加州大學, 洛杉磯

加州大學, 洛杉磯. 研究在美國. EducationBro.com

加州大學, 洛杉磯詳情

  • 國家 : 美國
  • 市 : 該Angales
  • 縮寫 : 加州大學洛杉磯分校
  • 成立 : 1919
  • 學生們 (約。) : 27000
  • 不要忘了 討論加州大學, 洛杉磯
登記在加州大學, 洛杉磯

概觀


加州大學, 洛杉磯是始建於公共機構 1919.

在加州大學學費, 洛杉磯 是 $35,000 (APROX。).

加州大學, 洛杉磯, 通常被稱為UCLA, 位於洛杉磯的韋斯特伍德附近, 從太平洋僅5英里. 加州大學洛杉磯分校的住房保障三年. 學生可以加入任何的不是更 800 學生組織, 包含 60 左右希臘章節, 代表約 13 學生主體的百分比. 這所大學有許多學生的媒體集團,包括報紙, 雜誌, 和電台,電視台. 加州大學洛杉磯分校熊隊在爭奪NCAA我司的吃豆12會議並為其成功的男子和女子水球隊伍是眾所周知的. 熊足球隊在附近的帕薩迪納市著名的玫瑰碗球場發揮它的主場比賽.

加州大學洛杉磯分校包括信件和科學學院和一些研究生院和方案, 包括管理的高度排名安德森商學院, 教育和信息學研究生院, 亨利·薩穆埃利工程與應用科學學院, 法學院, 醫學David Geffen醫學院, 公共事務學院, 公共健康護理和學校的學校. 加州大學洛杉磯分校也有劇院名校, 電影 & 電視和牙科學院. 裡根加州大學洛杉磯分校醫學中心是全國排名第一的醫院之一. 著名的校友包括前NBA巨星賈巴爾, 創作歌手薩拉Bareilles的演員肖恩·奧斯汀, 他在山姆Gamgee的寫照最了解 “在指環王” 電影三部曲.

學校 / 高校 / 部門 / 培訓班 / 院系


歷史


三月 1881, 洛杉磯居民大力遊說後,, 在加利福尼亞州議會批准加利福尼亞州師範學校的南支的創建(後來成為聖荷西州立大學) 在洛杉磯市中心培訓教師為南加州的人口增長. 該 國家師範學校在洛杉磯 開業於八月 29, 1882, 關於什麼是現在的洛杉磯公共圖書館系統的中央圖書館的網站. 新設施包括一所小學,其中教師在訓練實踐能對孩子的教學技巧. 這所小學是關係到現今版本, 加州大學洛杉磯分校實驗學校. 在 1887, 學校被稱為洛杉磯州立師範學校.

在 1914, 學校遷至上佛蒙特大道一中新校區 (現在洛杉磯城市學院網站) 在東方好萊塢. 在 1917, UC麗晶愛德華奧古斯迪克森, 代表南國當時唯一的攝政, 和Ernest卡羅爾·摩爾, 師範學院院長, 開始共同致力於遊說州議會,使學校成為加州分校的第二個大學, 加州大學伯克利分校後,. 他們從加州大學伯克利分校的校友遇阻力, 州議會北加州成員, 和本傑明井惠勒, 加州從大學校長 1899 至 1919, 誰都是極力反對南部校園的想法. 然而, 大衛·普雷斯科特巴羅斯, 加州大學的新總統, 不同意惠勒的反對. 在5月 23, 1919, 南加州’ 努力得到了回報,當州長威廉ð. 斯蒂芬斯簽署議會法案 626 成為法律, 這改變了洛杉磯師範學校成 加州大學南院. 同樣的法律增加了普通本科計劃, 信件和科學學院. 南分校開設九月 15 當年, 提供兩年的本科課程,以 250 信件和科學專業的學生和 1,250 學生在師範學院, 根據摩爾定律的持續方向.

根據加州總裁威廉·華萊士·坎貝爾大學, 報名在南部的分公司擴張如此迅速,由20年代中期的機構被outgrowing的 25 英畝佛蒙特大道的位置. 的試劑進行一個新的位置的搜索,並宣布他們的所謂的選擇 “富康網站”富康 - 僅僅西山上月 21, 1925 險勝仍空洛斯維第斯半島的丘陵全景. 之後,運動隊進入太平洋海岸會議 1926, 南院學生會通過了暱稱 “熊”, 加州大學伯克利分校的學生自治會提供一個名稱. 在 1927, 攝政改名theSouthern分公司 美國加州大學洛杉磯分校 (這個單詞 “在” 由逗號正式取代 1958, 在與其他的UC校園線). 在同一年, 國家在Westwood對土地出售破土動工 $1 百萬, 不到三分之一其值, 由房地產開發商和埃德溫·哈羅德Janss, 對他們來說,Janss步驟被命名為.

原四是建築學院圖書館 (現在鮑威爾庫), 羅伊斯大廳, 物理,生物學大廈 (現在人文館), 與化學樓 (現在海恩斯大廳), 周圍的四邊形庭院排列 400 英畝 (1.6 平方公里) 校園. 對新校區的第一個本科班是在舉行 1929 同 5,500 學生們. 後經進一步校友遊說, 學院, 政府和社區領袖, 加州大學洛杉磯分校被允許授予碩士學位 1933, 和博士學位 1936, 對來自加州大學伯克利分校持續性.


你要嗎 討論加州大學, 洛杉磯 ? 任何問題, 意見或評論


加州大學, 洛杉磯地圖


照片


相片: 加州大學, 洛杉磯 官方Facebook

視頻





與好友分享這個有用的信息

加州大學, 洛杉磯評論

加入加州大學的討論, 洛杉磯.
請注意: EducationBro雜誌讓你在閱讀有關大學信息的能力 96 語言, 但我們要求您尊重其他成員和英語發表評論.

University of California, Los Angeles

University of California, Los Angeles. Study in USA. EducationBro.com

University of California, Los Angeles Details

Enroll at University of California, Los Angeles

Overview


University of California, Los Angeles is a public institution that was founded in 1919.

Tuition fees in University of California, Los Angeles are $35,000 (Aprox.).

The University of California, Los Angeles, commonly referred to as UCLA, is located in the Westwood neighborhood of L.A., just five miles from the Pacific Ocean. UCLA guarantees housing for three years. Students can join any of the more than 800 student organizations, including 60 or so Greek chapters, which represent about 13 percent of the student body. The university has a number of student media groups including a newspaper, magazine, and radio and TV stations. The UCLA Bruins compete in the Pac-12 Conference of NCAA’s Division I and are well known for their successful men’s and women’s water polo teams. The Bruins’ football team plays its home games at the famous Rose Bowl stadium in nearby Pasadena.

UCLA encompasses the College of Letters and Sciences and a number of graduate schools and programs, including the highly ranked Anderson School of Management, Graduate School of Education and Information Studies, Henry Samueli School of Engineering and Applied Science, School of Law, David Geffen School of Medicine, School of Public Affairs, School of Nursing and School of Public Health. UCLA also has a prestigious School of Theater, Film & Television and School of Dentistry. The Ronald Reagan UCLA Medical Center is one of the top-ranked hospitals in the country. Notable alumni include former NBA star Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, singer-songwriter Sara Bareilles and actor Sean Astin, best know for his portrayal of Sam Gamgee in “The Lord of the Rings” film trilogy.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


History


In March 1881, after heavy lobbying by Los Angeles residents, the California State Legislature authorized the creation of a southern branch of the California State Normal School(which later became San Jose State University) in downtown Los Angeles to train teachers for the growing population of Southern California. The State Normal School at Los Angeles opened on August 29, 1882, on what is now the site of the Central Library of the Los Angeles Public Library system. The new facility included an elementary school where teachers-in-training could practice their teaching technique on children. That elementary school is related to the present day version, UCLA Lab School. In 1887, the school became known as the Los Angeles State Normal School.

In 1914, the school moved to a new campus on Vermont Avenue (now the site of Los Angeles City College) in East Hollywood. In 1917, UC Regent Edward Augustus Dickson, the only regent representing the Southland at the time, and Ernest Carroll Moore, Director of the Normal School, began working together to lobby the State Legislature to enable the school to become the second University of California campus, after UC Berkeley. They met resistance from UC Berkeley alumni, Northern California members of the state legislature, and Benjamin Ide Wheeler, President of the University of California from 1899 to 1919, who were all vigorously opposed to the idea of a southern campus. However, David Prescott Barrows, the new President of the University of California, did not share Wheeler’s objections. On May 23, 1919, the Southern Californians’ efforts were rewarded when Governor William D. Stephens signed Assembly Bill 626 into law, which transformed the Los Angeles Normal School into the Southern Branch of the University of California. The same legislation added its general undergraduate program, the College of Letters and Science. The Southern Branch campus opened on September 15 of that year, offering two-year undergraduate programs to 250 Letters and Science students and 1,250 students in the Teachers College, under Moore’s continued direction.

Under University of California President William Wallace Campbell, enrollment at the Southern Branch expanded so rapidly that by the mid-1920s the institution was outgrowing the 25 acre Vermont Avenue location. The Regents conducted a search for a new location and announced their selection of the so-called “Beverly Site”—just west of Beverly Hills—on March 21, 1925 edging out the panoramic hills of the still-empty Palos Verdes Peninsula. After the athletic teams entered the Pacific Coast conference in 1926, the Southern Branch student council adopted the nickname “Bruins”, a name offered by the student council at UC Berkeley. In 1927, the Regents renamed theSouthern Branch the University of California at Los Angeles (the word “at” was officially replaced by a comma in 1958, in line with other UC campuses). In the same year, the state broke ground in Westwood on land sold for $1 million, less than one-third its value, by real estate developers Edwin and Harold Janss, for whom the Janss Steps are named.

The original four buildings were the College Library (now Powell Library), Royce Hall, the Physics-Biology Building (now the Humanities Building), and the Chemistry Building (now Haines Hall), arrayed around a quadrangular courtyard on the 400 acre (1.6 km²) campus. The first undergraduate classes on the new campus were held in 1929 with 5,500 students. After further lobbying by alumni, faculty, administration and community leaders, UCLA was permitted to award the master’s degree in 1933, and the doctorate in 1936, against continued resistance from UC Berkeley.


Do you want discuss University of California, Los Angeles ? Any question, comments or reviews


University of California, Los Angeles on Map


Photo


Photos: University of California, Los Angeles official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

University of California, Los Angeles reviews

Join to discuss of University of California, Los Angeles.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.