جامعة تولين

جامعة تولين في نيو اورليانز, الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. الدراسة في الخارج. مجلة التربية وإخوانه

تولين تفاصيل جامعة

  • بلد : الولايات المتحدة
  • مدينة : نيو أورليانز
  • اختصار : TU
  • مؤسس : 1834
  • الطلاب (تقريبا.) : 14000
  • لا تنسى أن بحث جامعة تولين
التسجيل في جامعة تولين

نظرة عامة


جامعة تولين هي مؤسسة خاصة تأسست في 1834.

الرسوم الدراسية في تولين Universityare $50,000 (ولكنها تعمل.).

في جامعة تولين, يقع في وسط مدينة نيو اورليانز, يمكن للطلاب تجربة مزدهرة - المدينة التي تشتهر أكثر من مجرد احتفالات صاخبة في ماردي غرا - وإعادة إرساء. وتنقسم المدرسة بين الحرم الجامعي أبتاون, موقعها الرئيسي, وحرم وسط, مركز لبرامج العلوم الصحية. الحي الفرنسي, نحو أربعة أميال من الحرم الجامعي الرئيسي, هي منطقة سياحية شعبية معروفة المشهد الموسيقي لها, الحياة الليلية والتسوق. الطلبة المستجدين وطلاب السنة الثانية يجب أن يعيش في الحرم الجامعي, ما لم يعيش الطالب محليا مع أولياء الأمور, وهو متزوج أو أقدم من 21. هناك اكثر من 200 المنظمات الطلابية في الحرم الجامعي, بما في ذلك حول 20 الجمعيات النسائية والاخويات. نحو ربع الطلاب المشاركين في نظام اليوناني. الفرق الرياضية تولين الموجة الخضراء تتنافس في مؤتمر رياضي القسم الأول الأمريكية, والألوان المدرسة هي الزيتون الأخضر والأزرق. من خلال تولين بعد الظلام, يمكن للطلاب الاختيار من بين مجموعة متنوعة من الأنشطة المسائية مثل الحفلات, العروض الكوميدية والأحزاب لغز جريمة قتل. منذ إعصار كاترينا, وقد تطوع مئات الطلاب سنويا في جهود خدمة المجتمع لإعادة بناء المدينة.

وتضم المدرسة مدرسة القانون يعتبر جيدا, ومدرسة للصحة العامة والطب الاستوائي هي المدرسة التخصص الوحيد من نوعه في الولايات المتحدة. المدرسة تلقت تمويلا من المعاهد الوطنية للصحة لإنشاء مركز دولي للتميز في أبحاث الملاريا في غرب ووسط أفريقيا. طالبات في جامعة تولين على دعم إضافي من خلال معهد كلية نيوكومب, التي تستضيف الندوات والمتحدثين الضيوف وتقدم الموجهين للشابات. تشمل الخريجين البارزة الرئيس السابق لمجلس النواب نيوت غينغريتش, برنامج حواري المضيف جيري سبرينغر وخالق المعرض ضرب HBO ل “حاشية,” دوغلاس R. Ellin.

المدارس / الكليات / الإدارات / الدورات / ملكات


المرحلة الجامعية & برامج الدراسات العليا

  • كلية الهندسة المعمارية
  • ا. ب. مدرسة فريمان للأعمال
  • كلية الدراسات المستمرة
  • كلية الآداب
  • كلية الصحة العامة & الطب الاستوائي
  • كلية العلوم & هندسة

برامج الدراسات العليا فقط

  • كلية حقوق
  • مدرسة الطب
  • كلية العمل الاجتماعي

التاريخ


تأسست الجامعة باسم كلية الطب في ولاية لويزيانا في 1834 جزئيا كرد فعل على المخاوف من الجدري, الحمى الصفراء والكوليرا في الولايات المتحدة. أصبحت الجامعة فقط كلية الطب الثانية في الجنوب, و15 في الولايات المتحدة في ذلك الوقت. في 1847, تأسيس المجلس التشريعي للولاية المدرسة باسم جامعة ولاية لويزيانا, إحدى الجامعات الحكومية, وتمت إضافة قسم القانون في الجامعة. بعد ذلك, في 1851, أنشأت أول جامعة الأقسام الأكاديمية ل. وكان أول رئيس اختياره للجامعة الجديدة فرانسيس معلن صقور, قس أسقفية ومواطن بارز في نيو اورليانز في الوقت.

تم إغلاق الجامعة من 1861 إلى 1865 خلال الحرب الأهلية الأمريكية. بعد إعادة فتح, انها مرت بفترة من تحديات مالية بسبب الاكتئاب الزراعي الموسع في جنوب والتي أثرت اقتصاد البلاد. بول تولين, صاحب ازدهار البضائع الجافة وتجارة الملابس, تبرعت العقارات مكثفة في نيو اورليانز لدعم التعليم. أدى هذا التبرع لإنشاء صندوق تولين التعليمية (TEF), سعى الذين مجلس المديرين لدعم جامعة ولاية لويزيانا بدلا من إنشاء الجامعة الجديدة. في استجابة, من خلال تأثير عام الحليف السابق راندال لي جيبسون, نقل المجلس التشريعي للولاية لويزيانا السيطرة على جامعة ولاية لويزيانا إلى المسؤولين من TEF في 1884. خلق هذا العمل في جامعة تولين في لويزيانا. الجامعة أصبح خصخصتها, وهي واحدة من عدد قليل من الجامعات الأمريكية لتحويلها من مؤسسة العامة للدولة الى القطاع الخاص.

في 1884, أصبح وليام بريستون جونستون أول رئيس تولين. وكان قد نجح سابقا روبرت E. لي رئيسا لجامعة واشنطن و لي بعد وفاة لي. وكان قد انتقل الى ولاية لويزيانا ويصبح رئيسا لجامعة ولاية لويزيانا.

في 1885, أنشأت الجامعة قسم الدراسات العليا بها, في وقت لاحق ليصبح كلية الدراسات العليا. بعد سنة واحدة, هدايا من جوزفين لويز نيوكومب يبلغ مجموعها أكثر $3.6 مليون, أدت إلى إنشاء H. كلية صوفي نيوكومب التذكارية في جامعة تولين. كان نيوكومب أول تنسيق الكلية للنساء في الولايات المتحدة، وأصبح نموذجا لمؤسسات مثل كلية بمبروك وكلية بارنارد. في 1894 كلية تقنية شكلت, والتي ستصبح فيما بعد كلية الهندسة. في نفس السنة, انتقلت الجامعة إلى الحرم الجامعي الجزء الأعلى من المدينة في الوقت الحاضر في سانت التاريخي. تشارلز الجادة, خمسة أميال من الترام من وسط مدينة نيو اورليانز.

مع إدخال تحسينات على جامعة تولين في أواخر القرن ال19, كان تولين أساس متين لبناء عليه، والجامعة رئيس الوزراء في عمق الجنوب، واستمر هذا الإرث مع النمو في القرن 20th. في 1901, تم وضع حجر الأساس الأول لF.W. مكتبة تيلتون, وهبت به نيو اورليانز رجل الأعمال والمحسن فريدريك وليام تيلتون (1821-1890). أثناء 1907, أقامت مدرسة منهج المهنية لمدة أربع سنوات في الهندسة المعمارية من خلال كلية تكنولوجيا, تزايد في نهاية المطاف في مدرسة تولين العمارة. بعد سنة واحدة, وأنشئت مدارس طب الأسنان والصيدلة, ولو مؤقتا. كلية طب الأسنان انتهت 1928, وفي وقت لاحق الصيدلة ست سنوات. في 1914, أنشئت تولين في كلية التجارة, كلية إدارة الأعمال الأولى في الجنوب. في 1925, أنشئت تولين مدرسة مستقلة العليا. بعد سنتين, حددت الجامعة حتى كلية العمل الاجتماعي, أيضا لأول مرة في جنوب الولايات المتحدة. كان تولين فعال في الترويج لفنون في نيو اورليانز والجنوب في تأسيس مدرسة نيوكومب الفن withWilliam وودورد مديرا, وبالتالي إنشاء نيوكومب الفخار الشهير. فقد تم تأسيس معهد البحوث الأمريكي الأوسط في 1925 في تولين “لغرض البحوث المتقدمة في التاريخ (كلا الهندي والاستعمارية), علم الآثار, علم النبات الاستوائي (سواء على الصعيد الاقتصادي والطبية), الموارد الطبيعية والمنتجات, من البلدان التي تواجه نيو أورليانز عبر المياه إلى الجنوب; لجمع, مؤشر ونشر البيانات عند ذلك; وللمساعدة في upbuilding من أفضل العلاقات التجارية ودية بين هذه الشعوب عبر البحر الكاريبي والولايات المتحدة.”

تأسست الكلية الجامعية في 1942 كما تقسيم تولين للتعليم المستمر. بواسطة 1950, وكلية الهندسة المعمارية نمت من الهندسة إلى مدرسة مستقلة. في 1958, انتخب الجامعة لرابطة الجامعات الأمريكية, منظمة تتألف من اثنين وستين من الجامعات البحثية الرائدة في أمريكا الشمالية. أصبحت كلية الصحة العامة وطب المناطق الحارة مرة أخرى مستقلة عن كلية الطب في 1967. أنشئت أصلا في 1912, كان يمكن القول إن واحدة من المدارس الصحة العامة الأولى في الولايات المتحدة. تبقى مدرسة تولين للطب الاستوائي أيضا الوحيد من نوعه في البلاد. في ابريل 23, 1975, الرئيس جيرالد R. مخاضة, الابن, وتحدث في جامعة تولين في فوجلمان الساحة تلبية لدعوة من عضو الكونغرس F. إدوارد هيبرت, ممثل الدائرة الانتخابية 1ST ولاية لويزيانا. خلال خطاب تاريخي, أعلنت فورد أن حرب فيتنام كانت “أنهى بقدر أمريكا قلقة” - أسبوع واحد قبل سقوط سايغون. ولفت فورد الى الاذهان معركة نيو اورليانز, قائلا ان مثل هذا النشاط الإيجابي يمكن أن تفعله لمعنويات أميركا ما فعلته معركة في 1815.

خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية, وتولين واحد من 131 الكليات والجامعات على المستوى الوطني التي شاركت في برنامج التدريب كلية البحرية V-12 التي عرضت طلاب مسار إلى لجنة البحرية.

تقرير مفصل عن تاريخ جامعة تولين منذ تأسيسها من خلال 1965 تم نشره من قبل داير.

في يوليو 2004, تلقى تولين اثنين $30 مليون التبرعات لهباتها, أكبر الهدايا فردية أو مجتمعة في تاريخ الجامعة. وجاءت هذه التبرعات من جيم كلارك, عضوا في مجلس الجامعة الأمناء ومؤسس نتسكيب, وديفيد فيلو, تخرج من مدرسة للهندسة والمؤسس المشارك لشركة ياهو!. حملة جمع التبرعات يسمى “وعد & تميز” رفع $730.6 مليون اعتبارا من أكتوبر 3, 2008, زيادة منحة الجامعة الإجمالي إلى أكثر من $1.1 مليار; بحلول مارس 2009, إيفيت جونز, الرئيس التنفيذي للعمليات في تولين, وقال المجلس الاستشاري للموظفين تولين بأن الوقف “فقدت ما يقرب من 37٪”, تتأثر الركود في وقت متأخر من 2000s في.

في أبريل 2010, وأفاد مكتب القبول تولين أنها تلقت 44,000 تطبيقات لفئة من 2014, تحطيم الرقم القياسي السابق المسجل من قبل فئة من 2013. بينما غير قادرة على تأكيد ذلك رسميا, وذكر مكتب القبول أن “يبدو أن لدينا معظم التطبيقات لفصل الخريف المقبل في أي جامعة خاصة في البلاد.”

ونتيجة لإعصار كاترينا في أغسطس 2005 والآثار الضارة على نيو اورليانز, تم إغلاق معظم الجامعة للمرة الثانية في تاريخه، والأولى كونها خلال الحرب الأهلية. إغلاق تتأثر الفصل الدراسي الأول من العام التقويم المدرسي. بقي كلية الصحة العامة وبرامج التعلم عن بعد طب المناطق الحارة والدورات النشطة. كلية الطب انتقلت إلى هيوستن, تكساس لمدة عام. وبصرف النظر عن الطلاب الرياضيين حضور فصول كلية معا في نفس الجامعات, معظم الجامعية وطلاب الدراسات العليا انتشروا في الجامعات في جميع أنحاء الامريكى. العاصفة ألحقت أكثر من $650 مليون في الأضرار التي لحقت جامعة, مع بعض من أكبر الخسائر التي تؤثر على المكتبة التذكارية هوارد تيلتون ومجموعاتها.

تواجه عجزا في الميزانية, أعلن مجلس المسؤولين في “خطة تجديد” في ديسمبر 2005 للحد من الموازنة التشغيلية السنوية وإنشاء “طالب تتمحور” حرم الجامعة. معالجة التزام المدرسة الى نيو اورليانز, الائتمان دورة تنطوي “تعلم الخدمة” أصبح شرطا للحصول على درجة البكالوريوس. في 2006 أصبح تولان أول كارنيجي في المرتبة “النشاط البحثي عالية” مؤسسة أن يكون لها متطلبات التخرج الخدمة العامة الجامعية. بشهر مايو 2006, وتضمنت حفلات التخرج المتحدثين المباشرة الرئيسين السابقين جورج H. W. بوش وبيل كلينتون, الذي أثنى على الطلاب لرغبتهم في العودة إلى تولين وخدمة نيو اورليانز في تجديده.


هل تريد بحث جامعة تولين ? أي سؤال, التعليقات أو المراجعات


جامعة تولين على الخريطة


صورة فوتوغرافية


الصور: جامعة تولين الفيسبوك الرسمي

فيديو





مشاركة هذه المعلومات مفيدة مع أصدقائك

استعراض جامعة تولين

تاريخ لمناقشة من جامعة تولين.
يرجى الملاحظة: EducationBro مجلة يمنحك القدرة على قراءة معلومات حول الجامعات في 96 اللغات, ولكن نطلب منك أن تحترم أعضاء آخرين وترك التعليقات باللغة الإنجليزية.

Tulane University

Tulane University in New Orleans, USA. Study Abroad. Education Bro Magazine

Tulane University Details

  • Country : United States of America
  • City : New Orleans
  • Acronym : TU
  • Founded : 1834
  • Students (approx.) : 14000
  • Don't forget to discuss Tulane University
Enroll at Tulane University

Overview


Tulane University is a private institution that was founded in 1834.

Tuition fees in Tulane Universityare $50,000 (Aprox.).

At Tulane University, located in downtown New Orleans, students can experience a thriving — and re-establishing — city that is known for more than just its raucous Mardi Gras celebrations. The school is divided between an Uptown campus, its main location, and a Downtown campus, the center for health science programs. The French Quarter, about four miles from the main campus, is a popular tourist spot known for its music scene, nightlife and shopping. Freshmen and sophomores must live on campus, unless a student lives locally with parents, is married or is older than 21. There are more than 200 student organizations on campus, including about 20 sororities and fraternities. About a quarter of students are involved in the Greek system. The Tulane Green Wave sports teams compete in the Division I American Athletic Conference, and the school’s colors are olive green and blue. Through Tulane After Dark, students can choose from a variety of evening activities such as concerts, comedy shows and murder mystery parties. Since Hurricane Katrina, hundreds of students a year have volunteered in community service efforts to rebuild the city.

The school has a well-regarded law school, and its School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine is the only specialty school of its kind in the United States. The school received funding from the National Institutes of Health to establish an International Center of Excellence in Malaria Research for West and Central Africa. Female students at Tulane University receive extra support through the Newcomb College Institute, which hosts symposiums and guest speakers and offers mentors to young women. Notable alumni include former Speaker of the House Newt Gingrich, talk show host Jerry Springer and the creator of HBO’s hit show “Entourage,” Douglas R. Ellin.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


Undergraduate & Graduate Programs

  • School of Architecture
  • A. B. Freeman School of Business
  • School of Continuing Studies
  • School of Liberal Arts
  • School of Public Health & Tropical Medicine
  • School of Science & Engineering

Graduate-Only Programs

  • School of Law
  • School of Medicine
  • School of Social Work

History


The university was founded as the Medical College of Louisiana in 1834 partly as a response to the fears of smallpox, yellow fever and cholera in the United States. The university became only the second medical school in the South, and the 15th in the United States at the time. In 1847, the state legislature established the school as the University of Louisiana, a public university, and the law department was added to the university. Subsequently, in 1851, the university established its first academic department. The first president chosen for the new university was Francis Lister Hawks, an Episcopalian priest and prominent citizen of New Orleans at the time.

The university was closed from 1861 to 1865 during the American Civil War. After reopening, it went through a period of financial challenges because of an extended agricultural depression in the South which affected the nation’s economy. Paul Tulane, owner of a prospering dry goods and clothing business, donated extensive real estate within New Orleans for the support of education. This donation led to the establishment of a Tulane Educational Fund (TEF), whose board of administrators sought to support the University of Louisiana instead of establishing a new university. In response, through the influence of former confederate general Randall Lee Gibson, the Louisiana state legislature transferred control of the University of Louisiana to the administrators of the TEF in 1884. This act created the Tulane University of Louisiana. The university became privatized, and is one of only a few American universities to be converted from a state public institution to a private one.

In 1884, William Preston Johnston became the first president of Tulane. He had formerly succeeded Robert E. Lee as president of Washington and Lee University after Lee’s death. He had moved to Louisiana and become president of Louisiana State University.

In 1885, the university established its graduate division, later becoming the Graduate School. One year later, gifts from Josephine Louise Newcomb totaling over $3.6 million, led to the establishment of the H. Sophie Newcomb Memorial College within Tulane University. Newcomb was the first coordinate college for women in the United States and became a model for such institutions as Pembroke College and Barnard College. In 1894 the College of Technology formed, which would later become the School of Engineering. In the same year, the university moved to its present-day uptown campus on historic St. Charles Avenue, five miles by streetcar from downtown New Orleans.

With the improvements to Tulane University in the late 19th century, Tulane had a firm foundation to build upon as the premier university of the Deep South and continued this legacy with growth in the 20th century. In 1901, the first cornerstone was laid for the F.W. Tilton Library, endowed by New Orleans businessman and philanthropist Frederick William Tilton (1821–1890). During 1907, the school established a four-year professional curriculum in architecture through the College of Technology, growing eventually into the Tulane School of Architecture. One year later, Schools of Dentistry and Pharmacy were established, albeit temporarily. The School of Dentistry ended in 1928, and Pharmacy six years later. In 1914, Tulane established a College of Commerce, the first business school in the South. In 1925, Tulane established the independent Graduate School. Two years later, the university set up a School of Social Work, also the first in the southern United States. Tulane was instrumental in promoting the arts in New Orleans and the South in establishing the Newcomb School of Art withWilliam Woodward as director, thus establishing the renowned Newcomb Pottery. The Middle American Research Institute was established in 1925 at Tulane “for the purpose of advanced research into the history (both Indian and colonial), archaeology, tropical botany (both economic and medical), the natural resources and products, of the countries facing New Orleans across the waters to the south; to gather, index and disseminate data thereupon; and to aid in the upbuilding of the best commercial and friendly relations between these Trans-Caribbean peoples and the United States.”

University College was established in 1942 as Tulane’s division of continuing education. By 1950, the School of Architecture had grown out of Engineering into an independent school. In 1958, the university was elected to the Association of American Universities, an organization consisting of sixty-two of the leading research universities in North America. The School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine again became independent from the School of Medicine in 1967. Originally established in 1912, it was arguably one of the first public health schools in the United States. Tulane’s School of Tropical Medicine also remains the only one of its kind in the country. On April 23, 1975, President Gerald R. Ford, Jr., spoke at Tulane University’s Fogelman Arena at the invitation of Congressman F. Edward Hebert, a representative of Louisiana’s 1st Congressional District. During the historic speech, Ford announced that the Vietnam War was “finished as far as America is concerned” – one week before the fall of Saigon. Ford drew parallels to the Battle of New Orleans, saying that such positive activity could do for America’s morale what the battle did in 1815.

During World War II, Tulane was one of 131 colleges and universities nationally that took part in the V-12 Navy College Training Program which offered students a path to a Navy commission.

A detailed account of the history of Tulane University from its founding through 1965 was published by Dyer.

In July 2004, Tulane received two $30 million donations to its endowment, the largest individual or combined gifts in the university’s history. The donations came from Jim Clark, a member of the university’s board of trustees and founder of Netscape, and David Filo, a graduate of its School of Engineering and co-founder of Yahoo!. A fund-raising campaign called “Promise & Distinction” raised $730.6 million as of October 3, 2008, increasing the university’s total endowment to more than $1.1 billion; by March 2009, Yvette Jones, Tulane’s Chief Operating Officer, told Tulane’s Staff Advisory Council that the endowment “has lost close to 37%”, affected by the late-2000s recession.

In April 2010, the Tulane admissions office reported that it had received 44,000 applications for the class of 2014, breaking the previous record set by the class of 2013. While unable to confirm it officially, the admissions office stated that “it appears that we have the most applications for the upcoming fall semester of any private university in the country.”

As a result of Hurricane Katrina in August 2005 and its damaging effects on New Orleans, most of the university was closed for the second time in its history—the first being during the Civil War. The closing affected the first semester of the school calendar year. The School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine’s distance learning programs and courses stayed active. The School of Medicine relocated to Houston, Texas for a year. Aside from student athletes attending college classes together on the same campuses, most undergraduate and graduate students dispersed to campuses throughout the U.S. The storm inflicted more than $650 million in damages to the University, with some of the greatest losses impacting the Howard-Tilton Memorial Library and its collections.

Facing a budget shortfall, the Board of Administrators announced a “Renewal Plan” in December 2005 to reduce its annual operating budget and create a “student-centric” campus. Addressing the school’s commitment to New Orleans, a course credit involving “service learning” became a requirement for an undergraduate degree. In 2006 Tulane became the first Carnegie ranked “high research activity” institution to have an undergraduate public service graduation requirement. In May 2006, graduation ceremonies included commencement speakers former Presidents George H. W. Bush and Bill Clinton, who commended the students for their desire to return to Tulane and serve New Orleans in its renewal.


Do you want discuss Tulane University ? Any question, comments or reviews


Tulane University on Map


Photo


Photos: Tulane University official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

Tulane University reviews

Join to discuss of Tulane University.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.