جامعة ولاية يوتا

جامعة ولاية يوتا, سولت لايك سيتي, الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية

جامعة ولاية يوتا تفاصيل

  • بلد : الولايات المتحدة
  • مدينة : سولت لايك سيتي
  • اختصار : يو
  • مؤسس : 1850
  • الطلاب (تقريبا.) : 31,500
  • لا تنسى أن بحث جامعة ولاية يوتا
التسجيل في جامعة ولاية يوتا

نظرة عامة


جامعة ولاية يوتا هي مؤسسة عامة تأسست عام 1850.

جامعة في ولاية يوتا هي 115 في ال 2016 طبعة من أفضل الكليات والجامعات الوطنية.

جامعة ولاية يوتا, المعروفة باسم يو يو أو ببساطة يو, هو مركز سولت لايك سيتي من الأكاديميين, قوة الرياضة والبحوث. الجامعيين المهتمين في السكن الجامعي يمكن أن تختار من المباني السكنية التقليدية, اثنان- وأربع شقق غرفة نوم والمجتمعات الحية الاهتمام المشترك. الفرق الرياضية يوتا, و[أوتس], تنافس في مؤتمر I PAC-12 شعبة NCAA ومتنافسان مع فرق جامعة بريغهام يونغ. يو يو تدير مجموعة متنوعة من مراكز ومعاهد البحوث, بما في ذلك معهد الدماغ, مركز الغرب الأمريكي ومركز عالية الأداء الحاسبات.

جامعة ولاية يوتا S.J يعتبر جيدا. كلية Quinney القانون, كلية الهندسة, كلية التربية andDavid مدرسة اكليس من الأعمال توفر جميع برامج درجة لطلاب الدراسات العليا. يو مدرسة U الطب, وبشكل خاص يعتبر جيدا لبرنامج الرعاية الصحية الأولية لها, هي المدرسة الطبية الوحيدة في الدولة. تشمل الخريجين البارزة من جامعة ولاية يوتا آلان أشتون, المؤسس المشارك لشركة برفكت; نولان بوشنل, مؤسس كلا تشاك E. شركة عبة فيديو الجبن وأتاري شركة; وجون وارنوك, المؤسس المشارك لشركة أدوبي سيستمز.

المدارس / الكليات / الإدارات / الدورات / ملكات


الكليات

الأقسام الأكاديمية

برامج متعددة التخصصات

الانقسامات

التاريخ


ونظمت مجلس الحكام من قبل بريغهام يونغ لإنشاء جامعة في وادي سولت ليك. تأسست الجامعة في فبراير 28, 1850, كما جامعة الديسيريت من قبل الجمعية العامة للprovisionalState من الديسيريت, وعين أورسون وسبنسر كما المستشار الأول للجامعة. وتعقد الدروس المبكرة في المنازل الخاصة أو في أي مكان يمكن العثور على الفضاء. الجامعة مغلقة في 1853 بسبب نقص التمويل وعدم وجود المدارس المغذية.

بعد سنوات من الطبقات المتقطعة في سولت لايك سيتي مجلس النواب, بدأت الجامعة إلى إعادة تأسيس في 1867 تحت إشراف ديفيد يا. كالدر, الذي تلاه جون R. حديقة في 1869. انتقلت الجامعة من المنزل المجلس في مبنى أكاديمية الاتحاد في 1876 وفي ساحة الاتحاد في 1884. في 1892, تم تغيير اسم المدرسة إلى جامعة ولاية يوتا, وجون R. بدأت حديقة ترتيب الحصول على أراض تابعة لالامريكى. الجيش فورت دوغلاس على مقاعد البدلاء الشرقي من وادي سولت ليك, حيث انتقلت الجامعة بشكل دائم في 1900. تم منح إضافية أرض قلعة دوغلاس إلى الجامعة خلال السنوات, والحصن وأغلقت رسميا في أكتوبر 26, 1991. عند وفاته في 1900, الدكتور. جون R. تركها بارك كل ثروته إلى الجامعة.

نمت الجامعة بسرعة في أوائل القرن 20th لكن كان متورطا في freedomcontroversy الأكاديمية في 1915 عندما جوزيف تي. أوصى كينجسبري أن رفض خمسة أعضاء هيئة التدريس بعد أن أدلى متحدث التخرج خطابا ينتقد حاكم ولاية يوتا وليام شيق. ثلث أعضاء هيئة التدريس استقال احتجاجا على هذه الاقالات. ورأى البعض أن الفصل كان نتيجة لتأثير كنيسة قديسي الأيام الأخيرة حول الجامعة, في حين رأى آخرون أنها تعكس نمطا أعم من قمع التعبير الديني والسياسي الذي قد اعتبرت مسيئة. حسمت الجدل إلى حد كبير عندما استقال كينغسبيري في 1916, لكن عمليات الجامعة وتوقفت مرة أخرى عن طريق الحرب العالمية الأولى, وبعد الكساد العظيم والحرب العالمية الثانية. انخفض عدد الطلاب المسجلين إلى أدنى مستوى 3,418 خلال السنة الأخيرة من الحرب العالمية الثانية, ولكن هناك. قدم راي Olpin إضافات كبيرة إلى الحرم الجامعي بعد الحرب, وبلغ التحاق 12,000 بحلول الوقت الذي تقاعد في 1964. استمر النمو طوال العقود التالية كما وضعت الجامعة إلى مركز للكمبيوتر, طبي, وأبحاث أخرى.

أثناء ال 2002 دورة الالعاب الاولمبية الشتوية, استضافت جامعة القرية الاولمبية, مجمع سكني لدورة الألعاب الأولمبية وأولمبياد المعاقين الرياضيين, فضلا عن حفلي الافتتاح والختام. قبل أحداث, تلقت الجامعة تجميل شملت تجديدات واسعة النطاق على ملعب رايس إكليس, خفيفة السكك الحديدية المسار المؤدي إلى وسط مدينة سولت لايك سيتي, ا مركز الطلاب الجديد المعروف باسم مركز التراث, مجموعة من المساكن طالب جديد, وما هو الآن 180-غرفة فندق الحرم الجامعي ومركز للمؤتمرات.


هل تريد بحث جامعة ولاية يوتا ? أي سؤال, التعليقات أو المراجعات


جامعة يوتا على الخريطة


صورة فوتوغرافية


الصور: جامعة ولاية يوتا الفيسبوك الرسمي

فيديو





مشاركة هذه المعلومات مفيدة مع أصدقائك

جامعة من الاستعراضات يوتا

تاريخ لمناقشة من جامعة ولاية يوتا.
يرجى الملاحظة: EducationBro مجلة يمنحك القدرة على قراءة معلومات حول الجامعات في 96 اللغات, ولكن نطلب منك أن تحترم أعضاء آخرين وترك التعليقات باللغة الإنجليزية.

University of Utah

University of Utah, Salt Lake City, USA

University of Utah Details

  • Country : United States of America
  • City : Salt Lake City
  • Acronym : The U
  • Founded : 1850
  • Students (approx.) : 31,500
  • Don't forget to discuss University of Utah
Enroll at University of Utah

Overview


University of Utah is a public institution that was founded in 1850.

University of Utah’s is 115  in the 2016 edition of Best Colleges is National Universities.

The University of Utah, known as the U of U or simply The U, is a Salt Lake City center of academics, powerhouse sports and research. Undergraduates interested in university housing can choose from traditional residence halls, two- and four-bedroom apartments and common-interest living communities. The Utah sports teams, the Utes, compete in the NCAA Division I PAC-12 Conference and are rivals with Brigham Young University’s teams. The U of U runs a variety of research centers and institutes, including the Brain Institute, the American West Center and the Center for High Performance Computing.

The University of Utah’s well-regarded S.J. Quinney College of Law, College of Engineering, College of Education andDavid Eccles School of Business all offer degree programs for graduate students. The U of U School of Medicine, which is particularly well regarded for its primary care program, is the only medical school in the state. Notable alumni of the University of Utah include Alan Ashton, co-founder of WordPerfect; Nolan Bushnell, founder of both Chuck E. Cheese’s and video game company Atari Inc.; and John Warnock, co-founder of Adobe Systems Inc.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


Colleges

Academic Departments

Interdisciplinary Programs

Divisions

History


A Board of Regents was organized by Brigham Young to establish a university in the Salt Lake Valley. The university was established on February 28, 1850, as the University of Deseret by the General Assembly of the provisionalState of Deseret, and Orson Spencer was appointed as the first chancellor of the university. Early classes were held in private homes or wherever space could be found. The university closed in 1853 due to lack of funds and lack of feeder schools.

Following years of intermittent classes in the Salt Lake City Council House, the university began to be re-established in 1867 under the direction of David O. Calder, who was followed by John R. Park in 1869. The university moved out of the council house into the Union Academy building in 1876 and into Union Square in 1884. In 1892, the school’s name was changed to the University of Utah, and John R. Park began arranging to obtain land belonging to the U.S. Army’s Fort Douglas on the east bench of the Salt Lake Valley, where the university moved permanently in 1900. Additional Fort Douglas land has been granted to the university over the years, and the fort was officially closed on October 26, 1991. Upon his death in 1900, Dr. John R. Park bequeathed his entire fortune to the university.

The university grew rapidly in the early 20th century but was involved in an academic freedomcontroversy in 1915 when Joseph T. Kingsbury recommended that five faculty members be dismissed after a graduation speaker made a speech critical of Utah governor William Spry. One third of the faculty resigned in protest of these dismissals. Some felt that the dismissals were a result of the LDS Church’s influence on the university, while others felt that they reflected a more general pattern of repressing religious and political expression that might be deemed offensive. The controversy was largely resolved when Kingsbury resigned in 1916, but university operations were again interrupted by World War I, and later The Great Depression and World War II. Student enrollment dropped to a low of 3,418 during the last year of World War II, but A. Ray Olpin made substantial additions to campus following the war, and enrollment reached 12,000 by the time he retired in 1964. Growth continued throughout the following decades as the university developed into a center for computer, medical, and other research.

During the 2002 Winter Olympics, the university hosted the Olympic Village, a housing complex for the Olympic and Paralympic athletes, as well as the opening and closing ceremonies. Prior to the events, the university received a facelift that included extensive renovations to the Rice–Eccles Stadium, a light rail track leading to downtown Salt Lake City, a new student center known as the Heritage Center, an array of new student housing, and what is now a 180-room campus hotel and conference center.


Do you want discuss University of Utah ? Any question, comments or reviews


University of Utah on Map


Photo


Photos: University of Utah official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

University of Utah reviews

Join to discuss of University of Utah.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.