جامعة بوسطن

جامعة بوسطن. الدراسة في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. Educationbro.com

بوسطن تفاصيل جامعة

  • بلد : الولايات المتحدة
  • مدينة : بوسطن
  • اختصار : هذا
  • مؤسس : 1839
  • الطلاب (تقريبا.) : 34000
  • لا تنسى أن بحث جامعة بوسطن
التسجيل في جامعة بوسطن

نظرة عامة


جامعة بوسطن هي مؤسسة خاصة تأسست في 1839.

الرسوم الدراسية $50,000 (ولكنها تعمل.).

جامعة بوسطن هي واحدة من أكبر مستقلة, الجامعات غير ربحية في البلاد. والكلاب BU دينا أكثر من 20 قسم NCAA أنا الرياضية اسكواش. وقد فاز فريق الهوكي BU في عدة بطولات وطنية NCAA. لديها أيضا ما يقرب BU 500 الأندية الطلابية, بدءا من سباق التزلج لجمعية شعوذة. خلق BU أحد البرامج في الخارج الدراسة الأولى, ويرعى حاليا أكثر من 90 البرامج الدولية. ويلزم الموظفين الجدد للعيش في الحرم الجامعي, وعن 80 في المئة من الطلاب الجامعيين يعيشون في الحرم الجامعي الرئيسي بوسطن, التي تقع على طول نهر تشارلز.

وتشمل المدارس العليا مرتبة عالية جامعة بوسطن كلية القانون, مدرسة الإدارة, مدرسة الطب, كلية الهندسة وكلية التربية. مدرسة BU للطب هي الأولى جنبا إلى جنب أبحاث السرطان والتعليم مختبر في البلاد. BU هو أيضا أول جامعة لفتح جميع الشعب للطالبات في 1872. تشمل الخريجين البارزة الدكتور. مارتن لوثر كينج, الابن; الممثلات جوليان مور وجينا ديفيس; الشخصية التلفزيونية بيل أوريلي; الإذاعة المضيفة هوارد ستيرن; وتيبر غور, الزوجة السابقة لآل غور. حقيقة فريدة من نوعها آخر: جسر BU هو المكان الوحيد فى الولايات المتحدة. حيث طائرة تستطيع التحليق من سيارة كانت تسير على القطار تسير على زورق, جميعهم في وقت واحد.

المدارس / الكليات / الإدارات / الدورات / ملكات


كلية الآداب & علوم

أكبر كلية في BU-مع 24 الإدارات-CAS حيث ستجد برامج البكالوريوس في العلوم الإنسانية, العلوم الطبيعية والحسابية, والعلوم الاجتماعية.

كلية الدراسات العليا في الفنون & علوم

مع ما يقرب من 40 مجالات العلوم الإنسانية, العلوم الطبيعية والحسابية, والعلوم الاجتماعية للاختيار من بينها, GRS تعد موطنا لحوالي 1,800 المرشحين درجة الدراسات العليا وأعضاء هيئة التدريس من العديد من المدارس والكليات في BU.

كلية الاتصالات

من الاتصال الجماهيري, إعلان & العلاقات العامة, إلى الصحافة, إلى السينما & تلفزيون, الإدارات COM في تقدم الدراسات العليا وبرامج البكالوريوس مخصصة لتدريب الإعلاميين المهنية جيدا مقربة.

كلية الهندسة

اختر من البرامج في الطب الحيوي, الكهرباء & الحاسوب, ميكانيكي, ونظم الهندسة وعلوم المواد & هندسة. مهما كان الموضوع, ENG تركز على دفع حدود العلم والتكنولوجيا من خلال البحوث, اكتشاف, والابتكار.

كلية الفنون الجميلة

CFA ثلاث مدارس الموسيقى, مسرح, والفنون المرئية، تشكل مكثفة, دينامية المجتمع الفنون الجمع بين المهنية, التدريب الفردي في الدراسات العليا والجامعية المستويات مع العمل التعاوني التي تعبر بشكل متزايد الإدارات والمدارس.

كلية الدراسات العامة

تقدم هذه الكلية لمدة عامين والفنون الليبرالية منهج متكامل الأساسية, تدرس من خلال هيكل الفريق التعاوني. من هنا, يستمر الطلاب في التخصصات المحددة في مختلف الفنون الليبرالية الجامعة وبرامج شهادة مهنية.

كلية الصحة & علوم التأهيل: كلية سارجنت

أربعة أقسام الصحة علوم, علاج وظيفي, علاج بدني & التدريب الرياضي, والكلام, لغة & برامج سماع العلوم-عرض ركزت على التدريب والمتطورة البحوث المهنية. الطلاب القيام مصلحة العمل الميداني من شبكة السريرية لأكثر من 1,400 الانتماءات في جميع أنحاء العالم 400 منهم في بوسطن الكبرى.

كلية متروبوليتان

الاختيار من بين أكثر من 60 كامل- وبرامج الدرجات العلمية والشهادات بدوام جزئي, فضلا عن دورات noncredit الدراسة وبرنامج استكمال درجة البكالوريوس. في الحرم الجامعي, عبر الانترنت, وبرامج المخلوطة في مجالات متنوعة مثل الأدب, علوم الكمبيوتر, إدارة,العدالة الجنائية, وفن الطهو، على سبيل المثال لا الحصر، متاحة للطلاب MET.

مدرسة الإدارة في جامعة بوسطن

مدرسة Questrom المناهج الأعمال في التأكيد على التكنولوجيات الرقمية, علوم الصحة والحياة, والطاقة والبيئة. يمكن الجامعيين كسب BSBA, بينما يختار طلاب الدراسات العليا من MS, ماجستير في إدارة الأعمال, الدكتوراه, وبرامج شهادة مزدوجة.

هنري M. كلية جولدمان لطب الأسنان

تقدم SDM دكتوراه في طب الأسنان (تقليدي لمدة أربع سنوات ومكانة متقدمة لمدة سنتين) والشهادات المتقدمة والدرجات, مثل مضت عليها, MSD, DSC, وDScD, في جميع التخصصات المعترف بها. يمكن الجامعيون المؤهلين الانخراط في برنامج لمدة سبع سنوات لكسب BA أو BS من CAS وDMD.

كلية التربية

الخريجون الجامعيون واختيار تركيز من أكثر من 20 المناطق, بما في ذلك التعليم في مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة, تعليم عالى, تقديم المشورة, والسياسة. توفر العديد من الترتيبات التعاونية المدرسة فرص التدريب والتطبيق العملي المهنية لا تعد ولا تحصى.

فريدريك S. مدرسة باردي من الدراسات العالمية

تسعى إلى تعزيز التقدم البشري وتحسين حالة الإنسان, ومع الالتزام العميق لتعددية التخصصات, مدرسة باردي - مقرها داخل CAS وGRS - العروض 5 التخصصات الجامعية, 8 القصر الجامعية, 9 الشهادات العليا, و 2 شهادات دراسات عليا في العلاقات الدولية والدراسات الإقليمية.

كلية إدارة الضيافة

بكالوريوس في العلوم المرشحين الحصول على الصلبة الفنون الليبرالية الخلفية جنبا إلى جنب مع التدريب المهني في قطاع الضيافة, بما في ذلك التدريب والدراسة في الخارج. يمكن للطلاب كسب BS أو BS المشترك / MLA في فن الطهو مع كلية متروبوليتان.

كلية حقوق

وJD LLM الإدارات تقدم مجموعة من البرامج والتخصصات, بما في ذلك القانون الأمريكي, قانون الملكية الفكرية, المصرفية وقانون المالية, وقانون الضرائب, فضلا عن العديد من برامج درجة مزدوجة مع المدارس BU الأخرى والكليات.

مدرسة الطب

مع 22 الإدارات, الطلاب لديهم مسارات متعددة لMD أو برامج درجة مجتمعة في المجالات والتخصصات التي اختاروها. يأخذ الطلاب الاستفادة من المرافق والمختبرات الطبية المتطورة في الحرم الجامعي الطبية والمؤسسات التابعة لها في جميع أنحاء المدينة والأمة.

شعبة العلوم الطبية العليا

التأكيد على البحث والتعليم العالي في العلوم الطبية الحيوية, العروض GMS 33 مجالات الدراسة، بما في ذلك برامج متعددة التخصصات في العديد مجالات هي: مما يؤدي إلى إتقان ل, الدكتوراه, أو MD درجة / الدكتوراه وكذلك شهادات.

كلية الصحة العامة

طلاب متابعة مستويات مختلفة ومناهج للدراسات الصحة العامة الشاملة بينهما, من الماجستير والدكتوراه المهنية لMS الأكاديمية المتخصصة وبرامج الدكتوراه. برامج شهادة والمزدوج درجة مع المدارس العليا BU أخرى متوفرة أيضا.

كلية العمل الاجتماعي

طلاب الماجستير والدكتوراه الحصول على التدريب المتخصص للعمل الاجتماعي في البيئات الحضرية. يختار الطالب إما السريرية (الأفراد, أسر, مجموعة) أو الماكرو (تنظيم المجتمع, إدارة, والتخطيط) ممارسة. MSW, الدكتوراه, وتقدم درجة مزدوجة وشهادات.

مدرسة اللاهوت

تقدم هذه المدرسة المهنية الدراسات العليا مجموعة من البرامج في الماجستير والدكتوراة, إعداد الطلاب للوزارات والمهن التي تعزز التحول الشخصي والاجتماعي. تؤكد مدرسة مبادئ المجتمع من الحب, عدالة, سلامة, حقوق, المسؤوليات, والاحترام.

شعبة التعليم العسكري

ويتوج هذا البرنامج عادة لمدة أربع سنوات في لجنة في الجيش, القوات البحرية, القوات الجوية, أو سلاح مشاة البحرية. يتلقى الطلاب تدريب ضباط الاحتياط التدريب العملي على التدريب على القيادة أن يبني السندات فريق قوي وتطوير الثقة, تهذيب, القدرة على الاحتمال, يشير إلى, والمهارات الإدارية.

ارفيند وتشاندان ناندلال كيلاتشاند كلية الشرف

تكرم كلية الجامعيون هم جزء من نهج جديد لتعليم الحر. متابعة التخصص في واحدة من المدارس والكليات BU ل, مثل الفنون & علوم, إدارة, الفنون الجميلة, والهندسة, في حين الانتهاء من الندوات كلية الشرف, استوديوهات, ومشروع حجر الزاوية. وتشمل الأنشطة المشتركة المناهج الدراسية والمحاضرات, قراءات, والعروض داخل وخارج الحرم الجامعي.

التاريخ


جامعة بوسطن تعود جذورها إلى إنشاء معهد نيوبري الكتاب المقدس في نيوبري, فيرمونت في 1839, وكانت مستأجرة باسم “جامعة بوسطن” الهيئة التشريعية في ولاية ماساشوستس في 1869. نظمت جامعة الاحتفالات المئوية رسمية في كل من 1939 و 1969.

في 24-25 أبريل, 1839 انتخبت مجموعة من الوزراء والعلمانيين الميثودية في الكنيسة القديمة شارع برومفيلد في بوسطن لإنشاء مدرسة لاهوتية الميثودية. أنشئت في نيوبري, فيرمونت, كان اسمه في مدرسة معهد الكتاب المقدس نيوبري.

في 1847, جمعية تجمعي في كونكورد, نيو هامبشاير, دعا المعهد إلى الانتقال إلى كونكورد وعرضت بناء الكنيسة تجمعي مهجور بسعة 1200 اشخاص. تغطية غيرهم من المواطنين من كونكورد تكاليف إعادة عرض. كان واحدا من نص الدعوة التي معهد البقاء في كونكورد على الأقل 20 سنوات. ميثاق جديد صادر عن Hampshiredesignated في المدرسة “معهد الميثودية الكتاب المقدس عامة”, ولكن كان يطلق عليه “معهد كونكورد الكتاب المقدس.”

مع عشرين عاما وافق صلت الى نهايتها, مجلس أمناء معهد كونكورد الكتاب المقدس التي تم شراؤها 30 فدان (120,000 م2) على Aspinwall هيل في بروكلين, ماساتشوستس, كما نقل موقع محتمل. انتقل المعهد في 1867 إلى 23 شارع بينكني في بوسطن وحصل على ميثاق ماساتشوستس باسم “معهد بوسطن اللاهوتية.”

في 1869, ثلاثة أمناء معهد بوسطن اللاهوتية تم الحصول عليها من الهيئة التشريعية ماساتشوستس ميثاقا لجامعة بالاسم من “جامعة بوسطن.” هؤلاء الثلاثة كانوا من رجال الأعمال بوسطن ناجحة والعلمانيين الميثودية, مع تاريخ من تورط في المؤسسات التعليمية وأصبح مؤسسو جامعة بوسطن. كانوا إسحاق ريتش (1801-1872), لي كلافلين (1791-1871), وجاكوب سليبر (1802-1889), الذين تتم تسمية ثلاثة مهاجع الحرم الجامعي غرب جامعة بوسطن. ابن لي كلافلين ل, وليام, كان في ذلك الحين محافظ ماساتشوستس وقعت على ميثاق الجامعة في مايو 26, 1869 بعد أن تم إقراره من قبل المجلس التشريعي

وقد تم استيعاب معهد بوسطن اللاهوتية في جامعة بوسطن في 1871 باسم مدرسة BU اللاهوت.

في يناير 1872 توفي إسحاق ريتش, وترك الجزء الأكبر من تركته إلى الثقة التي من شأنها أن تذهب إلى جامعة بوسطن بعد عشر سنوات من النمو في حين نظمت جامعة. وكانت معظم هذه الوصية العقارات في جميع أنحاء الأساسية للمدينة بوسطن والمقدرة بأكثر من $1.5 مليون. يصف كيلجور ان هذا هو أكبر تبرع منفرد لصالح كلية أو جامعة أميركية إلى ذلك الوقت. وبحلول ديسمبر, ومع ذلك, بوسطن العظمى نار 1872 دمرت جميع ولكن واحدة من المباني ريتش قد غادر إلى الجامعة, وكانت شركات التأمين التي كانوا المؤمن المفلسة. قيمة عقاره, عندما سلمت إلى جامعة في 1882, كان نصف ما كان عليه في 1872. كنتيجة لــ, كانت جامعة قادرة على بناء حرمها الجامعي التفكير في Aspinwall هيل والأرض تباع مجزأة كما تطوير المواقع. أسماء الشوارع في المنطقة, بما في ذلك في Claflin الطريق, في Claflin مسار, وطريق الجامعة, هي الأدلة الوحيدة المتبقية من ملكية الجامعة في هذا المجال.

تسعى لتوحيد مدرسة منتشرة جغرافيا وتمكينها من المشاركة في تطوير المدينة, رتبت رئيس المدرسة ليمويل مرلين أن المدرسة شراء الحرم الجامعي الحالي على طول نهر theCharles. ما بين 1920 و 1928, اشترت المدرسة 15 فدان (61,000 م2) من الأراضي التي تم استصلاحها من النهر من قبل جمعية تحسين النهر. خطط لالمربعه النهر مع برج إداري إحياء القوطية على غرار “قديم بوسطن القرمة” في بوسطن, تم تحجيمها إنجلترا مرة أخرى في أواخر 1920s عندما تستخدم لجنة منطقة متروبوليتان ستيت الاستملاك للاستيلاء على أراض النهر لStorrow محرك. كان Murlin أبدا قادرة على بناء الحرم الجديد, لكن خليفته, دانيال L. اهوار, أدت سلسلة من حملات جمع التبرعات (توقف كل من الكساد العظيم والحرب العالمية الثانية) التي ساعدت مارش لتحقيق حلمه ولملء تدريجيا في حرم الجامعة الجديد. بحلول الربيع 1936, وشمل الجسم الطلابي 10,384 رجال ونساء.

في 1951, هارولد C.. أصبحت قضية الرئيس الخامس في المدرسة وتحت إشرافه تغيرت طبيعة الحرم الجامعي بشكل كبير, وهو يسعى لتغيير المدرسة إلى جامعة بحثية وطنية. ثلاث مرات في الحرم الجامعي في حجم ل 45 فدان (180,000 م2), وأضاف 68 المباني الجديدة قبل حالة تقاعد في 1967. أول مساكن كبيرة, في Claflin, وقد تم بناء قاعات الغنية والنائم في غرب الحرم الجامعي, و في 1965 بدأ البناء على 700 شارع الكومنولث, وارن توويرس اسمه في وقت لاحق, صمم لاستيعاب 1800 الطلاب. ما بين 1961 و 1966, برج القانون BU, الاتحاد جورج شيرمان, وشيدت مكتبة تذكارية Mugar في الاسلوب theBrutalist, خروجا عن العمارة التقليدية في المدرسة. ويضم كلية الهندسة وكلية الاتصالات في غرفة السابقة بناء مستقر وصناعة السيارات في المعرض, respectively.Besides جهوده لتوسيع الجامعة في منافسة للمؤسسات الأكاديمية المرموقة بوسطن الكبرى ل, مثل جامعة هارفارد ومعهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا (سواء في كامبريدج عبر نهر تشارلز من الحرم الجامعي BU), القضية تتعلق نفسه في بداية الطالب / الاضطرابات الاجتماعية التي جاءت لتميز 1960s. عندما-شجار صغير على السياسة التحريرية في الإذاعة كلية WBUR-FM - كان الذي مكاتب تحت طويل القامة سارية هوائي الراديو أمام مدرسة العلاقات العامة والاتصالات (في وقت لاحق كلية الاتصالات) - بدأت تنمو في ربيع عام 1964, حالة أقنعت أمناء الجامعة أن الجامعة يجب أن تأخذ على محطة الراديو سمع على نطاق واسع (الآن منفذا رئيسيا للالوطنية Radioand العامة لا يزال منشأة البث المملوكة للB.U.). وافق الأمناء اطلاق مديري طالب وحدوا من البرمجة والسياسة التحريرية, التي كانت بقيادة الراحل جيم ثيستل, في وقت لاحق قوة رئيسية في بث الأخبار الوسط بوسطن. أدى الخلاف السياسي داخل الحرم الجامعي بين إدارة حالة المحافظة والجسم الطلابي نشط فجأة ومعظمها ليبرالية في نزاعات أخرى على B.U. المنشورات المطبوعة طالب, مثل B.U. أخبار والقرمزي, صحيفة جمعية الأخوة.

رئاسة روبرت براون, التي بدأت في 2005, وسوف تسعى لتعزيز توحيد البنية التحتية في الحرم الجامعي الذي بدأه حالة وتابع سيلبر. خاصه, وقد التزمت براون جامعة بوسطن للاستثمار $1.8 مليار في استكمال خطتها الاستراتيجية لمدة عشر سنوات, تخصيص موارد جديدة لفرص المشترك بين الكلية للطلاب الجامعيين, تحسين مرافق الأكاديمية والسكنية في الحرم الجامعي, وتوظيف أعضاء هيئة التدريس جديدة لأكبر كلية في الجامعة. وتشمل استراتيجية زيادة الميزانية السنوية ل $225 مليون.

حجر الزاوية في خطة, الذي يدعو لمزيد من التعاون على نطاق الحرم الجامعي, هو التركيز على التعليم الجامعي, بدءا من محاولة لتشجيع عبر تسجيل بين المدارس والكليات وتشجيع الطلبة الجامعيين للاستفادة الكاملة من كل من الفنون الليبرالية والبرامج المهنية المتاحة.

وتوجد خطط لتعزيز كلية الحقوق, كلية الإدارة, وكلية الفنون الجميلة, بما في ذلك التغيرات إلى محطة البدني وتوظيف أعضاء هيئة التدريس إضافية. كلية الطب خطط التحسينات المادية, بما في ذلك السكن طالب أكثر بأسعار معقولة.

وجود خطط أيضا لتحسين السكن الطلابي العام. تم تحديث نظام الكمبيوتر الحرم الجامعي في 2009, على الرغم من الأزمة المالية التي كانت جارية. تخطط لزيادة حجم الحرم الجامعي وتحسين قدرتها طويلة, شكل ضيق تتضمن شراء حقوق الهواء فوق القداس بايك.


هل تريد بحث جامعة بوسطن ? أي سؤال, التعليقات أو المراجعات


جامعة بوسطن على الخريطة


صورة فوتوغرافية


الصور: جامعة بوسطن الفيسبوك الرسمي

فيديو





مشاركة هذه المعلومات مفيدة مع أصدقائك

استعراض جامعة بوسطن

تاريخ لبحث من جامعة بوسطن.
يرجى الملاحظة: EducationBro مجلة يمنحك القدرة على قراءة معلومات حول الجامعات في 96 اللغات, ولكن نطلب منك أن تحترم أعضاء آخرين وترك التعليقات باللغة الإنجليزية.

Boston University

Boston University. Study in USA. Educationbro.com

Boston University Details

  • Country : United States of America
  • City : Boston
  • Acronym : BU
  • Founded : 1839
  • Students (approx.) : 34000
  • Don't forget to discuss Boston University
Enroll at Boston University

Overview


Boston University is a private institution that was founded in 1839.

Tuition fees are $50,000 (Aprox.).

Boston University is one of the largest independent, nonprofit universities in the country. The BU Terriers have more than 20 NCAA Division I varsity sports. BU’s hockey team has won multiple NCAA national championships. BU also has nearly 500 student clubs, ranging from Ski Racing to the Juggling Association. BU created one of the first study abroad programs, and currently sponsors more than 90 international programs. Freshmen are required to live on campus, and about 80 percent of undergraduate students live on the main Boston campus, which lies along the Charles River.

Boston University’s highly ranked graduate schools include the School of Law, School of Management, School of Medicine, College of Engineering and School of Education. BU’s School of Medicine is the nation’s first combined cancer research and teaching laboratory. BU is also the first university to open all divisions to female students in 1872. Notable alumni include Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.; actresses Julianne Moore and Geena Davis; television personality Bill O’Reilly; radio host Howard Stern; and Tipper Gore, former wife of Al Gore. Another unique fact: the BU Bridge is the only spot in the U.S. where a plane can fly over a car driving over a train going over a boat, all at the same time.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


College of Arts & Sciences

The largest college at BU—with 24 departments—CAS is where you’ll find undergraduate programs in the humanities, natural and computational sciences, and social sciences.

Graduate School of Arts & Sciences

With nearly 40 areas of humanities, natural and computational sciences, and social sciences to choose from, GRS is home to approximately 1,800 graduate degree candidates and faculty from many schools and colleges at BU.

College of Communication

From Mass Communication, Advertising & Public Relations, to Journalism, to Film & Television, COM’s departments offer graduate and undergraduate programs dedicated to training well-rounded professional communicators.

College of Engineering

Choose from programs in Biomedical, Electrical & Computer, Mechanical, and Systems Engineering and Materials Science & Engineering. Whatever the topic, ENG is focused on advancing the frontiers of science and technology through research, discovery, and innovation.

College of Fine Arts

CFA’s three schools—Music, Theatre, and Visual Arts—form an intense, dynamic arts community combining professional, individualized training at the graduate and undergraduate levels with collaborative work that increasingly crosses departments and schools.

College of General Studies

This two-year college offers an integrated liberal arts core curriculum, taught through a collaborative team structure. From here, students continue into specific majors in the University’s various liberal arts and professional degree programs.

College of Health & Rehabilitation Sciences: Sargent College

Four departments—Health Sciences, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy & Athletic Training, and Speech, Language & Hearing Sciences—offer programs focused on professional training and cutting-edge research. Students doing fieldwork benefit from a clinical network of more than 1,400 affiliations worldwide—400 of them in Greater Boston.

Metropolitan College

Choose from more than 60 full- and part-time degree and certificate programs, as well as noncredit courses of study and an undergraduate degree completion program. On-campus, online, and blended programs in fields as varied as literature, computer science, management,criminal justice, and gastronomy—to name a few—are available to MET students.

Questrom School of Business

The Questrom School of Business’s curricula emphasize digital technologies, health and life sciences, and energy and the environment. Undergraduates can earn a BSBA, while graduate students choose from MS, MBA, PhD, and dual degree programs.

Henry M. Goldman School of Dental Medicine

SDM offers the Doctor of Dental Medicine (a traditional four-year and advanced-standing two-year) and advanced certificates and degrees, such as CAGS, MSD, DSc, and DScD, in all recognized specialties. Qualified undergrads can enroll in the seven-year program to earn a BA or BS from CAS and a DMD.

School of Education

Grads and undergrads choose a concentration from more than 20 areas, including early childhood education, higher education, counseling, and policy. The school’s many collaborative arrangements provide myriad professional training and practica opportunities.

Frederick S. Pardee School of Global Studies

Dedicated to advancing human progress and improving the human condition, and with a deep commitment to interdisciplinarity, the Pardee School – housed within CAS and GRS – offers 5 undergraduate majors, 8 undergraduate minors, 9 graduate degrees, and 2 graduate certificates in international relations and regional studies.

School of Hospitality Administration

Bachelor of Science candidates get a solid liberal arts background along with professional training in the hospitality industry, including internships and study abroad. Students may earn a BS or a combined BS/MLA in Gastronomy with Metropolitan College.

School of Law

JD and LLM departments offer a range of programs and specializations, including American law, intellectual property law, banking and financial law, and tax law, as well as several dual degree programs with other BU schools and colleges.

School of Medicine

With 22 departments, students have multiple pathways to MD or combined degree programs in their chosen fields and specialties. Students take advantage of cutting-edge clinical facilities and laboratories on the Medical Campus and with affiliated institutions throughout the city and the nation.

Division of Graduate Medical Sciences

Emphasizing research and graduate education in the biomedical sciences, GMS offers 33 fields of study—including interdisciplinary programs in many areas— leading to master’s, PhD, or MD/PhD degrees as well as certificates.

School of Public Health

Students pursue different levels and approaches to their comprehensive public health studies, from professional master’s and doctoral degrees to specialized academic MS and PhD programs. Certificate and dual-degree programs with other BU graduate schools are also available.

School of Social Work

Master’s and doctoral students get specialized training for social work in urban environments. Students choose either clinical (individuals, families, groups) or macro (community organization, management, and planning) practice. MSW, PhD, dual degrees and certificates are offered.

School of Theology

This graduate professional school offers an array of programs at the master’s and doctoral levels, preparing students for ministries and vocations that foster personal and social transformation. The School emphasizes community principles of love, justice, safety, rights, responsibilities, and respect.

Division of Military Education

This typically four-year program culminates in a commission in the Army, Navy, Air Force, or Marine Corps. ROTC students receive hands-on leadership training that builds strong team bonds and develops confidence, discipline, stamina, pose, and management skills.

Arvind and Chandan Nandlal Kilachand Honors College

Honors College undergrads are part of a new approach to liberal education. Pursue a major in one of BU’s schools and colleges, such as Arts & Sciences, Management, Fine Arts, and Engineering, while completing Honors College seminars, studios, and a keystone project. Co-curricular activities include lectures, readings, and performances on and off-campus.

History


Boston University traces its roots to the establishment of the Newbury Biblical Institute in Newbury, Vermont in 1839, and was chartered with the name “Boston University” by the Massachusetts Legislature in 1869. The University organized formal Centennial observances both in 1939 and 1969.

On April 24–25, 1839 a group of Methodist ministers and laymen at the Old Bromfield Street Church in Boston elected to establish a Methodist theological school. Set up in Newbury, Vermont, the school was named the Newbury Biblical Institute.

In 1847, the Congregational Society in Concord, New Hampshire, invited the Institute to relocate to Concord and offered a disused Congregational church building with a capacity of 1200 people. Other citizens of Concord covered the remodeling costs. One stipulation of the invitation was that the Institute remain in Concord for at least 20 years. The charter issued by New Hampshiredesignated the school the “Methodist General Biblical Institute”, but it was commonly called the “Concord Biblical Institute.”

With the agreed twenty years coming to a close, the Trustees of the Concord Biblical Institute purchased 30 acres (120,000 m2) on Aspinwall Hill in Brookline, Massachusetts, as a possible relocation site. The institute moved in 1867 to 23 Pinkney Street in Boston and received a Massachusetts Charter as the “Boston Theological Institute.”

In 1869, three Trustees of the Boston Theological Institute obtained from the Massachusetts Legislature a charter for a university by name of “Boston University.” These three were successful Boston businessmen and Methodist laymen, with a history of involvement in educational enterprises and became the Founders of Boston University. They were Isaac Rich (1801–1872), Lee Claflin (1791–1871), and Jacob Sleeper (1802–1889), for whom Boston University’s three West Campus dormitories are named. Lee Claflin’s son, William, was then Governor of Massachusetts and signed the University Charter on May 26, 1869 after it was passed by the Legislature

The Boston Theological Institute was absorbed into Boston University in 1871 as the BU School of Theology.

In January 1872 Isaac Rich died, leaving the vast bulk of his estate to a trust that would go to Boston University after ten years of growth while the University was organized. Most of this bequest consisted of real estate throughout the core of the city of Boston and was appraised at more than $1.5 million. Kilgore describes this as the largest single donation to an American college or university to that time. By December, however, the Great Boston Fire of 1872 had destroyed all but one of the buildings Rich had left to the University, and the insurance companies with which they had been insured were bankrupt. The value of his estate, when turned over to the University in 1882, was half what it had been in 1872. As a result, the University was unable to build its contemplated campus on Aspinwall Hill and the land was sold piecemeal as development sites. Street names in the area, including Claflin Road, Claflin Path, and University Road, are the only remaining evidence of University ownership in this area.

Seeking to unify a geographically scattered school and enable it to participate in the development of the city, school president Lemuel Murlin arranged that the school buy the present campus along theCharles River. Between 1920 and 1928, the school bought the 15 acres (61,000 m2) of land that had been reclaimed from the river by the Riverfront Improvement Association. Plans for a riverside quadrangle with a Gothic Revival administrative tower modeled on the “Old Boston Stump” in Boston, England were scaled back in the late 1920s when the State Metropolitan District Commission used eminent domain to seize riverfront land for Storrow Drive. Murlin was never able to build the new campus, but his successor, Daniel L. Marsh, led a series of fundraising campaigns (interrupted by both the Great Depression and World War II) that helped Marsh to achieve his dream and to gradually fill in the University’s new campus. By spring 1936, the student body included 10,384 men and women.

In 1951, Harold C. Case became the school’s fifth president and under his direction the character of the campus changed significantly, as he sought to change the school into a national research university. The campus tripled in size to 45 acres (180,000 m2), and added 68 new buildings before Case retired in 1967. The first large dorms, Claflin, Rich and Sleeper Halls in West Campus were built, and in 1965 construction began on 700 Commonwealth Avenue, later named Warren Towers, designed to house 1800 students. Between 1961 and 1966, the BU Law Tower, the George Sherman Union, and the Mugar Memorial Library were constructed in theBrutalist style, a departure from the school’s traditional architecture. The College of Engineering and College of Communication were housed in a former stable building and auto-show room, respectively.Besides his efforts to expand the university into a rival for Greater Boston’s more prestigious academic institutions, such as Harvard University and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (both in Cambridge across the Charles River from the BU campus), Case involved himself in the start of the student/societal upheavals that came to characterize the 1960s. When a mini-squabble over editorial policy at college radio WBUR-FM – whose offices were under a tall radio antenna mast in front of the School of Public Relations and Communications (later College of Communications) – started growing in the spring of 1964, Case persuaded university trustees that the university should take over the widely heard radio station (now a major outlet for National Public Radioand still a B.U.-owned broadcast facility). The trustees approved the firing of student managers and clamped down on programming and editorial policy, which had been led by the late Jim Thistle, later a major force in Boston’s broadcast news milieu. The on-campus political dispute between Case’s conservative administration and the suddenly active and mostly liberal student body led to other disputes over B.U. student print publications, such as the B.U. News and the Scarlet, a fraternity association newspaper.

Robert Brown’s presidency, which started in 2005, will seek to further the consolidation of campus infrastructure that was commenced by Case and continued by Silber. In particular, Brown has committed Boston University to investing $1.8 billion in the completion of its ten-year strategic plan, allocating new resources to inter-college opportunities for undergraduates, improving the campus’s academic and residential facilities, and recruiting new faculty for the University’s largest college. The strategy includes increasing the annual budget to $225 million.

The cornerstone of the plan, which calls for more campus-wide collaboration, is a focus on undergraduate education, starting with an effort to encourage cross-registration among schools and colleges and to encourage undergraduate students to take full advantage of both the liberal arts and the professional programs available.

Plans exist to strengthen the School of Law, the School of Management, and the College of Fine Arts, including changes to the physical plant and the hiring of additional faculty. The School of Medicine plans physical improvements, including more affordable student housing.

Plans also exist to improve general student housing. The campus computer system was updated in 2009, despite the then ongoing financial crisis. Plans to increase the size of the campus and improve its long, narrow shape include the purchase of air rights over the Mass Pike.


Do you want discuss Boston University ? Any question, comments or reviews


Boston University on Map


Photo


Photos: Boston University official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

Boston University reviews

Join to discuss of Boston University.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.