塔夫茨大學

塔夫茨大學. 研究在美國. EducationBro.com

塔夫茨大學的詳細信息

  • 國家 : 美國
  • 市 : 梅德福
  • 縮寫 : TU
  • 成立 : 1852
  • 學生們 (約。) : 11000
  • 不要忘了 討論塔夫茨大學
報名塔夫茨大學

概觀


塔夫茨大學是成立於私人機構 1852.

在塔夫茨Universityare學費 $50,000 (APROX。).

塔夫茨大學位於馬薩諸塞州的梅德福/薩默維爾區, 從波士頓市中心不遠處. 塔夫茨大學在波士頓的唐人街附近的其他校園, 其中,它的健康科學程序位於, 在格拉夫頓郊區, 家獸醫的卡明斯學校. 所有的新生和二年級學生必須住在校園宿舍, 套房或大學擁有的房屋或公寓. 有些學生群體是騎自行車俱樂部; 該Beelzebubs, 所有男性無伴奏合唱團; 和自由思想協會. 大約有一半的學生參加的海外留學, 約 15 %的學生參加與希臘生活. 塔夫茨大學的官方吉祥物, 巨型大象, 是唯一一所學校的吉祥物在韋氏大詞典上市.

塔夫茨大學由藝術與科學學院; 工程學院, 這符合兩國的本科生和研究生; 和一些研究生和專業學校. 包括在其研究生課程的獸醫醫藥學院卡明斯的高排名的學校. 口腔醫學和弗萊徹學院的國際事務學院的其他著名的研究生院. 塔夫茨'永久藝術收藏品擁有畢加索作品, 安迪·沃霍爾和約翰·薩金特. 著名的校友包括eBay創始人皮埃爾·奧米迪亞, 金球獎獲獎演員彼得·加拉格爾和Guster吉他手和主唱亞當·加德納. 無論Gallagher和加德納唱的Beelzebubs.

學校 / 高校 / 部門 / 培訓班 / 院系


  • 藝術與科學學院
  • 工程學院

歷史


在19世紀40年代, 該教派教會想開在新英格蘭大學, 在 1852, 查爾斯·塔夫茨捐贈 20 畝的教堂,以幫助他們實現這一目標. 查爾斯·塔夫茨繼承土地, 一座荒山這是在波士頓地區的最高點之一, 所謂的核桃山, 什麼他打算當一個家庭成員問與土地做, 他說 “我會放一個輕就可以了。” 他的20英畝的捐贈 (那麼在估值 $20,000) 仍然是在塔夫茨的心臟’ 現在 150 英畝的校園, straddlingSomerville和梅德福. 也正是在 1852 是馬薩諸塞州塔夫茨包車學院, 指出高校應推廣 “如將被推薦的美德,在這種語言的和自由的和有用藝術的虔誠和學習。” 在他任職期間, 巴羅花了一年的旅行,在英國留學. 指示他發起的方法是基於在牛津大學和愛丁堡大學進行了該教程. 現在不止 160 歲, 塔夫斯是波士頓地區第三古老的大學.

由於在此影響最大的一個在建立學院, 巴盧H II成為第一任總統 1853, 和學院大廳, 校園裡的第一座建築, 完成次年. 這個建築現在具有巴羅的名字.[20] 8月開業校園 1854. 巴羅總統去世 1861 和被阿隆佐艾姆斯礦工成功. 雖然不是一個大學畢業生, 他的總統任期被打上了若干改進. 這些措施包括建立預備學校塔夫茨包括戈達德學院, 威斯布魯克學院, 和學院院長. 內戰期間,學院積極支持國家統一的事業. 主要喬治·L的豪宅. 貝爾斯登該站在校園的部分是地下鐵路站. 除了具有最大的類湧現, 63 畢業生曾在聯合軍隊. 一項為期三年的計劃,導致在土木工程學位的第一道菜是成立於 1865, 同年麻省理工學院成立. 通過 1869, 鶴神學院舉辦.

礦工的繼任者, 埃爾默卡彭是第一位總統是Tufts大學校友. 在他的時間, 最早的創新之一是阿莫斯·多爾比爾. 在 1875, 作為物理學系主任, 他安裝的連接他的巴羅霍爾實驗室到他家教授行工作電話. 兩年後,亞歷山大·格雷厄姆·貝爾將獲得專利. Dolbear在塔夫茨大學工作,後來被馬可尼和特斯拉繼續.[22] 其他著名的學者包括威廉·萊斯利·胡珀誰除了擔任代理總裁, 設計用於發電機的第一有槽電樞. 他的學生在學院, 弗雷德里克·斯塔克·皮爾森最終將成為電力行業的美國的先驅之一. 他開始負責其在南美和歐洲的許多城市所使用的電力和電動街車系統的發展. 另一個值得注意的數字是斯蒂芬·中號. 巴布科克誰開發的第一個實際測試,以確定乳脂的牛奶量. 自學院發展, 貝比考克測試幾乎沒有被修改. 化學和生物學部門的擴張在很大程度上被學者亞瑟·邁克爾導致, 誰是在美國第一個有機的化學家之一, 和約翰·斯特林金斯利誰是比較解剖學的第一學者之一.

P. ŧ. 巴納姆是塔夫茨大學最早的恩人之一, 與自然史博物館巴納姆 (巴納姆大廳) 在構建 1884 由他捐贈給安置他的動物標本收藏資金和巨型大象的皮餡, 誰將會成為大學的吉祥物. 該建築站著,直到四月 14, 1975, 當大火燒毀巴納姆大廳, 摧毀整個集合.

在七月 15, 1892, 受託人塔夫茨委員會投票 “該學院將在相同的條款和條件的人打開,女性在本科部門。” 梅特卡夫廳在開業 1893 並擔任宿舍的婦女. 在同一次會議, 受託人投票,以建立研究生院的教師和所提供的博士. 度在生物學和化學. 在 1893 醫學院開設和 1899 波士頓大學口腔被整合進大學. 在 1890, 電氣工程系創建, 在 1892 – 1893 為期三年的計劃的土木工程課程延長到四年. 隨著四年計劃問世度授予的民事或電氣工程的學士均. 塔夫茨大學增加機械工程系和化學工程的部門 1894 和 1898, 分別. 在 1898, 受託人投票正式建立工程的本科學院.

傑克遜女子學院成立於 1910 作為毗鄰塔夫茨大學校園的坐標大學. 在 1980 它與自由藝術學院整合,但在本科藝術和科學部的正式名稱仍是公認, 該 “文科和傑克遜學院的學院。” 本科女性在藝術和科學繼續得到傑克遜學院畢業證書,直到 2002.

塔夫茨擴大了 1933 用法律和外交的弗萊徹學院開幕, 在美國國際事務中的第一個研究生院. 弗萊徹學院開始是塔夫茨大學和哈佛大學的共同努力, 從長期塔夫茨恩人和校友博士捐贈資助. 奧斯汀巴克萊弗萊徹. 塔夫茨假設弗萊徹學院的全面管理中 1935, 與兩校之間的緊密聯繫仍.

在第二次世界大戰期間, 塔夫茨大學是一 131 高校國家,在V-12海軍學院培訓項目參加了這為學生提供一個路徑海軍佣金.

由於第二次世界大戰所實行的旅行限制, 波士頓紅襪隊進行春訓的 1943 大聯盟賽季塔夫茨大學. 在 1955, 持續擴張體現在學校的名字來塔夫茨大學的變化.

大學讓·梅耶擔任主席期間經歷了一些成長 (1976-1992). 邁耶建立塔夫茨’ 獸醫, 營養, 和生物醫學學校和取得的格拉夫頓和校園塔盧瓦爾, 同時通過的一個因素增加養老的尺寸提升大學走出了嚴峻的財政狀況 15.

工程學院的研究生加入到研究其課程開始在 1961, 在四部門提供的碩士學位. 它補充博士. 在機械工程課程 1963, 電氣工程 1964, 工程設計 1981, 和土木工程 1985. 在 1984 CEO和Analogic公司公司和NeuroLogica公司伯納德·馬歇爾戈登董事長創辦了塔夫茨戈登研究所的創建在工程領域,以促進創業第一個教育機構. 在 1991 學校和學院的新英格蘭協會認可的學院授予的工程管理和科學碩士學位 1992 戈登學院成為工程學院的一部分. 在 1999, 工程學院成為工程學院, 當研究生工程項目的監督,從藝術和科學研究生院轉移. 作為同重組的一部分藝術學院和科學成為藝術學院, 科學, 工程 (如&Ë).

在總裁拉里Bacow, 塔夫茨開始了資本運動中 2006 與提高的目標 $1.2 十億落實需要全盲入場 2011. 截至12月 10, 2010 提出的競選 $1.14 十億. 塔夫茨大學獲得了歷史上規模最大的捐贈,因為 2005, 包括 $136 百萬遺產給在慈善信託解散通過設立養老 1911 校友弗蘭克·Ç. 雙, 一個 $100 從eBay創始人皮埃爾·奧米迪亞萬元的禮物,建立奧米迪亞,塔夫茨小額信貸基金, 和一些 $40 萬以上的禮物具體學校.

在 2008, 海因斯興趣和TUDC, 大學的附屬公司, 計劃打破南站大樓地面. 塔夫茨大學已經獲得了從南站航權 1990, 與前總統讓·梅耶展望塔,將是醫學研究中心. 初步設計由西薩佩里進行施工,現在計劃開始在 2017.

十一月 30, 2010, 大學宣布,安東尼·P. 摩納哥, 以前牛津, 將成為第十三屆會長. 摩納哥的就職典禮發生在十月 21, 2011.

截至10月 15, 2015, 計算機科學超越國際關係中最大的主要在大學, 同 466 申報專業.

十二月 22, 2015, 大學宣布,它將運行美術博物館的學校. 此次合併預計完成上月 30, 2016.

十二月 2015, 大學完成了紀念樓梯的重建. 目前一種新的中央能源設施正在建設中,被設定在夏季前完成 2016. 它將取代老化 60 歲的工廠和提供新的高效鍋爐裡面除了直接提供大學與電, 加熱和冷卻水, 將有助於大學切排放. 該大學還正在建設一個新的科學和工程複雜 (SEC). 美國證券交易委員會將採用先進的實驗室的狀態,並促進神經科學和環境科學部門之間的跨學科研究. 新大樓將在夏季完成 2017 並且將加入新修復 574 波士頓大道在教室和實驗室設施擴建的工程學校.


你要嗎 討論塔夫茨大學 ? 任何問題, 意見或評論


塔夫茨大學地圖


照片


相片: 塔夫茨大學 官方Facebook

視頻





與好友分享這個有用的信息

塔夫茨大學的評價

加入塔夫茨大學的討論.
請注意: EducationBro雜誌讓你在閱讀有關大學信息的能力 96 語言, 但我們要求您尊重其他成員和英語發表評論.

Tufts University

Tufts University. Study in USA. EducationBro.com

Tufts University Details

  • Country : United States of America
  • City : Medford
  • Acronym : TU
  • Founded : 1852
  • Students (approx.) : 11000
  • Don't forget to discuss Tufts University
Enroll at Tufts University

Overview


Tufts University is a private institution that was founded in 1852.

Tuition fees in Tufts Universityare $50,000 (Aprox.).

Tufts University is located in the Medford/Somerville area of Massachusetts, not far from downtown Boston. Tufts has additional campuses in Boston’s Chinatown neighborhood, where its health sciences program is located, and in the suburb of Grafton, home to the Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine. All freshmen and sophomores are required to live on campus in dorms, suites or university-owned houses or apartments. Some student groups are the Cycling Club; the Beelzebubs, an all-male a cappella group; and the Freethought Society. About half of the student body participates in study abroad programs, and approximately 15 percent of students are affiliated with Greek life. Tufts’ official mascot, Jumbo the elephant, is the only school mascot listed in Webster’s Dictionary.

Tufts is comprised of the School of Arts and Sciences; the School of Engineering, which serves both undergraduate and graduate students; and a number of graduate and professional schools. Included in its graduate programs are the highly ranked School of Medicine and Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine. The School of Dental Medicine and Fletcher School for international affairs are other notable graduate schools. Tufts’ permanent art collection features works by Pablo Picasso, Andy Warhol and John Singer Sargent. Notable alumni include eBay founder Pierre Omidyar, Golden Globe-winning actor Peter Gallagher and Guster guitarist and vocalist Adam Gardner. Both Gallagher and Gardner sang in the Beelzebubs.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


  • School of Arts and Sciences
  • School of Engineering

History


In the 1840s, the Universalist church wanted to open a college in New England, and in 1852, Charles Tufts donated 20 acres to the church to help them achieve this goal. Charles Tufts had inherited the land, a barren hill which was one of the highest points in the Boston area, called Walnut Hill, and when asked by a family member what he intended to do with the land, he said “I will put a light on it.” His 20-acre donation (then valued at $20,000) is still at the heart of Tufts’ now 150 acre campus, straddlingSomerville and Medford. It was also in 1852 that the Commonwealth of Massachusetts chartered Tufts College, noting the college should promote “virtue and piety and learning in such of the languages and liberal and useful arts as shall be recommended.” During his tenure, Ballou spent a year travelling and studying in the United Kingdom. The methods of instruction which he initiated were based on the tutorials that were conducted in the University of Oxford and the University of Edinburgh. Now more than 160 years old, Tufts is the third oldest college in the Boston area.

Having been one of the biggest influences in the establishment of the College, Hosea Ballou II became the first president in 1853, and College Hall, the first building on campus, was completed the following year. That building now bears Ballou’s name.[20] The campus opened in August 1854. President Ballou died in 1861 and was succeeded by Alonzo Ames Miner. Though not a college graduate, his presidency was marked by several advances. These include the establishment of preparatory schools for Tufts which include Goddard Seminary, Westbrook Seminary, and Dean Academy. During the Civil War the college actively supported the Union cause. The mansion of Major George L. Stearns which stood on part of the campus was a station on the Underground Railroad. In addition to having the largest classes spring up, 63 graduates served in the Union army. The first course of a three-year program leading to a degree in civil engineering was established in 1865, the same year MIT was founded. By 1869, the Crane Theological School was organized.

Miner’s successor, Elmer Capen was the first president to be a Tufts alumnus. During his time, one of the earliest innovators was Amos Dolbear. In 1875, as chair of the physics department, he installed a working telephone which connected his lab in Ballou Hall to his home on Professors Row. Two years later Alexander Graham Bell would receive the patent. Dolbear’s work in Tufts was later continued by Marconi and Tesla.[22] Other famous scholars include William Leslie Hooper who in addition to serving as acting president, designed the first slotted armature for dynamos. His student at the college, Frederick Stark Pearson would eventually become one of America’s pioneers of the electrical power industry. He became responsible for the development of the electric power and electric street car systems which many cities in South America and Europe used. Another notable figure is Stephen M. Babcock who developed the first practical test to determine the amount of butterfat in milk. Since its development in the college, the Babcock Test has hardly been modified. Expansion of the chemistry and biology departments were largely lead by scholars Arthur Michael, who was one of the first organic chemists in the U.S., and John Sterling Kingsley who was one of the first scholars of comparative anatomy.

P. T. Barnum was one of the earliest benefactors of Tufts College, and the Barnum Museum of Natural History (Barnum Hall) was constructed in 1884 with funds donated by him to house his collection of animal specimens and the stuffed hide of Jumbo the elephant, who would become the university’s mascot. The building stood until April 14, 1975, when fire gutted Barnum Hall, destroying the entire collection.

On July 15, 1892, the Tufts Board of Trustees voted “that the College be opened to women in the undergraduate departments on the same terms and conditions as men.” Metcalf Hall opened in 1893 and served as the dormitory for women. At the same meeting, the trustees voted to create a graduate school faculty and to offer the Ph.D. degree in biology and chemistry. In 1893 the Medical School opened and in 1899 the Boston Dental College was integrated into the university. In 1890, the Department of Electrical Engineering was created, and in 1892 – 1893 the course of three-year program in civil engineering was extended to four years. With the advent of the four-year program the degrees granted were bachelor of civil or electrical engineering. Tufts College added the Department of Mechanical Engineering and the Department of Chemical Engineering in 1894 and 1898, respectively. In 1898, the trustees voted to formally establish an undergraduate College of Engineering.

The Jackson College for Women was established in 1910 as a coordinate college adjacent to the Tufts campus. In 1980 it was integrated with the College of Liberal Arts but is still recognized in the formal name of the undergraduate arts and sciences division, the “College of Liberal Arts and Jackson College.” Undergraduate women in arts and sciences continued to receive their diplomas from Jackson College until 2002.

Tufts expanded in the 1933 with the opening of the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy, the first graduate school of international affairs in the United States. The Fletcher School began as a joint effort between Tufts and Harvard University, funded by an endowment from longtime Tufts benefactor and alumnus Dr. Austin Barclay Fletcher. Tufts assumed full administration of the Fletcher School in 1935, and strong linkages between the two schools remain.

During World War II, Tufts College was one of 131 colleges and universities nationally that took part in the V-12 Navy College Training Program which offered students a path to a Navy commission.

Due to travel restrictions imposed by World War II, the Boston Red Sox conducted spring training for the 1943 Major League season at Tufts College. In 1955, continued expansion was reflected in the change of the school’s name to Tufts University.

The university experienced some growth during the presidency of Jean Mayer (1976–1992). Mayer established Tufts’ veterinary, nutrition, and biomedical schools and acquired the Grafton and Talloires campuses, at the same time lifting the university out of its dire financial situation by increasing the size of the endowment by a factor of 15.

The College of Engineering added graduate study to its curriculum beginning in 1961, with master’s degrees available in four departments. It added Ph.D. programs in mechanical engineering in 1963, electrical engineering in 1964, engineering design in 1981, and civil engineering in 1985. In 1984 CEO and chairman of Analogic Corporation and NeuroLogica Corp Bernard Marshall Gordon founded the Tufts Gordon Institute as the first educational institution created to foster entrepreneurship in the engineering fields. In 1991 the New England Association of Schools and Colleges accredited the institute to confer the degree of Master of Science in Engineering Management and in 1992 the Gordon Institute became part of the College of Engineering. In 1999, the College of Engineering became the School of Engineering, when oversight of graduate engineering programs was transferred from the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences. As part of the same reorganization the Faculty of Arts and Science became the Faculty of Arts, Sciences, and Engineering (AS&E).

Under President Larry Bacow, Tufts started a capital campaign in 2006 with the goal of raising $1.2 billion to implement full need-blind admission by 2011. As of December 10, 2010 the campaign raised $1.14 billion. Tufts received the largest donations in its history since 2005, including a $136 million bequest to its endowment upon the dissolution of a charitable trust set up by 1911 alumnus Frank C. Doble, a $100 million gift from eBay founder Pierre Omidyar to establish the Omidyar-Tufts Microfinance Fund, and a number of $40 million-plus gifts to specific schools.

In 2008, Hines Interests and TUDC, a subsidiary of the University, planned to break ground on the South Station Tower. Tufts had acquired the air rights from South Station in 1990, with former President Jean Meyer envisioning a tower that would be the center of medical research. Preliminary design was done by Cesar Pelli with construction now scheduled to start in 2017.

On November 30, 2010, the university announced that Anthony P. Monaco, formerly of Oxford, would become its thirteenth president. Monaco’s inauguration took place on October 21, 2011.

As of October 15, 2015, Computer Science surpassed International Relations as the largest major at the university, with 466 declared majors.

On December 22, 2015, the University announced that it would run the School of the Museum of Fine Arts. The merger is slated for completion on June 30, 2016.

On December 2015, the University completed a reconstruction of the Memorial Stairs. A new Central Energy Plant is currently under construction and is set to finish in the summer of 2016. It will replace an aging 60 year old plant and provide new efficiency boilers which in addition to providing the University directly with electricity, heated and chilled water, will help the University cut emissions. The University is also constructing a new science and engineering complex (SEC). The SEC will feature state of the art laboratories and foster interdisciplinary research between the neuroscience and environmental science departments. The new building will be finished by the summer of 2017 and will join the newly rehabilitated 574 Boston Avenue in the expansion of classroom and laboratory facilities for the engineering school.


Do you want discuss Tufts University ? Any question, comments or reviews


Tufts University on Map


Photo


Photos: Tufts University official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

Tufts University reviews

Join to discuss of Tufts University.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.