University of Southern Queensland

University of Southern Queensland

University of Southern Queensland Details

Enroll at University of Southern Queensland


The University of Southern Queensland (USQ) is a medium-sized, regional university based in Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia, with three university campuses at Toowoomba, Springfield and Ipswich. It offers courses in law, health, engineering, the sciences, business, education, and the arts. USQ has been a leader in distance learning by leveraging technology since the 1970s, which has allowed it to serve rural Queensland and international communities through its on campus, off campus, and online programs. In 1998 it was named World’s Best On and Off Campus University by the International Council for Open and Distance Education and was winner of the Australian University of the Year Award in 2000-2001.

It operates three research institutes and seven research centres which focus on a wide range of business, agricultural, scientific, environmental, and technological issues.

The institution was established in 1967 as the Darling Downs campus of the Queensland Institute of Technology. In 1971, it became the Darling Downs Institute of Advanced Education, then the University College of Southern Queensland in 1990 and finally the University of Southern Queensland in 1992.

USQ proudly supports, values, and respects the wide variety of cultural identities, languages, and beliefs within the university.  We work to provide information to all members of USQ, as well the local and international communities.

At USQ, we are proud of our diversity:

  • our current staff were born in 66 different countries
  • we have 33 Indigenous staff members
  • 17% of our student population are international students
  • our international students come from 94 different countries
  • 101 different languages are spoken by our active (Australian and international) students.

USQ endeavours to provide a safe learning environment where all students and staff can openly share ideas and respectfully express their opinions – regardless of their culture identity or religious affiliation.  By acknowledging and respecting our diversity, we are able to strengthen our collaborative research efforts, and compliment USQ’s teaching and learning experience.

At USQ, we strive to:

  • reinforce USQ leadership in multiculturalism within the Australian higher education system and overseas
  • contribute to the unique identity of USQ by developing innovative programs on multiculturalism
  • involve the University and local communities in multiculturalism through delivery of specific, community oriented programs
  • develop closer cooperation between the governments and non-government organisations at local, state and national level in the area of multiculturalism
  • support the building of a strong culture of multiculturalism by student recruitment, innovation in learning and teaching and internationalisation
  • contribute towards internationalisation of the University, and
  • promote the concept of multiculturalism and its benefits in practice.

Schools / Colleges / Departments / Courses / Faculties

  • Business & Commerce
  • Creative Arts & Media
  • Education
  • Engineering & Built Environment
  • Health & Community
  • Humanities & Communication
  • Information Technology
  • Law and Justice
  • Sciences
  • English Language
  • Pathways Programs
  • Professional Development


In less than fifty years we have become a prominent multi-campus teaching and research institution providing education worldwide. Woven into the fabric of USQ is the vision and determination of many University and community members who, over the years, have been instrumental in implementing expansion and growth, shaping what we see today.

1967 Queensland Institute of Technology (Darling Downs)

On 2 December 1960 a public meeting of over 200 people from Toowoomba and surrounds led to the founding of the Darling Downs University Establishment Association under the Chairmanship of Dr Alex McGregor. Their purpose was to set up a higher education institution on the Darling Downs. The Association, with the support of the local community, lobbied government, raised funds and eventually succeeded with the formation of the Queensland Institute of Technology (Darling Downs) on 2 February 1967.

From one building in a bare green field, a Principal, eight full-time and five part-time academics, and five support staff taught our first 140 students 29 courses in engineering, business studies and science at Diploma and Certificate levels. From these humble beginnings a fine institution has grown.

1971 Darling Downs Institute of Advanced Education (DDIAE)

In June 1971, the Institute became an autonomous multi-purpose college under the control of its own College Council.

The DDIAE approach was centred on student-focussed learning and teaching through employment-focussed curricula. Professional courses were offered in:

  • business
  • education
  • engineering
  • surveying
  • psychology
  • information technology
  • communications
  • creative and liberal arts.

The DDIAE underwent enormous growth in the student body between 1970 and 1990 and consequently, the Toowoomba campus grew immensely.

Distance education delivery became our student’s preferred study mode during the mid-1970s. By 1980, external enrolments exceeded on-campus enrolments, and provided us with the opportunity to enter the international market. During 1986-7 we accepted no less than three-quarters of Australia’s off-shore international student enrolments.

1990 University College of Southern Queensland (UCSQ)

In the late 1980s the DDIAE moved towards achieving full university status, initially as a University College for an interim period under the sponsorship of the University of Queensland.

During this time our first professors were appointed, major research programs were established, new teaching programs were introduced, and what would become a $100m capital works program over the next decade was commenced.

1992 University of Southern Queensland (USQ)

The institution gained full university status in 1992, becoming the University of Southern Queensland (USQ). The University has changed dramatically in many ways since then, including:

  • developing a significant research profile
  • expanding our postgraduate coursework programs
  • establishing significant branch campuses: Fraser Coast Campus in Hervey Bay on the central Queensland coast and the Springfield Campus in Brisbane’s western corridor
  • expanding our ties with local communities, such as partnering to establish the Queensland College of Wine Tourism in Stanthorpe with the Department of Education and Training and Southern Queensland Institute of TAFE
  • further expanding international programs including developing relationships with major off-shore centres and a strong on-shore presence through the Sydney Education Centre.

Do you want discuss University of Southern Queensland ? Any question, comments or reviews

University of Southern Queensland on Map


Photos: University of Southern Queensland official Facebook

Share this useful info with your friends

University of Southern Queensland reviews

Join to discuss of University of Southern Queensland.
PLEASE NOTE: EducationBro Magazine gives you ability to read info about universities at 96 languages, but we ask you to respect other members and leave comments in English.