哈佛大学

哈佛大学. 研究在美国. 美国最好的大学. 国外教育杂志. 海外留学. 教育兄弟

哈佛大学详情

  • 国家 : 美国
  • 市 : 剑桥
  • 缩写 :
  • 成立 : 1636
  • 学生们 (约。) : 21000
  • 不要忘了 讨论哈佛大学
报名哈佛大学

概观


哈佛大学是始建于私营机构 1636.

哈佛大学学费 是 $46,000 (APROX。).

哈佛大学位于Cambridge, 马萨诸塞, 外面波士顿. 哈佛藏书丰富的图书馆系统公司在美国历史最悠久的收集和最大的私人收藏世界. 还有更多的学校比无休止的堆, 虽然: 哈佛的运动队在常春藤联盟竞争, 和每一个足球赛季结束与 “游戏,” 传奇的竞争对手哈佛和耶鲁之间的对决年度. 在哈佛, 校内住房是学生生活中不可或缺的一部分. 新生住在附近的哈佛校园的中心, 之后,他们被放置在一个 12 他们剩下的三个本科房子. 虽然他们不再由大学作为官方学生团体的认可, 八所有男性 “最终俱乐部” 作为社会组织对于一些本科生; 哈佛大学也有五女俱乐部.

除了学院, 哈佛是由 13 其他学校和机构, 其中排名第一的商学院和医学院和高排名的研究生教育学校, 工程与应用科学学院, 法学院和约翰·F·. 肯尼迪政府学院. 中美八. 总统哈佛学院毕业, 包括富兰克林·德拉诺·罗斯福和约翰·F·. 肯尼迪. 其他著名的校友包括亨利·大卫·梭罗, 海伦·凯勒, 马友友和汤米·李·琼斯. 在 1977, 哈佛签订姊妹机构拉德克利夫学院的协议, 在教育合作团结他们提供男女学生, 虽然他们没有正式合并之前, 1999. 哈佛大学还拥有任何学校在世界上最大的养老.

哈佛大学致力于以卓越的教学, 学习, 研究, 并在开发许多学科有所作为的全球领导者谁. 大学, 总部设在剑桥和波士顿, 马萨诸塞, 拥有一个招生 20,000 研究生, 其中本科, 毕业, 和专业的学生. 哈佛有超过 360,000 世界各地的校友.

哈佛是著名的教育的全球领导地位, 和哈佛教员由男人和女人谁是世界一流的学者. 教师们充满热情和好奇的个人谁继续自己的研究,同时在哈佛大学教. 他们来自全国各地和世界各地的, 他们带来知识丰富多样.

几乎所有的哈佛学院课程设计, 教授和哈佛大学教授监督, 和几乎所有FAS教师必须教他们的职责的一部分. 该学院是非常方便, 和哈佛学院班级规模上低于平均水平 40, 有超过所提供一半的课程,每学期招生 10 或者更少的学生. 这样就可以更紧密的学生教授的关系,有利于社会对校园感. 教授也使自己提供给学生在课堂外, 甚至超越办公时间, 如前或下课后在食堂见面. 教职员在哈佛做与学生的连接点,以创建一个充实的学术经验. 了解更多关于大学的承诺,教师发展和多样性.

学校 / 高校 / 部门 / 培训班 / 院系


  • 哈佛商学院
  • 哈佛学院
  • 继续教育科
  • 哈佛牙医学院
  • 哈佛神学院
  • 艺术学院 & 科学
  • 设计研究生院
  • 哈佛教育学院
  • 艺术研究生院 & 科学
  • 哈佛大学约翰. 工程与应用科学学院保尔森
  • 哈佛大学肯尼迪政府学院
  • 哈佛大学法学院
  • 哈佛医学院
  • 拉德克利夫高等研究院
  • 哈佛T.H. 公共卫生禅宗

历史


哈佛是高等教育的在美国历史最悠久的机构, 建立在 1636 由马萨诸塞湾殖民地的重大而广泛的法院票. 它是学院的第一个捐赠者的名字命名, 年轻的部长查尔斯顿的约翰·哈佛, 在他的死亡谁 1638 离开他的图书馆和一半的财产给机构. 约翰·哈佛的雕像代表今天在哈佛大学会馆前, 并且也许是大学最有名的标志性建筑.

哈佛大学有 12 学位授予除拉德克利夫高级研究学院学校. 大学已经从九名学生成长与一个主节点的更多的招生比 20,000 研究生的含本科, 毕业, 和专业的学生. 有超过 360,000 生活校友在中美. 以上 190 其他国家.

哈佛大学档案馆由哈佛大学图书馆系统进行维护,是一个很好的资源访问哈佛的历史记录.

在9月. 8, 1836, 在哈佛的二百年庆典, 据宣布,总统乔赛亚·昆西已经找到学院臂的第一草图 - 与拉丁格言盾“VERITAS” (“Verity的”或“真理”) 在三本书 - 而他的研究哈佛大学的历史在高校档案. 在二百年, 一个白色横幅上面在院子里一个大帐篷公开展示这种设计首次.

直到昆西的发现, 手绘草图 (从监督者会议上一月的记录. 6, 1644) 已被磨掉,被遗忘. 它成为正式的公司所采用的密封的基础 1843 并且还告知目前使用的版本.

深红正式被哈佛集团的一票被指定为哈佛大学的颜色 1910. 但是,为什么绯红? 一对桨手的, 查尔斯·W ^. 艾略特, 等级 1853, 和本杰明·W ^. Crowninshield, 等级 1858, 提供深红色围巾给自己的队友,这样观众可以在帆船赛期间,区别于其他球队哈佛的船员队伍 1858. 艾略特成为哈佛的21总裁 1869 并且服务直到 1909; 该公司投票,使艾略特的头巾颜色的官方色彩来到后不久,他下台.

但是,哈佛集团正式投票前, 学生选择的颜色有在一个点深红色和品红色之间摇摆不定 - 可能是因为用颜色来代表大学的想法仍然是新在19世纪后期. 通过流行的辩论推到决定, 哈佛大学本科生月举行全民公决 6, 1875, 上大学的颜色, 并大幅深红色赢得. 学生报纸 - 这已被称为洋红 - 用非常下一期更名.

之后乔治·华盛顿的大陆军迫使英国离开波士顿三月 1776, 哈佛公司和监察投票四月 3, 1776, 在一般授予荣誉学位, 谁接受了那一天 (大概在他的剑桥总部设在克雷吉府). 华盛顿接下来走访哈佛大学 1789, 作为第一个中美. 主席.

其他中美. 总统接受名誉学位包括::

  • 1781 约翰·亚当斯
  • 1787 托马斯·杰弗森
  • 1822 约翰·昆西·亚当斯
  • 1833 安德鲁·杰克逊
  • 1872 尤利西斯小号. 格兰特
  • 1905 威廉·霍华德·塔夫脱
  • 1907 伍德罗·威尔逊
  • 1917 赫伯特·胡佛
  • 1919 西奥多·罗斯福
  • 1929 富兰克林·德拉诺·罗斯福
  • 1946 德怀特·艾森豪尔
  • 1956 约翰·F·. 肯尼迪


你要吗 讨论哈佛大学 ? 任何问题, 意见或评论


哈佛大学地图


照片


相片: 哈佛大学 官方Facebook

视频





与好友分享这个有用的信息

哈佛大学评论

加入哈佛大学的讨论.
请注意: EducationBro杂志让你在阅读有关大学信息的能力 96 语言, 但我们要求您尊重其他成员和英语发表评论.

Harvard University

Harvard University. Study in USA. Best Universities of USA. Education Abroad Magazine. Study Overseas. Education Bro

Harvard University Details

  • Country : United States of America
  • City : Cambridge
  • Acronym : HU
  • Founded : 1636
  • Students (approx.) : 21000
  • Don't forget to discuss Harvard University
Enroll at Harvard University

Overview


Harvard University is a private institution that was founded in 1636.

Tuition fees in Harvard University are $46,000 (Aprox.).

Harvard is located in Cambridge, Massachusetts, just outside of Boston. Harvard’s extensive library system houses the oldest collection in the United States and the largest private collection in the world. There is more to the school than endless stacks, though: Harvard’s athletic teams compete in the Ivy League, and every football season ends with “The Game,” an annual matchup between storied rivals Harvard and Yale. At Harvard, on-campus residential housing is an integral part of student life. Freshmen live around the Harvard Yard at the center of campus, after which they are placed in one of 12 undergraduate houses for their remaining three years. Although they are no longer recognized by the university as official student groups, the eight all-male “final clubs” serve as social organizations for some undergraduate students; Harvard also has five female clubs.

In addition to the College, Harvard is made up of 13 other schools and institutes, including the top-ranked Business School and Medical School and the highly ranked Graduate Education School, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, Law School and John F. Kennedy School of Government. Eight U.S. presidents graduated from Harvard College, including Franklin Delano Roosevelt and John F. Kennedy. Other notable alumni include Henry David Thoreau, Helen Keller, Yo-Yo Ma and Tommy Lee Jones. In 1977, Harvard signed an agreement with sister institute Radcliffe College, uniting them in an educational partnership serving male and female students, although they did not officially merge until 1999. Harvard also has the largest endowment of any school in the world.

Harvard University is devoted to excellence in teaching, learning, and research, and to developing leaders in many disciplines who make a difference globally. The University, which is based in Cambridge and Boston, Massachusetts, has an enrollment of over 20,000 degree candidates, including undergraduate, graduate, and professional students. Harvard has more than 360,000 alumni around the world.

Harvard is known for global leadership in education, and the Harvard faculty is composed of men and women who are world-class scholars. Faculty members are passionate and curious individuals who continue their own research while teaching at Harvard. They come from across the country and all over the world, bringing with them a diverse wealth of knowledge.

Almost all Harvard College courses are designed, taught and overseen by Harvard faculty, and virtually all FAS faculty are required to teach as part of their duties.  The faculty is highly accessible, and Harvard College class sizes are on average below 40, with over half the courses being offered each semester enrolling 10 or fewer students. This allows for a closer student-professor relationship and contributes to the sense of community on campus. Professors also make themselves available to students outside of the classroom, even beyond office hours, such as meeting in the dining hall or before or after class. The faculty at Harvard make a point of connecting with their students to create a fulfilling academic experience. Learn more about the University’s commitment to Faculty Development and Diversity.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


  • Harvard Business School
  • Harvard College
  • Division of Continuing Education
  • Harvard School of Dental Medicine
  • Harvard Divinity School
  • Faculty of Arts & Sciences
  • Graduate School of Design
  • Harvard Graduate School of Education
  • Graduate School of Arts & Sciences
  • Harvard John A. Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences
  • Harvard Kennedy School
  • Harvard Law School
  • Harvard Medical School
  • Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study
  • Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health

History


Harvard is the oldest institution of higher education in the United States, established in 1636 by vote of the Great and General Court of the Massachusetts Bay Colony. It was named after the College’s first benefactor, the young minister John Harvard of Charlestown, who upon his death in 1638 left his library and half his estate to the institution. A statue of John Harvard stands today in front of University Hall in Harvard Yard, and is perhaps the University’s best known landmark.

Harvard University has 12 degree-granting Schools in addition to the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study. The University has grown from nine students with a single master to an enrollment of more than 20,000 degree candidates including undergraduate, graduate, and professional students. There are more than 360,000 living alumni in the U.S. and over 190 other countries.

The Harvard University Archives are maintained by the Harvard University Library system and are a great resource to access Harvard’s historical records.

On Sept. 8, 1836, at Harvard’s Bicentennial celebration, it was announced that President Josiah Quincy had found the first rough sketch of the College arms – a shield with the Latin motto “VERITAS” (“Verity” or “Truth”) on three books – while researching his History of Harvard University in the College Archives. During the Bicentennial, a white banner atop a large tent in the Yard publicly displayed this design for the first time.

Until Quincy’s discovery, the hand-drawn sketch (from records of an Overseers meeting on Jan. 6, 1644) had been filed away and forgotten. It became the basis of the seal officially adopted by the Corporation in 1843 and still informs the version used today.

Crimson was officially designated as Harvard’s color by a vote of the Harvard Corporation in 1910. But why crimson? A pair of rowers, Charles W. Eliot, Class of 1853, and Benjamin W. Crowninshield, Class of 1858, provided crimson scarves to their teammates so that spectators could differentiate Harvard’s crew team from other teams during a regatta in 1858. Eliot became Harvard’s 21st president in 1869 and served until 1909; the Corporation vote to make the color of Eliot’s bandannas the official color came soon after he stepped down.

But before the official vote by the Harvard Corporation, students’ color of choice had at one point wavered between crimson and magenta – probably because the idea of using colors to represent universities was still new in the latter part of the 19th century. Pushed by popular debate to decide, Harvard undergraduates held a plebiscite on May 6, 1875, on the University’s color, and crimson won by a wide margin. The student newspaper – which had been called The Magenta – changed its name with the very next issue.

After George Washington’s Continental Army forced the British to leave Boston in March 1776, the Harvard Corporation and Overseers voted on April 3, 1776, to confer an honorary degree upon the general, who accepted it that very day (probably at his Cambridge headquarters in Craigie House). Washington next visited Harvard in 1789, as the first U.S. president.

Other U.S. presidents to receive an honorary degree include:

  • 1781 John Adams
  • 1787 Thomas Jefferson
  • 1822 John Quincy Adams
  • 1833 Andrew Jackson
  • 1872 Ulysses S. Grant
  • 1905 William Howard Taft
  • 1907 Woodrow Wilson
  • 1917 Herbert Hoover
  • 1919 Theodore Roosevelt
  • 1929 Franklin Delano Roosevelt
  • 1946 Dwight Eisenhower
  • 1956 John F. Kennedy


Do you want discuss Harvard University ? Any question, comments or reviews


Harvard University on Map


Photo


Photos: Harvard University official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

Harvard University reviews

Join to discuss of Harvard University.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.