University of Sussex

University of Sussex. Bildung in England. Studieren in Großbritannien.

University of Sussex-Details

Einschreiben an der University of Sussex

Überblick


Die University of Sussex ist ein führender Hochschul- und Forschungseinrichtung in der Nähe von Brighton, im Süden von England. Sussex war die erste von der neuen Welle der britischen Universitäten in den 1960er Jahren gegründet, Empfang seiner Royal Charter in 1961.

Innovative Forschung und Wissenschaft

Sussex ist eine führende Forschungsuniversität, wie in der reflektierte 2014 Forschung Exzellenzrahmen (REF). Über 75 Prozent an der Sussex der Forschungstätigkeit als Welt kategorisiert führt (4*) oder international ausgezeichnet (3*) in Bezug auf Originalität, Bedeutung und Strenge.

Einzelne Höhepunkte des REF 2014 Ergebnisse enthalten:

  • Sussex Geschichte war die höchste bewertet Geschichte Vorlage in Großbritannien für die Qualität seiner Forschungsergebnisse
  • Die Sussex Englisch Vorlage stieg von 31. bis 9. in Großbritannien seit der letzten Übung Forschungsbewertung in 2008
  • 84 Prozent der Forschung Auswirkungen in der Psychologie der Universität wurde als Top-möglich-Grade-Rating, 4*
  • Sussex Geographie hatte die meisten 4* bewertet Forschung Auswirkungen von Geographie Vorlage in Großbritannien.

Insgesamt, Die Universität wurde 36. platziert (multidisziplinärer Institutionen) GPA.

Lehren und Lernen

Die University of Sussex hat über 14,000 Studenten, Graduierte, von denen mehr als ein Drittel sind. Kreatives Denken, pädagogische Vielfalt, intellektuelle Herausforderung und Interdisziplinarität immer fundamental gewesen zu einem Sussex Bildung.

Unser Ziel ist es Lehr- und Lernprogramme zu liefern, die durch aktuelle Forschung informiert werden, sind attraktiv aus allen sozioökonomischen und kulturellen Hintergründen für Studenten, und die liefern Fähigkeiten für das Leben.

Unsere Angestelten

Sussex hat sich einen Ruf für Innovation und Inspiration entwickelt, und zieht führende Denker und Forscher. Wir haben über 2,100 Mitarbeiter, darunter rund 1,000 Lehr- und Forschungspersonal, von welchem, Über 300 sind forschungs nur. Wir haben drei Nobelpreisträger gezählt, 14 Fellows der Royal Society, 12 Fellows der British Academy und ein Gewinner des renommierten Crafoord-Preis an unserer Fakultät.

Internationale Sussex

Von der Gründung, Sussex hat eine internationale Perspektive auf seine wissenschaftlichen Aktivitäten und den Ausblick hatten. Die Universität zieht Mitarbeiter und Studenten auf dem Campus von über 120 verschiedenen Ländern in der ganzen Welt. Fast ein Drittel der Mitarbeiter kommen von außerhalb Großbritanniens.

Unsere Forschung befasst sich wichtigen internationalen Fragen, mit führenden Fachbereichen wie Klimawandel und Entwicklungsstudien. Die Universität verfügt über umfangreiche Verbindungen mit vielen Institutionen weltweit, wie Peking University, National Taiwan University und der Harvard-Sussex-Programm.

Studentenleben

Sussex hat eine der schönsten Campus-Standorten in Großbritannien. Das Hotel liegt im hügeligen Parklandschaft am Rande von Brighton, Der Campus vereint preisgekrönte Architektur mit Grünflächen. Der Campus wird von der South Downs-Nationalpark umgeben, aber nur ein paar Minuten entfernt von der lebhaften Stadt Brighton & Hove.

Entworfen von Sir Basil Spence, die Gebäude, die das Herz des Campus bilden, wurden geschützten Gebäude Status gegeben in 1993. Falmer House ist eines von nur zwei Bildungseinrichtungen in Großbritannien Grade zu sein, die ich in Anerkennung seiner außergewöhnlichen Interesse aufgeführt.

Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft

Sussex hat eine lange Tradition mit der Wirtschaft einzugreifen und die Gemeinschaft, die bis heute anhält durch Aktivitäten wie dem Sussex Innovation Centre, öffentliche Vorträge und Dienst an der Gemeinschaft. Unser Ziel ist es in der Region entwickeln höhere Personalqualifikationsniveau durch Ausbildung Unternehmen und Organisationen zu helfen,, und mit anderen Institutionen außerhalb Sussex Innovation durch Partnerschaft zur Förderung der breiteren Gesellschaft zu profitieren.

Das Sussex Innovation Centre bietet Unterstützung für die Schaffung und das Wachstum der Technologie- und wissensbasierte Unternehmen in Sussex. Das Zentrum ist heute eine blühende Geschäftsumfeld für fast 80 Unternehmen mit hohem Wachstum. Seit seiner Gründung über 160 Unternehmen wurden am Zentrum basierend; ihre kumulierten Umsatz ist jetzt über £ 250 Millionen und die Unternehmen, die derzeit viele Hunderte von Menschen in der Umgebung beschäftigen.

Schulen / Hochschulen / Abteilungen / Kurse / Fakultäten


Business-Schule, Management and Economics

School of Education und Soziale Arbeit

School of Engineering und Informatik

School of English

School of Global Studies

School of History, Kunstgeschichte und Philosophie

  • amerikanische Studien
  • Kunstgeschichte
  • Geschichte
  • Philosophie

Rechtsschule, Politik und Soziologie

School of Life Sciences

Schule für Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften

School of Media, Film und Musik

School of Psychology

Brighton und Sussex Medical School

Geschichte


In dem Bemühen, eine Universität zu gründen Brighton zu dienen, eine öffentliche Sitzung fand im Dezember statt 1911 in der Royal Pavilion, um Wege zu finden, den Bau einer Universität finanzieren; das Projekt wurde durch den Ersten Weltkrieg unterbrochen, und das eingenommene Geld wurde stattdessen für Bücher für theMunicipal Technical College verwendet.

Die Idee wurde in den 1950er Jahren wiederbelebt und, im Juni 1958, die Regierung hat die Regelung des Unternehmens für eine Universität in Brighton, zu sein, das erste einer neuen Generation, was später als Glasplatte Universitäten bekannt sein. Die Universität wurde als Gesellschaft mit Sitz in 1959, mit einer Royal Charter gewährt auf wird 16 August 1961. Die Organisation der Universität Neuland in den Campus in Schulen Studien geteilt zu sehen, mit der Lage Studenten aus einer multidisziplinären Lernumgebung zu profitieren. Sussex möchte betonen, fächerübergreifende Tätigkeit, so that students would emerge from the university with a range of background orcontextualknowledge to complement their specialistcore‘ Fähigkeiten in einem bestimmten Fachgebiet.

Sussex kam mit dem Krieg sozialen Wandel identifiziert werden, und entwickelt einen guten Ruf für Radikalismus. Im 1973, 500 Studenten physisch US-Regierung Berater Samuel P verhindert. Huntington aus einer Rede auf dem Campus geben, wegen seiner Verwicklung in den Vietnam-Krieg.

In einem Versuch, zu einem modernen Publikum ansprechen, die Universität wählte in 2004 sein Logo von der ursprünglichen Wappens den Strom zu vereinfachen „uns“ Logo. Der Vizekanzler der Universität beschrieb die neue visuelle Identität als „der Ausgangspunkt für das, was einen frischen Look sein und fühlen sich für Sussex. Es basiert auf der Vision der Universität und Werte, selbst eine Erklärung dessen, was es anstrebt sein: Pionier-, kreativ, International, Ausgezeichnet, ansprechender und anspruchsvoll.“


Möchtest du diskutieren University of Sussex ? Irgendeine Frage, Kommentare oder Bewertungen


University of Sussex auf der Karte


Foto


Fotos: University of Sussex offiziellen Facebook

Video





Teilen Sie diese nützliche Informationen mit deinen Freunden

University of Sussex Bewertungen

Registriert der University of Sussex zu diskutieren.
BITTE BEACHTEN SIE: EducationBro Magazin bietet Ihnen die Möglichkeit Informationen über Universitäten zu lesen an 96 Sprachen, aber wir bitten Sie andere Mitglieder zu respektieren und Kommentare zu hinterlassen auf Englisch.

University of Sussex

University of Sussex. Education in England. Study in United Kingdom.

University of Sussex Details

  • Country : United Kingdom
  • City : Falmer
  • Acronym : UofS
  • Founded : 1961
  • Students (approx.) : 14000
  • Don't forget to discuss University of Sussex
Enroll at University of Sussex

Overview


The University of Sussex is a leading higher education and research institution near Brighton, in the south of England. Sussex was the first of the new wave of UK universities founded in the 1960s, receiving its Royal Charter in 1961.

Innovative research and scholarship

Sussex is a leading research university, as reflected in the 2014 Research Excellence Framework (REF). Over 75 per cent of research activity at Sussex is categorised as world leading (4*) or internationally excellent (3*) in terms of originality, significance and rigour.

Individual highlights of the REF 2014 results include: 

  • Sussex History was the highest rated History submission in the UK for the quality of its research outputs
  • The Sussex English submission rose from 31st to 9th across the UK since the last research assessment exercise in 2008
  • 84 per cent of the University’s research impact in Psychology was rated as the top possible grade, 4*
  • Sussex Geography had the most 4* rated research impact of any Geography submission across the UK.

Overall, the University was placed 36th (of multi-disciplinary institutions) by GPA.

Teaching and learning

The University of Sussex has over 14,000 students, of which over a third are postgraduates. Creative thinking, pedagogic diversity, intellectual challenge and interdisciplinarity have always been fundamental to a Sussex education.

Our goal is to deliver teaching and learning programmes that are informed by current research, are attractive to students from all socioeconomic and cultural backgrounds, and which deliver skills for life.

Our staff

Sussex has developed a reputation for innovation and inspiration, and attracts leading thinkers and researchers. We have over 2,100 staff, including around 1,000 teaching and research staff, of which, over 300 are research-only. We have counted three Nobel Prize winners, 14 Fellows of the Royal Society, 12 Fellows of the British Academy and a winner of the prestigious Crafoord Prize on our faculty.

International Sussex

From its foundation, Sussex has had an international perspective to its academic activities and its outlook. The University attracts staff and students to its campus from over 120 different countries across the world. Nearly a third of staff come from outside the UK.

Our research tackles major world issues, with leading areas of expertise such as climate change and development studies. The University has extensive links with many institutions worldwide, such as Peking University, National Taiwan University and the Harvard-Sussex programme.

Campus life

Sussex has one of the most beautiful campus locations in Britain. Situated in rolling parkland on the edge of Brighton, the campus combines award-winning architecture with green open spaces. The campus is surrounded by the South Downs National Park, but just a few minutes away from the lively city of Brighton & Hove.

Designed by Sir Basil Spence, the buildings that make up the heart of the campus were given listed building status in 1993. Falmer House is one of only two educational buildings in the UK to be Grade I listed in recognition of its exceptional interest.

Business and the community

Sussex has a long tradition of engaging with business and the community, which continues today through activities such as the Sussex Innovation Centre, public lectures and service to the community. Our goal is to help businesses and organisations in the region develop higher staff skill levels through training, and to stimulate innovation through partnership with other institutions outside Sussex to benefit the wider society.

The Sussex Innovation Centre provides support for the creation and growth of technology- and knowledge-based companies in Sussex. The Centre is now a thriving business environment for nearly 80 high-growth companies. Since its creation over 160 companies have been based at the Centre; their cumulative revenue is now over £250 million and the companies currently employ many hundreds of people in the local area.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


School of Business, Management and Economics

School of Education and Social Work

School of Engineering and Informatics

School of English

School of Global Studies

School of History, Art History and Philosophy

  • American Studies
  • Art History
  • History
  • Philosophy

School of Law, Politics and Sociology

School of Life Sciences

School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences

School of Media, Film and Music

School of Psychology

Brighton and Sussex Medical School

History


In an effort to establish a university to serve Brighton, a public meeting was held in December 1911 at the Royal Pavilion in order to discover ways to fund the construction of a university; the project was halted by World War I, and the money raised was used instead for books for theMunicipal Technical College.

The idea was revived in the 1950s and, in June 1958, the government approved the corporation’s scheme for a university at Brighton, to be the first of a new generation of what came to be known as plate glass universities. The University was established as a company in 1959, with a Royal Charter being granted on 16 August 1961. The University’s organisation broke new ground in seeing the campus divided into Schools of Study, with students able to benefit from a multidisciplinary teaching environment. Sussex would emphasise cross-disciplinary activity, so that students would emerge from the university with a range of background or ‘contextual’ knowledge to complement their specialist ‘core’ skills in a particular subject area.

Sussex came to be identified with postwar social change, and developed a reputation for radicalism. In 1973, 500 students physically prevented United States government adviser Samuel P. Huntington from giving a speech on campus, due to his involvement in the Vietnam War.

In an attempt to appeal to a modern audience, the university chose in 2004 to simplify its logo from the original coat of arms to the current “us” logo. The Vice-Chancellor of the University described the new visual identity as “the starting point for what will be a fresh look and feel for Sussex. It is based on the university’s vision and values, themselves a statement of what it aspires to be: pioneering, creative, international, excellent, engaging and challenging.”


Do you want discuss University of Sussex ? Any question, comments or reviews


University of Sussex on Map


Photo


Photos: University of Sussex official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

University of Sussex reviews

Join to discuss of University of Sussex.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.