Université du Nord-Est

Université Northeasternd à Boston. Étude aux Etats-Unis. Education à l'étranger. EducationBro.com

Nord-Université Détails

Inscrivez-vous à l'Université du Nord-Est

aperçu


Northeastern University est une institution privée qui a été fondée en 1898.

Les frais de scolarité dans la Northeastern University sont $45,000 (Aprox.).

À l'Université du Nord-Est, les étudiants acquièrent une expérience de travail importante avant de recevoir leurs diplômes. Sur 90 pour cent des étudiants de premier cycle du Nord-complets au moins professionnel co-op une au cours de leur carrière universitaire, travail pour l'un des plus 2,000 les employeurs du monde entier, tel que GEICO et MTV. Les étudiants peuvent choisir de compléter leur diplôme en quatre ans, avec le potentiel de deux coopératives, ou cinq ans, la construction à temps pour trois coopératives. En dehors de la salle de classe et en milieu de travail, Il y a plus que 300 clubs et organisations pour les étudiants, dont environ 25 fraternités et sororités. Les Huskies du nord-est en compétition dans la Athletic Conference Division I de la NCAA Colonial. Plus que 3,000 les étudiants en concurrence au niveau du club et du sport intra-muros. Freshmen et étudiants de deuxième année sont tenus de vivre sur le campus. Le campus du nord-est réparti entre 73 d'acres dans la ville universitaire vénérable de Boston. Nord-Est a son propre arrêt sur le système de métro de Boston, communément appelé T. La ville, maison pour les collèges myriade, est ancré dans l'histoire américaine et plein d'activités pour les étudiants.

L'université reçoit des subventions de recherche lourdes chaque année à partir de la National Science Foundation et les National Institutes of Health, ainsi que les ministères de la Sécurité intérieure, L'énergie et la défense. Undergraduates et diplômés semblables peuvent participer à la recherche, et de nombreux projets actuels dans la recherche annuelle, Innovation et Bourse Expo. anciens notables incluent talk show Wendy Williams et l'astronaute Albert Sacco. Fondateur de Napster Shawn Fanning a assisté, mais n'a pas de diplôme du Nord-Est.

Écoles / collèges / Départements / Cours / facultés


College of Arts, Médias et design

Le Collège des Arts, Médias et Design est une communauté dynamique de chercheurs, décideurs, et praticiens dédiés à l'exploration et de l'innovation en communication, conception, et les arts.

ré’Amore-McKim School of Business

Depuis sa fondation en 1922, nous avons poussé en avant sur tous les aspects de notre mission: enseignement, recherche, sensibilisation, et l'impact sur la pratique des affaires.

Collège d'informatique et sciences de l'information

Les programmes éducatifs combinent l'informatique avec un domaine d'application importante, tels que la santé ou la sécurité.

College of Engineering

Spécialisée dans la recherche et de l'enseignement technique, en particulier dans l'énergie, écologique, domaines de la santé et de la sécurité.

Bouvé College of Health Science

L'éducation de la prochaine génération de leaders en santé et de la recherche biomédicale.

École de droit

L'École de droit prépare les futurs avocats par le biais de cours rigoureux et notre programme de formation juridique de coopération sans précédent, qui fournit quatre, expériences de travail à temps plein avec les employeurs dans le monde entier.

Collège d'études professionnelles

Internationalement reconnu comme un chef de file dans la fourniture de programmes pour les professionnels. nous’ceNtroNs sur vous, l'étudiant; vos besoins, ton intérêt, et vos objectifs.

College of Science

Donner aux élèves une connaissance approfondie des domaines émergents tels que la biologie chimique, cognition et neurosciences, sciences environnementales et marines, biochimie, nanosciences, et la science des réseaux.

Collège des sciences sociales et humaines

Explorer les questions intrinsèques au sujet de la nature humaine et le comportement, l'organisation et le fonctionnement des sociétés et des cultures, et comment les humains cherchent à façonner le monde qu'ils partagent.

Programme pour les étudiants non déclarés

Nos programmes de signature en matière d'apprentissage par l'expérience sont des moyens intégrés pour nos étudiants non déclarés à explorer leurs intérêts dans les carrières, ainsi que les majors.

Histoire


le Institut du soir pour les hommes plus jeunes, situé au YMCA, avenue Huntington, a tenu sa première classe en Octobre 3, 1898, à partir ce qui se transformer en université du Nord-Est au cours de quatre décennies. La faculté de droit a été officiellement créée cette année avec l'aide d'un comité consultatif, composé de Dean James Barr Ames de l'Université Harvard School of Law, Dean Samuel Bennett de l'Université de Boston School of Law, et le juge James R. Dunbar. Dans 1903, la première école d'ingénieurs automobile dans le pays a été créé suivi par l'École de Commerce et des Finances 1907. cours du jour ont commencé en 1909. Dans 1916, un projet de loi a été présenté à l'Assemblée législative du Massachusetts pour incorporer l'Institut Nord-Est College. Après débat et enquête, il a été adopté en Mars 1916.

En mars 30, 1917, Frank Palmer Speare a été inauguré le nouveau collège’s premier président. Cinq ans plus tard, l'école a changé son nom Université du Nord-Est afin de mieux refléter la profondeur croissante de son instruction. En mars 1923, l'Université a obtenu le degré général accordant le pouvoir de l'Assemblée législative, à l'exception de la A.B., le S.B., et les diplômes de médecine.

Le Collège des arts libéraux a été ajouté en 1935. Deux ans plus tard, l'Université du Nord-Est Corporation a été créée, avec un conseil d'administration composé de 31 membres universitaires et 8 du YMCA. Dans 1948 Nord-Est se sépare complètement du YMCA.

Après la Seconde Guerre mondiale a commencé l'admission des femmes du Nord-Est. Dans le boom d'après-guerre de l'éducation de l'Université a créé le Collège de l'éducation (1953), Collège universitaire (maintenant appelé Collège d'études professionnelles) (1960), et les collèges de pharmacie et soins infirmiers (1964) (plus tard, combiné au Collège Bouvé des sciences de la santé). Le Collège de la justice pénale (1967) suivi, puis le Collège des sciences informatiques (1982) (rebaptisé depuis le Collège d'informatique et sciences de l'information).

Au début des années 1980 l'école de banlieue de nuit, un temps était passé à près de 60,000 inscrits. Par 1989-1990 Les effectifs universitaires avait réduit à environ 40,000 plein, à temps partiel, et les étudiants du soir, et en 1990 la première classe avec plus direct sur le campus que les étudiants de banlieue a été obtenu. Suite à la retraite du président Kenneth Ryder 1989 l'Université a adopté une approche lente et plus réfléchie changer. Historiquement, il avait été d'accepter entre 7,500 et 10,000 étudiants par an sur la base des demandes d'environ 15,000 à 20,000 avec des taux d'acceptation entre 50% et 75% selon le programme. Les taux d'abandon étaient énormes, avec un 25% taux d'abandon étudiants de première année et le taux d'obtention du diplôme ci-dessous 50%, avec seulement 40% de 5,672 étudiants de premier cycle de jour à temps plein inscrits à l'automne 1984 diplôme par 1989.

Quand le président John Curry a quitté ses fonctions en 1996 la population universitaire a été systématiquement réduite à environ 25,000. Le nouveau président Richard Freeland a décidé de se concentrer sur le recrutement du type d'étudiants qui étaient déjà à l'école comme son diplôme’s démographique premier. Au début des années 1990, l'université a réduit sa taille de la classe de première année du monde 4,500 étudiants à 2,800 afin de devenir plus sélectif, et a commencé une $485 millions programme de construction comprenant des salles de séjour, installations universitaires et de recherche, et les centres sportifs. Entre 1996 et 2006 les scores moyens SAT ont augmenté plus 200 points, taux de rétention ont augmenté de façon spectaculaire, et les applications doublé.

Au cours de l'Université’s transition, les étudiants ont connu une réorganisation du système d'enseignement coopératif afin de mieux intégrer l'apprentissage en classe avec l'expérience en milieu de travail. programmes d'études à temps plein est passé d'un système à quatre quart à deux semestres traditionnels et deux été « minimesters », permettant aux étudiants de deux approfondir dans leurs cours universitaires et une plus longue expérience, stages de co-op de fond.

Tout au long de la transformation, Président Freeland’s objectif souvent répété était de casser le Top 100 de l'U.S. Nouvelles & Rapport mondial’srankings. Avec ce accompli par 2005 la transformation de l'école à l'université de navettage de la recherche nationale était complète. Freeland a démissionné en Août 15, 2006 et a été remplacé par le Dr. Joseph Aoun, un ancien doyen de l'Université de Southern California.Aoun mis en œuvre un modèle de gestion décentralisée, donnant doyens d'universités plus de contrôle sur leurs budgets, décisions d'embauche du corps professoral, et la collecte de fonds.

Dans le cadre d'une période de cinq ans, $75 millions Plan d'investissement académique qui a eu lieu de 2004 et 2009 l'Université concentrée sur l'éducation de premier cycle, programmes professionnels de deuxième cycle de base, et des centres d'excellence en recherche. Faculté a été à confortée par 100 nouveaux titulaires et les professeurs à la permanence, élargi pour inclure plus tard 300 mandat supplémentaire et le corps professoral à la permanence dans des domaines interdisciplinaires. Aoun a également mis l'accent sur l'amélioration des relations communautaires en se adressant aux dirigeants des quartiers environnants de l'université. en outre, Aoun a créé des partenariats plus académiques avec d'autres institutions dans la région de Boston, y compris Tufts, Hébreu College et l'École du Musée des Beaux-Arts.[citation requise]

Pendant ce temps, Nord-Est a progressé dans le classement national. Il a placé 42ème dans la 2014-15 U.S. Nouvelles & Rapport mondial’s « Guide LEMEILLEURCHOIX », une 7 saut de position de 2013-2014 et 27 gain de place juste depuis 2010-2011. Certains ont fait valoir que l'élévation récente du Nord-Est dans le classement montre que l'université a « craqué le code » au classement académique, tandis que d'autres ont suggéré qu'il a compris comment « le système de jeu ».


Voulez-vous discuter de l'Université du Nord-Est ? Des questions, commentaires ou avis


Nord-Est de l'Université sur la carte


Photo


Photos: Université du Nord-Est Facebook officielle

Vidéo





Partagez cette info utile avec vos amis

Nord-Est des avis universitaires

Inscrivez-vous pour discuter de l'Université du Nord-Est.
NOTEZ S'IL VOUS PLAÎT: EducationBro Magazine vous donne la possibilité de lire des infos sur les universités à 96 langues, mais nous vous demandons de respecter les autres membres et laisser des commentaires en anglais.

Northeastern University

Northeasternd University in Boston. Study in USA. Education Abroad. EducationBro.com

Northeastern University Details

Enroll at Northeastern University

Overview


Northeastern University is a private institution that was founded in 1898.

Tuition fees in Northeastern University are $45,000 (Aprox.).

At Northeastern University, students gain substantial work experience before receiving their diplomas. About 90 percent of Northeastern undergraduates complete at least one professional co-op during their college career, working for one of more than 2,000 employers around the world, such as GEICO and MTV. Students can choose to complete their degree in four years, with the potential for two co-ops, or five years, building in time for three co-ops. Outside of the classroom and workplace, there are more than 300 clubs and organizations for students, including about 25 fraternities and sororities. The Northeastern Huskies compete in the NCAA Division I Colonial Athletic Conference. More than 3,000 students compete at the club and intramural sport level. Freshmen and sophomores are required to live on campus. Northeastern’s campus is spread out across 73 acres in the venerable college town of Boston. Northeastern has its own stop on Boston’s subway system, commonly called the T. The city, home to myriad colleges, is steeped in American history and full of activities for students.

The university receives hefty research grants each year from the National Science Foundation and the National Institutes of Health, as well as the Departments of Homeland Security, Energy and Defense. Undergraduates and graduates alike can get involved in research, and many present projects in the annual Research, Innovation and Scholarship Expo. Notable alumni include talk show host Wendy Williams and astronaut Albert Sacco. Napster founder Shawn Fanning attended but did not graduate from Northeastern.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


College of Arts, Media and Design

The College of Arts, Media and Design is a vibrant community of scholars, makers, and practitioners dedicated to exploration and innovation in communication, design, and the arts.

D’Amore-McKim School of Business

Since its founding in 1922, we have pushed ahead on all aspects of our mission: teaching, research, outreach, and impact on business practice.

College of Computer and Information Science

Educational programs combine computing with an important application domain, such as health or security.

College of Engineering

Specializing in engineering research and education, particularly in the energy, environmental, health and security fields.

Bouvé College of Health Science

Educating the next generation of leaders in healthcare and biomedical research.

School of Law

The School of Law prepares future lawyers through rigorous coursework and our unparalleled Cooperative Legal Education Program, which provides four, full-time work experiences with employers throughout the world.

College of Professional Studies

Internationally recognized as a leader in providing programs for working professionals. We’re focused on you, the student; your needs, your interest, and your goals.

College of Science

Giving students a deep understanding of emerging fields such as chemical biology, cognition and neuroscience, environmental and marine science, biochemistry, nanoscience, and network science.

College of Social Sciences and Humanities

Explore intrinsic questions about human nature and behavior, the organization and functioning of societies and cultures, and how humans seek to shape the world they share.

Program for Undeclared Students

Our signature programs in experiential learning are integral ways for our undeclared students to explore their interests in careers as well as majors.

History


The Evening Institute for Younger Men, located at the Huntington Avenue YMCA, held its first class on October 3, 1898, starting what would transform into Northeastern University over the course of four decades. The School of Law was formally established that year with the assistance of an Advisory Committee, consisting of Dean James Barr Ames of the Harvard University School of Law, Dean Samuel Bennett of the Boston University School of Law, and Judge James R. Dunbar. In 1903, the first Automobile Engineering School in the country was established followed by the School of Commerce and Finance in 1907. Day classes began in 1909. In 1916, a bill was introduced into the Massachusetts Legislature to incorporate the institute as Northeastern College. After considerable debate and investigation it was passed in March 1916.

On March 30, 1917, Frank Palmer Speare was inaugurated as the new College’s first President. Five years later the school changed its name to Northeastern University to better reflect the increasing depth of its instruction. In March 1923, the University secured general degree granting power from the Legislature, with the exception of the A.B., the S.B., and the medical degrees.

The College of Liberal Arts was added in 1935. Two years later the Northeastern University Corporation was established, with a board of trustees composed of 31 University members and 8 from the YMCA. In 1948 Northeastern separated itself completely from the YMCA.

Following World War II Northeastern began admitting women. In the postwar educational boom the University created the College of Education (1953), University College (now called the College of Professional Studies) (1960), and the Colleges of Pharmacy and Nursing (1964) (later combined into the Bouvé College of Health Sciences). The College of Criminal Justice (1967) followed, then the College of Computer Science (1982) (since renamed the College of Computer and Information Science).

By the early 1980s the one-time night commuter school had grown to nearly 60,000 enrollees. By 1989-1990 University enrollment had reduced to about 40,000 full, part-time, and evening students, and in 1990 the first class with more live-on-campus than commuter students was graduated. Following the retirement of President Kenneth Ryder 1989 the University adopted a slow and more thoughtful approach to change. Historically, it had been accepting between 7,500 and 10,000 students per year based on applications of about 15,000 to 20,000 with acceptance rates between 50% and 75% depending on program. Attrition rates were huge, with a 25% freshmen dropout rate and graduation rate below 50%, with only 40% of 5,672 undergraduate full-time day students enrolled in the Fall of 1984 graduating by 1989.

When President John Curry left office in 1996 the university population had been systematically reduced to about 25,000. Incoming President Richard Freeland decided to focus on recruiting the type of students who were already graduating as the school’s prime demographic. In the early 1990s, the university cut its freshman class size from around 4,500 students to 2,800 in order to become more selective, and began a $485 million construction program that included residence halls, academic and research facilities, and athletic centers. Between 1996 and 2006 average SAT scores increased more than 200 points, retention rates rose dramatically, and applications doubled.

During the University’s transition, students experienced a reorganization of the co-operative education system to better integrate classroom learning with workplace experience. Full-time degree programs shifted from a four-quarter system to two traditional semesters and two summer “minimesters”, allowing students to both delve more deeply into their academic courses and experience longer, more substantive co-op placements.

Throughout the transformation, President Freeland’s oft-repeated goal was to crack the Top 100 of the U.S. News & World Report’srankings. With this accomplished by 2005 the transformation from commuting school to national research university was complete. Freeland stepped down on August 15, 2006 and was replaced by Dr. Joseph Aoun, a former dean at the University of Southern California.Aoun implemented a decentralized management model, giving university deans more control over their budgets, faculty hiring decisions, and fundraising.

As part of a five-year, $75 million Academic Investment Plan that ran from 2004 and 2009 the University concentrated on undergraduate education, core graduate professional programs, and centers of research excellence. Faculty was originally to be bolstered by 100 new tenured and tenure-track professors, later expanded to include 300 additional tenure and tenure-track faculty in interdisciplinary fields. Aoun also placed more emphasis on improving community relations by reaching out to leaders of the neighborhoods surrounding the university. In addition, Aoun has created more academic partnerships with other institutions in the Boston area, including Tufts, Hebrew College and the School of the Museum of Fine Arts.[citation needed]

During this time, Northeastern has advanced in national rankings. It placed 42nd in the 2014-15 U.S. News & World Report’s “Best Colleges Guide”, a 7 position jump from 2013-2014 and a 27 place gain just since 2010-2011. Some have argued that Northeastern’s recent rise in the rankings shows that the university has “cracked the code” to academic rankings, while others have suggested that it has figured out how to “game the system”.


Do you want discuss Northeastern University ? Any question, comments or reviews


Northeastern University on Map


Photo


Photos: Northeastern University official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

Northeastern University reviews

Join to discuss of Northeastern University.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.