The University of New South Wales

The University of New South Wales

The University of New South Wales Details

Enroll at The University of New South Wales


Welcome to UNSW Australia (The University of New South Wales), ọkan ninu awọn Australia ká asiwaju iwadi ati ẹkọ egbelegbe. ni UNSW, a ya igberaga ninu awọn ọrọ ibiti o ati ki o ga didara ti wa ẹkọ eto. Wa ẹkọ anfani agbara ati owo lati wa iwadi akitiyan, lagbara ise ìjápọ ati ki o wa okeere iseda; UNSW ni o ni kan to lagbara agbegbe ati agbaye igbeyawo.

Ni sese titun ero ati igbega si pípẹ imo ti a ti wa ni ṣiṣẹda ohun omowe ayika ibi ti dayato si omo ile ati awọn ọjọgbọn lati kakiri aye le ti wa ni atilẹyin to tayo ni won awọn eto ti iwadi ati iwadi. Ìbàkẹgbẹ pẹlu mejeeji ti agbegbe ati agbaye awujo gba UNSW lati pin imo, Jomitoro ati iwadi awọn iyọrisi. UNSW ká àkọsílẹ ìṣẹlẹ ni ere ṣe, ìmọ ọjọ ati gbangba apero lori awon oran bi awọn ayika, ilera ati agbaye iselu. We encourage you to explore the UNSW website so you can find out more about what we do. UNSW has a proud tradition of sustained innovation, fojusi lori agbegbe lominu ni lati wa iwaju - lati iyipada afefe ati ti o ṣe sọdọtun okunagbara to lifesaving egbogi itọju ati awaridii imo. Ni awọn awujo sáyẹnsì, UNSW iwadi fun eto imulo ati iwé asọye ni bọtini awon oran ti nkọju si awujo orisirisi lati eto eda eniyan ati ofin ti idanimọ ti Awon Australians to àkọsílẹ ilera ati olugbe ti ogbo.

UNSW nfun ohun sanlalu ibiti o ti akẹkọ ti, postgraduate ati iwadi eto. A fa abinibi omo lati kọja Australia ati ni ayika agbaye. Wa 50,000-plus omo wa lati 128 awọn orilẹ-ede, ṣiṣe awọn wa ọkan ninu awọn Australia ká julọ lele egbelegbe. Wa tcnu lori didara tẹsiwaju lati Titari soke titẹsi awọn ajohunše pẹlu gba eletan lati State ká oke ile-iwe leavers.

Awọn ifilelẹ ti awọn UNSW ogba ti wa ni be lori kan 38 hektari sii ni Kensington, meje ibuso lati aarin ti Sydney. Miiran pataki campuses ti wa ni Art & Oniru ni Paddington ati UNSW Canberra ni Australian Defence Force Academy.

Schools / giga / apa / courses / Faculties

  • UNSW Art & Design
  • UNSW Arts and Social Sciences
  • UNSW Built Environment
  • UNSW Business School
  • UNSW Engineering
  • UNSW Law
  • UNSW Medicine
  • UNSW Science
  • UNSW Canberra at ADFA


The University was incorporated by Act of the Parliament of New South Wales in Sydney in 1949, but its character and idea can be traced back to the formation of the Sydney Mechanics Institute in 1843, leading to the formation of the Sydney Technical College in 1878. The Institute sought ‘the diffusion of scientific and special knowledge’, the College sought to apply and teach it.

Commenced as The New South Wales University of Technology, the University’s international context is that of the Australian recognition of that scientific and technological impulse in tertiary education that produced the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and the Berlin University of Technology. It acknowledged at university level that profound development in human knowledge and concern that had impelled the nineteenth century industrial and scientific revolution.

The new University’s focus was on this new knowledge, this new way of encountering, explaining and improving the material world. Australia needed to keep abreast of the diversity of challenges associated with the Second World War, a demand recognised by the NSW Government in establishing the University. Its core concerns was teaching and research in science and technology, but its courses included humanities and commerce components in recognition of the need to educate the full human being.

lakoko, ni 1949, operating from the inner city campus of Sydney Technical College, it immediately began to expand on its present eastern suburb site at Kensington, where a major and continuing building program was pursued. Central to the University’s first twenty years was the dynamic authoritarian management of the first Vice-Chancellor, Sir Philip Baxter (1955 - 1969, and previously, Oludari, 1953 - 1955). His visionary but at times controversial energies, built the university from nothing to 15,000 omo ile ni 1968, pioneering both established and new scientific and technological disciplines against an external background of traditionalist criticism. A growing staff, recruited both locally and overseas, conducted research which established a wide international reputation.

The new University soon had Colleges at Newcastle (1951) and Wollongong (1961) which eventually became independent universities. The Australian Defence Force Academy in Canberra became, and remains, a University College in 1981.

ni 1958 the University name was changed to the University of New South Wales, ati ni 1960 it broadened its scholarly, student base and character with the establishment of a Faculty of Arts, soon to be followed, ni 1960 by Medicine, then in 1971 by Law.

By Baxter’s retirement in 1969, the University had made a unique and enterprising Australian mark. The new Vice-Chancellor, Sir Rupert Myers, (1969-1981) brought consolidation and an urbane management style to a period of expanding student numbers, demand for change in University style, and challenges of student unrest. Easy with, and accessible to students, Myers’ management ensured academic business as usual through tumultuous University times.

The 1980s saw a University in the top group of Australian universities. Its Vice-Chancellor of the period, Professor Michael Birt (1981-1992), applied his liberal cultivation to the task of coping with increasing inroads, into the whole Australian university system, of Federal bureaucracy and unsympathetic and increasingly parsimonious governments. His task mixed strategies for financial survival with meeting the demands of a student influx which took the University into being one of the largest in Australia, as well as being, in many fields, the most innovative and diverse.

lati 1951 the University had welcomed international students, ati nipa 2000, of a student population of 31,000, nipa 6000 wà okeere omo, most from Asia. Annual graduation ceremonies are held in Hong Kong, Singapore and Kuala Lumpur.

The stabilising techniques of the 1980s provided a firm base for the energetic corporatism and campus enhancements pursued by the previous Vice-Chancellor, Professor John Niland (1992 – 2002). The 1990s saw the addition of a Fine Arts dimension to the University and further development of the public and community outreach which had characterised the University from its beginnings. Ni asiko yi, private sources contribute 45% of its annual funding.

After fifty years of dynamic growth the University tradition is one of sustained innovation, a blend of scholarship and practical realism. Its tone is lively and informal, its atmosphere exciting and happy. It offers the widest range of Faculties, its initial emphasis on science and technology now sharing excellence with disciplines as various as Arts, Fine Arts, the Built Environment, Commerce, ofin, Life Sciences, Ogun, Management – that whole world of knowledge whose investigation and communication was its initial stimulus.

Se o fe discuss The University of New South Wales ? eyikeyi ibeere, comments tabi agbeyewo

The University of New South Wales on Map


awọn fọto: The University of New South Wales osise Facebook


Pin yi wulo info pẹlu ọrẹ rẹ

The University of New South Wales reviews

Join to discuss of The University of New South Wales.
JỌWỌ ṢAKIYESI: EducationBro Magazine yoo fun o ni agbara lati ka Alaye nipa egbelegbe ni 96 ede, sugbon a beere o lati fi owo miiran ẹgbẹ ki o si fi comments ni English.