جامعة كاليفورنيا, سان دييغو

جامعة كاليفورنيا في سان دييغو. الدراسة في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. التعليم في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية مع EdicationBro.com

جامعة كاليفورنيا, سان دييغو تفاصيل

التسجيل في جامعة كاليفورنيا, سان دييغو

نظرة عامة


جامعة كاليفورنيا, سان دييغو هو مؤسسة عامة تأسست عام 1960.

الرسوم الدراسية في جامعة كاليفورنيا, سان دييغو $38,000 (ولكنها تعمل.).

جامعة كاليفورنيا, تقع سان دييغو إلى جانب المحيط الهادئ في المجتمع لا جولا من سان دييغو. وتريتون جامعة كاليفورنيا سان دييغو المنافسة في أكثر من 20 الرياضة NCAA الشعبة الثانية, أساسا في كاليفورنيا جمعية جماعية رياضية. المدرسة لديها المئات من المنظمات الطلابية, والجامعة تستضيف الجالية اليونانية مزدهر. جميع الموظفين الجدد مؤهلين لمضمون السكن في الحرم الجامعي لمدة سنتين, لكنها ليست مطلوبة للعيش في الحرم الجامعي. الحرم الجامعي لديه الحوض وتعد موطنا لأداء عالية في الهواء الطلق كبير يهز الجدول, الذي يختبر قدرة الهياكل على مقاومة الزلازل محاكاة.

يشمل جامعة كاليفورنيا سان دييغو ست كليات الجامعية, خمسة أقسام الأكاديمية وخمسة الدراسات العليا والمهنية المدارس. ItsSchool من مدرسة الطب وجاكوبس للهندسة تحتل مرتبة عالية. واحد تقليد جامعة كاليفورنيا سان دييغو هو مهرجان صن الله, التي بدأت في 1980s، ويتضمن حفلات موسيقية ويضم موسيقيين شعبية, أنشطة الكرنفال, البائعين ومقصورات طالب. ومن المعروف جامعة كاليفورنيا سان دييغو أيضا عن البيت الدولي لل, حيث ما يقرب من 350 طلاب من أكثر من 30 يعيش البلدان والتعلم معا. تشمل خريجي جامعة كاليفورنيا سان دييغو ملحوظ غي “برعم” تريبل وبيل أتكنسون, الذي ساعد في إنشاء أول كمبيوتر Apple Macintosh, ومايك القاضي, ممثل, كاتب, المخرج والمنتج الذي خلق الفيلم “مساحة المكتب” والمسلسل التلفزيوني “ملك التل.”

المدارس / الكليات / الإدارات / الدورات / ملكات


  • فنون & العلوم الإنسانية
  • العلوم البيولوجية
  • قسم الدراسات العليا
  • مدرسة جاكوبس للهندسة
  • العلوم الفيزيائية
  • كلية رادي للإدارة
  • كلية السياسة العالمية & إستراتيجية
  • مدرسة الطب
  • سكريبس انست. لعلوم المحيطات
  • مدرسة Skaggs الصيدلة & العلوم الصيدلانية
  • العلوم الاجتماعية

التاريخ


عندما الحكام من جامعة كاليفورنيا أذن أصلا حرم سان دييغو في 1956, وكان من المخطط أن تكون الدراسات العليا والبحوث مؤسسة, توفير التعليم في مجال العلوم, الرياضيات, والهندسة. دعم المواطنين المحليين فكرة, التصويت العام نفسه نقل إلى الجامعة 59 فدان (24 لديه) الأراضي ميسا على الساحل بالقرب من معهد سكريبس لعلوم المحيطات قبل الإيجاد. طلب الحكام هدية إضافية من 550 فدان (220 لديه) من غير المطورة ميسا شمال شرق أرض سكريبس, طالما 500 فدان (200 لديه) على الموقع السابق لمعسكر ماتيوس من الحكومة الاتحادية, ولكن روجر ريفال, ثم مدير معهد سكريبس والنصير الرئيسي لإنشاء الحرم الجامعي الجديد, خطر اختيار الموقع عن طريق تعريض الممارسات التجارية العقارية الحصرية المجتمع لا جولا, التي كانت معادية للجماعات العرقية والأقليات الدينية. هذا المحافظين المحليين الغاضبين, وكذلك ريجنت ادوين W. بولي. راض الرئيس UC كلارك كير المانحين مدينة سان دييغو عن طريق تغيير الاسم المقترح من جامعة كاليفورنيا, لا جولا, من جامعة كاليفورنيا, سان دييغو. صوتت المدينة في اتفاق لدورها في 1958, وافقت جامعة كاليفورنيا بناء الحرم الجامعي الجديد في 1960. بسبب اشتباك مع بولي, لم تكن مصنوعة رفل المستشار. هربرت يورك, أول مدير مختبر لورانس ليفرمور الوطني, عين بدلا. نيويورك المخطط في الحرم الجامعي الرئيسي وفقا ل “أوكسبريدج” نموذج, الاعتماد على العديد من الأفكار رفل ل.

كانت جامعة كاليفورنيا في سان دييغو في الحرم الجامعي العام الأول من جامعة كاليفورنيا إلى أن تصمم “من أعلى إلى أسفل” من حيث التركيز الأبحاث. اختلف القادة المحليين بشأن ما إذا كانت المدرسة الجديدة يجب أن تكون معهد البحوث التقنية أو أكثر اعتمادا على نطاق واسع المدرسة التي شملت الطلاب الجامعيين فضلا. جون جاي هوبكنز للجنرال ديناميكس Corporationpledged مليون دولار لالسابق في حين عرضت مجلس المدينة الأراضي مجانا لهذا الأخير. إذن الأصلي للحرم سان دييغو التي قدمها الحكام جامعة كاليفورنيا في 1956 وافق على “برنامج الدراسات العليا في العلوم والتكنولوجيا” التي تشمل برامج البكالوريوس, حلا وسطا فاز كل من دعم جنرال دايناميكس والناخبين المدينة’ موافقة. الحائز على جائزة نوبل هارولد أوري, وهو فيزيائي من جامعة شيكاغو, وهانز سوس, الذي كان قد نشر أول ورقة من ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري مع رفل في العام السابق, كان مجندا في وقت مبكر لأعضاء هيئة التدريس في 1958. ماريا ماير, في وقت لاحق الثانية الحائز على جائزة نوبل في الفيزياء الإناث, عين أستاذا للفيزياء في 1960. تقسيم تخرج من المدرسة فتحت في 1960 مع 20 أعضاء هيئة التدريس في الإقامة, مع تعليمات عرضت في مجالات الفيزياء, مادة الاحياء, كيمياء, وعلوم الأرض. قبل الانتهاء من الحرم الجامعي الرئيسي البناء, عقدت دروس في معهد سكريبس لعلوم المحيطات.

بواسطة 1963, وقد تم الانتهاء من مرافق جديدة في ميسا لكلية العلوم والهندسة, وكانت المباني الجديدة تحت الإنشاء للعلوم الاجتماعية والإنسانية. تم التعاقد مع عشرة أعضاء هيئة التدريس إضافية في تلك التخصصات, وكان تعيين أول كلية في الموقع بأكمله, سميت لاحقا بعد روجر ريفال, من الحرم الجامعي الجديد. استقال نيويورك كمستشار في تلك السنة وحل محله جون سمبل غالبريث. قبول برنامج البكالوريوس أول دفعة من 181 طالبة في كلية رفل في 1964. تأسست كلية الثانية في 1964, على الأرض ورث من قبل الحكومة الاتحادية, وسميت البيئة جون موير بعد عامين. كما قبلت في كلية الطب الأولى طلابها في 1966.

انضم المنظر السياسي هربرت ماركوز أعضاء هيئة التدريس في 1965. بطل من اليسار الجديد, ورد أنه كان متظاهر الأول لاحتلال مبنى الإدارة في تظاهرة نظمتها تلميذه المنظمة, الناشط السياسي أنجيلا ديفيس. وسام جوقة الأمريكية عرضت شراء ما تبقى من عقد ماركوز ل $20,000; الحكام اللوم المستشارة ماكجيل للدفاع عن ماركوز على أساس من الحرية الأكاديمية, ولكن تم تفادي اتخاذ مزيد من الإجراءات بعد أن أبدى القادة المحليين لدعم ماركوز. ورأى مزيد من الاضطرابات الطلابية في الجامعة, كما زادت الولايات المتحدة مشاركتها في حرب فيتنام خلال 1960s في وقت مبكر, عندما أثار طالب العلم نام منه على الحرم الجامعي. وتصاعدت الاحتجاجات مع استمرار الحرب وتفاقمت إلا بعد أطلق الحرس الوطني على الطلاب المحتجين في جامعة ولاية كينت في 1970. على 200 طالب احتلوا قاعة أوري, مع الإعداد طالب واحد النار في نفسه احتجاجا على الحرب.[28][33]

النشاط البحثي في ​​وقت مبكر والجودة بالكلية, لا سيما في العلوم, وكان جزءا لا يتجزأ من تشكيل التركيز وثقافة الجامعة. حتى قبل أن جامعة كاليفورنيا في سان دييغو حرمها الجامعي الخاص, قد المجندين أعضاء هيئة التدريس التي سبق اختراقات البحثية الهامة, مثل المنحنى كيلينغ, رسم بياني المؤامرات بسرعة زيادة مستويات ثاني أكسيد الكربون في الغلاف الجوي، وكانت أدلة قوية الأول لتغير المناخ العالمي; المعادلات كون الشام, تستخدم للتحقيق في الذرات والجزيئات خاصة في كيمياء الكم; وتجربة ميلر أوري, التي أنجبت مجال الكيمياء تسبق التكوين الجنيني. هندسة, لا سيما علوم الكمبيوتر, أصبح جزءا هاما من الأكاديميين في الجامعة حيث نضجت. ساعد باحثون من جامعة كاليفورنيا سان دييغو تطوير باسكال, لغة برمجة مستقلة آلة المبكرة التي أثرت في وقت لاحق بشكل كبير جافا, شبكة المؤسسة الوطنية للعلوم, مقدمة إلى الإنترنت, وبروتوكول نقل أخبار الشبكة خلال أواخر 1970s إلى 1980s. في الاقتصاد, طرق لتحليل السلاسل الزمنية الاقتصادية مع تقلبات زمنية متفاوتة (قوس), ومع الاتجاهات المشتركة (التكامل المشترك) وقد وضعت. حافظت جامعة كاليفورنيا في سان دييغو الطابع أبحاثها المكثفة بعد تأسيسها, تراكم 20 الحائزين على جائزة نوبل التابعة لها داخل 50 سنة من التاريخ; بمعدل أربعة في العقد.

تحت ريتشارد C. القيادة أتكينسون وزيرا للمن 1980 إلى 1995, عززت الجامعة علاقاتها مع مدينة سان دييغو من خلال تشجيع نقل التكنولوجيا مع الشركات المطورة, تحويل سان دييغو لتصبح شركة رائدة عالميا في مجال الصناعات القائمة على التكنولوجيا. أشرف على التوسع السريع في كلية الهندسة, سميت لاحقا بعد مؤسس شركة كوالكوم ايروين M. جاكوبس, مع بناء مركز الحاسوب العملاق سان دييغو وإنشاء علوم الكمبيوتر, الهندسة الكهربائية, وإدارات الهندسة الحيوية. وزادت التبرعات الخاصة من $15 مليون إلى ما يقرب من $50 مليون سنويا, كلية توسعت بنحو 50%, وتضاعف انتساب إلى حوالي 18,000 الطلاب خلال إدارته. بحلول نهاية المستشارية له, وقد صنفت جودة برامج الدراسات العليا جامعة كاليفورنيا في سان دييغو 10 في الأمة من قبل المجلس الوطني للبحوث.

واصلت الجامعة للخضوع لمزيد من التوسع خلال العقد الأول من الألفية الجديدة مع إنشاء وبناء مدرستين المهنية الجديدة - مدرسة Skaggs الصيدلة وكلية رادي للإدارة ومعهد كاليفورنيا للاتصالات وتكنولوجيا المعلومات, معهد البحوث تشغيل بالاشتراك مع جامعة كاليفورنيا في ايرفين. توصلت جامعة كاليفورنيا في سان دييغو أيضا اثنين من معالم المالية خلال هذه الفترة, لتصبح أول جامعة في المنطقة الغربية لجمع ما يزيد على $1 مليار في حملة لجمع التبرعات لمدة ثماني سنوات في 2007 وأيضا الحصول على مبلغ إضافي $1 مليار خلال العقود البحثية والمنح في العام المالي احد لأول مرة في 2010. على الرغم من هذا, بسبب أزمة الميزانية theCalifornia, الجامعة أقرضت $40 مليون ضد أصولها الخاصة في 2009 للتعويض عن انخفاض كبير في الاعتمادات الدولة التعليمية. راتب براديب خوسلا, الذي أصبح المستشار في 2012, كانت موضوع جدل وسط استمرار التخفيضات في الميزانية والزيادات في الرسوم الدراسية.


هل تريد بحث جامعة كاليفورنيا, سان دييغو ? أي سؤال, التعليقات أو المراجعات


جامعة كاليفورنيا, سان دييغو على الخريطة


صورة فوتوغرافية


الصور: جامعة كاليفورنيا, سان دييغو الفيسبوك الرسمي

فيديو





مشاركة هذه المعلومات مفيدة مع أصدقائك

جامعة كاليفورنيا, استعراض سان دييغو

تاريخ لمناقشة من جامعة كاليفورنيا, سان دييغو.
يرجى الملاحظة: EducationBro مجلة يمنحك القدرة على قراءة معلومات حول الجامعات في 96 اللغات, ولكن نطلب منك أن تحترم أعضاء آخرين وترك التعليقات باللغة الإنجليزية.

University of California, San Diego

University of California in San Diego. Study in United States. Education in USA with EdicationBro.com

University of California, San Diego Details

Enroll at University of California, San Diego

Overview


University of California, San Diego is a public institution that was founded in 1960.

Tuition fees in University of California, San Diego are $38,000 (Aprox.).

The University of California, San Diego lies alongside the Pacific Ocean in the La Jolla community of San Diego. The UCSD Tritons compete in more than 20 NCAA Division II sports, mainly in the California Collegiate Athletic Association. The school has hundreds of student organizations, and the university hosts a thriving Greek community. All freshmen are eligible for guaranteed on-campus housing for two years, but they are not required to live on campus. The campus has an aquarium and is home to the Large High Performance Outdoor Shake Table, which tests structures’ ability to withstand simulated earthquakes.

UCSD includes six undergraduate colleges, five academic divisions and five graduate and professional schools. ItsSchool of Medicine and Jacobs School of Engineering are highly ranked. One UCSD tradition is the Sun God Festival, which began in the 1980s and includes concerts featuring popular musicians, carnival activities, vendors and student booths. UCSD is also known for its International House, where approximately 350 students from more than 30 countries live and learn together. Notable UCSD alumni include Guy “Bud” Tribble and Bill Atkinson, who helped create the first Apple Macintosh computer, and Mike Judge, an actor, writer, director and producer who created the film “Office Space” and the TV series “King of the Hill.”

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


  • Arts & Humanities
  • Biological Sciences
  • Graduate Division
  • Jacobs School of Engineering
  • Physical Sciences
  • Rady School of Management
  • School of Global Policy & Strategy
  • School of Medicine
  • Scripps Inst. of Oceanography
  • Skaggs School of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Social Sciences

History


When the Regents of the University of California originally authorized the San Diego campus in 1956, it was planned to be a graduate and research institution, providing instruction in the sciences, mathematics, and engineering. Local citizens supported the idea, voting the same year to transfer to the university 59 acres (24 ha) of mesa land on the coast near the preexisting Scripps Institution of Oceanography. The Regents requested an additional gift of 550 acres (220 ha) of undeveloped mesa land northeast of Scripps, as well as 500 acres (200 ha) on the former site of Camp Matthews from the federal government, but Roger Revelle, then director of Scripps Institution and main advocate for establishing the new campus, jeopardized the site selection by exposing the La Jolla community’s exclusive real estate business practices, which were antagonistic to minority racial and religious groups. This outraged local conservatives, as well as Regent Edwin W. Pauley. UC President Clark Kerr satisfied San Diego city donors by changing the proposed name from University of California, La Jolla, to University of California, San Diego. The city voted in agreement to its part in 1958, and the UC approved construction of the new campus in 1960. Because of the clash with Pauley, Revelle was not made chancellor. Herbert York, first director of Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, was designated instead. York planned the main campus according to the “Oxbridge” model, relying on many of Revelle’s ideas.

UC San Diego was the first general campus of the University of California to be designed “from the top down” in terms of research emphasis. Local leaders disagreed on whether the new school should be a technical research institute or a more broadly based school that included undergraduates as well. John Jay Hopkins of General Dynamics Corporationpledged one million dollars for the former while the City Council offered free land for the latter. The original authorization for the San Diego campus given by the UC Regents in 1956 approved a “graduate program in science and technology” that included undergraduate programs, a compromise that won both the support of General Dynamics and the city voters’ approval. Nobel laureate Harold Urey, a physicist from the University of Chicago, and Hans Suess, who had published the first paper on the greenhouse effect with Revelle in the previous year, were early recruits to the faculty in 1958. Maria Goeppert-Mayer, later the second female Nobel laureate in physics, was appointed professor of physics in 1960. The graduate division of the school opened in 1960 with 20 faculty in residence, with instruction offered in the fields of physics, biology, chemistry, and earth science. Before the main campus completed construction, classes were held in the Scripps Institution of Oceanography.

By 1963, new facilities on the mesa had been finished for the School of Science and Engineering, and new buildings were under construction for Social Sciences and Humanities. Ten additional faculty in those disciplines were hired, and the whole site was designated the First College, later renamed after Roger Revelle, of the new campus. York resigned as chancellor that year and was replaced by John Semple Galbraith. The undergraduate program accepted its first class of 181 freshman at Revelle College in 1964. Second College was founded in 1964, on the land deeded by the federal government, and named after environmentalist John Muir two years later. The School of Medicine also accepted its first students in 1966.

Political theorist Herbert Marcuse joined the faculty in 1965. A champion of the New Left, he reportedly was the first protestor to occupy the administration building in a demonstration organized by his student, political activist Angela Davis. The American Legion offered to buy out the remainder of Marcuse’s contract for $20,000; the Regents censured Chancellor McGill for defending Marcuse on the basis of academic freedom, but further action was averted after local leaders expressed support for Marcuse. Further student unrest was felt at the university, as the United States increased its involvement in the Vietnam War during the early 1960s, when a student raised a Viet Minh flag over the campus. Protests escalated as the war continued and were only exacerbated after the National Guard fired on student protesters at Kent State University in 1970. Over 200 students occupied Urey Hall, with one student setting himself on fire in protest of the war.[28][33]

Early research activity and faculty quality, notably in the sciences, was integral to shaping the focus and culture of the university. Even before UC San Diego had its own campus, faculty recruits had already made significant research breakthroughs, such as the Keeling Curve, a graph that plots rapidly increasing carbon dioxide levels in the atmosphere and was the first significant evidence for global climate change; the Kohn–Sham equations, used to investigate particular atoms and molecules in quantum chemistry; and the Miller–Urey experiment, which gave birth to the field of prebiotic chemistry. Engineering, particularly computer science, became an important part of the university’s academics as it matured. University researchers helped develop UCSD Pascal, an early machine-independent programming language that later heavily influenced Java, the National Science Foundation Network, a precursor to the Internet, and the Network News Transfer Protocol during the late 1970s to 1980s. In economics, the methods for analyzing economic time series with time-varying volatility (ARCH), and with common trends (cointegration) were developed. UC San Diego maintained its research intense character after its founding, racking up 20 Nobel Laureates affiliated within 50 years of history; a rate of four per decade.

Under Richard C. Atkinson’s leadership as chancellor from 1980 to 1995, the university strengthened its ties with the city of San Diego by encouraging technology transfer with developing companies, transforming San Diego into a world leader in technology-based industries. He oversaw a rapid expansion of the School of Engineering, later renamed after Qualcomm founder Irwin M. Jacobs, with the construction of the San Diego Supercomputer Center and establishment of the computer science, electrical engineering, and bioengineering departments. Private donations increased from $15 million to nearly $50 million annually, faculty expanded by nearly 50%, and enrollment doubled to about 18,000 students during his administration. By the end of his chancellorship, the quality of UC San Diego graduate programs was ranked 10th in the nation by the National Research Council.

The university continued to undergo further expansion during the first decade of the new millennium with the establishment and construction of two new professional schools — the Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Rady School of Management—and the California Institute for Telecommunications and Information Technology, a research institute run jointly with UC Irvine. UC San Diego also reached two financial milestones during this time, becoming the first university in the western region to raise over $1 billion in its eight-year fundraising campaign in 2007 and also obtaining an additional $1 billion through research contracts and grants in a single fiscal year for the first time in 2010. Despite this, due to theCalifornia budget crisis, the university loaned $40 million against its own assets in 2009 to offset a significant reduction in state educational appropriations. The salary of Pradeep Khosla, who became chancellor in 2012, has been the subject of controversy amidst continued budget cuts and tuition increases.


Do you want discuss University of California, San Diego ? Any question, comments or reviews


University of California, San Diego on Map


Photo


Photos: University of California, San Diego official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

University of California, San Diego reviews

Join to discuss of University of California, San Diego.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.