得克萨斯大学奥斯汀分校

得克萨斯大学奥斯汀分校, 美国. 海外教育与EducationBro.COM杂志

得克萨斯大学奥斯汀分校的详细信息

报名在德克萨斯大学奥斯汀分校

概观


得克萨斯大学奥斯汀分校的是,成立于公共机构 1883.

在德克萨斯大学学费 在奥斯汀 $35,000 (APROX。).

一切是在得克萨斯州大, 俗话说, 并保持在真 德克萨斯大学Austiñ, 在全国最大的学校之一. 学校拥有全国最大的希腊系统之一, 两家最大的学生刊物和超过 900 俱乐部和组织学生. 在UT奥斯汀分校运动队都在我司大臭名昭著的竞争对手 12 会议, 通过吉祥物bevo的Longhorn的支持. 该UT塔, 崇高的校园结构, 值得注意的运动成绩后,在学校的焦橙色的颜色点亮发光,并以'#1“当一支球队赢得了全国冠军. 新生不必住校, 并可以选择住在奥斯汀市中心, 位于约四分之一英里远. 充满活力的城市是著名的音乐, 餐饮, 户外活动和夜生活, 学生可以免费搭乘国会大厦的地铁与公交车身份证明.

UT分为 18 学校和学院, 其中最大的是文理学院. UT的研究生课程 包括企业的高度排名麦库姆斯学校, 教育学院, 工程科克雷尔学校, 美术学院, 护理学院, 药学院社会工作学院, 除了建筑受到广泛关注的学校. UT提供了数百个海外留学, 最热门的目的地是西班牙, 意大利, 联合王国, 法国和中国. 著名的校友包括前投手克莱门斯, 电影演员马修·麦康纳 “婚礼策划师” 和 “如何失去一个人 10 天” 和前第一夫人劳拉·布什.

学校 / 高校 / 部门 / 培训班 / 院系


  • 工程科克雷尔学校
  • 戴尔医学院
  • 教育学院
  • 美术学院
  • 文学院
  • 自然科学学院
  • 药学院
  • 继续教育
  • 研究生
  • 地质杰克逊学校
  • 公共事务学院LBJ
  • 业务的麦库姆斯学院
  • 通信穆迪学院
  • 建筑学院
  • 信息学院
  • 法学院
  • 护理学院
  • 社会工作学院
  • 本科课程的学校

历史


在得克萨斯州一所公立大学的第一提及可以追溯到 1827 宪法科阿韦拉ŸTejas的墨西哥状态. 虽然标题 6, 文章 217 那宪法承诺将在艺术和科学建立公共教育, 没有采取任何行动由墨西哥政府. 后在得克萨斯州获得独立墨西哥 1836, 德州国会通过的共和国宪法, 哪一个, 根据第 5 其总则, 声明 “它应是国会的责任, 只要情况允许, 提供, 法律, 教育的总体系统。” 在四月 18, 1838, “本法建立得克萨斯大学” 被称为德州国会的一个特别委员会, 但没有报告回以采取进一步行动. 一月 26, 1839, 德州国会同意拨出土地一百五十哩路 (约. 288,000 亩) 逐步建立政府资助的大学. 此外, 40 亩 (160,000 米2) 在奥斯汀的新的资本被保留,并指定 “山书院。” (术语 “四十英亩” 通俗用来指大学作为一个整体. 原来40英亩是从瓜达卢佩到赛道和21街至24街的区域 )

在 1845, 得克萨斯州被吞并到美国. 有趣的是, 该州的宪法 1845 没有提到高等教育的主题. 二月 11, 1858, 第七得克萨斯立法机关批准O.B. 102, 行为建立得克萨斯大学, 其中预留 $100,000 在美国对结构中的状态的第一个政府资助的大学债券(该 $100,000 是一个分配从 $10 根据百万收到的妥协状态 1850 和得克萨斯州’ 放弃的权利要求书中的土地其本边界以外). 此外, 对于铁路建设的向大学捐赠的鼓励保留立法机关指定土地. 一月 31, 1860, 州议会, 想避免增税, 传递给可以使用授权钱德州大学预留的行为对边防在德克萨斯州西部,以保护印第安人的袭击定居者. 德州’ 从联盟和美国内战分裂延迟借来的款项偿还. 在南北战争结束 1865, 德克萨斯大学’ 养老由略高于 $16,000 权证并没有什么实质性的已经做了安排本校的操作. 这方面的努力,建立一个大学再通过授权条 7, 部分 10 得克萨斯州宪法 1876 它指示立法机关 “建立, 组织并为维护, 第一类的大学的支持和方向, 通过这个国家的人的投票设, 而病急乱投医 “德克萨斯大学。” 另外, 文章 7, 部分 11 的 1876 宪法所确定的永久大学基金, 主权财富基金由得克萨斯大学的校董会管理,竭诚为维护大学. 由于一些州议员在其他大学的教学楼建设感知的贵气, 文章 7, 部分 14 宪法明确禁止立法机构利用国家的一般收入资助大学建筑建设. 构建大学建筑资金必须来自大学的捐赠或从私人礼物给大学, 但对于学校运营费用可能来自国家总收入.

该 1876 宪法还废除该法的铁路土地养老 1858 但专用 1,000,000 亩 (4,000 千米2) 土地, 随着拨给大学的其他财产, 常驻大学基金. 这极大地大学的损害作为土地授予宪法的大学 1876 表示小于 5% 根据该法授予大学土地的价值 1858 (靠近铁路的土地是非常有价值,而焊盘授予大学都在遥远的西部得克萨斯州, 远离运输和水的来源). 收归基金更有价值的土地,以支持普通教育的状态 (特别学校基金). 在四月 10, 1883, 立法机关补充常驻大学基金与其他 1,000,000 英亩的得克萨斯州西部的土地先前授予给得克萨斯州和太平洋铁路公司,但回到状态似乎太不值钱,甚至调查. 立法机关增拨 $256,272.57 用以偿还在大学所采取的资金 1860 支付边防以及在转移到该州的普通基金 1861 和 1862. 该 1883 土地批常任大学基金增加了土地几乎 2.2 万英亩. 根据该法案 1858, 大学有权刚过 1,000 亩土地用于铁路的每英里建在状态. 有原始的 1858 的批地不被吊销由 1876 宪法, 通过 1883 大学土地本来总额 3.2 万英亩, 所以 1883 补助金是恢复被从大学采取土地 1876 宪法, 不是一个慷慨的行为.

在三月 30, 1881, 立法机关提出的结构和学校的组织,并呼吁选举确定其位置. 通过在九月普选 6, 1881, 奥斯汀 (同 30,913 票) 被选为主要大学的网站. 加尔维斯顿, 已经排在第二的选 (20,741 票) 被指定为医疗部门的位置 (休斯顿位居第三, 12,586 票). 十一月 17, 1882, 在原始 “山书院,” 官方仪式举行纪念老主楼的奠基. 大学校长阿什伯尔·史密斯, 主持仪式宣告预言 “德州持有嵌在它的地球岩石和矿物现在闲置原因不明, 不可估量的工业实用性的资源, 财富和权力的. 遍地, 用知识和unstinted财富将涌出提出的喷泉的杖击打岩石。” 得克萨斯大学正式开门迎客九月 15, 1883.

在大学校园的第一个总统图书馆是热忱的在五月 22, 1971 与前总统约翰逊, 伯德约翰逊夫人然后总统尼克松出席. 建在主校区东侧, 林登·贝恩斯·约翰逊图书馆和博物馆是一个 13 由美国国家档案和记录管理局管理的总统图书馆.

马丁·路德·金的雕像, JR. 揭幕在校园中 1999 随后破坏. 通过 2004, 约翰·巴特勒, 在企业的theMcCombs学院教授建议将其移动到莫尔豪斯学院, 历史上黑人大学, “在那里他热爱的地方。”

得克萨斯大学奥斯汀分校已经经历了一波新的建筑最近几个显著建筑. 在四月 30, 2006, 学校开办艺术博物馆布兰顿. 在八月 2008, 在AT&牛逼行政教育和会议中心隆重开幕, 一个新的网关到大学的酒店和会议中心部分形成. 此外,在 2008, 达雷尔ķ皇家得克萨斯纪念体育场被扩展的座位 100,119, 使其成为最大的体育场 (通过能力) 在德州时的状态.

一月 19, 2011, 大学公布了24小时电视网络的建立在伙伴关系与ESPN, 被称为Longhorn的网络. ESPN将支付 $300 万元担保权利的费用超过 20 几年的大学和学院IMG, 德州大学的多媒体权利伙伴. 该网络覆盖了大学校际体育, 音乐, 文化艺术和学者计划. 在九月第一播出频道 2011.

 


你要吗 讨论了美国德克萨斯大学奥斯汀分校 ? 任何问题, 意见或评论


得克萨斯大学奥斯汀分校地图


照片


相片: 得克萨斯大学奥斯汀分校 官方Facebook

视频





与好友分享这个有用的信息

得克萨斯大学奥斯汀分校的评论

加入德克萨斯大学奥斯汀分校的讨论.
请注意: EducationBro杂志让你在阅读有关大学信息的能力 96 语言, 但我们要求您尊重其他成员和英语发表评论.

University of Texas at Austin

The University of Texas at Austin, USA. Education Overseas with EducationBro.COM Magazine

University of Texas at Austin Details

Enroll at University of Texas at Austin

Overview


University of Texas at Austin is a public institution that was founded in 1883.

Tuition fees in University of Texas at Austin is $35,000 (Aprox.).

Everything is bigger in Texas, as the saying goes, and it holds true at the University of Texas at Austin, one of the largest schools in the nation. The school has one of the biggest Greek systems in the country, two of the largest student publications and more than 900 clubs and organizations for students. The UT at Austin sports teams are notorious competitors in the Division I Big 12 Conference, supported by mascot Bevo the Longhorn. The UT Tower, a lofty campus structure, is lit in the school’s burnt orange color after notable sports achievements and glows a ‘#1’ when a team wins a national championship. Freshmen do not have to live on campus, and may choose to live in downtown Austin, situated about a quarter mile away. The vibrant city is known for its music, food, outdoor activities and nightlife, and students can travel for free on the capitol Metro buses with proof of ID.

UT is divided into 18 schools and colleges, the largest of which is the College of Liberal Arts. UT’s graduate programs include the highly ranked McCombs School of Business, College of Education, Cockrell School of Engineering, College of Fine Arts, School of Nursing, College of Pharmacy and School of Social Work, in addition to the well-regarded School of Architecture. UT offers hundreds of study abroad programs, with the most popular destinations being Spain, Italy, the United Kingdom, France and China. Notable alumni include former pitcher Roger Clemens, actor Matthew McConaughey of films “The Wedding Planner” and “How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days” and former first lady Laura Bush.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


  • Cockrell School of Engineering
  • Dell Medical School
  • College of Education
  • College of Fine Arts
  • College of Liberal Arts
  • College of Natural Sciences
  • College of Pharmacy
  • Continuing Education
  • Graduate Studies
  • Jackson School of Geosciences
  • LBJ School of Public Affairs
  • McCombs School of Business
  • Moody College of Communication
  • School of Architecture
  • School of Information
  • School of Law
  • School of Nursing
  • School of Social Work
  • School of Undergraduate Studies

History


The first mention of a public university in Texas can be traced to the 1827 constitution for the Mexican state of Coahuila y Tejas. Although Title 6, Article 217 of that Constitution promised to establish public education in the arts and sciences, no action was taken by the Mexican government. After Texas obtained its independence from Mexico in 1836, the Texas Congress adopted the Constitution of the Republic, which, under Section 5 of its General Provisions, stated “It shall be the duty of Congress, as soon as circumstances will permit, to provide, by law, a general system of education.” On April 18, 1838, “An Act to Establish the University of Texas” was referred to a special committee of the Texas Congress, but was not reported back for further action. On January 26, 1839, the Texas Congress agreed to set aside fifty leagues of land (approx. 288,000 acres) towards the establishment of a publicly funded university. In addition, 40 acres (160,000 m2) in the new capital of Austin were reserved and designated “College Hill.” (The term “Forty Acres” is colloquially used to refer to the University as a whole. The original forty acres is the area from Guadalupe to Speedway and 21st Street to 24th Street )

In 1845, Texas was annexed into the United States. Interestingly, the state’s Constitution of 1845 failed to mention the subject of higher education. On February 11, 1858, the Seventh Texas Legislature approved O.B. 102, an act to establish the University of Texas, which set aside $100,000 in United States bonds toward construction of the state’s first publicly funded university(the $100,000 was an allocation from the $10 million the state received pursuant to the Compromise of 1850 and Texas’ relinquishing claims to lands outside its present boundaries). In addition, the legislature designated land reserved for the encouragement of railroad construction toward the university’s endowment. On January 31, 1860, the state legislature, wanting to avoid raising taxes, passed an act authorizing the money set aside for the University of Texas to be used for frontier defense in west Texas to protect settlers from Indian attacks. Texas’ secession from the Union and the American Civil War delayed repayment of the borrowed monies. At the end of the Civil War in 1865, The University of Texas’ endowment consisted of a little over $16,000 in warrants and nothing substantive had been done to organize the university’s operations. This effort to establish a University was again mandated by Article 7, Section 10 of the Texas Constitution of 1876 which directed the legislature to “establish, organize and provide for the maintenance, support and direction of a university of the first class, to be located by a vote of the people of this State, and styled “The University of Texas.” Additionally, Article 7, Section 11 of the 1876 Constitution established the Permanent University Fund, a sovereign wealth fund managed by the Board of Regents of the University of Texas and dedicated for the maintenance of the university. Because some state legislators perceived an extravagance in the construction of academic buildings of other universities, Article 7, Section 14 of the Constitution expressly prohibited the legislature from using the state’s general revenue to fund construction of university buildings. Funds for constructing university buildings had to come from the university’s endowment or from private gifts to the university, but operational expenses for the university could come from the state’s general revenues.

The 1876 Constitution also revoked the endowment of the railroad lands of the Act of 1858 but dedicated 1,000,000 acres (4,000 km2) of land, along with other property appropriated for the university, to the Permanent University Fund. This was greatly to the detriment of the university as the lands granted the university by the Constitution of 1876 represented less than 5% of the value of the lands granted to the university under the Act of 1858 (the lands close to the railroads were quite valuable while the lands granted the university were in far west Texas, distant from sources of transportation and water). The more valuable lands reverted to the fund to support general education in the state (the Special School Fund). On April 10, 1883, the legislature supplemented the Permanent University Fund with another 1,000,000 acres of land in west Texas previously granted to the Texas and Pacific Railroad but returned to the state as seemingly too worthless to even survey. The legislature additionally appropriated $256,272.57 to repay the funds taken from the university in 1860 to pay for frontier defense and for transfers to the state’s General Fund in 1861 and 1862. The 1883 grant of land increased the land in the Permanent University Fund to almost 2.2 million acres. Under the Act of 1858, the university was entitled to just over 1,000 acres of land for every mile of railroad built in the state. Had the original 1858 grant of land not been revoked by the 1876 Constitution, by 1883 the university lands would have totaled 3.2 million acres, so the 1883 grant was to restore lands taken from the university by the 1876 Constitution, not an act of munificence.

On March 30, 1881, the legislature set forth the structure and organization of the university and called for an election to establish its location. By popular election on September 6, 1881, Austin (with 30,913 votes) was chosen as the site of the main university. Galveston, having come in second in the election (20,741 votes) was designated the location of the medical department (Houston was third with 12,586 votes). On November 17, 1882, on the original “College Hill,” an official ceremony was held to commemorate the laying of the cornerstone of the Old Main building. University President Ashbel Smith, presiding over the ceremony prophetically proclaimed “Texas holds embedded in its earth rocks and minerals which now lie idle because unknown, resources of incalculable industrial utility, of wealth and power. Smite the earth, smite the rocks with the rod of knowledge and fountains of unstinted wealth will gush forth.” The University of Texas officially opened its doors on September 15, 1883.

The first presidential library on a university campus was dedicated on May 22, 1971 with former President Johnson, Lady Bird Johnson and then-President Richard Nixon in attendance. Constructed on the eastern side of the main campus, the Lyndon Baines Johnson Library and Museum is one of 13 presidential libraries administered by the National Archives and Records Administration.

A statue of Martin Luther King, Jr. was unveiled on campus in 1999 and subsequently vandalized. By 2004, John Butler, a professor at theMcCombs School of Business suggested moving it to Morehouse College, a historically black college, “a place where he is loved.”

The University of Texas at Austin has experienced a wave of new construction recently with several significant buildings. On April 30, 2006, the school opened the Blanton Museum of Art. In August 2008, the AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center opened, with the hotel and conference center forming part of a new gateway to the university. Also in 2008, Darrell K Royal-Texas Memorial Stadium was expanded to a seating capacity of 100,119, making it the largest stadium (by capacity) in the state of Texas at the time.

On January 19, 2011, the university announced the creation of a 24-hour television network in partnership with ESPN, dubbed the Longhorn Network. ESPN will pay a $300 million guaranteed rights fee over 20 years to the university and to IMG College, UT Austin’s multimedia rights partner. The network covers the university’s intercollegiate athletics, music, cultural arts and academics programs. The channel first aired in September 2011.

 


Do you want discuss University of Texas at Austin ? Any question, comments or reviews


University of Texas at Austin on Map


Photo


Photos: University of Texas at Austin official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

University of Texas at Austin reviews

Join to discuss of University of Texas at Austin.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.