معهد جورجيا للتكنولوجيا

معهد جورجيا للتكنولوجيا. الدراسة في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. EducationBro.com

معهد جورجيا للتفاصيل تقنية

التسجيل في معهد جورجيا للتكنولوجيا

نظرة عامة


معهد جورجيا للتكنولوجيا هي مؤسسة عامة تأسست عام 1885.

الرسوم الدراسية في معهد جورجيا للتكنولوجيا هي $33,000 (ولكنها تعمل.).

جورجيا للتكنولوجيا, يقع في قلب مدينة أتلانتا, يقدم مجموعة واسعة من الأنشطة الطلابية. جورجيا تك صفراء الستر, فريق NCAA القسم الأول, المنافسة في مؤتمر ساحل المحيط الأطلسي ولها التنافس الشرس مع جامعة جورجيا. منذ 1961, وقد قاد فريق كرة القدم على ارض الملعب في مباريات الاياب من قبل Ramblin’ حطام سفينة, المستعادة 1930 نموذج سيارة فورد سبورت كوبيه. جورجيا تك لديها جالية يونانية صغيرة لكنها نشيطة. وتقدم المبتدئون السكن, ولكن ليس هناك حاجة للعيش في الحرم الجامعي. بالإضافة إلى فروعها في اتلانتا وسافانا, جورجيا للتكنولوجيا حرم جامعي في فرنسا, أيرلندا, كوستاريكا, سنغافورة والصين.

جورجيا تك لديها ست كليات. وتشمل المدارس العليا مرتبة عالية في كلية الهندسة وكلية إدارة الأعمال Scheller. ويصنف جورجيا للتكنولوجيا من قبل مؤسسة كارنيجي للنهوض تدريس كجامعة مع النشاط البحثي عالية جدا. تشمل الخريجين الشهير مايك ديوك, الرئيس السابق والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة وول مارت; بوبي جونز, مؤسس بطولة الغولف الماجستير; ولاعب البيسبول Nomar Garciaparra. وكان جون هيسمن أول مدرب كرة القدم بدوام كامل جورجيا للتكنولوجيا, ونصب تذكاري غنيمة هيسمن كان اسمه تكريما له. صحيفة المدرسة لأعضاء هيئة التدريس والموظفين, الصافرة, يدعى لصافرة البخار في برج التقنية التي تهب في كل ساعة وفي كل مرة الستر صفراء يسجل هبوط.

المدارس / الكليات / الإدارات / الدورات / ملكات


  • كلية إدارة الأعمال

التاريخ


طرحت هذه الفكرة من مدرسة التكنولوجيا في جورجيا في 1865 خلال فترة إعادة الإعمار. اثنين من ضباط الكونفدرالية السابق, MajorJohn فليتشر هانسون (أحد الصناعيين) وناثانيل ادوين هاريس (سياسي في نهاية المطاف ومحافظ جورجيا), الذين أصبحوا مواطنين بارزين في بلدة ماكون, جورجيا بعد الحرب الأهلية, يعتقد بقوة أن الجنوب يحتاج إلى تحسين تقنيتها للتنافس مع الثورة الصناعية التي كانت تحدث في جميع أنحاء شمال. ومع ذلك, لأن أمريكا الجنوبية في تلك الحقبة كان يسكنها أساسا العمال الزراعيين وبعض التطورات التقنية كانت تحدث, هناك حاجة لمدرسة التكنولوجيا.

في 1882, أذن المجلس التشريعي للولاية جورجيا لجنة, بقيادة هاريس, لزيارة شمال شرق ليرى عن قرب كيفية عمل المدارس التكنولوجيا. وقد أعجب من قبل النماذج التعليمية العلوم التطبيقية المتقدمة في معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا ومعهد رسستر إقليم الحرة العلوم الصناعي (الآن معهد البوليتكنيك في وورسستر). أوصت اللجنة تكييف نموذج وستر, والذي أكد مجموعة من “النظرية والتطبيق”, ال “ممارسة” المكونات بما في ذلك توظيف الطلاب وإنتاج المواد الاستهلاكية لتوليد الدخل للمدرسة.

في أكتوبر 13, 1885, حاكم جورجيا هنري D. وقعت مكدانيل مشروع قانون لإنشاء وتمويل المدرسة الجديدة. في 1887, تبرعت أتلانتا الرائد ريتشارد بيترز للدولة 4 فدان (1.6 لديه) من موقع ضاحية حديقة فشل دعا بيترز بارك. ويحدها الموقع على الجنوب من قبل الجادة الشمالية, وعلى الغرب شارع الكرز. ثم باع خمسة أفدنة مجاورة من الأرض إلى الدولة بمبلغ 10،000 $, (أي ما يعادل $260,000 في 2015). وتقع هذه الأراضي بالقرب من حدود شمال مدينة اتلانتا في وقت لتأسيسها, على الرغم من أن المدينة قد توسعت الآن عدة أميال أبعد من ذلك. وتشير وعلامة تاريخية على تلة كبيرة في الحرم الجامعي المركزي أن الموقع المباني الأولى في المدرسة المحتلة التي كانت تحت التحصينات التي بنيت لحماية اتلانتا خلال حملة اتلانتا من الحرب الأهلية الأمريكية. استغرق استسلام المدينة مكان على الحدود الجنوبية الغربية الحديثة في حرم معهد جورجيا للتكنولوجيا في 1864.

فتحت مدرسة جورجيا للتكنولوجيا ابوابها في خريف عام 1888 مع اثنين من المباني. مبنى واحد (الآن تك برج, ومقر الإدارية) كان الفصول الدراسية لتعليم الطلاب; المبنى الثاني ظهرت متجر، وكان مسبك, تشكيل, غرفة المرجل, وغرفة المحرك. وقد صمم هذا البرنامج خصيصا للطلاب للعمل وإنتاج سلع لبيع وتمويل المدرسة. كانت المبنيين متساوية في الحجم لإظهار أهمية تدريس كل من العقل واليدين; على أية حال, في الموعد, كان هناك بعض الخلاف ما إذا كان ينبغي استخدام آلة متجر لجني الارباح.

في أكتوبر 20, 1905, لنا. زار الرئيس ثيودور روزفلت في حرم معهد جورجيا للتكنولوجيا. على خطوات من برج التقنية, ألقى روزفلت كلمة عن أهمية التعليم التكنولوجي. ثم صافح كل طالب.[

بدأت مدرسة المساء التجارة جورجيا للتكنولوجيا في عقد دروس في 1912. اعترف المدرسة مساء أول طالب فيها الإناث في 1917, على الرغم من أن المجلس التشريعي للولاية لم يأذن رسميا حضور النساء حتى 1920. آني T. أصبح الحكمة الأولى الخريجات ​​في 1919 وذهب إلى أن تصبح أول عضو هيئة التدريس الإناث جورجيا للتكنولوجيا في العام التالي. رينا فاي سميث, عين كمساعد باحث في كلية الفيزياء في 1969 الدكتور. راي الشباب, في حيود الأشعة السينية, أصبح أول عضو هيئة التدريس من الإناث (ابحاث) في كلية الفيزياء. ذهبت لكسب دكتوراه. في جامعة ولاية جورجيا وعلم الفيزياء وتكنولوجيا التعليم في جامعة ولاية الأسود هيلز – 1997-2005 كما رينا فاي Norby. انها بمثابة برنامج فولبرايت في روسيا 2004-2005. في 1931, نقل مجلس الحكام السيطرة على مدرسة المساء التجارة لجامعة جورجيا (من) ونقل دورات الهندسة المدنية والكهربائية في أوغ لتكنولوجيا. استبدال التكنولوجيا المدرسة التجارة مع ما أصبح فيما بعد كلية إدارة الأعمال. إن المدرسة التجارة تقسيم في وقت لاحق من أوغ وتصبح في نهاية المطاف جامعة ولاية جورجيا.[15][18] في 1934, تجربة محطة الهندسة (عرفت فيما بعد باسم معهد بحوث تكنولوجيا جورجيا) أسسها W. هاري فوغان بميزانية أولية من $5,000 (أي ما يعادل $88,445 في 2015) و 13 أعضاء هيئة التدريس غير المتفرغين.

تأسست باسم مدرسة جورجيا للتكنولوجيا, يفترض جورجيا للتكنولوجيا اسمها الحالي في 1948 لتعكس التركيز المتزايد على البحوث التكنولوجية والعلمية المتقدمة. وخلافا لمعظم الجامعات الذي يحمل الاسم نفسه (مثل معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا ومعهد كاليفورنيا للتكنولوجيا), معهد جورجيا للتكنولوجيا هي مؤسسة عامة.

التكنولوجيا اعترف لأول مرة الطالبات إلى المدارس العادية في 1952, على الرغم من أن النساء لا يمكنهن الالتحاق في جميع البرامج في تكنولوجيا حتى 1968. كانت الإدارة الصناعية برنامج آخر لفتح للنساء. النوم النسائي الأول, قاعة فولمر, افتتح في 1969. شكلت النساء 30.3% من الطلاب الجامعيين و 25.3% من طلاب الدراسات العليا المسجلين في الربيع 2009.

في 1959, اجتماع ل 2,741 طلاب صوت بأغلبية ساحقة لتأييد دمج المتقدمين المؤهلين, بغض النظر عن العرق. بعد ثلاث سنوات من الاجتماع, وبعد سنة واحدة في جامعة التكامل العنيف جورجيا, أصبحت جورجيا للتكنولوجيا أول جامعة في عمق الجنوب لإزالة التمييز دون أمر محكمة. كان هناك رد فعل يذكر لهذه التقنية من قبل الطلاب; مثل مدينة أتلانتا التي وصفها رئيس البلدية السابق ويليام هارتسفيلد, يبدو أنهم “مشغول جدا لأكره”.

في 1965 اشترت الجامعة مطعم السابق Pickrick, موقع المواجهة في حركة الحقوق المدنية, الذي استخدم لأول مرة كمركز التنسيب. في وقت لاحق, كانت تعرف باسم مبنى اياكس. أن تم هدم المبنى في 2009.

وبالمثل, كان هناك القليل من رد فعل طالب في معهد جورجيا للتكنولوجيا إلى تورط الحرب والولايات المتحدة فيتنام الدول في الحرب الأهلية الكمبودية. هزم مجلس الطلبة قرار دعم فيتنام وقف, ومدى استجابة المجتمع تك لاطلاق النار كينت ستيت اقتصر على حفل تأبين في تنظيم الطلاب, على الرغم من أمر معهد مغلقة لمدة يومين, جنبا إلى جنب مع كل نظام جامعة الآخر من مدارس جورجيا.

 

في 1988, دفعت الرئيس جون باتريك Crecine من خلال إعادة هيكلة الجامعة. وكان المعهد في تلك المرحلة ثلاث كليات: كلية الهندسة, كلية الإدارة, وCOSALS التقاط كل, كلية العلوم والآداب. إعادة تنظيم Crecine الأخيرين في كلية الحاسبات, theCollege للعلوم, وكلية ألين ايفان الإدارة, سياسات, والشؤون الدولية. Crecine لم يطلب لإدخال بشأن التغييرات و, بناء على ذلك, يكره كثير من أعضاء هيئة التدريس أسلوبه الإدارة من أعلى إلى أسفل; على الرغم من هذا, التغييرات مرت بفارق ضئيل. كان Crecine أيضا دور فعال في تأمين 1996 دورة الالعاب الاولمبية الصيفية لأتلانتا. حدث كمية كبيرة من البناء, خلق معظم ما يعتبر الآن “غرب الحرم الجامعي” للتكنولوجيا أن تكون القرية الاولمبية, وsignificantlygentrifying وسط أتلانتا. للطلبة الجامعيين مركز المعيشة, شقة شارع الرابع, شقة شارع السادسة, شقة شارع الثامنة, هيمفيل الشقق, ومركز شقق شارع يضم الرياضيين والصحفيين. تم بناء مركز المائية جورجيا تك للأحداث السباحة, وتم تجديد مدرج تذكارية الكسندر. كما أقام معهد كيسلر فندق Campanile ونافورة لتصبح معلما ورمزا للمعهد في البث التلفزيوني.

في 1994, G. أصبح وين كلوف لخريجي التقنية الأولى لتكون بمثابة رئيس معهد; كان في منصبه خلال 1996 دورة الالعاب الاولمبية الصيفية. في 1998, انه فصل كلية ألين ايفان الإدارة, سياسات, والشؤون الدولية في كلية ألين ايفان الآداب وعاد كلية الإدارة ل “كلية” الحالة (Crecine, الرئيس السابق, قد هبط الإدارة من “كلية” إلى “School” وضع كجزء من جدل 1990 خطة إعادة التنظيم). ركزت فترة ولايته على التوسع الكبير للمعهد, والجامعية برنامج الفرص البحوث تجديده, وإنشاء خطة الدولية. في مارس 15, 2008, عين الامين العام للمؤسسة سميثسونيان, ابتداء من شهر يوليو 1, 2008. الدكتور. غاري شوستر, عميد ونائب الرئيس التنفيذي للتكنولوجيا في الجامعة للشؤون الأكاديمية, وعين الرئيس المؤقت, ابتداء من شهر يوليو 1, 2008.

في ابريل 1, 2009, G. P. “برعم” بيترسون, في السابق منصب رئيس جامعة كولورادو في بولدر, أصبح الرئيس ال11 من معهد جورجيا للتكنولوجيا. في ابريل 20, 2010, دعي جورجيا للتكنولوجيا للانضمام الى رابطة الجامعات الأمريكية, أول مؤسسة الأعضاء الجديدة في تسع سنوات. في 2014, شنت جورجيا للتكنولوجيا أول “ضخمة أفتح بدرجة الانترنت” في علوم الكمبيوتر من خلال الشراكة مع دورة Udacity وايه&تي; درجة كاملة من خلال هذا البرنامج تكلف الطلاب $7,000.

 


هل تريد بحث معهد جورجيا للتكنولوجيا ? أي سؤال, التعليقات أو المراجعات


معهد جورجيا للتكنولوجيا على الخريطة


صورة فوتوغرافية


الصور: معهد جورجيا للتكنولوجيا الفيسبوك الرسمي

فيديو





مشاركة هذه المعلومات مفيدة مع أصدقائك

معهد جورجيا للتكنولوجيا استعراض

تاريخ لمناقشة من معهد جورجيا للتكنولوجيا.
يرجى الملاحظة: EducationBro مجلة يمنحك القدرة على قراءة معلومات حول الجامعات في 96 اللغات, ولكن نطلب منك أن تحترم أعضاء آخرين وترك التعليقات باللغة الإنجليزية.

Georgia Institute of Technology

Georgia Institute of Technology. Study in USA. EducationBro.com

Georgia Institute of Technology Details

Enroll at Georgia Institute of Technology

Overview


Georgia Institute of Technology is a public institution that was founded in 1885.

Tuition fees in Georgia Institute of Technology are $33,000 (Aprox.).

Georgia Tech, located in the heart of Atlanta, offers a wide range of student activities. The Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets, an NCAA Division I team, compete in the Atlantic Coast Conference and have a fierce rivalry with the University of Georgia. Since 1961, the football team has been led onto the field at home games by the Ramblin’ Wreck, a restored 1930 Model A Ford Sport Coupe. Georgia Tech has a small but vibrant Greek community. Freshmen are offered housing, but aren’t required to live on campus. In addition to its campuses in Atlanta and Savannah, Georgia Tech has campuses in France, Ireland, Costa Rica, Singapore and China.

Georgia Tech has six colleges. Its highly ranked graduate schools include the College of Engineering and Scheller College of Business. Georgia Tech is classified by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching as a university with very high research activity. Famous alumni include Mike Duke, former president and CEO of Walmart; Bobby Jones, founder of The Masters golf tournament; and baseball player Nomar Garciaparra. John Heisman was Georgia Tech’s first full-time football coach, and the Heisman Memorial Trophy was named in his honor. The school’s newspaper for faculty and staff, The Whistle, is named for the steam whistle in the Tech Tower that blows every hour and each time the Yellow Jackets score a touchdown.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


  • College of Business

History


The idea of a technology school in Georgia was introduced in 1865 during the Reconstruction period. Two former Confederate officers, MajorJohn Fletcher Hanson (an industrialist) and Nathaniel Edwin Harris (a politician and eventually Governor of Georgia), who had become prominent citizens in the town of Macon, Georgia after the Civil War, strongly believed that the South needed to improve its technology to compete with the industrial revolution that was occurring throughout the North. However, because the American South of that era was mainly populated by agricultural workers and few technical developments were occurring, a technology school was needed.

In 1882, the Georgia State Legislature authorized a committee, led by Harris, to visit the Northeast to see firsthand how technology schools worked. They were impressed by the polytechnic educational models developed at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and the Worcester County Free Institute of Industrial Science (now Worcester Polytechnic Institute). The committee recommended adapting the Worcester model, which stressed a combination of “theory and practice”, the “practice” component including student employment and production of consumer items to generate revenue for the school.

On October 13, 1885, Georgia Governor Henry D. McDaniel signed the bill to create and fund the new school. In 1887, Atlanta pioneer Richard Peters donated to the state 4 acres (1.6 ha) of the site of a failed garden suburb called Peters Park. The site was bounded on the south by North Avenue, and on the west by Cherry Street. He then sold five adjoining acres of land to the state for US$10,000, (equivalent to $260,000 in 2015). This land was located near the northern city limits of Atlanta at the time of its founding, although the city has now expanded several miles beyond it. A historical marker on the large hill in Central Campus notes that the site occupied by the school’s first buildings once held fortifications built to protect Atlanta during the Atlanta Campaign of the American Civil War. The surrender of the city took place on the southwestern boundary of the modern Georgia Tech campus in 1864.

The Georgia School of Technology opened its doors in the fall of 1888 with two buildings. One building (now Tech Tower, an administrative headquarters) had classrooms to teach students; The second building featured a shop and had a foundry, forge, boiler room, and engine room. It was designed specifically for students to work and produce goods to sell and fund the school. The two buildings were equal in size to show the importance of teaching both the mind and the hands; though, at the time, there was some disagreement to whether the machine shop should have been used to turn a profit.

On October 20, 1905, U.S. President Theodore Roosevelt visited the Georgia Tech campus. On the steps of Tech Tower, Roosevelt delivered a speech about the importance of technological education. He then shook hands with every student.[

Georgia Tech’s Evening School of Commerce began holding classes in 1912. The evening school admitted its first female student in 1917, although the state legislature did not officially authorize attendance by women until 1920. Annie T. Wise became the first female graduate in 1919 and went on to become Georgia Tech’s first female faculty member the following year. Rena Faye Smith, appointed as a research assistant in the School of Physics in 1969 by Dr. Ray Young, in X-Ray Diffraction, became the first female faculty member (research) in the School of Physics. She went on to earn a Ph.D. at Georgia State University and taught physics and instructional technology at Black Hills State University – 1997-2005 as Rena Faye Norby. She served as a Fulbright Scholar in Russia 2004-2005. In 1931, the Board of Regents transferred control of the Evening School of Commerce to the University of Georgia (UGA) and moved the civil and electrical engineering courses at UGA to Tech. Tech replaced the commerce school with what later became the College of Business. The commerce school would later split from UGA and eventually become Georgia State University.[15][18] In 1934, the Engineering Experiment Station (later known as the Georgia Tech Research Institute) was founded by W. Harry Vaughan with an initial budget of $5,000 (equivalent to $88,445 in 2015) and 13 part-time faculty.

Founded as the Georgia School of Technology, Georgia Tech assumed its present name in 1948 to reflect a growing focus on advanced technological and scientific research. Unlike most similarly named universities (such as the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and the California Institute of Technology), the Georgia Institute of Technology is a public institution.

Tech first admitted female students to regular classes in 1952, although women could not enroll in all programs at Tech until 1968. Industrial Management was the last program to open to women. The first women’s dorm, Fulmer Hall, opened in 1969. Women constituted 30.3% of the undergraduates and 25.3% of the graduate students enrolled in Spring 2009.

In 1959, a meeting of 2,741 students voted by an overwhelming majority to endorse integration of qualified applicants, regardless of race. Three years after the meeting, and one year after the University of Georgia’s violent integration, Georgia Tech became the first university in the Deep South to desegregate without a court order. There was little reaction to this by Tech students; like the city of Atlanta described by former Mayor William Hartsfield, they seemed “too busy to hate”.

In 1965 the university bought the former Pickrick Restaurant, a site of confrontation in the Civil Rights movement, which it first used as a placement center. Later, it was known as the Ajax Building. The building was razed in 2009.

Similarly, there was little student reaction at Georgia Tech to the Vietnam War and United States involvement in the Cambodian Civil War. The student council defeated a resolution supporting the Vietnam Moratorium, and the extent of the Tech community’s response to the Kent State shooting was limited to a student-organized memorial service, though the Institute was ordered closed for two days, along with all other University System of Georgia schools.

 

In 1988, President John Patrick Crecine pushed through a restructuring of the university. The Institute at that point had three colleges: the College of Engineering, the College of Management, and the catch-all COSALS, the College of Sciences and Liberal Arts. Crecine reorganized the latter two into the College of Computing, theCollege of Sciences, and the Ivan Allen College of Management, Policy, and International Affairs. Crecine never asked for input regarding the changes and, consequently, many faculty members disliked his top-down management style; despite this, the changes passed by a slim margin. Crecine was also instrumental in securing the 1996 Summer Olympics for Atlanta. A large amount of construction occurred, creating most of what is now considered “West Campus” for Tech to serve as the Olympic Village, and significantlygentrifying Midtown Atlanta. The Undergraduate Living Center, Fourth Street Apartments, Sixth Street Apartments, Eighth Street Apartments, Hemphill Apartments, and Center Street Apartments housed athletes and journalists. The Georgia Tech Aquatic Center was built for swimming events, and the Alexander Memorial Coliseum was renovated. The Institute also erected the Kessler Campanile and fountain to serve as a landmark and symbol of the Institute on television broadcasts.

In 1994, G. Wayne Clough became the first Tech alumnus to serve as the president of the Institute; he was in office during the 1996 Summer Olympics. In 1998, he separated the Ivan Allen College of Management, Policy, and International Affairs into the Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts and returned the College of Management to “College” status (Crecine, the previous president, had demoted Management from “College” to “School” status as part of a controversial 1990 reorganization plan). His tenure focused on a dramatic expansion of the Institute, a revamped Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program, and the creation of an International Plan. On March 15, 2008, he was appointed secretary of the Smithsonian Institution, effective July 1, 2008. Dr. Gary Schuster, Tech’s provost and executive vice president for Academic Affairs, was named interim president, effective July 1, 2008.

On April 1, 2009, G. P. “Bud” Peterson, previously the chancellor of the University of Colorado at Boulder, became the 11th president of Georgia Tech. On April 20, 2010, Georgia Tech was invited to join the Association of American Universities, the first new member institution in nine years. In 2014, Georgia Tech launched the first “massive online open degree” in computer science by partnering with Udacity and AT&T; a complete degree through that program costs students $7,000.

 


Do you want discuss Georgia Institute of Technology ? Any question, comments or reviews


Georgia Institute of Technology on Map


Photo


Photos: Georgia Institute of Technology official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

Georgia Institute of Technology reviews

Join to discuss of Georgia Institute of Technology.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.