Université de Sussex

Université de Sussex. Education en Angleterre. Étude en Royaume-Uni.

Université de Sussex Détails

Inscrivez-vous à l'Université du Sussex

aperçu


L'Université de Sussex est une éducation et la recherche principale institution plus près de Brighton, dans le sud de l'Angleterre. Sussex a été la première de la nouvelle vague d'universités britanniques fondée dans les années 1960, recevoir sa charte royale en 1961.

La recherche novatrice et l'érudition

Sussex est une université de recherche de premier plan, comme en témoigne le 2014 Cadre d'excellence en recherche (REF). Plus de 75 pour cent de l'activité de recherche à Sussex est classé comme leader mondial (4*) ou excellente internationalement (3*) en termes d'originalité, l'importance et de la rigueur.

forts individuels du REF 2014 résultats incluent:

  • Histoire Sussex était la soumission Histoire mieux notés au Royaume-Uni pour la qualité de ses résultats de recherche
  • La soumission Sussex anglais est passé de 31e-9e au Royaume-Uni depuis la dernière évaluation des recherches dans l'exercice 2008
  • 84 pour cent de l'impact de la recherche de l'Université en psychologie a été classé comme la meilleure note possible, 4*
  • Sussex Géographie avait le plus 4* impact de la recherche nominale de toute soumission Géographie au Royaume-Uni.

Global, l'Université a été placée 36e (des institutions multidisciplinaires) par GPA.

Enseigner et apprendre

L'Université de Sussex a plus 14,000 étudiants, dont plus d'un tiers sont diplômés. La pensée créative, diversité pédagogique, défi intellectuel et l'interdisciplinarité ont toujours joué un rôle fondamental à une éducation Sussex.

Notre objectif est d'offrir enseignement et d'apprentissage des programmes qui sont informés par la recherche actuelle, sont attrayants pour les étudiants de tous les milieux socio-économiques et culturels, et qui livrent des compétences pour la vie.

Notre équipe

Sussex a développé une réputation d'innovation et d'inspiration, et attire grands penseurs et chercheurs. Nous avons plus 2,100 Personnel, y compris autour 1,000 enseignement et de recherche du personnel, qui, plus de 300 sont la recherche uniquement. Nous avons compté trois lauréats du prix Nobel, 14 Fellows de la Royal Society, 12 Fellows de l'Académie britannique et lauréat du prestigieux prix Crafoord sur notre faculté.

international Sussex

Depuis sa fondation, Sussex a eu une perspective internationale à ses activités académiques et ses perspectives. L'Université attire le personnel et les étudiants à son campus de plus 120 différents pays à travers le monde. Près d'un tiers du personnel viennent de l'extérieur du Royaume-Uni.

Notre recherche aborde les grands problèmes mondiaux, avec les principaux domaines d'expertise tels que le changement climatique et les études de développement. L'Université a des liens étroits avec de nombreuses institutions dans le monde entier, tels que l'Université de Pékin, le programme Harvard-Sussex National Taiwan University et.

La vie au campus

Sussex est l'un des plus beaux endroits du campus en Grande-Bretagne. Situé dans un parc roulant sur le bord de Brighton, le campus allie une architecture primée avec des espaces verts. Le campus est entouré par le parc national de South Downs, mais à seulement quelques minutes de la ville animée de Brighton & Hove.

Conçu par Sir Basil Spence, les bâtiments qui composent le cœur du campus ont reçu le statut de bâtiment classé 1993. Falmer House est l'un des deux seuls bâtiments scolaires au Royaume-Uni pour être classé Grade I en reconnaissance de son intérêt exceptionnel.

D'affaires et de la communauté

Sussex a une longue tradition d'engagement avec les entreprises et la communauté, qui continue aujourd'hui à travers des activités telles que le Centre d'innovation Sussex, des conférences publiques et des services à la communauté. Notre objectif est d'aider les entreprises et les organisations de la région à développer des niveaux plus élevés de compétences du personnel grâce à la formation, et de stimuler l'innovation en partenariat avec d'autres institutions extérieures Sussex au profit de la société dans son ensemble.

Le Centre d'innovation Sussex offre un soutien à la création et à la croissance de la technologie- et les entreprises fondées sur le savoir dans le Sussex. Le Centre est maintenant un environnement d'affaires prospère près de 80 sociétés à forte croissance. Depuis sa création plus 160 les entreprises ont été fondées au Centre; leur chiffre d'affaires cumulé est maintenant plus de 250 millions £ et les entreprises emploient actuellement plusieurs centaines de personnes dans la région.

Écoles / collèges / Départements / Cours / facultés


School of Business, Gestion et Economie

École d'éducation et travail social

École d'ingénierie et d'informatique

School of English

School of Global Studies

École d'histoire, Histoire de l'art et la philosophie

  • american Studies
  • Histoire de l'art
  • Histoire
  • Philosophie

École de droit, Politique et Sociologie

École des sciences de la vie

École de mathématiques et de sciences physiques

École des médias, Film and Music

École de psychologie

Brighton et du Sussex Medical School

Histoire


Dans un effort pour créer une université pour servir Brighton, une réunion publique a eu lieu en Décembre 1911 au Pavillon Royal afin de découvrir les moyens de financer la construction d'une université; le projet a été arrêté par la Première Guerre mondiale, et l'argent récolté a été utilisé à la place pour les livres pour Technical College theMunicipal.

L'idée a été relancée dans les années 1950 et, en juin 1958, le gouvernement a approuvé la société’régime de s pour une université à Brighton, pour être le premier d'une nouvelle génération de ce qui allait être connu sous le nom des universités vitrées. L'Université a été créé comme une entreprise en 1959, avec une charte royale accordée sur 16 août 1961. L'Université’s organisation a innové en voyant le campus divisé en écoles d'études, avec les étudiants pouvant bénéficier d'un environnement d'enseignement multidisciplinaire. Sussex mettrait l'accent sur l'activité interdisciplinaire, de sorte que les étudiants sortir de l'université avec une gamme d'arrière-plan ou ‘contextuel’ connaissances pour compléter leur spécialiste ‘coeur’ compétences dans un domaine particulier.

Sussex est venu à être identifié avec le changement social d'après-guerre, et a développé une réputation de radicalisme. Dans 1973, 500 étudiants physiquement empêché le gouvernement des États-Unis conseiller Samuel P. Huntington de donner un discours sur le campus, en raison de son implication dans la guerre du Vietnam.

Dans une tentative de faire appel à un public moderne, l'université a choisi de 2004 pour simplifier son logo de l'armoiries originales au courant « nous » logo. Le vice-chancelier de l'Université a décrit la nouvelle identité visuelle « le point de départ pour ce qui sera un nouveau regard et se sentir pour Sussex. Elle est basée sur l'université’s vision et les valeurs, eux-mêmes une déclaration de ce qu'il aspire à être: novateur, Créatif, international, excellent, engageante et difficile. »


Voulez-vous discuter de l'Université du Sussex ? Des questions, commentaires ou avis


Université de Sussex sur la carte


Photo


Photos: Université de Sussex Facebook officielle

Vidéo





Partagez cette info utile avec vos amis

Université de Sussex avis

Inscrivez-vous pour discuter de l'Université du Sussex.
NOTEZ S'IL VOUS PLAÎT: EducationBro Magazine vous donne la possibilité de lire des infos sur les universités à 96 langues, mais nous vous demandons de respecter les autres membres et laisser des commentaires en anglais.

University of Sussex

University of Sussex. Education in England. Study in United Kingdom.

University of Sussex Details

  • Country : United Kingdom
  • City : Falmer
  • Acronym : UofS
  • Founded : 1961
  • Students (approx.) : 14000
  • Don't forget to discuss University of Sussex
Enroll at University of Sussex

Overview


The University of Sussex is a leading higher education and research institution near Brighton, in the south of England. Sussex was the first of the new wave of UK universities founded in the 1960s, receiving its Royal Charter in 1961.

Innovative research and scholarship

Sussex is a leading research university, as reflected in the 2014 Research Excellence Framework (REF). Over 75 per cent of research activity at Sussex is categorised as world leading (4*) or internationally excellent (3*) in terms of originality, significance and rigour.

Individual highlights of the REF 2014 results include: 

  • Sussex History was the highest rated History submission in the UK for the quality of its research outputs
  • The Sussex English submission rose from 31st to 9th across the UK since the last research assessment exercise in 2008
  • 84 per cent of the University’s research impact in Psychology was rated as the top possible grade, 4*
  • Sussex Geography had the most 4* rated research impact of any Geography submission across the UK.

Overall, the University was placed 36th (of multi-disciplinary institutions) by GPA.

Teaching and learning

The University of Sussex has over 14,000 students, of which over a third are postgraduates. Creative thinking, pedagogic diversity, intellectual challenge and interdisciplinarity have always been fundamental to a Sussex education.

Our goal is to deliver teaching and learning programmes that are informed by current research, are attractive to students from all socioeconomic and cultural backgrounds, and which deliver skills for life.

Our staff

Sussex has developed a reputation for innovation and inspiration, and attracts leading thinkers and researchers. We have over 2,100 staff, including around 1,000 teaching and research staff, of which, over 300 are research-only. We have counted three Nobel Prize winners, 14 Fellows of the Royal Society, 12 Fellows of the British Academy and a winner of the prestigious Crafoord Prize on our faculty.

International Sussex

From its foundation, Sussex has had an international perspective to its academic activities and its outlook. The University attracts staff and students to its campus from over 120 different countries across the world. Nearly a third of staff come from outside the UK.

Our research tackles major world issues, with leading areas of expertise such as climate change and development studies. The University has extensive links with many institutions worldwide, such as Peking University, National Taiwan University and the Harvard-Sussex programme.

Campus life

Sussex has one of the most beautiful campus locations in Britain. Situated in rolling parkland on the edge of Brighton, the campus combines award-winning architecture with green open spaces. The campus is surrounded by the South Downs National Park, but just a few minutes away from the lively city of Brighton & Hove.

Designed by Sir Basil Spence, the buildings that make up the heart of the campus were given listed building status in 1993. Falmer House is one of only two educational buildings in the UK to be Grade I listed in recognition of its exceptional interest.

Business and the community

Sussex has a long tradition of engaging with business and the community, which continues today through activities such as the Sussex Innovation Centre, public lectures and service to the community. Our goal is to help businesses and organisations in the region develop higher staff skill levels through training, and to stimulate innovation through partnership with other institutions outside Sussex to benefit the wider society.

The Sussex Innovation Centre provides support for the creation and growth of technology- and knowledge-based companies in Sussex. The Centre is now a thriving business environment for nearly 80 high-growth companies. Since its creation over 160 companies have been based at the Centre; their cumulative revenue is now over £250 million and the companies currently employ many hundreds of people in the local area.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


School of Business, Management and Economics

School of Education and Social Work

School of Engineering and Informatics

School of English

School of Global Studies

School of History, Art History and Philosophy

  • American Studies
  • Art History
  • History
  • Philosophy

School of Law, Politics and Sociology

School of Life Sciences

School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences

School of Media, Film and Music

School of Psychology

Brighton and Sussex Medical School

History


In an effort to establish a university to serve Brighton, a public meeting was held in December 1911 at the Royal Pavilion in order to discover ways to fund the construction of a university; the project was halted by World War I, and the money raised was used instead for books for theMunicipal Technical College.

The idea was revived in the 1950s and, in June 1958, the government approved the corporation’s scheme for a university at Brighton, to be the first of a new generation of what came to be known as plate glass universities. The University was established as a company in 1959, with a Royal Charter being granted on 16 August 1961. The University’s organisation broke new ground in seeing the campus divided into Schools of Study, with students able to benefit from a multidisciplinary teaching environment. Sussex would emphasise cross-disciplinary activity, so that students would emerge from the university with a range of background or ‘contextual’ knowledge to complement their specialist ‘core’ skills in a particular subject area.

Sussex came to be identified with postwar social change, and developed a reputation for radicalism. In 1973, 500 students physically prevented United States government adviser Samuel P. Huntington from giving a speech on campus, due to his involvement in the Vietnam War.

In an attempt to appeal to a modern audience, the university chose in 2004 to simplify its logo from the original coat of arms to the current “us” logo. The Vice-Chancellor of the University described the new visual identity as “the starting point for what will be a fresh look and feel for Sussex. It is based on the university’s vision and values, themselves a statement of what it aspires to be: pioneering, creative, international, excellent, engaging and challenging.”


Do you want discuss University of Sussex ? Any question, comments or reviews


University of Sussex on Map


Photo


Photos: University of Sussex official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

University of Sussex reviews

Join to discuss of University of Sussex.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.