جامعة فرجينيا

جامعة فرجينيا. الدراسة في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. EducationBro.com

جامعة فرجينيا تفاصيل

  • بلد : الولايات المتحدة
  • مدينة : شارلوتسفيل
  • اختصار : UVA
  • مؤسس : 1819
  • الطلاب (تقريبا.) : 22000
  • لا تنسى أن بحث جامعة فرجينيا
التسجيل في جامعة فرجينيا

نظرة عامة


جامعة فرجينيا هي مؤسسة عامة تأسست عام 1819.

الرسوم الدراسية في جامعة فرجينيا هي $45,000 (ولكنها تعمل.).

أسسها توماس جيفرسون, يقع جامعة فرجينيا في شارلوتسفيل. ويشار إلى بين المطلعين باسم السيد. جامعة جيفرسون أو ببساطة الجامعة. فقط يطلب من طلاب السنة الأولى للعيش في الحرم الجامعي, ويعيش العديد من أوبيركلاسمين في شقق خارج الحرم الجامعي أو الأخوة وسكن جامعي للطالبات المنازل. الحياة اليونانية هي بارزة في UVA تضم في عضويتها التي تضم ما يقرب من 30 في المئة من الجسم الطلابي. كليفلاند, المعروف بشكل غير رسمي كما Wahoos أو "Hoos, أعضاء في مؤتمر ساحل المحيط الأطلسي أنا شعبة NCAA ومعروفة للرجال المهيمن على الدوام بهم وفرق لاكروس المرأة.

وتشمل برامج الدراسات العليا فوق البنفسجية في مرتبة عالية كلية داردن للدراسات العليا في إدارة الأعمال, مدرسة الكاري التربية والتعليم, كلية الهندسة والعلوم التطبيقية,كلية الحقوق وكلية الطب. منازل UVA واحدة من 25 نسخ أصلية لإعلان الاستقلال المتبقية, ودعا متسعة دونلاب, في مكتبة المجموعات الخاصة ألبرت وشيرلي الصغيرة لها. المدرسة لديها أيضا لغة متميزة الخاصة: يشار إلى الحرم الجامعي باسم “أساس,” رباعية المركزية هي “العشب,” والطلاب هم إما أولا, ثانيا, السنة الثالثة أو الرابعة. الامريكى السابق. السناتور إدوارد كينيدي, الصحفي كاتي كوريك ولاعب كرة القدم الأميركي السابق تيكي باربر جميع حصل على شهادات من UVA. واضطر الكاتب الشهير إدغار ألن بو لترك المدرسة بعد خسارته أمواله الدراسية للعب القمار, لكن غرفته في السكن الجامعي على العشب ما زال محفوظا وعلى عرض للزوار.

المدارس / الكليات / الإدارات / الدورات / ملكات


التاريخ


في 1802, في حين كان رئيسا للولايات المتحدة, كتب توماس جيفرسون للفنان تشارلز ويلسون بيل أن مفهومه للجامعة الجديدة ستكون “على نطاق أوسع والليبراليين أن ظروفنا سيدعو لوتلبية كليات لدينا,” وأنه قد جذب حتى الطلاب الموهوبين من “ولايات أخرى قادمة, وتشرب من الكأس المعرفة”. كان فرجينيا بالفعل موطنا لكلية وليام وماري, لكن جيفرسون فقدت كل الثقة في كتابه ألما ماتر, جزئيا بسبب طبيعتها الدينية - أنه يجب على جميع طلابها أن يقرأ acatechism - وخنق للعلوم. وكان جيفرسون ازدهرت في ظل وليام وماري الأساتذة ويليام الصغيرة وجورج Wythedecades في وقت سابق, لكن الكلية كانت في فترة من التراجع الكبير وأصبح قلقه المزرية ذلك 1800 أن أعرب لchemistJoseph بريستلي البريطانية, “لدينا في تلك الدولة, كلية مجرد جيدا بما فيه الكفاية وهبت لاستخلاص ضنك العيش الذي دستور بائسة ومحكوم عليه.” ومن شأن هذه الكلمات يبدو حقيقيا في وقت لاحق بعض سبعين سنة عندما سقطت وليام وماري مفلسة بعد أن أغلقت الحرب الأهلية وكلية وليامز تماما في 1881, في وقت لاحق يجري إحياؤها فقط في قدرة محدودة ككلية صغيرة جدا للمعلمين حتى فترة متقدمة من القرن العشرين.

في 1817, ثلاثة رؤساء (جيفرسون, جيمس مونرو, وجيمس ماديسون) ورئيس قضاة المحكمة العليا في الولايات المتحدة جون Marshalljoined 24 شخصيات أخرى في اجتماع عقد في الجبل الأعلى الحانة في سمك الصخور الفجوة. بعد بعض المداولات, اختاروا شارلوتسفيل قريب كموقع للجامعة الجديدة من ولاية فرجينيا. تم شراء الأراضي الزراعية خارج شارلوتسفيل من جيمس مونرو من قبل مجلس آخر كما كلية الوسطى. وضعت المدرسة حجر الزاوية الأول مبناها في وقت متأخر في نفس العام, وولاية فيرجينيا كومنولث مستأجرة الجامعة الجديدة في يناير 25, 1819. تعاونت جون هارتويل Cocke مع جيمس ماديسون, مونرو, وجوزيف كارينغتون كابيل لتحقيق حلم جيفرسون لتأسيس الجامعة. تم تعيين Cocke وجيفرسون إلى لجنة بناء للإشراف على البناء. اجتمع الطبقات الأولى للجامعة في مارس 7, 1825.

وعلى النقيض من الجامعات الأخرى من اليوم, في أي واحد يمكن أن تدرس في أي من الأدوية, القانون, أو الألوهية, أوائل الطلبة في جامعة فرجينيا فمن الممكن أن يدرس في واحدة أو أكثر منثمانية المدارس المستقلة - الطب, القانون, الرياضيات, كيمياء, اللغات القديمة, اللغات الحديثة, فلسفة طبيعية, والفلسفة الأخلاقية. وكان آخر الابتكارات في الجامعة الجديدة أن التعليم العالي سيتم فصلها عن العقيدة الدينية. كان UVA لا مدرسة الألوهية, تأسست بشكل مستقل من أي طائفة دينية, وكان من المقرر أن أسباب وتركز على مكتبة, البهو, بدلا من الكنيسة, تمييزه عن الجامعات الأقران لا تزال تعمل في المقام الأول ومدارس لسلالة واحدة معينة من البروتستانتية أو آخر. ورأى جيفرسون إلى الفيلسوف توماس كوبر أن “يجب أن يكون على درجة الأستاذية في اللاهوت لا مكان في مؤسستنا”, وأبدا لم يكن هناك واحد. كان هناك في البداية درجتين التي تمنحها الجامعة: تخرج, للطالب الذين أكملوا دورات من مدرسة واحدة; و طبيب لتخرج في المدرسة أكثر من واحد الذين أظهروا براعة البحوث.

كان جيفرسون تشارك عن كثب في الجامعة إلى نهاية, استضافة عشاء الأحد في مكتبه مونتايسلو المنزل لأعضاء هيئة التدريس والطلاب وحتى وفاته. لذلك اتخذت مع استيراد ما اعتبره أسس الجامعة والقدرة على أن تكون, وتعول عليه بين أعظم إنجازاته, أصر جيفرسون له ذكر بالغ فقط ضعه كمؤلف لإعلان النظام الأساسي الاستقلال وفرجينيا للحرية الدينية, والد جامعة فرجينيا. وهكذا, انه تحاشى ذكر إنجازاته الوطنية, مثل شراء لويزيانا, لصالح من دوره مع الجامعة الفتية.

في سنة وفاة جيفرسون, التحق الشاعر إدغار ألان بو في الجامعة, حيث برع في اللاتينية. جمعية الغراب, منظمة سميت القصيدة الأكثر شهرة بو, تواصل للحفاظ على 13 المدى الغربية, غرفة بو مأهولة خلال الفصل الدراسي واحد انه حضر الجامعة. غادر بسبب الصعوبات المالية. فتحت كلية الهندسة والعلوم التطبيقية في 1836, جعل UVA الجامعة الشاملة الأولى لفتح كلية الهندسة.

على عكس الغالبية العظمى من الكليات الأقران في الجنوب, تم الإبقاء على الجامعة مفتوحة طوال الحرب الأهلية, إنجازا ملحوظا خصوصا مع أنهم رأوا حالته المزيد من إراقة الدماء من أي شيء آخر وقرب 100% التجنيد في أمريكا الجنوبية بأكمله. بعد خسارة يوبال المبكر الإجمالية في معركة ينيسبورو, وقد استسلم شارلوتسفيل عن طيب خاطر لقوات الاتحاد لتجنب إراقة الدماء الشامل وUVA كلية أقنع جورج ارمسترونغ كستر للحفاظ على الجامعة جيفرسون. خيمت على الرغم قوات الاتحاد في الحديقة وألحقت أضرارا العديد من منزل صيفي, غادر الرجال كستر بعد أربعة أيام من دون إراقة دماء وكانت الجامعة قادرة على العودة إلى مهمتها التعليمية. ومع ذلك, وكان عدد كبير جدا من الضباط من كلا الكونفدرالية والاتحاد الخريجين. UVA المنتجة 1,481 ضباط في الجيش الكونفدرالي وحده, بما في ذلك أربعة جنرالات الرئيسية, واحد وعشرون عميد الجنرالات, وسبعة وستون عقيدا من عشر دول مختلفة. جون S. موسبي, المجهول “الشبح الرمادي” وقائد 43rd وحدة حارس الكتيبة فرجينيا الفرسان بسرعة البرق, كان أيضا طالب UVA.

وكان جيفرسون قررت في البداية أن جامعة فرجينيا لن يكون لها أي رئيس. بدلا, وكانت هذه السلطة لتكون مشتركة من قبل رئيس الجامعة ومجلس الزوار. ولكن كما تضاءل القرن ال19, أصبح من الواضح أن هذا الترتيب مرهقة غير قادر على التعامل مع كاف العديد من المهام الإدارية وجمع التبرعات للجامعة المتزايد. ادوين عضو مجلس محلي, الذي انتقل مؤخرا من منصبه كرئيس لجامعة نورث كارولينا في تشابل هيل منذ 1896 ليصبح رئيسا لجامعة تولين في 1900, قبلت عرضا رئيسا للجامعة فيرجينيا في 1904. وكان تعيينه لا يخلو من الجدل, وسائل الإعلام الوطنية مثل العلوم شعبية عبر عن أسفه لنهاية واحدة من الأشياء التي جعلت UVA فريدة من نوعها بين الجامعات.

ان عضو مجلس محلي البقاء 27 سنوات, وأصبح يعرف باسم افرة لجمع التبرعات, خطيب معروف, ومستشار مقرب من الامريكى. رئيس وUVA خريج وودرو ويلسون.[41] وأضاف إلى حد كبير في مستشفى جامعة لدعم سراير المرضى جديدة وأبحاث الصحة العامة, وساعد على خلق أقسام الجيولوجيا والغابات, معهد كوري التربية والتعليم, مدرسة McIntire التجارة, وبرامج المدرسة الصيفية التي جورجيا أوكيف الشباب ستتخذ قريبا الفن. ربما كان أكبر طموحه والتمويل وبناء مكتبة على مقياس من ملايين الكتب, أكبر بكثير من البهو يمكن أن تتحمل. تأخر بسبب الكساد الكبير, كان اسمه مكتبة عضو مجلس محلي في شرفه في 1938. والي, الذين لقوا حتفهم في وقت سابق من سبع سنوات في منصبه في طريقها ليلقي كلمة العام في جامعة إلينوي في أوربانا شامبين, لا يزال الرئيس أطول مثبت للجامعة.

في 1904, جامعة فرجينيا أصبحت أول جامعة في أمريكا الجنوبية تنتخب لرابطة المرموقة للجامعات الأميركية. بعد هدية من قبل أندرو كارنيجي في 1909 نظمت جامعة فرجينيا إلى ستة وعشرين الإدارات بما في ذلك مدرسة أندرو كارنيجي للهندسة, مدرسة جيمس ماديسون القانون, مدرسة جيمس مونرو للقانون الدولي, مدرسة جيمس ويلسون الاقتصاد السياسي, مدرسة بو ألان إدغار اللغة الإنجليزية ومدرسة والتر ريد لعلم الأمراض. لم تعد تستخدم أسماء تاريخية التشريفية لهذه الإدارات.

اعترفت الجامعة لأول مرة عدد قليل من النساء المحدد إلى الدراسات العليا في أواخر 1890s، وبعض البرامج مثل التمريض والتعليم في 1920s و 1930s. في 1944, كلية ماري واشنطن في Fredericksburg, فرجينيا, أصبح قسم الجامعية الفنون والعلوم النسائية في جامعة فرجينيا. مع هذا الفرع الجامعي في Fredericksburg حصرا للنساء, حافظ UVA الحرم الجامعي الرئيسي في شارلوتسفيل أقرب حصرا للرجال, حتى قضية الحقوق المدنية من 1960s أجبرتها على خلط الجنسين. في 1970, أصبح الحرم الجامعي شارلوتسفيل تماما المشارك التعليمية, و في 1972 أصبحت ماري واشنطن وجامعة ولاية مستقلة. عندما وصلت أول دفعة من الإناث, 450 دخلت المرأة الجامعية UVA, تضم 39 في المئة من الطلاب الجامعيين, في حين بقي عدد من الرجال اعترف المستمر. بواسطة 1999, شكلت النساء ل 52 الأغلبية في المئة من إجمالي الجسم الطلابي.

بدأت جامعة فرجينيا عملية التكامل حتى قبل 1954 براون ضد. مجلس التعليم قرار تكليف إلغاء الفصل العنصري مدرسة لجميع المراحل الدراسية, عندما رفع دعوى ضد غريغوري سوانسون للحصول على مدخل إلى كلية الحقوق في الجامعة في 1950. التالية له دعوى قضائية ناجحة, تم قبول عدد قليل من الدراسات العليا سوداء والطلاب المهنية خلال 1950s, لو كانت لا تقبل الطلاب الجامعيين الأسود حتى 1955, وUVA لم تدمج تماما حتى 1960s.

في ديسمبر 1953, انضمت جامعة فرجينيا مؤتمر ساحل المحيط الأطلسي لألعاب القوى. في الموعد, كان UVA برنامج كرة القدم الذي كسر فقط من خلال ليكون في المرتبة طنيا في 1950, 1951, و 1952, وفاز باستمرار منافسيها نورث كارولينا وفرجينيا للتكنولوجيا من قبل هذه الدرجات كما 34-7 و44-0. وكانت غيرها من الألعاب الرياضية التنافسية جدا كذلك. ومع ذلك, إدارة كولجيت داردن ألعاب القوى في التأكيد دي, لا يكاد يتيح المدرسة للانضمام إلى لجنة التنسيق الإدارية الوليد. ان الامر سيستغرق حتى 1980s الجزء الأكبر من البرامج ليتعافى تماما, ولكن تقترب من UVA 2000S كان ثانية واحدة من أنجح البرامج الرياضية الشاملة مع عناوين وطنية NCAA حققت في مجموعة من الألعاب الرياضية المختلفة.

أنشئت UVA كلية المبتدئين في 1954, ثم دعا ينتزع ادي كلية. اليوم هو العامة كلية الفنون الحرة لمدة أربع سنوات ودعا جامعة كلية ولاية فرجينيا في الحكماء وينخرط حاليا 2,000 الطلاب. جامعة جورج ميسون والمذكورة آنفا جامعة ماري واشنطن كانت موجودة حرم الأقمار الصناعية مماثلة ل, ولكن هذه هي الآن بالكامل تدار الذاتي.

بسبب انخفاض مستمر في التمويل الحكومي للجامعة, اليوم فقط 6 وتأتي في المئة من ميزانيتها من ولاية فيرجينيا كومنولث. تم التوقيع على مبادرة ميثاق في القانون من قبل الحاكم آنذاك مارك وارنر في 2005, التفاوض مع الجامعة لديها قدر أكبر من الحكم الذاتي على شؤونه الخاصة في مقابل قبول هذا التراجع في الدعم المالي.

رحبت الجامعة تيريزا ل. سوليفان كأول رئيسة في 2010. عامين فقط في وقت لاحق أول رئيس امرأة ل,هيلين دراغاس, هندس-استقالة اضطر إلى إزالة الرئيس سوليفان من منصبه. أثارت محاولة الاطاحة أعضاء هيئة التدريس في مجلس الشيوخ التصويت على حجب الثقة في رئيس الجامعة دراغاس, ومطالب من الحكومة الطلابية تفسيرا. في مواجهة ضغوط متزايدة بما في ذلك التهديد الخريجين لوقف مساهمات, وتفويض من الحاكم آنذاك روبرت McDonnellto حل المشكلة أو الوجه إزالة للمجلس بأكمله الزوار, أعاد المجلس بالإجماع الرئيس سوليفان. في 2013 و 2014, وافق مجلس اللوائح الجديدة التي جعلت من الصعب إزالة الرئيس وممكن لإزالة رئيس الجامعة.

في نوفمبر 2014, علقت الجامعة ظائف الأخوة وسكن جامعي للطالبات على ذمة التحقيق من مقال صخره متدحرجهبخصوص قصة اغتصاب, في وقت لاحق أن يسمى “خدعة” بعد أن تم تأكيد هذه القصة لأنها كاذبة من خلال التحقيق من قبل واشنطن بوست. الجامعة مع ذلك ضعت قواعد جديدة تحظر “المشروبات قبل مختلطة, اللكمات أو أي مصدر آخر مشترك من الكحول” مثل براميل البيرة والتي تتطلب “الرصين وواضح” الأخوة الأعضاء لمراقبة الأطراف. في أبريل 2015, صخره متدحرجه تراجع تماما المادة بعد الإفراج عن مدرسة كولومبيا للصحافة تقريرا عن الخطأ الذي حدث مع المادة في تقرير شديد اللهجة وتشويه سمعة. حتى قبل صدور تقرير جامعة كولومبيا, ال صخره متدحرجهكان اسمه قصة “خطأ من السنة” من قبل معهد بوينتر.

شهدت UVA انتصارات كبيرة في كل من الأوساط الأكاديمية وألعاب القوى في 2015 مثل علم وجدت هيئة التدريس قد اكتشف اثنان من العشرة الأوائل الاكتشافات العلمية في العالم في ذلك العام, وقسم العاب القوى وحصل على كأس واحدة كابيتال لينزل البرنامج الرياضي كبار رجال الترتيب العام للسباق في البلاد. في نفس السنة, شارلوتسفيل (لأنه إلى حد كبير من مؤسسي UVA والممولين) كان اسمه لا. 1 الأسرع نموا الامريكى. منطقة العاصمة لرأس المال الاستثماري, وفاز UVA ل 2015 جائزة سيمون بولس الشامل التدويل على أساس مبادراتها مواطن العالمية.


هل تريد بحث جامعة فرجينيا ? أي سؤال, التعليقات أو المراجعات


جامعة فيرجينيا على الخريطة


صورة فوتوغرافية


الصور: جامعة فرجينيا الفيسبوك الرسمي

فيديو





مشاركة هذه المعلومات مفيدة مع أصدقائك

جامعة من الاستعراضات فرجينيا

تاريخ لمناقشة من جامعة فرجينيا.
يرجى الملاحظة: EducationBro مجلة يمنحك القدرة على قراءة معلومات حول الجامعات في 96 اللغات, ولكن نطلب منك أن تحترم أعضاء آخرين وترك التعليقات باللغة الإنجليزية.

University of Virginia

University of Virginia. Study in USA. EducationBro.com

University of Virginia Details

  • Country : United States of America
  • City : Charlottesville
  • Acronym : UVA
  • Founded : 1819
  • Students (approx.) : 22000
  • Don't forget to discuss University of Virginia
Enroll at University of Virginia

Overview


University of Virginia is a public institution that was founded in 1819.

Tuition fees in University of Virginia  are $45,000 (Aprox.).

Founded by Thomas Jefferson, the University of Virginia is located in Charlottesville. It’s referred to among insiders as Mr. Jefferson’s University or simply The University. Only first-year students are required to live on campus, and many upperclassmen live in off-campus apartments or fraternity and sorority houses. Greek life is prominent at UVA with a membership that includes approximately 30 percent of the student body. The Cavaliers, known unofficially as Wahoos or ‘Hoos, are members of the NCAA Division I Atlantic Coast Conference and are well known for their consistently dominant men’s and women’s lacrosse teams.

UVA’s graduate programs include the highly ranked Darden Graduate School of Business Administration, Curry School of Education, School of Engineering and Applied Science,School of Law and School of Medicine. UVA houses one of the 25 remaining original copies of the Declaration of Independence, called a Dunlap Broadside, in its Albert and Shirley Small Special Collections Library. The school also has its own distinct lingo: The campus is referred to as the “grounds,” the central quad is the “lawn,” and students are either a first, second, third or fourth year. Former U.S. Senator Edward Kennedy, journalist Katie Couric and former NFL player Tiki Barber all earned degrees from UVA. Famous writer Edgar Allen Poe was forced to leave the school after losing his tuition money to gambling, but his dorm room on the lawn is still preserved and on display for visitors.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


History


In 1802, while serving as President of the United States, Thomas Jefferson wrote to artist Charles Willson Peale that his concept of the new university would be “on the most extensive and liberal scale that our circumstances would call for and our faculties meet,” and that it might even attract talented students from “other states to come, and drink of the cup of knowledge”. Virginia was already home to the College of William and Mary, but Jefferson lost all confidence in his alma mater, partly because of its religious nature – it required all its students to recite acatechism – and its stifling of the sciences. Jefferson had flourished under William and Mary professors William Small and George Wythedecades earlier, but the college was in a period of great decline and his concern became so dire by 1800 that he expressed to British chemistJoseph Priestley, “we have in that State, a college just well enough endowed to draw out the miserable existence to which a miserable constitution has doomed it.” These words would ring true some seventy years later when William and Mary fell bankrupt after the Civil War and the Williamsburg college was shuttered completely in 1881, later being revived only in a limited capacity as a very small college for teachers until well into the twentieth century.

In 1817, three Presidents (Jefferson, James Monroe, and James Madison) and Chief Justice of the United States Supreme Court John Marshalljoined 24 other dignitaries at a meeting held in the Mountain Top Tavern at Rockfish Gap. After some deliberation, they selected nearby Charlottesville as the site of the new University of Virginia. Farmland just outside Charlottesville was purchased from James Monroe by the Board of Visitors as Central College. The school laid its first building’s cornerstone late in that same year, and the Commonwealth of Virginia chartered the new university on January 25, 1819. John Hartwell Cocke collaborated with James Madison, Monroe, and Joseph Carrington Cabell to fulfill Jefferson’s dream to establish the university. Cocke and Jefferson were appointed to the building committee to supervise the construction. The university’s first classes met on March 7, 1825.

In contrast to other universities of the day, at which one could study in either medicine, law, or divinity, the first students at the University of Virginia could study in one or several ofeight independent schools – medicine, law, mathematics, chemistry, ancient languages, modern languages, natural philosophy, and moral philosophy. Another innovation of the new university was that higher education would be separated from religious doctrine. UVA had no divinity school, was established independently of any religious sect, and the Grounds were planned and centered upon a library, the Rotunda, rather than a church, distinguishing it from peer universities still primarily functioning as seminaries for one particular strain of Protestantism or another. Jefferson opined to philosopher Thomas Cooper that “a professorship of theology should have no place in our institution”, and never has there been one. There were initially two degrees awarded by the university: Graduate, to a student who had completed the courses of one school; and Doctor to a graduate in more than one school who had shown research prowess.

Jefferson was intimately involved in the university to the end, hosting Sunday dinners at his Monticello home for faculty and students until his death. So taken with the import of what he viewed the university’s foundations and potential to be, and counting it amongst his greatest accomplishments, Jefferson insisted his grave mention only his status as author of the Declaration of Independence and Virginia Statute for Religious Freedom, and father of the University of Virginia. Thus, he eschewed mention of his national accomplishments, such as the Louisiana Purchase, in favor of his role with the young university.

In the year of Jefferson’s death, poet Edgar Allan Poe enrolled at the university, where he excelled in Latin. The Raven Society, an organization named after Poe’s most famous poem, continues to maintain 13 West Range, the room Poe inhabited during the single semester he attended the university. He left because of financial difficulties. The School of Engineering and Applied Science opened in 1836, making UVA the first comprehensive university to open an engineering school.

Unlike the vast majority of peer colleges in the South, the university was kept open throughout the Civil War, an especially remarkable feat with its state seeing more bloodshed than any other and the near 100% conscription of the entire American South. After Jubal Early’s total loss at the Battle of Waynesboro, Charlottesville was willingly surrendered to Union forces to avoid mass bloodshed and UVA faculty convinced George Armstrong Custer to preserve Jefferson’s university. Though Union troops camped on the Lawn and damaged many of the Pavilions, Custer’s men left four days later without bloodshed and the university was able to return to its educational mission. However, an extremely high number of officers of both Confederacy and Union were alumni. UVA produced 1,481 officers in the Confederate Army alone, including four major-generals, twenty-one brigadier-generals, and sixty-seven colonels from ten different states. John S. Mosby, the infamous “Gray Ghost” and commander of the lightning-fast 43rd Battalion Virginia Cavalry ranger unit, had also been a UVA student.

Jefferson had originally decided that the University of Virginia would have no president. Rather, this power was to be shared by a rector and a Board of Visitors. But as the 19th century waned, it became obvious this cumbersome arrangement was incapable of adequately handling the many administrative and fundraising tasks of the growing university. Edwin Alderman, who had only recently moved from his post as president of UNC-Chapel Hill since 1896 to become president of Tulane University in 1900, accepted an offer as president of the University of Virginia in 1904. His appointment was not without controversy, and national media such as Popular Science lamented the end of one of the things that made UVA unique among universities.

Alderman would stay 27 years, and became known as a prolific fund-raiser, a well-known orator, and a close adviser to U.S. President and UVA alumnus Woodrow Wilson.[41] He added significantly to the University Hospital to support new sickbeds and public health research, and helped create departments of geology and forestry, the Curry School of Education, the McIntire School of Commerce, and the summer school programs at which a young Georgia O’Keeffe would soon take art. Perhaps his greatest ambition was the funding and construction of a library on a scale of millions of books, much larger than the Rotunda could bear. Delayed by the Great Depression, Alderman Library was named in his honor in 1938. Alderman, who seven years earlier had died in office en route to giving a public speech at the University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign, is still the longest-tenured president of the university.

In 1904, the University of Virginia became the first university in the American South to be elected to the prestigious Association of American Universities. After a gift by Andrew Carnegie in 1909 the University of Virginia was organized into twenty-six departments including the Andrew Carnegie School of Engineering, the James Madison School of Law, the James Monroe School of International Law, the James Wilson School of Political Economy, the Edgar Allan Poe School of English and the Walter Reed School of Pathology. The honorific historical names for these departments are no longer used.

The university first admitted a few selected women to graduate studies in the late 1890s and to certain programs such as nursing and education in the 1920s and 1930s. In 1944, Mary Washington College in Fredericksburg, Virginia, became the Women’s Undergraduate Arts and Sciences Division of the University of Virginia. With this branch campus in Fredericksburg exclusively for women, UVA maintained its main campus in Charlottesville as near-exclusively for men, until a civil rights lawsuit of the 1960s forced it to commingle the sexes. In 1970, the Charlottesville campus became fully co-educational, and in 1972 Mary Washington became an independent state university. When the first female class arrived, 450 undergraduate women entered UVA, comprising 39 percent of undergraduates, while the number of men admitted remained constant. By 1999, women made up a 52 percent majority of the total student body.

The University of Virginia began the process of integration even before the 1954 Brown v. Board of Education decision mandated school desegregation for all grade levels, when Gregory Swanson sued to gain entrance into the university’s law school in 1950. Following his successful lawsuit, a handful of black graduate and professional students were admitted during the 1950s, though no black undergraduates were admitted until 1955, and UVA did not fully integrate until the 1960s.

In December 1953, the University of Virginia joined the Atlantic Coast Conference for athletics. At the time, UVA had a football program that had just broken through to be nationally ranked in 1950, 1951, and 1952, and consistently beat its rivals North Carolina and Virginia Tech by such scores as 34–7 and 44–0. Other sports were very competitive as well. However, the administration of Colgate Darden de-emphasized athletics, barely allowing the school to join the nascent ACC. It would take until the 1980s for the bulk of programs to fully recover, but approaching the 2000s UVA was again one of the most successful all-around sports programs with NCAA national titles achieved in an array of different sports.

UVA established a junior college in 1954, then called Clinch Valley College. Today it is a four-year public liberal arts college called the University of Virginia’s College at Wise and currently enrolls 2,000 students. George Mason University and the aforementioned Mary Washington University used to exist as similar satellite campuses, but those are now wholly self-administered.

Due to a continual decline in state funding for the university, today only 6 percent of its budget comes from the Commonwealth of Virginia. A Charter initiative was signed into law by then-Governor Mark Warner in 2005, negotiated with the university to have greater autonomy over its own affairs in exchange for accepting this decline in financial support.

The university welcomed Teresa A. Sullivan as its first female president in 2010. Just two years later its first woman rector,Helen Dragas, engineered a forced-resignation to remove President Sullivan from office. The attempted ouster elicited a faculty Senate vote of no confidence in Rector Dragas, and demands from student government for an explanation. In the face of mounting pressure including alumni threats to cease contributions, and a mandate from then-Governor Robert McDonnellto resolve the issue or face removal of the entire Board of Visitors, the Board unanimously reinstated President Sullivan. In 2013 and 2014, the Board passed new bylaws that made it harder to remove a president and possible to remove a rector.

In November 2014, the university suspended fraternity and sorority functions pending investigation of an article by Rolling Stoneconcerning an alleged rape story, later to be called a “hoax” after the story was confirmed to be false through investigation by The Washington Post. The university nonetheless instituted new rules banning “pre-mixed drinks, punches or any other common source of alcohol” such as beer kegs and requiring “sober and lucid” fraternity members to monitor parties. In April 2015, Rolling Stone fully retracted the article after the Columbia School of Journalism released a report of what went wrong with the article in a scathing and discrediting report. Even before release of the Columbia University report, the Rolling Stonestory was named “Error of the Year” by the Poynter Institute.

UVA experienced significant triumphs of both academia and athletics in 2015 as Science found its faculty to have discovered two of the world’s top ten scientific breakthroughs that year, and the athletics department was awarded the Capital One Cup for fielding the nation’s top overall men’s sports program. In the same year, Charlottesville (largely because of UVA founders and funders) was named the No. 1 fastest growing U.S. metropolitan area for venture capital, and UVA won the 2015 Paul Simon Award for Comprehensive Internationalization on the basis of its global citizen initiatives.


Do you want discuss University of Virginia ? Any question, comments or reviews


University of Virginia on Map


Photo


Photos: University of Virginia official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

University of Virginia reviews

Join to discuss of University of Virginia.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.