جامعة كاليفورنيا, بيركلي

جامعة كاليفورنيا, بيركلي. الدراسة في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. EducationBro - دراسة مجلة بالخارج

جامعة كاليفورنيا, تفاصيل بيركلي

التسجيل في جامعة كاليفورنيا, بيركلي

نظرة عامة


جامعة كاليفورنيا, بيركلي هو مؤسسة عامة تأسست عام 1868.

الرسوم الدراسية في جامعة كاليفورنيا, بيركلي هي $40,000 (ولكنها تعمل.).

جامعة كاليفورنيا, بيركلي, غالبا ما يشار إليها باسم كال, يقع تطل على خليج سان فرانسيسكو. عادة, 95 في المئة أو أكثر من الموظفين الجدد واردة في بيركلي يختارون العيش في الحرم الجامعي. هناك اكثر من 1,000 المنظمات الطلابية, بدءا من الجماعات السياسية إلى القفز المظلي النادي وبين في كل شيء. لديها بيركلي أيضا حياة اليونانية مزدهرة مع العشرات من الأخوة وسكن جامعي للطالبات الفصول. كاليفورنيا الذهبي الدببة, فرق بيركلي الرياضية, تنافس في مؤتمر باك 12 ومعروفة لمنافسة غريمه التقليدي مع جامعة ستانفورد.

بيركلي لديها 14 المدارس والكليات, بما في ذلك عدد من الدراسات العليا والمهنية المدارس, مثل كلية البصريات وكلية الدراسات العليا في الصحافة. وتشمل برامج الدراسات العليا الأخرى التي تقدمها تلك الموجودة في كلية هاس مرتبة عالية لإدارة الأعمال,كلية الدراسات العليا في التعليم, كلية الهندسة وكلية القانون.

بيركلي ومن المعروف كذلك مركزا للنشاط الطلاب الليبراليين: حركة حرية التعبير - ل 1964 الاحتجاجات الطلابية في بيركلي ردا على الحظر الذي فرضته الإدارة على النشاط السياسي - ارتفع اهتماما واسع النطاق. تشمل الخريجين البارزة الامريكى السابق. رئيس المحكمة العليا إيرل وارين, الميدالية الذهبية الاولمبية جوني موسلي والممثل جون تشو, والمعروف عن دوره في “هارولد وكومار” الأفلام. الدكتور. J. روبرت أوبنهايمر, الذين عملوا على تطوير القنبلة الذرية كمدير علمي للمشروع مانهاتن خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية, كان أستاذا في بيركلي.

المدارس / الكليات / الإدارات / الدورات / ملكات


كيمياء

ويشمل أقسام الكيمياء والهندسة الكيميائية.

التعليم

برامج الماجستير والدكتوراه, إعداد المعلم, برنامج صغير الجامعية والتدريب على القيادة.

هندسة

ويشمل أقسام الهندسة الحيوية; مدني & هندسة بيئية; الهندسة الكهربائية & علوم الحاسوب; هندسة صناعية & بحوث العمليات; علم المواد & هندسة; مهندس ميكانيكى; والهندسة النووية.

تصميم بيئي

ويشمل أقسام الهندسة المعمارية; هندسة المناظر الطبيعية; والتخطيط العمراني والإقليمي.

كلية هاس للأعمال

شهادات دون مرحلة التخرج, برامج الماجستير في إدارة الأعمال والتعليم التنفيذي.

معلومات

برامج الدراسات العليا في نظم إدارة المعلومات والبيانات العلمية.

صحافة

ماستر غامرة من برنامج الصحافة لمدة عامين.

القانون

تقدم J.D. وJ.S.D. برامج, وأول الامريكى. كلية الحقوق لتقديم M.A. ودكتوراه. درجة في الفقه والسياسة الاجتماعية.

حروف & علم

وتضم أكبر كلية بيركلي أكثر من 60 الإدارات في العلوم البيولوجية, الفنون والعلوم الإنسانية, العلوم الفيزيائية, والعلوم الاجتماعية.

مصادر طبيعية

يشمل إدارات اقتصاديات الزراعة والموارد; علوم بيئية, سياسات, والإدارة; علوم التغذية; والنبات والأحياء الميكروبية.

قياس مدى البصر

البرنامج المهني لقياس مدى البصر.

الصحة العامة

برامج الماجستير والدكتوراه في مجموعة واسعة من التخصصات الصحية العامة.

ريتشارد ورودا جولدمان مدرسة للسياسة العامة

سادة, الدكتوراه وبرنامج صغير البكالوريوس في السياسة العامة.

الرفاهية الإجتماعية

تقدم الماجستير, سيد المتزامنة ل, برامج الدكتوراه والاعتماد.

التاريخ


في 1866, اشترى كلية خاصة من كاليفورنيا الأرض تتألف من حرم بيركلي الحالي. لأنها تفتقر إلى الأموال الكافية للعمل, اندمجت في نهاية المطاف مع الزراعية التي تديرها الدولة, تعدين, وكلية الفنون الميكانيكية لتشكيل جامعة كاليفورنيا, أول جامعة حكومية الكامل المناهج في الدولة.

عشرة أعضاء هيئة التدريس وتقريبا 40 جعل الطلاب حتى جامعة جديدة من كاليفورنيا عندما افتتح في اوكلاند في 1869. فريدريك H. كان الفواتير عضو في مجلس أمناء كلية ولاية كاليفورنيا، واقترح أن الكلية الكشف عن اسمه تكريما للفيلسوف الانجلو الايرلندي جورج بيركلي. في 1870, هنري ديورانت, مؤسس كلية كاليفورنيا, أصبح أول رئيس. مع الانتهاء من شمال andSouth قاعات في 1873, الجامعة انتقلت إلى موقع بيركلي مع 167 الذكور و 22 الطالبات، وعقد أول طبقاته.

ابتداء من 1891, قدم فيبي Apperson هيرست عدة هدايا كبيرة إلى بيركلي, تمويل عدد من البرامج والمباني الجديدة, والراعية, في 1898, مسابقة دولية في أنتويرب, بلجيكا, حيث قدم المهندس المعماري الفرنسي إميل بينارد التصميم الفائز لخطة رئيسية الحرم الجامعي. في 1905, تأسست مزرعة جامعة قرب سكرامنتو, تصبح في نهاية المطاف في جامعة كاليفورنيا, Davis.By في 1920s, وكان عدد من مباني الحرم الجامعي نمت بشكل كبير, وشملت عشرين الهياكل التي صممها المهندس المعماري جون هوارد جالينوس.

خدم روبرت جوردون سبرول رئيسا من 1930 إلى 1958. بواسطة 1942, المرتبة المجلس الأمريكي للتعليم جامعة كاليفورنيا في بيركلي في المرتبة الثانية بعد جامعة هارفارد في عدد من الإدارات المتميزة.

خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية, بعد اكتشاف جلين سيبورج في ذلك الوقت السري للبلوتونيوم, بدأ مختبر الإشعاع إرنست أورلاندو لورنس للتعاقد مع الامريكى. الجيش لتطوير قنبلة ذرية. أستاذ الفيزياء جامعة كاليفورنيا في بيركلي J. كان اسمه روبرت اوبنهايمر رئيس العلمي للمشروع مانهاتن في 1942. جنبا إلى جنب مع مختبر لورانس بيركلي الوطني (سابقا مختبر الإشعاع), بيركلي هو الآن شريك في إدارة معملين أخرى, مختبر لوس ألاموس الوطني (1943) ومختبر لورانس ليفرمور الوطني (1952).

في الأصل, وكان التدريب العسكري الإلزامي للطلاب الجامعيين الذكور, وبيركلي يضم ترسانة لهذا الغرض. في 1917, أنشئ برنامج تدريب ضباط الاحتياط بيركلي, ومدرسة للملاحة الجوية العسكرية تدريب الطيارين في المستقبل, بما في ذلك جيمي دوليتل, الذين تخرجوا مع B.A. في 1922. كل من روبرت ماكنمارا وفريدريك C. Weyand تخرج من برنامج تدريب ضباط الاحتياط جامعة كاليفورنيا في بيركلي, كسب B.A. درجة في 1937 و 1938, على التوالي. في 1926, المستقبل أميرال الأسطول تشيستر W. أنشئت نيميتز الضباط الأول البحرية الاحتياطي وحدة مشاة التدريب في بيركلي. خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية, ان الجيش عزز وجودها في الحرم الجامعي لتجنيد المزيد من الضباط, وبواسطة 1944, أكثر من 1,000 التحق الطلاب بيركلي في المدرسة V-12 البحرية برنامج التدريب وكلية التدريب البحري للهندسة الديزل. أنهى مجلس الحكام التدريب العسكري الإلزامي في بيركلي في 1962.

في عهد مكارثي في 1949, اعتمد مجلس الحكام يمين الولاء المناهض للشيوعية. واعترض عدد من أعضاء هيئة التدريس وفصلوا; مرت عشر سنوات قبل أن يتم إعادة بأجر الخلفي.

في 1952, أصبحت جامعة كاليفورنيا كيان منفصل عن حرم بيركلي. أعطيت كل حرم جامعي الاستقلال النسبي والمستشارة الخاصة به. ثم الرئيس يفترض سبرول رئاسة برمتها جامعة كاليفورنيا النظام, وأصبح كلارك كير المستشار الأول من جامعة كاليفورنيا في بيركلي.

اكتسبت بيركلي سمعة النشاط الطلابي في 1960s مع حركة حرية التعبير من 1964 والمعارضة لحرب فيتنام. في احتجاج حديقة الشعب إعلامية واسعة في 1969, الطلاب والمدرسة يتعارض الافراط في استخدام قطعة أرض; دعا Guardwas الوطنية في واندلع العنف. ثم دعا حاكم ولاية كاليفورنيا رونالد ريغان حرم بيركلي “ملاذا للالمتعاطفين مع الشيوعية, المتظاهرين, والمنحرفين الجنس.” طلاب الحديث في بيركلي هم أقل نشاطا سياسيا, مع نسبة أكبر من المعتدلين والمحافظين. الديمقراطيون يفوق عدد الجمهوريين في هيئة التدريس من قبل نسبة 9:1.

وقد تضاربت مختلف جماعات حقوق الإنسان والحيوان مع بيركلي. الهنود تتعارض مع المدرسة على إعادة رفات من فويب ل. متحف هيرست الأنثروبولوجيا. وهدد نشطاء حقوق الحيوان أعضاء هيئة التدريس باستخدام الحيوانات في البحوث. استجابة المدرسة لالمعتصمون شجرة الاحتجاج على بناء سببت الجدل في المجتمع المحلي.

في مايو 1, 2014, كان اسمه جامعة كاليفورنيا في بيركلي واحدة من مؤسسات التعليم العالي خمسة وخمسون قيد التحقيق من قبل مكتب الحقوق المدنية “عن الانتهاكات المحتملة للقانون الاتحادي بشأن التعامل مع العنف الجنسي وشكاوى التحرش” من قبل فرقة البيت الأبيض لحماية الطلاب من الاعتداء الجنسي. ويأتي التحقيق بعد 31 جعلت الطالبات ثلاث شكاوى الاتحادية: الأول, تم رفع Actcomplaint كليري مايو 2013, وثم, بعد عدم استجابة من الجامعة, تم تقديم شكوى قانون كليري الثاني والتاسع شكوى في فبراير 26, 2014. واستمرت التحقيقات 2016, مع مئات الصفحات من السجلات صدر في أبريل 2016, تبين وجود نمط من المضايقة وإقالة الموظفين غير مثبت الجنسية موثقة.


هل تريد بحث جامعة كاليفورنيا, بيركلي ? أي سؤال, التعليقات أو المراجعات


جامعة كاليفورنيا, بيركلي على الخريطة


صورة فوتوغرافية


الصور: جامعة كاليفورنيا, بيركلي الفيسبوك الرسمي

فيديو





مشاركة هذه المعلومات مفيدة مع أصدقائك

جامعة كاليفورنيا, استعراض بيركلي

تاريخ لمناقشة من جامعة كاليفورنيا, بيركلي.
يرجى الملاحظة: EducationBro مجلة يمنحك القدرة على قراءة معلومات حول الجامعات في 96 اللغات, ولكن نطلب منك أن تحترم أعضاء آخرين وترك التعليقات باللغة الإنجليزية.

University of California, Berkeley

University of California, Berkeley. Study in USA. EducationBro - Study Abroad Magazine

University of California, Berkeley Details

Enroll at University of California, Berkeley

Overview


University of California, Berkeley is a public institution that was founded in 1868.

Tuition fees in University of California, Berkeley  are $40,000 (Aprox.).

The University of California, Berkeley, often referred to as Cal, is situated overlooking the San Francisco Bay. Typically, 95 percent or more of incoming freshmen at Berkeley choose to live on campus. There are more than 1,000 student organizations, ranging from political groups to a hang gliding club and everything in between. Berkeley also has a thriving Greek life with dozens of fraternity and sorority chapters. The California Golden Bears, Berkeley’s athletic teams, compete in the Pac-12 Conference and are known for their traditional arch rivalry with Stanford University.

Berkeley has 14 schools and colleges, including a number of graduate and professional schools, such as the School of Optometry and the Graduate School of Journalism. Other graduate programs offered include those in the highly ranked Haas School of Business,Graduate School of Education, College of Engineering and School of Law.

Berkeley is well known as a hub of liberal student activism: The Free Speech Movement – a 1964 student protest at Berkeley in response to the administration’s ban on political activity – gained widespread attention. Notable alumni include former U.S. Supreme Court Chief Justice Earl Warren, Olympic gold medalist Jonny Moseley and actor John Cho, known for his role in the “Harold and Kumar” films. Dr. J. Robert Oppenheimer, who worked on the development of the atomic bomb as scientific director of the Manhattan Project during World War II, was a professor at Berkeley.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


Chemistry

Includes departments of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering.

Education

Master’s and doctoral programs, teacher preparation, undergraduate minor program and leadership training.

Engineering

Includes departments of Bioengineering; Civil & Environmental Engineering; Electrical Engineering & Computer Sciences; Industrial Engineering & Operations Research; Materials Science & Engineering; Mechanical Engineering; and Nuclear Engineering.

Environmental Design

Includes departments of Architecture; Landscape Architecture; and City and Regional Planning.

Haas School of Business

Undergraduate degrees, MBA programs and executive education.

Information

Graduate programs in information management systems and data science.

Journalism

Two-year immersive Master of Journalism program.

Law

Offers J.D. and J.S.D. programs, and the first U.S. law school to offer M.A. and Ph.D. degrees in jurisprudence and social policy.

Letters & Science

Berkeley’s largest college includes more than 60 departments in the biological sciences, arts and humanities, physical sciences, and social sciences.

Natural Resources

Includes departments of Agricultural and Resource Economics; Environmental Science, Policy, and Management; Nutritional Science; and Plant and Microbial Biology.

Optometry

Professional program for optometry.

Public Health

Master’s and doctoral programs in a wide range of public health disciplines.

Richard and Rhoda Goldman School of Public Policy

Master’s, doctoral and an undergraduate minor program in public policy.

Social Welfare

Offering master’s, concurrent master’s, doctoral and credential programs.

History


In 1866, the private College of California purchased the land comprising the current Berkeley campus. Because it lacked sufficient funds to operate, it eventually merged with the state-run Agricultural, Mining, and Mechanical Arts College to form the University of California, the first full-curriculum public university in the state.

Ten faculty members and almost 40 students made up the new University of California when it opened in Oakland in 1869. Frederick H. Billings was a trustee of the College of California and suggested that the college be named in honor of the Anglo-Irish philosopher George Berkeley. In 1870, Henry Durant, the founder of the College of California, became the first president. With the completion of North andSouth Halls in 1873, the university relocated to its Berkeley location with 167 male and 22 female students and held its first classes.

Beginning in 1891, Phoebe Apperson Hearst made several large gifts to Berkeley, funding a number of programs and new buildings, and sponsoring, in 1898, an international competition in Antwerp, Belgium, where French architect Émile Bénard submitted the winning design for a campus master plan. In 1905, the University Farm was established near Sacramento, ultimately becoming the University of California, Davis.By the 1920s, the number of campus buildings had grown substantially, and included twenty structures designed by architect John Galen Howard.

Robert Gordon Sproul served as president from 1930 to 1958. By 1942, the American Council on Education ranked UC Berkeley second only to Harvard University in the number of distinguished departments.

During World War II, following Glenn Seaborg’s then-secret discovery of plutonium, Ernest Orlando Lawrence’s Radiation Laboratory began to contract with the U.S. Army to develop the atomic bomb. UC Berkeley physics professor J. Robert Oppenheimer was named scientific head of the Manhattan Project in 1942. Along with the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (formerly the Radiation Lab), Berkeley is now a partner in managing two other labs, Los Alamos National Laboratory (1943) and Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (1952).

Originally, military training was compulsory for male undergraduates, and Berkeley housed an armory for that purpose. In 1917, Berkeley’s ROTC program was established, and its School of Military Aeronautics trained future pilots, including Jimmy Doolittle, who graduated with a B.A. in 1922. Both Robert McNamara and Frederick C. Weyand graduated from UC Berkeley’s ROTC program, earning B.A. degrees in 1937 and 1938, respectively. In 1926, future fleet admiral Chester W. Nimitz established the first Naval Reserve Officers Training Corps unit at Berkeley. During World War II, the military increased its presence on campus to recruit more officers, and by 1944, more than 1,000 Berkeley students were enrolled in the V-12 Navy College Training Program and naval training school for diesel engineering. The Board of Regents ended compulsory military training at Berkeley in 1962.

During the McCarthy era in 1949, the Board of Regents adopted an anti-communist loyalty oath. A number of faculty members objected and were dismissed; ten years passed before they were reinstated with back pay.

In 1952, the University of California became an entity separate from the Berkeley campus. Each campus was given relative autonomy and its own Chancellor. Then-president Sproul assumed presidency of the entire University of California system, and Clark Kerr became the first Chancellor of UC Berkeley.

Berkeley gained a reputation for student activism in the 1960s with the Free Speech Movement of 1964 and opposition to the Vietnam War. In the highly publicized People’s Park protest in 1969, students and the school conflicted over use of a plot of land; the National Guardwas called in and violence erupted. Then governor of California Ronald Reagan called the Berkeley campus “a haven for communist sympathizers, protesters, and sex deviants.” Modern students at Berkeley are less politically active, with a greater percentage of moderates and conservatives. Democrats outnumber Republicans on the faculty by a ratio of 9:1.

Various human and animal rights groups have conflicted with Berkeley. Native Americans conflicted with the school over repatriation of remains from the Phoebe A. Hearst Museum of Anthropology. Animal-rights activists have threatened faculty members using animals for research. The school’s response to tree sitters protesting construction caused controversy in the local community.

On May 1, 2014, UC Berkeley was named one of fifty-five higher education institutions under investigation by the Office of Civil Rights “for possible violations of federal law over the handling of sexual violence and harassment complaints” by the White House Task Force to Protect Students from Sexual Assault. The investigation comes after 31 female students made three federal complaints: first, a Clery Actcomplaint was filed in May 2013, and then, after a lack of response from the University, a second Clery Act Complaint and Title IX complaint were filed on February 26, 2014. Investigations have continued into 2016, with hundreds of pages of records released in April 2016, showing a pattern of documented sexual harassment and firings of non-tenured staff.


Do you want discuss University of California, Berkeley ? Any question, comments or reviews


University of California, Berkeley on Map


Photo


Photos: University of California, Berkeley official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

University of California, Berkeley reviews

Join to discuss of University of California, Berkeley.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.