薩塞克斯大學

薩塞克斯大學. 英格蘭教育. 研究英國.

詳細蘇塞克斯大學

  • 國家 : 英國
  • 市 : 雪精靈
  • 縮寫 : UofS
  • 成立 : 1961
  • 學生們 (約。) : 14000
  • 不要忘了 討論薩塞克斯大學
報名在蘇塞克斯大學

概觀


薩塞克斯大學是布萊頓附近的一家領先的高等教育和研究機構, 在英格蘭南部. 蘇塞克斯是第一個英國大學的新浪潮成立於20世紀60年代, 接收其皇家憲章中 1961.

創新的研究和獎學金

蘇塞克斯是一家領先的研究型大學, 這反映在 2014 卓越研究框架 (REF). 過度 75 每薩塞克斯研究活動的百分之被歸類為全球領先 (4*) 或國際優秀 (3*) 在創意方面, 意義和嚴謹.

在REF的各個亮點 2014 結果包括:

  • 蘇塞克斯歷史是英國收視率最高的歷史記錄提交其研究成果的質量
  • 蘇塞克斯英語提交從31上升到了第9個全英國上次的科研評估 2008
  • 84 每大學的心理學研究的影響佔被評為最高等級可能, 4*
  • 蘇塞克斯地理過最 4* 英國各地的任何地理提交額定影響研究.

總體, 大學被置於第36 (多學科的機構) 通過GPA.

教與學

薩塞克斯大學有超過 14,000 學生們, 其中超過三分之一是研究生. 創造性思維, 教學的多樣性, 智力挑戰和跨學科一直是根本,以教育蘇塞克斯.

我們的目標是提供由目前的研究知情的教學和學習計劃, 是所有社會經濟和文化背景的學生有吸引力, 並提供了生活技能.

我們的員工

蘇塞克斯開發了創新和靈感的聲譽, 並吸引了領先的思想家和科學家. 我們有超過 2,100 員工, 包括各地 1,000 教學和科研人員, 其中, 過度 300 是純研究. 我們數三諾貝爾獎得主, 14 英國皇家學會院士, 12 英國學術院院士和著名的克拉福德獎對我們的教師是贏家.

國際蘇塞克斯

從它的基礎, 蘇塞克斯已經有國際化的視野來其學術活動和展望. 大學吸引了工作人員和學生校園來自 120 在世界各地不同的國家. 近的工作人員的三分之一來自英國以外的.

我們的研究鏟球世界重大問題, 有專長的領先領域,如氣候變化和發展研究. 大學與世界各地的許多機構廣泛聯繫, 如北京大學, 國立台灣大學和哈佛蘇塞克斯計劃.

校園生活

蘇塞克斯擁有英國最美麗的校園的地點之一. 坐落在起伏不平的草地上布賴頓的邊緣, 校園結合了綠色開放空間屢獲殊榮的建築. 校園是由南方丘陵國家公園包圍, 但是從布萊頓熱鬧的城市僅有幾分鐘的路程 & 霍夫.

蓬蒿斯彭斯爵士設計, 構成校園的心臟大樓又被賦予了保護建築的地位 1993. 雪精靈樓是僅有的兩個在英國教育的建築物之一是一級以表彰其特殊利益的上市.

企業與社會

蘇塞克斯與企業和社會各界參與的悠久傳統, 它仍然通過今天的活動,如蘇塞克斯創新中心, 公開講座和服務社會. 我們的目標是幫助企業和組織在該地區的發展,通過培訓提高員工技能水平, 並通過與外部蘇塞克斯其他機構合作以鼓勵創新惠及更廣泛的社會.

蘇塞克斯創新中心提供了對創建和技術支持增長- 和基於知識的企業蘇塞克斯. 該中心現在是將近一個繁榮的商業環境 80 高增長公司. 自創建以來在 160 公司一直設在該中心; 他們的累計收入現在超過2.5億£與本公司目前僱用了數百人在當地.

學校 / 高校 / 部門 / 培訓班 / 院系


商學院, 管理與經濟學

教育和社會工作學院

工程與信息學院

英語學校

全球研究學院

歷史學院, 藝術史和哲學

  • 美國研究
  • 藝術史
  • 歷史
  • 哲學

法學院, 政治學及社會學

生命科學學院

數學和物理科學學院

媒體學院, 電影和音樂

心理學院

布萊頓和蘇塞克斯醫學院

歷史


在努力建立一所大學擔任布賴頓, 一個公開會議12月召開 1911 在皇家館,以發現如何資助一所大學的建設; 該項目是由第一次世界大戰停止, 和改為用於書籍theMunicipal技術學院籌得的款項.

當時的想法是在20世紀50年代復甦,, 在六月 1958, 政府批准在布萊頓大學該公司的方案, 成為第一個新一代的了後來被稱為平板玻璃大學. 大學建立了作為一個公司 1959, 與皇家憲章被授予 16 八月 1961. 大學的組織在看到校園分為研究學校新的突破, 學生能夠從多學科的教學環境中受益. 蘇塞克斯要強調跨學科活動, 使學生將從學校出現了一系列的背景或環境背景的’ 知識補充自己的專業的核心’ 技能,在一個特定的學科領域.

蘇塞克斯來到與戰後的社會變化來識別, 並制定了激進的聲譽. 在 1973, 500 學生在物理上防止美國政府顧問塞繆爾·P. 亨廷頓從給校園演講, 由於他在越南戰爭中的參與.

在試圖吸引現代觀眾, 大學選擇在 2004 從武器的原始外衣當前簡化其標誌 “我們” 商標. 大學校長所描述的新的視覺識別為 “起點將是一個什麼新鮮的外觀和感覺蘇塞克斯. 它是基於大學的願景和價值觀, 自己什麼希望成為一個聲明: 創舉, 創作的, 國際, 優秀, 合和挑戰。”


你要嗎 討論薩塞克斯大學 ? 任何問題, 意見或評論


薩塞克斯大學地圖


照片


相片: 薩塞克斯大學 官方Facebook

視頻





與好友分享這個有用的信息

蘇塞克斯大學的評論

加入蘇塞克斯大學的討論.
請注意: EducationBro雜誌讓你在閱讀有關大學信息的能力 96 語言, 但我們要求您尊重其他成員和英語發表評論.

University of Sussex

University of Sussex. Education in England. Study in United Kingdom.

University of Sussex Details

  • Country : United Kingdom
  • City : Falmer
  • Acronym : UofS
  • Founded : 1961
  • Students (approx.) : 14000
  • Don't forget to discuss University of Sussex
Enroll at University of Sussex

Overview


The University of Sussex is a leading higher education and research institution near Brighton, in the south of England. Sussex was the first of the new wave of UK universities founded in the 1960s, receiving its Royal Charter in 1961.

Innovative research and scholarship

Sussex is a leading research university, as reflected in the 2014 Research Excellence Framework (REF). Over 75 per cent of research activity at Sussex is categorised as world leading (4*) or internationally excellent (3*) in terms of originality, significance and rigour.

Individual highlights of the REF 2014 results include: 

  • Sussex History was the highest rated History submission in the UK for the quality of its research outputs
  • The Sussex English submission rose from 31st to 9th across the UK since the last research assessment exercise in 2008
  • 84 per cent of the University’s research impact in Psychology was rated as the top possible grade, 4*
  • Sussex Geography had the most 4* rated research impact of any Geography submission across the UK.

Overall, the University was placed 36th (of multi-disciplinary institutions) by GPA.

Teaching and learning

The University of Sussex has over 14,000 students, of which over a third are postgraduates. Creative thinking, pedagogic diversity, intellectual challenge and interdisciplinarity have always been fundamental to a Sussex education.

Our goal is to deliver teaching and learning programmes that are informed by current research, are attractive to students from all socioeconomic and cultural backgrounds, and which deliver skills for life.

Our staff

Sussex has developed a reputation for innovation and inspiration, and attracts leading thinkers and researchers. We have over 2,100 staff, including around 1,000 teaching and research staff, of which, over 300 are research-only. We have counted three Nobel Prize winners, 14 Fellows of the Royal Society, 12 Fellows of the British Academy and a winner of the prestigious Crafoord Prize on our faculty.

International Sussex

From its foundation, Sussex has had an international perspective to its academic activities and its outlook. The University attracts staff and students to its campus from over 120 different countries across the world. Nearly a third of staff come from outside the UK.

Our research tackles major world issues, with leading areas of expertise such as climate change and development studies. The University has extensive links with many institutions worldwide, such as Peking University, National Taiwan University and the Harvard-Sussex programme.

Campus life

Sussex has one of the most beautiful campus locations in Britain. Situated in rolling parkland on the edge of Brighton, the campus combines award-winning architecture with green open spaces. The campus is surrounded by the South Downs National Park, but just a few minutes away from the lively city of Brighton & Hove.

Designed by Sir Basil Spence, the buildings that make up the heart of the campus were given listed building status in 1993. Falmer House is one of only two educational buildings in the UK to be Grade I listed in recognition of its exceptional interest.

Business and the community

Sussex has a long tradition of engaging with business and the community, which continues today through activities such as the Sussex Innovation Centre, public lectures and service to the community. Our goal is to help businesses and organisations in the region develop higher staff skill levels through training, and to stimulate innovation through partnership with other institutions outside Sussex to benefit the wider society.

The Sussex Innovation Centre provides support for the creation and growth of technology- and knowledge-based companies in Sussex. The Centre is now a thriving business environment for nearly 80 high-growth companies. Since its creation over 160 companies have been based at the Centre; their cumulative revenue is now over £250 million and the companies currently employ many hundreds of people in the local area.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


School of Business, Management and Economics

School of Education and Social Work

School of Engineering and Informatics

School of English

School of Global Studies

School of History, Art History and Philosophy

  • American Studies
  • Art History
  • History
  • Philosophy

School of Law, Politics and Sociology

School of Life Sciences

School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences

School of Media, Film and Music

School of Psychology

Brighton and Sussex Medical School

History


In an effort to establish a university to serve Brighton, a public meeting was held in December 1911 at the Royal Pavilion in order to discover ways to fund the construction of a university; the project was halted by World War I, and the money raised was used instead for books for theMunicipal Technical College.

The idea was revived in the 1950s and, in June 1958, the government approved the corporation’s scheme for a university at Brighton, to be the first of a new generation of what came to be known as plate glass universities. The University was established as a company in 1959, with a Royal Charter being granted on 16 August 1961. The University’s organisation broke new ground in seeing the campus divided into Schools of Study, with students able to benefit from a multidisciplinary teaching environment. Sussex would emphasise cross-disciplinary activity, so that students would emerge from the university with a range of background or ‘contextual’ knowledge to complement their specialist ‘core’ skills in a particular subject area.

Sussex came to be identified with postwar social change, and developed a reputation for radicalism. In 1973, 500 students physically prevented United States government adviser Samuel P. Huntington from giving a speech on campus, due to his involvement in the Vietnam War.

In an attempt to appeal to a modern audience, the university chose in 2004 to simplify its logo from the original coat of arms to the current “us” logo. The Vice-Chancellor of the University described the new visual identity as “the starting point for what will be a fresh look and feel for Sussex. It is based on the university’s vision and values, themselves a statement of what it aspires to be: pioneering, creative, international, excellent, engaging and challenging.”


Do you want discuss University of Sussex ? Any question, comments or reviews


University of Sussex on Map


Photo


Photos: University of Sussex official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

University of Sussex reviews

Join to discuss of University of Sussex.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.