Université de Southampton

Université de Southampton. Étude en Angleterre.

Université de Southampton Détails

Inscrivez-vous à l'Université de Southampton

aperçu


L'Université de Southampton est un lieu exceptionnel dont le peuple de réaliser des choses remarquables. Nous sommes un leader dans le monde, université de recherche intensive, avec une offre éducative forte, reconnus pour notre innovation et de l'entreprise. Ceci est une excellente plateforme pour aiguiser notre attention avec notre nouvelle stratégie.

Il est une stratégie très simple. Il est au sujet de nos aspirations. Il est de construire notre réputation. Il faut être tout simplement mieux que nos concurrents à ce que nous faisons.

Central à la réussite de notre stratégie et qui sous-tend toutes nos activités sont quatre principes:

collégialité: une équipe de travail, la planification et la prestation ensemble, vers notre vision commune.

Qualité: cherchant toujours à atteindre la plus haute qualité dans tout ce que nous faisons.

Internationalisation: livrer sur les marchés mondiaux et établir des partenariats solides avec d'autres organisations de premier plan.

Durabilité: assurer que nos actions conduisent à financier, durabilité sociale et environnementale.

L'Université de Southampton est dans le top 1% des universités dans le monde entier. Nous sommes un centre mondial d'excellence dans la recherche et l'éducation.

Nous sommes une université de recherche intensive et membre fondateur du groupe Russell. Nous avons acquis une reconnaissance prestigieuse pour nos succès et de l'histoire des réalisations qui changent le monde.

Écoles / collèges / Départements / Cours / facultés


Faculté des affaires, Droit et Art

Domaines d'enseignement et de recherche:

droit de l'Internet, loi maritime, loi environnementale, stratégie, commercialisation, gestion des ressources humaines, textiles, graphique, fashion design.

unités académiques:

  • Southampton Law School Détails du contact
  • Southampton Business School Détails du contact
  • Winchester School of Art Détails du contact

Faculté de génie et de l'environnement

Domaines d'enseignement et de recherche:

audiologie, sciences de l'environnement, aéronautique et l'astronautique, ingénierie acoustique, génie civil, énergie, ingénierie mécanique, la science du navire.

unités académiques:

  • Aéronautiques, Astronautique et génie informatique
  • Civil, Maritime et génie de l'environnement et de la Science
  • Sciences de l'ingénieur
  • ISVR

Faculté des sciences de la santé

Domaines d'enseignement et de recherche:

Cancer, palliatifs et soins de fin de vie, la vie active et de réhabilitation, l'organisation et la prestation des soins, formation de perfectionnement professionnel continu.

unités académiques:

  • Pratique professionnelle en sciences de la santé
  • Centre pour l'innovation et le leadership en sciences de la santé

Faculté des Lettres

Domaines d'enseignement et de recherche:

Archéologie, Anglais, film, histoire, langues modernes, la musique, philosophie.

Disciplines au sein des sciences humaines:

  • Archéologie
  • Anglais
  • Film
  • Histoire
  • Langues modernes
  • La musique
  • Philosophie

Faculté de médecine

Domaines d'enseignement et de recherche:

Pratique générale, Médecine respiratoire, sciences du développement, sciences du cancer et de maladies osseuses et articulaires, avec des thèmes transversaux en immunologie translationnelle et les cellules souches et la médecine régénérative.

unités académiques:

  • Sciences cancer
  • Le développement humain et la santé
  • Sciences cliniques et expérimentales
  • Soins primaires et sciences de la population
  • Éducation médicale

Faculté des sciences naturelles et de l'environnement

Domaines d'enseignement et de recherche:

Sciences Biologiques: biodiversité, services de l'écologie et des écosystèmes, La biologie, Biochimie, sciences biomedicales, Biotechnologie, Biologie du développement, Écologie, Biosciences environnementales, Microbiologie, Molecular and Cellular Biosciences, Neuroscience, Biologie végétale, Pharmacologie et Zoologie

Chimie: Caractérisation & Analytique, Biologie chimique, Computational Chemistry Systems, Électrochimie, débit Chimie, Résonance magnétique, Matériaux, BIO & Inorganic Synthesis, Chimie supramoléculaire

Océan et sciences de la Terre: géologie, géophysique, océanographie, science maritime, biologie marine, écologie marine, biogéochimie marine, océanographie physique, Palaeoceanography et paléoclimats, génie côtier, Océanographie physique et dynamique du climat, Géologie et Géophysique Marine, Ressources marines et le droit, chimie océanique, paléontologie des vertébrés, environnement et des ressources marines, géochimie, la dynamique des océans, paléocéanographie, paléoclimatologie

Sciences naturelles

Unités académiques

  • Sciences Biologiques
  • Chimie
  • Océan et sciences de la Terre, National Oceanography Centre Southampton

Faculté des sciences physiques et ingénierie

domaines d'enseignement et de recherche:

Electronique et électrotechnique, informatique et IT, science du web, optoélectronique, la physique et de l'astronomie.

unités académiques:

  • Electronique et Informatique
  • Centre de recherche en optoélectronique
  • Physique et Astronomie

Faculté de Social, Sciences humaines et mathématiques

Domaines d'enseignement et de recherche:

Éducation, enseigner et apprendre, la géographie et l'environnement, appliquée et pur mathematic, statistiques, recherche opérationnelle, psychologie, Sciences sociales, vieillissement / gérontologie, économie, la politique et les relations internationales, statistiques sociales et de la démographie, sociologie, la politique sociale et de la criminologie.

unités académiques:

  • Southampton école éducation
  • Géographie et Environnement
  • Sciences mathématiques
  • Psychologie
  • Sciences sociales

Histoire


L'Université de Southampton a son origine comme l'institution Hartley qui a été formé dans 1862 à partir d'un bienfait par Henry Robinson Hartley (1777-1850). Hartley avait hérité d'une fortune de deux générations de marchands de vin avec succès. À sa mort en 1850, il a laissé un legs de 103.000 £ à Southampton Corporation pour l'étude et à l'avancement des sciences dans sa propriété sur Southampton’s High Street, dans le centre ville.

Hartley était un retardataire excentrique, qui avait peu de goût des nouveaux quais d'âge et les chemins de fer à Southampton. Il n'a pas voulu créer un collège pour beaucoup (tel que formé au moment similaire dans d'autres villes industrielles anglaises et ports commerciaux) mais un centre culturel pour Southampton’s élite intellectuelle. Après des contestations judiciaires longues au Legs, et un débat public sur la meilleure façon d'interpréter la langue de son testament, Southampton Corporation choisissez de créer l'Institut (plutôt que d'un collège plus accessible, que certaines personnalités publiques avaient fait pression pour).

Sur 15 octobre 1862, l'Institut Hartley a été ouverte par le Premier ministre Lord Palmerston dans une occasion civique majeur qui dépasse en splendeur tout ce que tout le monde dans la ville pouvait se souvenir. Après les premières années de la lutte financière, l'Institut Hartley est devenu le Collège Hartley dans 1883. Ce mouvement a été suivi par un nombre croissant d'étudiants, personnel enseignant, une expansion des installations et des logements pour les étudiants inscrits.

Dans 1902, le Collège Hartley est devenu le Collège universitaire Hartley, une branche délivrant le diplôme de l'Université de Londres. Ce fut après l'inspection de l'enseignement et des finances par le Comité des subventions University College, et dons des membres du Conseil (y compris William Darwin alors trésorier). Une augmentation du nombre d'étudiants dans les années suivantes a motivé les efforts de collecte de fonds pour faire avancer le collège pour GreenField terre autour de Back Lane (maintenant University Road) dans la région de Southampton Highfield. Sur 20 juin 1914, Le vicomte Haldane a ouvert le nouveau site de la Southampton University College renommé. toutefois, le déclenchement de la Première Guerre mondiale signifiait six semaines plus tard, pas de cours pourraient y avoir lieu, que les bâtiments ont été remis par les autorités du collège pour être utilisé comme un hôpital militaire. Pour faire face au volume de victimes, cabanes en bois ont été érigées à l'arrière du bâtiment. Ceux-ci ont été donnés à l'université par le War Office après la fin des combats, à temps pour le transfert des locaux de la rue haute en 1920. En ce moment, Highfield Salle, une ancienne maison de campagne et surplombant Southampton Common, pour lequel un bail avait déjà été fixé, l'utilisation commencée en tant que salles de résidence pour les étudiantes. South Hill, sur ce qui est maintenant le complexe Glen Eyre Halls a également été acquis, ainsi que du Sud Stoneham Maison pour loger les étudiants de sexe masculin.

D'autres expansions à travers les années 1920 et 1930 a été rendue possible grâce à des donateurs privés, tels que les deux filles de Edward Turner Sims pour la construction de la bibliothèque universitaire, et des gens de Southampton, permettant aux nouveaux bâtiments des deux côtés de la route Université. Pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, l'université a subi des dommages dans le Southampton Blitz avec des bombes d'atterrissage sur le campus et ses salles de collège residence.The décidé contre l'évacuation, à la place l'expansion de son département de génie, École de navigation et le développement d'une nouvelle École de radio télégraphie. Halls de résidence ont également été utilisés pour héberger des Polonais, troupes françaises et américaines. Après la guerre, départements tels que l'électronique a augmenté sous l'influence de Erich Zepler et l'Institut de Sound and Vibration a été créé.

Sur 29 avril 1952, La reine Elizabeth II a accordé l'Université de Southampton une charte royale, le premier à donner à une université au cours de son règne, qui lui a permis de délivrer des diplômes. Six facultés ont été créées: lettres, Science, Ingénierie, Économie, L'éducation et le droit. La première université de Southampton degrés ont été attribués sur 4 juillet 1953, après la nomination du duc de Wellington en tant que chancelier de l'université. Étudiants et le personnel nombre a augmenté tout au long des deux prochaines décennies comme une réponse au rapport Robbins. Le campus a également augmenté de manière significative, quand en Juillet 1961 l'université a reçu l'autorisation d'acquérir une certaine 200 maisons sur ou à proximité du campus par le conseil d'arrondissement. en outre, plusieurs facultés et départements ont été fondées, y compris la médecine et l'océanographie (malgré le découragement de Sir John Wolfenden, le président du Comité des bourses universitaires). Logement étudiant a été élargi au cours des années 1960 et 1970 avec l'acquisition de Chilworth manoir et de nouveaux bâtiments au complexes Glen Eyre et Montefiore.

Dans 1987, une crise développée lorsque le Comité des subventions universitaires annoncé, dans le cadre des compressions à l'échelle nationale, une série de réductions dans le financement de l'université. Pour éliminer les pertes attendues, les budgets et les déficits sous-comité a proposé de réduire les effectifs. Cette proposition a été accueillie avec des manifestations sur le campus et a été retravaillé plus tard (pour réduire les licenciements et de réaffecter les réductions du financement des facultés) après avoir été rejeté par le Sénat universitaire.

Au milieu des années 1980, en passant par les années 1990, l'université avait l'air de se développer avec de nouveaux bâtiments sur le campus Highfield, le développement du site Chilworth Manor dans un parc scientifique et lieu de la conférence, l'ouverture du Centre national d'océanographie à un emplacement à quai et l'achat de nouvelles terres du conseil municipal de la Faculté des arts et des terrains de sport (au Campus Avenue et Wide Lane, respectivement).


Voulez-vous discuter de l'Université de Southampton ? Des questions, commentaires ou avis


Université de Southampton sur la carte


Photo


Photos: Université de Southampton Facebook officielle

Vidéo





Partagez cette info utile avec vos amis

Université de Southampton commentaires

Inscrivez-vous pour discuter de l'Université de Southampton.
NOTEZ S'IL VOUS PLAÎT: EducationBro Magazine vous donne la possibilité de lire des infos sur les universités à 96 langues, mais nous vous demandons de respecter les autres membres et laisser des commentaires en anglais.

University of Southampton

University of Southampton. Study in England.

University of Southampton Details

Enroll at University of Southampton

Overview


The University of Southampton is an exceptional place whose people achieve remarkable things. We are a world-leading, research-intensive university, with a strong educational offering, renowned for our innovation and enterprise. This is a great platform from which to sharpen our focus with our new strategy.

It’s a very simple strategy. It’s about our aspirations. It’s about building our reputation. It’s about being simply better than our competitors at what we do.

Central to the success of our strategy and underpinning all of our activities are four principles:

Collegiality: one team working, planning and delivering together, toward our shared vision.

Quality: always striving to achieve the highest quality in everything we do.

Internationalisation: delivering across global markets and building strong partnerships with other leading organisations.

Sustainability: ensuring our actions lead to financial, social and environmental sustainability.

The University of Southampton is in the top 1% of universities worldwide. We are a global centre for excellence in research and education.

We are a research-intensive university and a founding member of the Russell Group. We have gained prestigious recognition for our successes and history of world-changing achievements.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


Faculty of Business, Law and Art

Teaching and research areas:

Internet law, maritime law, environmental law, strategy, marketing, human resources management, textiles, graphics, fashion design.

Academic units:

  • Southampton Law School  Contact details
  • Southampton Business School  Contact details
  • Winchester School of Art  Contact details

Faculty of Engineering and the Environment

Teaching and research areas:

Audiology, environmental science, aeronautics and astronautics, acoustical engineering, civil engineering, energy, mechanical engineering, ship science.

Academic units:

  • Aeronautics, Astronautics and Computational Engineering
  • Civil, Maritime and Environmental Engineering and Science
  • Engineering Sciences
  • Institute of Sound and Vibration Research

Faculty of Health Sciences

Teaching and research areas:

Cancer, palliative and end of life care, active living and rehabilitation, the organisation and delivery of care, continuous professional development training.

Academic units:

  • Professional Practice in Health Sciences
  • Centre for Innovation and Leadership in Health Sciences

Faculty of Humanities

Teaching and research areas:

Archaeology, English, film, history, modern languages, music, philosophy.

Disciplines within Humanities: 

  • Archaeology
  • English
  • Film
  • History
  • Modern Languages
  • Music
  • Philosophy

Faculty of Medicine

Teaching and research areas:

General practice, respiratory medicine, developmental sciences, cancer sciences and bone and joint diseases, with cross-cutting themes in translational immunology and stem cells and regenerative medicine.

Academic units:

  • Cancer Sciences
  • Human Development and Health
  • Clinical and Experimental Sciences
  • Primary Care and Population Sciences
  • Medical Education

Faculty of Natural and Environmental Sciences

Teaching and research areas:

Biological Sciences: Biodiversity, Ecology and Ecosystem services, Biology, Biochemistry, Biomedical Sciences, Biotechnology, Developmental Biology, Ecology, Environmental Biosciences, Microbiology, Molecular and Cellular Biosciences, Neuroscience, Plant Biology, Pharmacology and Zoology

Chemistry: Characterisation & Analytics, Chemical Biology, Computational Systems Chemistry, Electrochemistry, Flow Chemistry, Magnetic Resonance, Materials, Organic & Inorganic Synthesis, Supramolecular Chemistry

Ocean and Earth Science: geology, geophysics, oceanography, marine science, marine biology, marine ecology, marine biogeochemistry, physical oceanography, Palaeoceanography and Palaeoclimate, coastal engineering, Physical Oceanography and Climate Dynamics, Marine Geology and Geophysics, Marine Resources and Law, ocean chemistry, Vertebrate Palaeontology, Marine environment and resources, geochemistry, ocean dynamics, paleoceanography, paleoclimatology

Natural Sciences

Academic Units

  • Biological Sciences
  • Chemistry
  • Ocean and Earth Science, National Oceanography Centre Southampton

Faculty of Physical Sciences and Engineering

Teaching and Research areas:

Electronics and electrical engineering, computer science and IT, web science, optoelectronics, physics and astronomy.

Academic units:

  • Electronics and Computer Science
  • Optoelectronics Research Centre
  • Physics and Astronomy

Faculty of Social, Human and Mathematical Sciences

Teaching and research areas:

Education, teaching and learning, geography and environment, applied and pure mathematic, statistics, operational research, psychology, social sciences, ageing/gerontology, economics, politics and international relations, social statistics and demography, sociology, social policy and criminology.

Academic units:

  • Southampton Education School
  • Geography and Environment
  • Mathematical Sciences
  • Psychology
  • Social Sciences

History


The University of Southampton has its origin as the Hartley Institution which was formed in 1862 from a benefaction by Henry Robinson Hartley (1777–1850). Hartley had inherited a fortune from two generations of successful wine merchants. At his death in 1850, he left a bequest of £103,000 to the Southampton Corporation for the study and advancement of the sciences in his property on Southampton’s High Street, in the city centre.

Hartley was an eccentric straggler, who had little liking of the new age docks and railways in Southampton. He did not desire to create a college for many (as formed at similar time in other English industrial towns and commercial ports) but a cultural centre for Southampton’s intellectual elite. After lengthy legal challenges to the Bequest, and a public debate as to how best interpret the language of his Will, the Southampton Corporation choose to create the Institute (rather than a more widely accessible college, that some public figures had lobbied for).

On 15 October 1862, the Hartley Institute was opened by the Prime Minister Lord Palmerston in a major civic occasion which exceeded in splendor anything that anyone in the town could remember. After initial years of financial struggle, the Hartley Institute became the Hartley College in 1883. This move was followed by increasing numbers of students, teaching staff, an expansion of the facilities and registered lodgings for students.

In 1902, the Hartley College became the Hartley University college, a degree awarding branch of the University of London. This was after inspection of the teaching and finances by the University College Grants Committee, and donations from Council members (including William Darwin the then Treasurer). An increase in student numbers in the following years motivated fund raising efforts to move the college to greenfield land around Back Lane (now University Road) in the Highfield area of Southampton. On 20 June 1914, Viscount Haldane opened the new site of the renamed Southampton University College. However, the outbreak of the First World War six weeks later meant no lectures could take place there, as the buildings were handed over by the college authorities for use as a military hospital. To cope with the volume of casualties, wooden huts were erected at the rear of the building. These were donated to university by the War Office after the end of fighting, in time for the transfer from the high street premises in 1920. At this time, Highfield Hall, a former country house and overlooking Southampton Common, for which a lease had earlier been secured, commenced use as a halls of residence for female students. South Hill, on what is now the Glen Eyre Halls Complex was also acquired, along with South Stoneham House to house male students.

Further expansions through the 1920s and 1930s was made possible through private donors, such as the two daughters of Edward Turner Sims for the construction of the university library, and from the people of Southampton, enabling new buildings on both sides of University Road. During World War II the university suffered damage in the Southampton Blitz with bombs landing on the campus and its halls of residence.The college decided against evacuation, instead expanding its Engineering Department, School of Navigation and developing a new School of Radio Telegraphy. Halls of residence were also used to house Polish, French and American troops. After the war, departments such as Electronics grew under the influence of Erich Zepler and the Institute of Sound and Vibration was established.

On 29 April 1952, Queen Elizabeth II granted the University of Southampton a Royal Charter, the first to be given to a university during her reign, which enabled it to award degrees. Six faculties were created: Arts, Science, Engineering, Economics, Education and Law. The first University of Southampton degrees were awarded on 4 July 1953, following the appointment of the Duke of Wellington as Chancellor of the university. Student and staff number grew throughout the next couple of decades as a response to the Robbins Report. The campus also grew significantly, when in July 1961 the university was given the approval to acquire some 200 houses on or near the campus by the Borough Council. In addition, more faculties and departments were founded, including Medicine and Oceanography (despite the discouragement of Sir John Wolfenden, the chairman of the University Grants Committee). Student accommodation was expanded throughout the 1960s and 1970s with the acquisition of Chilworth manor and new buildings at the Glen Eyre and Montefiore complexes.

In 1987, a crisis developed when the University Grants Committee announced, as part of nationwide cutbacks, a series of reductions in the funding of the university. To eliminate the expected losses, the budgets and deficits subcommittee proposed reducing staff numbers. This proposal was met with demonstrations on campus and was later reworked (to reduce the redundancies and reallocate the reductions in faculties funding) after being rejected by the university Senate.

By the mid-1980s through to the 1990s, the university looked to expand with new buildings on the Highfield campus, developing the Chilworth Manor site into a science park and conference venue, opening the National Oceanography Centre at a dockside location and purchasing new land from the City Council for the Arts Faculty and sports fields (at Avenue Campus and Wide Lane, respectively).


Do you want discuss University of Southampton ? Any question, comments or reviews


University of Southampton on Map


Photo


Photos: University of Southampton official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

University of Southampton reviews

Join to discuss of University of Southampton.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.