伊利諾伊大學厄巴納 - 香檳分校

伊利諾伊大學厄巴納 - 香檳分校. 教育在美國. 與EducationBro.com出國留學

伊利諾伊大學厄巴納 - 香檳分校詳細信息

報名在伊利諾伊大學厄巴納 - 香檳分校

概觀


伊利諾伊大學厄巴納 - 香檳分校的是,成立於公共機構 1867.

學費在伊利諾伊大學厄巴納 - 香檳分校 是 $31,000 (APROX。).

伊利諾伊大學位於厄巴納香檳和的姊妹城市 中東部的伊利諾斯, 從芝加哥只有幾個小時, 印第安納波利斯和聖. 路易斯. 學校的戰鬥的Illini參與多 20 我NCAA一級聯賽隊打運動,並且是大十聯盟的一部分. 該大學擁有世界上最大的希臘系統, 幾乎全體學生的四分之一參與. 不難找到的東西在校園做多 1,000 學生組織, 包括專業, 政治和慈善俱樂部. 所有新生必須住在校園裡.

伊利諾伊大學厄巴納 - 香檳分校包括 17 學校和學院. 圖書館與信息科學的研究生院, 工程學院和心理學系是在全國最好的. 商學院的學院, 教育與法律學院的大學也高度排名. 學校被列為具有很高的研究活動教學促進大學由卡內基基金會. 伊利諾伊大學是第一所學校提供給所有大學服務殘疾人通道, 課程和設施. 著名的校友包括普利策獎得主,影評人羅傑·艾伯特和YouTube的聯合創始人, 史蒂夫陳.

學校 / 高校 / 部門 / 培訓班 / 院系


歷史


幾個城市之間, 在厄巴納選擇 1867 作為站點為新的學校. 從一開始就, 格雷戈里的建立在文科傳統,牢牢紮根機構的願望是完全在基於周圍有許多國家的居民和誰曾想大學提供課程立法者賠率 “工業教育”. 大學開放課程三月 2, 1868, 並有兩個教師和 77 學生們. ” 格雷戈里在很大程度上是建立與大學的今天,因為它是記. 格雷戈里的墳墓是對校園分校, 奧爾特蓋爾德禮堂和亨利行政大樓之間. 他的墓碑 (模仿英國設計師克里斯托弗雷恩的墓誌銘) 讀, “如果你想尋找他的紀念碑, 看看你。”

圖書館, 從而拉開與學校 1868, 開始 1,039 卷. 後來, PresidentEdmundĴ. 詹姆士, 在一次講話中向董事會中 1912, 建議建立一個研究型圖書館. 它現在是世界上最大的公共學術收藏品之一. 在 1870, 芒福德的房子被修建為學校的實驗農場模型農舍. 芒福德的房子仍然在校園裡最古老的建築物. 原來大學會館 (1871) 在第四大樓建成; 它站立的地方伊利諾伊大學聯盟代表今天.

在埃德蒙的J主席. 詹姆士 (1904-1920), 詹姆斯記入校園建設中國大型國際學生人數的基礎. 詹姆斯建立通過中國總理與中國的關係對美國伍廷芳另外, 詹姆斯的總統任期內, 一流的競爭和鮑勃Zuppke的獲獎足球隊促成校園士氣.

六月 11, 1929, 母校雕像揭幕. 母校是由校友捐贈基金和類建立 1923-1929. 雕像原本站在禮堂後面,直到它被轉移到其當前位置上月 22, 1962[28] 像許多大學, 經濟衰退放緩建設和擴建校園,但在此期間,老大學會館開始崩潰 1938. 大學取代了原來的學校大廳格雷戈里廳和伊利諾伊大學聯盟. 第二次世界大戰後, 大學經歷了快速增長. 入學一倍,學術地位提高.[29] 這一時期也標誌著由研究生院大幅增長,增加聯邦政府的支持科技research.During 20世紀50年代和60年代的大學經歷的動盪在許多美國校園常見. 其中有五,六十年代的水仗.

在 1998, 大廳港匯廣場是專門. 廣場採用了新的主館大學的原始砂岩門戶. 伊利諾伊州提供的大學預算的約三分之二,而聯邦政府資助 90% 研究. 最近幾年, 國家的支持已經從下降 4.5% 在國家稅收中撥款 1980 至 2.28% 在 2011, 近 50% 下降. 結果是, 該大學的預算強烈由依靠國家的支持與幾乎移開 84% 預算現在從其他來源的. 在三月 12, 2015 董事會批准的一所醫學院的創建, 作為第一個大學香檳分校遍布創建 60 年份.

原來的名字 1867 是 “伊利諾伊工業大學。” 在 1885, 伊利諾伊工業大學正式更名為伊利諾伊大學, 反映其農業, 機械, 和文科課程. 這幾乎仍然是正式名稱 100 年份, 直到它被改為伊利諾伊大學厄巴納 - 尚佩恩分校 1982 (使用通常使用的指定的反向對上述局部區域, “厄巴納 - 香檳分校”), 表面上是為了建立一個獨立的身份為校園伊利諾伊大學系統內. 然而, 該機構繼續被稱為 “伊利諾伊大學”, 或者只是 “伊利諾伊” 同時在媒體和許多UIUC的網頁. 在開始 2008, 大學開始更名本身作為 “伊利諾伊” 而不是UIUC, 改變從uiuc.edu網站和電子郵件地址Illinois.edu.


你要嗎 討論伊利諾伊大學厄巴納 - 香檳分校 ? 任何問題, 意見或評論


伊利諾伊大學厄巴納 - 香檳分校地圖


照片


相片: 伊利諾伊大學厄巴納 - 香檳分校 官方Facebook

視頻





與好友分享這個有用的信息

伊利諾伊大學厄巴納 - 香檳分校的評論

加入位於Urbana-Champaign的伊利諾斯大學的討論.
請注意: EducationBro雜誌讓你在閱讀有關大學信息的能力 96 語言, 但我們要求您尊重其他成員和英語發表評論.

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Education in USA. Study Abroad with EducationBro.com

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Details

Enroll at University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Overview


University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign is a public institution that was founded in 1867.

Tuition fees in University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign are $31,000 (Aprox.).

The University of Illinois is located in the twin cities of Urbana and Champaign in east-central Illinois, only a few hours from Chicago, Indianapolis and St. Louis. The school’s Fighting Illini participate in more than 20 NCAA Division I varsity sports and are part of the Big Ten Conference. The university boasts the largest Greek system in the world, and almost a quarter of the student body is involved. It’s not hard to find something to do on campus with more than 1,000 student organizations, including professional, political and philanthropic clubs. All freshmen are required to live on campus.

University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign comprises 17 schools and colleges. Its Graduate School of Library and Information Science, College of Engineering and Department of Psychology are among the best in the country. The school’s College of Business, College of Education and College of Law are also highly ranked. The school is classified as a university with very high research activity by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. The University of Illinois was the first school to provide disability access to all university services, curricula and facilities. Notable alumni include Pulitzer Prize-winning film critic Roger Ebert and the co-founder of YouTube, Steve Chen.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


History


Between several cities, Urbana was selected in 1867 as the site for the new school. From the beginning, Gregory’s desire to establish an institution firmly grounded in the liberal arts tradition was at odds with many State residents and lawmakers who wanted the university to offer classes based solely around “industrial education”. The University opened for classes on March 2, 1868, and had two faculty members and 77 students. ” Gregory is largely credited with establishing the University as it is today. Gregory’s grave is on the Urbana campus, between Altgeld Hall and the Henry Administration Building. His headstone (mimicking the epitaph of British architect Christopher Wren) reads, “If you seek his monument, look about you.”

The Library, which opened with the school in 1868, started with 1,039 volumes. Subsequently, PresidentEdmund J. James, in a speech to the Board of Trustees in 1912, proposed to create a research library. It is now one of the world’s largest public academic collections. In 1870, the Mumford House was constructed as a model farmhouse for the school’s experimental farm. The Mumford House remains the oldest structure on campus. The original University Hall (1871) was the 4th building built; it stood where the Illini Union stands today.

During the Presidency of Edmund J. James (1904–1920), James is credited for building the foundation of the large Chinese international student population on campus. James established ties with China through the Chinese Minister to the United States Wu Ting-Fang In addition, during James’s presidency, class rivalries and Bob Zuppke’s winning football teams contributed to campus morale.

On June 11, 1929, the Alma Mater statue was unveiled. The Alma Mater was established by donations by the Alumni Fund and the classes of 1923-1929. The statue was originally stood behind the Auditorium until it was moved to its current location on August 22, 1962[28] Like many Universities, the economic depression slowed construction and expansion on the campus but during this time the old University Hall began to collapse in 1938. The University replaced the original university hall with Gregory Hall and the Illini Union. After World War II, the university experienced rapid growth. The enrollment doubled and the academic standing improved.[29] This period was also marked by large growth in the Graduate College and increased federal support of scientific and technological research.During the 1950s and ’60s the university experienced the turmoil common on many American campuses. Among these were the water fights of the fifties and sixties.

In 1998, the Hallene Gateway Plaza was dedicated. The Plaza features the original sandstone portal of the New Main University Hall. The state of Illinois supplied roughly two-thirds of the university’s budget while the federal government funded 90% of research. In recent years, state support has declined from 4.5% of the state’s tax appropriations in 1980 to 2.28% in 2011, a nearly 50% decline. As a result, the university’s budget has strongly shifted away from relying on state support with nearly 84% of the budget now coming from other sources. On March 12, 2015 the Board of Trustees approved the creation of a medical school, being the first college created at Urbana-Champaign in over 60 years.

The original name in 1867 was “Illinois Industrial University.” In 1885, the Illinois Industrial University officially changed its name to the University of Illinois, reflecting its agricultural, mechanical, and liberal arts curriculum. This remained the official name for nearly 100 years, until it was changed to the University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign in 1982 (using the reverse of the commonly used designation for the local area, “Champaign-Urbana”), ostensibly to establish a separate identity for the campus within the University of Illinois system. However, the institution continues to be known as “the University of Illinois”, or just “Illinois” in both the media and on many of UIUC’s web pages. Starting in 2008, the university began rebranding itself as “Illinois” rather than UIUC, changing the website and email addresses from uiuc.edu to Illinois.edu.


Do you want discuss University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign ? Any question, comments or reviews


University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign on Map


Photo


Photos: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign reviews

Join to discuss of University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.