佩珀代因大学

佩珀代因大学. 研究在美国, 加利福尼亚州. EducationBro.com

佩珀代因大学细节

  • 国家 : 美国
  • 市 : 马里布
  • 缩写 : PU
  • 成立 : 1937
  • 学生们 (约。) : 7700
  • 不要忘了 讨论佩珀代因大学
报名在佩珀代因大学

概观


佩珀代因大学是成立于私人机构 1937.

在佩珀代因大学学费 是 $50,00 (APROX。).

圣莫尼卡山麓之中挤了, 佩珀代因大学是一个基督教大学 著名的马里布风景如画的位置, 加利福尼亚州. 学校坚持基督的教会的圣经基础,新的传统. 学生必须参加 14 精神事件学期期间他们在佩珀代因时间至少需要三宗教课程. 有基督的教会校园, 以及学生领导部委一把. 教堂外, 学校的运动队, 佩珀的波, 在我司西海岸联盟竞争. 学生也可以玩体育俱乐部, 如曲棍球和铁人三项组, 和各种校内运动, 从躲避球到沙滩排球. 大一和大二学生必须住在学校宿舍在校园内干, 和学生精神生活领袖生活中的​​每个宿舍. 关于 25 %的学生活跃在十几个姐妹会和联谊会, 虽然有在校园里没有官方希腊的住房.

除了在马里布其主校区, 佩珀代因大学在加州提供研究生课程 在洛杉矶校区, 欧文, 圣克拉拉, 恩西诺和西湖村. 学校也有在德国的设施, 英国, 意大利, 瑞士, 阿根廷和华盛顿, 特区. 比佛利山庄是 24 英里,距离迪斯尼乐园 54 英里佩珀的马里布的校园走. 洛杉矶是约一个小时的车程. 学校已毕业数十名顶级运动员, 包括棒球选手兰迪·沃尔夫, 球手杰森 - 奥尔雷德, 篮球运动员亚历克斯·阿克尔和沙滩排球奥运会金牌得主妮可·桑德森, 它的许多著名的校友.

学校 / 高校 / 部门 / 培训班 / 院系


弗兰克 - [R. 快报Seaver学院, 艺术, 与科学

Seaver学院,提供在八个学部学士和硕士学位课程.

教育心理学研究生院

经验与我们的学者,从业者模型行动学习. 在教育心理学研究生院, 一个实用的方法是硕士的一个组成部分和博士学位教育, 以及继续教育研讨会.

乔治大号. 工商管理学院Graziadio

访问通过佩珀代的全适合你的职业目标和个人责任的商业教育- 和兼职MBA, 硕士和学士学位, 和认证课程.

法学院

与法律的佩珀代因大学法学院毕业的法学教育纳入你的个人价值, 这房子的头号计划在全国争议解决.

公共政策学院

在我们的校园马里布获得的全日制课程公共政策的佩珀代因大学学院公共政策硕士学位.

历史


二月里 1937, 对大萧条的背景下,, 乔治·佩珀代创办的大学在洛杉矶市的基督教文理学院. 九月 21, 1937, 167 新的学生 22 不同的国家和其他两个国家进入班在新建校区 34 亩 (14 他有) 在西79街与南佛蒙特大道中南部洛杉矶佛蒙特诺尔斯附近, 提到后来随着佛蒙特大道校园. 四月 6, 1938, 乔治·佩珀代因大学是由西北协会充分认可.

佩珀代建了一个财富创立和发展西部汽车供应公司, 他开始用 $5 投资, 但他的繁荣导致了他更大的野心发现 “人类如何能帮助大多数委托给保健的. 认为这是错误的,建立了大量的财富,并自私地使用它。” 先生. 佩珀代因说出了自己的双重目标为以他名字命名的大学, “第一, 我们要提供一流的, 在文科充分认可的学术训练 … 其次, 我们特别专注于更大的目标,即建立在学生基督般的生活, 教会爱, 并为人类灵魂的热情。”

到了60年代, 年轻的大学生面临着严重的问题. 周围的佛蒙特大道校园区域发展与犯罪和城市衰退问题; 紧张也民权运动兴起原因,并试图绕过它,如加州命题 14, 其挑战联邦公平住房法. 这种情况在爆炸 1965 瓦茨骚乱. 在 1969 在瓦地区激进分子威胁烧毁校园; 然而, 他们被当时的总统所有m通宵谈判后,谈到了它. Norvel Young.In除了, 佛蒙特大道校区运行的空间扩大.

在 1967, 学校开始计划移居本科校园,成立了一个委员会来看看备选地点, 包括在瓦伦西亚网站, 奥兰治县, 文图拉县和西湖村. 佩珀代青睐西湖村的位置,直到亚当森,Rindge家庭, 谁拥有数百英亩的马里布附近, 提供 138 亩 (56 他有) 土地. 尽管在山区现场超过建筑成本的担忧, 学校决定基于其优越的地理位置,以推动和潜在的捐款募集. 建设始于4月 13, 1971 而新校区9月开放供学生报名 1972. 校园和许多建筑都是由总部位于洛杉矶的建筑师和城市规划师威廉·佩雷拉的计划.

老校区卖给了克伦肖基督徒中心, 其部长, 弗雷德里克K.C. 价钱, 然后监督建设 “FaithDome,” 最大的圆顶教会在美国, 休息了 10,000.

佩珀代因获得了大学地位 1971 当加入法学院和业务部门和教育部门成为独立的学校. 在20世纪80年代, 佩珀代上升到突出作为美国的一个’ 保守的政治领导中心, 吸引了来自加州大学洛杉矶分校附近的南加州大学和许多保守倾向的教授. 在佩珀代教员著名保守派人士包括布鲁斯·赫金森, 本·斯坦, 斯塔尔, 阿瑟·拉弗, 道格拉斯·米克, 和丹尼尔·派普斯.

在 1985, 1993 和 1996, 大规模brushfires具有毁灭性的威胁校园, 但消防人员成功保护几乎所有结构. 在十月 21, 2007, 快速移动的野火迫使校园居民在火石场子里和食堂搬迁和住房, 当地的家庭和企业的加撤离. 同样, 另一个十一月 2007 火科拉尔峡谷, 不慎被一群洛杉矶青年掀起, 造成Drescher的校园疏散. 然而, 大多数学生都是在校外的感恩节假期.


你要吗 讨论佩珀代因大学 ? 任何问题, 意见或评论


佩珀代因大学在地图上


照片


 

相片: 佩珀代因大学 官方Facebook

视频





与好友分享这个有用的信息

佩珀代因大学的评论

加入佩珀代因大学的讨论.
请注意: EducationBro杂志让你在阅读有关大学信息的能力 96 语言, 但我们要求您尊重其他成员和英语发表评论.

Pepperdine University

Pepperdine University. Study in USA, California. EducationBro.com

Pepperdine University Details

  • Country : United States of America
  • City : Malibu
  • Acronym : PU
  • Founded : 1937
  • Students (approx.) : 7700
  • Don't forget to discuss Pepperdine University
Enroll at Pepperdine University

Overview


Pepperdine University is a private institution that was founded in 1937.

Tuition fees in Pepperdine University are $50,00 (Aprox.).

Squeezed in among the Santa Monica Mountain foothills, Pepperdine University is a Christian college known for its picturesque location in Malibu, Calif. The school upholds the New Testament-based traditions of the Churches of Christ. Students must attend 14 spiritual events a semester and take at least three religion courses during their time at Pepperdine. There is a Church of Christ on campus, as well as a handful of student-led ministries. Outside of church, the school’s sports teams, the Pepperdine Waves, compete in the Division I West Coast Conference. Students can also play club sports, such as lacrosse and a triathlon group, and a variety of intramural sports, from dodgeball to beach volleyball. Freshmen and sophomores must live in university housing on the dry campus, and student spiritual life leaders live in each residence hall. About 25 percent of students are active in more than a dozen sororities and fraternities, though there is no official Greek housing on campus.

In addition to its main campus in Malibu, Pepperdine University offers graduate courses at California campuses in Los Angeles, Irvine, Santa Clara, Encino and Westlake Village. The school also has facilities in Germany, England, Italy, Switzerland, Argentina and Washington, D.C. Beverly Hills is 24 miles away and Disneyland is 54 miles away from Pepperdine’s Malibu campus. Los Angeles is about an hour’s drive away. The school has graduated dozens of top athletes, including baseball player Randy Wolf, golfer Jason Allred, basketball player Alex Acker and beach volleyball Olympic medalist Nicole Sanderson, among its many notable alumni.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


Frank R. Seaver College of Letters, Arts, and Sciences

Seaver College offers bachelor’s and master’s degree programs within eight academic divisions.

Graduate School of Education and Psychology

Experience learning in action with our scholar-practitioner model. At the Graduate School of Education and Psychology, a hands-on approach is an integral part of master’s and doctoral degree education, as well as continuing education workshops.

George L. Graziadio School of Business and Management

Access a business education that suits your professional goals and personal responsibilities through Pepperdine’s full- and part-time MBA, master’s and bachelor’s degree, and certificate programs.

School of Law

Incorporate your personal values with a graduate legal education at the Pepperdine University School of Law, which houses the number one program for dispute resolution in the nation.

School of Public Policy

Obtain a master of public policy degree at the Pepperdine University School of Public Policy in a full-time program at our Malibu campus.

History


In February 1937, against the backdrop of the Great Depression, George Pepperdine founded the university as a Christian liberal arts college in the city of Los Angeles. On September 21, 1937, 167 new students from 22 different states and two other countries entered classes on a newly built campus on 34 acres (14 ha) at West 79th Street and South Vermont Avenue in the Vermont Knolls neighborhood of South Central Los Angeles, referred to later as the Vermont Avenue campus. By April 6, 1938, George Pepperdine College was fully accredited by the Northwest Association.

Pepperdine had built a fortune founding and developing the Western Auto Supply Company, which he started with a $5 investment, but his prosperity led to his greater ambition to discover “how humanity can be helped most with the means entrusted to care. Considered it wrong to build up a great fortune and use it selfishly.” Mr. Pepperdine voiced his twofold objective for the college that bore his name, “First, we want to provide first-class, fully accredited academic training in the liberal arts … Secondly, we are especially dedicated to a greater goal—that of building in the student a Christ-like life, a love for the church, and a passion for the souls of mankind.”

By the 1960s, the young college faced serious problems. The area around the Vermont Avenue campus developed issues with crime and urban decay; tensions also arose due to the Civil Rights Movement and attempts to circumvent it such as California Proposition 14, which challenged federal fair housing laws. The situation exploded in the 1965 Watts Riots. In 1969 activists in the Watts area threatened to burn down the campus; however, they were talked out of it after all-night negotiations by then-President M. Norvel Young.In addition, the Vermont Avenue campus was running out of room to expand.

In 1967, the school began planning to move the undergraduate campus and a committee was formed to look at alternative locations, including sites in Valencia, Orange County, Ventura County and Westlake Village. Pepperdine favored the Westlake Village location until the Adamson-Rindge family, who owned hundreds of acres near Malibu, offered 138 acres (56 ha) of land. Despite concerns over building costs on the mountainous site, the school decided to move forward based on its prime location and potential for raising donations. Construction began on April 13, 1971 and the new campus opened for student enrollment in September 1972. The campus and many of its buildings were planned by Los Angeles-based architect and urban planner William Pereira.

The old campus was sold to Crenshaw Christian Center, whose minister, Frederick K.C. Price, then oversaw construction of the “FaithDome,” the largest domed-church in the United States, seating over 10,000.

Pepperdine gained university status in 1971 when the school of law was added and the business and education departments became separate schools. In the 1980s, Pepperdine rose to prominence as one of the United States’ leading centers of conservative politics, attracting many conservative-leaning professors from nearby UCLA and USC. Prominent conservatives on the Pepperdine faculty have included Bruce Herschensohn, Ben Stein, Kenneth Starr, Arthur Laffer, Douglas Kmiec, and Daniel Pipes.

In 1985, 1993 and 1996, massive brushfires threatened the campus with destruction, but firefighters successfully protected almost all structures. On October 21, 2007, fast-moving wildfires forced campus residents to relocate and shelter in the Firestone Field house and Cafeteria, plus evacuations of local homes and businesses. Similarly, another November 2007 fire in Corral Canyon, accidentally set off by a group of Los Angeles youths, caused an evacuation of the Drescher Campus. However, most students were off-campus for the Thanksgiving holiday.


Do you want discuss Pepperdine University ? Any question, comments or reviews


Pepperdine University on Map


Photo


 

Photos: Pepperdine University official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

Pepperdine University reviews

Join to discuss of Pepperdine University.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.