جامعة نورث وسترن

الجامعة الشمالية الغربية. الدراسة في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. EducationBro - دراسة مجلة بالخارج

نورث وسترن تفاصيل جامعة

  • بلد : الولايات المتحدة
  • مدينة : إيفانستون
  • اختصار : الموت
  • مؤسس : 1851
  • الطلاب (تقريبا.) : 21000
  • لا تنسى أن بحث جامعة نورث وسترن
التسجيل في جامعة نورث وسترن

نظرة عامة


جامعة نورث وسترن هي مؤسسة خاصة تأسست في 1851.

الرسوم الدراسية في جامعة نورث وسترن هي $50,000 (ولكنها تعمل.).

ما بدأ المزارع والمستنقعات في 1850s أصبح الحرم الجامعي نورث وسترن ومدينة إيفانستون, سوء. جامعة نورث وسترن هي مدرسة القسم الأول في العشر مؤتمر رياضي كبير. وقد فاز فريق لاكروس النساء نورث وسترن في عدة بطولات وطنية NCAA. المدرسة ومئات المنظمات الحرم الجامعي الوفاء الطلاب’ المصالح المتنوعة. مضمونة المبتدئون السكن داخل الحرم الجامعي إذا طلب في طلباتهم. المدرسة 11 الكليات السكنية توفر أماكن المعيشة المواضيعية للبرمجة الاجتماعية والأكاديمية. وتقع مبانيها الرئيسية نورث وسترن على طول بحيرة ميشيغان في إيفانستون وشيكاغو. في 2008, افتتح نورث وسترن في الفرع الثالث في الدوحة, قطر.

عشرات من المدارس نورث وسترن, تسعة تقدم برامج البكالوريوس و 10 عرض البرامج المهنية العليا و. وتشمل المدارس العليا مرتبة عالية-نورث وسترن مدرسة theKellogg إدارة, كلية التربية والسياسة الاجتماعية, كلية الحقوق, مدرسة فاينبيرغ للطب, مدرسة ماكورميك للهندسة والعلوم التطبيقية وبرنامج العلوم البيولوجية المشتركة بين الإدارات. ومن المعروف كلية ميديل نورث وسترن لبرنامجها خريج صحافة قوية. ماراثون الرقص نورث وسترن, أنشئت في 1975, هي واحدة من أكبر المؤسسات الخيرية التي تديرها الطلاب في البلاد وأثار أكثر من $14 مليون للجمعيات الخيرية في منطقة شيكاغو. تشمل الخريجين البارزة رئيس بلدية ال55 من شيكاغو رام إيمانويل; متقاعد الامريكى. المحكمة العليا جون بول ستيفنز; الممثل, الكاتب والمخرج زاك براف; الممثل الكوميدي ستيفن كولبير; وتوني الحائز على جائزة الممثلة هيذر هيدلي.

المدارس / الكليات / الإدارات / الدورات / ملكات


  • كلية واينبرغ للفنون والعلوم
  • كلية الاتصالات
  • Schold التعليم والسياسة الاجتماعية
  • مدرسة MrCormick الهندسة والعلوم التطبيقية
  • كلية الدراسات العليا
  • كلية ميديل للصحافة, وسائل الإعلام, الاتصالات التسويقية المتكاملة
  • مدرسة نورث وسترن بريتزكر للقانون
  • مدرسة كيلوغ للإدارة
  • مدرسة فاينبيرغ للطب
  • النحل مدرسة للموسيقى
  • كلية الدراسات المهنية
  • Notherwestern في قطر

التاريخ


تأسيس جامعة نورث وسترن يمكن عزوها إلى اجتماع في مايو 31, 1850 تسعة رجال الاعمال شيكاغو بارزة, القادة والمحامين الميثودية ممن شكلوا فكرة إنشاء الجامعة لخدمة ما كانت يوما ما يعرف باسم إقليم الشمال الغربي. في يناير 28, 1851, منحت الجمعية العامة ولاية ايلينوي ميثاق لل أمناء الشمالية الغربية جامعة, مما يجعلها أول جامعة مستأجرة في إلينوي. تسعة مؤسسي المدرسة, وجميعهم كانوا الميثودية (ثلاثة منهم وزراء), ساجد في الصلاة والعبادة قبل بدء الاجتماع التنظيمي الأول من. على الرغم من أنها تابعة للجامعة مع الكنيسة الأسقفية الميثودية, انهم ملتزمون القبول غير طائفية, معتبرا أن المنطقة الشمالية الغربية ينبغي أن تكون جميع الناس في أراضي وضع حديثا.

جون ايفانز, لمن يدعى إيفانستون, اشترى 379 فدان (153 لديه) من الأرض على طول بحيرة ميشيغان في 1853, وضعت فيلو جادسون خطط لماذا أصبح مدينة إيفانستون, إلينوي. المبنى الأول, كلية قديم, افتتح في نوفمبر 5, 1855. لجمع الأموال لبنائه, نورث وسترن تباع $100 “المنح الدراسية الدائمة” يخول المشتري ورثته لتحرير الدراسية. مبنى آخر,قاعة الجامعة, بنيت في 1869 من نفس الحجر الجيري جوليت باسم برج المياه شيكاغو, كما بنيت في 1869, واحدة من عدد قليل من المباني في قلب شيكاغو من أجل البقاء في شيكاغو العظمى نار 1871. في 1873 دمج كلية إيفانستون للسيدات مع نورث وسترن, وفرانسيس ويلارد, الذي اشتهر لاحقا على سوفرجت وباعتباره واحدا من مؤسسي اتحاد الاعتدال المسيحي المرأة (WCTU), أصبح عميد المدرسة الأولى للمرأة. كلية يلارد سكني (1938) وتكريما لها. اعترف نورث وسترن النساء أول طلابها في 1869, وكانت تخرج أول امرأة في 1874.

أوفد نورث وسترن أول فريق في كرة القدم بين الكليات في 1882, أصبح في وقت لاحق من الأعضاء المؤسسين للمؤتمر الكبيرة عشرة. في 1870s و 1880s, نورث وسترن التابعة نفسها مع المدارس القائمة بالفعل القانون, دواء, وطب الأسنان في شيكاغو. جامعة نورث وسترن مدرسة بريتزكر للقانون هي أقدم مدرسة القانون في شيكاغو. كما ارتفعت الجامعة في الثروة والتميز, وارتفعت معدلات الالتحاق, تم دمج هذه المدارس المهنية مع الكلية الجامعية في إيفانستون; وكانت النتيجة جامعة بحثية حديثة تجمع بين المهنية, تخرج, والبرامج الجامعية, الذي أعطى أهمية متساوية للتعليم والبحوث. دعت رابطة الجامعات الأمريكية الشمالية الغربية لتصبح عضوا في 1917.

تحت رئاسة والتر ديل سكوت من 1920 إلى 1939, بدأت نورث وسترن بناء حرم متكامل في شيكاغو مصممة byJames غامبل روجرز لإيواء المدارس المهنية; أنشئت كلية كيلوغ للإدارة; وبنيت العديد من المباني البارزة في حرم الجامعة في إيفانستون, ملعب Dyche (اسمه الآن ريان الميدان) ومكتبة Deering في غيرها. في 1933, وقد نظرت في مقترح لدمج نورث وسترن مع جامعة شيكاغو لكنه رفض. كان نورث وسترن أيضا واحدة من الجامعات الستة الأولى في البلاد لتأسيس البحرية الاحتياطي ضباط فيلق التدريب (NROTC) في 1920s. نورث وسترن استضافت من أي وقت مضى أول لعبة NCAA كرة السلة للرجال بطولة القسم الأول في 1939 في باتن الملعب الأصلي, الذي تم تدميره في وقت لاحق ونقل أبعد شمالا على طول مع المرصد ديربورن لإفساح المجال لمعهد التكنولوجية.

مثل الجامعات البحثية الأمريكية الأخرى, تحولت المنطقة الشمالية الغربية من الحرب العالمية الثانية. فرانكلين ب. أدى سنايدر الجامعة من 1939 إلى 1949, عندما تقريبا 50,000 تم تدريب ضباط الجيش والعسكريين في حرم إيفانستون وشيكاغو. بعد الحرب, ارتفاع عدد المسجلين تحت G.I. قاد مشروع قانون توسيع جذري في كل الجامعات. في 1948 أبرز الانثروبولوجيا ميلفيل J. تأسست Herskovits برنامج الدراسات الأفريقية في المنطقة الشمالية الغربية, أول مركز من نوعه في مؤسسة أكاديمية الأمريكية. J. فترة روسكو ميلر رئيسا من 1949 إلى 1970 كان مسؤولا عن التوسع في حرم الجامعة في إيفانستون, مع بناء lakefill على بحيرة ميشيغان, نمو أعضاء هيئة التدريس والبرامج الأكاديمية الجديدة, فضلا عن الاحتجاجات الطلابية في عهد فيتنام الاستقطاب. في 1978, ووقعت الهجمات Unabomber الأولى والثانية في جامعة نورث وسترن. وتوترت العلاقات بين إيفانستون ونورث وسترن في أنحاء كثيرة من حقبة ما بعد الحرب بسبب نوبات من النشاط الطلابي التخريبية, الخلافات حول تقسيم المناطق البلدية, ارقام المباني, وإنفاذ القانون, وكذلك القيود المفروضة على بيع المشروبات الكحولية بالقرب من الحرم الجامعي حتى الإعفاء 1972.Northwestern من الالتزامات الضريبية أملاك الدولة والبلدية تحت ميثاق الأصلي تاريخيا مصدرا للبلدة وثوب التوتر.

على الرغم من الدعم الحكومي للجامعات انخفض في 1970s و 1980s, الرئيس أرنولد R. وكان ويبر قادرة على تحقيق الاستقرار المالي الجامعة, مما يؤدي إلى تنشيط الجامعات. كما القبول في الكليات والجامعات ونمت تنافسية بشكل متزايد في 1990s و 2000s, الرئيس هنري S. وشهدت فترة Bienen في زيادة ملحوظة في عدد ونوعية المتقدمين الجامعيين, استمرار التوسع في المرافق وأعضاء هيئة التدريس, وتجدد المنافسة الرياضية. في 1999, كشف طلاب الصحافة الشمالي الغربي المعلومات تبرئة إلينوي المحكوم عليهم بالإعدام سجين أنتوني بورتر قبل يومين من تنفيذ المقرر له, ومشروع البراءة قد برأ منذ 10 المزيد من الرجال. في يناير 11, 2003, في خطاب ألقاه في كلية نورث وسترن في قاعة لينكولن قانون ل, ثم أعلن حاكم إلينوي جورج رايان انه تخفيف الأحكام الصادرة على أكثر من 150 السجناء المحكوم عليهم بالإعدام.

العبارة اللاتينية على ختم نورث وسترن, Quaecumque هي فيرا (مهما كانت الامور صحيحة) ويوجه من رسالة بولس الرسول بولس إلى أهل فيلبي 4:8, في حين يتم أخذ العبارة اليونانية المنقوشة على صفحات كتاب مفتوح من إنجيل يوحنا 1:14: تيانه كلمة مملوءا نعمة والحقيقة. أصبح الأرجواني اللون الرسمي نورث وسترن في 1892, استبدال الأسود والذهب بعد لجنة الجامعة خلص إلى أن الكثير من الجامعات الأخرى قد استخدمت هذه الألوان. اليوم, اللون الرسمي نورث والأرجواني, على الرغم من أن الأبيض هو شيء من اللون الرسمي، وكذلك, يجري ذكرها في أقرب أغنية كل من الجامعة, ألما ماتر (1907) (“حائل إلى اللون الأرجواني, حائل إلى الأبيض”) وفي العديد من المبادئ التوجيهية الجامعة.


هل تريد بحث جامعة نورث وسترن ? أي سؤال, التعليقات أو المراجعات


جامعة نورث وسترن على الخريطة


صورة فوتوغرافية


الصور: جامعة نورث وسترن الفيسبوك الرسمي

فيديو





مشاركة هذه المعلومات مفيدة مع أصدقائك

استعراض جامعة نورث وسترن

تاريخ لمناقشة من جامعة نورث وسترن.
يرجى الملاحظة: EducationBro مجلة يمنحك القدرة على قراءة معلومات حول الجامعات في 96 اللغات, ولكن نطلب منك أن تحترم أعضاء آخرين وترك التعليقات باللغة الإنجليزية.

Northwestern University

Northwestern university. Study in USA. EducationBro - Study Abroad Magazine

Northwestern University Details

  • Country : United States of America
  • City : Evanston
  • Acronym : NWU
  • Founded : 1851
  • Students (approx.) : 21000
  • Don't forget to discuss Northwestern University
Enroll at Northwestern University

Overview


Northwestern University is a private institution that was founded in 1851.

Tuition fees in Northwestern University are $50,000 (Aprox.).

What began as farmland and swampland in the 1850s became the Northwestern campus and the city of Evanston, Ill. Northwestern University is a Division I school in the Big Ten athletic conference. Northwestern’s women’s lacrosse team has won multiple NCAA national championships. The school has hundreds of campus organizations fulfill students’ varied interests. Freshmen are guaranteed on-campus housing if requested in their applications. The school’s 11 residential colleges offer thematic living quarters for social and academic programming. Northwestern’s main campuses are located along Lake Michigan in Evanston and Chicago. In 2008, Northwestern opened a third branch in Doha, Qatar.

Of Northwestern’s dozen schools, nine offer undergraduate programs and 10 offer graduate and professional programs. Northwestern’s highly-ranked graduate schools include theKellogg School of Management, the School of Education and Social Policy, the School of Law, the Feinberg School of Medicine, the McCormick School of Engineering and Applied Sciences and the Interdepartmental Biological Sciences Program. Northwestern’s Medill School is known for its strong journalism graduate program. Northwestern’s Dance Marathon, created in 1975, is one of the largest student-run philanthropies in the country and has raised more than $14 million for Chicago-area charities. Notable alumni include the 55th mayor of Chicago Rahm Emanuel; retired U.S. Supreme Court Justice John Paul Stevens; actor, writer and director Zach Braff; comedian Stephen Colbert; and Tony Award-winning actress Heather Headley.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


  • Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences
  • School of communications
  • Schold of education and social policy
  • MrCormick School of Engineering and Applied Science
  • The Graduate School
  • Medill School of Journalism, Media, Integrated Marketing Communications
  • Northwestern Pritzker School of Law
  • Kellogg School of Management
  • Feinberg School of Medicine
  • Bienen School of Music
  • School of Professional Studies
  • Notherwestern in Qatar

History


The foundation of Northwestern University is traceable to a meeting on May 31, 1850 of nine prominent Chicago businessmen, Methodist leaders and attorneys who had formed the idea of establishing a university to serve what had once been known as the Northwest Territory. On January 28, 1851, the Illinois General Assembly granted a charter to the Trustees of the North-Western University, making it the first chartered university in Illinois. The school’s nine founders, all of whom were Methodists (three of them ministers), knelt in prayer and worship before launching their first organizational meeting. Although they affiliated the university with the Methodist Episcopal Church, they were committed to non-sectarian admissions, believing that Northwestern should serve all people in the newly developing territory.

John Evans, for whom Evanston is named, bought 379 acres (153 ha) of land along Lake Michigan in 1853, and Philo Judson developed plans for what would become the city of Evanston, Illinois. The first building, Old College, opened on November 5, 1855. To raise funds for its construction, Northwestern sold $100 “perpetual scholarships” entitling the purchaser and his heirs to free tuition. Another building,University Hall, was built in 1869 of the same Joliet limestone as the Chicago Water Tower, also built in 1869, one of the few buildings in the heart of Chicago to survive the Great Chicago Fire of 1871. In 1873 the Evanston College for Ladies merged with Northwestern, and Frances Willard, who later gained fame as a suffragette and as one of the founders of the Woman’s Christian Temperance Union (WCTU), became the school’s first dean of women. Willard Residential College (1938) is named in her honor. Northwestern admitted its first women students in 1869, and the first woman was graduated in 1874.

Northwestern fielded its first intercollegiate football team in 1882, later becoming a founding member of the Big Ten Conference. In the 1870s and 1880s, Northwestern affiliated itself with already existing schools of law, medicine, and dentistry in Chicago. Northwestern University Pritzker School of Law is the oldest law school in Chicago. As the university increased in wealth and distinction, and enrollments grew, these professional schools were integrated with the undergraduate college in Evanston; the result was a modern research university combining professional, graduate, and undergraduate programs, which gave equal weight to teaching and research. The Association of American Universities invited Northwestern to become a member in 1917.

Under Walter Dill Scott’s presidency from 1920 to 1939, Northwestern began construction of an integrated campus in Chicago designed byJames Gamble Rogers to house the professional schools; established the Kellogg School of Management; and built several prominent buildings on the Evanston campus, Dyche Stadium (now named Ryan Field) and Deering Library among others. In 1933, a proposal to merge Northwestern with the University of Chicago was considered but rejected. Northwestern was also one of the first six universities in the country to establish a Naval Reserve Officers Training Corps (NROTC) in the 1920s. Northwestern played host to the first-ever NCAA Men’s Division I Basketball Championship game in 1939 in the original Patten Gymnasium, which was later demolished and relocated farther north along with the Dearborn Observatory to make room for the Technological Institute.

Like other American research universities, Northwestern was transformed by World War II. Franklyn B. Snyder led the university from 1939 to 1949, when nearly 50,000 military officers and personnel were trained on the Evanston and Chicago campuses. After the war, surging enrollments under the G.I. Bill drove drastic expansion of both campuses. In 1948 prominent anthropologist Melville J. Herskovits founded the Program of African Studies at Northwestern, the first center of its kind at an American academic institution. J. Roscoe Miller’s tenure as president from 1949 to 1970 was responsible for the expansion of the Evanston campus, with the construction of the lakefill on Lake Michigan, growth of the faculty and new academic programs, as well as polarizing Vietnam-era student protests. In 1978, the first and second Unabomber attacks occurred at Northwestern University. Relations between Evanston and Northwestern were strained throughout much of the post-war era because of episodes of disruptive student activism, disputes over municipal zoning, building codes, and law enforcement, as well as restrictions on the sale of alcohol near campus until 1972.Northwestern’s exemption from state and municipal property tax obligations under its original charter has historically been a source of town and gown tension.

Though government support for universities declined in the 1970s and 1980s, President Arnold R. Weber was able to stabilize university finances, leading to a revitalization of the campuses. As admissions to colleges and universities grew increasingly competitive in the 1990s and 2000s, President Henry S. Bienen’s tenure saw a notable increase in the number and quality of undergraduate applicants, continued expansion of the facilities and faculty, and renewed athletic competitiveness. In 1999, Northwestern student journalists uncovered information exonerating Illinois death row inmate Anthony Porter two days before his scheduled execution, and the Innocence Project has since exonerated 10 more men. On January 11, 2003, in a speech at Northwestern School of Law’s Lincoln Hall, then Governor of Illinois George Ryan announced that he would commute the sentences of more than 150 death row inmates.

The Latin phrase on Northwestern’s seal, Quaecumque sunt vera (Whatsoever things are true) is drawn from the Epistle of Paul to the Philippians 4:8, while the Greek phrase inscribed on the pages of an open book is taken from the Gospel of John 1:14: The Word full of grace and truth. Purple became Northwestern’s official color in 1892, replacing black and gold after a university committee concluded that too many other universities had used these colors. Today, Northwestern’s official color is purple, although white is something of an official color as well, being mentioned in both the university’s earliest song, Alma Mater (1907) (“Hail to purple, hail to white”) and in many university guidelines.


Do you want discuss Northwestern University ? Any question, comments or reviews


Northwestern University on Map


Photo


Photos: Northwestern University official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

Northwestern University reviews

Join to discuss of Northwestern University.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.