جامعة ديوك

جامعة ديوك. الدراسة في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. التعليم وإخوانه - دراسة مجلة بالخارج

دوق تفاصيل جامعة

  • بلد : الولايات المتحدة
  • مدينة : دورهام
  • اختصار : THE
  • مؤسس : 1838
  • الطلاب (تقريبا.) : 15000
  • لا تنسى أن بحث جامعة ديوك
التسجيل في جامعة ديوك

نظرة عامة


جامعة ديوك هي مؤسسة خاصة تأسست في 1838.

الرسوم الدراسية في جامعة ديوك هي $50,000 (ولكنها تعمل.).

دورهام, شمال كارولينا, الذي يحيط الحرم الجامعي ديوك, يقدم مجموعة متنوعة من الأنشطة بما في ذلك التسوق, تناول الطعام والترفيه. انها “الثور مدينة” اللقب يأتي من شركة بلاكويل التبغ في بول دورهام التبغ. ويطلب من الطلاب في جامعة ديوك للعيش في الحرم الجامعي لمن السنوات الثلاث الأولى, والمبتدئون العيش معا في الحرم الجامعي الشرق. دوق الأزرق الشياطين الحفاظ على التنافس الشرس مع جامعة نورث كارولينا في تشابل هيل الكعوب القطران واشتهر برنامج كرة السلة للرجال المتميز الخاص بهم, واحدة من أفضل خمس ينينجست برامج الكلية لكرة السلة في البلاد. تقريبا 30 ويتبع في المئة من الجسم الطلابي مع الحياة اليونانية, التي تشمل أكثر من 30 الاخويات والجمعيات النسائية.

ينقسم جامعة ديوك في 10 المدارس والكليات, وكثير منها خدمة الجامعيين وطلاب الدراسات العليا. وتشمل برامج الدراسات العليا في كلية فوكوا مرتبة عالية لإدارة الأعمال, مدرسة برات الهندسة, كلية حقوق, مدرسة الطب, مدرسة سانفورد للسياسة العامة ومدرسة للتمريض. كما يقدم ديوك برامج الدراسات العليا من خلال وتحظى باحترام مدرسة اللاهوت ونيكولاس البيئة. منحة دراسية جامعية الأكثر الموقرة ديوك, برنامج علماء روبرتسون, يوفر ما يقرب من 18 طلاب من كل فئة مع مكافأة مالية وفرصة للدراسة لمدة فصل دراسي في جامعة نورث كارولينا في تشابل هيل. تشمل الخريجين البارزة ميليندا غيتس, المؤسس المشارك لمؤسسة بيل وميليندا غيتس; لاعب كرة السلة كارلوس بوزر; والامريكى السابق. عضو الكونغرس والمرشح الرئاسي ثلاث مرات رون بول.

المدارس / الكليات / الإدارات / الدورات / ملكات


  • كلية ترينيتي في الفنون والعلوم
  • مدرسة جامعة ديوك للقانون
  • كلية الدراسات العليا في جامعة ديوك
  • مدرسة ديوك اللاهوت
  • مدرسة جامعة ديوك للطب
  • مدرسة جامعة ديوك للتمريض
  • مدرسة نيكولاس للبيئة
  • مدرسة برات الهندسة
  • مدرسة فوكوا للأعمال
  • مدرسة ديوك-جامعة سنغافورة الوطنية العليا الطبية
  • مدرسة سانفورد للسياسة العامة
  • جامعة ديوك كونشان

التاريخ


التي ديوك في 1838 كما مبنى المدرسة براون, مدرسة الاشتراك خاصة تأسست في مقاطعة راندولف في بلدة الوقت الحاضر من الثالوث. بتنظيم من جمعية معهد الاتحاد, مجموعة من الميثودية والكويكرز, أصبح مبنى المدرسة براون أكاديمية معهد الاتحاد في 1841 عندما أصدرت ولاية كارولينا الشمالية ميثاق. تم تغيير اسم الأكاديمية كلية للمعلمين فى 1851 ثم كلية ترينيتي في 1859 بسبب دعم من الكنيسة الميثودية. في 1892, انتقلت كلية ترينيتي في دورهام, إلى حد كبير بسبب سخاء من جوليان S. Carrand واشنطن ديوك, الميثودية قوية ومحترمة الذي كان قد نما الأثرياء من خلال الصناعات التبغ والكهربائية. تبرعت كار الأراضي في 1892 للحرم دورهام الأصلي, الذي يعرف الآن باسم الحرم الجامعي الشرق. في نفس الوقت, قدمت واشنطن دوق المدرسة $85,000 لالوقف والبناء الأولية التكاليف في وقت لاحق زيادة كرمه مع ثلاثة منفصلة $100,000 المساهمات في 1896, 1899, و 1900، مع النص على أن الكلية “تفتح أبوابها للنساء, وضعها على قدم المساواة مع الرجل.”

في 1924 ابن اشنطن ديوك, جيمس ب. دوق, أنشئت دوق الوقف مع $40 صندوق مليون الثقة. كان الدخل من صندوق لتوزيعها على المستشفيات, دور الأيتام, الكنيسة الميثودية, وأربع كليات (بما في ذلك كلية ترينيتي). وليام بريستون قليل, رئيس الثالوث في الوقت, أصر على أن المؤسسة يمكن إعادة تسمية جامعة ديوك لتكريم سخاء الأسرة ولتمييزه عن الكليات والجامعات التي تحمل أخرى لا تعد ولا تحصى “ثالوث” اسم. في البدايه, جيمس ب. يعتقد ديوك ان تغيير الاسم تؤتي ثمارها كما لخدمة مصالح ذاتية, ولكن في نهاية المطاف انه يقبل اقتراح قلة كما نصب تذكاري لوالده. المال من الوقف يسمح للجامعة أن تنمو بسرعة. حرم ديوك الأصلي, الحرم الجامعي الشرق, أعيد بناؤه من 1925 إلى 1927 مع المباني المقامة على الطراز الجورجي. بواسطة 1930, الغالبية العظمى من المباني المقامة على الطراز القوطي جماعية في الحرم الجامعي ميل واحد (1.6 كم) تم الانتهاء من الغرب, وبناء على غرب الحرم الجامعي ذروته مع الانتهاء من دوق مصلى في 1935.

في 1878, ثالوث (في مقاطعة راندولف) A.B منحت. درجة إلى ثلاث شقيقات-ماري, بالضبط, وتيريزا جايلز، الذي كان قد درس على حد سواء مع المعلمين خاصة وفي الطبقات مع الرجال. مع نقل الكلية في 1892, صوت مجلس أمناء السماح مرة أخرى للمرأة أن اعترف رسميا إلى صفوف كطلاب اليوم. في وقت التبرع واشنطن ديوك في 1896, التي حملت شرط أن توضع النساء “على قدم المساواة مع الرجل” في الكلية, تم تسجيل أربع نساء; كان ثلاثة من أربعة من أعضاء هيئة التدريس’ الأطفال. في 1903 كتب واشنطن دوق لمجلس أمناء سحب توفير, مشيرا إلى أن ذلك كان الحد الوحيد الذي وضعت من أي وقت مضى على التبرع للكلية. تم بناء عنبر السكنية للمرأة في 1897 وعين دوق بناء ماري, بعد ابنة واشنطن ديوك. بواسطة 1904, التحق أربعة وخمسين النساء في الكلية. في 1930, تأسست كلية للمرأة باعتبارها تنسيق إلى الكلية الجامعية للرجال, التي أنشئت وسميت كلية ترينيتي في 1924.

هندسة, الذي كان يدرس منذ 1903, أصبح مدرسة مستقلة في 1939. في ألعاب القوى, استضافت دوق وتنافس في روز بول الوحيد لعبت من أي وقت مضى خارج ولاية كاليفورنيا في ملعب والاس واد في 1942.[17] خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية, وكان دوق واحد من 131 الكليات والجامعات على المستوى الوطني التي شاركت في برنامج التدريب كلية البحرية V-12 التي عرضت طلاب مسار إلى لجنة البحرية. في 1963 officiallydesegregated مجلس أمناء الكلية الجامعية. زيادة النشاط في الحرم الجامعي خلال 1960s دفعت الدكتور. مارتن لوثر كينج, الابن. لإلقاء كلمة في جامعة في نوفمبر 1964 عن التقدم المحرز في حركة الحقوق المدنية. بعد استقالة دوغلاس فارس من مكتب رئيس الجامعة, تيري سانفورد, الحاكم السابق لولاية نورث كارولينا, انتخب رئيسا للجامعة في 1969, دفع كلية فوكوا من افتتاح الأعمال ل, وليام R. الانتهاء مكتبة بيركنز, وتأسيس معهد للعلوم السياسة والشؤون العامة (الآن كلية سانفورد للسياسة العامة). اندمجت كلية لامرأة منفصلة مرة أخرى مع الثالوث كما في كلية الفنون الحرة للرجال والنساء في 1972. تبدأ في 1970s, بدأ الإداريين دوق جهد طويل الأمد لتعزيز سمعة ديوك الصعيدين الوطني والدولي. وتم التأكيد عمل متعدد التخصصات, كما تم تعيين أعضاء هيئة التدريس والطلاب من الأقليات. خلال هذا الوقت الذي أصبح أيضا مسقط رأس أول برنامج درجة طبيب مساعد في الولايات المتحدة.[20][21][22] تم الانتهاء من مستشفى جامعة ديوك في 1980 وبناء اتحاد الطلبة تم تشييده بشكل كامل بعد عامين. في 1986 القبض على فريق كرة القدم للرجال أول الرابطة الوطنية لرياضة الجامعات ديوك (NCAA) بطولة, وفريق كرة السلة للرجال وجاء بعد ذلك بوقت قصير مع البطولات في 1991 و 1992, ثم مرة أخرى في 2001, 2010, و 2015.

يمتد حرم الجامعة 8,547 فدان (34.59 كم2) في ثلاث جامعات متجاورة في دورهام، فضلا عن مختبر البحرية في بوفورت. الحرم الجامعي مصممة الرئيسي الدوق إلى حد كبير من قبل المهندس المعماري الأمريكيين من أصل أفريقي جوليان أبيلي-يتضمن العمارة القوطية مع قدم 210 (64 م) دوق مصلى في الحرم الجامعي’ مركز وأعلى نقطة ارتفاع. محيط الغابة المحيطة أجزاء من الحرم الجامعي تكذب قرب الجامعة إلى وسط مدينة دورهام. وقد استكملت مشاريع البناء كلا من الطراز الجورجي الحرم الجامعي شرق بالسكان الجدد والرئيسي على الطراز القوطي الغربي الحرم الجامعي, فضلا عن مركز طبي مجاور على مدى السنوات الخمس الماضية.

وقد ساهم النمو دوق والتركيز الأكاديمي لمواصلة سمعة الجامعة باعتبارها قوة الأكاديمية والبحثية.[24]

في الصيف 2014, جامعة ديوك كونشان (DKU) افتتح في كونشان, الصين. DKU يمزج بين التعليم الليبرالي مع التقاليد الصينية في اتباع نهج جديد لنخبة التعليم العالي في الصين. سوف DKU إجراء مشاريع بحثية بشأن تغير المناخ, سياسة الرعاية الصحية والوقاية من السل ومكافحته.

في أغسطس 2005, أنشئت دوق شراكة مع الجامعة الوطنية في سنغافورة لتطوير برنامج طبي مشترك, والتي كان من الدرجة الأولى التي تدخل في 2007.

الجامعة هي جزء الطريق من خلال ديوك إلى الأمام, حملة لجمع التبرعات لمدة سبع سنوات والتي تهدف إلى رفع $3.25 مليار بحلول يونيو 30, 2017, لإثراء تجربة الطالب داخل وخارج الفصول الدراسية, الاستثمار في أعضاء هيئة التدريس ودعم البحوث والمبادرات. كل دولار يتم التبرع به لعشر مدارس ووحدات ديوك, دوق الطب أو برامج ومبادرات الجامعة تعول نحو هدف الحملة.

ومن بين الإنجازات الأكاديمية في جامعة ديوك, فقد أطلق ثلاثة طلاب وعلماء رودس في كل من 2002 و 2006, تجاوز عدد فقط من قبل جامعة هارفارد في 2002 والأكاديمية العسكرية للولايات المتحدة في 2006. شامل, وقد أنتجت دوق 45 علماء رودس من خلال 2015, بما فيها 24 ما بين 1990 و 2015.

أيضا, كشف النقاب عن أول مظاهرة العمل من عباءة الإخفاء من قبل الباحثين ديوك في أكتوبر 2006. في 2006, واتهم أعضاء فريق لاكروس ثلاثة رجال زورا الاغتصاب, الذي حصل على اهتمام وسائل الاعلام كبير. في ابريل 11, 2007, انخفض كارولينا الشمالية النائب العام روي كوبر جميع التهم وأعلن ثلاثة لاعبين أبرياء. وقال كوبر ان اللاعبين المتهمين كانوا ضحايا ل “الاندفاع المأساوي لاتهام.”

وتمتلك الجامعة “تاريخي, رسمي, جارية, والعلاقات رمزية” مع الكنيسة الميثودية المتحدة, بل هو مؤسسة غير طائفية ومستقلة.


هل تريد بحث جامعة ديوك ? أي سؤال, التعليقات أو المراجعات


جامعة ديوك على الخريطة


صورة فوتوغرافية


الصور: جامعة ديوك الفيسبوك الرسمي

فيديو





مشاركة هذه المعلومات مفيدة مع أصدقائك

استعراض جامعة ديوك

تاريخ لمناقشة من جامعة ديوك.
يرجى الملاحظة: EducationBro مجلة يمنحك القدرة على قراءة معلومات حول الجامعات في 96 اللغات, ولكن نطلب منك أن تحترم أعضاء آخرين وترك التعليقات باللغة الإنجليزية.

Duke University

Duke University. Study in USA. Education Bro - Study Abroad Magazine

Duke University Details

  • Country : United States of America
  • City : Durham
  • Acronym : DU
  • Founded : 1838
  • Students (approx.) : 15000
  • Don't forget to discuss Duke University
Enroll at Duke University

Overview


Duke University is a private institution that was founded in 1838.

Tuition fees in Duke University are $50,000 (Aprox.).

Durham, North Carolina, which surrounds Duke’s campus, offers a variety of activities including shopping, dining and entertainment. Its “Bull City” nickname comes from the Blackwell Tobacco Company’s Bull Durham Tobacco. Students at Duke are required to live on campus for their first three years, and freshmen live together on the East Campus. The Duke Blue Devils maintain a fierce rivalry with the University of North Carolina—Chapel Hill Tar Heels and are best known for their outstanding men’s basketball program, one of the top five winningest college basketball programs in the country. Approximately 30 percent of the student body is affiliated with Greek life, which encompasses more than 30 fraternities and sororities.

Duke University is divided into 10 schools and colleges, many of which serve both undergraduate and graduate students. Its graduate programs include the highly ranked Fuqua School of Business, Pratt School of Engineering, School of Law, School of Medicine, Sanford School of Public Policy and School of Nursing. Duke also offers graduate programs through its well-respected Divinity School and Nicholas School of the Environment. Duke’s most esteemed undergraduate scholarship, the Robertson Scholars Program, provides approximately 18 students from each class with a monetary reward and the opportunity to study for a semester at UNC-Chapel Hill. Notable alumni include Melinda Gates, co-founder of the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation; NBA player Carlos Boozer; and former U.S. Congressman and three-time presidential candidate Ron Paul.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


  • Trinity College of Arts and Sciences
  • Duke University School of Law
  • Graduate School of Duke University
  • Duke Divinity School
  • Duke University School of Medicine
  • Duke University School of Nursing
  • Nicholas School of the Environment
  • Pratt School of Engineering
  • Fuqua School of Business
  • Duke-NUS Graduate Medical School
  • Sanford School of Public Policy
  • Duke Kunshan University

History


Duke started in 1838 as Brown’s Schoolhouse, a private subscription school founded in Randolph County in the present-day town of Trinity. Organized by the Union Institute Society, a group of Methodists and Quakers, Brown’s Schoolhouse became the Union Institute Academy in 1841 when North Carolina issued a charter. The academy was renamed Normal College in 1851 and then Trinity College in 1859 because of support from the Methodist Church. In 1892, Trinity College moved to Durham, largely due to generosity from Julian S. Carrand Washington Duke, powerful and respected Methodists who had grown wealthy through the tobacco and electrical industries. Carr donated land in 1892 for the original Durham campus, which is now known as East Campus. At the same time, Washington Duke gave the school $85,000 for an initial endowment and construction costs—later augmenting his generosity with three separate $100,000 contributions in 1896, 1899, and 1900—with the stipulation that the college “open its doors to women, placing them on an equal footing with men.”

In 1924 Washington Duke’s son, James B. Duke, established The Duke Endowment with a $40 million trust fund. Income from the fund was to be distributed to hospitals, orphanages, the Methodist Church, and four colleges (including Trinity College). William Preston Few, the president of Trinity at the time, insisted that the institution be renamed Duke University to honor the family’s generosity and to distinguish it from the myriad other colleges and universities carrying the “Trinity” name. At first, James B. Duke thought the name change would come off as self-serving, but eventually he accepted Few’s proposal as a memorial to his father. Money from the endowment allowed the University to grow quickly. Duke’s original campus, East Campus, was rebuilt from 1925 to 1927 with Georgian-style buildings. By 1930, the majority of the Collegiate Gothic-style buildings on the campus one mile (1.6 km) west were completed, and construction on West Campus culminated with the completion of Duke Chapel in 1935.

In 1878, Trinity (in Randolph County) awarded A.B. degrees to three sisters—Mary, Persis, and Theresa Giles—who had studied both with private tutors and in classes with men. With the relocation of the college in 1892, the Board of Trustees voted to again allow women to be formally admitted to classes as day students. At the time of Washington Duke’s donation in 1896, which carried the requirement that women be placed “on an equal footing with men” at the college, four women were enrolled; three of the four were faculty members’ children. In 1903 Washington Duke wrote to the Board of Trustees withdrawing the provision, noting that it had been the only limitation he had ever put on a donation to the college. A woman’s residential dormitory was built in 1897 and named the Mary Duke Building, after Washington Duke’s daughter. By 1904, fifty-four women were enrolled in the college. In 1930, the Woman’s College was established as a coordinate to the men’s undergraduate college, which had been established and named Trinity College in 1924.

Engineering, which had been taught since 1903, became a separate school in 1939. In athletics, Duke hosted and competed in the only Rose Bowl ever played outside California in Wallace Wade Stadium in 1942.[17] During World War II, Duke was one of 131 colleges and universities nationally that took part in the V-12 Navy College Training Program which offered students a path to a Navy commission. In 1963 the Board of Trustees officiallydesegregated the undergraduate college. Increased activism on campus during the 1960s prompted Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. to speak at the University in November 1964 on the progress of the civil rights movement. Following Douglas Knight’s resignation from the office of university president, Terry Sanford, the former governor of North Carolina, was elected president of the university in 1969, propelling the Fuqua School of Business’s opening, the William R. Perkins library completion, and the founding of the Institute of Policy Sciences and Public Affairs (now the Sanford School of Public Policy). The separate Woman’s College merged back with Trinity as the liberal arts college for both men and women in 1972. Beginning in the 1970s, Duke administrators began a long-term effort to strengthen Duke’s reputation both nationally and internationally. Interdisciplinary work was emphasized, as was recruiting minority faculty and students. During this time it also became the birthplace of the first Physician Assistant degree program in the United States.[20][21][22] Duke University Hospital was finished in 1980 and the student union building was fully constructed two years later. In 1986 the men’s soccer team captured Duke’s first National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) championship, and the men’s basketball team followed shortly thereafter with championships in 1991 and 1992, then again in 2001, 2010, and 2015.

The university’s campus spans 8,547 acres (34.59 km2) on three contiguous campuses in Durham as well as a marine lab in Beaufort. Duke’s main campus—designed largely by African American architect Julian Abele—incorporates Gothic architecture with the 210-foot (64 m) Duke Chapel at the campus’ center and highest point of elevation. The forest environs surrounding parts of the campus belie the University’s proximity to downtown Durham. Construction projects have updated both the freshmen-populated Georgian-style East Campus and the main Gothic-style West Campus, as well as the adjacent Medical Center over the past five years.

Duke’s growth and academic focus have contributed to continuing the university’s reputation as an academic and research powerhouse.[24]

In summer 2014, Duke Kunshan University (DKU) opened in Kunshan, China. DKU blends liberal education with Chinese tradition in a new approach to elite higher education in China. The DKU will conduct research projects on climate change, health-care policy and tuberculosis prevention and control.

In August 2005, Duke established a partnership with the National University of Singapore to develop a joint medical program, which had its first entering class in 2007.

The university is part way through Duke Forward, a seven-year fundraising campaign that aims to raise $3.25 billion by June 30, 2017, to enrich the student experience in and out of the classroom, invest in faculty and support research and initiatives. Every dollar donated to Duke’s ten schools and units, Duke Medicine or university programs and initiatives counts toward the campaign’s goal.

Among academic achievements at Duke, three students were named Rhodes Scholars in both 2002 and 2006, a number surpassed only by Harvard in 2002 and the United States Military Academy in 2006. Overall, Duke has produced 45 Rhodes Scholars through 2015, including 24 between 1990 and 2015.

Also, the first working demonstration of an invisibility cloak was unveiled by Duke researchers in October 2006. In 2006, three men’s lacrosse team members were falsely accused of rape, which garnered significant media attention. On April 11, 2007, North Carolina Attorney General Roy Cooper dropped all charges and declared the three players innocent. Cooper stated that the charged players were victims of a “tragic rush to accuse.”

The university has “historical, formal, on-going, and symbolic ties” with the United Methodist Church, but is a nonsectarian and independent institution.


Do you want discuss Duke University ? Any question, comments or reviews


Duke University on Map


Photo


Photos: Duke University official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

Duke University reviews

Join to discuss of Duke University.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.