Universität von Kalifornien, Berkeley

Universität von Kalifornien, Berkeley. Study in USA. EducationBro - Study Abroad Magazine

Universität von Kalifornien, Berkeley-Details

Einschreiben an der University of California, Berkeley

Überblick


Universität von Kalifornien, Berkeley ist eine öffentliche Einrichtung, die in Gründung 1868.

Studiengebühren in der University of California, Berkeley sind $40,000 (Aprox.).

Die University of California, Berkeley, oft bezeichnet als Cal, liegt mit Blick auf die San Francisco Bay. typisch, 95 Prozent oder mehr der eingehenden Erstsemester in Berkeley wählen auf dem Campus zu leben. Es gibt mehr als 1,000 Studentenorganisationen, reichen von politischen Gruppen zu einem Drachenfliegen Club und alles dazwischen. Berkeley hat auch eine blühende griechische Leben mit Dutzenden von Brüderlichkeit und Sorority Kapiteln. Die California Golden Bears, Berkeleys Sportmannschaften, konkurrieren in der Pac-12 Conference und sind für ihre traditionellen Bogen Rivalität mit der Stanford University bekannt.

Berkeley hat 14 Schulen und Hochschulen, darunter eine Reihe von Absolventen und Berufsschulen, wie die School of Optometry und der Graduate School of Journalism. Andere Graduate-Programme angeboten werden, umfassen die in der hoch positionierte Haas School of Business,Graduate School of Education, Hochschule für Technik und School of Law.

Berkeley ist bekannt als ein Zentrum der liberalen Studentenbewegung bekannt: Die Free Speech Movement - ein 1964 Studentenprotest in Berkeley als Reaktion auf das Verbot der Verwaltung der politischen Tätigkeit - gewann große Aufmerksamkeit. Bemerkenswerte Schüler gehören der ehemalige US-. Supreme Court Chief Justice Earl Warren, Olympiasieger Jonny Moseley und Schauspieler John Cho, für seine Rolle bekannt in der „Harold und Kumar“ Filme. DR. J. Robert Oppenheimer, die arbeitete an der Entwicklung der Atombombe als wissenschaftlicher Leiter des Manhattan-Projekts während des Zweiten Weltkriegs, war Professor in Berkeley.

Schulen / Hochschulen / Abteilungen / Kurse / Fakultäten


Chemie

Ist mit Abteilungen für Chemie und Chemieingenieurwesen.

Bildung

Master- und Promotionsprogramme, Lehrer Vorbereitung, Bachelor-Moll-Programm und Führungstraining.

Ingenieurwesen

Ist mit Abteilungen für Bioengineering; Bürgerlich & Umwelttechnik; Elektrotechnik & Computerwissenschaften; Industrial Engineering & Unternehmensforschung; Materialwissenschaften & Ingenieurwesen; Maschinenbau; und Nukleartechnik.

Umweltgestaltung

Ist mit Abteilungen für Architektur; Landschaftsarchitektur; und Stadt- und Regionalplanung.

Haas School of Business

Bachelor-Grad, MBA-Programme und Weiterbildung.

Information

Graduate-Programme in Informations-Management-Systeme und Daten Wissenschaft.

Journalismus

Zwei-Jahres-immersiver Master of Journalism Programm.

Recht

Angebote J. D. und J.S.D. Programme, und die erste US-. Law School bieten M. A. und Ph.D. Grad in Rechtswissenschaft und Sozialpolitik.

Briefe & Wissenschaft

Berkeley die größte Hochschule umfasst mehr als 60 Abteilungen in den biologischen Wissenschaften, Kunst und Geisteswissenschaften, Naturwissenschaften, und Sozialwissenschaften.

Natürliche Ressourcen

Ist mit Abteilungen für Agrar- und Ressourcenökonomie; Umweltwissenschaft, Politik, und Management; Ernährungswissenschaft; und pflanzlichen und mikrobiellen Biologie.

Optometry

Professional-Programm für Optometrie.

Gesundheitswesen

Master- und Promotionsprogramme in einem weiten Bereich der öffentlichen Gesundheit Disziplinen.

Richard und Rhoda Goldman School of Public Policy

Master, Doktoranden und ein Bachelor-Moll-Programm in der öffentlichen Politik.

Social Welfare

Mit Master, gleichzeitiger Master, Doktorandinnen und Credential-Programme.

Geschichte


Im 1866, das private College of California kaufte das Land den aktuellen Berkeley Campus umfassend. Weil es genügend Mittel fehlten zu bedienen, fusionierte schließlich mit dem staatlichen Agrar, Bergbau, und Mechanical Arts College der University of California zu bilden, die erste Full-Lehrplan öffentliche Universität im Staat.

Zehn Dozenten und fast 40 Studenten aus den neuen University of California, wenn es in Oakland eröffnet 1869. Frederick H. Billings war ein Treuhänder der University of California und schlug vor, dass das College zu Ehren des anglo-irischen Philosophen George Berkeley benannt werden. Im 1870, Henry Durant, der Gründer des College of California, wurde der erste Präsident. Mit der Fertigstellung der Nord andSouth Hallen in 1873, die zu seinem Berkeley Standort verlegt Universität mit 167 männlich und 22 Studentinnen und hielt seine erste Klassen.

Ab 1891, Phoebe Apperson Hearst machte mehrere große Geschenke Berkeley, Finanzierung eine Reihe von Programmen und Neubauten, und Sponsoring, in 1898, ein internationaler Wettbewerb in Antwerpen, Belgien, wo Französisch Architekt eingereicht Émile Bénard den Siegerentwurf für einen Campus Masterplan. Im 1905, die Universität Farm wurde in der Nähe von Sacramento gegründet, schließlich werden die University of California, Davis.By den 1920er Jahren, die Zahl der Campus-Gebäude war erheblich gewachsen, und umfasste zwanzig Strukturen entworfen von dem Architekten John Galen Howard.

Robert Gordon Sproul diente als Präsident von 1930 zu 1958. Durch 1942, der American Council on Education nur auf Platz UC Berkeley zweite an der Harvard University in der Anzahl der aufstrebenden Abteilungen.

Während des Zweiten Weltkriegs, Folgend Glenn Seaborg damalige geheime Entdeckung von Plutonium, Ernest Orlando Lawrence Radiation Laboratory begann mit dem US-schrumpfen. Armee zu entwickeln, um die Atombombe. UC Berkeley Physik-Professor J. Robert Oppenheimer war wissenschaftlicher Leiter des Manhattan-Projekts namens in 1942. Zusammen mit dem Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (ehemals Radiation Lab), Berkeley ist nun Partner zwei weitere Labors in der Verwaltung, Los Alamos National Laboratory (1943) und Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (1952).

Ursprünglich, militärische Ausbildung war obligatorisch für männliche Studenten, und Berkeley beherbergt eine Waffenkammer zu diesem Zweck. Im 1917, Berkeley ROTC Programm wurde eingerichtet,, und seine Schule der militärischen Luftfahrt ausgebildeten Nachwuchspiloten, einschließlich Jimmy Doolittle, die graduierte mit einem B. A.. in 1922. Sowohl Robert McNamara und Frederick C. Weyand studierte an der UC Berkeley ROTC Programm, verdienen B. A.. Grad in 1937 und 1938, beziehungsweise. Im 1926, Zukunft Flotte Admiral Chester W. Nimitz wurde die erste Naval Reserve Officer Training Corps-Einheit in Berkeley. Während des Zweiten Weltkriegs, das Militär erhöht seine Präsenz auf dem Campus mehr Offiziere zu rekrutieren, und von 1944, mehr als 1,000 Berkeley Studenten wurden in der V-12 Marineakademie Training Program und Marineschule für Diesel-Engineering eingeschrieben. Der Board of Regents endete obligatorische militärische Ausbildung in Berkeley 1962.

Während der McCarthy-Ära in 1949, das Board of Regents nahm eine antikommunistische Treueeid. Eine Reihe von Dozenten beanstandet und wurden entlassen; 10 Jahre vergingen, bevor sie mit zurück zu zahlen wieder wurden.

Im 1952, die University of California wurde trennt ein Unternehmen von dem Berkeley-Campus. Jeder Campus wurde die relative Autonomie und seinen eigenen Kanzler gegeben. Dann Präsident Sproul angenommen Präsidentschaft der gesamten University of California System, und wurde Clark Kerr die erste Leitung der UC Berkeley.

Berkeley einen guten Ruf für Studentenbewegung in den 1960er Jahren mit der Free Speech Movement von 1964 und gegen den Vietnam-Krieg. In dem stark von publizierten People Park Protest 1969, Studenten und die Schule Verwendung von einem Grundstück in Konflikt über; die National Guardwas genannt in und Gewalt ausgebrochen. Dann Gouverneur von Kalifornien Ronald Reagan nannte den Berkeley-Campus „ein Paradies für kommunistische Sympathisanten, Demonstranten, und Sex Abweichler.“ Moderne Studenten in Berkeley sind weniger politisch aktiv, mit einem größeren Prozentsatz an mildert und Konservative. Demokraten zahlreicher als die Republikaner an der Fakultät durch ein Verhältnis von 9:1.

Verschiedene menschliche und Tierrechtsgruppen haben mit Berkeley kollidierten. Native Americans mit der Schule über die Rückführung der sterblichen Überreste aus dem Phoebe A kollidierten. Hearst Museum of Anthropology. Tierschützer haben Dozenten Tiere für die Forschung bedroht mit. Die Antwort der Schule Baum Sitter protestierten Bau verursacht Kontroverse in der örtlichen Gemeinschaft.

Im Mai 1, 2014, UC Berkeley war eine von fünfundfünfzig Hochschulen unter Untersuchung durch das Amt für Bürgerrechte benannt „für mögliche Verletzungen des Bundesgesetzes über den Umgang mit sexueller Gewalt und Belästigung Beschwerden“ Vor dem Weißen Haus Task Force Studenten aus Sexual Assault zu schützen. Die Untersuchung kommt nach 31 Studentinnen aus drei Bund Beschwerden: zuerst, ein Clery Actcomplaint wurde im Mai eingereicht 2013, und dann, nach einer fehlenden Antwort von der Universität, eine zweite Clery Act Beschwerde und Titel IX Beschwerde wurden im Februar eingereicht 26, 2014. Untersuchungen haben weiterhin in 2016, mit mehreren hundert Seiten von Aufzeichnungen im April veröffentlicht 2016, ein Muster der dokumentierten sexuellen Belästigung und Zündungen von nicht-angestellten Mitarbeiter zeigen.


Möchtest du University of California diskutieren, Berkeley ? Irgendeine Frage, Kommentare oder Bewertungen


Universität von Kalifornien, Berkeley auf der Karte


Foto


Fotos: Universität von Kalifornien, Berkeley offiziellen Facebook

Video





Teilen Sie diese nützliche Informationen mit deinen Freunden

Universität von Kalifornien, Berkeley Bewertungen

Registriert der University of California zu diskutieren, Berkeley.
BITTE BEACHTEN SIE: EducationBro Magazin bietet Ihnen die Möglichkeit Informationen über Universitäten zu lesen an 96 Sprachen, aber wir bitten Sie andere Mitglieder zu respektieren und Kommentare zu hinterlassen auf Englisch.

University of California, Berkeley

University of California, Berkeley. Study in USA. EducationBro - Study Abroad Magazine

University of California, Berkeley Details

Enroll at University of California, Berkeley

Overview


University of California, Berkeley is a public institution that was founded in 1868.

Tuition fees in University of California, Berkeley  are $40,000 (Aprox.).

The University of California, Berkeley, often referred to as Cal, is situated overlooking the San Francisco Bay. Typically, 95 percent or more of incoming freshmen at Berkeley choose to live on campus. There are more than 1,000 student organizations, ranging from political groups to a hang gliding club and everything in between. Berkeley also has a thriving Greek life with dozens of fraternity and sorority chapters. The California Golden Bears, Berkeley’s athletic teams, compete in the Pac-12 Conference and are known for their traditional arch rivalry with Stanford University.

Berkeley has 14 schools and colleges, including a number of graduate and professional schools, such as the School of Optometry and the Graduate School of Journalism. Other graduate programs offered include those in the highly ranked Haas School of Business,Graduate School of Education, College of Engineering and School of Law.

Berkeley is well known as a hub of liberal student activism: The Free Speech Movement – a 1964 student protest at Berkeley in response to the administration’s ban on political activity – gained widespread attention. Notable alumni include former U.S. Supreme Court Chief Justice Earl Warren, Olympic gold medalist Jonny Moseley and actor John Cho, known for his role in the “Harold and Kumar” films. Dr. J. Robert Oppenheimer, who worked on the development of the atomic bomb as scientific director of the Manhattan Project during World War II, was a professor at Berkeley.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


Chemistry

Includes departments of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering.

Education

Master’s and doctoral programs, teacher preparation, undergraduate minor program and leadership training.

Engineering

Includes departments of Bioengineering; Civil & Environmental Engineering; Electrical Engineering & Computer Sciences; Industrial Engineering & Operations Research; Materials Science & Engineering; Mechanical Engineering; and Nuclear Engineering.

Environmental Design

Includes departments of Architecture; Landscape Architecture; and City and Regional Planning.

Haas School of Business

Undergraduate degrees, MBA programs and executive education.

Information

Graduate programs in information management systems and data science.

Journalism

Two-year immersive Master of Journalism program.

Law

Offers J.D. and J.S.D. programs, and the first U.S. law school to offer M.A. and Ph.D. degrees in jurisprudence and social policy.

Letters & Science

Berkeley’s largest college includes more than 60 departments in the biological sciences, arts and humanities, physical sciences, and social sciences.

Natural Resources

Includes departments of Agricultural and Resource Economics; Environmental Science, Policy, and Management; Nutritional Science; and Plant and Microbial Biology.

Optometry

Professional program for optometry.

Public Health

Master’s and doctoral programs in a wide range of public health disciplines.

Richard and Rhoda Goldman School of Public Policy

Master’s, doctoral and an undergraduate minor program in public policy.

Social Welfare

Offering master’s, concurrent master’s, doctoral and credential programs.

History


In 1866, the private College of California purchased the land comprising the current Berkeley campus. Because it lacked sufficient funds to operate, it eventually merged with the state-run Agricultural, Mining, and Mechanical Arts College to form the University of California, the first full-curriculum public university in the state.

Ten faculty members and almost 40 students made up the new University of California when it opened in Oakland in 1869. Frederick H. Billings was a trustee of the College of California and suggested that the college be named in honor of the Anglo-Irish philosopher George Berkeley. In 1870, Henry Durant, the founder of the College of California, became the first president. With the completion of North andSouth Halls in 1873, the university relocated to its Berkeley location with 167 male and 22 female students and held its first classes.

Beginning in 1891, Phoebe Apperson Hearst made several large gifts to Berkeley, funding a number of programs and new buildings, and sponsoring, in 1898, an international competition in Antwerp, Belgium, where French architect Émile Bénard submitted the winning design for a campus master plan. In 1905, the University Farm was established near Sacramento, ultimately becoming the University of California, Davis.By the 1920s, the number of campus buildings had grown substantially, and included twenty structures designed by architect John Galen Howard.

Robert Gordon Sproul served as president from 1930 to 1958. By 1942, the American Council on Education ranked UC Berkeley second only to Harvard University in the number of distinguished departments.

During World War II, following Glenn Seaborg’s then-secret discovery of plutonium, Ernest Orlando Lawrence’s Radiation Laboratory began to contract with the U.S. Army to develop the atomic bomb. UC Berkeley physics professor J. Robert Oppenheimer was named scientific head of the Manhattan Project in 1942. Along with the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (formerly the Radiation Lab), Berkeley is now a partner in managing two other labs, Los Alamos National Laboratory (1943) and Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (1952).

Originally, military training was compulsory for male undergraduates, and Berkeley housed an armory for that purpose. In 1917, Berkeley’s ROTC program was established, and its School of Military Aeronautics trained future pilots, including Jimmy Doolittle, who graduated with a B.A. in 1922. Both Robert McNamara and Frederick C. Weyand graduated from UC Berkeley’s ROTC program, earning B.A. degrees in 1937 and 1938, respectively. In 1926, future fleet admiral Chester W. Nimitz established the first Naval Reserve Officers Training Corps unit at Berkeley. During World War II, the military increased its presence on campus to recruit more officers, and by 1944, more than 1,000 Berkeley students were enrolled in the V-12 Navy College Training Program and naval training school for diesel engineering. The Board of Regents ended compulsory military training at Berkeley in 1962.

During the McCarthy era in 1949, the Board of Regents adopted an anti-communist loyalty oath. A number of faculty members objected and were dismissed; ten years passed before they were reinstated with back pay.

In 1952, the University of California became an entity separate from the Berkeley campus. Each campus was given relative autonomy and its own Chancellor. Then-president Sproul assumed presidency of the entire University of California system, and Clark Kerr became the first Chancellor of UC Berkeley.

Berkeley gained a reputation for student activism in the 1960s with the Free Speech Movement of 1964 and opposition to the Vietnam War. In the highly publicized People’s Park protest in 1969, students and the school conflicted over use of a plot of land; the National Guardwas called in and violence erupted. Then governor of California Ronald Reagan called the Berkeley campus “a haven for communist sympathizers, protesters, and sex deviants.” Modern students at Berkeley are less politically active, with a greater percentage of moderates and conservatives. Democrats outnumber Republicans on the faculty by a ratio of 9:1.

Various human and animal rights groups have conflicted with Berkeley. Native Americans conflicted with the school over repatriation of remains from the Phoebe A. Hearst Museum of Anthropology. Animal-rights activists have threatened faculty members using animals for research. The school’s response to tree sitters protesting construction caused controversy in the local community.

On May 1, 2014, UC Berkeley was named one of fifty-five higher education institutions under investigation by the Office of Civil Rights “for possible violations of federal law over the handling of sexual violence and harassment complaints” by the White House Task Force to Protect Students from Sexual Assault. The investigation comes after 31 female students made three federal complaints: first, a Clery Actcomplaint was filed in May 2013, and then, after a lack of response from the University, a second Clery Act Complaint and Title IX complaint were filed on February 26, 2014. Investigations have continued into 2016, with hundreds of pages of records released in April 2016, showing a pattern of documented sexual harassment and firings of non-tenured staff.


Do you want discuss University of California, Berkeley ? Any question, comments or reviews


University of California, Berkeley on Map


Photo


Photos: University of California, Berkeley official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

University of California, Berkeley reviews

Join to discuss of University of California, Berkeley.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.