جامعة فاندربيلت

جامعة فاندربيلت. الدراسة في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. التعليم وإخوانه - دراسة مجلة بالخارج

فاندربيلت تفاصيل جامعة

  • بلد : الولايات المتحدة
  • مدينة : ناشفيل
  • اختصار : فاندي
  • مؤسس : 1873
  • الطلاب (تقريبا.) : 13000
  • لا تنسى أن بحث جامعة فاندربيلت
التسجيل في جامعة فاندربيلت

نظرة عامة


جامعة فاندربيلت هي مؤسسة خاصة تأسست في 1873.

الرسوم الدراسية في جامعة فاندربيلت هي $45,000 (ولكنها تعمل.).

تقدم جامعة فاندربيلت مجموعة واسعة من الأنشطة الطلابية. تقع في ناشفيل, أو مدينة الموسيقى, هناك الكثير من الخيارات خارج الحرم الجامعي لتناول الطعام, التسوق, الموسيقى والترفيه. في الحرم الجامعي, المنظمات اليونانية تلعب دورا كبيرا في الحياة الاجتماعية, مع ما يقرب من 40 في المئة من الطلاب المنتمين مع الحياة اليونانية. يطلب من جميع الطلاب الجامعيين في فاندربيلت للعيش في الحرم الجامعي, والمبتدئون العيش معا في مجلس العموم, الذي لديه ستة LEED المعتمدة مساكن الخضراء. والبحريون, سميت على اسم مؤسس فاندربيلت “عميد بحري” كورنيليوس فاندربيلت, لدينا فرق في مؤتمر شعبة NCAA أنا جنوبي شرقي. حول 35 في المئة من الطلاب الاستفادة من برامج الخارج الدراسة فاندربيلت, والتي عرضت في أكثر من 35 بلدان.

وتتألف فاندربيلت من 10 المدارس والكليات التي تغطي التخصصات من العلوم الإنسانية إلى الموسيقى والهندسة. بين برامج الدراسات العليا منه هي كلية أعلى مرتبة بيبودي التربية والتعليم والتنمية البشرية, والتي تقدم أيضا برامج البكالوريوس, والمرتبة العالية مدرسة أوين الدراسات العليا للإدارة, كلية الهندسة, مدرسة القانون, كلية الطب وكلية التمريض. وفاندربيلت أيضا معروفة جيدا للمرحلة الجامعية في مدرسة بلير للموسيقى, ويأتي في المرتبة المركز الطبي لجامعة فاندربيلت واحد من أفضل الفرق في الأمة. الرئيس السابق والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة تايم. آن مور, NFL الوسط جاي كاتلر والروائي جيمس باترسون تلقى كل درجة من فاندربيلت.

المدارس / الكليات / الإدارات / الدورات / ملكات


  • كلية الآداب والعلوم
  • مدرسة بلير للموسيقى
  • مدرسة اللاهوت
  • كلية الهندسة
  • تخرج من المدرسه
  • مدرسة القانون

التاريخ


في السنوات السابقة للحرب الأهلية الأمريكية من 1861-1865, وكان الميثودية الكنيسة الأسقفية جنوب تم النظر في إنشاء جامعة إقليمية لتدريب وزراء في موقع مركزي على التجمعات لها. وبعد الضغط من قبل ناشفيل أسقف هولندا Nimmons McTyeire, كاتب مقال حول الرق الأسود الذي كان والده “زارع القطن وslaveholder” في ولاية كارولينا الجنوبية, صوت قادة الكنيسة لتأسيس “الجامعة المركزية للكنيسة الأسقفية الميثودية, جنوب” في ناشفيل في 1872. ومع ذلك, نقص الأموال والدولة التي مزقتها للتعمير عصر جنوب تأخر افتتاح الكلية.

في العام التالي, بقي McTyeire في مقر مدينة نيويورك كورنيليوس فاندربيلت, وكانت زوجته الثانية فرانك ارمسترونغ كروفورد فاندربيلت (1839-1885), ابن عم زوجة McTyeire ل, أميليا تاونسند McTyeire (1827-1891); سواء كانت النساء من المحمول, ألاباما. في الواقع, ان McTyeires اجتمعت في سان. الكنيسة الميثودية فرانسيس شارع في موبايل. كورنيليوس فاندربيلت, الذي كان أغنى رجل في الولايات المتحدة في ذلك الوقت, تدرس العمل الخيري كما كان في سن متقدمة. وكان قد تم التخطيط لإنشاء جامعة في جزيرة ستاتن, نيويورك, تكريما لأمه. ومع ذلك, McTyeire أقنعته بالتبرع $500,000 لمنح الجامعة المركزية ل “المساهمة في تعزيز العلاقات التي يجب أن تكون موجودة بين جميع قطاعات القطري المشترك لدينا.”

وقد زادت الوقف في نهاية المطاف إلى $1 مليون (تقريبا $19,973,867 في 2015 دولار) وسيكون واحدا من اثنين فقط الأعمال الخيرية بدعم مالي من فاندربيلت. على الرغم من أنه لم يبد أي رغبة أن الجامعة الكشف عن اسمه بعد نفسه, McTyeire وزملائه أمناء الظهور باسم جديد المدرسة تكريما له. توفي في فاندربيلت 1877 دون رؤية المدرسة اسمه من بعده. اكتسبوها الأراضي المملوكة سابقا من قبل عضو مجلس الشيوخ ولاية تكساس جون بويد (الذي اختار أن يرعى تأسيس جامعة ترينيتي, جامعة المشيخي إنسان أنطونيو, تكساس بدلا من ذلك), ورثت في وقت لاحق من قبل حفيدته وزوجها, الكونفدرالية عضو الكونغرس هنري S. فوت, الذين بنوا قديم الوسطى, منزل لا يزال قائما في الحرم الجامعي.

واحد من الأمناء المؤسسين, حزقيا وليام فوت, وكان المخضرم الكونفدرالية وصاحب أربعة مزارع في ولاية ميسيسيبي, includingMount هولي. أمين صندوق مجلس الثقة من 1872 إلى 1875, الكسندر ليتل الصفحة الخضراء, معلقة الذين صورة في قاعة كيركلاند, كان اعظ ومالك العبيد السابقين. ابنه في القانون, روبرت ل. شاب, وكان وزير الميثودية الذي شغل منصب وزير المالية في مجلس الثقة من 1874 إلى 1882, تقاعده من المجلس في 1902.

المبنى الأول, المبنى الرئيسي, عرفت فيما بعد باسم قاعة كيركلاند, تم تصميم من قبل ويليام كراوفورد سميث, المخضرم الكونفدرالية الذي صمم أيضا البارثينون; بدأ البناء في 1874. في خريف عام 1875, حول 200 الطلاب المسجلين في فاندربيلت, وفي أكتوبر كانت قد خصصت الجامعة. اختير أسقف McTyeire رئيس مجلس الاستئماني للحياة من قبل فاندربيلت كما اشتراط الوقف له. اسمه McTyeire اندون جارلاند (1810-1895), معلمه fromRandolph ماكون كلية في ولاية فرجينيا وبعد ذلك وكيل الجامعة للجامعة ميسيسيبي, كمستشارة. على شكل إكليل هيكل المدرسة وتوظيف أعضاء هيئة التدريس في المدرسة, وكثير منهم علماء مشهورين في مجال اختصاصه. ومع ذلك, معظم هذه الكلية غادر بعد خلافات مع أسقف McTyeire, بما في ذلك على معدلات الأجور. عند أول فصل الأخوة, فاي دلتا ثيتا, تأسست في الحرم الجامعي في 1876, تم إغلاقها من قبل أعضاء هيئة التدريس, إلا أن إعادة تأسيس كمجتمع السري في 1877. وفى الوقت نفسه, رياضة قديم, صممه المهندس المعماري الهولندي المولد بيتر J. ويليامسون, تم بناؤه في عام 1879-1880. بواسطة 1883, وافق مجلس من الثقة قرارا يسمح الاخويات في الحرم الجامعي, وأنشئت المزيد من الفصول في 1884.

في 1953, اعترف مدرسة الدين أول طالب أفريقي للولايات المتحدة إلى الجامعة. في 1960, مدرسة الدين طرد الطالب الذي كان واحدا من قادة حركة الحقوق المدنية الناشئة, جيمس لوسون. استقال عدد من أعضاء هيئة التدريس في احتجاج. في 2005, وكان لوسون إعادة تعيينهم-كأستاذ جامعي متميز للعام الدراسي 2006-2007, وعين الخريج المتميز لإنجازاته.

مجلس فاندربيلت الثقة مايو 1962 صوتت لقبول الأمريكيين من أصل أفريقي في جميع المدارس, ودخل الطلاب الجامعيين أول مدرسة للسقوط 1964. لفتت الجامعة اهتماما وطنيا في 1966 عندما جند بيري والاس, أول رياضي الأميركيين الأفارقة في مؤتمر theSoutheastern (المجلس الأعلى للتعليم). والاس, من ناشفيل, لعبت كرة السلة اسكواش للفاندربيلت من 1967 إلى 1970, واجه معارضة كبيرة من التفرقة عندما يلعب في أماكن أخرى المجلس الأعلى للتعليم. في 2004, حملة التي قادها الطلبة للتقاعد جيرسي الاس نجحت أخيرا.

في 1979, حصلت فاندربيلت بيبودي كلية, ثم دعا “كلية جورج بيبودي للمعلمين”, المقيمين على 53 فدان مجاورة للجامعة. في 1980s في وقت مبكر, وكانت جامعة فاندربيلت الداعم المالي للشركة تصحيحات الأمريكية قبل أسهمها للاكتتاب العام.

في 2002, قررت الجامعة إعادة تسمية القاعة التذكارية الكونفدرالية, قاعة الإقامة في الحرم الجامعي بيبودي إلى القاعة التذكارية. أدى الاهتمام على الصعيد الوطني, ويرجع ذلك جزئيا إلى دعوى رفعتها الفصل تينيسي للبنات المتحدة من الكونفدرالية. رفضت السفارة محكمة مقاطعة ديفيدسون الدعوى في 2003, لكن المحكمة تينيسي الاستئناف حكمت مايو 2005 أن الجامعة يجب أن تدفع تعويضات على أساس القيمة الحالية للبنات المتحدة مساهمة الكونفدرالية إذا كان نقش يحمل اسم “القاعة التذكارية الكونفدرالية” تم إزالتها من بناء أو تغييرها. محكمة الاستئناف’ وقد انتقد قرار الباحثين القانونيين. في أواخر يوليو 2005, أعلنت الجامعة أن على الرغم من أنه كان رسميا تسمية المبنى, وجميع المطبوعات الجامعية والمكاتب وتشير إلى أنه مجرد مكان لل القاعة التذكارية, وقال إن الجامعة لا طعن في هذه المسألة, ولا إزالة النقش ودفع تعويضات.

في 2009, وضعت فاندربيلت سياسة عدم قرض. وتنص هذه السياسة على أن أي طالب منح القبول وحزمة المساعدات على أساس الحاجة وسوف يكون لها الجائزة التي تشمل أي القروض الطلابية. في 2011, معهد أوكلاند, وأوكلاند, مركز أبحاث مقره كاليفورنيا, تعرضت جامعة فاندربيلت في الولايات المتحدة 26 مليون $ للاستثمار في EMVest إدارة الأصول, شركة الأسهم الخاصة “اتهم "الاستيلاء الأرض,’ أو الاستيلاء على الأراضي الزراعية التي تستخدمها المجتمعات المحلية من خلال الممارسات الاستغلالية واستخدامها للزراعة التصدير التجارية على نطاق واسع ... في خمسة بلدان أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى, بما في ذلك موزمبيق, جنوب أفريقيا, سوازيلاند, زامبيا, وزيمبابوي.” جعل الوحي عناوين الصحف الدولية, مع تغطية في الحارس, وأدى إلى احتجاجات طلابية في الحرم الجامعي في 2012. بواسطة 2013, قد الإداريين فاندربيلت انهارت في لغضب شعبي عارم وتجريدها من EMVest.


هل تريد بحث جامعة فاندربيلت ? أي سؤال, التعليقات أو المراجعات


جامعة فاندربيلت على الخريطة


صورة فوتوغرافية


الصور: جامعة فاندربيلت الفيسبوك الرسمي

فيديو





مشاركة هذه المعلومات مفيدة مع أصدقائك

استعراض جامعة فاندربيلت

تاريخ لمناقشة من جامعة فاندربيلت.
يرجى الملاحظة: EducationBro مجلة يمنحك القدرة على قراءة معلومات حول الجامعات في 96 اللغات, ولكن نطلب منك أن تحترم أعضاء آخرين وترك التعليقات باللغة الإنجليزية.

Vanderbilt University

Vanderbilt University. Study in USA. Education Bro - Study Abroad Magazine

Vanderbilt University Details

  • Country : United States of America
  • City : Nashville
  • Acronym : Vandy
  • Founded : 1873
  • Students (approx.) : 13000
  • Don't forget to discuss Vanderbilt University
Enroll at Vanderbilt University

Overview


Vanderbilt University is a private institution that was founded in 1873.

Tuition fees in Vanderbilt University are $45,000 (Aprox.).

Vanderbilt University offers a wide range of student activities. Located in Nashville, or Music City, there are plenty of off-campus options for dining, shopping, music and entertainment. On campus, Greek organizations play a big role in social life, with approximately 40 percent of students affiliated with Greek life. All undergraduate students at Vanderbilt are required to live on campus, and freshmen live together in The Commons, which has six LEED certified green dorms. The Commodores, named for Vanderbilt founder “Commodore” Cornelius Vanderbilt, have teams in the NCAA Division I Southeastern Conference. About 35 percent of students take advantage of Vanderbilt’s study abroad programs, which are offered in more than 35 countries.

Vanderbilt is comprised of 10 schools and colleges covering disciplines from the humanities to music to engineering. Among its graduate programs are the top-ranked Peabody College of Education and Human Development, which also offers undergraduate programs, and the highly ranked Owen Graduate School of Management, School of Engineering, Law School, School of Medicine and School of Nursing. Vanderbilt is also well known for its undergraduate Blair School of Music, and the Vanderbilt University Medical Center is ranked one of the best in the nation. Former chairman and CEO of Time Inc. Ann Moore, NFL quarterback Jay Cutler and novelist James Patterson all received degrees from Vanderbilt.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties


  • College of Arts and Science
  • Blair School of Music
  • Divinity School
  • School of Engineering
  • Graduate School
  • Law School

History


In the years prior to the American Civil War of 1861–1865, the Methodist Episcopal Church South had been considering the creation of a regional university for the training of ministers in a location central to its congregations. Following lobbying by Nashville bishop Holland Nimmons McTyeire, the author of an essay about black slavery whose father was “a cotton planter and a slaveholder” in South Carolina, church leaders voted to found “The Central University of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South” in Nashville in 1872. However, lack of funds and the ravaged state of the Reconstruction Era South delayed the opening of the college.

The following year, McTyeire stayed at the New York City residence of Cornelius Vanderbilt, whose second wife was Frank Armstrong Crawford Vanderbilt (1839–1885), a cousin of McTyeire’s wife, Amelia Townsend McTyeire (1827–1891); both women were from Mobile, Alabama. Indeed, the McTyeires had met at St. Francis Street Methodist Church in Mobile. Cornelius Vanderbilt, who was the wealthiest man in the United States at the time, was considering philanthropy as he was at an advanced age. He had been planning to establish a university on Staten Island, New York, in honor of his mother. However, McTyeire convinced him to donate $500,000 to endow Central University in order to “contribute to strengthening the ties which should exist between all sections of our common country.”

The endowment was eventually increased to $1 million (roughly $19,973,867 in 2015 dollars) and would be only one of two philanthropic causes financially supported by Vanderbilt. Though he never expressed any desire that the university be named after himself, McTyeire and his fellow trustees rechristened the school in his honor. Vanderbilt died in 1877 without seeing the school named after him. They acquired land formerly owned by Texas Senator John Boyd (who chose to patronize the establishment of Trinity University, a Presbyterian university inSan Antonio, Texas instead), later inherited by his granddaughter and her husband, Confederate Congressman Henry S. Foote, who had built Old Central, a house still standing on campus.

One of the founding trustees, Hezekiah William Foote, was a Confederate veteran and the owner of four plantations in Mississippi, includingMount Holly. The Treasurer of the Board of Trust from 1872 to 1875, Alexander Little Page Green, whose portrait hangs in Kirkland Hall, was a Methodist preacher and a former slave owner. His son-in-law, Robert A. Young, was a Methodist minister who served as the Financial Secretary on the Board of Trust from 1874 to 1882, retiring from the Board in 1902.

The first building, Main Building, later known as Kirkland Hall, was designed by William Crawford Smith, a Confederate veteran who also designed The Parthenon; its construction began in 1874. In the fall of 1875, about 200 students enrolled at Vanderbilt, and in October the university was dedicated. Bishop McTyeire was named Chairman of the Board of Trust for life by Vanderbilt as a stipulation of his endowment. McTyeire named Landon Garland (1810–1895), his mentor fromRandolph-Macon College in Virginia and then-Chancellor of the University of Mississippi, as chancellor. Garland shaped the school’s structure and hired the school’s faculty, many of whom were renowned scholars in their respective fields. However, most of this faculty left after disputes with Bishop McTyeire, including over pay rates. When the first fraternity chapter, Phi Delta Theta, was established on campus in 1876, it was shut down by the faculty, only to be reestablished as a secret society in 1877. Meanwhile, Old Gym, designed by Dutch-born architect Peter J. Williamson, was built in 1879–1880. By 1883, the Board of Trust passed a resolution allowing fraternities on campus, and more chapters were established in 1884.

In 1953, the School of Religion admitted the first African-American student to the University. In 1960, the School of Religion expelled a student who was one of the leaders of the emerging civil rights movement, James Lawson. Several faculty members resigned in protest. In 2005, Lawson was re-hired as a Distinguished University Professor for the 2006–2007 academic year, and named a Distinguished Alumnus for his achievements.

The Vanderbilt Board of Trust in May 1962 voted to accept African Americans in all schools, and first undergraduates entered the school the fall of 1964. The university drew national attention in 1966 when it recruited Perry Wallace, the first African-American athlete in theSoutheastern Conference (SEC). Wallace, from Nashville, played varsity basketball for Vanderbilt from 1967 to 1970, and faced considerable opposition from segregationists when playing at other SEC venues. In 2004, a student-led drive to retire Wallace’s jersey finally succeeded.

In 1979, Vanderbilt acquired Peabody College, then called the “George Peabody College for Teachers”, residing on 53 acres adjacent to the university. In the early 1980s, Vanderbilt University was a financial backer of the Corrections Corporation of America prior to its IPO.

In 2002, the university decided to rename Confederate Memorial Hall, a residence hall on the Peabody campus to Memorial Hall. Nationwide attention resulted, in part due to a lawsuit by the Tennessee chapter of the United Daughters of the Confederacy. The Davidson County Chancery Court dismissed the lawsuit in 2003, but the Tennessee Court of Appeals ruled in May 2005 that the university must pay damages based on the present value of the United Daughters of the Confederacy’s contribution if the inscription bearing the name “Confederate Memorial Hall” was removed from the building or altered. The Court of Appeals’ decision has been critiqued by legal scholars. In late July 2005, the university announced that although it had officially renamed the building, and all university publications and offices will refer to it solely as Memorial Hall, the university would neither appeal the matter further, nor remove the inscription and pay damages.

In 2009, Vanderbilt instituted a no-loan policy. The policy states that any student granted admission and a need-based aid package will have an award that includes no student loans. In 2011, the Oakland Institute, an Oakland, California-based think tank, exposed Vanderbilt University’s US$26 million investment in EMVest Asset Management, a private equity firm “accused of ‘land grabbing,’ or taking over agricultural land used by local communities through exploitative practices and using it for large-scale commercial export farming … in five sub-Saharan African countries, including Mozambique, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.” The revelation made international headlines, with coverage in The Guardian, and led to student protests on campus in 2012. By 2013, Vanderbilt administrators had caved in to the public outcry and divested from EMVest.


Do you want discuss Vanderbilt University ? Any question, comments or reviews


Vanderbilt University on Map


Photo


Photos: Vanderbilt University official Facebook

Video





Share this useful info with your friends

Vanderbilt University reviews

Join to discuss of Vanderbilt University.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.