جامعة رايس

جامعة رايس . الدراسة في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. التعليم وإخوانه - دراسة مجلة بالخارج

الأرز تفاصيل جامعة

  • بلد : الولايات المتحدة
  • مدينة : هيوستن
  • اختصار : WMRU
  • مؤسس : 1912
  • الطلاب (تقريبا.) : 7000
  • لا تنسى أن بحث جامعة رايس
التسجيل في جامعة رايس

نظرة عامة


جامعة رايس هي مؤسسة خاصة تأسست في 1912.

الرسوم الدراسية في جامعة رايس هي $45,000 (ولكنها تعمل.).

جامعة رايس, يقع في قلب منطقة متحف هيوستن, يوفر لهم حياة طالب حيوية في رابع أكبر مدينة في البلاد. في المقهى رايس, قاعة الولائم حانة وحانة ويلي هم جميع المؤسسات يديرها الطلاب التي تقدم في الحرم الجامعي الطعام والشراب. قبل أن ينزل القدم في الحرم الجامعي, يتم تعيين كافة الطلاب إلى واحد من 11 الكليات السكنية, التي تظل أعضاء حتى لو قرروا التحرك خارج الحرم الجامعي. توفر الكليات السكنية الإسكان, الطعام, والأحداث الأكاديمية والاجتماعية. والبوم رايس تباهى 14 اسكواش نكا القسم الأول فرق رياضية ومعروفة جيدا لبرنامج البيسبول القوي. يتلقى الطلاب تذاكر مجانية لجميع الأحداث الرياضية اسكواش.

وتتألف الأرز من ثماني مدارس, بما في ذلك كلية العلوم الاجتماعية, كلية العلوم الإنسانية وWiess كلية العلوم الطبيعية. وتشمل مدارس عليا في مرتبة عالية جيسي H. مدرسة جونز للدراسات العليا في إدارة الأعمال وجورج R. مدرسة البني الهندسة. يحتوي الأرز أيضا مدرسة يعتبر جيدا للهندسة المعمارية ومدرسة الراعي للموسيقى. رايس تعد موطنا لجيمس. معهد بيكر للسياسة العامة, وهو مؤسسة بحثية غير حزبية, والتي تقدم الدورات الدراسية, التدريب والمحاضرات. عندما وجد المخبر الخاص رايس المسروقة البومة التميمة في المدارس المتنافسة تكساس ايه&M في 1917, بعث رسالة مشفرة إلى الطلاب رايس السماح لهم معرفة أن “سامي” كان موافق, مما جعل اسم على تعويذة المدرسة.

المدارس / الكليات / الإدارات / الدورات / ملكات


كلية الهندسة المعمارية

سوزان M. مدرسة Glasscock من الدراسات المستمرة

  • ماجستير في الدراسات الليبرالية
  • اللغة الإنجليزية كلغة ثانية (ESL)

جورج R. مدرسة البني الهندسة

  • الهندسة الحيوية
  • هندسة الكيميائية والبيولوجية
  • الهندسة المدنية والبيئية
  • الرياضيات الحسابية والتطبيقية
  • علوم الكمبيوتر
  • الهندسة الكهربائية والحاسوب
  • علم المواد
  • مهندس ميكانيكى
  • الإحصاء

كلية العلوم الإنسانية

  • الحضارات البحر الأبيض المتوسط ​​القديمة
  • تاريخ الفن
  • مركز النظرية النقدية والثقافية
  • مركز اللغات & التواصل بين الثقافات
  • مركز دراسات المرأة, جنس, والجنس
  • مركز تشاو الدراسات الآسيوية
  • الدراسات الكلاسيكية والأوروبية
  • الإنجليزية
  • التاريخ
  • مركز أبحاث العلوم الإنسانية
  • الدراسات اليهودية
  • الدراسات الحديثة في العصور الوسطى وأوائل
  • فلسفة
  • سياسة, القانون, والفكر الاجتماعي
  • فقر, العدالة والقدرات البشرية
  • دين
  • الأسبانية, البرتغالية, ودراسات أمريكا اللاتينية
  • الفنون البصرية والمسرحية

جيسي H. مدرسة جونز الدراسات العليا للأعمال

  • برنامج التعليم للريادة الأرز
  • رايس التعليم التنفيذي
  • الأرز ماجستير في إدارة الأعمال
  • ماجستير في إدارة الأعمال للتنفيذيين الأرز
  • ماجستير في إدارة الأعمال رايس للمحترفين
  • دكتوراه. في الاعمال

مدرسة الراعي للموسيقى

مدرسة Wiess العلوم الطبيعية

  • العلوم البيولوجية
  • كيمياء
  • علوم الأرض
  • علم الحركة
  • الرياضيات
  • الفيزياء والفلك

كلية العلوم الاجتماعية

  • علم الانسان
  • العلوم المعرفية
  • اقتصاديات
  • مركز هواية لدراسة تكساس
  • معهد طفا للبحوث الحضري
  • علم اللغة
  • الدراسات الإدارية
  • دراسات السياسة
  • العلوم السياسية
  • علم النفس
  • مركز شل للاستدامة
  • معهد بحوث العلوم الاجتماعية
  • علم الإجتماع
  • إدارة الرياضة

البرامج الأكاديمية والتخصصات وأخرى

  • العلم سلاح الجو
  • برنامج الفيزياء التطبيقية
  • ما وراء مبادرة حدود التقليدية
  • العلوم المعرفية
  • الحاسوبية للعلوم والهندسة
  • شهادة التعليم
  • برامج البيئية
  • القيادة رايس
  • العلوم العسكرية
  • العلوم البحرية
  • علم الأعصاب (تحت السن القانوني) برنامج
  • برنامج الماجستير المهني في العلوم
  • برنامج الماجستير المهني في الهندسة
  • برنامج التعليم للريادة الأرز (BAR)
  • برنامج مسرح الأرز

التاريخ


في 1911 تم وضع حجر الأساس لأول مبنى المعهد, مبنى الإدارة, تعرف الآن باسم قاعة وفيت على شرف الرئيس المؤسس. في سبتمبر 23, 1912, في الذكرى السنوية لاغتيال ويليام مارش رايس, ال معهد رايس مارش وليام لتقدم رسائل, علم, والفن بدأ العمل بطبيعة الحال. 48 الذكور و 29 تم تسجيل الطالبات, عدم دفع الرسوم الدراسية, مع فصول تدرس من قبل أعضاء هيئة التدريس عشر. غير عادي للمرة, قبلت الأرز القبول مختلطة.

مبنى اداري, معهد الأرز, هيوستن, تكساس (بطاقة بريدية, حوالي 1912-1924)

بعد ثلاثة أسابيع من فتح, عقد المهرجان الأكاديمي الدولي مذهلة في الاحتفال, وبذلك رايس انتباه العالم دراسية كاملة ل. بعد اربع سنوات, في حفل تخرج أول, 35 منحت درجة البكالوريوس ودرجة الماجستير واحدة. تلك السنة, صوت الطلبة إلى اعتماد نظام الشرف, التي لا تزال موجودة اليوم. منحت الدكتوراه الأولى في 1918 على mathematicianHubert ايفلين براي.

خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية, وكان معهد الأرز واحدة من 131 الكليات والجامعات على المستوى الوطني التي شاركت في برنامج التدريب كلية البحرية V-12 التي عرضت طلاب مسار إلى لجنة البحرية.

تمثال تذكاري لمؤسس, تمثال من البرونز لوليام مارش رايس يجلس, عقد الخطط الأصلية للحرم, وخصص في 1930, وتثبيتها في رباعية الأكاديمية المركزية, تواجه قاعة وفيت. وقد وضعت التمثال من قبل جون الملاك.[21] واعتمد نظام الكلية السكنية التي اقترحها الرئيس وفيت في 1958, مع إقامة القاعة الشرقية تصبح بيكر كلية, جنوب قاعة مقر كلية becomingWill رايس, القاعة الغربية لتصبح Hanszen كلية, وقاعة Wiess مؤقتة تصبح Wiess كلية.

في 1959, رايس معهد الحاسوب دخل على الإنترنت. 1960 إعادة تسمية معهد رايس رأى رسميا جامعة وليام مارش رايس. تصرف الأرز كوسيط مؤقت في نقل ملكية الأراضي بين النفط المتواضع وشركة تكرير وكالة ناسا, لإنشاء مركز المركبة الفضائية المأهولة التابع لناسا (تسمى الآن مركز جونسون للفضاء) في 1962. الرئيس جون إف. ثم القى كينيدي خطابا في ملعب رايس مجددا أن الولايات المتحدة تنوي الوصول إلى القمر قبل نهاية العقد من 1960s, و “لتصبح الأمة التي ترتاد الفضاء الرائدة في العالم”. وقد ظلت هذه العلاقة من وكالة ناسا مع جامعة رايس ومدينة هيوستن قوي وحتى يومنا هذا.

الميثاق الأصلي للمعهد رايس أملت أن الجامعة تقبل وتثقيف, خالية من الرسوم الدراسية, “سكان الأبيض من هيوستن, وولاية تكساس”. في 1963, قدم مجلس إدارة جامعة رايس دعوى قضائية للسماح الجامعة لتعديل ميثاقها لقبول الطلاب من جميع الأعراق ولتوجيه الاتهام الدراسية. في 1964, الأرز المعدلة رسميا على ميثاق الجامعة بإلغاء الفصل العنصري الدراسات العليا وأقسامها الجامعية. مجلس أمناء جامعة رايس سادت في دعوى قضائية لإبطال لغة عنصرية في الثقة في 1966. بدأت الأرز شحن الدراسية للمرة الأولى في 1965. في نفس السنة, أطلقت الأرز $33 مليون ($248 مليون) حملة تنمية. $43 مليون ($262 مليون) أثيرت من قبل نهايتها في 1970. في 1974, تم تأسيس مدرستين جديدتين في رايس, جيسي H. كلية الدراسات العليا جونز الشؤون الإدارية ومدرسة الراعي للموسيقى. تحدي مؤسسة براون, برنامج لجمع التبرعات تهدف إلى تشجيع الهدايا السنوية, انطلقت في 1976 وانتهت 1996 بعد أن رفعت $185 مليون ($279 مليون). تأسست مدرسة رايس للعلوم الاجتماعية في 1979.

في الحرم الجامعي والإسكان حصرا للرجال على مدى السنوات الأربعين الأولى. وكان جونز كلية الإقامة النسائي الأول في حرم رايس, تليها براون كلية. وفقا لأسطورة, كانت تقع الكليات النسائية هادف في الطرف المقابل من الحرم الجامعي من كليات الرجال القائمة كوسيلة للحفاظ على الحرم الجامعي اللياقة, الذي كان موضع تقدير كبير من قبل إدغار أوديل وفيت, الذين لم تسمح حتى مقاعد ليتم تثبيتها في الحرم الجامعي, خوفا من ان “قد تؤدي إلى شارك في التآخي بين الجنسين”. أعطيت الطريق الذي يربط بين الكليات شمال الى وسط الحرم الجامعي اسم اللسان في خده ل “المشي العذراء”. أصبحت الكليات الفردية مختلطة بين 1973 و 1987, مع الطوابق من جنس واحد من الكليات التي قد تحولهم مختلطة من قبل 2006. بحلول ذلك الوقت, وقد تم بناء العديد من الكليات سكنية جديدة في الحرم الجامعي للتعامل مع النمو في الجامعة, بما في ذلك وفيت كلية, ريتشاردسون كلية معاوية, وكلية مارتيل.

وعقدت القمة الاقتصادية للدول الصناعية في رايس في 1990. في 1993, جيمس و. تم إنشاء معهد بيكر للسياسة العامة. في 1997, جراند الجهاز وريسيتال قاعة Edythe بيتس قديم ومركز النانو العلوم والتكنولوجيا, سميت في 2005 للفائز بجائزة نوبل الراحل وأستاذ رايس ريتشارد E. سمالي, خصصت في رايس. في 1999, تم إنشاء مركز التنوع وتقنية النانو البيئة. صنفت فريق البيسبول رايس البوم #1 في الأمة لأول مرة في هذا العام (1999), عقد صدارة لمدة ثمانية أسابيع.

في 2003, فاز البوم أول بطولة الوطنية في لعبة البيسبول, والتي كانت الأولى من نوعها في الجامعة في أي رياضة جماعية, ضرب جنوب غرب ولاية ميسوري في المباراة الافتتاحية ثم جامعة تكساس وجامعة ستانفورد مرتين كل في طريقه الى اللقب. في 2008, أصدر الرئيس ديفيد Leebron خطة من عشر نقاط بعنوان “رؤية للقرن الثاني” رسم خطط لزيادة تمويل البحوث, تعزيز البرامج القائمة, وزيادة التعاون. جلبت خطة موجة أخرى من الإنشاءات في الحرم الجامعي, بما في ذلك تشييد مبنى العلوم الاحيائية البحوث التعاونية أعيدت تسميته حديثا (تهدف إلى تعزيز التعاون مع المتاخمة مركز تكساس الطبي), مركز ترفيهي جديد، وملعب لكرة السلة أوتري المحكمة تجديده, وإضافة كليتين سكنية جديدة, كلية دنكان وكلية McMurtry.

ابتداء من وقت متأخر 2008, واعتبرت الجامعة الاندماج مع كلية بايلور للطب, على الرغم من أن الاندماج قد رفض في نهاية المطاف 2010. ويضمن اختيار الطلاب الجامعيين رايس حاليا القبول في كلية بايلور للطب بعد التخرج كجزء من برنامج رايس / بايلور علماء الطبية. ووفقا لأستاذ التاريخ جون بولس’ كتاب صدر حديثا بناء جامعة: إدغار أوديل وفيت وتأسيس معهد رايس, وتضمنت الرؤية الأصلية للرئيس الأول للجامعة الآمال في كليات الطب والقانون في المستقبل.


هل تريد بحث جامعة رايس ? أي سؤال, التعليقات أو المراجعات


جامعة رايس على الخريطة


صورة فوتوغرافية


الصور: جامعة رايس الفيسبوك الرسمي

فيديو





مشاركة هذه المعلومات مفيدة مع أصدقائك

استعراض جامعة رايس

تاريخ لمناقشة من جامعة رايس.
يرجى الملاحظة: EducationBro مجلة يمنحك القدرة على قراءة معلومات حول الجامعات في 96 اللغات, ولكن نطلب منك أن تحترم أعضاء آخرين وترك التعليقات باللغة الإنجليزية.

Rice University

Rice University . Study in USA. Education Bro - Study Abroad Magazine

Rice University Details

  • Country : United States of America
  • City : Houston
  • Acronym : WMRU
  • Founded : 1912
  • Students (approx.) : 7000
  • Don't forget to discuss Rice University
Enroll at Rice University

Overview


Rice University is a private institution that was founded in 1912.

Tuition fees in Rice University are $45,000 (Aprox.).

Rice University, located in the heart of Houston’s Museum District, offers a dynamic student life in the nation’s fourth-largest city. The Rice Coffeehouse, Valhalla Pub and Willy’s Pub are all student-run institutions offering on-campus food and drink. Before stepping foot on campus, all students are assigned to one of 11 residential colleges, of which they remain members even if they decide to move off campus. The residential colleges provide housing, dining, and academic and social events. The Rice Owls boast 14 varsity NCAA Division I athletic teams and are well known for their strong baseball program. Students receive free tickets to all varsity athletic events.

Rice is comprised of eight schools, including the School of Social Sciences, School of Humanities and Wiess School of Natural Sciences. Its graduate schools include the highly ranked Jesse H. Jones Graduate School of Business and George R. Brown School of Engineering. Rice also has a well-regarded School of Architecture and the Shepherd School of Music. Rice is home to the James A. Baker III Institute for Public Policy, a nonpartisan think tank, which offers coursework, internships and lectures. When a private detective found Rice’s stolen owl mascot at rival school Texas A&M in 1917, he sent a coded message back to Rice students letting them know that “Sammy” was OK, thus bestowing a name on the school’s mascot.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


School of Architecture

Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies

  • Master of Liberal Studies
  • English as a Second Language (ESL)

George R. Brown School of Engineering

  • Bioengineering
  • Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Computational and Applied Mathematics
  • Computer Science
  • Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Materials Science
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Statistics

School of Humanities

  • Ancient Mediterranean Civilizations
  • Art History
  • Center for Critical and Cultural Theory
  • Center for Languages & Intercultural Communication
  • Center for the Study of Women, Gender, and Sexuality
  • Chao Center for Asian Studies
  • Classical and European Studies
  • English
  • History
  • Humanities Research Center
  • Jewish Studies
  • Medieval and Early Modern Studies
  • Philosophy
  • Politics, Law, and Social Thought
  • Poverty, Justice and Human Capabilities
  • Religion
  • Spanish, Portuguese, and Latin American Studies
  • Visual and Dramatic Arts

Jesse H. Jones Graduate School of Business

  • Rice Education Entrepreneurship Program
  • Rice Executive Education
  • Rice MBA
  • Rice MBA for Executives
  • Rice MBA for Professionals
  • Ph.D. in Business

 The Shepherd School of Music

Wiess School of Natural Sciences

  • BioSciences
  • Chemistry
  • Earth Science
  • Kinesiology
  • Mathematics
  • Physics and Astronomy

School of Social Sciences

  • Anthropology
  • Cognitive Sciences
  • Economics
  • Hobby Center for the Study of Texas
  • Kinder Institute for Urban Research
  • Linguistics
  • Managerial Studies
  • Policy Studies
  • Political Science
  • Psychology
  • Shell Center for Sustainability
  • Social Science Research Institute
  • Sociology
  • Sport Management

Interdisciplinary and Other Academic Programs

  • Air Force Science
  • Applied Physics Program
  • Beyond Traditional Borders Initiative
  • Cognitive Sciences
  • Computational Science and Engineering
  • Education Certification
  • Environmental Programs
  • Leadership Rice
  • Military Science
  • Naval Science
  • Neuroscience (Minor) Program
  • Professional Masters Program in Science
  • Professional Masters Program in Engineering
  • Rice Education Entrepreneurship Program (REEP)
  • Rice Theatre Program

History


In 1911 the cornerstone was laid for the Institute’s first building, the Administration Building, now known as Lovett Hall in honor of the founding president. On September 23, 1912, the anniversary of William Marsh Rice’s murder, the William Marsh Rice Institute for the Advancement of Letters, Science, and Art began course work. 48 male and 29 female students were enrolled, paying no tuition, with classes taught by a dozen faculty. Unusual for the time, Rice accepted coeducational admissions.

Administration Building, Rice Institute, Houston, Texas (postcard, circa 1912-1924)

Three weeks after opening, a spectacular international academic festival was held in celebration, bringing Rice to the attention of the entire academic world. Four years later, at the first commencement ceremony, 35 bachelor’s degrees and one master’s degree were awarded. That year, the student body voted to adopt the Honor System, which still exists today. The first doctorate was conferred in 1918 on mathematicianHubert Evelyn Bray.

During World War II, Rice Institute was one of 131 colleges and universities nationally that took part in the V-12 Navy College Training Program which offered students a path to a Navy commission.

The Founder’s Memorial Statue, a bronze statue of a seated William Marsh Rice, holding the original plans for the campus, was dedicated in 1930, and installed in the central academic quad, facing Lovett Hall. The statue was crafted by John Angel.[21] The residential college system proposed by President Lovett was adopted in 1958, with the East Hall residence becoming Baker College, South Hall residence becomingWill Rice College, West Hall becoming Hanszen College, and the temporary Wiess Hall becoming Wiess College.

In 1959, the Rice Institute Computer went online. 1960 saw Rice Institute formally renamed William Marsh Rice University. Rice acted as a temporary intermediary in the transfer of land between Humble Oil and Refining Company and NASA, for the creation of NASA’s Manned Spacecraft Center (now called Johnson Space Center) in 1962. President John F. Kennedy then made a speech at Rice Stadium reiterating that the United States intended to reach the moon before the end of the decade of the 1960s, and “to become the world’s leading space-faring nation”. The relationship of NASA with Rice University and the city of Houston has remained strong to the present day.

The original charter of Rice Institute dictated that the university admit and educate, tuition-free, “the white inhabitants of Houston, and the state of Texas”. In 1963, the governing board of Rice University filed a lawsuit to allow the university to modify its charter to admit students of all races and to charge tuition. In 1964, Rice officially amended the university charter to desegregate its graduate and undergraduate divisions. The Trustees of Rice University prevailed in a lawsuit to void the racial language in the trust in 1966. Rice began charging tuition for the first time in 1965. In the same year, Rice launched a $33 million ($248 million) development campaign. $43 million ($262 million) was raised by its conclusion in 1970. In 1974, two new schools were founded at Rice, the Jesse H. Jones Graduate School of Management and the Shepherd School of Music. The Brown Foundation Challenge, a fund-raising program designed to encourage annual gifts, was launched in 1976 and ended in 1996 having raised $185 million ($279 million). The Rice School of Social Sciences was founded in 1979.

On-campus housing was exclusively for men for the first forty years. Jones College was the first women’s residence on the Rice campus, followed by Brown College. According to legend, the women’s colleges were purposefully situated at the opposite end of campus from the existing men’s colleges as a way of preserving campus propriety, which was greatly valued by Edgar Odell Lovett, who did not even allow benches to be installed on campus, fearing that they “might lead to co-fraternization of the sexes”. The path linking the north colleges to the center of campus was given the tongue-in-cheek name of “Virgin’s Walk”. Individual colleges became coeducational between 1973 and 1987, with the single-sex floors of colleges that had them becoming co-ed by 2006. By then, several new residential colleges had been built on campus to handle the university’s growth, including Lovett College, Sid Richardson College, and Martel College.

The Economic Summit of Industrialized Nations was held at Rice in 1990. In 1993, the James A. Baker III Institute for Public Policy was created. In 1997, the Edythe Bates Old Grand Organ and Recital Hall and the Center for Nanoscale Science and Technology, renamed in 2005 for the late Nobel Prize winner and Rice professor Richard E. Smalley, were dedicated at Rice. In 1999, the Center for Biological and Environmental Nanotechnology was created. The Rice Owls baseball team was ranked #1 in the nation for the first time in that year (1999), holding the top spot for eight weeks.

In 2003, the Owls won their first national championship in baseball, which was the first for the university in any team sport, beating Southwest Missouri State in the opening game and then the University of Texas and Stanford University twice each en route to the title. In 2008, President David Leebron issued a ten-point plan titled “Vision for the Second Century” outlining plans to increase research funding, strengthen existing programs, and increase collaboration. The plan has brought about another wave of campus constructions, including the erection the newly renamed BioScience Research Collaborative building (intended to foster collaboration with the adjacent Texas Medical Center), a new recreational center and the renovated Autry Court basketball stadium, and the addition of two new residential colleges, Duncan College and McMurtry College.

Beginning in late 2008, the university considered a merger with Baylor College of Medicine, though the merger was ultimately rejected in 2010. Select Rice undergraduates are currently guaranteed admission to Baylor College of Medicine upon graduation as part of the Rice/Baylor Medical Scholars program. According to History Professor John Boles’ recent book University Builder: Edgar Odell Lovett and the Founding of the Rice Institute, the first president’s original vision for the university included hopes for future medical and law schools.


Do you want discuss Rice University ? Any question, comments or reviews


Rice University on Map


Photo


Photos: Rice University official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

Rice University reviews

Join to discuss of Rice University.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.