معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا

معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا. مع. الدراسة في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. Educationbro.com - دراسة مجلة بالخارج

معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا تفاصيل

التسجيل في معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا

نظرة عامة


معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا هي مؤسسة خاصة تأسست في 1861.

الرسوم الدراسية في معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا هي $48,000 (ولكنها تعمل.).

يقع معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا في كامبريدج, ماساتشوستس, عبر نهر تشارلز من وسط مدينة بوسطن. فقط يطلب من الطلاب المستجدين للعيش في الحرم الجامعي, ولكن حول 70 في المئة من الطلاب يختارون البقاء في الحرم الجامعي خلال اربعة سنوات. تقدم MIT السكن في واحدة من أروع مساكن الطلبة في البلاد, يطلق عليه “والإسفنج,” صممه المهندس المعماري ستيفن هول. المهندسين معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا تباهى أكثر من 30 فرق NCAA القسم الثالث, والتميمة هي سمور, الذي اختار معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا لما له من “الهندسة الرائعة والمهارات الميكانيكية وعاداته الصناعة.” كل فئة تصاميم حلقة فريدة من نوعها تسمى ل “الجرذ النحاس” التي كشفت خلال السنة الثانية, وهو تقليد يعود الى 1929.

يركز معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا في مجال البحث العلمي والتكنولوجي وينقسم إلى خمس مدارس وكلية واحدة. بين المدارس العليا منه هي مرتبة عالية مدرسة مدرسة الهندسة andSloan إدارة, بالإضافة إلى برامج قوية في الاقتصاد, علم النفس, مادة الاحياء, كيمياء, علوم الأرض, الفيزياء والرياضيات. تجاوزت نفقات الأبحاث في معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا عادة $650 مليون سنويا, مع التمويل يأتي من وكالات حكومية مثل وزارة الصحة والخدمات الإنسانية ووزارة الدفاع. ال “برنامج الأنشطة المستقلة,” فترة أربعة أسابيع بين فصلي الخريف والربيع دراسيين في يناير, يقدم دورات خاصة, محاضرات, المسابقات والمشاريع. تشمل الخريجين المتميز أبولو 11 رائد الفضاء باز ألدرين, U.N السابقة. الأمين العام كوفي عنان ورئيس مجلس إدارة بنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي بن برنانكي.

بعثة من معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا هو تعزيز المعرفة وتثقيف الطلاب في مجال العلوم, تقنية, ومناطق أخرى من المنح التي من شأنها خدمة أفضل للأمة والعالم في القرن ال21. اننا نسير وأيضا لتقديم المعرفة للتأثير على التحديات الكبرى في العالم.

المعهد هي منظمة مستقلة, مختلطة, privately endowed university, organized into five Schools (architecture and planning; هندسة; العلوم الإنسانية, فنون, and social sciences; إدارة; and science). It has some 1,000 أعضاء هيئة التدريس, أكثر من 11,000 المرحلة الجامعية وطلاب الدراسات العليا, وأكثر من 130,000 الخريجين المعيشة.

At its founding in 1861, MIT was an educational innovation, a community of hands-on problem solvers in love with fundamental science and eager to make the world a better place. اليوم, that spirit still guides how we educate students on campus and how we shape new digital learning technologies to make MIT teaching accessible to millions of learners around the world.

MIT’s spirit of interdisciplinary exploration has fueled many scientific breakthroughs and technological advances. A few examples: the first chemical synthesis of penicillin and vitamin A. The development of radar and creation of inertial guidance systems. The invention of magnetic core memory, which enabled the development of digital computers. Major contributions to the Human Genome Project. The discovery of quarks. The invention of the electronic spreadsheet and of encryption systems that enable e-commerce. The creation of GPS. Pioneering 3D printing. The concept of the expanding universe.

Current research and education areas include digital learning; تكنولوجيا النانو; sustainable energy, البيئة, climate adaptation, and global water and food security; Big Data, الأمن السيبراني, الروبوتات, and artificial intelligence; human health, including cancer, فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية, autism, Alzheimer’s, and dyslexia; biological engineering and CRISPR technology; poverty alleviation; advanced manufacturing; and innovation and entrepreneurship.

MIT’s impact also includes the work of our alumni. One way MIT graduates drive progress is by starting companies that deliver new ideas to the world. A recent study estimates that as of 2014, living MIT alumni have launched more than 30,000 active companies, creating 4.6 million jobs and generating roughly $1.9 trillion in annual revenue. Taken together, thisMIT Nation” ما يعادل 10TH أكبر اقتصاد في العالم!

المدارس / الكليات / الإدارات / الدورات / ملكات


  • كلية العمارة والتخطيط
  • كلية الهندسة
  • كلية العلوم الإنسانية, فنون, والعلوم الاجتماعية
  • كلية سلون للإدارة
  • كلية العلوم

التاريخ


في 1859, قدم اقتراحا إلى المحكمة ماساتشوستس العام في الانتفاع من الأراضي شغل حديثا في العودة خليج, بوسطن ل “المعهد الموسيقي للفنون والعلوم”, لكن الاقتراح لم. ميثاق لتأسيس معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا, المقترح من قبل ويليام بارتون روجرز, تم التوقيع من قبل حاكم ولاية ماساشوستس في أبريل 10, 1861.

بعد يومين من صدور ميثاق, اندلعت المعركة الأولى للحرب الأهلية خارج. بعد تأخير لمدة طويلة خلال سنوات الحرب, عقدت الطبقات الأولى معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا في بناء التجارية (نايمكس) في بوسطن في 1865. تأسست المؤسسة الجديدة كجزء من قانون موريل لاند غرانت كليات لتمويل المؤسسات “لتعزيز التعليم الليبرالي والعملي للدروس الصناعية”, وكان مدرسة منح الأراضي. في 1863 تحت نفس الفعل, رابطة ماساتشوستس تأسست كلية ماساتشوستس الزراعية, التي وضعت باعتبارها جامعة ماساتشوستس أمهرست. في 1866, ذهبت العائدات من مبيعات الأراضي نحو المباني الجديدة في خليج العودة.

وقد دعا معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا بشكل غير رسمي “بوسطن التقنية”. اعتمد المعهد نموذج جامعة بوليتكنك الأوروبي وأكد تعليمات المختبر من وقت مبكر. وعلى الرغم من المشاكل المالية المزمنة, شهد معهد النمو في العقدين الأخيرين من القرن ال19 في عهد الرئيس فرانسيس عماسا ووكر. برامج في الهندسة الكهربائية, المواد الكيميائية, بحري, وقدمت السباكة, وقد تم بناء المباني الجديدة, وحجم الجسم الطلابي ارتفع إلى أكثر من ألف.

جنحت المناهج الدراسية لتركيز المهني, مع تركيز أقل على العلوم النظرية. المدرسة الوليدة لا تزال تعاني من نقص المالية المزمنة التي تحول انتباه قيادة معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا. خلال هذه “بوسطن التقنية” سنوات, رئيس معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا أعضاء هيئة التدريس والخريجين جامعة rebuffedHarvard (وأعضاء هيئة التدريس معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا السابقة) تشارلز دبليو. محاولات إليوت المتكررة لدمج معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا مع مدرسة لورانس العلمي في جامعة هارفارد الكلية. لن يكون هناك لا يقل عن ستة محاولات لاستيعاب معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا في جامعة هارفارد. في مكان ضيق في العودة خليج, معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا لا يمكن أن تحمل لتوسيع منشآتها مكتظة, يقود البحث اليائس عن حرم جديد والتمويل. في نهاية المطاف وافقت مؤسسة معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا اتفاق رسمي للاندماج مع هارفارد, على الرغم من اعتراضات الشديدة من معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا أعضاء هيئة التدريس, الطلاب, والخريجين. ومع ذلك, ا 1917 قرار محكمة القضاء الأعلى ماساتشوستس وضعت على نحو فعال حدا لنظام الاندماج.

في 1916, إدارة معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا وميثاق معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا عبرت نهر تشارلز على البارجة الاحتفالية Bucentaur بنيت لهذه المناسبة, للدلالة على التحرك معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا في حرم جديد واسع يتكون إلى حد كبير من الأراضي شغل على الجهاز طوله على طول الجانب كامبردج لنهر تشارلز. والكلاسيكية الجديدة “تكنولوجيا جديدة” وقد تم تصميم الحرم الجامعي من قبل ويليام W. بوسورث وكانت تمولها تبرعات مجهولة من غامض “السيد. حداد”, ابتداء من عام 1912. في يناير 1920, وكشف الجهات المانحة أن تكون الصناعة جورج إيستمان روتشستر, نيويورك, الذي اخترع طرق إنتاج فيلم ومعالجة, وتأسست ايستمان كوداك. ما بين 1912 و 1920, تبرعت ايستمان $20 مليون ($236.2 مليون في 2015 دولار) في النقد والأوراق المالية كوداك لمعهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا.

وأبقت معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا وتيرة وساعد على دفع عجلة العصر الرقمي. بالإضافة إلى تطوير أسلافه لتقنيات الحوسبة والشبكات الحديثة, الطلاب, العاملين, وأعضاء هيئة التدريس في مشروع لجنة الهدنة العسكرية, مختبر الذكاء الاصطناعي, ونادي السكة الحديد تكنولوجيا نموذج كتب بعض من أقدم الألعاب التفاعلية الفيديو الكمبيوتر مثل Spacewar! وخلقت الكثير من عامية القراصنة الحديثة والثقافة. وقد نشأت العديد من المنظمات الرئيسية ذات الصلة بالحاسوب في معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا منذ 1980s: تم تأسيس مشروع جنو ريتشارد ستالمان ومؤسسة البرمجيات الحرة لاحق في منتصف 1980s في مختبر الذكاء الصناعي; تأسست ميديا ​​لاب MIT في 1985 نيكولاس نيغروبونتي وجيروم ويزنر لتعزيز البحوث في استخدامات جديدة للتكنولوجيا الكمبيوتر; تأسست المنظمة العالمية Consortiumstandards الشبكة في مختبر للعلوم الحاسوب في 1994 تيم بيرنرز لي; حقق مشروع أوبن كورس المواد الدراسية لأكثر من 2,000 دروس معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا المتاحة على الانترنت مجانا منذ 2002; وحاسوب محمول لكل مبادرة الطفل لتوسيع تعليم الحاسوب والاتصال للأطفال انطلقت في جميع أنحاء العالم في 2005.

كان اسمه معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا كلية منحة البحر في 1976 لدعم برامجها في العلوم علم المحيطات والبحرية وسميت كلية المنح الفضاء في 1989 لدعم الطيران والملاحة الفضائية برامج. وعلى الرغم من تناقص الدعم المالي الحكومي على مدى ربع القرن الماضي, أطلق معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا عدة حملات التنمية الناجحة للتوسع كبير في الحرم الجامعي: المهاجع وألعاب القوى الجديدة المباني في الحرم الجامعي الغربي; مركز تانغ لإدارة التعليم; العديد من المباني في الزاوية الشمالية الشرقية من الحرم الجامعي دعم البحوث في علم الأحياء, علوم الدماغ والإدراك, علم الجينوم, التكنولوجيا الحيوية, وأبحاث السرطان; وعدد من جديد “backlot” المباني في شارع فاسار بما في ذلك مركز ستاتا. وشمل البناء في الحرم الجامعي في 2000s التوسعات للمختبر وسائل الإعلام, الحرم الجامعي الشرقي للمدرسة سلون, ومساكن للدراسات العليا في شمال غرب البلاد. في 2006, أطلق الرئيس هوكفيلد مجلس البحوث معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا الطاقة للتحقيق في تحديات متعددة التخصصات التي تطرحها زيادة الاستهلاك العالمي للطاقة.

في 2001, مستوحاة من المصادر المفتوحة والحركات مفتوحة المصدر, أطلق معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا أوبن كورس لجعل المحاضرات, مجموعات مشكلة, المناهج, الامتحانات, والمحاضرات من أن الغالبية العظمى من دوراته على شبكة الإنترنت دون مقابل, على الرغم من دون أي تكليف رسمي للالدراسية الانتهاء. في حين أن تكلفة دعم واستضافة المشروع مرتفعة, توسيع OCW في 2005 لتشمل جامعات أخرى كجزء من اتحاد أوبن كورس, التي تضم حاليا أكثر من 250 المؤسسات الأكاديمية ذات المحتوى المتاحة في ست لغات على الأقل. في 2011, أعلن معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا انها ستقدم شهادة رسمية (ولكن ليس القروض أو درجة) للمشاركين عبر الإنترنت الانتهاء من الدورات الدراسية في ل “Mitxeu” برنامج, مقابل رسوم متواضعة.[86] ال “EDX” وتم تطوير منصة على الانترنت دعم MITx في البداية في شراكة مع جامعة هارفارد، ولها مشابهة “Harvardx” مبادرة. منصة المناهج التعليمية مفتوحة المصدر, وغيرها من الجامعات انضموا بالفعل، وأضاف محتوى الدورة التدريبية الخاصة.

بعد ثلاثة أيام من تفجير ماراثون بوسطن أبريل 2013, وكان ضابط دورية الشرطة معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا شون كولير برصاصة قاتلة من المشتبه بهم جوهر وتامرلان Tsarnaev, تسببتا في مطاردة عنيفة اغلاق الحرم الجامعي ومعظم منطقة العاصمة بوسطن ليوم واحد. بعد اسبوع, وحضر حفل تأبين كولير بأكثر من 10,000 اشخاص, في احتفال للمجتمع معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا استضافت مع الآلاف من ضباط الشرطة من منطقة نيو انجلاند وكندا. في نوفمبر 25, 2013, أعلن معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا إنشاء وسام كولير, تمنح سنويا ل “الفرد أو المجموعة التي تجسد شخصية والصفات التي تعرض موظف كولير بوصفه عضوا في المجتمع معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا وفي جميع جوانب حياته”. وذكر الإعلان أيضا أن “وسوف تشمل المتلقين التاليين لهذه الجائزة أولئك الذين المساهمات تتجاوز حدود مهنتهم, أولئك الذين ساهموا في بناء الجسور عبر المجتمع, وأولئك الذين باستمرار وأنانية أداء أعمال البر”


هل تريد مناقشة معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا ? أي سؤال, التعليقات أو المراجعات


معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا على الخريطة


صورة فوتوغرافية


الصور: معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا الفيسبوك الرسمي

فيديو





مشاركة هذه المعلومات مفيدة مع أصدقائك

معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا استعراض

تاريخ لمناقشة من معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا.
يرجى الملاحظة: EducationBro مجلة يمنحك القدرة على قراءة معلومات حول الجامعات في 96 اللغات, ولكن نطلب منك أن تحترم أعضاء آخرين وترك التعليقات باللغة الإنجليزية.

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Massachusetts Institute of Technology. MIT. Study in USA. Educationbro.com - Study Abroad Magazine

Massachusetts Institute of Technology Details

Enroll at Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Overview


Massachusetts Institute of Technology is a private institution that was founded in 1861.

Tuition fees in Massachusetts Institute of Technology are $48,000 (Aprox.).

MIT is located in Cambridge, Massachusetts, across the Charles River from downtown Boston. Only freshmen students are required to live on campus, but about 70 percent of students choose to remain on campus during their four years. MIT offers housing in one of the coolest dorms in the country, commonly called “The Sponge,” designed by architect Steven Holl. The MIT Engineers boast more than 30 NCAA Division III teams, and their mascot is a beaver, which MIT chose because of its “remarkable engineering and mechanical skill and its habits of industry.” Each class designs a unique ring called the “Brass Rat” that is revealed during sophomore year, a tradition that dates back to 1929.

MIT focuses on scientific and technological research and is divided into five schools and one college. Among its graduate schools are the highly ranked School of Engineering andSloan School of Management, in addition to strong programs in economics, psychology, biology, chemistry, earth sciences, physics and mathematics. Research expenditures at MIT have typically exceeded $650 million each year, with funding coming from government agencies such as the Department of Health and Human Services and Department of Defense. The “Independent Activities Program,” a four-week term between fall and spring semesters in January, offers special courses, lectures, competitions and projects. Distinguished alumni include Apollo 11 astronaut Buzz Aldrin, former U.N. Secretary General Kofi Annan and Federal Reserve Bank Chairman Ben Bernanke.

The mission of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology is to advance knowledge and educate students in science, technology, and other areas of scholarship that will best serve the nation and the world in the 21st century. We are also driven to bring knowledge to bear on the world’s great challenges.

The Institute is an independent, coeducational, privately endowed university, organized into five Schools (architecture and planning; engineering; humanities, arts, and social sciences; management; and science). It has some 1,000 faculty members, more than 11,000 undergraduate and graduate students, and more than 130,000 living alumni.

At its founding in 1861, MIT was an educational innovation, a community of hands-on problem solvers in love with fundamental science and eager to make the world a better place. Today, that spirit still guides how we educate students on campus and how we shape new digital learning technologies to make MIT teaching accessible to millions of learners around the world.

MIT’s spirit of interdisciplinary exploration has fueled many scientific breakthroughs and technological advances. A few examples: the first chemical synthesis of penicillin and vitamin A. The development of radar and creation of inertial guidance systems. The invention of magnetic core memory, which enabled the development of digital computers. Major contributions to the Human Genome Project. The discovery of quarks. The invention of the electronic spreadsheet and of encryption systems that enable e-commerce. The creation of GPS. Pioneering 3D printing. The concept of the expanding universe.

Current research and education areas include digital learning; nanotechnology; sustainable energy, the environment, climate adaptation, and global water and food security; Big Data, cybersecurity, robotics, and artificial intelligence; human health, including cancer, HIV, autism, Alzheimer’s, and dyslexia; biological engineering and CRISPR technology; poverty alleviation; advanced manufacturing; and innovation and entrepreneurship.

MIT’s impact also includes the work of our alumni. One way MIT graduates drive progress is by starting companies that deliver new ideas to the world. A recent study estimates that as of 2014, living MIT alumni have launched more than 30,000 active companies, creating 4.6 million jobs and generating roughly $1.9 trillion in annual revenue. Taken together, this “MIT Nation” is equivalent to the 10th-largest economy in the world!

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


  • School of Architecture and Planning
  • School of Engineering
  • School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences
  • Sloan School of Management
  • School of Science

History


In 1859, a proposal was submitted to the Massachusetts General Court to use newly filled lands in Back Bay, Boston for a “Conservatory of Art and Science”, but the proposal failed. A charter for the incorporation of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, proposed by William Barton Rogers, was signed by the governor of Massachusetts on April 10, 1861.

Two days after the charter was issued, the first battle of the Civil War broke out. After a long delay through the war years, MIT’s first classes were held in the Mercantile Building in Boston in 1865. The new institute was founded as part of the Morrill Land-Grant Colleges Act to fund institutions “to promote the liberal and practical education of the industrial classes”, and was a land-grant school. In 1863 under the same act, the Commonwealth of Massachusetts founded the Massachusetts Agricultural College, which developed as the University of Massachusetts Amherst. In 1866, the proceeds from land sales went toward new buildings in the Back Bay.

MIT was informally called “Boston Tech”. The institute adopted the European polytechnic university model and emphasized laboratory instruction from an early date. Despite chronic financial problems, the institute saw growth in the last two decades of the 19th century under President Francis Amasa Walker. Programs in electrical, chemical, marine, and sanitary engineering were introduced, new buildings were built, and the size of the student body increased to more than one thousand.

The curriculum drifted to a vocational emphasis, with less focus on theoretical science. The fledgling school still suffered from chronic financial shortages which diverted the attention of the MIT leadership. During these “Boston Tech” years, MIT faculty and alumni rebuffedHarvard University president (and former MIT faculty) Charles W. Eliot’s repeated attempts to merge MIT with Harvard College’s Lawrence Scientific School. There would be at least six attempts to absorb MIT into Harvard. In its cramped Back Bay location, MIT could not afford to expand its overcrowded facilities, driving a desperate search for a new campus and funding. Eventually the MIT Corporation approved a formal agreement to merge with Harvard, over the vehement objections of MIT faculty, students, and alumni. However, a 1917 decision by the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court effectively put an end to the merger scheme.

In 1916, the MIT administration and the MIT charter crossed the Charles River on the ceremonial barge Bucentaur built for the occasion, to signify MIT’s move to a spacious new campus largely consisting of filled land on a mile-long tract along the Cambridge side of the Charles River. The neoclassical “New Technology” campus was designed by William W. Bosworth and had been funded largely by anonymous donations from a mysterious “Mr. Smith”, starting in 1912. In January 1920, the donor was revealed to be the industrialist George Eastman of Rochester, New York, who had invented methods of film production and processing, and founded Eastman Kodak. Between 1912 and 1920, Eastman donated $20 million ($236.2 million in 2015 dollars) in cash and Kodak stock to MIT.

MIT has kept pace with and helped to advance the digital age. In addition to developing the predecessors to modern computing and networking technologies, students, staff, and faculty members at Project MAC, the Artificial Intelligence Laboratory, and the Tech Model Railroad Club wrote some of the earliest interactive computer video games like Spacewar! and created much of modern hacker slang and culture. Several major computer-related organizations have originated at MIT since the 1980s: Richard Stallman’s GNU Project and the subsequent Free Software Foundation were founded in the mid-1980s at the AI Lab; the MIT Media Lab was founded in 1985 by Nicholas Negroponte and Jerome Wiesner to promote research into novel uses of computer technology; the World Wide Web Consortiumstandards organization was founded at the Laboratory for Computer Science in 1994 by Tim Berners-Lee; the OpenCourseWare project has made course materials for over 2,000 MIT classes available online free of charge since 2002; and the One Laptop per Child initiative to expand computer education and connectivity to children worldwide was launched in 2005.

MIT was named a sea-grant college in 1976 to support its programs in oceanography and marine sciences and was named a space-grant college in 1989 to support its aeronautics and astronautics programs. Despite diminishing government financial support over the past quarter century, MIT launched several successful development campaigns to significantly expand the campus: new dormitories and athletics buildings on west campus; the Tang Center for Management Education; several buildings in the northeast corner of campus supporting research into biology, brain and cognitive sciences, genomics, biotechnology, and cancer research; and a number of new “backlot” buildings on Vassar Street including the Stata Center. Construction on campus in the 2000s included expansions of the Media Lab, the Sloan School’s eastern campus, and graduate residences in the northwest. In 2006, President Hockfield launched the MIT Energy Research Council to investigate the interdisciplinary challenges posed by increasing global energy consumption.

In 2001, inspired by the open source and open access movements, MIT launched OpenCourseWare to make the lecture notes, problem sets, syllabuses, exams, and lectures from the great majority of its courses available online for no charge, though without any formal accreditation for coursework completed. While the cost of supporting and hosting the project is high, OCW expanded in 2005 to include other universities as a part of the OpenCourseWare Consortium, which currently includes more than 250 academic institutions with content available in at least six languages. In 2011, MIT announced it would offer formal certification (but not credits or degrees) to online participants completing coursework in its “MITx” program, for a modest fee.[86] The “edX” online platform supporting MITx was initially developed in partnership with Harvard and its analogous “Harvardx” initiative. The courseware platform is open source, and other universities have already joined and added their own course content.

Three days after the Boston Marathon bombing of April 2013, MIT Police patrol officer Sean Collier was fatally shot by the suspects Dzhokhar and Tamerlan Tsarnaev, setting off a violent manhunt that shut down the campus and much of the Boston metropolitan area for a day. One week later, Collier’s memorial service was attended by more than 10,000 people, in a ceremony hosted by the MIT community with thousands of police officers from the New England region and Canada. On November 25, 2013, MIT announced the creation of the Collier Medal, to be awarded annually to “an individual or group that embodies the character and qualities that Officer Collier exhibited as a member of the MIT community and in all aspects of his life”. The announcement further stated that “Future recipients of the award will include those whose contributions exceed the boundaries of their profession, those who have contributed to building bridges across the community, and those who consistently and selflessly perform acts of kindness”


Do you want discuss Massachusetts Institute of Technology ? Any question, comments or reviews


Massachusetts Institute of Technology on Map


Photo


Photos: Massachusetts Institute of Technology official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

Massachusetts Institute of Technology reviews

Join to discuss of Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.