جامعة فلوريدا

جامعة فلوريدا, الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. الدراسة في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. Educationbro.com التعليم في الخارج.

جامعة فلوريدا تفاصيل

  • بلد : الولايات المتحدة
  • مدينة : غاينيسفيل
  • اختصار : UF
  • مؤسس : 1853
  • الطلاب (تقريبا.) : 53000
  • لا تنسى أن بحث جامعة فلوريدا
التسجيل في جامعة فلوريدا

نظرة عامة


جامعة فلوريدا هي مؤسسة عامة تأسست عام 1853.

الرسوم الدراسية في جامعة فلوريدا هي $30,000 (ولكنها تعمل.).

جامعة فلوريدا حوالي ميلين من وسط مدينة غاينيسفيل, مدينة جامعية مدعوما المدرسة تقريبا 50,000 الطلاب. الفرق الرياضية فلوريدا جامعة فلوريدا تتنافس في مؤتمر شعبة NCAA أنا جنوبي شرقي, وبدعم من تمائم ألبرت وألبرتا والتماسيح. فريق التمساح لكرة القدم, التي تتنافس في ملعب جريفين بن هيل - يطلق عليه “المستنقع” - تشتهر بشكل خاص. أصبح فريق تحمل الاسم نفسه من الرياضات الشعبية شرب جاتوريد في 1966, بعد المبتدئون جربت جامعة فلوريدا مع المشروبات رواية. والتمساح الهدير السنوي, عقد في نهاية كل أسبوع العودة للوطن, وقد دعا أكبر تجمع الحماسي يديرها الطلاب في العالم. حول 15 ويشارك في المئة من الطلاب في الاخويات في المدرسة 60 زائد والجمعيات النسائية. المبتدئون لا يجب أن نعيش في الحرم الجامعي, على الرغم من حول 80 في المئة التقيد القيام بذلك. ويمكن لجميع الطلاب المشاركة في التمساح ليلة وليلة, عقدت كل يوم جمعة, التي تقدم مجانا الترفيه في وقت متأخر من الليل وحر "منتصف الليل وجبة الإفطار."

المدرسة قد ينظر جيدا برامج الدراسات العليا من خلال كلية الهندسة, مدرسة هوغ الدراسات العليا للأعمال,كلية ليفين القانون وكلية الطب. تم دمج الجامعة أيضا مع المجتمع التقاعد اوك الأرجوحة, حيث يمكن للطلاب العمل, التدريب كاملة في العلوم الصحية وتجد الموجهين. تشمل خريجي الشهير من جامعة ولاية فلوريدا المنزل التلفزيون إصلاح الإحساس بوب فيلا, الفائز هيسمن الكأس ستيف سبورير والامريكية السابقة. معنى. بوب غراهام وكوني ماك.

المدارس / الكليات / الإدارات / الدورات / ملكات


الزراعية وعلوم الحياة

مع 21 التخصصات الجامعية, أكثر من 50 مجالات التخصص و 23 تخصص للدراسات العليا, كلية العلوم الزراعية والحياة (كالس) مكرس لتطوير المعرفة في مجال الزراعة, الموارد البشرية والطبيعية, علوم الحياة, فضلا عن تعزيز والحفاظ على نوعية حياة الإنسان.

ARTS

تعزيز النشاط الإبداعي, التميز الفني العلمي والابتكار في مختلف التخصصات, تلتزم كلية الفنون لتطوير التفكير النقدي, إلهام ثقافة الفضول والخيال, وفتح النوافذ لعالم أوسع.

عمل, WARRINGTON COLLEGE

من خلال خلق الأبحاث نفوذا وتثقيف قادة الأعمال الغد, تهدف كلية ارينغتون في إدارة الأعمال لبناء مجتمع أفضل من خلال أفضل الأعمال.

طب الأسنان

مع برنامج تعليمي مبتكر, تلتزم كلية طب الأسنان للتنوع الثقافي, اكتشاف, نقل المعرفة العلمية وأعلى درجة من الخدمة, التميز السريري ورعاية المرضى.

التصميم, البناء والتخطيط

كلية التصميم, البناء والتخطيط هي واحدة من أكبر التصميم, التخطيط والبناء للمؤسسات في البلاد مع أكثر من 1,500 طلاب وخمسة تخصصات مهنية مستقلة. من خلال مبادرات مثل تشييد المباني على شهادة LEED وخطة لجعل UF خالية من الكربون عن طريق 2025, الكلية هو جعل مستقبل مستدام للطاقة عن ولاية فلوريدا والعالم مكانا أفضل.

التعليم

التعاون في حل المشكلات التربوية والإنسانية الحرجة في مجتمع عالمي متنوع, كلية التربية تستعد الممارسين المثالي والعلماء لتوليد, استخدام ونشر المعرفة حول التعليم, التعلم والتنمية البشرية. وتأتي هذه المعرفة في الحياة مع البحوث في العالم الحقيقي في P.K. مدرسة بحوث التنمية يونغ, حيث يمكننا أن نرى التعليم تغيير حياة حقيقية.

هندسة, هربرت فيرتهايم COLLEGE

مع 9 الإدارات, 15 برامج الشهادة, وأكثر من 20 المراكز والمعاهد, كلية هربرت فيرتهايم الهندسة تنتج قادة وفي حل المشاكل التي تتخذ نهجا متعدد التخصصات للهندسة. من خلال نهج محورها الإنسان إلى الابتكار والاكتشاف, وتعمل الجبهة على حافة الرائدة في مجال التكنولوجيا لخلق المهندسين في العالم يحتاج أكثر.

الصحة والأداء البشري

كلية الصحة والأداء البشري وإطلاق القدرات البشرية من خلال تعزيز البحوث وتحسين جودة الحياة. من خلال قاعدة أوسع وفهم أكمل لحالة الإنسان, الجبهة المتحدة وتعزيز الصحة, مرض منع, وتضغط من أجل فهم أكبر للعالم أكبر.

الصحافة والاتصالات

وتكرس كلية الصحافة والاتصالات لدفع قيمة, ممارسة, وفهم من الصحافة والاتصالات في مجتمع ديمقراطي.

القانون, ليفين COLLEGE

وتكرس الكلية ليفين من القانون بالدفاع عن كرامة الإنسان, الرعاية الاجتماعية والعدالة من خلال معرفة القانون.

الآداب والعلوم

مع أكثر من 700 أعضاء هيئة التدريس المسئول عن تدريس معظم المناهج الدراسية الأساسية في الجامعة, كلية الآداب والعلوم الإنسانية (CLAS) توسع باستمرار لدينا المعرفة والممارسة في المناطق الأكثر الأساسية للفنون, العلوم الإنسانية, العلوم الاجتماعية, والعلوم الطبيعية والرياضية.

دواء

تتألف من المرافق الطبية من الدرجة الأولى والأطباء المدربين تدريبا جيدا, كلية الطب وتدريب الجيل القادم من الأطباء لتلبية احتياجات الرعاية الصحية للشعب, قيادة الأبحاث التي تؤدي إلى اكتشافات الحياة المتغيرة, وضمان مستقبل صحي عن ولاية فلوريدا والعالم.

تمريض

من خلال برامج ديناميكية للبحث والأساليب الإبداعية لممارسة, كلية التمريض تستعد الممرضات للقيادة كما الأطباء, العلماء والمربين. من خلال برنامج ركزت على التعاون, بحث وجودة الرعاية, الجبهة هو إحداث تأثير أكبر على حياة الناس.

صيدلية

المرتبة باستمرار بين أفضل الكليات والمدارس الصيدلة في الوطن, كلية الصيدلة والرائدة في البحوث الصيدلية والخدمات. مع التركيز على تحسين الصحة من خلال البحوث تتقدم, الجبهة المتحدة تسعى جاهدة لخلق الدواء أفضل وعالم أفضل.

الصحة العامة والمهن الصحية

مع النموذج التعليمي الجديد الذي يركز على إدماج الصحة العامة وحل المشاكل، ورعاية المرضى الفردية, تلتزم كلية الصحة العامة والمهن الصحية للحفاظ على, تعزيز وتحسين صحة ورفاهية السكان, المجتمعات والأفراد.

طب بيطري

كلية الطب البيطرى تتقدم على صحة ورفاهية الحيوانات وتطوير قادة المستقبل في مهنة الطب البيطري. من خلال ديناميكية, برنامج البحوث التعاونية, وتعمل الجبهة المتحدة لخلق عالم أفضل للبشرية- والحيوان على حد سواء عينية.

التاريخ


جامعة فلوريدا يتتبع أصولها إلى 1853, عندما فلوريدا المدرسة الشرقية, أقدم جامعة المؤسسات سلفه أربعة في ولاية فلوريدا, تأسست في أوكالا, فلوريدا.

في يناير 6, 1853, وقع حاكم توماس براون مشروع القانون الذي قدم الدعم العام للتعليم العالي في ولاية فلوريدا. وكان جيلبرت كينغسبيري أول شخص من الاستفادة من التشريعات, وأنشأ فلوريدا المدرسة الشرقية, التي كانت تعمل حتى اندلاع الحرب الأهلية في 1861. كان فلوريدا المدرسة الشرقية أول مؤسسة مدعومة من ولاية فلوريدا للتعليم العالي.

جيمس هنري روبر, مربيا من ولاية كارولينا الشمالية ودولة عضو مجلس الشيوخ من محافظة الشوا, وقد فتح مدرسة في غاينيسفيل, أكاديمية غاينيسفيل, في 1858. في 1866, عرضت روبر أرضه والمدرسة إلى ولاية فلوريدا في مقابل نقل من الشرق ولاية فلوريدا المدرسة الى جينزفيل.

كان السلائف الرئيسي الثاني لجامعة ولاية فلوريدا في كلية ولاية فلوريدا الزراعية, أنشئت في لايك سيتي الأردن بروبست في 1884. أصبحت ولاية فلوريدا كلية الزراعة أول كلية منح الأراضي للدولة بموجب قانون موريل. في 1903, فلوريدا التشريعية, ورغبة منها في توسيع آفاق المدرسة والمناهج وراء أصول الزراعية والهندسة, تغيير اسم كلية فلوريدا الزراعية ل “جامعة فلوريدا,” اسم المدرسة الى أن المدرسة عقد لمدة عامين فقط.

في 1905, مرت فلوريدا التشريعية قانون بوكمان, الذي توحيد مؤسسات التعليم العالي أيد علنا ​​الدولة. عضو في المجلس التشريعي الذي كتب الفعل, هنري هولندا بوكمان, أصبح في وقت لاحق تحمل الاسم نفسه من قاعة بوكمان, واحدة من أقدم مباني الجامعة.[23] نظمت قانون بوكمان نظام جامعة ولاية فلوريدا، وخلق مجلس فلوريدا للتحكم للتحكم في نظام. إلغاء قانون المؤسسات التي تدعمها الدولة ستة الموجودة من قبل التعليم العالي, وتوحيد الأصول والبرامج الأكاديمية أربعة منهم لتشكيل جديدة “جامعة ولاية فلوريدا.” شملت مؤسسات سلفه أربع موحدة لتشكيل الجامعة الجديدة جامعة فلوريدا في لايك سيتي (سابقا كلية فلوريدا الزراعية) في لايك سيتي, ال الشرق فلوريدا المدرسة في غاينيسفيل, ال سانت. بطرسبورغ للمعلمين ومدرسة الصناعية في سانت. بطرسبرج, و ال كلية جنوب فلوريدا العسكرية في بارتو.

كما عزز قانون بوكمان الكليات والمدارس إلى ثلاث مؤسسات المصنفة بحسب العرق وجامعة ولاية فلوريدا للرجال أبيض بين الجنسين, كلية فلوريدا انثى للنساء البيض, ومدرسة الدولة عادي لالملونة طلاب من أجل الرجال الأمريكيين الأفارقة والنساء.

مدينة غاينيسفيل, بقيادة لها عمدة وليام روبن توماس, حملة لتكون مقرا لجامعة جديدة. في يوليو - تموز 6, 1905, اختار المجلس من مراقبة غاينيسفيل للحرم الجامعي الجديد. أندرو Sledd, رئيس جامعة موجودة من قبل ولاية فلوريدا في لايك سيتي, اختير ليكون أول رئيس للجامعة الجديدة من ولاية فلوريدا. ال 1905-1906 كان العام الأكاديمي للعام التحول; تم إنشاء جامعة جديدة في ولاية فلوريدا من الناحية القانونية, ولكن تعمل في حرم الجامعة القديمة في ولاية فلوريدا في لايك سيتي حتى أوائل المباني في الحرم الجامعي الجديد في غاينيسفيل كانت كاملة. المهندس المعماري وليام و. تصميم ادواردز أول مباني الحرم الجامعي الرسمية في أسلوب الجماعية القوطية. بدأت فصول في حرم غاينيسفيل الجديد في سبتمبر 26, 1906, مع 102 الطلاب المسجلين.

في 1909, تم تبسيط اسم المدرسة رسميا من “جامعة ولاية فلوريدا” ل “جامعة ولاية فلوريدا.”

وقد تم اختيار التمساح بالمناسبة بوصفها تميمة المدرسة في 1911, بعد البائعين المحليين أمر وبيع شعارات المدرسة مع شعار التمساح مطبوع عليها. الألوان المدرسة, البرتقالي والأزرق, ويعتقد أن تكون مستمدة من ألوان المدرسة زرقاء وبيضاء من كلية ولاية فلوريدا الزراعية في لايك سيتي وألوان البرتقالي والأسود من الشرق ولاية فلوريدا المدرسة في غاينيسفيل.

في 1909, عين ألبرت Murphree ثاني رئيس الجامعة, ونظمت العديد من كليات الجامعة, زيادة التحاق من تحت 200 إلى أكثر من 2,000, وكان له دور فعال في تأسيس مجتمع القيادة فلوريدا الأزرق مفتاح. Murphree هي جامعة فلوريدا الرئيس الوحيد تكريم مع تمثال في الحرم الجامعي.

في 1924, النساء فلوريدا التشريعية التي كلفت بها “سن النضج” (ما لا يقل عن واحد وعشرين سنة) الذين أكملوا ستين ساعة فصل من “مؤسسة تعليمية مرموقة” سوف يسمح لهم بالانضمام خلال فصول دراسية في جامعة ولاية فلوريدا في البرامج التي لم تكن متاحة في كلية ولاية فلوريدا للمرأة. قبل هذا, إلا أن الفصل الصيفي مختلطة, لاستيعاب المدرسات الذين يريدون مواصلة تعليمهم خلال العطلة الصيفية. اسي Goodbread الأسود من لايك سيتي أصبحت أول امرأة للالتحاق بجامعة فلوريدا, في كلية الزراعة في 1925.

جون J. أصبح Tigert رئيس الجامعة الثالثة في 1928. بالاشمئزاز من المدفوعات الجدول تحت المبذولة من قبل الجامعات للرياضيين, أنشئت Tigert برنامج المنح الدراسية رياضي منحة في والمساعدات في 1930s في وقت مبكر, التي كانت نشأة خطة المنح الدراسية الرياضية الحديثة التي يتم استخدامها من قبل جمعية وطنية جماعية رياضية.

في 1985, دعي جامعة فلوريدا للانضمام الى رابطة الجامعات الأمريكية (جامعة أديس أبابا), منظمة من اثنين وستين بارزة أكاديميا جامعات الأبحاث العامة والخاصة في الولايات المتحدة وكندا. فلوريدا هي واحدة من الجمهور سبعة عشر, الجامعات منح الأراضي التي تنتمي إلى جامعة أديس أبابا. في 2009, أعلن الرئيس بيرني مشن] وtheUniversity مجلس أمناء فلوريدا انتقال سياسي رئيسي للجامعة. أيد مجلس أمناء الانخفاض في عدد من الجامعيين والتحول من الموارد الأكاديمية المالية وغيرها لتخريج التعليم والبحث العلمي.


هل تريد بحث جامعة فلوريدا ? أي سؤال, التعليقات أو المراجعات


جامعة فلوريدا على الخريطة


صورة فوتوغرافية


الصور: جامعة فلوريدا الفيسبوك الرسمي

فيديو





مشاركة هذه المعلومات مفيدة مع أصدقائك

جامعة من الاستعراضات فلوريدا

تاريخ لمناقشة من جامعة ولاية فلوريدا.
يرجى الملاحظة: EducationBro مجلة يمنحك القدرة على قراءة معلومات حول الجامعات في 96 اللغات, ولكن نطلب منك أن تحترم أعضاء آخرين وترك التعليقات باللغة الإنجليزية.

University of Florida

University of Florida, USA. Study in USA. Educationbro.com Education overseas.

University of Florida Details

  • Country : United States of America
  • City : Gainesville
  • Acronym : UF
  • Founded : 1853
  • Students (approx.) : 53000
  • Don't forget to discuss University of Florida
Enroll at University of Florida

Overview


University of Florida is a public institution that was founded in 1853.

Tuition fees in University of Florida are $30,000 (Aprox.).

The University of Florida is about two miles away from downtown Gainesville, a college town bolstered by the school’s nearly 50,000 students. The Florida Gators sports teams compete in the NCAA Division I Southeastern Conference, and are supported by mascots Albert and Alberta the Alligators. The Gator football team, which competes in Ben Hill Griffin Stadium — commonly called the “The Swamp” — is particularly notorious. The team became the namesake of popular sports drink Gatorade in 1966, after freshmen Gators experimented with the novel beverage. The annual Gator Growl, held each Homecoming weekend, has been called the largest student-run pep rally in the world. About 15 percent of students are involved in the school’s 60-plus fraternities and sororities. Freshmen do not have to live on campus, though about 80 percent opt to do so. All students can partake in Gator Nights, held every Friday, which offer free late-night entertainment and a free “midnight breakfast.”

The school has well-regarded graduate programs through the engineering school, Hough Graduate School of Business,Levin College of Law and the College of Medicine. The university is also integrated with retirement community Oak Hammock, where students can work, complete internships in health sciences and find mentors. Famous graduates of the University of Florida include home repair television sensation Bob Vila, Heisman Trophy winner Steve Spurrier and former U.S. Sens. Bob Graham and Connie Mack.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


AGRICULTURAL AND LIFE SCIENCES

With 21 undergraduate majors, more than 50 areas of specialization and 23 graduate majors, the College of Agricultural and Life Sciences (CALS) is dedicated to developing knowledge in agriculture, human and natural resources, the life sciences, as well as enhancing and sustaining the quality of human life.

ARTS

Fostering creative activity, scholarly artistic excellence and innovation across disciplines, the College of the Arts is committed to developing critical thinking, inspiring a culture of curiosity and imagination, and opening windows to a wider world.

BUSINESS, WARRINGTON COLLEGE

Through creating influential research and educating tomorrow’s business leaders, the Warrington College of Business Administration aims to build a better society through better business.

DENTISTRY

With an innovative educational program, the College of Dentistry is committed to cultural diversity, discovery, the transfer of scientific knowledge and the highest degree of service, clinical excellence and patient care.

DESIGN, CONSTRUCTION AND PLANNING

The College of Design, Construction and Planning is one of the largest design, planning and construction institutions in the country with more than 1,500 students and five independent professional disciplines. Through initiatives like the construction of LEED-certified buildings and the plan to make UF carbon neutral by 2025, the college is making a sustainable energy future for Florida and the world a better place.

EDUCATION

Collaborating to solve critical educational and human problems in a diverse global community, the College of Education prepares exemplary practitioners and scholars to generate, use and spread knowledge about teaching, learning and human development. This knowledge comes to life with real-world research at P.K. Yonge Developmental Research School, where we can see education changing real lives.

ENGINEERING, HERBERT WERTHEIM COLLEGE

With 9 departments, 15 degree programs, and more than 20 centers and institutes, the Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering is producing leaders and problem-solvers who take a multidisciplinary approach to engineering. Through a human-centered approach to innovation and discovery, UF is working on the leading edge of technology to create the engineers the world needs most.

HEALTH AND HUMAN PERFORMANCE

The College of Health and Human Performance is unlocking human potential through advancing research and enhancing quality of life. Through a broader base and a fuller understanding of the human condition, UF is promoting health, preventing disease, and pushing for greater understanding for a greater world.

JOURNALISM AND COMMUNICATIONS

The College of Journalism and Communications is dedicated to advancing the value, practice, and understanding of journalism and communications in a democratic society.

LAW, LEVIN COLLEGE

The Levin College of Law is dedicated to advancing human dignity, social welfare and justice through knowledge of law.

LIBERAL ARTS AND SCIENCES

With more than 700 faculty members responsible for teaching the majority of the university’s core curriculum, the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (CLAS) continually expands our knowledge and practice in the most fundamental areas of  the arts, humanities, social sciences, and natural and mathematical sciences.

MEDICINE

Comprised of first-rate medical facilities and well-trained physicians, the College of Medicine is training the next generation of physicians to serve the healthcare needs of the people, lead the research that leads to life-changing discoveries, and ensure a healthy future for Florida and the world.

NURSING

Through dynamic programs of research and creative approaches to practice, the College of Nursing is preparing nurses for leadership as clinicians, scientists and educators. Through a program focused on collaboration, research and quality care, UF is making a greater impact on people’s lives.

PHARMACY

Consistently ranked among the top colleges and schools of pharmacy in the nation, the College of Pharmacy is leading in pharmacy research and service. With a focus on improving health through advancing research, UF is striving to create better medicine and a better world.

PUBLIC HEALTH AND HEALTH PROFESSIONS

With a new educational model that focuses on the integration of public health problem-solving and individual patient care, the College of Public Health and Health Professions is committed to preserving, promoting and improving the health and well being of populations, communities and individuals.

VETERINARY MEDICINE

The College of Veterinary Medicine is advancing the health and welfare of animals and developing future leaders of the veterinary medical profession. Through a dynamic, collaborative research program, UF is working to create a better world for human- and animal-kind alike.

History


The University of Florida traces its origins to 1853, when the East Florida Seminary, the oldest of the University of Florida’s four predecessor institutions, was founded in Ocala, Florida.

On January 6, 1853, Governor Thomas Brown signed a bill that provided public support for higher education in the state of Florida. Gilbert Kingsbury was the first person to take advantage of the legislation, and established the East Florida Seminary, which operated until the outbreak of the Civil War in 1861. The East Florida Seminary was Florida’s first state-supported institution of higher learning.

James Henry Roper, an educator from North Carolina and a state senator from Alachua County, had opened a school in Gainesville, the Gainesville Academy, in 1858. In 1866, Roper offered his land and school to the State of Florida in exchange for the relocation of the East Florida Seminary to Gainesville.

The second major precursor to the University of Florida was the Florida Agricultural College, established at Lake City by Jordan Probst in 1884. Florida Agricultural College became the state’s first land-grant college under the Morrill Act. In 1903, the Florida Legislature, desiring to expand the school’s outlook and curriculum beyond its agricultural and engineering origins, changed the name of Florida Agricultural College to the “University of Florida,” a name the school would hold for only two years.

In 1905, the Florida Legislature passed the Buckman Act, which consolidated the state’s publicly supported higher education institutions. The member of the legislature who wrote the act, Henry Holland Buckman, later became the namesake of Buckman Hall, one of the university’s oldest buildings.[23] The Buckman Act organized the State University System of Florida and created the Florida Board of Control to govern the system. The act abolished the six pre-existing state-supported institutions of higher education, and consolidated the assets and academic programs of four of them to form the new “University of the State of Florida.” The four predecessor institutions consolidated to form the new university included the University of Florida at Lake City (formerly Florida Agricultural College) in Lake City, the East Florida Seminary in Gainesville, the St. Petersburg Normal and Industrial School in St. Petersburg, and the South Florida Military College in Bartow.

The Buckman Act also consolidated the colleges and schools into three institutions segregated by race and gender—the University of the State of Florida for white men, the Florida Female College for white women, and the State Normal School for Colored Students for African-American men and women.

The City of Gainesville, led by its Mayor William Reuben Thomas, campaigned to be home to the new university. On July 6, 1905, the Board of Control selected Gainesville for the new university campus. Andrew Sledd, president of the pre-existing University of Florida at Lake City, was selected to be the first president of the new University of the State of Florida. The 1905-1906 academic year was a year of transition; the new University of the State of Florida was legally created, but operated on the campus of the old University of Florida in Lake City until the first buildings on the new campus in Gainesville were complete. Architect William A. Edwards designed the first official campus buildings in the Collegiate Gothic style. Classes began on the new Gainesville campus on September 26, 1906, with 102 students enrolled.

In 1909, the school’s name was officially simplified from the “University of the State of Florida” to the “University of Florida.”

The alligator was incidentally chosen as the school mascot in 1911, after a local vendor ordered and sold school pennants with an alligator emblem imprinted on them. The school colors, orange and blue, are believed to be derived from the blue and white school colors of the Florida Agricultural College in Lake City and the orange and black colors of the East Florida Seminary at Gainesville.

In 1909, Albert Murphree was appointed the university’s second president, and organized several of the colleges of the university, increased enrollment from under 200 to over 2,000, and he was instrumental in the founding of the Florida Blue Key leadership society. Murphree is the only University of Florida president honored with a statue on the campus.

In 1924, the Florida Legislature mandated women of a “mature age” (at least twenty-one years old) who had completed sixty semester hours from a “reputable educational institution” would be allowed to enroll during regular semesters at the University of Florida in programs that were unavailable at Florida State College for Women. Before this, only the summer semester was coeducational, to accommodate women teachers who wanted to further their education during the summer break. Lassie Goodbread-Black from Lake City became the first woman to enroll at the University of Florida, in the College of Agriculture in 1925.

John J. Tigert became the third university president in 1928. Disgusted by the under-the-table payments being made by universities to athletes, Tigert established the grant-in-aid athletic scholarship program in the early 1930s, which was the genesis of the modern athletic scholarship plan that is used by the National Collegiate Athletic Association.

In 1985, the University of Florida was invited to join the Association of American Universities (AAU), an organization of sixty-two academically prominent public and private research universities in the United States and Canada. Florida is one of the seventeen public, land-grant universities that belong to the AAU. In 2009, President Bernie Machen and theUniversity of Florida Board of Trustees announced a major policy transition for the university. The Board of Trustees supported the reduction in the number of undergraduates and the shift of financial and other academic resources to graduate education and research.


Do you want discuss University of Florida ? Any question, comments or reviews


University of Florida on Map


Photo


Photos: University of Florida official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

University of Florida reviews

Join to discuss of University of Florida.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.