Carnegie Mellon Universität

Carnegie Mellon Universität. Study in USA. EducationBro.com

Carnegie Mellon University Einzelheiten

Einschreiben an der Carnegie Mellon University

Überblick


Carnegie Mellon University ist eine private Institution, die gegründet wurde, in 1900.

Studiengebühren in der Carnegie Mellon University sind $50,00 (Aprox.).

Carnegie Mellon Universität, von Industriellen und Philanthropen Andrew Carnegie gegründet, liegt in Pittsburgh, das bietet Restaurants und Unterhaltungsmöglichkeiten sowie professionelle Sportmannschaften einschließlich der Pinguine (Eishockey), Steelers (Fußball) und Piraten (Baseball). Nur Erstsemester sind erforderlich, auf dem Campus zu leben, aber die Universität Garantien Gehäuse für alle 4 Jahre, und die Mehrheit der Studenten wählen auf dem Campus zu bleiben. Fast 20 Prozent der Studierenden mit griechischen Leben verbundenen, die aus mehr besteht als 20 Bruderschaften und Schwesternschaften. Die Carnegie Mellon Tartans konkurrieren in NCAA Division III Wettbewerbe, und die Kiltie Band, die Sport schottisches Ornat, jedes Haus Fußballspiel führt an.

Carnegie Mellon ist bekannt für seine Programme in Wissenschaft und Technologie bekannt, aber seine sieben Schulen und Hochschulen gehören eine Hochschule für Bildende Künste und der Hochschule der Dietrich Hochschule für Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften. Die Graduierten-Programme umfassen die hoch bewertet Tepper School of Business,Carnegie Institute of Technology und School of Computer Science. Absolventen an der Carnegie Mellon haben die Möglichkeit, in der Forschung zu beteiligen und können sogar Zuschüsse oder Sommerstipendien erhalten Forschung in ihrem Studienfach zu unterstützen. Randy Pausch, Autor der New York Times Bestseller-Buch „The Last Lecture,“ war Professor an der Carnegie Mellon.

Schulen / Hochschulen / Abteilungen / Kurse / Fakultäten


  • Hochschule für Ingenieure>
  • Hochschule für Bildende Künste
  • Dietrich College of Humanities & Sozialwissenschaften
  • Heinz Hochschule: Informationssysteme, Public Policy and Management
  • Mellon College of Science
  • School of Computer Science
  • Tepper School of Business

Geschichte


Post-Bürgerkrieg Industriellen noch nie da gewesenen Reichtum angehäuft und einige waren begierig zu gründen Institutionen in ihrem Namen als Teil der Philanthropie Kampagnen Teile ihres großen Reichtums mit. Washington Duke an der Duke University, Ezra Cornell an der Cornell University, Johns Hopkins an der Johns Hopkins University, Leland Stanford an der Stanford University, John D. Rockefeller an der University of Chicago, und Cornelius Vanderbilt an der Vanderbilt University sind einige bemerkenswerte Beispiele von Andrew Carnegie Evangelium von Reichtum Mentalität und der Carnegie Mellon University ist ein solches Ergebnis.

Die Carnegie Technische Schulen wurden gegründet 1900 in Pittsburgh von den schottischen amerikanischen Industriellen und Philanthropen Andrew Carnegie, der schrieb die altehrwürdigen Worte „Mein Herz ist in der Arbeit“, wenn er spendete die Mittel, um die Institution zu schaffen. Carnegie Vision war es, eine Berufsschule für die Söhne zu öffnen und Töchter der Arbeiterklasse Pittsburghers (Viele von ihnen arbeiteten in seinen Mühlen). Carnegie wurde für die Gestaltung seiner Schule vom Pratt Institute in Brooklyn inspiriert, New York von Industriellen Charles Pratt gegründet 1887. Im 1912 die Institution änderte ihren Namen in der Carnegie Institute of Technology (CIT) und begann vier Jahre Grad anbieten. Während dieser Zeit, CIT bestand aus vier einzelnen Schulen: die Schule für bildende und angewandte Kunst, die Schule von Lehrlingen und Gesellen, die School of Science and Technology, und die Margaret Morrison Carnegie School for Women.

Das Mellon Institute of Industrial Research wurde gegründet 1913 von den Brüdern Andrew Mellon und Richard B. Mellon zu Ehren ihres Vaters, Thomas Mellon, der Patriarch der Mellon Familie. Das Institut begann als Forschungsorganisation, die Arbeit für die Regierung und Industrie auf Auftrag durchgeführt und wurde zunächst als Abteilung innerhalb der Universität Pittsburgh gegründet. Im 1927, die Mellon Institute als unabhängige Non-Profit aufgenommen. Im 1938, das ikonische Gebäude Mellon Institute wurde abgeschlossen und es bewegte zu seinem neuen, und Strom, Lage auf der Fifth Avenue.

Im 1967, mit Unterstützung von Paul Mellon, Carnegie Tech fusioniert mit dem Mellon Institute of Industrial Research der Carnegie Mellon University werden. Carnegie Mellon koordinieren Frauen-College, die Margaret Morrison Carnegie Hochschule geschlossen 1973 und fusionierte seine akademischen Programme mit dem Rest der Universität.

Die industrielle Forschungsmission des Mellon Institute überlebte die Fusion als die Carnegie Mellon Research Institute (CMRI) und fuhr fort, zu tun Arbeit auf Vertragsbasis für die Industrie und Regierung. CMRI geschlossen 2001 und seine Programme wurden von anderen Teilen der Universität subsumiert oder in unabhängige Einheiten ausgegliedert.


Möchtest du diskutieren Carnegie Mellon University ? Irgendeine Frage, Kommentare oder Bewertungen


Carnegie Mellon University Auf der Karte


Foto


Fotos: Carnegie Mellon Universität offiziellen Facebook

Video





Teilen Sie diese nützliche Informationen mit deinen Freunden

Carnegie Mellon University Bewertungen

Mitglied werden diskutieren von der Carnegie Mellon University.
BITTE BEACHTEN SIE: EducationBro Magazin bietet Ihnen die Möglichkeit Informationen über Universitäten zu lesen an 96 Sprachen, aber wir bitten Sie andere Mitglieder zu respektieren und Kommentare zu hinterlassen auf Englisch.

Carnegie Mellon University

Carnegie Mellon University. Study in USA. EducationBro.com

Carnegie Mellon University Details

Enroll at Carnegie Mellon University

Overview


Carnegie Mellon University is a private institution that was founded in 1900.

Tuition fees in Carnegie Mellon University  are $50,00 (Aprox.).

Carnegie Mellon University, founded by industrialist and philanthropist Andrew Carnegie, is located in Pittsburgh, which offers dining and entertainment options as well as professional sports teams including the Penguins (hockey), Steelers (football) and Pirates (baseball). Only freshmen are required to live on campus, but the university guarantees housing for all four years, and the majority of students choose to remain on campus. Nearly 20 percent of the student population is affiliated with Greek life, which consists of more than 20 fraternities and sororities. The Carnegie Mellon Tartans compete in NCAA Division III competitions, and the Kiltie Band, which sports full Scottish regalia, performs at every home football game.

Carnegie Mellon is known for its programs in science and technology, but its seven schools and colleges include a College of Fine Arts and College of the Dietrich College of Humanities and Social Sciences. Its graduate programs include the highly ranked Tepper School of Business,Carnegie Institute of Technology and School of Computer Science. Undergraduates at Carnegie Mellon have the opportunity to participate in research and can even receive grants or summer fellowships to support research in their field of study. Randy Pausch, author of the New York Times best-selling book “The Last Lecture,” was a professor at Carnegie Mellon.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


  • College of Engineering>
  • College of Fine Arts
  • Dietrich College of Humanities & Social Sciences
  • Heinz College: Information Systems, Public Policy and Management
  • Mellon College of Science
  • School of Computer Science
  • Tepper School of Business

History


Post-Civil War industrialists accumulated unprecedented wealth and some were eager to found institutions in their names as part of philanthropy campaigns using portions of their vast wealth. Washington Duke at Duke University, Ezra Cornell at Cornell University, Johns Hopkins at Johns Hopkins University, Leland Stanford at Stanford University, John D. Rockefeller at the University of Chicago, and Cornelius Vanderbilt at Vanderbilt University are several notable examples of Andrew Carnegie’s gospel of wealth mentality and Carnegie Mellon University is one such result.

The Carnegie Technical Schools were founded in 1900 in Pittsburgh by the Scottish American industrialist and philanthropist Andrew Carnegie, who wrote the time-honored words “My heart is in the work”, when he donated the funds to create the institution. Carnegie’s vision was to open a vocational training school for the sons and daughters of working-class Pittsburghers (many of whom worked in his mills). Carnegie was inspired for the design of his school by the Pratt Institute in Brooklyn, New York founded by industrialist Charles Pratt in 1887. In 1912 the institution changed its name to Carnegie Institute of Technology (CIT) and began offering four-year degrees. During this time, CIT consisted of four constituent schools: the School of Fine and Applied Arts, the School of Apprentices and Journeymen, the School of Science and Technology, and the Margaret Morrison Carnegie School for Women.

The Mellon Institute of Industrial Research was founded in 1913 by brothers Andrew Mellon and Richard B. Mellon in honor of their father, Thomas Mellon, the patriarch of the Mellon family. The Institute began as a research organization which performed work for government and industry on contract and was initially established as a department within the University of Pittsburgh. In 1927, the Mellon Institute incorporated as an independent nonprofit. In 1938, the Mellon Institute’s iconic building was completed and it moved to its new, and current, location on Fifth Avenue.

In 1967, with support from Paul Mellon, Carnegie Tech merged with the Mellon Institute of Industrial Research to become Carnegie Mellon University. Carnegie Mellon’s coordinate women’s college, the Margaret Morrison Carnegie College closed in 1973 and merged its academic programs with the rest of the university.

The industrial research mission of the Mellon Institute survived the merger as the Carnegie Mellon Research Institute (CMRI) and continued doing work on contract to industry and government. CMRI closed in 2001 and its programs were subsumed by other parts of the university or spun off into independent entities.


Do you want discuss Carnegie Mellon University ? Any question, comments or reviews


Carnegie Mellon University on Map


Photo


Photos: Carnegie Mellon University official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

Carnegie Mellon University reviews

Join to discuss of Carnegie Mellon University.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.