جامعة نيويورك

جامعة نيويورك في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. الدراسة في الخارج. EducationBro.com

نيويورك تفاصيل جامعة

  • بلد : الولايات المتحدة
  • مدينة : مدينة نيويورك
  • اختصار : جامعة نيويورك
  • مؤسس : 1831
  • الطلاب (تقريبا.) : 58000
  • لا تنسى أن بحث جامعة نيويورك
التسجيل في جامعة نيويورك

نظرة عامة


جامعة نيويورك هي مؤسسة خاصة تأسست في 1831.

الرسوم الدراسية في جامعة نيويورك هي $50,000 (ولكنها تعمل.).

يقع الحرم الجامعي الرئيسي لجامعة نيويورك في حي غرينتش قرية حية من مانهاتن. جامعة نيويورك هي مدرسة حقيقية المدينة, مع عدم وجود حدود تفصل حرم متميزة من شوارع التفاحة الكبيرة. مضمونة طلاب السكن لجميع السنوات الأربع في العديد من المباني السكنية في جميع أنحاء مانهاتن, ولكن العديد من أوبيركلاسمين يختارون العيش خارج الحرم الجامعي في الشقق في جميع أنحاء المدينة. جامعة نيويورك وحياة اليونانية صغيرة ولكنها نشطة مع أكثر من 25 الأخوة وسكن جامعي للطالبات الفصول. هناك المئات من المنظمات الطلابية في الحرم الجامعي, مثل جامعة نيويورك-TV, التي تدير كل من قناة الجامعة وقناة الأفلام لتوفير الترفيه والمعلومات لمجتمع الجامعة.

وتنقسم جامعة نيويورك في عدد من المدارس والكليات, أكبرها هو كلية الآداب والعلوم. للراغبين في الدراما أو السينما, مدرسة تيش الشهيرة للفنون هو المكان المناسب للذهاب, تقدم كل من برامج البكالوريوس والدراسات العليا في التمثيل, رقص, الكتابة الدرامية, فيلم, التلفزيون وأكثر من ذلك. تشمل الطلاب تيش السابق مديري مارتن سكورسيزي وسبايك لي. وتشمل برامج الدراسات العليا الأخرى كلية ستيرن مرتبة عالية لإدارة الأعمال; مدرسة ستنهاردت الثقافة, التعليم, والتنمية البشرية; كلية حقوق; مدرسة الطب;مدرسة الفضة في العمل الاجتماعي; وروبرت F. مدرسة فاجنر للدراسات العليا في الخدمة العامة.

المدارس / الكليات / الإدارات / الدورات / ملكات


فنون & علم

فنون & يتكون العلم من كلية الآداب & علم, كلية الدراسات العليا في الفنون & علم, والدراسات الليبرالية. تقدم الكلية على B.A. وB.S. درجات في مجموعة واسعة من برامج في العلوم الإنسانية, علم, العلوم الاجتماعية, واللغات الأجنبية وآدابها. تقدم كلية الدراسات العليا ودرجات ماجستير, الآنسة., M.F.A., ودكتوراه. في معظم مجالات العلوم الإنسانية, العلوم الاجتماعية, والعلوم الطبيعية. وتقدم العديد من البرامج الشهادة المتقدمة. كل من المدارس تقدم بالاشتراك مع B.A./M.A. في العديد من التخصصات. برنامج في الدراسات الحرة يقدم الدراسات الليبرالية B.A العالمية. الدرجة العلمية.

  • كلية الآداب & علم
  • كلية الدراسات العليا في الآداب والعلوم
  • الدراسات الليبرالية

كلية طب الأسنان

تقدم كلية طب الأسنان برنامج دكتوراه مسبقا مما أدى إلى طبيب الأسنان درجة جراحة, وكذلك برامج التعليم المتقدمة في تخصصات طب الأسنان وبرنامج الصحة المتحالفة في صحة الأسنان. تقدم الكلية شهادة البكالوريوس, ماجستير, A.A.S., ودكتوراه. برامج الشهادة.

  • كلية طب الأسنان

كلية الصحة العامة في العالم

في كلية الصحة العامة في العالم (CGPH), نحن إعداد الجيل القادم من رواد الصحة العامة مع مهارات التفكير الناقد, فطنة والنهج إنشاء المشاريع اللازمة لإعادة اختراع نموذج الصحة العامة. عبور حدود التخصصات لمعالجة المشاكل الصحية الأكثر إلحاحا في العالم والاستفادة من الموارد عبر المدارس جامعة نيويورك, CGPH يسلم التعليم الصحة العامة متعدد التخصصات حقا في مرحلة البكالوريوس, الماجستير والدكتوراه مستوى, وتدعم أحدث البحوث التعاونية على قضايا الصحة العامة في جميع أنحاء العالم. يقع CGPH في قلب مدينة نيويورك ويمتد إلى شبكة عالمية جامعة نيويورك في ست قارات.

  • كلية الصحة العامة في العالم

معهد كورانت للعلوم الرياضيات

يضم معهد كورانت إدارة جامعة نيويورك الرياضيات وعلم الحاسوب ومجموعة متنوعة من الأنشطة البحثية التي ترعاها. يقدم المعهد درجة الماجستير في العلوم والدكتوراه. برامج في كل من الرياضيات وعلم الحاسوب. معهد كورانت مسؤولة أيضا عن برامج البكالوريوس في جامعة نيويورك في علوم الكمبيوتر والرياضيات.

  • معهد كورانت

مدرسة عفصتين من دراسة الفردي

مدرسة عفصتين من دراسة الفردي تقدم بكالوريوس في الفنون ودرجة الماجستير في الآداب في برامج فردية من الدراسة. يوفر جالاتين تعليم الفنون الحرة المبتكرة والتي تركز على الطالب الذي يقوم الطلاب وصقل خططها الدراسة تحت إشراف أحد المستشارين أعضاء هيئة التدريس.

  • مدرسة عفصتين

معهد الفنون الجميلة

ويكرس معهد الفنون الجميلة لتخريج التدريس والبحوث المتقدمة في تاريخ الفن, علم الآثار, وحفظ والتكنولوجيا من الأعمال الفنية. يقدم المعهد درجة الماجستير في الفنون ودكتوراه في الفلسفة, شهادة متقدمة في حفظ الأعمال الفنية لتلك M.A. طلاب اختيار التخصص في الحفظ, وشهادة في الدراسات التنظيم أصدرت بالاشتراك مع متحف متروبوليتان للفنون كجزء من الدكتوراه. برنامج.

  • معهد الفنون الجميلة

معهد لدراسة العالم القديم

معهد لدراسة العالم القديم هو مركز للأبحاث والدراسات العليا العلمية المتقدمة التعليم, تهدف إلى زراعة التحقيقات المقارنة والضام في العالم القديم. كما أنه يحتوي على برامج الدكتوراه وما بعد الدكتوراه, بهدف تدريب جيل جديد من العلماء الذين سيدخلون المجتمع الأكاديمي العالمي، وأصبح قادة الفكر.

  • معهد لدراسة العالم القديم

ليونارد ن. مدرسة شتيرن لإدارة الأعمال

ليونارد N. مدرسة شتيرن لإدارة الأعمال تقدم شهادة البكالوريوس, ماجستير إدارة الأعمال, ودكتوراه. درجات. قد يتخصص الطلاب في مجال المحاسبة; اقتصاديات; المالية; نظم المعلومات; أعمال عالمية; إدارة; تسويق; إدارة العمليات; إحصائيات; والعلوم الاكتوارية. التسجيل في برنامج الدراسات العليا قد يكون بدوام كامل أو جزئي.

  • ليونارد ن. مدرسة شتيرن لإدارة الأعمال

روبرت F مدرسة فاجنر للدراسات العليا في الخدمة العامة

كمدرسة أعلى مرتبة من الشؤون العامة, تقدم جامعة نيويورك فاغنر المناهج التي تغطي القضايا المحلية والدولية بما في ذلك إدارة غير ربحية, ادارة مالية, تحليل السياسات العامة, دراسات السياسة العامة في المناطق الحضرية, التخطيط العمراني, والسياسات الصحية والإدارة. تقدم جامعة نيويورك فاغنر M.P.A., M.P.A. الصحة, M.U.P., M.P.A. التنفيذي, ودرجة الدكتوراه. كما تقدم جامعة نيويورك واغنر والقصر، والعديد الجامعية, شهادات المهنية, وبرنامج غير درجة.

  • روبرت F. مدرسة فاجنر للدراسات العليا في الخدمة العامة

كلية مرس روري التمريض

كلية مايرز روري التمريض (NYUCN) يقدم درجة البكالوريوس في العلوم مع التخصص في التمريض; ماجستير في علوم وبعد الماجستير برامج شهادة متقدمة; دكتوراه في الفلسفة في نظرية البحوث والتنمية ودكتوراه في درجة ممارسة التمريض. وNYUCN, تقدم الرعاية الصحية إنسانية والجودة للمجتمع العالمي, هو الخيار الاستراتيجي لتعليم التمريض في القرن ال21.

  • كلية مايرز روري التمريض

كلية الدراسات المهنية

كلية الدراسات المهنية (SPS) يجسد خبرات القطاعات الرئيسية حيث يؤدي نيويورك عالميا: العقارات (من خلال معهد Schack); حسن الضيافة, السياحة, الإدارة الرياضية (من خلال مركز بريستون روبرت تيش); علاقات دولية; الإحسان; الاتصالات وسائل الإعلام, نشر, الفنون الرقمية, التصميم; اعمال, تسويق, المالية; والآداب والحلفاء, من بين أمور أخرى. الشبكات المهنية والأكاديمية حيوية تجذب بدوام كامل الجامعية وطلاب الدراسات العليا منغمسين في الحياة الجامعية, المهنيين العاملين في 14 برامج الدراسات العليا, دوافع الكبار كسب درجة البكالوريوس (من خلال شعبة بول ماكغي), وسكان نيويورك من جميع الخلفيات المسجلين في 4,000 دورات التعليم المستمر, برامج شهادة, المؤتمرات, وحلقات دراسية سنويا.

  • كلية الدراسات المهنية
  • مركز بريستون روبرت تيش للضيافة, السياحة, والإدارة الرياضية
  • معهد Schack من العقارات

كلية حقوق

كلية الحقوق هي واحدة من أقدم كليات القانون في الولايات المتحدة. وهو يقدم أول برنامج مهني شامل يؤدي إلى درجة دكتوراة والمناهج الدراسية الدراسات العليا مما يؤدي إلى درجة الماجستير في القانون, ماجستير في الفقه المقارن, ودكتوراه في العلوم القضائية.

  • كلية حقوق

مدرسة الطب

مدرسة جامعة نيويورك للطب والدراسات العليا كلية الطب تقدم دكتوراه في الطب ودرجة الدكتوراه في الفلسفة ودورات للاعتماد المصممة لتلبية احتياجات الطبيب والعلماء والأطباء في الممارسة. مدرسة تشتهر التميز من المؤسسات الأساسية والسريرية في العلوم وكذلك الرعاية الطبية من خلال ممارسات مجموعة أهله.

  • مدرسة الطب
  • مركز جامعة نيويورك الطبي انجون

مدرسة الفضة في العمل الاجتماعي

مدرسة الفضة في العمل الاجتماعي يوفر بيئة غنية للتعليم الأخصائيين الاجتماعيين المهنية, تقدم برامج في البكالوريوس, سادة, ومستوى الدكتوراه. يخدم مدرسة أيضا كمركز تدريب للدراسات العليا رئيسيا لمئات من العاملين في منطقة نيو يورك. من خلال مراكز البحوث وغيرها من المشاريع, والمدرسة هي مصدر رئيسي للبحث والمنشورات العلمية الموجهة نحو تحسين ممارسة العمل الاجتماعي, تقييم الخدمات الاجتماعية وبرامج الصحة النفسية, وتطوير بدائل جديدة لتلبية احتياجات السكان الذين خدموا تحت.

مدرسة ستنهاردت الثقافة, التعليم, والتنمية البشرية

تقدم جامعة نيويورك ستنهاردت الجامعية, سادة, الشهادة المتقدمة, وبرامج درجة الدكتوراه في علم النفس التطبيقي, الفنون والفنون المهن البصرية وفنون الأداء, التعليم, health, وسائل الإعلام. برامج البكالوريوس تجمع التحقيق في الفنون الحرة والعلوم, التمكن من حقل معين من الدراسة, دراسة عالمية, وتطبق التعلم, فترة تدريب, والتجارب الميدانية الأخرى. وتتراوح برامج الدراسات العليا من تلك التي تركز على البحوث المتقدمة والمنح الدراسية لتلك التي تعد الطلاب للممارسة المهنية المتقدمة والقيادة. العديد من برامج الدراسات العليا والتخصصات وتشمل فرصا فريدة للتعلم والبحث العالمي.

مدرسة تاندون الهندسة

وتقع المدرسة في جامعة نيويورك تاندون الهندسة في وسط مدينة بروكلين المجاورة. كلية الهندسة هي واحدة من الأمة المؤسسات الأكثر شمولا الهندسة, العلم التطبيقي, والتكنولوجيا وهو ثاني أقدم في الولايات المتحدة. يمكن للطلاب الانخراط مباشرة أو استكشاف برنامج درجة مزدوجة لدينا في العلوم والهندسة المقدمة بصورة مشتركة من خلال كلية الآداب والعلوم.

 

مدرسة تيش للفنون

مدرسة تيش للفنون يقدم يسانس, B.F.A., M.F.A., M.P.S., M.A. (الانتقال أرشفة الصور وحفظها), و, من خلال كلية الدراسات العليا في الآداب والعلوم, وM.A. (دراسات الأداء أو دراسات السينما) ودرجة الدكتوراه. الإدارات والبرامج التي تقدم التدريب المهني يتصرفون, رقص, تصميم, دراما, دراسات الأداء, السينما والتلفزيون, دراسات السينما, التصوير الفوتوغرافي والتصوير, الكتابة الدرامية, الكتابة المسرحية الموسيقية, الموسيقى المسجلة, والاتصالات التفاعلية.

التاريخ


ألبرت جالاتين, وزير الخزانة تحت توماس جيفرسون وجيمس ماديسون, أعلن عزمه إنشاء “في هذا هائلة وسريعة النمو المدينة … نظام التعليم العقلاني والعملي المناسب للجميع وفتح تكرم لجميع”. وعلى مدى ثلاثة أيام طويلة “اتفاقية الأدبية والعلمية” عقد في قاعة المدينة في 1830 وحضره أكثر من 100 ناقش المندوبون بنود خطة لجامعة جديدة. هذه سكان نيويورك يعتقد أن المدينة بحاجة جامعة صممت للشباب الذين يتم قبولهم على أساس الجدارة بدلا من حقا مكتسبا, الحالة, أو الطبقة الاجتماعية. في ابريل 18, 1831, تأسست مؤسسة, بدعم من مجموعة من أبرز سكان مدينة نيويورك من ofmerchants طبقة كبار الملاك في المدينة, المصرفيين, والتجار. انتخب ألبرت جالاتين كأول رئيس المؤسسة. في ابريل 21, 1831, تلقت مؤسسة جديدة ميثاقها وتأسست كجامعة مدينة نيويورك من قبل المجلس التشريعي للولاية نيويورك; وكثيرا ما تشير الوثائق القديمة لأنه بهذا الاسم. تم الجامعة المعروف شعبيا باسم جامعة نيويورك منذ بدايتها وكان اسمها رسميا جامعة نيويورك في 1896. في 1832, عقدت جامعة نيويورك أول دروس في غرف مستأجرة من أربعة طوابق كلينتون قاعة, تقع قرب قاعة المدينة. في 1835, كلية الحقوق, أول مدرسة جامعة نيويورك المهنية, تأسست. على الرغم من أن قوة دافعة ليجدوا مدرسة جديدة جزئيا رد فعل من جانب الكنيسة المشيخية الإنجيلية إلى ما يرون أنه Episcopalianism من كلية كولومبيا, تم إنشاء جامعة نيويورك غير طائفية, على عكس العديد من الكليات الأمريكية في ذلك الوقت.

وأصبحت واحدة من أكبر الجامعات في البلاد, مع التحاق 9,300 في 1917. كان جامعة نيويورك ساحة itsWashington الحرم الجامعي منذ تأسيسها. الجامعة اشترت الحرم الجامعي في جامعة مرتفعات تي إتش برونكس بسبب الاكتظاظ في الحرم الجامعي القديم. كان جامعة نيويورك أيضا الرغبة في اتباع مزيد من التطوير أبتاون مدينة نيويورك. حدث تحرك جامعة نيويورك في حي برونكس في 1894, بقيادة جهود المستشارة هنري ميتشل MacCracken. كان حرم جامعة مرتفعات أكثر اتساعا من سابقتها كان. كنتيجة لــ, وتم إيواء أكثر من عمليات الجامعة مع كلية جامعية في الآداب والعلوم وكلية الهندسة هناك. تم نقل العمليات الإدارية في جامعة نيويورك في الحرم الجامعي الجديد, ولكن المدارس تخرج من الجامعة وظلت في واشنطن سكوير. في 1914, تأسست واشنطن سكوير كلية مثل كلية وسط المدينة الجامعية من جامعة نيويورك. في 1935, افتتحت جامعة نيويورك لل “ناسو كلية-هوفسترا ميموريال في جامعة نيويورك في هيمبستيد, جزيرة طويلة”. وهذا من شأنه تمديد أصبحت فيما بعد جامعة مستقلة تماما هوفسترا.

في 1950, انتخب جامعة نيويورك لرابطة الجامعات الأمريكية, منظمة غير ربحية من الجامعات البحثية العامة والخاصة الرائدة.

في أواخر 1960s و 1970s في وقت مبكر, استحوذت الأزمة المالية للحكومة مدينة نيويورك والاضطرابات امتدت الى مؤسسات المدينة, بما في ذلك جامعة نيويورك. شعور ضغوط من إفلاس وشيك, رئيس جامعة نيويورك جيمس مسناوجهتون هيستر التفاوض على بيع من الحرم الجامعي مرتفعات جامعة إلى جامعة مدينة نيويورك, التي وقعت في 1973.In 1973, دمج مدرسة جامعة نيويورك للهندسة والعلوم في معهد البوليتكنيك في بروكلين, التي اندمجت في النهاية إلى جامعة نيويورك في 2014 تشكيل مدرسة presentTandon الهندسة. بعد بيع حرم برونكس, اندمجت كلية الجامعة مع كلية واشنطن سكوير. في 1980s, تحت قيادة الرئيس جون Brademas, أطلقت جامعة نيويورك حملة مليار دولار الذي أنفق بالكامل تقريبا على المنشآت تحديث. تم تعيين حملة لإكمال في 15 سنوات, ولكن انتهى يجري الانتهاء منها في 10. في 2003 أطلق الرئيس جون سيكستون ل $2.5 مليار حملة للحصول على أموال للإنفاق خاصة على أعضاء هيئة التدريس وموارد المعونة المالية.

في 2009, استجابت الجامعة لسلسلة من نيويورك تايمز المقابلات التي أظهرت وجود نمط من انتهاكات العمل في لالوليدة أبو ظبي المكان, خلق بيان قيم العمل للعمال الحرم الجامعي أبو ظبي. ا 2014 متابعة المقالة في الأوقات وجدت أنه في حين أن بعض الظروف قد تحسنت, المقاولون للجامعة بمليارات الوقف كانت لا تزال في كثير من الأحيان إخضاع العمال لظروف العمل في العالم الثالث. وثقت هذه المادة أن هذه الشروط تضمنت مصادرة جوازات سفر العمال, العمل الإضافي القسري, رسوم استقدام ومساكن مليئة صرصور حيث كان العمال إلى النوم تحت الأسرة. وفقا للمادة, العمال الذين حاولوا الاحتجاج على المتعاقدين جامعة نيويورك’ وألقي القبض على شروط فورا. وردت الجامعة اليوم من هذه المادة مع الاعتذار للعمال. وقد نشر تقرير آخر، وأنه يصر على أن أولئك الذين كانوا في إضراب تم اعتقالهم من قبل الشرطة ثم الذين نكلوا بهم على الفور في مركز للشرطة. ثم تم ترحيله العديد من أولئك الذين لم تكن المحلي إلى بلادهم. ا 2014 متابعة المقالة في الأوقات وجدت أن بعض الظروف قد تحسنت. في 2015, جامعة نيويورك تعويض الآلاف من العمال المهاجرين في مجمع أبو ظبي لل.

كانت جامعة نيويورك وعضو مؤسس لرابطة الجامعات العالمية, منظمة دولية تتألف من عمداء ورؤساء الجامعات الحضرية عبر قارات العالم الست. الدوري ول 47 جمع ممثلي كل عامين لمناقشة القضايا العالمية في مجال التعليم. ال. شكلت جاي أوليفا المنظمة في 1991 فقط بعد أن افتتح رئيس جامعة نيويورك.

مجلس جامعة نيويورك الأمناء حاليا واحدة من أكبر وأقوى في academia.9 الأمريكية


هل تريد بحث جامعة نيويورك ? أي سؤال, التعليقات أو المراجعات


جامعة نيويورك على الخريطة


صورة فوتوغرافية


الصور: جامعة نيويورك الفيسبوك الرسمي

فيديو





مشاركة هذه المعلومات مفيدة مع أصدقائك

استعراض جامعة نيويورك

تاريخ لمناقشة من جامعة نيويورك.
يرجى الملاحظة: EducationBro مجلة يمنحك القدرة على قراءة معلومات حول الجامعات في 96 اللغات, ولكن نطلب منك أن تحترم أعضاء آخرين وترك التعليقات باللغة الإنجليزية.

New York University

New York University in USA. Study Abroad. EducationBro.com

New York University Details

  • Country : United States of America
  • City : New York City
  • Acronym : NYU
  • Founded : 1831
  • Students (approx.) : 58000
  • Don't forget to discuss New York University
Enroll at New York University

Overview


New York University is a private institution that was founded in 1831.

Tuition fees in New York University are $50,000 (Aprox.).

New York University’s primary campus is located in the lively Greenwich Village neighborhood of Manhattan. NYU is a true city school, with no borders separating a distinct campus from the streets of the Big Apple. Students are guaranteed housing for all four years in the many residence halls throughout Manhattan, but many upperclassmen choose to live off campus in apartments around the city. NYU has a small but active Greek life with more than 25 fraternity and sorority chapters. There are hundreds of student organizations on campus, such as NYU-TV, which operates both the University Channel and the Movie Channel to provide entertainment and information to the university community.

NYU is divided into a number of schools and colleges, the largest of which is the College of Arts and Sciences. For those interested in drama or film, the renowned Tisch School of the Arts is the place to go, offering both undergraduate and graduate programs in acting, dance, dramatic writing, film, television and more. Former Tisch students include directors Martin Scorsese and Spike Lee. Other graduate programs include the highly ranked Stern School of Business; Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, and Human Development; School of Law; School of Medicine;Silver School of Social Work; and Robert F. Wagner Graduate School of Public Service.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


 Arts & Science

Arts & Science consists of the College of Arts & Science, the Graduate School of Arts & Science, and the Liberal Studies. The College offers the B.A. and the B.S. degrees in a wide range of programs in the humanities, science, social sciences, and foreign languages and literatures. The Graduate School offers the degrees of M.A., M.S., M.F.A., and Ph.D. in most areas of the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Several advanced certificate programs are offered. Both schools jointly offer a B.A./M.A. in several disciplines. The program in Liberal Studies offers a Global Liberal Studies B.A. degree.

  • College of Arts & Science
  • Graduate School of Arts and Science
  • Liberal Studies

 College of Dentistry

The College of Dentistry offers a predoctoral program leading to the Doctor of Dental Surgery degree, as well as advanced education programs in the dental specialties and an allied health program in dental hygiene. The College offers B.S., M.A., A.A.S., and Ph.D. degree programs.

  • College of Dentistry

 College of Global Public Health

At the College of Global Public Health (CGPH), we are preparing the next generation of public health pioneers with the critical thinking skills, acumen and entrepreneurial approaches necessary to reinvent the public health paradigm.  Crossing disciplinary boundaries to address the world’s most pressing health problems and drawing from resources across NYU’s schools, CGPH delivers truly interdisciplinary public health education at the undergraduate, master’s and doctoral level, and supports cutting-edge collaborative research on public health issues around the world. CGPH is located in the heart of New York City and extends to NYU’s global network on six continents.

  • College of Global Public Health

 Courant Institute of Mathematic Sciences

The Courant Institute comprises New York University’s Department of Mathematics and Computer Science and a variety of sponsored research activities. The Institute offers Master of Science and Ph.D. programs in both mathematics and computer science. The Courant Institute is also responsible for New York University’s undergraduate programs in computer science and mathematics.

  • Courant Institute

 Gallatin School of Individualized Study

The Gallatin School of Individualized Study offers Bachelor of Arts and Master of Arts degrees in individualized programs of study. Gallatin provides an innovative and student-centered liberal arts education in which students create and hone their own plans of study under the mentorship of faculty advisers.

  • Gallatin School

 Institute of Fine Art

The Institute of Fine Arts is dedicated to graduate teaching and advanced research in the history of art, archaeology, and the conservation and technology of works of art. The Institute offers the degrees of Master of Arts and Doctor of Philosophy, the Advanced Certificate in Conservation of Works of Art for those M.A. students choosing to specialize in Conservation, and the Certificate in Curatorial Studies issued jointly with the Metropolitan Museum of Art as part of the Ph.D. program.

  • Institute of Fine Arts

 Institute for the Study of the Ancient World

The Institute for the Study of the Ancient World is a center for advanced scholarly research and graduate education, intended to cultivate comparative and connective investigations of the ancient world. It will feature doctoral and postdoctoral programs, with the aim of training a new generation of scholars who will enter the global academic community and become intellectual leaders.

  • Institute for the Study of the Ancient World

 Leonard N. Stern School of Business

The Leonard N. Stern School of Business offers B.S., M.B.A., and Ph.D. degrees. Students may specialize in accounting; economics; finance; information systems; international business; management; marketing; operations management; statistics; and actuarial science. Enrollment in the graduate program may be full or part time.

  • Leonard N. Stern School of Business

 Robert F Wagner Graduate School of Public Service

As a top-ranked school of public affairs, NYU Wagner offers curricula covering domestic and international issues including nonprofit management, financial management, public policy analysis, urban public policy studies, urban planning, and health policy and management. NYU Wagner offers the M.P.A., M.P.A.-Health, M.U.P., Executive M.P.A., and Ph.D degrees. NYU Wagner also offers an undergraduate major and several minors, professional certificates, and a non-degree program.

  • Robert F. Wagner Graduate School of Public Service

 Rory Mayers College of Nursing

The Rory Meyers College of Nursing (NYUCN) offers a Bachelor of Science Degree with the major in Nursing; Master of Science and Post-Masters Advanced Certificate Programs; a Doctor of Philosophy in Research Theory and Development and a Doctor of Nursing Practice degree. The NYUCN, advancing humane and quality health care for a global society, is the strategic choice for nursing education in the 21st century.

  • Rory Meyers College of Nursing

 School of Professional Studies

The School of Professional Studies (SPS) captures the expertise of key sectors where New York leads globally: Real Estate (through the Schack Institute); Hospitality, Tourism, Sports Management (through the Preston Robert Tisch Center); Global Affairs; Philanthropy; Communications Media, Publishing, Digital Arts, Design; Business, Marketing, Finance; and the Liberal and Allied Arts, among others. Vibrant professional and academic networks attract full-time undergraduate and graduate students immersed in university life, working professionals in 14 graduate programs, motivated adults earning undergraduate degrees (through the Paul McGhee Division), and New Yorkers of all backgrounds enrolled in 4,000 continuing education courses, certificate programs, conferences, and seminars annually.

  • School of Professional Studies
  • The Preston Robert Tisch Center for Hospitality, Tourism, and Sports Management
  • Schack Institute of Real Estate

 School of Law

The School of Law is one of the oldest law schools in the United States. It offers a comprehensive first professional program leading to the degree of Juris Doctor and a graduate curriculum leading to the degrees of Master of Laws, Master of Comparative Jurisprudence, and Doctor of Juridical Science.

  • School of Law

 School of Medicine

The NYU School of Medicine and Post-Graduate Medical School offers the Doctor of Medicine and Doctor of Philosophy degrees and courses for accreditation designed to meet the needs of physician-scientists and physicians in practice. The School is renowned for the excellence of its basic and clinical science enterprises as well as its clinical care through its family group practices.

  • School of Medicine
  • NYU Langone Medical Center

 Silver School of Social Work

The Silver School of Social Work provides a rich environment for the education of professional social workers, offering programs at the undergraduate, master’s, and doctoral level. The School also serves as a major postgraduate training center for hundreds of practitioners in the New York region. Through its research centers and other projects, the School is a key source of scholarly research and publications directed at improving the practice of social work, evaluating social service and mental health programs, and developing new alternatives for meeting the needs of under-served populations.

Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, and Human Development

NYU Steinhardt offers undergraduate, master’s, advanced certificate, and doctoral degree programs in applied psychology, the visual and performing arts and arts professions, education, health, and media. Undergraduate programs combine inquiry in the liberal arts and sciences, mastery of a specific field of study, global study, and applied learning, internship, and other fieldwork experiences. Graduate programs range from those that emphasize advanced research and scholarship to those that prepare students for advanced professional practice and leadership. Many graduate programs are interdisciplinary and include unique opportunities for global learning and research.

 Tandon School of Engineering

The NYU Tandon School of Engineering is located in neighboring downtown Brooklyn. The School of Engineering is one of the nation’s most comprehensive institutions of engineering, applied science, and technology—and is the second oldest in the United States. Students may directly enroll or explore our dual degree program in science and engineering jointly offered through the College of Arts and Science.

 

  Tisch School of the Arts

The Tisch School of the Arts offers the B.A., B.F.A., M.F.A., M.P.S., M.A. (moving image archiving and preservation), and, through the Graduate School of Arts and Science, the M.A. (performance studies or cinema studies) and Ph.D degrees. Departments and programs offering professional training are acting, dance, design, drama, performance studies, film and television, cinema studies, photography and imaging, dramatic writing, musical theatre writing, recorded music, and interactive telecommunications.

History


Albert Gallatin, Secretary of Treasury under Thomas Jefferson and James Madison, declared his intention to establish “in this immense and fast-growing city … a system of rational and practical education fitting for all and graciously opened to all”. A three-day-long “literary and scientific convention” held in City Hall in 1830 and attended by over 100 delegates debated the terms of a plan for a new university. These New Yorkers believed the city needed a university designed for young men who would be admitted based upon merit rather than birthright, status, or social class. On April 18, 1831, an institution was established, with the support of a group of prominent New York City residents from the city’s landed class ofmerchants, bankers, and traders. Albert Gallatin was elected as the institution’s first president. On April 21, 1831, the new institution received its charter and was incorporated as the University of the City of New York by the New York State Legislature; older documents often refer to it by that name. The university has been popularly known as New York University since its beginning and was officially renamed New York University in 1896. In 1832, NYU held its first classes in rented rooms of four-story Clinton Hall, situated near City Hall. In 1835, the School of Law, NYU’s first professional school, was established. Although the impetus to found a new school was partly a reaction by evangelical Presbyterians to what they perceived as the Episcopalianism of Columbia College, NYU was created non-denominational, unlike many American colleges at the time.

It became one of the nation’s largest universities, with an enrollment of 9,300 in 1917. NYU had itsWashington Square campus since its founding. The university purchased a campus at University Heights inthe Bronx because of overcrowding on the old campus. NYU also had a desire to follow New York City’s development further uptown. NYU’s move to the Bronx occurred in 1894, spearheaded by the efforts of Chancellor Henry Mitchell MacCracken. The University Heights campus was far more spacious than its predecessor was. As a result, most of the university’s operations along with the undergraduate College of Arts and Science and School of Engineering were housed there. NYU’s administrative operations were moved to the new campus, but the graduate schools of the university remained at Washington Square. In 1914, Washington Square College was founded as the downtown undergraduate college of NYU. In 1935, NYU opened the “Nassau College-Hofstra Memorial of New York University at Hempstead, Long Island”. This extension would later become a fully independent Hofstra University.

In 1950, NYU was elected to the Association of American Universities, a nonprofit organization of leading public and private research universities.

In the late 1960s and early 1970s, financial crisis gripped the New York City government and the troubles spread to the city’s institutions, including NYU. Feeling the pressures of imminent bankruptcy, NYU President James McNaughton Hester negotiated the sale of the University Heights campus to the City University of New York, which occurred in 1973.In 1973, the New York University School of Engineering and Science merged into Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn, which eventually merged into NYU in 2014 forming the presentTandon School of Engineering. After the sale of the Bronx campus, University College merged with Washington Square College. In the 1980s, under the leadership of President John Brademas, NYU launched a billion-dollar campaign that was spent almost entirely on updating facilities. The campaign was set to complete in 15 years, but ended up being completed in 10. In 2003 President John Sexton launched a $2.5 billion campaign for funds to be spent especially on faculty and financial aid resources.

In 2009, the university responded to a series of New York Times interviews that showed a pattern of labor abuses in its fledgling Abu Dhabi location, creating a statement of labor values for Abu Dhabi campus workers. A 2014 follow-up article in The Times found that while some conditions had improved, contractors for the multibillion-endowment university were still frequently subjecting their workers to third-world labor conditions. The article documented that these conditions included confiscation of worker passports, forced overtime, recruitment fees and cockroach-filled dorms where workers had to sleep under beds. According to the article, workers who attempted to protest the NYU contractors’ conditions were promptly arrested. The university responded the day of the article with an apology to the workers. Another report was published and it maintains that those who were on strike were arrested by police who then promptly abused them in a police station. Many of those who were not local were then deported to their country. A 2014 follow-up article in The Times found that some conditions had improved. In 2015, NYU compensated thousands of migrant workers on its Abu Dhabi complex.

NYU was the founding member of the League of World Universities, an international organization consisting of rectors and presidents from urban universities across six continents. The league and its 47 representatives gather every two years to discuss global issues in education. L. Jay Oliva formed the organization in 1991 just after he was inaugurated president of New York University.

NYU’s board of trustees is currently one of the largest and most powerful in American academia.9


Do you want discuss New York University ? Any question, comments or reviews


New York University on Map


Photo


Photos: New York University official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

New York University reviews

Join to discuss of New York University.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.