术

教学和研究领域:

互联网法律, 海事法, 环境法, 战略, 营销, 人力资源管理, 纺织品, 图像, 时尚设计.

学术单位:

  • 南安普敦大学法学院 联系方式
  • 南安普顿商学院 联系方式
  • 温彻斯特艺术学院 联系方式

工程与环境学院

教学和研究领域:

听觉学, 环境科学, 航空航天, 声学工程, 土木工程, 能源, 机械工业, 舰船科学.

学术单位:

  • 航空学, 航天和计算工程
  • 国内, 海洋与环境工程与科学
  • 工程科学
  • 声音与振动研究所

健康科学系

教学和研究领域:

癌症, 姑息治疗和临终关怀, 积极的生活和康复, 组织和护理的交付, 持续专业发展培训.

学术单位:

  • 在健康科学专业实践
  • 创新中心和领导在健康科学

人文学院

教学和研究领域:

考古学, 英语, 电影, 历史, 现代语言, 音乐, 哲学.

内人文学科:

  • 考古学
  • 英语
  • 电影
  • 历史
  • 现代语言
  • 音乐
  • 哲学

医学系

教学和研究领域:

一般的做法, 呼吸内科, 科学发展, 癌症科学和骨关节疾病, 在平移免疫学交叉的主题和干细胞和再生医学.

学术单位:

  • 癌症科学
  • 人类发展与健康
  • 临床与实验科学
  • 初级卫生保健和人口科学
  • 医学教育

自然与环境科学学院

教学和研究领域:

生物科学: 生物多样性, 生态与生态系统服务, 生物学, 生物化学, 生物医学科学, 生物技术, 发育生物学, 生态, 环境生物科学, 微生物学, 分子和细胞生物学, 神经科学, 植物生物学, 药理和动物学

化学: 描述 & Analytics(分析), 化学生物学, 计算系统化学, 电化学, 流动化学, 磁共振, 物料, 有机 & 无机合成, 超分子化学

海洋与地球科学: 地质学, 地球物理, 海洋学, 海洋科学, 海洋生物学, 海洋生态, 海洋生物地球化学, 物理海洋学, Palaeoceanography和古, 海岸工程, 物理海洋学和气候动力学, 海洋地质与地球物理, 海洋资源和法, 海洋化学, 古脊椎动物学, 海洋环境及资源, 地球化学, 海洋动力学, 古海洋学, 古气候学

自然科学

学术单位

  • 生物科学
  • 化学
  • 海洋与地球科学, 国家海洋学中心南安普顿

物理科学与工程学院

教学与研究领域:

电子和电气工程, 计算机科学和IT, 科学网, 光电, 物理学和天文学.

学术单位:

  • 电子与计算机科学
  • 光电子研究中心
  • 物理和天文学

社会学部, 人类与数学科学

教学和研究领域:

教育, 教与学, 地理和环境, 施加和纯粹数学, 统计, 运筹学, 心理学, 社会科学, 老化/老年病学, 经济学, 政治与国际关系, 人口和社会统计, 社会学, 社会政策和犯罪.

学术单位:

  • 南安普敦教育学校
  • 地理与环境
  • 数学科学
  • 心理学
  • 社会科学

历史


南安普敦大学的原点,将其形成于哈特利机构 1862 由亨利·罗宾逊哈特利一个恩惠 (1777-1850). 哈特利继承了财富从成功的酒商两代. 在他死亡 1850, 他离开103,000£遗赠给南安普敦公司对南安普敦的高街研究和科学的进步在他的财产, 在市中心.

哈特利是偏心离散星, 谁的新时代码头和铁路在南安普敦的小喜好. 他不希望创建许多大学 (如形成于相似的时间在其他英国工业城市和商业港口) 但一个文化中心南安普敦的知识精英. 之后的遗赠冗长的法律挑战, 和公共辩论至于如何最好诠释他个人意志的语言, 南安普敦公司选择创建研究所 (而不是更广泛地进入大学, 一些公众人物已游说).

上 15 十月 1862, 哈特利研究所首相帕默斯顿勋爵在其超过了辉煌任何人在城里能记得一个大型文娱场合开. 在最初的年的财政困难, 哈特利研究所成为哈特利学院 1883. 此举其次是增加学生数量, 教学人员, 为学生的设施和住宿登记的扩展.

在 1902, 哈特利学院成为哈特利大学学院, 伦敦大学的学位授予分支. 这是由大学教育资助委员会的教学和财务检查后, 以及理事会成员捐款 (包括威廉达尔文当时的财政部长). 在接下来的几年学生人数的增加促使筹资努力,推动学院新生产能力周围背街小巷土地 (现在大学路) 在南安普敦海菲尔德区. 上 20 六月 1914, 霍尔丹子爵打开更名南安普顿大学学院的新址. 然而, 第一次世界大战的爆发六个星期后就意味着没有演讲会在那里举行, 因为这些建筑被移交由学院当局用作军事医院. 为了应付伤亡的音量, 木屋是在大厦的后方竖立. 这些都是战斗结束后捐赠给由战争办公室大学, 在时间从高街处所转移 1920. 此时, 海菲尔德大厅, 前国家的房子,俯瞰南安普敦通用, 对于其租赁此前被保护, 作为居住的女大学生一厅使用动工. 南山, 对什么是现在的格伦·爱大厅情结也被收购, 与南府斯托纳姆一起宅男学生.

经过20世纪20年代和30年代进一步扩展是通过私人捐助者成为可能, 如爱德华·特纳模拟人生为高校图书馆建设的两个女儿, 距离南安普敦的人, 在大学路两侧,使新建筑. 第二次世界大战期间,学校遭到破坏在南安普敦闪电战用炸弹降落在校园和residence.The大学的殿堂决定不撤离, 而不是扩大其工程部, 航海学校,发展无线电报的一所新学校. 学生宿舍也被用来容纳波兰, 法国和美国军队. 战争结束后,, 部门,如电子埃里希·泽普勒和声音与振动研究所的影响下长大成立.

上 29 四月 1952, 英国女王伊丽莎白二世授予南安普敦大学皇家宪章, 首先她统治时期被赋予了大学, 它使颁授学位. 创建6个学院: 艺术, 科学, 工程, 经济学, 教育法. 南安普敦度的第一所大学被授予上 4 七月 1953, 以下威灵顿公爵被任命为大学校长. 学生和员工数量的增长在整个未来几十年来的罗宾斯报告的回应. 校园也显著上升, 在7月, 1961 大学给予批准,获得一些 200 上或校园由镇理事会附近的房子. 此外, 更多的院系都成立, 包括医学和海洋学 (尽管约翰爵士沃尔芬登的挫折, 大学教育资助委员会主席). 学生住宿在整个20世纪60年代和70年代扩大了与奇尔沃思庄园的收购和新的建筑在格伦爱与蒙蒂菲奥里复合.

在 1987, 危机发展时,大学教育资助委员会公布, 作为全国性裁员的一部分, 在大学的资助一系列削减. 为了消除预期损失, 预算和赤字小组委员会建议减少员工的数量. 这一建议遭到了在校园示威,后来被重新设计 (以减少冗余和重新分配在院系经费的削减) 该大学参议院遭到拒绝后.

到了80年代中期一直到20世纪90年代, 大学看着与海菲尔德校园新建筑扩大, 开发奇尔沃思庄园网站成为一个科技园和会议场所, 在码头旁边,打开国家海洋学中心,并从市议会购买新的土地艺术学院,体育等领域 (在大道校园和宽巷, 分别).


你要吗 讨论南安普敦大学 ? 任何问题, 意见或评论


南安普敦大学地图


照片


相片: 南安普敦大学 官方Facebook

视频





与好友分享这个有用的信息

南安普顿大学的评论

加入南安普敦大学的讨论.
请注意: EducationBro杂志让你在阅读有关大学信息的能力 96 语言, 但我们要求您尊重其他成员和英语发表评论.

University of Southampton

University of Southampton. Study in England.

University of Southampton Details

Enroll at University of Southampton

Overview


The University of Southampton is an exceptional place whose people achieve remarkable things. We are a world-leading, research-intensive university, with a strong educational offering, renowned for our innovation and enterprise. This is a great platform from which to sharpen our focus with our new strategy.

It’s a very simple strategy. It’s about our aspirations. It’s about building our reputation. It’s about being simply better than our competitors at what we do.

Central to the success of our strategy and underpinning all of our activities are four principles:

Collegiality: one team working, planning and delivering together, toward our shared vision.

Quality: always striving to achieve the highest quality in everything we do.

Internationalisation: delivering across global markets and building strong partnerships with other leading organisations.

Sustainability: ensuring our actions lead to financial, social and environmental sustainability.

The University of Southampton is in the top 1% of universities worldwide. We are a global centre for excellence in research and education.

We are a research-intensive university and a founding member of the Russell Group. We have gained prestigious recognition for our successes and history of world-changing achievements.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


Faculty of Business, Law and Art

Teaching and research areas:

Internet law, maritime law, environmental law, strategy, marketing, human resources management, textiles, graphics, fashion design.

Academic units:

  • Southampton Law School  Contact details
  • Southampton Business School  Contact details
  • Winchester School of Art  Contact details

Faculty of Engineering and the Environment

Teaching and research areas:

Audiology, environmental science, aeronautics and astronautics, acoustical engineering, civil engineering, energy, mechanical engineering, ship science.

Academic units:

  • Aeronautics, Astronautics and Computational Engineering
  • Civil, Maritime and Environmental Engineering and Science
  • Engineering Sciences
  • Institute of Sound and Vibration Research

Faculty of Health Sciences

Teaching and research areas:

Cancer, palliative and end of life care, active living and rehabilitation, the organisation and delivery of care, continuous professional development training.

Academic units:

  • Professional Practice in Health Sciences
  • Centre for Innovation and Leadership in Health Sciences

Faculty of Humanities

Teaching and research areas:

Archaeology, English, film, history, modern languages, music, philosophy.

Disciplines within Humanities: 

  • Archaeology
  • English
  • Film
  • History
  • Modern Languages
  • Music
  • Philosophy

Faculty of Medicine

Teaching and research areas:

General practice, respiratory medicine, developmental sciences, cancer sciences and bone and joint diseases, with cross-cutting themes in translational immunology and stem cells and regenerative medicine.

Academic units:

  • Cancer Sciences
  • Human Development and Health
  • Clinical and Experimental Sciences
  • Primary Care and Population Sciences
  • Medical Education

Faculty of Natural and Environmental Sciences

Teaching and research areas:

Biological Sciences: Biodiversity, Ecology and Ecosystem services, Biology, Biochemistry, Biomedical Sciences, Biotechnology, Developmental Biology, Ecology, Environmental Biosciences, Microbiology, Molecular and Cellular Biosciences, Neuroscience, Plant Biology, Pharmacology and Zoology

Chemistry: Characterisation & Analytics, Chemical Biology, Computational Systems Chemistry, Electrochemistry, Flow Chemistry, Magnetic Resonance, Materials, Organic & Inorganic Synthesis, Supramolecular Chemistry

Ocean and Earth Science: geology, geophysics, oceanography, marine science, marine biology, marine ecology, marine biogeochemistry, physical oceanography, Palaeoceanography and Palaeoclimate, coastal engineering, Physical Oceanography and Climate Dynamics, Marine Geology and Geophysics, Marine Resources and Law, ocean chemistry, Vertebrate Palaeontology, Marine environment and resources, geochemistry, ocean dynamics, paleoceanography, paleoclimatology

Natural Sciences

Academic Units

  • Biological Sciences
  • Chemistry
  • Ocean and Earth Science, National Oceanography Centre Southampton

Faculty of Physical Sciences and Engineering

Teaching and Research areas:

Electronics and electrical engineering, computer science and IT, web science, optoelectronics, physics and astronomy.

Academic units:

  • Electronics and Computer Science
  • Optoelectronics Research Centre
  • Physics and Astronomy

Faculty of Social, Human and Mathematical Sciences

Teaching and research areas:

Education, teaching and learning, geography and environment, applied and pure mathematic, statistics, operational research, psychology, social sciences, ageing/gerontology, economics, politics and international relations, social statistics and demography, sociology, social policy and criminology.

Academic units:

  • Southampton Education School
  • Geography and Environment
  • Mathematical Sciences
  • Psychology
  • Social Sciences

History


The University of Southampton has its origin as the Hartley Institution which was formed in 1862 from a benefaction by Henry Robinson Hartley (1777–1850). Hartley had inherited a fortune from two generations of successful wine merchants. At his death in 1850, he left a bequest of £103,000 to the Southampton Corporation for the study and advancement of the sciences in his property on Southampton’s High Street, in the city centre.

Hartley was an eccentric straggler, who had little liking of the new age docks and railways in Southampton. He did not desire to create a college for many (as formed at similar time in other English industrial towns and commercial ports) but a cultural centre for Southampton’s intellectual elite. After lengthy legal challenges to the Bequest, and a public debate as to how best interpret the language of his Will, the Southampton Corporation choose to create the Institute (rather than a more widely accessible college, that some public figures had lobbied for).

On 15 October 1862, the Hartley Institute was opened by the Prime Minister Lord Palmerston in a major civic occasion which exceeded in splendor anything that anyone in the town could remember. After initial years of financial struggle, the Hartley Institute became the Hartley College in 1883. This move was followed by increasing numbers of students, teaching staff, an expansion of the facilities and registered lodgings for students.

In 1902, the Hartley College became the Hartley University college, a degree awarding branch of the University of London. This was after inspection of the teaching and finances by the University College Grants Committee, and donations from Council members (including William Darwin the then Treasurer). An increase in student numbers in the following years motivated fund raising efforts to move the college to greenfield land around Back Lane (now University Road) in the Highfield area of Southampton. On 20 June 1914, Viscount Haldane opened the new site of the renamed Southampton University College. However, the outbreak of the First World War six weeks later meant no lectures could take place there, as the buildings were handed over by the college authorities for use as a military hospital. To cope with the volume of casualties, wooden huts were erected at the rear of the building. These were donated to university by the War Office after the end of fighting, in time for the transfer from the high street premises in 1920. At this time, Highfield Hall, a former country house and overlooking Southampton Common, for which a lease had earlier been secured, commenced use as a halls of residence for female students. South Hill, on what is now the Glen Eyre Halls Complex was also acquired, along with South Stoneham House to house male students.

Further expansions through the 1920s and 1930s was made possible through private donors, such as the two daughters of Edward Turner Sims for the construction of the university library, and from the people of Southampton, enabling new buildings on both sides of University Road. During World War II the university suffered damage in the Southampton Blitz with bombs landing on the campus and its halls of residence.The college decided against evacuation, instead expanding its Engineering Department, School of Navigation and developing a new School of Radio Telegraphy. Halls of residence were also used to house Polish, French and American troops. After the war, departments such as Electronics grew under the influence of Erich Zepler and the Institute of Sound and Vibration was established.

On 29 April 1952, Queen Elizabeth II granted the University of Southampton a Royal Charter, the first to be given to a university during her reign, which enabled it to award degrees. Six faculties were created: Arts, Science, Engineering, Economics, Education and Law. The first University of Southampton degrees were awarded on 4 July 1953, following the appointment of the Duke of Wellington as Chancellor of the university. Student and staff number grew throughout the next couple of decades as a response to the Robbins Report. The campus also grew significantly, when in July 1961 the university was given the approval to acquire some 200 houses on or near the campus by the Borough Council. In addition, more faculties and departments were founded, including Medicine and Oceanography (despite the discouragement of Sir John Wolfenden, the chairman of the University Grants Committee). Student accommodation was expanded throughout the 1960s and 1970s with the acquisition of Chilworth manor and new buildings at the Glen Eyre and Montefiore complexes.

In 1987, a crisis developed when the University Grants Committee announced, as part of nationwide cutbacks, a series of reductions in the funding of the university. To eliminate the expected losses, the budgets and deficits subcommittee proposed reducing staff numbers. This proposal was met with demonstrations on campus and was later reworked (to reduce the redundancies and reallocate the reductions in faculties funding) after being rejected by the university Senate.

By the mid-1980s through to the 1990s, the university looked to expand with new buildings on the Highfield campus, developing the Chilworth Manor site into a science park and conference venue, opening the National Oceanography Centre at a dockside location and purchasing new land from the City Council for the Arts Faculty and sports fields (at Avenue Campus and Wide Lane, respectively).


Do you want discuss University of Southampton ? Any question, comments or reviews


University of Southampton on Map


Photo


Photos: University of Southampton official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

University of Southampton reviews

Join to discuss of University of Southampton.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.