جامعة روتشستر

جامعة روشستر في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. الدراسة في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. Educationbro.com

جامعة روتشستر تفاصيل

  • بلد : الولايات المتحدة
  • مدينة : روتشستر
  • اختصار : UR
  • مؤسس : 1850
  • الطلاب (تقريبا.) : 11000
  • لا تنسى أن بحث جامعة روتشستر
التسجيل في جامعة روشستر

نظرة عامة


جامعة روتشستر هي مؤسسة خاصة تأسست في 1850.

الرسوم الدراسية في جامعة روتشستر هي $50,000 (ولكنها تعمل.).

جامعة روتشستر تصف نفسها بأنها واحدة من أصغر وأكثر جماعية المدارس ضمن أفضل الجامعات البحثية في البلاد. وYellowjackets تنافس بشكل رئيسي في جمعية رياضية جامعة والمشاركة في الألعاب الرياضية NCAA القسم الثالث. كما يقدم أكثر من مدرسة 200 المنظمات الطلابية, وحوالي ربع الطلاب تنتسب الحياة اليونانية في الحرم الجامعي. والفرق كبلا روتشستر هي من بين البلاد أفضل. ويلزم الطلاب الجدد وطلاب السنة الثانية للعيش في الحرم الجامعي, والثلثين من الصغار وأكثر من نصف كبار السن يختارون البقاء في الحرم الجامعي. يقع الحرم الجامعي الرئيسي في روتشستر على بعد ميلين إلى الجنوب من وسط مدينة روتشستر, N.Y., في منحنى نهر جينيسي.

تشمل جامعة برامج الدراسات العليا روتشستر في مرتبة عالية وليام E. مدرسة سيمون للدراسات العليا في إدارة الأعمال, مدرسة حاجم الهندسة والعلوم التطبيقية, مركز طبي, قسم العلوم السياسية وقسم الاقتصاد. مدرسة إيستمان يعتبر جيدا للموسيقى هي موطن لأكثر من 20 الفرق, بما في ذلك أول فرقة الرياح في البلاد. معهد البصريات هو برنامج تعليمي أقدم في البلاد المكرسة لعلم البصريات. مدرسة فريدة من نوعها “خذ خمسة علماء” ويوفر البرنامج للطلاب فصل دراسي المعفاة من الرسوم الإضافية أو السنة دراسة الموضوعات ذات الاهتمام خارج اختصاصهم. تشمل الخريجين البارزة الامريكى السابق. وزير الطاقة ستيفن تشو والتأثيرات البصرية الفنان مايكل Kanfer, الذي حصل على جائزة الأوسكار لعمله على فيلم “تيتانيك.”

المدارس / الكليات / الإدارات / الدورات / ملكات


  • فنون, العلوم والهندسة
    • كلية الآداب والعلوم
    • مدرسة حاجم الهندسة والعلوم التطبيقية
  • مدرسة إيستمان للموسيقى
  • كلية الطب وطب الأسنان
  • مدرسة التمريض
  • معهد ايستمان لصحة الفم
  • مدرسة سيمون الأعمال
  • مدرسة نذير للدراسات العليا في التعليم

التاريخ


تأسست جامعة روتشستر في 1850 كمؤسسة ترعاها المعمدان. الزخم لتشكيل الجامعة جاء في المقام الأول من مدينة هاملتون, نيويورك, التي كانت موطنا لجامعة كولجيت منذ 1819. في 1848, التخطيط للجمعية التربية المعمدان للتحرك جامعة كولجيت (ثم المعروفة باسم جامعة ماديسون) إلى مدينة روتشستر, لكن أوقفتها الإجراءات القانونية في هاميلتون. المعارضة أمناء كولجيت, كلية, وتأسست طلاب جامعة روتشستر مع ميثاق الممنوحة من الحكام من جامعة ولاية نيويورك في يناير 31, 1850. بدأت الفئات التي نوفمبر, مع ما يقرب من 60 الطلاب الملتحقين, بما فيها 28 نقل من ماديسون.

كان حرم جامعة روتشستر في الأصل في وسط مدينة روتشستر في الولايات المتحدة فندق, التي كانت تقع في شارع الجاموس قرب شارع إليزابيث, الذي هو اليوم شارع غربية رئيسية بالقرب من جسر I-490. في 1853, نقل الحرم الجامعي من الشرق إلى موقع آنذاك في الضواحي على ما هو الآن شارع الجامعة. أعمال محلي وعضو الكونغرس عزريا BOODY تبرعت 8 فدان (3.2 لديه) الأرض مقابل الحرم الجامعي الجديد, واشترت جامعة إضافي 17 فدان (6.9 لديه) منه. ستبقى UR على هذا الحرم الجامعي حتى تم بناء الحرم الجامعي نهر الحالي في 1930, وتستمر الجامعة في امتلاك جزء صغير من الحرم الجامعي شارع الجامعة (حيث يقع النصب التذكاري معرض الفنون المملوكة للجامعة).

تم قبول الطالبات الأول في 1900, نتيجة محاولة من جانب سوزان B بقيادة. أنتوني وهيلين باريت مونتغمري. في الفترة من 1890s, وقع عدد من النساء فصول ومختبرات في الجامعة كما “زوار” ولكن لم تكن المسجلين رسميا ولم تكن سجلاتها المدرجة في السجل الكلية. سمح الرئيس ديفيد جين هيل أول امرأة, هيلين E. ويلكنسون, للتسجيل كطالب عادي, على الرغم من أنه لم يسمح لها تسجيل للجامعة أو للحصول على درجة. التحق ثلاثة وثلاثين امرأة من بين الدرجة الأولى في 1900, وإيلا S. كان Wilcoxen أول من يحصل على درجة, في 1901. عندما تم الانتهاء من نهر الحرم الجامعي في 1930, انتقل الطلاب هناك في حين بقي الطالبات في حرم جامعة جادة حتى 1955.

حدث نمو كبير تحت قيادة راش Rhees, خلال زيارته 1900-1935 فترة. خلال هذا الوقت, جورج Eastmanbecame أحد المانحين الرئيسيين, إعطاء المزيد من $50 مليون إلى الجامعة. على درجة الدكتوراه الأولى. وقد منحت في 1925. في 1955, تم دمج كليات منفصلة للرجال والنساء في كلية. في 1958, تم إنشاء ثلاث مدارس جديدة في الهندسة,إدارة أعمال, والتعليم.

خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية, كان روتشستر واحد من 131 الكليات والجامعات على المستوى الوطني التي شاركت في برنامج التدريب كلية البحرية V-12 التي عرضت طلاب مسار إلى لجنة البحرية. ما بين 1946 و 1947, في التجارب اليورانيوم سيئة السمعة حقن الباحثون في الجامعة اليورانيوم 234 واليورانيوم 235 إلى ستة أشخاص لدراسة مدى اليورانيوم كلاهم يمكن أن يتسامح قبل أن يلحق بها ضرر.

في منتصف 1980s, كلفت جامعة دراسة لتحديد ما إذا كان ينبغي تغيير اسم المؤسسة, الأرجح أن “جامعة ايستمان.” وخلصت الدراسة إلى أن تغيير الاسم يمكن أن تكون مفيدة لاستخدام اسم مكان في العنوان أدى إلى المشاركين يعتقدون خطأ أنه إحدى الجامعات الحكومية, ولأن اسم “روتشستر” يبينها ل “بارد وبعيد المخفر.” وأدت تقارير الاستنتاج الأخير إلى الجدل والانتقادات في المجتمع روتشستر. في النهاية, الاسم “جامعة روتشستر” وأبقي.

في 1995, رئيس الجامعة توماس H. أعلن جاكسون إطلاق “خطة النهضة” للكلية أن, من بين العديد من التغييرات, انخفاض معدلات الالتحاق بالمدارس وخلق عملية القبول أكثر انتقائية. أيضا مراجعة خطة المناهج في المرحلة الجامعية بشكل ملحوظ, خلق النظام الحالي مع واحد فقط مطلوب بالطبع وفقط عدد قليل من متطلبات التوزيع (المعروفة باسم “مجموعات”).


هل تريد بحث جامعة روتشستر ? أي سؤال, التعليقات أو المراجعات


جامعة روتشستر على الخريطة


صورة فوتوغرافية


الصور: جامعة روتشستر الفيسبوك الرسمي

فيديو





مشاركة هذه المعلومات مفيدة مع أصدقائك

جامعة من الاستعراضات روتشستر

تاريخ لمناقشة من جامعة روشستر.
يرجى الملاحظة: EducationBro مجلة يمنحك القدرة على قراءة معلومات حول الجامعات في 96 اللغات, ولكن نطلب منك أن تحترم أعضاء آخرين وترك التعليقات باللغة الإنجليزية.

University of Rochester

University of Rochester in United States of America. Study in USA. Educationbro.com

University of Rochester Details

  • Country : United States of America
  • City : Rochester
  • Acronym : UR
  • Founded : 1850
  • Students (approx.) : 11000
  • Don't forget to discuss University of Rochester
Enroll at University of Rochester

Overview


University of Rochester is a private institution that was founded in 1850.

Tuition fees in University of Rochester are $50,000 (Aprox.).

The University of Rochester describes itself as one of the smallest and most collegiate schools among the nation’s top research universities. The Yellowjackets mainly compete in the University Athletic Association and participate in NCAA Division III sports. The school also offers more than 200 student organizations, and about one quarter of students are affiliated with Greek life on campus. Rochester’s a cappella ensembles are among the country’s best. Freshmen and sophomores are required to live on campus, and two-thirds of the juniors and more than half of the seniors choose to remain on campus. Rochester’s main campus is located two miles south of downtown Rochester, N.Y., in the bend of the Genesee River.

The University of Rochester’s graduate programs include the highly ranked William E. Simon Graduate School of Business Administration, Hajim School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, Medical Center, Department of Political Science and Department of Economics. The well-regarded Eastman School of Music is home to more than 20 ensembles, including the first wind ensemble in the country. The Institute of Optics is the nation’s oldest educational program devoted to optics. The school’s unique “Take Five Scholars” program provides students an additional tuition-free semester or year studying topics of interest outside of their major. Notable alumni include former U.S. Secretary of Energy Steven Chu and visual effects artist Michael Kanfer, who won an Academy Award for his work on the film “Titanic.”

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


  • Arts, Sciences and Engineering
    • School of Arts and Sciences
    • Hajim School of Engineering and Applied Sciences
  • Eastman School of Music
  • School of Medicine and Dentistry
  • School of Nursing
  • Eastman Institute for Oral Health
  • Simon Business School
  • Warner Graduate School of Education

History


The University of Rochester was founded in 1850 as a Baptist-sponsored institution. The impetus to form the university came primarily from the town of Hamilton, New York, which has been home to Colgate University since 1819. In 1848, the Baptist Education Society planned to move Colgate University (then known as Madison University) to the city of Rochester, but was halted by legal action in Hamilton. Dissenting Colgate trustees, faculty, and students founded the University of Rochester with a charter granted from the Regents of the University of the State of New York on January 31, 1850. Classes began that November, with approximately 60 students enrolling, including 28 transfers from Madison.

The University of Rochester’s campus was originally in downtown Rochester at the United States Hotel, which was located on Buffalo Street near Elizabeth Street, which today is West Main Street near the I-490 overpass. In 1853, the campus moved east to a then-suburban location on what is now University Avenue. Local businessman and Congressman Azariah Boody donated 8 acres (3.2 ha) of land for the new campus, and the University purchased a further 17 acres (6.9 ha) from him. UR would remain on this campus until the current River Campus was constructed in 1930, and the university continues to own a small part of the University Avenue campus (where the university-owned Memorial Art Gallery is located).

The first female students were admitted in 1900, the result of an effort led by Susan B. Anthony and Helen Barrett Montgomery. During the 1890s, a number of women took classes and labs at the university as “visitors” but were not officially enrolled nor were their records included in the college register. President David Jayne Hill allowed the first woman, Helen E. Wilkinson, to enroll as a normal student, although she was not allowed to matriculate or to pursue a degree. Thirty-three women enrolled among the first class in 1900, and Ella S. Wilcoxen was the first to receive a degree, in 1901. When the River Campus was completed in 1930, male students moved there while the female students remained on the University Avenue campus until 1955.

Major growth occurred under the leadership of Rush Rhees, during his 1900-1935 tenure. During this time, George Eastmanbecame a major donor, giving more than $50 million to the university. The first Ph.D. was awarded in 1925. In 1955, the separate colleges for men and women were merged into The College. In 1958, three new schools were created in engineering,business administration, and education.

During World War II, Rochester was one of 131 colleges and universities nationally that took part in the V-12 Navy College Training Program which offered students a path to a Navy commission. Between 1946 and 1947, in infamous uranium experiments researchers at the university injected uranium-234 and uranium-235 into six people to study how much uranium their kidneys could tolerate before becoming damaged.

In the mid-1980s, the University commissioned a study to determine if the name of the institution should be changed, most likely to “Eastman University.” The study concluded that a name change could be beneficial because the use of a place name in the title led respondents to incorrectly believe that it was a public university, and because the name “Rochester” connoted a “cold and distant outpost.” Reports of the latter conclusion led to controversy and criticism in the Rochester community. Ultimately, the name “University of Rochester” was retained.

In 1995, university president Thomas H. Jackson announced the launch of a “Renaissance Plan” for The College that, among several changes, reduced enrollment and created a more selective admissions process. The plan also revised the undergraduate curriculum significantly, creating the current system with only one required course and only a few distribution requirements (known as “clusters”).


Do you want discuss University of Rochester ? Any question, comments or reviews


University of Rochester on Map


Photo


Photos: University of Rochester official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

University of Rochester reviews

Join to discuss of University of Rochester.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.