利哈伊大學

利哈伊大學細節

  • 國家 : 美國
  • 市 : 伯利恆
  • 縮寫 : LU
  • 成立 : 1865
  • 學生們 (約。) : 7000
  • 不要忘了 討論利哈伊大學
在報名利哈伊大學

概觀


利哈伊大學是成立於私人機構 1865.

在利哈伊大學學費 是 $48,000 (APROX。).

利哈伊大學位於伯利恆, 霸。, 50 費城英里以北和 75 紐約市西側英里. 利哈伊山老鷹愛國者聯盟的成員, 而在競爭 25 我NCAA分部運動. 他們最大的體育競爭是拉斐特學院, 位於小於 20 幾英里以外. 學生主體的第三個參與聯誼會. 所有新生必須住在校園裡, 和二年級學生還需要在校園裡住在宿舍或希臘的住房. 里海的主校區位於南山的樹木繁茂的斜坡, 和校園的一半保留為開放空間.

利哈伊大學有四個學院, 與眾多的本科和研究生專業. 其備受推崇的研究生課程包括教育和theP.C學院. 工程與應用科學學院ROSSIN. 校園安全政策和校園犯罪統計法的克萊理珍妮披露起源於利哈伊, 要求高校以揭示校園犯罪. 利哈伊民間傳說說,當一個女人穿著棕色和白色長襪由一群男人在討論校色通過了棕色和白色的校色起源, 剩下的就是歷史. 著名的校友包括傑西W¯¯. 里諾, 自動扶梯的發明者; 和霍華德McClintic和查爾斯·馬歇爾, 他的建築公司幫助建立了金門大橋, 喬治·華盛頓大橋, 巴拿馬運河和紐約的華爾道夫酒店.

學校 / 高校 / 部門 / 培訓班 / 院系


藝術與科學學院

一個強大的通識教育讓我們的學生批判性和創造性思考. 我們跨學科合作,以解決當今最具挑戰性的問題.

商務及經濟學院

未來的商業領袖需要突破傳統,誠信思考. 我們要求我們的學生開車內外董事會變動.

教育學院

我們致力於導致在學校內可衡量的實際變化和進步的研究, 診所和國家政策.

P.C。. 工程與應用科學學院ROSSIN

工程是由人類驅動. 我們的學生的問題解決者誰在集成和協作環境進行調研.

DEPARTMENTS

  • 會計
  • 藝術, 建築, 與設計
  • 生物科學
  • 化學與生物分子工程
  • 化學
  • 土木與環境工程
  • 國際比較教育
  • 計算機科學與工程
  • 心理輔導
  • 地球與環境科學
  • 經濟學
  • 教育領導
  • 電子和計算機工程
  • 英語
  • 金融
  • 歷史
  • 工業及系統工程學
  • 教育技術
    國際關係
  • 新聞與傳播
  • 管理
  • 營銷
  • 材料科學與工程
  • 數學
  • 機械工程與力學
  • 現代語言與文學
  • 音樂
  • 哲學
  • 物理
  • 政治學
  • 心理學
  • 宗教研究
  • 學校心理學
  • 社會學與人類學
  • 特殊教育
  • 教師教育
  • 劇院

歷史


亞撒帕克命名了他的大學 “利哈伊” 他的其他激情過後, 鐵路, 儘管一些建議叫它 “帕克大學”. 它的創立是為了提供一個全面的教育男青年, 一個自由和科學教育提供必要的技術技能相結合,提高了地區的繁榮. 據威廉·培根·史蒂文斯, 董事會首任會長, 亞撒帕克的建黨禮物 $500,000 在最大的單一捐贈禮物有史以來高等學府接受到那個時候. 先生. 打包機還提供了用於第一結構曾經由年輕大學校園建: “包裝工隊名人堂”, 目前已知也可作為大學中心. 一個不尋常的哥特芒薩爾大廈設有突出的鐘樓, 在這, 在一,它可以由更便宜的磚建議, 帕克宣布,它將進行 “石”. 在建築, 鐵路的一個分支被擠占,使石到現場.

從 1871 至 1891, 帕克的養老允許該機構通過競爭性考試,免費提供其教育. 在 1879, 利哈伊成為高等院校的富有的機構,在全​​國, 超越哈佛和耶魯. 這個, 加上其工程和文科交融, 吸引了一些國家的最聰明的學生的, 其中許多人繼續在工業和工程事業有成.

某高校的工程形成, 或技術大學, 是一個相當困難的項目, 作為工程教育的整個主題是模糊. 高校少數已開始這, 如在新澤西州和哈佛史蒂文斯理工學院, 耶魯大學, 和RPI紐約; 麻省理工學院和康奈爾只是被成立. 賓夕法尼亞大學開了個小學校 1852, 採礦和材料, 但其已在內戰的開始關閉. 為W. 羅斯耶茨注意事項: “肯定沒有人知道有多少多年的歷程 [一個主要的; 學位] 在工程應該採取, 甚至什麼工程的分支應該包括一所大學內. 理論與實踐之間的關係是模糊的。” 多年後實業家和利哈伊受託人Eckley B製備的聲明. 考克斯簡要地概括了這一問題: “不知道正是你想做的事,或者你有材料做, 是什麼做的最好的方法?”

不同於白天的其他一些工程學校, 利哈伊被構想,而不是作為一所大學,而不是 “技術研究所,” 提供了根植於科學和古典傳統,由約翰·阿莫斯誇美紐斯所提倡的教育. 最初有五所學校: 4科學 (土木工程, 機械工業, 採礦和冶金, 和分析化學) 一般文獻和一個. 後者將很快演變成 “課程在藝術和科學”, 因為它被稱為然後, 在新世紀的第一個十年. 工程課程均被合併和擴展.

股市大跌伴隨的恐慌 1893 是一個主要的金融打擊的大學, 因為它的禀賦在很大程度上是投資於股票, 特別是Lehigh谷鐵路股份捐贈由創始人. 作為結果, 利哈伊決定放棄其主教Churchaffiliation在 1897, 允許它有資格獲得州和聯邦政府的援助.

19世紀90年代被證明很難在其他方面不是嚴格的財務. 因為一般的經濟衰退, 而且由於一些猜測,大學可能要resultingly關閉, 招生下降. 然而,與校友的幫助, 受託人, 和賓夕法尼亞州, 年輕的大學渡過難關. 這個時代封閉的物理建築的壯觀火, 四月 6, 1900. 隨著1900年經濟改善, 新世紀提供更強的視野. 物理大樓很快重建. 並與在利哈伊谷鐵路銷售的派克地產的興趣 (六月 1, 1900), 學校不再​​被冠以 “鐵路大學”. 偶然一個新的恩人將採取取而代之: 伯利恆鋼鐵公司.

在托馬斯·M·總統府. 淹, 辯論將開始,將繼續在利哈伊為許多世紀: 這將是另外兩個本科院校的相對重要性, 內部到大學, 商業和文科學校, 對基礎工程? 藝術與科學學院正式成立 1909. 而基於利哈伊工程師誰進入行業經驗[15] 業務的學院 & 在溶液中加入經濟學 1910. 里海的商業課程是獨一無二的,它結合這兩個抽象強調經濟學常春藤見過其他大學給出較為常見的商業管理學位看到管理的實用技巧. 在C的總統. [R. 理查茲 (1922-1935), 並用尤金G的影響. 恩典 ('99), 伯利恆鋼鐵公司總裁, 然後它決定其他兩個學院存在服務於工程School.This是與大學的成立是一致的決定, 但它會在第二次世界大戰之後被逆轉.

緊接前總統理查茲, 工程師的領導下,, 律師, 和博物, 亨利·斯特吉斯飲水 ('71) (1905-1920) 利哈伊見證了強勁增長, 與約翰·弗里茨工程實驗室的建設 (1910), 和泰勒健身房 (1914). 此外, 計劃是為哥特式風格的校友紀念大樓製成, 校友ŧ設計. C. Visscher的 ('99) 和J. 大號. 白肋煙 ('94). 這將無法完成,直到理查茲總統的精品工程. 在理查茲, 里海是不是太負面的影響抑鬱症, 得益於其強大的地位, 良好的管理, 和伯利恆鋼鐵公司的支持. 三個本科院校內部發展強調. 和批判, 只是蕭條之前, 兩個巨大, 和毗連, 項目竣工, 出借大學了它的現代外觀. 首先是一個大的除了林德曼圖書館, 增加了一倍大小, 並授予一個哥特式的重新解釋什麼是羅馬式結構 (1929); 其次, 惠普實驗室 (1929). 校園的兩個放大被Visscher的白肋煙和的公司設計, 再次哥特式, 後者通過詹姆斯病房惠普的豐厚的禮品來完成 ('84), 該汽車公司的創始人.

在利哈伊第四學院, 教育學院, 必須為其代回到20世紀的曙光, 而淹死總統 (1895-1904). 托馬斯·M·. 已經淹沒在歐洲完成的研究生課程,以及美國, 拉斐特著陸一份工作,擔任化學教授之前. 已知有對他的教學實力, 以及為特質的看法, 他最終接受了職位在麻省理工學院 1885. 這不過是不是利哈伊發表畢業演說前, 1883. 大學顯然是不夠深刻的印象,邀請他回到承擔領導 12 年份. 隨著里海, 淹沒總統是第一個斷定全部課程之間的比價一般, 與位置有許多公路通往一個受過教育的目標, 求實個人. 淹沒支持許多利益, 且其是工程學研究生學習的鼓勵, 與工程集成藝術. 但作為一個廣泛的智力, 他有許多配套項目, 一個是教育, 和準備, 未來的中學教師. 一種 1902 課程 “教學歷史和公民的方法”, 後來根據H的同情演變總統. 小號. 酒徒 (1905-1920) 教育學院的開端, 雖然當時被稱為 “哲學系, 心理學, 和教育。” 它是, 和目前是, 研究的嚴格的研究生課程. 淹沒總統死在辦公室, 十一月 16, 1904.

但繼續強調以全面的畢業生可以在大學的教育方針度可見. 作為一個純粹研究生水平的計劃, 這是基於這樣的原則,人們需要學習的主要題材好,才可以學習如何教給別人. 因此,在未來的利哈伊老師經常拿一個五年計劃都獲得學士學位,在某個專業領域學位和碩士學位的學位教育. 後者度, 隨著商學院的M.B.A., 是大學最熱門的研究生課程中.

第二次世界大戰後, 馬丁杜威惠特克的輪值主席國期間,, 里海的第8總裁, 迫切需要出現增加大學的研究生工程課程的廣度和深度, 如最初設想先生. 淹. 這提出了一個艱難的路徑利哈伊, 為成功做到這一點, 沿線管理員計劃, 這將涉及許多必要的和相互依存的方面, 如: 知識淵博的教授, 雄心勃勃的學生, 各種度和類產品, 空間, 設備和私人和公共資金. 如果大學是收購科學研究生課程, 數學, 可比的質量和信譽作為本科的和工程, 支持至關重要, 特別是關於獲得聯邦撥款, 如從美國國家科學基金會 (NSF) 和NASA.

增長是艱鉅, 作為里海曾與更大,更好認可的機構進行競爭, 如康奈爾, 芝加哥, WITH, 和約翰·霍普金斯大學. 然而, 伯利恆鋼鐵公司確實存在作為重點民營支持者. 博士. 馬丁·惠特克是一個物理學家, 而在曼哈頓計劃前執行, 而在他的保留, 雖強, 領導, 利哈伊最終繁榮. 在四月 10, 1957, 並作為現代化和擴大其業務的多階段計劃的一部分, 博士. 惠特克告知董事會的伯利恆鋼鐵公司計劃在南山頂研究中心. 該地區立即在後面, 和鄰接, 利哈伊. 在頭腦裡構思大學, 中心會掙很多昂貴的設備提供給學校, 同時為公司提供的計算開發中心. 另外, 而作為鋼鐵的更大計劃的一部分, 利哈伊實現 600 畝的Saucon谷的體育和現場複雜. 不幸, 博士. 惠特克看不到這些計劃取得成果, 正如他在辦公室通過, 八月 31, 1960.

哈維教授的短總統後. 內維爾 (1960-1964), 博士. 威拉德戴明劉易斯假定這將是最長的總統辦公室在大學至今 (1964-1982). 擁有物理學背景與應用數學, 並與貝爾實驗室執行, 博士. 劉易斯將繼續有最成功的之一, 如果不可能, 總統任期. 雖然他確實有一個強大的偏好, 和理解, 研究, 他曾與高校教學很少以往的經驗. 博士. 劉易斯監督婦女首先被接納為本科生, 他不僅成功伯利恆鋼鐵公司在山頂擴張 (因為它是目前已知), 而且該公司在擴大大學的校園援助. 主要除了沿北側放置, 毗鄰鎮, 並在道路莫頓聖之間. 和帕克大道. 以前民用住宅, 這一領域庫提供急需的空間, 實驗室, 演講廳, 研究, 和長期待在家藝術與科學學院, Maginnes大廳.

但它是在或許會見證博士意想不到的區域. 劉易斯最輝煌的時刻. 有一個更平易近人, 即使解除風範, 與醫生相比,. 惠特克, 這幫助總統與工作人員和學生相處, 特別是使後者20世紀60年代和70年代初的動盪年代. 經過多年的抗議和談判, 事項春季學期來到了一個頭, 1970. 隨著各種教授的幫助, 其中博士. 心理學弗朗西斯Wuest, 博士. 凱里乙. Joynt, 受託人夢露Ĵ. 拉思伯恩, 和許多其他, 它是在理事會特別會議上決定, 可以 2, 在很大程度上加入該學生在大學事務中更大的發言權請求, 並建立 “論壇”, 聯合學生/教師的行政機構. 它構成由學生可以正式提出變革和發展學校的一種手段. 有趣的是, 這發生兩天肯特州立大學槍擊事件之前,, 並擔任平息任何進一步的動盪或不快樂. 在5月 7 博士. 劉易斯主持全所大學會議, 並宣布自己在與學生的同情, 但呼籲他們, 關於向全國服務的呼叫 “罷工”, 他們的良心會記得教員. 據筆者和W教授. 羅斯耶茨, 那麼藝術與科學學院院長, “有沒有進一步的打擊。”

隨後的管理下繼續取得進展, 彼得Likins (1982-1997), 格雷戈里ç. 法林頓 (1998-2006), 與愛麗絲P. 客人 (2006-2014). 由於不幸的是到伯利恆鋼鐵公司的健康惡化, 它的山頂校園在購買 1986, 通過國家援助. 這會變成是一個臨別禮物, 因為它是. 而由於額外的 750 由校友唐納德乙授予畝. 斯特布勒 ('30), 在 2012, 利哈伊增持至 2400 畝. 許多新建築上升. 這些措施包括: 校園廣場 (2002), 提供了一個有趣的新北入口到校, 勞赫的商務中心 (1990), 和Zoellner藝術 (1997).

隨著新世紀的到來, 和利哈伊回顧在其一百五十週年紀念, 校園有許多新的關於它的, 並且也更老的. 從台階上建設 (2010), 到西利摹. 穆德, 到Zoellner, 現代建築取得了良好的, 雖然恭敬, 進展. 然而,隨著林德曼, 格雷斯廳體育場館 (1942, 給E. G. 恩典), 校友紀念, 當然包裝工隊名人堂本身, 里海的哥特傳統是不是單純的過去. 即使是很小的 4 校園英畝的部分仍然是來自當它被稱為19世紀 “大學園區”, 在帕克和布洛德海德大道的角落. 然而, 教育是一個不斷前進和變化的領域, 工作始終保持. 博士. 約翰·D·. 西蒙, 化學家, 上任秋季學期, 2015, 作為里海的第14屆總統.


你要嗎 討論利哈伊大學 ? 任何問題, 意見或評論


利哈伊大學地圖


照片


相片: 利哈伊大學 官方Facebook

視頻





與好友分享這個有用的信息

利哈伊大學的評論

加入利哈伊大學的討論.
請注意: EducationBro雜誌讓你在閱讀有關大學信息的能力 96 語言, 但我們要求您尊重其他成員和英語發表評論.

Lehigh University

Lehigh University Details

  • Country : United States of America
  • City : Bethlehem
  • Acronym : LU
  • Founded : 1865
  • Students (approx.) : 7000
  • Don't forget to discuss Lehigh University
Enroll at Lehigh University

Overview


Lehigh University is a private institution that was founded in 1865.

Tuition  fees in Lehigh University are $48,000 (Aprox.).

Lehigh University is located in Bethlehem, Pa., 50 miles north of Philadelphia and 75 miles west of New York City. The Lehigh Mountain Hawks are members of the Patriot League, and compete in 25 NCAA Division I sports. Their biggest athletic rivalry is Lafayette College, located less than 20 miles away. A third of the student body is involved in fraternities and sororities. All freshmen are required to live on campus, and sophomores are also required to live on campus in a residence hall or Greek housing. Lehigh’s main campus is located on the wooded slope of South Mountain, and half of the campus is preserved as open space.

Lehigh University has four colleges, with numerous undergraduate and graduate majors. Its well-regarded graduate programs include the College of Education and theP.C. Rossin College of Engineering and Applied Science. The Jeanne Clery Disclosure of Campus Security Policy and Campus Crime Statistics Act originated at Lehigh, requiring colleges to reveal crimes on campus. Lehigh folklore says the school colors of brown and white originated when a woman wearing brown and white stockings passed by a group of men discussing school colors, and the rest is history. Notable alumni include Jesse W. Reno, the inventor of the escalator; and Howard McClintic and Charles Marshall, whose construction company helped build the Golden Gate Bridge, the George Washington Bridge, the Panama Canal and New York’s Waldorf-Astoria Hotel.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


College of Arts and Sciences

A strong liberal arts education allows our students to think critically and creatively. We work across disciplines to solve today’s most challenging issues.

College of Business and Economics

Tomorrow’s business leaders need to think unconventionally and with integrity. We challenge our students to drive change inside and outside of the boardroom.

College of Education

We are committed to practical and progressive research that results in measurable changes within schools, clinics and national policy.

P.C. Rossin College of Engineering and Applied Science

Engineering is driven by humanity. Our students are problem-solvers who conduct research in an integrated and collaborative environment.

DEPARTMENTS

  • Accounting
  • Art, Architecture, and Design
  • Biological Sciences
  • Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Chemistry
  • Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Comparative and International Education
  • Computer Science and Engineering
  • Counseling Psychology
  • Earth and Environmental Sciences
  • Economics
  • Educational Leadership
  • Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • English
  • Finance
  • History
  • Industrial and Systems Engineering
  • Instructional Technology
    International Relations
  • Journalism and Communication
  • Management
  • Marketing
  • Materials Science and Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Mechanical Engineering and Mechanics
  • Modern Languages and Literatures
  • Music
  • Philosophy
  • Physics
  • Political Science
  • Psychology
  • Religion Studies
  • School Psychology
  • Sociology and Anthropology
  • Special Education
  • Teacher Education
  • Theatre

History


Asa Packer named his university “Lehigh” after his other passion, the railroad, despite suggestions from some to call it “Packer University”. It was founded to provide a well-rounded education for young men, combining a liberal and scientific education with the technical skills necessary to increase the prosperity of the region. According to William Bacon Stevens, the first president of the board of trustees, Asa Packer’s founding gift of $500,000 was the largest single endowment gift ever received by an institution of higher learning up to that time. Mr. Packer also provided for the first structure ever to be built by the young University on campus: “Packer Hall”, now known also as the University Center. An unusual Mansard Gothic edifice featuring a prominent bell tower, at which, upon a suggestion that it be composed of the less expensive brick, Packer declared that it would be made “of stone”. In the construction, a branch of the railroad was diverted to bring stone to the site.

From 1871 to 1891, Packer’s endowment allowed the institution to offer its education free of charge by competitive exam. In 1879, Lehigh became the wealthiest institution of higher learning in the country, surpassing Harvard and Yale. This, plus its blend of engineering and liberal arts, attracted some of the nation’s brightest students, many of whom went on to distinguished careers in industry and engineering.

The formation of a College for engineering, or technical university, was quite a difficult project, as the entire subject of engineering education was obscure. A small number of colleges had commenced this, such as Stevens Institute of Technology in New Jersey and Harvard, Yale, and RPI in New York; MIT and Cornell were just being founded. The University of Pennsylvania opened a small school in 1852, for mining and materials, but which had closed at the onset of the Civil War. As W. Ross Yates notes: “No one knew with certainty how many years a course [a major; a degree] in engineering should take, or even what branches of engineering should be included within a university. The relationship between theory and practice was hazy.” A statement made years later by industrialist and Lehigh Trustee Eckley B. Coxe summarizes the problem succinctly: “Not knowing exactly what you want to do or the material you have to do it with, what is the best way of doing it?”

Unlike some other engineering schools of the day, Lehigh was envisioned rather as a university instead of an “institute of technology,” offering an education that was rooted in both scientific and classical traditions as espoused by John Amos Comenius. Initially there were five schools: four scientific (civil engineering, mechanical engineering, mining and metallurgy, and analytical chemistry) and one of general literature. The latter would shortly evolve into “Courses in Arts and Science”, as it was known then, in the first decade of the new Century. Engineering curricula were both merged and expanded.

The stock market crash accompanying the Panic of 1893 was a major financial blow to the university, since its endowment was largely invested in stocks, particularly shares of Lehigh Valley Railroad donated by the founder. As a consequence, Lehigh decided to drop its Episcopal Churchaffiliation in 1897, allowing it to qualify for state and federal government aid.

The 1890s proved difficult in respects other than strictly financial. Because of the general recession, and due to some speculation that the University might have to resultingly close, enrollment dropped. Yet with the aid of Alumni, trustees, and the State of Pennsylvania, the young University pulled through. This era closed with the spectacular fire of the Physics building, April 6, 1900. With the improved economy of the 1900s, the new century offered stronger horizons. The Physics building was quickly rebuilt. And with the sale of the Packer Estate’s interest in the Lehigh Valley Railroad (June 1, 1900), the school ceased to be known as a “railroad university”. Fortuitously a new benefactor would take its stead: Bethlehem Steel.

During the Presidency of Thomas M. Drown, a debate would commence that would continue at Lehigh for much of the century: what would be the relative importance of the two other undergraduate Colleges, interior to the University, the Business and Liberal Arts schools, to the foundational Engineering? The College of Arts and Science was formally established in 1909. And based on the experience of Lehigh engineers who went into industry[15] a College of Business & Economics was added in 1910. Lehigh’s business curriculum was unique in that it combined both the abstract emphasis on Economics seen in the Ivy League with the practical skills of management seen in more common business administration degrees given by other universities. During the Presidency of C. R. Richards (1922–1935), and with the influence of Eugene G. Grace (’99), President of Bethlehem Steel, it was then decided that the two other Colleges existed to serve the Engineering School.This was a decision consistent with the University’s founding, but it would be reversed after the Second World War.

Immediately prior to the Richards Presidency, under the leadership of engineer, lawyer, and naturalist, Henry Sturgis Drinker (’71) (1905–1920) Lehigh witnessed strong growth, with the construction of the John Fritz Engineering Lab (1910), and Taylor Gym (1914). Furthermore, plans were made for the Gothic inspired Alumni Memorial Building, designed by alumni T. C. Visscher (’99) and J. L. Burley (’94). This was an elaborate project that would not be finished until the Richards Presidency. During Richards, Lehigh was not too negatively affected by the Depression, thanks to its stronger standing, good management, and the support of Bethlehem Steel. Internal development of the three undergraduate Colleges was emphasized. And critically, just before the Depression, two massive, and coterminous, projects were completed, lending the University much of its modern appearance. The first was a large addition to Linderman Library, doubling its size, and granting a Gothic reinterpretation to what was a Romanesque structure (1929); and secondly, Packard Lab (1929). Both enlargements of the Campus were designed by the firm of Visscher and Burley, again Gothic, with the latter accomplished through the generous gifts of James Ward Packard (’84), founder of the motor company.

For the fourth College at Lehigh, the College of Education, one must return for its generation to the dawn of the 20th century, and the Drown Presidency (1895–1904). Thomas M. Drown had done postgraduate work in Europe as well as the States, before landing a job as Chemistry Professor at Lafayette. Known there for the strength of his teaching, as well as for idiosyncratic views, he eventually took a position at MIT in 1885. This was however not before delivering a commencement address at Lehigh, 1883. The University was obviously impressed enough to invite him back to assume leadership in 12 years. With Lehigh, President Drown was one of the first to posit general parity among all courses of study, with the position there were many roads leading to the goal of an educated, truth-seeking individual. Drown supported many interests, and of which was the encouragement of engineering graduate study, and the integration of Engineering with the Arts. But as a broad intellectual, he had many ancillary projects, with one being education for, and preparation of, prospective secondary school teachers. A 1902 course “Methods of Teaching History and Civics”, later evolved under the sympathetic Presidency of H. S. Drinker (1905–1920) to the beginnings of the College of Education, though then known as the “Department of Philosophy, Psychology, and Education.” It was, and is presently, a strictly graduate course of study. President Drown died in office, November 16, 1904.

But a continuing emphasis to the well-rounded graduate can be seen in the University’s approach to education degrees. As a solely graduate-level program, this is based on the principle that people need to learn primary subject matter well before they can learn how to teach it to others. Thus future teachers at Lehigh often take a five-year program earning both a bachelor’s degree in a specialized field and a master’s degree in Education. This latter degree, along with the Business College’s M.B.A., are among the most popular graduate programs in the University.

After World War Two, during the Presidency of Martin Dewey Whitaker, Lehigh’s 8th President, a pressing need arose to increase the range and depth of the University’s graduate engineering programs, as initially envisioned by Mr. Drown. This presented a difficult path for Lehigh, as to successfully do this, along the lines the administrators planned, it would involve many necessary and interdependent facets, such as: knowledgeable Professors, ambitious students, a variety of degrees and class offerings, space, equipment and both private and public funding. If the University was to acquire a graduate program in the sciences, math, and engineering of comparable quality and prestige as that of the undergraduate, support was critical, especially in regards to obtaining federal grants, such as from the National Science Foundation (NSF) and NASA.

Growth was arduous, as Lehigh had to compete with larger and better recognized institutions, such as Cornell, Chicago, MIT, and Johns Hopkins. However, Bethlehem Steel did exist as a key private supporter. Dr. Martin Whitaker was a physicist, and former executive in the Manhattan Project, and under his reserved, though strong, leadership, Lehigh eventually prospered. On April 10, 1957, and as part of a multi-phase plan of modernizing and expanding its business, Dr. Whitaker informed the Board of Trustees that Bethlehem Steel planned a research center for the top of South Mountain. The area was immediately in back of, and contiguous with, Lehigh. Conceived with the University in mind, the center would make much expensive equipment available to the school, while providing the company with a computing and development center. Additionally, and as part of Steel’s greater plans, Lehigh attained 600 acres in Saucon Valley for a Sports and Field Complex. Unfortunately, Dr. Whitaker could not see these plans to fruition, as he passed in office, August 31, 1960.

After the short Presidency of Professor Harvey A. Neville (1960–1964), Dr. Willard Deming Lewis assumed office for what would be the longest Presidency at the University to date (1964–1982). With a background in physics and applied mathematics, and as an executive with Bell Laboratories, Dr. Lewis would go on to have one of the most successful, if unlikely, Presidencies. Though he did have a strong predilection for, and understanding of, research, he had little previous experience with college teaching. Dr. Lewis oversaw women being first admitted as undergraduates, and he managed not only Bethlehem Steel’s expansion on the Mountaintop (as it is now known), but also the company’s aid in expanding the University’s own campus. A major addition was placed along the north side, adjacent to the town, and in between the roads Morton St. and Packer Avenue. Formerly civilian homes, this area provided much needed space for libraries, laboratories, lecture halls, research, and the long anticipated home to the College of Arts and Science, Maginnes Hall.

But it was in an unexpected area that would witness perhaps Dr. Lewis’s finest hour. Having a more personable, even disarming demeanor, as compared with Dr. Whitaker, this aided the president in getting along with staff and students, especially so the turbulent era of the latter 1960s and early 1970s. After years of protest and negotiation, matters came to a head in the spring semester, 1970. With the aid of various professors, including Dr. Francis Wuest of Psychology, Dr. Carey B. Joynt, trustee Monroe J. Rathbone, and many others, it was decided at a special meeting of the Board, May 2, to largely accede to the students request for a greater voice in University affairs, and establish “the Forum”, a joint student/faculty administrative body. It constituted a means by which students could formally suggest change and growth to the school. Interestingly, this occurred two days before the Kent State shootings, and served to quell any further unrest or unhappiness. On May 7 Dr. Lewis presided over an all-university meeting, and declared himself in sympathy with the students, but appealed to them, concerning the nationwide call to “strike”, that their consciences would remember the faculty. According to author and Professor W. Ross Yates, then Dean of the College of Arts and Science, “there were no further strikes.”

Progress continued under succeeding administrations, Peter Likins (1982–1997), Gregory C. Farrington (1998–2006), and Alice P. Gast (2006–2014). Due unfortunately to Bethlehem Steel’s failing health, its Mountaintop campus was purchased in 1986, through State aid. This would turn to be a parting gift, as it were. And because of an additional 750 acres granted by alumnus Donald B. Stabler (’30), in 2012, Lehigh increased its holdings to 2400 acres. Many new buildings went up. These included: The Campus Square (2002), providing an interesting new north entrance to the school, the Rauch Business Center (1990), and Zoellner Arts (1997).

As the new century gets under way, and Lehigh looks back at its Sesquicentennial, the campus has much of the new about it, and also much of the old. From the STEPS building (2010), to Seeley G. Mudd, to Zoellner, modern architecture has made good, though respectful, inroads. Yet with Linderman, the Grace Hall palaestra (1942, from E. G. Grace), the Alumni Memorial, and of course Packer Hall itself, Lehigh’s Gothic tradition is not mere past. Even a small 4 acre section of the campus remains from the 19th century when it was known as “University Park”, at the corner of Packer and Brodhead Avenues. However, as education is an ever advancing and changing field, work always remains. Dr. John D. Simon, Chemist, assumes office for the fall semester, 2015, as Lehigh’s 14th President.


Do you want discuss Lehigh University ? Any question, comments or reviews


Lehigh University on Map


Photo


Photos: Lehigh University official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

Lehigh University reviews

Join to discuss of Lehigh University.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.