東北大學

Northeasternd大學在波士頓. 研究在美國. 國外教育. EducationBro.com

東北大學細節

  • 國家 : 美國
  • 市 : 波士頓
  • 縮寫 : NEW
  • 成立 : 1898
  • 學生們 (約。) : 25000
  • 不要忘了 討論東北大學
報名在東北大學

概觀


東北大學是成立於私人機構 1898.

在東北大學學費 是 $45,000 (APROX。).

在東北大學, 學生們接受他們的文憑之前取得實質性的工作經驗. 關於 90 他們的大學生涯中,完成至少一個專業合作社東北本科生%的, 工作的一個以上的 2,000 世界各地的雇主, 如GEICO和MTV. 學生可以選擇完成四年的學位, 與兩個合作社的潛力, 五年, 建設時間三個合作社. 在課堂之外和工作場所的, 有超過 300 俱樂部和組織學生, 包括有關 25 聯誼會. 東北哈士奇在NCAA分部I殖民地運動大會競爭. 更多 3,000 學生在俱樂部和校內體育水平的競爭. 大一和大二學生必須住校. 東北大學的校園對面鋪開 73 畝古老的大學城波士頓. 東北對波士頓的地鐵系統自身的停止, 俗稱的T. 城市, 回家無數學院, 在美國歷史上是沉浸十足,為學生活動.

這所大學每年收到巨額研究經費來自美國國家科學基金會和美國國立衛生研究院, 以及美國國土安全部, 能源和國防. 本科生和研究生都可以參與研究, 並在年度研究目前許多項目, 創新獎學金博覽會. 著名的校友包括脫口秀主持人溫迪·威廉斯和宇航員薩科偉業. Napster的創始人肖恩·范甯出席,但沒有從東北大學畢業.

學校 / 高校 / 部門 / 培訓班 / 院系


藝術學院, 媒體與設計

藝術學院, 媒體與設計是學者的充滿活力的社區, 製造商, 和從業者致力於探索和創新通信, 設計, 藝術.

商業D'Amore的,麥金學校

自成立以來 1922, 我們對我們使命的各個方面向前推進: 教學, 研究, 推廣, 和商業實踐的影響.

計算機與信息科學學院

教育計劃結合起來的一個重要應用領域的計算, 如健康或安全.

工程學院

專業從事工程研究和教育, 特別是在能源, 環境的, 健康和安全領域.

健康科學學院Bouvé

培養下一代領導人的醫療保健和生物醫學研究.

法學院

法學院通過嚴格的課程和我們的無與倫比合作社法教育計劃培養未來的律師, 它提供了四個, 與世界各地的雇主全職工作經驗.

專業研究學院

在工作的專業人員提供的方案國際上公認的領導者. 我們專注於你, 學生; 您的需求, 你的興趣, 和你的目標.

科學學院

讓學生新興領域的深刻理解,如化學生物學, 認知和神經科學, 環境和海洋科學, 生物化學, 納米科學, 和網絡科學.

社會科學及人文學院

探索人性和行為的內在問題, 社會和文化的組織和運作, 和人類如何尋求塑造他們分享世界.

計劃未申報學生

我們在體驗式學習簽名的程序為我們的學生未申報的方式組成,探討其在職業生涯的興趣以及專業.

歷史


晚報研究所年輕男性, 位於亨廷頓大道青年會, 在10月舉行的第一類 3, 1898, 開始你會變成東北大學超過四十年的歷程. 法學院那年正式成立與諮詢委員會的協助, 由法哈佛大學學院院長詹姆斯·巴爾·埃姆斯的, 法波士頓大學法學院院長塞繆爾·貝內特, 和詹姆斯法官[R. 鄧巴. 在 1903, 第一汽車工程學院在全國設立其次是商業和金融的學校 1907. 白天課程開始 1909. 在 1916, 法案引入立法馬薩諸塞納入該研究所作為 東北大學. 相當多的辯論和調查後,於3月份通過 1916.

在三月 30, 1917, 弗蘭克·帕默·斯皮爾就任新學院的第一任總統. 五年後,學校更名為 東北大學 以更好地反映其指令的日益深入. 三月 1923, 從立法機關大學的擔保一般學位授予權力, 與A.B.除外, 在S·B·, 和醫學學位.

文科的學院加入 1935. 兩年後,東北大學公司成立, 與構成一個董事會 31 大學成員 8 從YMCA. 在 1948 東北完全分開本身從YMCA.

第二次世界大戰之後開始東北部的女性承認. 在戰後的教育熱潮大學設立教育學院 (1953), 大學學院 (現在所謂的專業研究學院) (1960), 藥劑業及護理和學院 (1964) (後來合併為健康科學學院Bouvé). 刑事司法學院 (1967) 其次, 然後計算機科學學院 (1982) (後改名為計算機與信息科學學院).

到了80年代初的一次夜間通勤學校已發展到近 60,000 參保. 通過 1989-1990 大學入學率已降低至約 40,000 充分, 兼職, 和晚上學生, 在 1990 更多的活在校比通勤學生第一類是畢業. 繼總統肯尼思·萊德退休 1989 大學採取了緩慢和更周到的方法來改變. 歷史, 它已被接受之間 7,500 和 10,000 每年學生根據有關的應用 15,000 至 20,000 與之間的錄取率 50% 和 75% 根據方案. 流失率是巨大的, 用 25% 新生退學率和畢業率低於 50%, 只 40% 的 5,672 本科全日制就讀的學生在秋季 1984 通過畢業 1989.

當總統約翰·庫裡離開辦公室 1996 大學人口已經減少了系統約 25,000. 新任主席理查德·弗里蘭決定將重點放在招生的誰已經畢業作為學校的主要人口類型. 在90年代初期, 大學削減其新生班級規模從各地 4,500 學生 2,800 為了成為更具有選擇性, 並開始了 $485 億建設計劃,其中包括宿舍, 學術和研究設施, 和運動中心. 之間 1996 和 2006 平均SAT分數增加超過 200 點, 保留率急劇上升, 和應用一倍.

大學期間的過渡, 學生經歷了合作教育系統的重組,以更好地整合教室職場經驗中學習. 全日制學位課程從4季度系統轉移到兩種傳統的學期和兩個夏季 “minimesters”, 讓學生都更加深入地探討他們的學術課程和實踐經驗更長, 更實質性的合作社展示位置.

整個改造, 弗里蘭總統經常重複的目標是進入前 100 在中美的. 新聞 & 世界Report'srankings. 有了這個多才多藝的 2005 從學校下班國家研究型大學改造完成. 弗里蘭下台八月 15, 2006 被換下博士. 約瑟夫·阿, 在南California.Aoun大學前院長實行分散管理模式, 給大學迪恩斯以上的預算更多的控制權, 教師招聘決策, 和籌款.

作為一個五年的一部分, $75 學術億投資計劃,從跑 2004 和 2009 大學專注於本科教育, 核心研究生專業課程, 卓越研究中心. 學院最初是由得到加強 100 新的終身和終身教職的教授, 後來擴大到包括 300 在跨學科領域的其他權屬和終身教授. 奧恩也更加重視改善社區關係通過深入到周邊的大學社區的領袖. 此外, 奧恩創造了與其他機構更多的學術合作夥伴在波士頓地區, 例如Tufts, 希伯來大學美術博物館的學校.[需要的引證]

在這段時間, 東北擁有先進的國家排名. 它放置42中 2014-15 我們. 新聞 & 世界報導’小號 “最佳大學指南”, 一個 7 從位置跳變 2013-2014 和 27 地方增益只是因為 2010-2011. 有些人認為,東北最近的排名顯示,大學有崛起“破解碼”學術排名, 而另一些人認為,它已經找到了如何“遊戲系統”.


你要嗎 討論東北大學 ? 任何問題, 意見或評論


東北大學地圖


照片


相片: 東北大學 官方Facebook

視頻





與好友分享這個有用的信息

東北大學的評論

加入東北大學的討論.
請注意: EducationBro雜誌讓你在閱讀有關大學信息的能力 96 語言, 但我們要求您尊重其他成員和英語發表評論.

Northeastern University

Northeasternd University in Boston. Study in USA. Education Abroad. EducationBro.com

Northeastern University Details

Enroll at Northeastern University

Overview


Northeastern University is a private institution that was founded in 1898.

Tuition fees in Northeastern University are $45,000 (Aprox.).

At Northeastern University, students gain substantial work experience before receiving their diplomas. About 90 percent of Northeastern undergraduates complete at least one professional co-op during their college career, working for one of more than 2,000 employers around the world, such as GEICO and MTV. Students can choose to complete their degree in four years, with the potential for two co-ops, or five years, building in time for three co-ops. Outside of the classroom and workplace, there are more than 300 clubs and organizations for students, including about 25 fraternities and sororities. The Northeastern Huskies compete in the NCAA Division I Colonial Athletic Conference. More than 3,000 students compete at the club and intramural sport level. Freshmen and sophomores are required to live on campus. Northeastern’s campus is spread out across 73 acres in the venerable college town of Boston. Northeastern has its own stop on Boston’s subway system, commonly called the T. The city, home to myriad colleges, is steeped in American history and full of activities for students.

The university receives hefty research grants each year from the National Science Foundation and the National Institutes of Health, as well as the Departments of Homeland Security, Energy and Defense. Undergraduates and graduates alike can get involved in research, and many present projects in the annual Research, Innovation and Scholarship Expo. Notable alumni include talk show host Wendy Williams and astronaut Albert Sacco. Napster founder Shawn Fanning attended but did not graduate from Northeastern.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


College of Arts, Media and Design

The College of Arts, Media and Design is a vibrant community of scholars, makers, and practitioners dedicated to exploration and innovation in communication, design, and the arts.

D’Amore-McKim School of Business

Since its founding in 1922, we have pushed ahead on all aspects of our mission: teaching, research, outreach, and impact on business practice.

College of Computer and Information Science

Educational programs combine computing with an important application domain, such as health or security.

College of Engineering

Specializing in engineering research and education, particularly in the energy, environmental, health and security fields.

Bouvé College of Health Science

Educating the next generation of leaders in healthcare and biomedical research.

School of Law

The School of Law prepares future lawyers through rigorous coursework and our unparalleled Cooperative Legal Education Program, which provides four, full-time work experiences with employers throughout the world.

College of Professional Studies

Internationally recognized as a leader in providing programs for working professionals. We’re focused on you, the student; your needs, your interest, and your goals.

College of Science

Giving students a deep understanding of emerging fields such as chemical biology, cognition and neuroscience, environmental and marine science, biochemistry, nanoscience, and network science.

College of Social Sciences and Humanities

Explore intrinsic questions about human nature and behavior, the organization and functioning of societies and cultures, and how humans seek to shape the world they share.

Program for Undeclared Students

Our signature programs in experiential learning are integral ways for our undeclared students to explore their interests in careers as well as majors.

History


The Evening Institute for Younger Men, located at the Huntington Avenue YMCA, held its first class on October 3, 1898, starting what would transform into Northeastern University over the course of four decades. The School of Law was formally established that year with the assistance of an Advisory Committee, consisting of Dean James Barr Ames of the Harvard University School of Law, Dean Samuel Bennett of the Boston University School of Law, and Judge James R. Dunbar. In 1903, the first Automobile Engineering School in the country was established followed by the School of Commerce and Finance in 1907. Day classes began in 1909. In 1916, a bill was introduced into the Massachusetts Legislature to incorporate the institute as Northeastern College. After considerable debate and investigation it was passed in March 1916.

On March 30, 1917, Frank Palmer Speare was inaugurated as the new College’s first President. Five years later the school changed its name to Northeastern University to better reflect the increasing depth of its instruction. In March 1923, the University secured general degree granting power from the Legislature, with the exception of the A.B., the S.B., and the medical degrees.

The College of Liberal Arts was added in 1935. Two years later the Northeastern University Corporation was established, with a board of trustees composed of 31 University members and 8 from the YMCA. In 1948 Northeastern separated itself completely from the YMCA.

Following World War II Northeastern began admitting women. In the postwar educational boom the University created the College of Education (1953), University College (now called the College of Professional Studies) (1960), and the Colleges of Pharmacy and Nursing (1964) (later combined into the Bouvé College of Health Sciences). The College of Criminal Justice (1967) followed, then the College of Computer Science (1982) (since renamed the College of Computer and Information Science).

By the early 1980s the one-time night commuter school had grown to nearly 60,000 enrollees. By 1989-1990 University enrollment had reduced to about 40,000 full, part-time, and evening students, and in 1990 the first class with more live-on-campus than commuter students was graduated. Following the retirement of President Kenneth Ryder 1989 the University adopted a slow and more thoughtful approach to change. Historically, it had been accepting between 7,500 and 10,000 students per year based on applications of about 15,000 to 20,000 with acceptance rates between 50% and 75% depending on program. Attrition rates were huge, with a 25% freshmen dropout rate and graduation rate below 50%, with only 40% of 5,672 undergraduate full-time day students enrolled in the Fall of 1984 graduating by 1989.

When President John Curry left office in 1996 the university population had been systematically reduced to about 25,000. Incoming President Richard Freeland decided to focus on recruiting the type of students who were already graduating as the school’s prime demographic. In the early 1990s, the university cut its freshman class size from around 4,500 students to 2,800 in order to become more selective, and began a $485 million construction program that included residence halls, academic and research facilities, and athletic centers. Between 1996 and 2006 average SAT scores increased more than 200 points, retention rates rose dramatically, and applications doubled.

During the University’s transition, students experienced a reorganization of the co-operative education system to better integrate classroom learning with workplace experience. Full-time degree programs shifted from a four-quarter system to two traditional semesters and two summer “minimesters”, allowing students to both delve more deeply into their academic courses and experience longer, more substantive co-op placements.

Throughout the transformation, President Freeland’s oft-repeated goal was to crack the Top 100 of the U.S. News & World Report’srankings. With this accomplished by 2005 the transformation from commuting school to national research university was complete. Freeland stepped down on August 15, 2006 and was replaced by Dr. Joseph Aoun, a former dean at the University of Southern California.Aoun implemented a decentralized management model, giving university deans more control over their budgets, faculty hiring decisions, and fundraising.

As part of a five-year, $75 million Academic Investment Plan that ran from 2004 and 2009 the University concentrated on undergraduate education, core graduate professional programs, and centers of research excellence. Faculty was originally to be bolstered by 100 new tenured and tenure-track professors, later expanded to include 300 additional tenure and tenure-track faculty in interdisciplinary fields. Aoun also placed more emphasis on improving community relations by reaching out to leaders of the neighborhoods surrounding the university. In addition, Aoun has created more academic partnerships with other institutions in the Boston area, including Tufts, Hebrew College and the School of the Museum of Fine Arts.[citation needed]

During this time, Northeastern has advanced in national rankings. It placed 42nd in the 2014-15 U.S. News & World Report’s “Best Colleges Guide”, a 7 position jump from 2013-2014 and a 27 place gain just since 2010-2011. Some have argued that Northeastern’s recent rise in the rankings shows that the university has “cracked the code” to academic rankings, while others have suggested that it has figured out how to “game the system”.


Do you want discuss Northeastern University ? Any question, comments or reviews


Northeastern University on Map


Photo


Photos: Northeastern University official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

Northeastern University reviews

Join to discuss of Northeastern University.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.