جامعة ميشيغان

جامعة ميشيغان. الدراسة في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. EducationBro.com

جامعة ميشيغان تفاصيل

  • بلد : الولايات المتحدة
  • مدينة : آن أربور
  • اختصار : و
  • مؤسس : 1817
  • الطلاب (تقريبا.) : 44000
  • لا تنسى أن بحث جامعة ميشيغان
التسجيل في جامعة ميشيغان

نظرة عامة


جامعة ميشيغان هو مؤسسة عامة تأسست عام 1817.

الرسوم الدراسية في جامعة ميشيغان ل $45,000 (ولكنها تعمل.).

جامعة ميشيغان تضم واحدا من أفضل المدن الجامعية في البلاد: آن أربور, فقط 45 دقيقة من مدينة ديترويت. مضمونة المبتدئون السكن ولكن ليس هناك حاجة للعيش في الحرم الجامعي. تقريبا 20 ويتبع في المئة من الجسم الطلابي الجامعي مع الحياة اليونانية في ميشيغان, الذي يحتوي على ما يقرب 60 الأخوة وسكن جامعي للطالبات الفصول. إذا لا حياة اليونانية تبدو جذابة, هناك اكثر من 900 المنظمات الطلابية الأخرى التي تختار. وولفرينس ميشيغان دينا العديد من التقاليد: ألوانها هي الذرة والأزرق, على الانشوده المعروفة على نطاق واسع ل “اختر الأزرق!,” ويسمى ملعبه على “البيت الكبير,” وبرنامج الكروي, والمعروف عن التنافس الشرس مع ولاية أوهايو, هي واحدة من أكثر الفرق الطوابق في الكلية لكرة القدم.

وتشمل برامج الدراسات العليا ولاية ميشيغان، وتحتل مرتبة عالية ستيفن M. كلية روس لإدارة الأعمال, كلية التربية, كلية الهندسة, مدرسة القانون, كلية الطب, جيرالد R. مدرسة فورد للسياسة العامة, كلية الصحة العامة وكلية التمريض بالإضافة إلى المدرسة يعتبر جيدا طب الأسنان وتوبمان كلية للهندسة المعمارية والتخطيط الحضري. يأتي في المرتبة جامعة ميشيغان المشافي والمراكز الصحية ضمن أفضل المستشفيات في البلاد. الامريكى السابق. الرئيس جيرالد فورد, الممثلة لوسي ليو لل “ملائكة تشارلي” و “اقتل بيل” سلسلة من الأفلام, وNFL الوسط توم برادي تخرج كل من ميشيغان.

المدارس / الكليات / الإدارات / الدورات / ملكات


التاريخ


تأسست جامعة ميشيغان في ديترويت في أغسطس 26, 1817 كما Catholepistemiad, أو جامعة Michigania, من قبل الحاكم والقضاة من ميتشيغان أرض. القاضي أوغسطس B. دعت وودوارد على وجه التحديد والقس. جون مونتيث والأب جبرائيل ريتشارد, كاهن كاثوليكي, لإنشاء المؤسسة. أصبح مونتيث أول رئيس لها، وعقد سبعة من الأستاذية, وكان ريتشارد نائب الرئيس وعقدت الستة الأخرى الأستاذية. في نفس الوقت, قد آن أربور جانبا 40 فدان (16 لديه) على أمل أن يتم اختيار عاصمة الدولة. ولكن عندما تم اختياره لانسينغ عاصمة الدولة, عرضت مدينة الأرض للجامعة. ما يمكن أن تصبح انتقلت الجامعة إلى آن أربور في 1837 بفضل الحاكم ستيفنز T. بناء مهنة. الأصلي 40 فدان (160,000 م2) كان أساس الحرم الجامعي المركزي الحالي. عقدت الطبقات الأولى في آن أربور في 1841, مع ستة طلاب الجدد وطالبة, تدرس من قبل أستاذين. تخرج أحد عشر طالبا وطالبة في بدء أول في 1845.

بواسطة 1866, زيادة التحاق ل 1,205 الطلاب, وكثير منهم كانوا من قدامى المحاربين الحرب الأهلية. واعترف لأول مرة في النساء 1870. جيمس بوريل آنجيل, الذي شغل منصب رئيس الجامعة من 1871 إلى 1909, وسعت بقوة المناهج U-M لتشمل الدراسات المهنية في مجال طب الأسنان, هندسة معمارية,هندسة, حكومة, والطب. كما أصبح U-M أول جامعة أمريكية لاستخدام أسلوب الندوة الدراسية. بين الطلاب في وقت مبكر من كلية الطب كان خوسيه سيلسو باربوسا, الذين في 1880 تخرج منها الطالب المتفوق وأول بورتوريكو للحصول على شهادة جامعية في الولايات المتحدة. عاد إلى بورتوريكو لممارسة الطب وأيضا خدم في مناصب رفيعة في الحكومة.

من عند 1900 إلى 1920, شيدت الجامعة العديد من المرافق الجديدة, بما في ذلك المباني لبرامج طب الأسنان والصيدلة, كيمياء, علوم طبيعية, هيل قاعة, المجمعات مستشفى ومكتبة كبيرة, واثنين من المباني السكنية. في 1920 إعادة تنظيم الجامعة كلية الهندسة وشكلت لجنة استشارية من 100 الصناعيين لتوجيه المبادرات البحثية الأكاديمية. أصبحت الجامعة خيارا مفضلا للطلاب اليهود مشرق من نيويورك في 1920s و 1930s, عندما كانت الحصص التي تقيد عدد من اليهود إلى أن اعترف مدارس ايفي ليج. بسبب معاييرها العالية, U-M كسب اللقب “هارفارد للغرب.”[14] خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية, الجهود العسكرية U-M في البحوث المدعومة, مثل الامريكى. المشاريع البحرية في الصمامات القرب, قوارب PT, والتشويش الراداري.

بعد الحرب, التحاق توسعت بسرعة و 1950, وصلت 21,000, منها أكثر من ثلث (أو 7,700) وقدامى المحاربين بدعم من G.I. فاتورة حساب. كما اتخذت الحرب الباردة وسباق theSpace عقد, تلقى U-M العديد من المنح الحكومية للدراسات الإستراتيجية وساعدت في تطوير استخدامات وقت السلم للحصول على الطاقة النووية. الكثير من هذا العمل, وكذلك البحث في مصادر الطاقة البديلة, ويتحقق عن طريق مشروع النصب التذكاري فينيكس.

في ال 1960 حملة الانتخابات الرئاسية, الولايات المتحدة. السناتور جون F. كينيدي المشار kiddingly لنفسه “تخرج من ميشيغان من الشرق, جامعة هارفرد” في خطابه اقتراح تشكيل فيلق السلام يتحدث أمام حشد من الخطوات الأولى للاتحاد ميشيغان.

ليندون ب. أعطى جونسون خطابه يحدد برنامج المجتمع العظيم بصفته المتحدث الرئيسي خلال U-M ل 1964 مراسم بدء الربيع. خلال 1960s, كان الحرم الجامعي موقع احتجاجات عديدة ضد حرب فيتنام وإدارة الجامعة. في مارس 24, 1965, مجموعة من أعضاء هيئة التدريس U-M و 3,000 احتجز طلاب أساتذة جامعة الأولى من نوعها في البلاد “تدريس في” للاحتجاج على السياسة الأميركية في جنوب شرق آسيا. وردا على سلسلة من الاعتصامات في 1966 بواسطة صوت, حرم ofStudents الأحزاب السياسية من أجل مجتمع ديمقراطي, حظرت الإدارة الاعتصامات U-M ل. في استجابة, 1,500 شارك الطلاب في اعتصام لمدة ساعة داخل مبنى الإدارة, تعرف الآن باسم مبنى LSA. في أبريل 1968 التالية على اغتيال الدكتور. مارتن لوثر كينج, الابن. مجموعة من عدة عشرات من الطلاب السود احتلت مبنى الإدارة للمطالبة بأن الجامعة تعلن التزامها البالغ من العمر 3 سنوات كمقاول الاتحادية إلى العمل الإيجابي وزيادة جهودها فيما يتعلق بتجنيد المزيد من الطلاب الأمريكيين من أصل أفريقي, الكلية والطاقم. في ذلك الوقت لم تكن هناك مدربين الأمريكيين من أصل أفريقي, على سبيل المثال, في وزارة القوى بين الكليات. وقد انتهى الاحتلال بالاتفاق بعد 7 ساعات.

طالب U-M السابق، وأشار المهندس الدن B. داو تصميم مبنى الإدارة فليمينغ الحالي, الذي اكتمل في 1968. ووضعت خطط بناء في 1960s في وقت مبكر, قبل النشاط الطلابي دفع القلق على سلامة. لكن النوافذ الضيقة تشبه الحصون مبنى فليمينغ, وتقع كلها فوق الطابق الأول, وعدم وجود تفاصيل الخارجي في الطابق الأرضي, أدى إلى إشاعة الحرم الجامعي الذي تم تصميمه ليكون الشغب واقية. نفى داو تلك الشائعات, مدعية تم تصميم النوافذ الصغيرة لتكون كفاءة في استخدام الطاقة.

خلال 1970s, تباطأت قيود شديدة على ميزانية التنمية العمرانية في الجامعة; ولكن في 1980s, الجامعة تلقت زيادة المنح للبحث في مجال العلوم الاجتماعية والمادية. تسبب مشاركة الجامعة في مضادة للصواريخ مبادرة الدفاع الاستراتيجي والاستثمار في جنوب أفريقيا الجدل في الحرم الجامعي. خلال 1980s و 1990s, الجامعة خصصت موارد كبيرة لترميم مجمع مستشفى ضخم وتحسين مرافق الأكاديمية في الحرم الجامعي الشمالية. في ل 2011 التقرير المالي السنوي, أعلنت الجامعة أنها مخصصة $497 مليون سنويا في كل من قبل 10 سنوات لتجديد المباني والبنية التحتية في جميع أنحاء الحرم الجامعي. وأكد أن الجامعة أيضا على تطوير الكمبيوتر وتكنولوجيا المعلومات في جميع أنحاء الحرم الجامعي.

في وقت مبكر 2000s, تواجه U-M انخفاض التمويل الحكومي بسبب نقص الميزانية العامة للدولة. في نفس الوقت, حاولت الجامعة للحفاظ على المكانة الأكاديمية العالية مع الحفاظ على تكاليف الرسوم الدراسية بأسعار معقولة. كانت هناك خلافات بين الإدارة والنقابات العمالية U-M ل, ولا سيما مع المحاضرين’ منظمة الموظفين (LEO) ومنظمة العاملين العليا (GEO), النقابة التي تمثل موظفي طالب دراسات عليا. وأدت هذه الصراعات إلى سلسلة من اضرابات ليوم واحد من قبل النقابات وأنصارهم. وتشارك الجامعة في $2.5 حملة مليار البناء.

في 2003, وصلت اثنين من الدعاوى القضائية التي تنطوي الإيجابي سياسة العمل القبول U-M وتعرضت لها الولايات المتحدة. المحكمة العليا (أكبر الخامس. بولينجر و GRATZ الخامس. بولينجر). الرئيس جورج دبليو. عارض بوش علنا ​​السياسة قبل أن أصدرت المحكمة حكما. وجدت المحكمة قد يعتبر هذا السباق كعامل في القبول في الجامعات في جميع الجامعات الحكومية والجامعات الخاصة التي تقبل التمويل الاتحادي. لكن, قضت بأن نظام نقطة غير دستوري. في الحالة الأولى, أيدت محكمة سياسة القبول كلية القانون, في حين قضت في الثاني ضد سياسة الجامعية القبول في الجامعة.

استمر النقاش لأنه في نوفمبر 2006, اقتراح الناخبين ميشيغان مرت 2, حظر العمل الأكثر إيجابية في القبول في الجامعات. وبموجب هذا القانون, سباق, gender, والأصل القومي لم يعد من الممكن النظر في القبول. منحت U-M وغيرها من المنظمات إقامة من تنفيذ القانون بعد فترة وجيزة هذا الاستفتاء. هذا الوقت يسمح لأنصار العمل الإيجابي ليقرر الخيارات القانونية والدستورية في استجابة لنتائج المبادرة. في أبريل 2014, قضت المحكمة العليا في Schuette الخامس. تحالف للدفاع عن العمل الإيجابي, اقتراح التمسك 2 تحت الامريكى. دستور. يذكر أن مكتب القبول سيحاول تحقيق هيئة طلابية متنوعة من خلال النظر في عوامل أخرى, مثل ما إذا حضر الطالب مدرسة المحرومة, ومستوى تعليم الآباء الطالب.

في مايو 1, 2014, كان اسمه جامعة ميشيغان أحد 55 مؤسسات التعليم العالي قيد التحقيق من قبل مكتب الحقوق المدنية "لانتهاكات محتملة للقانون الاتحادي بشأن التعامل مع العنف والتحرش الجنسي الشكاوى.” نظمت البيت الابيض ان الرئيس باراك أوباما فرقة العمل لحماية الطلاب من الاعتداء الجنسي على مثل هذه التحقيقات.

أصبحت جامعة ميشيغان أكثر انتقائية في 2010S مبكرة. انخفض معدل القبول من 50.6% في 2010 إلى 26.2% في 2015. وكان معدل الالتحاق طالبة جديدة مستقرة إلى حد ما منذ 2010.


هل تريد بحث جامعة ميشيغان ? أي سؤال, التعليقات أو المراجعات


جامعة ميشيغان على الخريطة


صورة فوتوغرافية


الصور: جامعة ميشيغان الفيسبوك الرسمي

فيديو





مشاركة هذه المعلومات مفيدة مع أصدقائك

جامعة من الاستعراضات ميشيغان

تاريخ لمناقشة من جامعة ميشيغان.
يرجى الملاحظة: EducationBro مجلة يمنحك القدرة على قراءة معلومات حول الجامعات في 96 اللغات, ولكن نطلب منك أن تحترم أعضاء آخرين وترك التعليقات باللغة الإنجليزية.

University of Michigan

University of Michigan. Study in USA. EducationBro.com

University of Michigan Details

  • Country : United States of America
  • City : Ann Arbor
  • Acronym : UM
  • Founded : 1817
  • Students (approx.) : 44000
  • Don't forget to discuss University of Michigan
Enroll at University of Michigan

Overview


University of Michigan is a public institution that was founded in 1817.

Tuition fees in University of Michigan are $45,000 (Aprox.).

The University of Michigan boasts one of the best college towns in the country: Ann Arbor, only 45 minutes from the city of Detroit. Freshmen are guaranteed housing but are not required to live on campus. Nearly 20 percent of the undergraduate student body is affiliated with Greek life at Michigan, which contains approximately 60 fraternity and sorority chapters. If Greek life does not sound appealing, there are more than 900 other student organizations from which to choose. The Michigan Wolverines have many traditions: Their colors are maize and blue, their widely known chant is “Go Blue!,” their stadium is called the “Big House,” and their football program, known for its fierce rivalry with Ohio State, is one of the most storied teams in college football.

Michigan’s graduate programs include the highly ranked Stephen M. Ross School of Business, School of Education, College of Engineering, Law School, Medical School, Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy, School of Public Health and School of Nursing in addition to the well-regarded School of Dentistry and Taubman College for Architecture and Urban Planning. The University of Michigan Hospitals and Health Centers is ranked among the top hospitals in the country. Former U.S. President Gerald Ford, actress Lucy Liu of the “Charlie’s Angels” and “Kill Bill” film series, and NFL quarterback Tom Brady all graduated from Michigan.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


History


The University of Michigan was established in Detroit on August 26, 1817 as the Catholepistemiad, or University of Michigania, by the governor and judges of Michigan Territory. Judge Augustus B. Woodward specifically invited The Rev. John Monteith and Father Gabriel Richard, a Catholic priest, to establish the institution. Monteith became its first President and held seven of the professorships, and Richard was Vice President and held the other six professorships. Concurrently, Ann Arbor had set aside 40 acres (16 ha) in the hopes of being selected as the state capital. But when Lansing was chosen as the state capital, the city offered the land for a university. What would become the university moved to Ann Arbor in 1837 thanks to Governor Stevens T. Mason. The original 40 acres (160,000 m2) was the basis of the present Central Campus. The first classes in Ann Arbor were held in 1841, with six freshmen and a sophomore, taught by two professors. Eleven students graduated in the first commencement in 1845.

By 1866, enrollment increased to 1,205 students, many of whom were Civil War veterans. Women were first admitted in 1870. James Burrill Angell, who served as the university’s president from 1871 to 1909, aggressively expanded U-M’s curriculum to include professional studies in dentistry, architecture,engineering, government, and medicine. U-M also became the first American university to use the seminar method of study. Among the early students in the School of Medicine was Jose Celso Barbosa, who in 1880 graduated as valedictorian and the first Puerto Rican to get a university degree in the United States. He returned to Puerto Rico to practice medicine and also served in high-ranking posts in the government.

From 1900 to 1920, the university constructed many new facilities, including buildings for the dental and pharmacy programs, chemistry, natural sciences, Hill Auditorium, large hospital and library complexes, and two residence halls. In 1920 the university reorganized the College of Engineering and formed an advisory committee of 100 industrialists to guide academic research initiatives. The university became a favored choice for bright Jewish students from New York in the 1920s and 1930s, when the Ivy League schools had quotas restricting the number of Jews to be admitted. Because of its high standards, U-M gained the nickname “Harvard of the West.”[14] During World War II, U-M’s research supported military efforts, such as U.S. Navy projects in proximity fuzes, PT boats, and radar jamming.

After the war, enrollment expanded rapidly and by 1950, it reached 21,000, of which more than one third (or 7,700) were veterans supported by the G.I. Bill. As the Cold War and theSpace Race took hold, U-M received numerous government grants for strategic research and helped to develop peacetime uses for nuclear energy. Much of that work, as well as research into alternative energy sources, is pursued via the Memorial Phoenix Project.

In the 1960 Presidential campaign, U.S. Senator John F. Kennedy kiddingly referred to himself as “a graduate of the Michigan of the East, Harvard University” in his speech proposing the formation of the Peace Corps speaking to a crowd from the front steps of the Michigan Union.

Lyndon B. Johnson gave his speech outlining his Great Society program as the lead speaker during U-M’s 1964 spring commencement ceremony. During the 1960s, the university campus was the site of numerous protests against the Vietnam War and university administration. On March 24, 1965, a group of U-M faculty members and 3,000 students held the nation’s first ever faculty-led “teach-in” to protest against American policy in Southeast Asia. In response to a series of sit-ins in 1966 by Voice, the campus political party ofStudents for a Democratic Society, U-M’s administration banned sit-ins. In response, 1,500 students participated in a one-hour sit-in inside the Administration Building, now known as the LSA Building. In April 1968 following on the assassination of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. a group of several dozen black students occupied the Administration Building to demand that the University make public its 3-year-old commitment as a federal contractor to Affirmative Action and to increase its efforts with respect to recruiting more African American students, faculty and staff. At that time there were no African American coaches, for instance, in the Intercollegiate Athletics Department. The occupation was ended by agreement after 7 hours.

Former U-M student and noted architect Alden B. Dow designed the current Fleming Administration Building, which was completed in 1968. The building’s plans were drawn in the early 1960s, before student activism prompted a concern for safety. But the Fleming Building’s fortress-like narrow windows, all located above the first floor, and lack of exterior detail at ground level, led to a campus rumor that it was designed to be riot-proof. Dow denied those rumors, claiming the small windows were designed to be energy efficient.

During the 1970s, severe budget constraints slowed the university’s physical development; but in the 1980s, the university received increased grants for research in the social and physical sciences. The university’s involvement in the anti-missile Strategic Defense Initiative and investments in South Africa caused controversy on campus. During the 1980s and 1990s, the university devoted substantial resources to renovating its massive hospital complex and improving the academic facilities on the North Campus. In its 2011 annual financial report, the university announced that it had dedicated $497 million per year in each of the prior 10 years to renovate buildings and infrastructure around the campus. The university also emphasized the development of computer and information technology throughout the campus.

In the early 2000s, U-M faced declining state funding due to state budget shortfalls. At the same time, the university attempted to maintain its high academic standing while keeping tuition costs affordable. There were disputes between U-M’s administration and labor unions, notably with the Lecturers’ Employees Organization (LEO) and the Graduate Employees Organization (GEO), the union representing graduate student employees. These conflicts led to a series of one-day walkouts by the unions and their supporters. The university is engaged in a $2.5 billion construction campaign.

In 2003, two lawsuits involving U-M’s affirmative action admissions policy reached the U.S. Supreme Court (Grutter v. Bollinger and Gratz v. Bollinger). President George W. Bush publicly opposed the policy before the court issued a ruling. The court found that race may be considered as a factor in university admissions in all public universities and private universities that accept federal funding. But, it ruled that a point system was unconstitutional. In the first case, the court upheld the Law School admissions policy, while in the second it ruled against the university’s undergraduate admissions policy.

The debate continued because in November 2006, Michigan voters passed Proposal 2, banning most affirmative action in university admissions. Under that law, race, gender, and national origin can no longer be considered in admissions. U-M and other organizations were granted a stay from implementation of the law soon after that referendum. This allowed time for proponents of affirmative action to decide legal and constitutional options in response to the initiative results. In April 2014, the Supreme Court ruled in Schuette v. Coalition to Defend Affirmative Action, upholding Proposal 2 under the U.S. Constitution. The admissions office states that it will attempt to achieve a diverse student body by looking at other factors, such as whether the student attended a disadvantaged school, and the level of education of the student’s parents.

On May 1, 2014, University of Michigan was named one of 55 higher education institutions under investigation by the Office of Civil Rights “for possible violations of federal law over the handling of sexual violence and harassment complaints.” President Barack Obama’s White House Task Force to Protect Students from Sexual Assault was organized for such investigations.

The University of Michigan became more selective in the early 2010s. The acceptance rate declined from 50.6% in 2010 to 26.2% in 2015. The rate of new freshman enrollment has been fairly stable since 2010.


Do you want discuss University of Michigan ? Any question, comments or reviews


University of Michigan on Map


Photo


Photos: University of Michigan official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

University of Michigan reviews

Join to discuss of University of Michigan.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.